Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    With an ambitious concept, it's easy to forgive smaller mistakes - fortunately, Beatbuddy barely has any. [Oct 2013, p.86]
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    Nails the design, gameplay and mechanics. [Oct 2013, p.66]
  3. Aug 6, 2013
    90
    This is a tremendously unique, wildly creative endeavor that is a blast to play and even more enjoyable to listen to.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    Beatbuddy reveals a passion and dedication worthy of note, the result of which will repay the player.
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    85
    Threaks' work is a success in almost every aspect. The German team has created a valid, original, amusing and amazing game thanks to an excellent mix of different genres and a perfect harmony between the soundtrack and the scenarios.
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    83
    Beatbuddy’s soundtrack is simply fantastic, and the way it changes as you play is unique and interesting to play around with. The levels are long enough that you quickly become accustomed to each song and start humming along as you solve the simple puzzles. The overall length of the game is somewhat lacking, but the time I did spend playing was very enjoyable.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Beatbuddy isn't a flawless experience, but it's definitely something that PC players should check out.
  8. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    Even with its notable flaws, my time with Beatbuddy was mostly positive. When I was in the groove, bobbing my head and solving puzzles the time seemed to fade away… to the beat of the music.
  9. Aug 12, 2013
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Aug 11, 2013
    80
    Beatbuddy feels well worth the $15 sticker price on Steam for Mac, PC, and Linux. While sometimes it feels like its musical ambitions are inhibited by the game design, it's still a strong game in its own right and it's fun to see how the musical elements and enemies combine together as gameplay features.
  11. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    Like how musical theatre uses songs to tell its story, Beatbuddy uses rhythms to instruct its gameplay. It could still be a good game without its music core, but the soundtrack elevates it to be a great one.
  12. Aug 14, 2013
    75
    An adept fusion of music and gameplay.
  13. Aug 6, 2013
    75
    It's beautiful, fun and addictive, but above all the OST is the spirit of the experience. One of those games that should be part of your Steam collection.
  14. Dec 9, 2013
    70
    Some minor bugs and level design issues keep Beatbuddy from being a great title. It's worth checking out for those who want to try something different, and if you're a fan of Austin Wintory's music, his song alone is worth the price of admission.
  15. Nov 9, 2013
    70
    If you enjoy music&rhythm platformers, then Beatbuddy will offer you more than 5 hours of gaming in a sea of electronic music.
  16. Dec 11, 2013
    60
    The foundation for a great game is built here, but the gameplay ranges from passable to dull.
  17. Aug 9, 2013
    60
    Beatbuddy's incorporation of music into its gameplay is truly wonderful, but the repetition of its challenges holds the experience back.
  18. Aug 7, 2013
    60
    Beatbuddy shows off an ambitious concept and captures your heart with its visuals. The level and puzzle design on the other hand, seems too generic and uninspired.
  19. Aug 22, 2013
    50
    Beatbuddy has style and charm in abundance, but lacks the mechanics to be truly enjoyable.
  20. Oct 10, 2013
    40
    If you’re looking for a game with good music and not much else than Beatbuddy is your jam. Otherwise, look for the soundtrack and skip the frustration.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 28, 2014
    5
    Last Played: April 2014

    PROS: + Hand drawn backgrounds theme well and look good + Interesting concept: interactive elements in game control
    the music

    CONS: - Some framerate issues on a high performance PC – Foreground elements can obscure the screen – Some frustrating sequences (mostly due to annoying enemies and timing sequences)

    SUMMARY: I guess everybody wants to love independent games, and this one is mostly rated quite highly, seemingly in spite of misgivings other reviewers have listed. The two main draws to this game seem to be the art style (abstract shapes and rich colors) and the music (interactive elements contribute to one somewhat short repeating German techno song for each level). Unfortunately, the things that this game do well can also get in the way a bit. The hand-drawn elements of the background, while pretty are not so astounding that you’ll pause just to be impressed. In fact, on some occasions poor overlapping may even make you think that a secret or path exists where there is none. Moreover, there are a surprising number of times when the screen is partially or almost totally obscured by foreground elements so you can’t see what is going on, and sometimes there is such bad skipping that the game becomes nigh unplayable.
    The music is also problematic, in that the developers (to make it fit any length of time needed for a level) elected to make the repeating sequence somewhat short. As long as you are busy, it isn’t objectionable, but if you are waiting for something to happen, you might notice just how short they are. And unless you are a diehard fan of German techno music, this will become annoying. Speaking of waiting for things to happen, the timing in this game purports to be associated with the music, but the color signals telling you when to move sometimes don’t match the beat on which you actually are supposed to move (causing damage). There are really only three enemies in the game; one of which moves on a particular beat and must be avoided, a “trap” type that can be temporarily disabled, and one that can be killed, but comes in annoyingly large swarms and is often better avoided. In the end, the game suffers from increasing the quantity of the same enemies rather than introducing new ones. The puzzles suffer from the same limitation, in that they offer more quantity by the end, but not more complexity or reward.

    Unless you love German techno music or supporting independent developers, I wouldn’t spend more than $5 acquiring this game.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    This game is just the definition of groovy! You can call it a "platformer", though you're floating in a water world, with "puzzle" and action elements, in which the rhythm and beats of the music play a huge role. There's a variety of puzzles, some combat and other action sequences as well. The integration of the groovy music/rhythms with what you do and the seamless progression of it throughout levels and situations is nothing short of marvellous. Even every character you meet has their own recognizable beat (that rhymed, which is pertinent here, ahah). Much like the funny characters, the art style is colourful and cute, making it a pleasure to explore the rich world. The pacing is just masterful, you keep flowing through the levels with the music and the beats, and never get "stuck" in a puzzle for long. I've played the first two levels now, and was so completely engrossed that I lost all sense of time, only to, at the end of each one, be informed by the game it took me about 50 minutes to complete each. It's just that fun! I like electronic/beat-box music a lot, and the game made me want to start dancing numerous times!

    If you like music games and/or platformers you'll totally have a blast with this game. I haven't had this much fun in a game for a while. And even if that's not your thing, I recommend you try the demo (available on steam) for I suspect you'll enjoy it.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    7
    Beatbuddy: Tale of the Guardians is a beautiful side-scrolling game with lots of nuance and creativity and the music is great and guides you well through the game-play and puzzles. It lacks a little in depth and variety but the good looking graphics and story make up for it. It is not my favorite type of game as I'm not a big fan of platforming but this one is interesting to say the least. So if you're into this type of thing I strongly recommend getting this game! Full Review »