User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 137
  2. Negative: 18 out of 137
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 4, 2017
    8
    The follow up to the extremely successful Battlefield 1942, the sequel jumped from the 1940s to the slightly more modern 1970s, adding helicopters, flamethrowers, and dense environments to the mix. While this game is good, it can get pretty buggy sometimes, and the jungle environments can get very monotonous with extended play. My advice is, if you want to experience some of the classicThe follow up to the extremely successful Battlefield 1942, the sequel jumped from the 1940s to the slightly more modern 1970s, adding helicopters, flamethrowers, and dense environments to the mix. While this game is good, it can get pretty buggy sometimes, and the jungle environments can get very monotonous with extended play. My advice is, if you want to experience some of the classic Battlefield titles, get 1942, or Battlefield 2, but probably not this. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2015
    5
    I'm a little disappointed with this game. It has the same charm as 1942. The game has a few errors. The game is weak, very weak. Unfortunately the gameplay is pretty dry.
  3. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    Probably this is a best Battlefield game ever i played. Yes, i already have BF3, BF: BC2, BF2, but this game make a challenge you. I love to kill those yellow, traitoring ****
    p.s. im not recist, ima asian guy, just i love universal soldier
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    The graphics are improved in comparison to "1942" and there is more customization. However, the feeling from the first game is very different and it's slower than its predecessor. Still a great and fun game to play online every once in a while.
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    This is the 1st BF game that I really enjoyed with really nice graphics and awesome sound track that had you flying over the paddyfields killing and singing tunes lol loads of fun had.
  6. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    A very big disappointment, when i played it for the first time i compared it with Battlefield 1942 and that was a very big mistake because its really bad. The graphics are even worse then 1942, boring as hell.
  7. GuyS
    Jun 1, 2008
    8
    Although some of the weapons appear unbalanced, and the AI is poor if you want to practice offline, this game should still be considered a classic and a must in the battlefield series. The best part of the game is napalming a section of the jungle or towing a light tank with a helicopter.
  8. NicolasB.
    Jan 18, 2008
    8
    The Jungle scenery is great and really effects how you play and what you base your strategy on. The graphics look well polished and the new addition of helicopters is a really good gameplay addition. My only issue was the crummy AI and the buggy physics. Otherwise, a great multiplayer game and it has definitely earned the "Battlefield" name.
  9. PeterB.
    Jul 17, 2007
    5
    A mediocre follow-up to one of the best FPS games ever made.
  10. ChrisP.
    Apr 22, 2007
    7
    Its a good game all together, but there are a few problems. For one, when playing on some maps, the AI will only aim at you. This includes all the tanks, which gets extremely annoying when trying to play. Another problem is the freezing up. Sometimes when playing, it will just freeze and when it comes back you will be dead. Other than that, I pretty much enjoyed the game. A neat thing is Its a good game all together, but there are a few problems. For one, when playing on some maps, the AI will only aim at you. This includes all the tanks, which gets extremely annoying when trying to play. Another problem is the freezing up. Sometimes when playing, it will just freeze and when it comes back you will be dead. Other than that, I pretty much enjoyed the game. A neat thing is the "radio" you have when in a vehicle that allows you to play some of the music from the Vietnam era. The helicopters are also pretty cool to be able to use. Expand
  11. SamF.
    Sep 11, 2006
    8
    Being this game is alot like BF1942, Most people will enjoy this game. It has a few very good points to it, the most notable is the music. All the music from that era gives the game a new feel. Also the graphics are way better which you will see in the explosions which are more realistic than just a big flash. You see a fireball. Gameplay is the same except there is no capaign in SP. With Being this game is alot like BF1942, Most people will enjoy this game. It has a few very good points to it, the most notable is the music. All the music from that era gives the game a new feel. Also the graphics are way better which you will see in the explosions which are more realistic than just a big flash. You see a fireball. Gameplay is the same except there is no capaign in SP. With 14 maps which really set the mood in different areas...your job is still capturing waypoints, but the AI (With a patch) will seem smarter this time around. A worthy succesor to The bf series. Expand
  12. KlausW.
    Jul 22, 2006
    9
    I was somehow torn between the 8,9 and 10 but I decided on a 8.9 beacause the game somtime acts sluggish in you'r computer even though you have a good graphics card. Some of the levels are recycled wich make you feel as if your ripped off. The a.i is te dumbest ever. But the games music rocks the graphics are good and a lot of the times the game really makes you feel sucked in. The I was somehow torn between the 8,9 and 10 but I decided on a 8.9 beacause the game somtime acts sluggish in you'r computer even though you have a good graphics card. Some of the levels are recycled wich make you feel as if your ripped off. The a.i is te dumbest ever. But the games music rocks the graphics are good and a lot of the times the game really makes you feel sucked in. The multiplayer is really awsome and there many vehicles to drive. At the price you can pck this up for this game is awsome a little more time should have been spent working on this but anyway buy it if you dont have somethig to do. Expand
  13. Benjamin
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    Excellent game. Different than 1942 but still amazing.
  14. RichardL.
    Apr 9, 2005
    0
    Horrible game. The jungle scenery loses the appeal of the wide-open spaces present in Bf1942. Bug-tastic and unpopular online. Definitely wait until BF2 is out.
  15. DarrenS.
    Feb 14, 2005
    1
    Battlefield 2 has to be better than this note to developers make it better then this game please. I'm a true fan of Bf42 Bfrr and Bf swww2 so please make the graphics lifelike and the gameplay unsurpassable.
  16. RalphW.
    Jun 8, 2004
    1
    I found this to be a shockingly bad game. It was confusing and very unrealistic. I have to say I am not a fan of 1942 either. I cannot get into this franchise. Give me CoD MOHAA any day.
  17. BobB.
    Jun 5, 2004
    3
    Bugs ubgs and glitches if you want a multiplayer fps with vehicles go for UT2K4 plus the bots are way smarter too
  18. Thisfourmbite
    Jun 4, 2004
    0
    Still has lame BF physics which the pathetic stunt modders and fanboys cant get enough of. Dues Ex 2 had legs bugs than this. get a real Vietnam experirence and play Vietcong.
  19. Blaez
    May 10, 2004
    7
    Whilst my system easily ran this game easily. I found myself shutting it down and going back to 1942. The density of the graphics combined being more or less limited to muddy, easily sniped, pathways was just too frustrating to contend with. Technically it is a step above 1942, but you dont get a chance to enjoy any of it. You will spend 80% your time looking for an enemy, only to be Whilst my system easily ran this game easily. I found myself shutting it down and going back to 1942. The density of the graphics combined being more or less limited to muddy, easily sniped, pathways was just too frustrating to contend with. Technically it is a step above 1942, but you dont get a chance to enjoy any of it. You will spend 80% your time looking for an enemy, only to be killed by someone you never saw crawling around in the shrubs. Realistic perhaps, but then, theres a level of realism that just isnt fun - which is what a -game- is about. The whole asphyxiating atmosphere the maps give is not conducive to fast paced strategic battle but slower, attrition based battle. Aircraft again, are un-usable, you have more fun just flying around than actually attempting any combat with them. If your after the definitive shooter with vehicles, UT2K4. Expand
  20. MarcusB.
    Apr 26, 2004
    1
    Anyone who thinks this is the "best game ever" needs some serious time with other shooters before forming that opinion. It's full of potential, but ultimately really quite flawed.
  21. JasonE.
    Apr 14, 2004
    6
    It's a decent game. It's basically the exact same game as BF1942, just with a hair updated graphics, new vehicles, and weaponry. But the gameplay and everything else is exactly the same. Playing online is fun except that the load times and the lag is painfully annoying. Why does my guy die when I run down stairs?
  22. BatmanMonkeygod
    Apr 14, 2004
    10
    It works ok on my system for a 1.2ghz celeron 256 ram and radeon 9200, it only shut down when i tried to play an unfinished created level. THE GAME IS AWESOME THO! The planes arent useless you just suck. even if they are hard to use its still cool flying around, and the levels are massive its a great game!
  23. JeremyC.
    Apr 9, 2004
    6
    For the follow up to Battlefield I expected much more. It still suffers from many of the same bugs in BF1942. Planes are even more worthless then ever, soldiers are again running around with horribly unbalenced weaponry, poor traps system, the levels for the most part suck. I spend most time running back and forth between the same spawn points trying to recapture them. At least in BF1942 For the follow up to Battlefield I expected much more. It still suffers from many of the same bugs in BF1942. Planes are even more worthless then ever, soldiers are again running around with horribly unbalenced weaponry, poor traps system, the levels for the most part suck. I spend most time running back and forth between the same spawn points trying to recapture them. At least in BF1942 you get the feeling of frontline, force on force combat. Expand
  24. Scottt
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Best game made. ever. period. end of conversation. just think: 7 guys in a helicopter. you flying your f-16 . you see them. you unload two heatseeking missiles. you get 7 kills in about 2 seconds thats all that needs to be said.
  25. JoeS.
    Mar 29, 2004
    6
    It's really not that great, I recomend UT2k4 WAY over this. Just look at the reviews.
  26. BennyBoy
    Mar 28, 2004
    5
    Got a not too bad spec machine P4 2.53 processor, Radeon 9600XT 128MB Graphics Card and 512 of RAM - but playing the game is very slow it takes ages to load up on each level and has shut down a couple of times. If I weren't getting these problems it would be ok, if any suggestions what may be the problem please feel free to e-mail - benbird@f2s.com. Thanks
  27. MatthieuR.
    Mar 26, 2004
    4
    What a letdown! This was supposed to blow me away, but instead I get a boring game with a mod-like feel. I realize that Vietnam was much different from WWII strategically, but you spend half the time looking for a fight, and all the levels feel the same. The game runs like crap on even good systems, and the bugs are unacceptable. I guess I'll go back to BF 1942.
  28. CountZr0
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    Best multiplayer gameplay available to date. period.
  29. GlennP.
    Mar 23, 2004
    9
    This game is not perfect, but comes pretty darned close. Even maps that are basically only infantry running around are pretty fun now because you can sneak around through the foliage, setting booby traps, etc. The variety of gameplay is already amazing and will only get better as new patches come out that include other vehicles, etc. The level designer and mod creation kit that come with This game is not perfect, but comes pretty darned close. Even maps that are basically only infantry running around are pretty fun now because you can sneak around through the foliage, setting booby traps, etc. The variety of gameplay is already amazing and will only get better as new patches come out that include other vehicles, etc. The level designer and mod creation kit that come with the game are top notch as well - I'm definitely creating a mod with this engine, I can't wait to get started! Expand
  30. JohnS.
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    OMG This is as good as online games get!!! Sorry, can't talk, got to play ;D
  31. CHRISTOPHERH.
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    Here's the deal don't listen to the kids who cant play with trees in the way. Gameplay has changed for the better. You have to be sneaky now. And it is more fun once you get the hang of it. I guess its a little too much for the kids who play. lol. Buy it trust me.
  32. JohanL.
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    This is easely the best online game. I am sure this will occupy A LOT of my time. If you going to buy one game this year then this is the game I would go for. I have yet not had any lag playing this masterpiece online, none!!!
  33. Marc
    Mar 21, 2004
    7
    Not bad...just not mind-blowing. But then again...no FPS since Half-Life and Quake have wowed me.
  34. [Anonymous]
    Mar 20, 2004
    1
    I took this game back 2 days after shelling out my hard earned $. WOW what a waste of money. It looks ok, sounds ok but it feels terrible. I loved BF1942 in its day but there is no way in hell I'd drag it out to play it now, not after the shooters I've played since. Believe me, it's exactly the same game with some average new maps and some pixel shaders. Its a dinosaur and I took this game back 2 days after shelling out my hard earned $. WOW what a waste of money. It looks ok, sounds ok but it feels terrible. I loved BF1942 in its day but there is no way in hell I'd drag it out to play it now, not after the shooters I've played since. Believe me, it's exactly the same game with some average new maps and some pixel shaders. Its a dinosaur and runs like one 2. But if you're still playing BF1942 then you'll love it. Expand
  35. MikeD.
    Mar 20, 2004
    10
    Everything and More,,,,Gritty, balanced war.
  36. ChrisR.
    Mar 20, 2004
    9
    I love this game. I think the battlefield series really gives you a taste to how comanders run things. 1942 was really good but compared to vietnam its nothing. The only thing that I think would have made it better was a list of comands that you could say to your platoon. The comands they have allready are just the basic, but o well.
  37. Henrik
    Mar 20, 2004
    0
    Worthless piece of lagging sh.t.
  38. NhatT.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan this is a must have. Don't listen to the critics they get paid to say things listen to the fans cause' we now what's best! Expand
  39. NhatT.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan this is a must have. Don't listen to the critics they get paid to say things listen to the fans cause' we now what's best! Expand
  40. NhatT.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan this is a must have. Don't listen to the critics they get paid to say things listen to the fans cause' we now what's best! Expand
  41. NhatT.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan this is a must have. Don't listen to the critics they get paid to say things listen to the fans cause' we now what's best! Expand
  42. NhatT.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan this is a must have. Don't listen to the critics they get paid to say things listen to the fans cause' we now what's best! Expand
  43. NhatT.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan This game is awesome! I love the whole BF 1942 series, I have played desert combat and secret weapons and loved them all. I've always wanted to play a vietnam version of Battlefield, I never got the chance to try out Eve of Destruction and now I dont need to because I have BFV. It's just awsome. It was pretty much every thing I was looking for. If anybody is a Battlefield fan this is a must have. Don't listen to the critics they get paid to say things listen to the fans cause' we now what's best! Expand
  44. Bobby
    Mar 18, 2004
    9
    GREEEAT GAME! I didn't like bf 1942 very much but i love this game, i cant stop playing!
  45. AndrewG.
    Mar 17, 2004
    8
    This game is still rather buggy in its first release, but rest assured; it is sheer brilliance. It combines a number of new features that are incorporated in previous mods, and it adds enough new stuff to make it worth the money. The music is great, the atmosphere is fantastic, and the foliage really adds to it all. As the reviews said, it is NOT a huge, quantum leap, but it is a definite This game is still rather buggy in its first release, but rest assured; it is sheer brilliance. It combines a number of new features that are incorporated in previous mods, and it adds enough new stuff to make it worth the money. The music is great, the atmosphere is fantastic, and the foliage really adds to it all. As the reviews said, it is NOT a huge, quantum leap, but it is a definite step in the right direction. Also - I am inclined to agree with the 1UP review, the interactivitiy with the atcual environment is nil - tanks can't push over trees, they get stuck; napalm doesn't do anything to foliage, etc. Destructable terrain would have been a huge plus for a game that is already bordering on greatness. All in all, well done. Expand
  46. DakrynO.
    Mar 17, 2004
    10
    Amazing game! Much better than the original
  47. JoelV.
    Mar 16, 2004
    9
    These guys wrote up a bunch of cliches and called them reviews. The truth is, they said the same thing about Quake 3, which everyone loved. These people think that the only way to be creative is to find problems with the game. But they're wrong. Also, the guy from 1UP is a dufus. I don't believe his 680 ping "I killed everyone. It was so easy" story. A total lie. Watch out for These guys wrote up a bunch of cliches and called them reviews. The truth is, they said the same thing about Quake 3, which everyone loved. These people think that the only way to be creative is to find problems with the game. But they're wrong. Also, the guy from 1UP is a dufus. I don't believe his 680 ping "I killed everyone. It was so easy" story. A total lie. Watch out for these "critics." Expand
  48. SteffenR.
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    Played the review version and it just rocks. Much more than just a mod!
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. It really does a fantastic job at letting you in on the Vietnam era, and I’m sure that after a few patches it will be even better.
  2. I think it needs a little more oomph on more scenarios and the detail in the graphics. Also, conquering control points over and over gets too repetitive after long play.
  3. Game Informer
    80
    An incredibly good time if you can find an amicable crew of fellow soldiers. [May 2004, p.106]