Bet on Soldier: Blood Sport PC

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 12 out of 32
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewR.
    Jan 2, 2006
    3
    This is the worst game I have ever purchased. I'm not sure if they rushed it or what but for a final release version it sucks!! you can't play for more than a few minutes before it crashes even at the latest patch version 1.2. I thought they had a good thing going a different twist on teh FPS genre... but they missed the mark entirely with this release it should have been in This is the worst game I have ever purchased. I'm not sure if they rushed it or what but for a final release version it sucks!! you can't play for more than a few minutes before it crashes even at the latest patch version 1.2. I thought they had a good thing going a different twist on teh FPS genre... but they missed the mark entirely with this release it should have been in beta for at least 6 - 12 months longer to work out compatability issues and then maybe they may have had a decent game.... nice try but no thanks. Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    Great.
  3. MattDC
    Oct 11, 2005
    5
    The betting mechanic - touted as the game's big selling point - is really just a standard upgrade system where the tougher opponents bring bigger rewards. This is by no means a bad game, but with Call of Duty 2, Quake 4 and F.E.A.R all imminent, you'd need to be a rich FPS fanatic to justify buying.
  4. MCHammer
    Oct 5, 2005
    8
    Above average FPS.
  5. Doc
    Jan 4, 2006
    1
    What little of the game I could get through looked nice and seemed as fun as any other FPS that has you running down prescibed corridors but soon it becomes unplayable. My PC can handle Doom 3 , Quake 4 , Far Cry , etc but the game is far too buggy. Even after downloading the patch, it doesnt run right. If other industries turned out unuseable merchandise the way game companies do, they What little of the game I could get through looked nice and seemed as fun as any other FPS that has you running down prescibed corridors but soon it becomes unplayable. My PC can handle Doom 3 , Quake 4 , Far Cry , etc but the game is far too buggy. Even after downloading the patch, it doesnt run right. If other industries turned out unuseable merchandise the way game companies do, they would very shortly be out of business or replaced by someone that could get the job done right ( or pretty close to it) the first time. I really don't see how this game can be recommendable in its current state. Expand
  6. DonK
    Oct 15, 2005
    9
    I cant believe some of these reviews. The AI in my opinion is better than HL2 and similiar to Fear and Far cry. They give GTA SA high reviews (Just for being a clone of its previous three games with its dated engine) but cut down a quality FPS like BOS is just typical of these reviewers. If you own a good gaming rig this game is well worth the money.
  7. BobK.
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    This is a near perfect masterpiece of FPS action with a new twist! Betting! I'm happy to say betting works, and works well, and adds a whole new level of detail to a tired genre.
  8. DanielLaursen
    Sep 22, 2005
    3
    I´ve only played the SP Demo and while some of the ideas were good, it was a buggy experience with horrible AI. Some models and designs were creative and different, but the overall quality varied to a great extent and there were too many visual flaws. It just didnt feel polished. It felt like i was playing an alpha. Also, despite decent anglosaxan voice acting, some of the writtenI´ve only played the SP Demo and while some of the ideas were good, it was a buggy experience with horrible AI. Some models and designs were creative and different, but the overall quality varied to a great extent and there were too many visual flaws. It just didnt feel polished. It felt like i was playing an alpha. Also, despite decent anglosaxan voice acting, some of the written english flawed. Expand
  9. kimjomgill
    Sep 26, 2005
    3
    Hopeless game that tries to mesh the ideas of several games into 1 , doesnt work its crap!
  10. SiCkWiThIT
    Sep 27, 2005
    3
    The whole basis of the game is silly. Its hard enough in a good FPS to figure out which weapons work best with which foe, those foe's strength and weaknesses, and the enemy AI. That's the challange. Seems that all Bet on Soldier has done to make it "stand out" is provide a mind-numbing array of weapons you have to buy? And then bet on how you do? Get real! Even the title The whole basis of the game is silly. Its hard enough in a good FPS to figure out which weapons work best with which foe, those foe's strength and weaknesses, and the enemy AI. That's the challange. Seems that all Bet on Soldier has done to make it "stand out" is provide a mind-numbing array of weapons you have to buy? And then bet on how you do? Get real! Even the title doesn't make sense. Expand
  11. TonyCaravella
    Sep 4, 2005
    9
    This is an excellent game...great gameplay, great idea (betting on soldiers), and awesome graphics. The only flaws that I didnt like was the skin was a bit unrealistic. It was much to shiny, and the blood needs to be improved a bit as well. Those are the only cons I found. Its a must-have for anyone who found counter-strike and unreal tournament an enjoyable experience
  12. LindaN.
    Mar 27, 2006
    0
    Sorry but you guys who gave this more than 3 must have really cr@p sound setups. This game refuses to run with any Audigy card at all, get to the first fight the MG goes off and so does the game, get a bit further up the tunnel same again. I took it back to game for refund straight after the 1.2 update did not solve the Issues. Sorry but in it's present state not even worth a 1.
  13. AndrewM.
    Jun 28, 2006
    8
    I'm running P4 with X800XT, Audigy 2 and 1.5GB...I've had no problems with the game at all. Plus I bought it at sale 50% off...I'm quite happy with the look and feel of the game and the storyline is good. It doesn't have the tension like FEAR or D3 but is fun and stylistic.
  14. MattN.
    Aug 12, 2006
    1
    After i played the kinda 3 first levels i was far from impressed! The sight of the icon on my desktop was enough to make me puke.
  15. Dave
    Dec 2, 2005
    7
    GRAPHICS: 10 GAMEPLAY: 5 It came free with my Athon 64 CPU, so I played it. The game was difficult at first, until you figure out that to win all your bets, the only weapon you need is the roto-blade. Like one reviewer said, the game does get better as you progress through the levels. SPOILER: When you get to the end, it asks you to pick sides. After picking sides, you get one or two more GRAPHICS: 10 GAMEPLAY: 5 It came free with my Athon 64 CPU, so I played it. The game was difficult at first, until you figure out that to win all your bets, the only weapon you need is the roto-blade. Like one reviewer said, the game does get better as you progress through the levels. SPOILER: When you get to the end, it asks you to pick sides. After picking sides, you get one or two more battles, and then find out you've picked the wrong side. You go back and play the other side, and get the same bummer of an ending. What kind of a video game lets you win all the battles, defeat all your enemies, and still lose the game!? The whole premise of betting on your battles never made much sense to me (I understand it, I just think it's stupid), and then to have such an idiotic ending that doesn't explain anything really takes the cake. On the plus side, the battles were fun, with plenty of wide-open battlefields to fight on, with your allies (and your mercenaries too) helping you out along the way. The graphics are awesome, much better than Doom 3, at least on my machine (Radeon X700 video card, Athon 4200+ dual-core CPU, 4 GB RAM). The physics were also great, when you kick things or shoot them, they react very much like they would in the real world, with exploding drums bouncing around, etc. Shoot the cap of a gas cyinder and it starts flying around eratically. Pretty cool for that, but the ending (not to mention the stupid premise) really dooms this game to midpack. Expand
  16. NelsonL.
    Feb 26, 2006
    0
    Did Uwe Boll design and direct this game? Thank God this was a given to me as a gift. If I had to purchase this piece of crap I would have used each cd for coasters and the jewel box for stuffing it with dog poo and sending it back to the developers, which places in danger my friendship with my friend. This is definitely the best example of what not to do. I own an Amd 64 and Nvidia Did Uwe Boll design and direct this game? Thank God this was a given to me as a gift. If I had to purchase this piece of crap I would have used each cd for coasters and the jewel box for stuffing it with dog poo and sending it back to the developers, which places in danger my friendship with my friend. This is definitely the best example of what not to do. I own an Amd 64 and Nvidia graphics card and it just plain crashes. Even with the patch. Not to mention what everybody else said... slower than a caravan of two legged turtles. It is a sad, sad, game. Your partners get in your way, they die studpidly and the voices... please. Expand
  17. Oct 2, 2010
    6
    How could someone give this game 10 or 9 or even 8?You cant save when you want enemies are very weak youre comrades are totally dumb and even the weapons are dull.The only good thing is the 1 vs 1 deathmatch in which you earn more many for a more faster kill of the opponent.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Bet on Soldier would have been a great game had it not been for the poor computer AI, lack of variety in the models and the abysmal loading times/lag. Great levels, a smart presentation and immersing sound coupled with the betting aspect makes the game stand out in the crowd.
  2. The progressive nature of the game will test the skilled player and you soon find out that the support soldiers you choose, the way you equip yourself, is very very important. Bet on Soldier is hard but then again presenting a challenge worth fighting through makes it even more appealing.
  3. Edge Magazine
    30
    Bet On Soldier’s non-linearity of progression, its riot-shield combat and internationally ranging scenarios suggest a game that might well have looked exciting on the drawing board. The final production, however, will leave anyone better off putting their money on the dogs. [Nov 2005, p.112]