Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Betrayer washes you ashore in the New World in 1604, where you’re expecting to join a struggling English colony on the Virginia coast. Instead you find only ghosts and mysteries in a land drained of color and life. You’ll build up an arsenal of weaponry including muskets, crossbows andBetrayer washes you ashore in the New World in 1604, where you’re expecting to join a struggling English colony on the Virginia coast. Instead you find only ghosts and mysteries in a land drained of color and life. You’ll build up an arsenal of weaponry including muskets, crossbows and throwing axes, collecting untold treasures along the way. Chart your own course through an untamed wilderness teeming with danger and discovery as you search for survivors and unravel the colony’s many mysteries, including the identity of the strange, silent woman in red who helps from afar. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Dec 11, 2014
    80
    An interesting stealth/survival adventure. You can overlook small defects and enjoy the solid gameplay.
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    70
    It could have done with being ten dollars cheaper and two hours shorter, but Betrayer is a beautiful looking title with a compelling atmosphere and enjoyably tense combat.
  3. May 8, 2014
    70
    Despite its ups and downs, it's easy to turn a blind eye to Betrayer's faults thanks to its good atmosphere.
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    64
    We appreciate the attempt of doing something original, but not all gameplay mechanics are well implemented, creating an experience that some times becomes way too confusing. Still, if you like the idea behind and you understand what pieces don't fit as they should, it deserves a try.
  5. Apr 10, 2014
    60
    It truly is wonderful to see a company try something creative and succeed in at least some areas. The art, the mechanics and the atmosphere all work and come together very well. The downfall, however, is that Betrayer wants to be mysterious, but the inscrutable objectives become too perplexing due to a couple of factors, and as a result the game becomes one big enigma in itself.
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    57
    This mix of ideas just never properly congeals. Uncovering mysteries and vanquishing foes while building up your repertoire and knowledge should be fun, but wandering this world is often little better than performing listless chores.
  7. Mar 24, 2014
    30
    Betrayer is a game that suckered me in with its alluring visuals, but once it had me within its grasp it outright refused to let me enjoy myself. This is a game that is far below the standard of quality one would expect from the creators of F.E.A.R., and further proof, if we ever needed it, that presentation shouldn’t take precedence over gameplay.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    the average score of 7,3 is ridiculous. as far as i can see there are 14 8-10 critics and just one yellow. there are no negative criticsthe average score of 7,3 is ridiculous. as far as i can see there are 14 8-10 critics and just one yellow. there are no negative critics which are listed top as thirten negative critics. however, the game is awesome. first 3d horror shooter which uses dolby surround to show the path to the places where youve gotta go. great work. just not well bribed critics. but who cares. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    One of the most original ideas I have seen in a while with the way the game is presented. The visuals strike a balance between obscure andOne of the most original ideas I have seen in a while with the way the game is presented. The visuals strike a balance between obscure and serene. Must see. Collapse
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Purchased the beta version and watched it's development. I also own several other FPS games and survival/horror games. Betrayer is originalPurchased the beta version and watched it's development. I also own several other FPS games and survival/horror games. Betrayer is original and hits the mark. Fantastic. Requires strategy and thought before attacking multiple enemies. Check inventory. You might not be able to make the attempt! Set in colonial times, setting is amazing. I give a 10 seeing metacritic is 7.6. $20 dollar game, but should be more. I would have paid $50. Original. Historical. Attention to most detail. I look forward to a AAA sequel! Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2015
    9
    Overall excellent game given price and budget. The story was interesting. The graphics (in black and white) really made the game intriguing.Overall excellent game given price and budget. The story was interesting. The graphics (in black and white) really made the game intriguing. The enemies were varied for the first half of the game before being repeated. The emphasis was as much on exploration as combat.

    I only have a couple of negatives. The first one is a bug that causes each save to take longer and longer until the app crashes. I could get about 15 saves before it crashed. The got caught in scenario a few times but nothing major. The biggest compliant I have is that the game didn't really bother introducing any of the concepts that you needed to know so you were left guessing the first half of the game and then realizing you had to backtrack to the earlier areas to do stuff. The final complaint I had was that there was simply too much backtracking and searching. A simple way to mark locations on the map could have saved a lot of time searching around for things I had already found. Quicker methods to get back to areas I needed to get to would have also been useful.
    Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    Much better than I expected. Don't see what's all the negative critic reviews about.
    The soundscape is amazing in this game. The wind
    Much better than I expected. Don't see what's all the negative critic reviews about.
    The soundscape is amazing in this game. The wind blowing, the lack of music and the subtle sound effects are work well. Instead of a quest arrow, you can listen to a sound when pressing X. This is an awesome mechanic and should be in more games too. The bell and other sound effects in dark world are creepy as hell, just perfect for the game. This game needs to be played with headphones on, otherwise you'll have hard time figuring out where the enemies and objectives are. There is no voice acting, but reading the dialogues is not a problem.

    It looks great. Especially the dark world with it's sun shafts and fog-like environment. There isn't many textures, most of the game is just grass, trees, rocks with wooden forts. But they look good. The black&white&red theme works surprisingly well. I had to change the contrast values a little, but the colorless version is unique and really good.

    The combat feels pretty bad first, but when you get used to the speed and aim of the bow and remember to use all weapons when fighting it gets pretty solid. Upgrades feel good and are worth the money. Enemy AI isn't the best, but good enough to provide a challenging gameplay.

    Good little game. Doesn't feel like totally polished, full game, but you can see that from the price tag. Definetly worth getting, at least from a sale if you're interested.
    Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2014
    8
    I recently picked this one up after having held off on buying it for a few months. This is more of an experimental game, toying with differentI recently picked this one up after having held off on buying it for a few months. This is more of an experimental game, toying with different gameplay and storytelling concepts. This is the definition of an immersive experience, building on very quiet natural sound design and relying on player agency for exploring the world. Now this game is definitely not for everyone ( ala this game is really divisive). For some the visual style can be visually confusing, the sound design can be a little too barren (albeit intentionally), and the gameplay can get a little stale. Personally I thought the sound design fit the experience impecably and I fell in love with the visual style to the point where my entire 15 hours was spent in that visual styling without any issues. I also found myself enjoying this game mainly because of the open exploration this game offers. If wandering around a field looking for different secrets and objectives, while navigating the game's deadly enemies sounds like a good time, this game might be for you.... Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    5
    This game is like Marmite. You will either love it, or utterly hate it.
    When initially presented with a largely monochrome menu screen with
    This game is like Marmite. You will either love it, or utterly hate it.
    When initially presented with a largely monochrome menu screen with the exception of a red face on a post, I was a little put off. I hadn't seen reviews of this on Youtube, or any trailers. It threw me. A lot.
    After about five minutes playing in a generally monochrome setting, I got tired of it and tried to change the graphics options and sure enough, was presented with a means to give the playing field a lot more colour and a lot more life of which this game is otherwise entirely void of except for deadly spaniard spirits and a woman doing her best to resemble a grown up Red Riding Hood
    I've found the gameplay thus far massively frustrating. The colour scheme of the hud doesn't match well with the environment of the play itself - with white being the same colour as the clouds, it's hard to determine the direction of noises when a block either side of the compass bar is generally masked by white cloud. So you're still none the wiser about what direction to go in unless you're hiding in the shadows of a tree.
    Combat is woefully punishing. This game FORCES you to play carefully and quietly. In some ways this would be a good thing, but it's not. I think it takes a lot of the "fun" factor out of the game. You have one central base in which to return, only two swigs of some kind of healing liquid to patch your health back up to 100% - and within a couple of always ruthlessly accurate shots, you've used those two gulps and find yourself having to either find another source for that liquid or having to traipse back to Fort Henry just to resupply for health alone. It's remarkably tedious, and you most likely *will* have to take the latter of those options just to be able to actually get anywhere.
    For some reason the sound is a little confusing - the audio quality needed fine tuning here - I've heard better sound engineering from Ubisoft and the like, but it still did the job. The noises though can be particularly unpleasant on the ears with the wind, the bells, the whole nine yards - if you have sensitive hearing, which can be caused by all manner of tricky issues with ears, this is not one of those games with which to wear earphones.
    It's a little bit of fun in very small doses, but the dangerously (and historically unbelievably) accurate musket fire of long distance contacts makes this game remarkably unrewarding, no matter how patient I may be, this in turn makes it impossible to keep wanting to play it for extended periods of time after the third or fourth trip back to base to get resupplied and the like.
    It's certainly original in many respects, but originality is not always the hallmark of quality, and there are some aspects of this game in which it seems to be missing that little bit of finesse in it's final production.
    A risky purchase for any gamer I reckon, and those who gave it 10 out of 10 are either remarkably tolerant and forgiving, or just really liked the game - for reasons I doubt I could fathom.This is not one of those games I would absolutely recommend to just anyone. This one will definitely be appreciated only by those who have "acquired" tastes.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers