Betrayer PC

Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Betrayer washes you ashore in the New World in 1604, where you’re expecting to join a struggling English colony on the Virginia coast. Instead you find only ghosts and mysteries in a land drained of color and life. You’ll build up an arsenal of weaponry including muskets, crossbows andBetrayer washes you ashore in the New World in 1604, where you’re expecting to join a struggling English colony on the Virginia coast. Instead you find only ghosts and mysteries in a land drained of color and life. You’ll build up an arsenal of weaponry including muskets, crossbows and throwing axes, collecting untold treasures along the way. Chart your own course through an untamed wilderness teeming with danger and discovery as you search for survivors and unravel the colony’s many mysteries, including the identity of the strange, silent woman in red who helps from afar. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Dec 11, 2014
    80
    An interesting stealth/survival adventure. You can overlook small defects and enjoy the solid gameplay.
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    70
    It could have done with being ten dollars cheaper and two hours shorter, but Betrayer is a beautiful looking title with a compelling atmosphere and enjoyably tense combat.
  3. May 8, 2014
    70
    Despite its ups and downs, it's easy to turn a blind eye to Betrayer's faults thanks to its good atmosphere.
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    64
    We appreciate the attempt of doing something original, but not all gameplay mechanics are well implemented, creating an experience that some times becomes way too confusing. Still, if you like the idea behind and you understand what pieces don't fit as they should, it deserves a try.
  5. Apr 10, 2014
    60
    It truly is wonderful to see a company try something creative and succeed in at least some areas. The art, the mechanics and the atmosphere all work and come together very well. The downfall, however, is that Betrayer wants to be mysterious, but the inscrutable objectives become too perplexing due to a couple of factors, and as a result the game becomes one big enigma in itself.
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    57
    This mix of ideas just never properly congeals. Uncovering mysteries and vanquishing foes while building up your repertoire and knowledge should be fun, but wandering this world is often little better than performing listless chores.
  7. Mar 24, 2014
    30
    Betrayer is a game that suckered me in with its alluring visuals, but once it had me within its grasp it outright refused to let me enjoy myself. This is a game that is far below the standard of quality one would expect from the creators of F.E.A.R., and further proof, if we ever needed it, that presentation shouldn’t take precedence over gameplay.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Purchased the beta version and watched it's development. I also own several other FPS games and survival/horror games. Betrayer is originalPurchased the beta version and watched it's development. I also own several other FPS games and survival/horror games. Betrayer is original and hits the mark. Fantastic. Requires strategy and thought before attacking multiple enemies. Check inventory. You might not be able to make the attempt! Set in colonial times, setting is amazing. I give a 10 seeing metacritic is 7.6. $20 dollar game, but should be more. I would have paid $50. Original. Historical. Attention to most detail. I look forward to a AAA sequel! Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    It's an interesting mixture of Stalker, FEAR and Thief. If you like hand-holding and constant spoon-fed exposition, go play something else.It's an interesting mixture of Stalker, FEAR and Thief. If you like hand-holding and constant spoon-fed exposition, go play something else.
    If you like an eerie and unique adventure that embraces a sense of discovery and mystery that keeps you wondered and engaged in creative ways throughout the entire game, then do yourself a favor and buy it.
    Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    One of the most original ideas I have seen in a while with the way the game is presented. The visuals strike a balance between obscure andOne of the most original ideas I have seen in a while with the way the game is presented. The visuals strike a balance between obscure and serene. Must see. Expand
  4. May 16, 2015
    8
    I've had great fun playing this game, despite not being a fan of stealth games or open-world games with item-hunting being a major aspect ofI've had great fun playing this game, despite not being a fan of stealth games or open-world games with item-hunting being a major aspect of gameplay. The game has a great atmosphere, especially with its nice touches, such as realistic wind effects, and the ability to change the colour saturation when playing.

    At first it appears as though the game has no story. You arrive in a wooded area with scattered forts and military outposts. Everyone aside from one NPC are dead and it's your job to find out what happened to this place. As you travel from one open area to another, you find clues and remains of the conflict. In each area you are able to traverse between the normal world and the dark world. In the dark world you are able to communicate with the spirits of the dead, hearing out their side of the story, and eventually putting together the clues that tell you how they died and why.

    In each area, there is a variety of enemies you encounter, each of which poses a threat, especially when they come in groups. This means you often have to approach them with strategy and stealth, because most weapons are either not that powerful or take a while to reload. It kind of felt like Dark Souls but in 1st person - dangerous enemies, dying takes you back to a safe place with all enemies in the area revived, and most of the story told through clues in the environment.

    I generally enjoyed the game and found myself very immersed, but there were a few minor drawbacks. For example, it started to feel like it was dragging on a bit in the latter stages since the gameplay did not change much between each area. I also found exploring the dark world to be a bit tedious because the environments were being bland. I think it could've been made a bit prettier with some more detail in the environments. Just because it's meant to be grey and dark does not mean it has to feel empty. There were also very minor gripes, like some wearable charms having useless bonuses, like having a 4% chance of being harder to spot (why equip that when I can equip charms that increase my melee damage by 50 or even 100%).

    In general, this is a solid game. If you're into games with an open-world feel and lots of things to collect, and story being subtle, you should enjoy it. If you're not into those things, you might, just like me, enjoy it still.
    Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2014
    8
    It's not a big-budget title, and it might not appeal to everyone, but Betrayer is a fantastic blend of old-school FPS, survival horror, andIt's not a big-budget title, and it might not appeal to everyone, but Betrayer is a fantastic blend of old-school FPS, survival horror, and adventure that oozes atmospheres and creativity. If you think that FPS specifically and games generally have been "dumbed down" for the console generation, you'll appreciate the influence of the developers' experience working on classic PC FPS such as NOLF and FEAR. Casual gamers might be turned off by the difficulty and some might take exception to the unique (and slightly controversial) art design, but overall this is a must-buy if you're looking for an alternative to the hand-holding of modern console shooters like Call of Duty.

    If your experience with the FPS genre begins and ends with CoD: Modern Warfare or Far Cry 2, this game will come as something of shock. Even on the normal difficulty enemies are challenging, and you can't expect to wade into a group of foes and emerge victorious. There is no cover system, and health doesn't regenerate, so expect to be punished for charging blindly into combat unprepared.

    The game's signature art style is also the game's biggest source of complaints. The game is intended to be played in a high-contrast black and white, with red the only visible color. Per the dev team, the point of this is to both disorient the player, making exploration and combat more intense, and emphasize creatures and items of note (which glow a jarring red). Normal colors can be restored in the settings, but this takes a lot of atmosphere out of the game. I found adjusting the black and white levels slightly was an acceptable compromise.

    I got in on the Early Access part of the game and have watched it improve over time. The devs were active in the forums and engaged in the community from the get-go, and comments and critiques made in the forums found their way into the final product. It's refreshing to see developers in this day and age actually listen and respond to players in a professional manner, and even more so to see them actively incorporating player concerns and suggestions in the final product. The point of Early Access, i.e. that players can take an active role influencing the development of a game, seems to get lost pretty often, so it's always good to see a dev team using Early Access as more than just a way to get funding.

    This game isn't really made to appeal to a wide audience. There are a lot of people who will find it too challenging or will be put off by the lack of eye-candy. For fans of classic FPS, survival horror, and atmosphere, and for "hardcore" gamers, there's a lot of bang for the buck here.
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    Much better than I expected. Don't see what's all the negative critic reviews about.
    The soundscape is amazing in this game. The wind
    Much better than I expected. Don't see what's all the negative critic reviews about.
    The soundscape is amazing in this game. The wind blowing, the lack of music and the subtle sound effects are work well. Instead of a quest arrow, you can listen to a sound when pressing X. This is an awesome mechanic and should be in more games too. The bell and other sound effects in dark world are creepy as hell, just perfect for the game. This game needs to be played with headphones on, otherwise you'll have hard time figuring out where the enemies and objectives are. There is no voice acting, but reading the dialogues is not a problem.

    It looks great. Especially the dark world with it's sun shafts and fog-like environment. There isn't many textures, most of the game is just grass, trees, rocks with wooden forts. But they look good. The black&white&red theme works surprisingly well. I had to change the contrast values a little, but the colorless version is unique and really good.

    The combat feels pretty bad first, but when you get used to the speed and aim of the bow and remember to use all weapons when fighting it gets pretty solid. Upgrades feel good and are worth the money. Enemy AI isn't the best, but good enough to provide a challenging gameplay.

    Good little game. Doesn't feel like totally polished, full game, but you can see that from the price tag. Definetly worth getting, at least from a sale if you're interested.
    Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    5
    This game is like Marmite. You will either love it, or utterly hate it.
    When initially presented with a largely monochrome menu screen with
    This game is like Marmite. You will either love it, or utterly hate it.
    When initially presented with a largely monochrome menu screen with the exception of a red face on a post, I was a little put off. I hadn't seen reviews of this on Youtube, or any trailers. It threw me. A lot.
    After about five minutes playing in a generally monochrome setting, I got tired of it and tried to change the graphics options and sure enough, was presented with a means to give the playing field a lot more colour and a lot more life of which this game is otherwise entirely void of except for deadly spaniard spirits and a woman doing her best to resemble a grown up Red Riding Hood
    I've found the gameplay thus far massively frustrating. The colour scheme of the hud doesn't match well with the environment of the play itself - with white being the same colour as the clouds, it's hard to determine the direction of noises when a block either side of the compass bar is generally masked by white cloud. So you're still none the wiser about what direction to go in unless you're hiding in the shadows of a tree.
    Combat is woefully punishing. This game FORCES you to play carefully and quietly. In some ways this would be a good thing, but it's not. I think it takes a lot of the "fun" factor out of the game. You have one central base in which to return, only two swigs of some kind of healing liquid to patch your health back up to 100% - and within a couple of always ruthlessly accurate shots, you've used those two gulps and find yourself having to either find another source for that liquid or having to traipse back to Fort Henry just to resupply for health alone. It's remarkably tedious, and you most likely *will* have to take the latter of those options just to be able to actually get anywhere.
    For some reason the sound is a little confusing - the audio quality needed fine tuning here - I've heard better sound engineering from Ubisoft and the like, but it still did the job. The noises though can be particularly unpleasant on the ears with the wind, the bells, the whole nine yards - if you have sensitive hearing, which can be caused by all manner of tricky issues with ears, this is not one of those games with which to wear earphones.
    It's a little bit of fun in very small doses, but the dangerously (and historically unbelievably) accurate musket fire of long distance contacts makes this game remarkably unrewarding, no matter how patient I may be, this in turn makes it impossible to keep wanting to play it for extended periods of time after the third or fourth trip back to base to get resupplied and the like.
    It's certainly original in many respects, but originality is not always the hallmark of quality, and there are some aspects of this game in which it seems to be missing that little bit of finesse in it's final production.
    A risky purchase for any gamer I reckon, and those who gave it 10 out of 10 are either remarkably tolerant and forgiving, or just really liked the game - for reasons I doubt I could fathom.This is not one of those games I would absolutely recommend to just anyone. This one will definitely be appreciated only by those who have "acquired" tastes.
    Collapse

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers