Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: BattleForge is a fantasy online real-time strategy game where you assemble your own army with collectible trading cards. Win, trade and buy your cards online to create your ultimate deck. Mix and match the elements of your cards to play with your friends online and conquer massive onlineBattleForge is a fantasy online real-time strategy game where you assemble your own army with collectible trading cards. Win, trade and buy your cards online to create your ultimate deck. Mix and match the elements of your cards to play with your friends online and conquer massive online battlegrounds. For mortals caught in a clash between insane gods and ancient giants, standing together is the only option. Using the forces of Fire, Frost, Nature and Shadow a mysterious Forge which makes legends come to life, is their single hope to create armies powerful enough to overcome these impossible odds. It is now time to set out and reclaim an epic fantasy world which has been overthrown by sinister powers in the twilight of a dying sun. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. A seamlessly realised and original hybrid that breathes life into the RTS genre. [Issue#18, p.48]
  2. EA Phenomic has successfully pulled off a surprisingly natural convergence of two very different types of gameplay. The combination is wickedly addictive. BattleForge isn't entirely a flawless victory, but it looks good, plays great, and gives card hoarders something new to obsess over.
  3. As with most games of this nature, you can do well-enough at first using the default decks and some of your free booster cards and good strategy, but to compete at the highest levels it's going to take some of your cash to get the cards you need to build a strong and competitive deck.
  4. Battleforge is a fascinating hybrid of real-time strategy and collectible card battling. The idea of micro-transactions in a full-priced game might turn some people off, but BattleForge provides plenty of content for the retail price.
  5. And although BattleForge doesn’t always perfectly combine the genres it belongs to, with delicate attention and a thorough balancing of gameplay, it could actually become an electronic sport. Maybe one to match StarCraft.
  6. Mix Warcraft with Magic the Gathering and you'll get BattleForge. It's not a bad mix, but you'll have to get used to it. The learning curve is pretty steep and rookies will get their asses kicked within seconds. But, the game rewards the one that keeps trying with some tasteful gameplay and a delicious fantasy topping.
  7. Microtransactions all but ruin this unusual real-time strategy and its flawed collectible card game.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. CraigR
    Jul 30, 2009
    10
    This is the first game I've been hooked on in ages. I've owned my own video game store chain, so I was pretty jaded. This game is This is the first game I've been hooked on in ages. I've owned my own video game store chain, so I was pretty jaded. This game is awesome. If you can get past the fact that they reel you in "Magic" style to buy new cards, it's unbelievably fun and varied. If you on;y spend $50 on cards, you will have a better time than most games you would drop $50 on without blinking. Expand
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    i cant believe the lower ratings on this game, often based on paying for additional cards. with just one purchase of the retail version (whichi cant believe the lower ratings on this game, often based on paying for additional cards. with just one purchase of the retail version (which you can get on ebay for about the price of an average lunch) you get more than enough in-game currency to buy anything you might need. and if u ever run out you can buy additional copies and add their content to your existing account. in over a year of playing i have spent less than £30 ($45 or so). And for that i have got literally THOUSANDS of hours of top-class entertainement. Compare that to a $50 game that u get 25 to 50 hours of gametime from and then tell me which is better value for money.
    They say that these days its all about the multiplayer, and for me its all about the PvP. BFs PvP is unprecedented. its unique and exciting and gets my pulse racing like no other game.. and ive been a gamer for 25 years. And the beauty is it doesnt matter how bad or good you are because with the ranking system everyone plays opponents of their own level. Someone that levels out around rank 15 can (and will) have matches that are as exciting and fulfilling as somone that levels out at rank 25. Your opponents will always be a balanced mixture of those at your level, those just below youre level and those just above.
    And, unbelievably for an online pvp game against strangers, many of the players demonstrate good sportsmanship and manners. Losers often congratualate their opponent on a match well played, and indeed the standard concession of defeat is "GG" - good game. and to me Battleforge is exactly that - a VERY good game.
    Expand
  3. EvanG
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    After viewing the trailer and thinking: "this looks like an odd game, I'll give it a whirl", I can honestly say this is an extremely After viewing the trailer and thinking: "this looks like an odd game, I'll give it a whirl", I can honestly say this is an extremely well made and extremely fun game. The first thing I noticed of course was the card system. I spent over an hour just building a single deck with my first tome of cards and had a blast doing it. The completionists of the gaming community will have a great time collecting and trading their cards, while the hardcore players will have fun building a deadly deck. The main gripe seems to be that people think you need to spend money to get more/the best cards. Well you dont, it's very easy to build a stellar deck with the points you get from buying the game. The artwork in the game astounded me. I felt like a little kid in a candy shop when I was looking at the different cards and units, and I'm not usually one to hang on graphics. Next up is the RTS playstyle. I thought they did a very good job in setting up the unique system of not using barracks like other games have repeated over and over and over. While I will agree that certain tactics are proven to be OP, only a month into release and the developers have already released a couple patches to help balance it. That brings me to the next point: content updates. Some people love them, while others hate them. It seems to be a growing trend in the market now, mostly thanks to consoles and DLC. The BF developers have hopped on board with the trend and have already begun releasing additional maps, with much more reported content on the way. Most notably, is a second "Edition" of cards said to premier sometime in Q3 of this year, consisting of an added 200 cards, nearly doubling the stockpile already in the game. The first thing most people should notice is that generally, when a game has an update as significant as this, it comes in the form of an expansion pack, costing anywhere from 20-40$. However with any point management, you could play BF to your hearts content and keep enough points to buy a tome right away when the new edition is released.....I absolutely love this game and look forward to supporting it through it's development. Expand
  4. AaronG
    May 5, 2009
    9
    A great game if you like collectible card games and a good game if you like RTSs. It has a bit of a learning curve, but once you get into it, A great game if you like collectible card games and a good game if you like RTSs. It has a bit of a learning curve, but once you get into it, there really is a lot of strategy and the customization you can put into your deck is great. Spending time to tailor a deck to your liking is really something that adds a lot of value and is missed in most other RTSs. Expand
  5. JamesTran
    Apr 2, 2009
    9
    A very addictive new CCG/RTS blend. Despite some interface problems in the auction house and the CCG pricing structure, this game really drawsA very addictive new CCG/RTS blend. Despite some interface problems in the auction house and the CCG pricing structure, this game really draws you in.

    I think this is what CCG on a PC should look and feel like. If you are a fan of pure RTS, this game might turn you off. If you are a fan of CCGs, this is perfect.

    Bottom line: Try the demo. I did, and I got hooked.
    Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2010
    8
    BATTLE FORGE REVIEW

    RELEASED: 27 March 2009 GENDER: MMO RTS I one of the best free MMOs out there. Battle Forge approaches to hybridize real
    BATTLE FORGE REVIEW

    RELEASED: 27 March 2009
    GENDER: MMO RTS

    I one of the best free MMOs out there.
    Battle Forge approaches to hybridize real time strategy and cards game (magic gathering like). As it also has been done before, no one has been as successful as Battle Forge.

    Battle Forge as I already said merges RTS and cards and the result is that you have up to 20 cards in your deck, which you use in field. There are 4 main different elements: Fire, Nature, Frost and Shadow from which you can create a vast number of differently combined decks. Each deck is suited for various situations. (PvP deck greatly differs from PvE).
    Every element has cards of several tiers (levels) 1-4, therefore in order to create a successful deck you need to have cards from each tiers. (usual structure 5 from each tier -> 2creatures, 2 spells, 1structure; However is may differ greatly).

    There are 19 campaign missions (PvE), which can be played on 3 levels (standard, advanced, expert) and can be played with 1-12 players.
    PvE missions are used in order to harvest gold and upgrades, which are later used to upgrade cards and make them stronger.

    PvP is very fulfilling and really test the ability of all the players. PvP cannot be approached as PvE, due to the fact that you need a great tactics plus awesome cards in order to be the top.

    Trading is one of the most important factors in the game. It is done via Auction House, where people add the cards they want to sell and other people can bid on them. Other way it to use the trade chat or forum.

    If you are skillful enough the gather the best cards, create the ultimate tactics and are a dexterous trader -> you are the perfect candidate for becoming the top player!!

    So, do not waste any more time and get to it
    Collapse
  7. ManaDar
    Apr 24, 2009
    3
    I'm a huge fan of RTS and RPG games but this game is a "cash cow" in the worst form. The gameplay is repetitive. The units are notI'm a huge fan of RTS and RPG games but this game is a "cash cow" in the worst form. The gameplay is repetitive. The units are not interesting. The storyline is a document, like a long and boring book . PvP is not interesting because some cards are seriously overpowered. If you buy this game, then you will regret it. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews