Betrayer PC

Betrayer Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Betrayer washes you ashore in the New World in 1604, where you’re expecting to join a struggling English colony on the Virginia coast. Instead you find only ghosts and mysteries in a land drained of color and life. You’ll build up an arsenal of weaponry including muskets, crossbows andBetrayer washes you ashore in the New World in 1604, where you’re expecting to join a struggling English colony on the Virginia coast. Instead you find only ghosts and mysteries in a land drained of color and life. You’ll build up an arsenal of weaponry including muskets, crossbows and throwing axes, collecting untold treasures along the way. Chart your own course through an untamed wilderness teeming with danger and discovery as you search for survivors and unravel the colony’s many mysteries, including the identity of the strange, silent woman in red who helps from afar. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Dec 11, 2014
    80
    An interesting stealth/survival adventure. You can overlook small defects and enjoy the solid gameplay.
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    70
    It could have done with being ten dollars cheaper and two hours shorter, but Betrayer is a beautiful looking title with a compelling atmosphere and enjoyably tense combat.
  3. May 8, 2014
    70
    Despite its ups and downs, it's easy to turn a blind eye to Betrayer's faults thanks to its good atmosphere.
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    64
    We appreciate the attempt of doing something original, but not all gameplay mechanics are well implemented, creating an experience that some times becomes way too confusing. Still, if you like the idea behind and you understand what pieces don't fit as they should, it deserves a try.
  5. Apr 10, 2014
    60
    It truly is wonderful to see a company try something creative and succeed in at least some areas. The art, the mechanics and the atmosphere all work and come together very well. The downfall, however, is that Betrayer wants to be mysterious, but the inscrutable objectives become too perplexing due to a couple of factors, and as a result the game becomes one big enigma in itself.
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    57
    This mix of ideas just never properly congeals. Uncovering mysteries and vanquishing foes while building up your repertoire and knowledge should be fun, but wandering this world is often little better than performing listless chores.
  7. Mar 24, 2014
    30
    Betrayer is a game that suckered me in with its alluring visuals, but once it had me within its grasp it outright refused to let me enjoy myself. This is a game that is far below the standard of quality one would expect from the creators of F.E.A.R., and further proof, if we ever needed it, that presentation shouldn’t take precedence over gameplay.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Purchased the beta version and watched it's development. I also own several other FPS games and survival/horror games. Betrayer is originalPurchased the beta version and watched it's development. I also own several other FPS games and survival/horror games. Betrayer is original and hits the mark. Fantastic. Requires strategy and thought before attacking multiple enemies. Check inventory. You might not be able to make the attempt! Set in colonial times, setting is amazing. I give a 10 seeing metacritic is 7.6. $20 dollar game, but should be more. I would have paid $50. Original. Historical. Attention to most detail. I look forward to a AAA sequel! Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    the average score of 7,3 is ridiculous. as far as i can see there are 14 8-10 critics and just one yellow. there are no negative criticsthe average score of 7,3 is ridiculous. as far as i can see there are 14 8-10 critics and just one yellow. there are no negative critics which are listed top as thirten negative critics. however, the game is awesome. first 3d horror shooter which uses dolby surround to show the path to the places where youve gotta go. great work. just not well bribed critics. but who cares. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    When you spend your career giving out 10-out-of-10s in exchange for thousands of dollars, when a truly good game comes around you can't beWhen you spend your career giving out 10-out-of-10s in exchange for thousands of dollars, when a truly good game comes around you can't be blamed for missing it. Read the critic reviews at left. What do they say? Aw, it's not call of duty. Aw, I have to take my time to find everything. Aw, I have to walk through the wilderness in a game that takes place in North America in 1600!!!

    These people have been whores for so long they no longer enjoy foreplay. This game is excellent... a great story, VERY challenging combat, and a love of exploration prerequisite.

    [PROS]
    - The black-and-white esthetic is beautiful, but replaceable if you're not into that.
    - The storyline is amazing and the characters you meet are written to make you like or hate them -- a lot.
    - The stealth combat is great -- creep into shadows and expect to get owned if you go running at two bad guys like an idiot.
    - Shadows count toward stealth
    - Wind counts toward stealth
    - When you're nearby important items, there are audio cues to draw your attention
    - Four hits and you're dead
    - You are rewarded for exploration
    - You can't lose aggro -- enemies will follow you until either you are dead or they are dead
    - Very simple inventory system; tons of lore and each clue you find is recorded just in case you want to review it later.
    - While sprinting, you never get winded
    - In my opinion, good game length
    - If the combat is too difficult or time consuming, there's a button for that
    - Full rekeybinding with warnings when you unbind a key
    - Audio cues are important, but if that's an issue, there's an option to turn them into visual cues

    [CONS]
    - Limited graphics options (no 1080; MAX = 1280x720)
    - There is no warning when you are exploring and walk into an "exit zone" to the next area. So while exploring, you might accidentally leave the area and then have to come back -- which is a pain.
    - FOV slider goes to 110, but it looks very weird visually and really hinders you given how important it is to zoom in to hit targets at range with your bow and arrow.
    - Light refraction off of water is junky
    - Enemies always walk in a triangle, so you can anticipate where they'll be.
    - Enemies occasionally walk on top of a tree
    - Enemies make a huge ruccous when they spawn
    - There's no letter or other device to tell you why you're here at the start of the game. You can piece together the story as you go along, but the first fifteen minutes of the game could be a lot more informative
    - Game is very linear all things considered
    - Each area takes about an hour to fully explore and technically you have to explore them twice (I won't spoil why)
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2016
    8
    This is an exploration game where you have to fight a lot with ancient weapons. The settings is an abandoned 17th century colony at theThis is an exploration game where you have to fight a lot with ancient weapons. The settings is an abandoned 17th century colony at the coastline where some horrible things have happened. This game is very atmospheric and spooky. The quests can be tough, since clues are scarce and not always obvious. Also you have to do some backtracking in the end; luckily when no enemy is a real threat anymore. The game is default black and white but you can turn on some colors. Recommended. Also a game which you will enjoy more afterwards than during game play. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    8
    I recently picked this one up after having held off on buying it for a few months. This is more of an experimental game, toying with differentI recently picked this one up after having held off on buying it for a few months. This is more of an experimental game, toying with different gameplay and storytelling concepts. This is the definition of an immersive experience, building on very quiet natural sound design and relying on player agency for exploring the world. Now this game is definitely not for everyone ( ala this game is really divisive). For some the visual style can be visually confusing, the sound design can be a little too barren (albeit intentionally), and the gameplay can get a little stale. Personally I thought the sound design fit the experience impecably and I fell in love with the visual style to the point where my entire 15 hours was spent in that visual styling without any issues. I also found myself enjoying this game mainly because of the open exploration this game offers. If wandering around a field looking for different secrets and objectives, while navigating the game's deadly enemies sounds like a good time, this game might be for you.... Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2014
    7
    Ever wondered what it would be like playing in a Ben Wheatley cult British horror movie? Well this comes pretty close.
    You play as a
    Ever wondered what it would be like playing in a Ben Wheatley cult British horror movie? Well this comes pretty close.
    You play as a shipwreck survivor in the 17th century exploring your new environment. Pretty soon it becomes clear that there are supernatural forces at large, and various sub plots clues and locations begin to unravel the story of what befell the settlers.
    Like your character, we the player are left to our own devices. There is no training level or hand holding, it is you, alone, with only the wind trees rocks and birdsong for company.
    Upon death there is the "Demon Souls"frustration of having to clear an entire area again of respawned enemy in order to reclaim your hard worked loot , but despite this and the fairly repetitive "crouch sneak kill" combat Betrayer is compelling enough to draw you back in for one more go.
    Aesthetic Art work and graphics are what make this unique title. Now you will have to excuse me , the Island calls me again, what grizzly supernatural forces await me I cannot tell, it will not be pretty but I am compelled to go...that wind..there is something in that wind...
    Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    5
    This game is like Marmite. You will either love it, or utterly hate it.
    When initially presented with a largely monochrome menu screen with
    This game is like Marmite. You will either love it, or utterly hate it.
    When initially presented with a largely monochrome menu screen with the exception of a red face on a post, I was a little put off. I hadn't seen reviews of this on Youtube, or any trailers. It threw me. A lot.
    After about five minutes playing in a generally monochrome setting, I got tired of it and tried to change the graphics options and sure enough, was presented with a means to give the playing field a lot more colour and a lot more life of which this game is otherwise entirely void of except for deadly spaniard spirits and a woman doing her best to resemble a grown up Red Riding Hood
    I've found the gameplay thus far massively frustrating. The colour scheme of the hud doesn't match well with the environment of the play itself - with white being the same colour as the clouds, it's hard to determine the direction of noises when a block either side of the compass bar is generally masked by white cloud. So you're still none the wiser about what direction to go in unless you're hiding in the shadows of a tree.
    Combat is woefully punishing. This game FORCES you to play carefully and quietly. In some ways this would be a good thing, but it's not. I think it takes a lot of the "fun" factor out of the game. You have one central base in which to return, only two swigs of some kind of healing liquid to patch your health back up to 100% - and within a couple of always ruthlessly accurate shots, you've used those two gulps and find yourself having to either find another source for that liquid or having to traipse back to Fort Henry just to resupply for health alone. It's remarkably tedious, and you most likely *will* have to take the latter of those options just to be able to actually get anywhere.
    For some reason the sound is a little confusing - the audio quality needed fine tuning here - I've heard better sound engineering from Ubisoft and the like, but it still did the job. The noises though can be particularly unpleasant on the ears with the wind, the bells, the whole nine yards - if you have sensitive hearing, which can be caused by all manner of tricky issues with ears, this is not one of those games with which to wear earphones.
    It's a little bit of fun in very small doses, but the dangerously (and historically unbelievably) accurate musket fire of long distance contacts makes this game remarkably unrewarding, no matter how patient I may be, this in turn makes it impossible to keep wanting to play it for extended periods of time after the third or fourth trip back to base to get resupplied and the like.
    It's certainly original in many respects, but originality is not always the hallmark of quality, and there are some aspects of this game in which it seems to be missing that little bit of finesse in it's final production.
    A risky purchase for any gamer I reckon, and those who gave it 10 out of 10 are either remarkably tolerant and forgiving, or just really liked the game - for reasons I doubt I could fathom.This is not one of those games I would absolutely recommend to just anyone. This one will definitely be appreciated only by those who have "acquired" tastes.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers