User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1336 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Play as a big daddy from the first game? Interesting idea, but did it work? Was the protagonist too far removed from you to really care? For me the game worked, not in the same ballpark as the first but it did indeed work. Just not as well as the original, not by a long chalk.
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    There is no other game that I felt compassion and protective love against a character eventhough I am not a father myself. I'm not gonna talk about the gameplay its obvious and its not the winning side of this game. Its the FEEELINGS that this game made me taste that is worthwhile. (Maybe the walking dead came close to the same feelings)
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    With the first Bioshock being a ground-breaking piece of art, Bioshock 2 falls short of it's predecessor. This time around, you play as Delta, the first successful Big Daddy. You want to find your original "Little Sister", but she has been put into custody of a corrupt politician who plans to create a woman made of all the great minds of Rapture.
    The game's single player campaign is
    With the first Bioshock being a ground-breaking piece of art, Bioshock 2 falls short of it's predecessor. This time around, you play as Delta, the first successful Big Daddy. You want to find your original "Little Sister", but she has been put into custody of a corrupt politician who plans to create a woman made of all the great minds of Rapture.
    The game's single player campaign is slightly lacking. It has enough substance, such as new weapons, powers, and enemies to keep the player somewhat interested during the majority of it, but it was not varied enough from the original game's formula.
    One of the redeeming factors of the game as a whole is the multi-player. It takes place before the events of the original game, and retains the weapons and powers from the first. It gives the player something to come back to after the single player game.
    Overall, the game had some problems, but the game was still descent enough to keep the same charm of the original game.
    Expand
  4. May 11, 2012
    9
    I really love how they created a big city under the sea. It's like an whole new culture was created in the game. This game has very good voice acting, like the first Bioshock. The plasmids, weapons and hacking are better than the first game. The story is not that good, comparing to the first game, but still very enjoyable. Some people complained that the game is a little too short (AndI really love how they created a big city under the sea. It's like an whole new culture was created in the game. This game has very good voice acting, like the first Bioshock. The plasmids, weapons and hacking are better than the first game. The story is not that good, comparing to the first game, but still very enjoyable. Some people complained that the game is a little too short (And yes, it is in fact shorter than the first game), but I think it is the perfect length a game can have. You can finish the game before you got bored of it. BioShock Infinite is coming, and because of the fun brought to me by BioShock and BioShock 2, I am really looking forward to BioShock Infinite. Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    Despite a completely new storyline, new enemies and weapons, and updated graphics, this game felt a lot like more of the same. There really weren't many parts of this game that made me feel like I was playing a different game than Bioshock, not that I'm complaining.
  6. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    This is the second part of an amazing game but i think is not in the same high level of the first Bioshock. The graphics is a little worst, the gameplay the same but it has one more time a very nice story and an amazing cinematic ending.
  7. yoshi
    Feb 25, 2010
    9
    Firstly can people plz not give it a zero for things like "its glitchy" as it is probably your computers fault. becausethere are some reviews were people HAVE NOT PLAYED THE GAME. I mean how can you rate the game if you havnt played it... Awesome game though the combat is very fun and enjoyable with a excellent single player and multiplayer experience. Do not vote if you havnt played the game.
  8. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    Bioshock 2 is more of the same, or perhaps less of the same. However since the original bioshock's world was so staggeringly inviting and original, more of the same in this context is not bad. I guess what I am saying is that it takes more than two games set in the same world for genre fatigue to set in. This game also makes some mild improvements to the gameplay and mechanics, it's storyBioshock 2 is more of the same, or perhaps less of the same. However since the original bioshock's world was so staggeringly inviting and original, more of the same in this context is not bad. I guess what I am saying is that it takes more than two games set in the same world for genre fatigue to set in. This game also makes some mild improvements to the gameplay and mechanics, it's story is solid - although not as masterful as the originals - and the game still maintains a sense of emotional weight. It's major downfall for me is it's length, and a more enclosed world that feels a little more like a rails-first-person-shooter than bioshock has any right to feel. I enjoyed the heck out of this game - although it's absolutely a step in the wrong direction. Expand
  9. TedS
    Feb 10, 2010
    9
    Not as bad as all these reviews made it out to be, VERY nice having 2 weapons, doesn't get as boring as the first 1, still playing it. Always out of ammo, but this is ok since i like a good challenge, makes u scavenge A LOT! but this time around Everywhere i look i find treasure or a new modification spell. It feels like what the first 1 shoulda been, which is nice. Rating prob right Not as bad as all these reviews made it out to be, VERY nice having 2 weapons, doesn't get as boring as the first 1, still playing it. Always out of ammo, but this is ok since i like a good challenge, makes u scavenge A LOT! but this time around Everywhere i look i find treasure or a new modification spell. It feels like what the first 1 shoulda been, which is nice. Rating prob right at a 9. Not a whole lot of attractive people, but hey its bioshock. Expand
  10. TaylorM
    Feb 12, 2010
    7
    I am rating this game as if both components of the game get their own 0-10 score rating and then I am averaging it. That being said, the singleplayer gets a 10, and the multiplayer gets a 3. It's not because the multiplayer is bad. It is actually a really well implemented idea in terms of gameplay. It's because MATCHMAKING is bad, no dedicated is bad, which is the same problem I am rating this game as if both components of the game get their own 0-10 score rating and then I am averaging it. That being said, the singleplayer gets a 10, and the multiplayer gets a 3. It's not because the multiplayer is bad. It is actually a really well implemented idea in terms of gameplay. It's because MATCHMAKING is bad, no dedicated is bad, which is the same problem with MW2. So far most of the matches I've played have been lag city for everyone but the host who could "see all of US lag." I'm tired of sacrificing "ease-of-use" for a crappy multi-player experience. Matchmaking itself isn't my major complaint here, its the lack of dedicated servers. L4D and L4D2 have matchmaking and dedicated servers, so why is it so difficult for other developers to implement this system? The most disappointing part is the fact that based on the GAMEPLAY of multiplayer alone I could see myself playing it as much or more than TF2. Expand
  11. N.D
    Feb 10, 2010
    8
    Some of the graphics and game mechanics are better, but the storytelling of the first game is still more memorable and clever. Also, it took me a while to get used to using both Plasmids and weapons at the same time, and the game seems much harder than its predecessor. Overall, the singleplayer is pretty great and no BioShock fan should pass this game up. The multiplayer on the other Some of the graphics and game mechanics are better, but the storytelling of the first game is still more memorable and clever. Also, it took me a while to get used to using both Plasmids and weapons at the same time, and the game seems much harder than its predecessor. Overall, the singleplayer is pretty great and no BioShock fan should pass this game up. The multiplayer on the other hand, is a horrible joke, and a sick waste of time. Expand
  12. JonathanL
    Feb 11, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. It is just as amazing as the first one with a few faults. The story is pretty darn good but still a little weaker than the first. There is a lot of predictable story turns thanks to playing through the first one, and you see a lot of reused personalities, but without beating the game yet I still don't see a new fontaine in sight. Overall, definitely a buy no This game is awesome. It is just as amazing as the first one with a few faults. The story is pretty darn good but still a little weaker than the first. There is a lot of predictable story turns thanks to playing through the first one, and you see a lot of reused personalities, but without beating the game yet I still don't see a new fontaine in sight. Overall, definitely a buy no matter what people are saying about the securerom problems, I have had none whatsoever. Expand
  13. MandyC
    Feb 11, 2010
    8
    To be honest I feel the game is way too short to receive a higher score. Its a revisit, with few surprises. The game play is immersive, the story well told as with #1, but , I cant stress enough, at 4-6 hours playtime its really not worthy of being a classic. Sure the multiplayer is fun, but it adds nothing new to the overcrowded multiplayer FPS genre. When you look at the likes of To be honest I feel the game is way too short to receive a higher score. Its a revisit, with few surprises. The game play is immersive, the story well told as with #1, but , I cant stress enough, at 4-6 hours playtime its really not worthy of being a classic. Sure the multiplayer is fun, but it adds nothing new to the overcrowded multiplayer FPS genre. When you look at the likes of Fallout 3 , DAorigins, Mass Effect etc with 80+ hours gameplay, this great looking game falls short. Expand
  14. JasonR
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    Man this game is epic. I liked how they fixed all the stuff I didn't like from the first (not much i didn't like though). The hacking is much better, the weapons, all the plasmids can be useful, and the controls aren't as clunky for the PC. Just finished it, can't wait to start multiplayer. Job well done 2K
  15. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    It isn't often that a sequel surpasses the original, and BioShock 2 does just that. It carries over the extremely high production values. The sound, the voice acting, the ambience and forboding are all there in spades. The gameplay is just as compelling as before, with added layers and possibilities that broaden your options without saddling them. This was to be expected, as the originalIt isn't often that a sequel surpasses the original, and BioShock 2 does just that. It carries over the extremely high production values. The sound, the voice acting, the ambience and forboding are all there in spades. The gameplay is just as compelling as before, with added layers and possibilities that broaden your options without saddling them. This was to be expected, as the original recipe was ripe for exploitation. What I didn't expect was a truly immersive, heartwarming story that took my breath away at the end. Maybe being a parent helped with that, but I don't see how anyone with an ounce of compassion could not be moved by what unfolds.

    BioShock 2 is a masterpiece in every sense of the word.

    Maybe its because I played a patched version, but I encountered none of the technical issues many other reviewers alluded to. I ran the game at 1050x1680 widescreen with no trouble. Loading times were under 10 seconds, often just a couple of seconds. How people can say Bio 2 looks worse that Bio 1 is beyond me, it may not be better, but it most certainly is not worse. And looking the same as the first game was probably intentional, it is after all the same place is it not? It does take place ten years later, which is why Rapture now appears to be falling apart, so in that way it is different. It is also a measure of just how well thought out the game, as a sequel, is and I believe it was executed extemely well. The only real complaint I have is that it can be a hassle to manage all those weapons and plasmids in the midst of combat, and that ammo to be found is a bit too plentiful. Other than that the game absorbed me from the beginning and kept me engrossed for several days. Those of you finishing the game in 8 hours simply are not "experiencing the game", you are merely playing it at a superficial level, probably so you can brag about how fast you completed it and get to writing a cursory review that imparts nothing of substance.

    I really wish people would put more thought into thier reviews, if you say "it's buggy" then tell us how its buggy....if it's "a great game" tell us why its a great game. And this notion of "the game has no innovation" claim is crap. When you think about it honestly...what was the last FPS game that was truly innovative? Remember, you are doing a service by posting a review, make it worthwhile.
    Expand
  16. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Technically sound (though Games for Windows Live was a burden to make happy), I didn't experience any glitches or crashes during game-play. Story wise I was a bit leery of a sequel to the impressive work of the original Bioshock. For my thoughts on it, in many ways I enjoyed the story of the second one better. Don't get me wrong, the first one had impressive characters and some uniqueTechnically sound (though Games for Windows Live was a burden to make happy), I didn't experience any glitches or crashes during game-play. Story wise I was a bit leery of a sequel to the impressive work of the original Bioshock. For my thoughts on it, in many ways I enjoyed the story of the second one better. Don't get me wrong, the first one had impressive characters and some unique twists and turns. However the first one always seemed to keep the heart of the story at arm's length, never full investing the player in the plight of the protagonist. At the end it came together nicely. Bioshock 2 kept me going, eagerly devouring levels to complete the next step on the journey. As someone else posted, perhaps it's the difference of theme of what it is to be a parent. Playing as a dad, perhaps I could identify more with Delta and the drive that keeps him going. If you truly enjoyed Rapture from the original Bioshock, you would be remiss to skip playing the second. Take the critical reviews with a grain of sea salt and jump back into the depths with both feet. Expand
  17. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed it. Not as much as the first, but nonetheless a good game. The default controls were WAY easier as well. The atmosphere is just as creepy but in a different way than the first.
  18. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    As always - Bioshock kick arse! Perhaps not as pleasant as the original (but common - let's face it - it was awesome because it was so new, and unique) the second part still is a fun shooter-walker! :) enjoyed it a lot. Can't wait to play Dead Space 2!
  19. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, the GOTY 2010! The ending was the best I've ever seen in my life, and everything has been improved in the sequel, only bad in multiplayer with some problems.
  20. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    Playing the first game is not essential at all to playing this game, it is very similar to the first game though in that the gameplay is basically the same and so is the setting. Gameplay has been improved, you can use both plasmids and weapons at the same time, there are mini turrets now and different types of big daddies and enemies. The story is not very much like predecessor, more ofPlaying the first game is not essential at all to playing this game, it is very similar to the first game though in that the gameplay is basically the same and so is the setting. Gameplay has been improved, you can use both plasmids and weapons at the same time, there are mini turrets now and different types of big daddies and enemies. The story is not very much like predecessor, more of an emotional tale of a father, still very good though. I didn't play the multiplayer much but it didn't seem very noteworthy. The diaries found around rapture are still as interesting. Expand
  21. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Excellent game, the story is its strongest point. With touches of role on the management of items / powers / enhancements, this first-person game one of the most engaging, although it is recommended to play the first one to understand and enjoy 2. The game very well optimized, has excellent graphics and an incredible atmosphere, addictive gameplay and duration of the campaign is quite longExcellent game, the story is its strongest point. With touches of role on the management of items / powers / enhancements, this first-person game one of the most engaging, although it is recommended to play the first one to understand and enjoy 2. The game very well optimized, has excellent graphics and an incredible atmosphere, addictive gameplay and duration of the campaign is quite long (about 20 hours and a bit more). The changes between the previous (That was one of the best games of 2007) are not very noticeable, and this does not mean it is bad, and that remains the highlight of the first delivery. The only criticism is the multiplayer, not because it is bad (although I miss a bit to at least be "addictive"), but that all servers are empty. But the singleplayer and is a gem, so it should not be a problem this. Expand
  22. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    simply copy of Bioshock however still perfect to play, good story.... minus a point because of technical issues with GFW - solved after 2 hours findings on internet
  23. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Being the Encore to one of my favorite games of 2007 I had high expectations for this game, this is inevitably the downfall of ND 3RD Et Cetera of games. This expectation of a better game than the first brings down many games or at least for me it does. But Bio shock 2 managed to pull it off. The story telling was much more in depth and holes where few and far between almost unnoticeableBeing the Encore to one of my favorite games of 2007 I had high expectations for this game, this is inevitably the downfall of ND 3RD Et Cetera of games. This expectation of a better game than the first brings down many games or at least for me it does. But Bio shock 2 managed to pull it off. The story telling was much more in depth and holes where few and far between almost unnoticeable in some areas. It excels in this area that Bio shock struggled to get around. But the gameplay is not as good, the first game put story aside to bring you into this mysterious and powerful place where pretty much everything can kill you with ease if you don't use tactics. This changed in the second one where practically the only thing more powerful than you and you might struggle with is the big sister but any any gamer with OK hand eye co-ordination will not struggle at all. The plasmids are brought to mind whilst playing Bio shock being just one of the many defining features, in the first they had this method of one at a time where you would have to change from plasmid to weapon, this brought a new level of tactics to the game as you must think before you act, Bio shock 2 turned this feature into a button mash as you through as much at your enemy as possible with the knowledge that they will die.The weapons themselves however have been smartly updated and changed to fit a big lumbering monster. This brings me to the final point I wish to make the little sisters, they turned the most annoying part of Bio shock 1 into a common place event. But now for the rating 9/10 because even through all its flaws I still play it over and over because of it amazing scenery, epic story line and gameplay that just makes you feel like your the boss and everyone else has to work up to your level. Would i recommend it definitely. Should you think of going for infinite yes and if you have not played Bio shock 1 yet I think you should give it a go, but don't go in expecting to rampage through everything like your a tank it doesn't work on the original. Expand
  24. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    While it was similar to its predecessor Bioshock 2 still came through with a new and interesting experience. While gameplay was more or less the same, the story that they came up with was as interesting as it was engaging. I felt very satisfied with the amount of gameplay (about 8-10 hours), where I was content with the story ending when it did but also at a point where I was not sick ofWhile it was similar to its predecessor Bioshock 2 still came through with a new and interesting experience. While gameplay was more or less the same, the story that they came up with was as interesting as it was engaging. I felt very satisfied with the amount of gameplay (about 8-10 hours), where I was content with the story ending when it did but also at a point where I was not sick of the game and just wanted it to end. I actually feel like playing through the game (taking different actions this time too). Now while the graphics where more like the first Bioshock that didnt bug me. I liked the look of rapture and this gave me more of the same. I didnt feel like I was playing a different game, I in fact liked the idea of being able to play Bioshock then start playing Bioshock 2 right away and feel like Im still in the same decaying city of Rapture. I dont see why a game series always has to up the graphics in each game to the point where there is a significant difference. Now I see it as a good thing if theres a significant difference between games but we see games from other companies (IE valve) where continiuing with the same graphics really give you sense of the environment. Now I also see it as a good idea to update when you change that environment such as with Bioshock Infinite. There was a few story elements that I didnt like but not to the point that it bothered me. But I really liked how you learn more about Rapture and they even tied in the main character from Bioshock. I went in expecting a game similar yet different from Bioshock, and I got that and more. Expand
  25. Jeremy
    Feb 12, 2010
    9
    Single Player experience was a much more thrilling one than the first overall, but the story though good doesn't match the original at all. The Mult-iplayer seems to be riding upon CoD's best parts but overall it's original elements keep it solid. This is probably the first game that I've had a great single player and multi-player experience with.
  26. John
    Feb 13, 2010
    9
    Most reviews compare BioShock 2 to the original BioShock, and say there is nothing new. After finishing both, I can say they are correct - and I see this as a good thing. This allows the game to follow on seamlessly from the original, and even the graphics and system requirements are pretty much the same. Maybe this was a conscious decision to allow players of the original BioShock to Most reviews compare BioShock 2 to the original BioShock, and say there is nothing new. After finishing both, I can say they are correct - and I see this as a good thing. This allows the game to follow on seamlessly from the original, and even the graphics and system requirements are pretty much the same. Maybe this was a conscious decision to allow players of the original BioShock to also play this game, but I think it is nice to step back into Rapture and feel right at home. To say Expand
  27. BradE
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    Single player is fun, weapons are a little more varied, tonic system has been improved, hacking is now in real-time (a plus) and is now not a tedious chore, story is good as ever. Multiplayer. Since multiplayer was pretty much a "add-on" feature i wasn't expecting revolutionary gameplay, which it definately isnt. The multiplayer is...generic for lack of a better word, you shoots the Single player is fun, weapons are a little more varied, tonic system has been improved, hacking is now in real-time (a plus) and is now not a tedious chore, story is good as ever. Multiplayer. Since multiplayer was pretty much a "add-on" feature i wasn't expecting revolutionary gameplay, which it definately isnt. The multiplayer is...generic for lack of a better word, you shoots the enemies and they falls down. Gamemodes are all simply rehashes of other already existing modes. Plasmids are as fun as always and add their "spark" to the playing field, making it a unique experience. Voice acting is surprisingly just as good as the single player and overall I enjoy playing the multiplayer, which is pretty much all you want. I would rate this game a 10 if not for the matchmaking problems in multiplayer (e.g. if the host leaves while midgame, everyone is disconnected, ranks are not matched to similar ranks and matchmaking sometimes moves you AWAY from a near full game). Expand
  28. ChrisN
    Feb 10, 2010
    9
    The story is not great, but it satisfies, the action is beautiful, I have not played multiplayer yet, but I will tomorrow. The game is surprisingly tons harder than the original, even on easy difficulty the fights with big sisters are tough.
  29. AndrewR
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    With high expectations, I believed that I would be disappointed. Luckily I was wrong. Yes the game looks and feels very similar to the first one, but there is so much new, lengthy content in this game that makes your visit back to Rapture captivating and memorable. The story is not QUITE as epic as Bioshock 1, but is still intense and keeps you interested until the very end. The combat With high expectations, I believed that I would be disappointed. Luckily I was wrong. Yes the game looks and feels very similar to the first one, but there is so much new, lengthy content in this game that makes your visit back to Rapture captivating and memorable. The story is not QUITE as epic as Bioshock 1, but is still intense and keeps you interested until the very end. The combat has changed just enough to feel very new with just slightly modified elements (eg. the "dual wielding" plasmids + guns). The weapons are fresh, and I love what they did with the hack system. Bioshock 2 stands as an amazing single player experience, but they also added a very fun multiplayer made by a different company. The multiplayer isn't earth shattering, but has enough content and excitement to stand enough on its own. In other words, don't buy this game just for the multiplayer. My only complaints about Bioshock 2: multiplayer is laggy, and a little sketchy. It needs one HUGE update/patch to make it smoother and more internet friendly. Oh, no dedicated server list. Secondly, the with so many things going on like switching out plasmids and guns, and having a hack tool in the middle of your weapons is just a little difficult to manage in the middle of a battle with splicers trying to eat your little sisters. Expand
  30. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    First off, I'm giving this game a 10 because it is a single player game that not only pulls it off wonderfully, but manages to throw in a decent multiplayer component at the same time. Multiplayer could seriously use some dedicated servers though, I've played games where 1 person would literally be almost impossible to hit because their connection was so bad that they warped when theyFirst off, I'm giving this game a 10 because it is a single player game that not only pulls it off wonderfully, but manages to throw in a decent multiplayer component at the same time. Multiplayer could seriously use some dedicated servers though, I've played games where 1 person would literally be almost impossible to hit because their connection was so bad that they warped when they tried to strafe around me. But overall it's fun and rewarding to play multiplayer. Single player, there really isn't much to say, it's just fantastic, a lot of people who were fans of Bioshock 1 may not like this one, simply because there's not really a whole lot that is new, you've been to Rapture before, you've seen the citizens before, you know about all the denizens of rapture already, why this new single player is so good is because of the story. A lot of people criticize bioshock 2's story as being worse than the first, I respectfully disagree, I think this one is so much better. Back when I was following the bioshock 2 forums I remember someone trying to argue about the characters and moral decisions to be more intense in bioshock 1, I really did not think this was true, BIOSHOCK 1 SPOILER AHEAD when Sander Cohen appeared in person in the first game, I always killed him, why? It wasn't because I thought he was crazy, it wasn't because I had extra ammo and just didn't care, it was because I thought I had to. He looked like a splicer, he sounded insane and I simply assumed I couldn't progress unless I killed him, to me it was just another kill in the walk through rapture, SPOILER END. Bioshock 2 keeps me emotionally invested in the characters, so the moral choices are actually there, and I don't instantly kill someone because I thought I had to, there's no confusion. Bioshock 2 may have had a shaky launch (lots of crashing/graphics issues) but it's a solid game, it doesn't FEEL like a terrible console port, best of all, and it is for someone who wants more of Rapture, not just some new gimmick. It's another story in the Rapture world, not necessarily a sequel. Just a great game. Expand
  31. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    The first and second BioShock games are good in their own ways. BioShock 1 is good for it's clever writing and atmosphere, while the second is good for the action factor. It's a bit disappointing for me to see that the score is not at least a 90, but an 88. I find the BioShock series to be the best series ever. Did a BioShock 2 have to be made? No, but I'm damn glad that it is. It doesThe first and second BioShock games are good in their own ways. BioShock 1 is good for it's clever writing and atmosphere, while the second is good for the action factor. It's a bit disappointing for me to see that the score is not at least a 90, but an 88. I find the BioShock series to be the best series ever. Did a BioShock 2 have to be made? No, but I'm damn glad that it is. It does lack some atmosphere and originality that the first game had, which is a hard game to top anyway. BioShock 2 makes up for these lacking factors with the improved combat, quicker hacking, more flexible plasmids and increasingly interesting story as you reach the end, unlike the first game which sort of got stale and repetitive toward the end in some parts. The concept of the multilayer is very well done, the actual playing of it is not, as it seems to be the laggiest thing I've ever played. It's also painfully unbalanced. Overall, BioShock 2 may not be groundbreaking, but it's still an enjoyable game that no gamer should pass up. Expand
  32. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Love. It was everything amazing about the first Bioshock, atmosphere, battle system, ect. So yeah, it was very similar, they basically took the first one and decided to make it far manlier by replacing your wrench with a drill and replacing your tommy gun with a Gatling gun. Not much more has to be said about how satisfied I was with that... I hated that wrench. Anyways although it wasLove. It was everything amazing about the first Bioshock, atmosphere, battle system, ect. So yeah, it was very similar, they basically took the first one and decided to make it far manlier by replacing your wrench with a drill and replacing your tommy gun with a Gatling gun. Not much more has to be said about how satisfied I was with that... I hated that wrench. Anyways although it was similar, it was still a fantastic game that was completely worth the play and is surely in my top favorites. I'm looking forward to Bioshock: Infinite, that should mix it up while still keeping the great things about Bioshock. Expand
  33. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Similar, but more brutal than the previous game, and continually asking the question of humanity. The story is again, dark, splendid, and often intriguing. The combat system has been slightly changed, but only enhances the experience into a different and better way, although in the last 1/3 of the story you will feel invincible even in hard difficulty thanks to your new role as a BigSimilar, but more brutal than the previous game, and continually asking the question of humanity. The story is again, dark, splendid, and often intriguing. The combat system has been slightly changed, but only enhances the experience into a different and better way, although in the last 1/3 of the story you will feel invincible even in hard difficulty thanks to your new role as a Big Daddy. The graphic is slightly enhanced, more detailed. I actually do think this is a very different game from the previous one, again, Game of the Year!! Expand
  34. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    I bought this game on the winter sale in Steam. And I was not able to play it? because was furious of a persistent demands to register in MS Live. And also from the fact, that game settings are not saving, possibly because of the fact that I did not enter the MS Live, but it just puts the game in a worse light.
  35. KarlL
    Feb 10, 2010
    7
    Not much has changed from the first game, almost feels more like a quick expansion pack then a real sequel. All the wonder of the first game has been lost however since this is your second time through. All the fear is missing aswell since your character is basically an armoured tank, making you feel impervious to most of the dangers.
  36. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Took me over two hours to get it to run properly. Eight different weapons, each with 3 types of ammo, and six or more plasmids. What am I? A concert pianist? I didn't find the hacking change to be an improvement at all and the story didn't hold my attention in the slightest. As far as I was concerned the story was just trying to get through a level whilst making yourself more powerful.Took me over two hours to get it to run properly. Eight different weapons, each with 3 types of ammo, and six or more plasmids. What am I? A concert pianist? I didn't find the hacking change to be an improvement at all and the story didn't hold my attention in the slightest. As far as I was concerned the story was just trying to get through a level whilst making yourself more powerful. Voiceovers and fighting got very tedious towards the end. Having said all that it was enjoyable to jaunt through Rapture again even though it was with a sense of post mortem deja vu. New weapons and enemies are decent enough, but the trips along the sea-bed seemed very pointless. And where the hell were the soundsets for the vending machines? Anyway, a reasonable buy at current prices and a good buy if you are a Bioshock maniac. Expand
  37. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    Games for Windows Live failed a mandatory update and destroyed my saved games, which seem to be kept on a remote server. Bioshock 2 is thoroughly contaminated with DRM and installs gigabytes of junk.
  38. AmberH
    Feb 21, 2010
    6
    While I don't think anyone expected Bioshock 2 to surpass it's first title, we all expected it to not suck. Not entirely the case sadly. Pros: Combat flow has improved greatly, the simple addition of using both hands freely was a great start, and the evolution of staged plasmids was a good choice. Additionally the Insect Swarm and Cyclone Trap plasmids are actually viable tools While I don't think anyone expected Bioshock 2 to surpass it's first title, we all expected it to not suck. Not entirely the case sadly. Pros: Combat flow has improved greatly, the simple addition of using both hands freely was a great start, and the evolution of staged plasmids was a good choice. Additionally the Insect Swarm and Cyclone Trap plasmids are actually viable tools this go around, in particular the swarm. Cons: Most everything else. The story is toned down, with much least of a impact or moral debate to be had over who was right and wrong this time. Additionally not many surprises to really be had, barring one near the end that does show you another side of Rapture that is nice to see. Overall however the biggest part of Bioshock is lost in the second one, the atmosphere. It looks like Rapture, it sounds like Rapture, but it never FEELS like Rapture. It doesn't help that they tried to make the Big Sister look 'sexy' or the Little Sisters look 'cutier.' Oh, and the multiplayer is an utter mess. Unbalanced as possible, horrible netcode, terrible peer hosting system without host migration; about as bad as it could of been. Swarm + Grenade Launcher = easy free kills. Unless you're the host, then it's Electro Bolt + Elephant Gun = easier free kills. Expand
  39. ChrisW
    Feb 22, 2010
    10
    Just about as perfect a sequel as you'll find! The only downside is that it doesn't generate quite the same sense of wonder that the original did. Looks gorgeous. New weapons, new locations, new enemies - the big daddies are easier to take down, but the big sister is twice as difficult as anything you'd find in the original. About 15 hours in (1/2 way through I think). Same Just about as perfect a sequel as you'll find! The only downside is that it doesn't generate quite the same sense of wonder that the original did. Looks gorgeous. New weapons, new locations, new enemies - the big daddies are easier to take down, but the big sister is twice as difficult as anything you'd find in the original. About 15 hours in (1/2 way through I think). Same sense of humor...all in all, a great effort by 2KWherever! Expand
  40. JustinS
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    This game, was absolutely astounding. Re-immersing yourself into the depths of Rapture once again, proved to be an exceptionally outstanding sequel to the original Bioshock. Taking the flaws from the original Bioshock, 2K Games learned from their mistakes with the old hacking system and transformed it to where the game doesn't pause until you hit ESC. Non-stop Big Daddy pwnage the This game, was absolutely astounding. Re-immersing yourself into the depths of Rapture once again, proved to be an exceptionally outstanding sequel to the original Bioshock. Taking the flaws from the original Bioshock, 2K Games learned from their mistakes with the old hacking system and transformed it to where the game doesn't pause until you hit ESC. Non-stop Big Daddy pwnage the whole game. Excellent work! Expand
  41. Elimination
    Feb 9, 2010
    6
    Incredibly short game at 8 hours. Multiplayer is bugged on the PC version, i dont know how the devs didnt notice it, it was obvious right away. It seems they rushed this one out the door bugged and unfinished. The game is worth maybe $20 for its good single player. But its length is too short and with the broken multi, dont expect your monies worth.
  42. PaxW
    Feb 14, 2010
    6
    Has spoilers! Nothing special, some interesting moments. Highlight of the games was seeing rapture through the eyes of a little sister. Also would have liked to played some tutorial level in the original rapture before the fall. But overall indifferent to game and story. Quite a buggy game! 4 issues 2 serious. 1 serious could be fixed by editing the ini, hack button getting magically Has spoilers! Nothing special, some interesting moments. Highlight of the games was seeing rapture through the eyes of a little sister. Also would have liked to played some tutorial level in the original rapture before the fall. But overall indifferent to game and story. Quite a buggy game! 4 issues 2 serious. 1 serious could be fixed by editing the ini, hack button getting magically unassigned the other natural camouflage broke! Not fixable and since I mostly just use quick save lost it for about the last 15% of the game. Version 1.00 of this game got the bugs! Expand
  43. Raxous
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    A fantastic game from start to end. I had no technical bugs at all and enjoyed every second. If anything I would have loved a longer challenge, but it's expansive, exciting and engaging. A game EVERY gamer should play!
  44. Jul 11, 2011
    5
    The original Bioshock is one of the best shooters of its generation, it had substance. The gameplay, atmosphere and story were connected and intertwined well and the game makers clearly had something to say. Bioshock 2 unfortunately does not have the substance of its predecessor but comes across as a some what cash in. The original makers had nothing to do with bio 2 creation. The gameplayThe original Bioshock is one of the best shooters of its generation, it had substance. The gameplay, atmosphere and story were connected and intertwined well and the game makers clearly had something to say. Bioshock 2 unfortunately does not have the substance of its predecessor but comes across as a some what cash in. The original makers had nothing to do with bio 2 creation. The gameplay had its improvements but Bio 2s story was pretty lame, the main villain pretty empty and a missed opportunity, and the ending meh. I had some hopes for Bios 2 and wanted to give it a chance but in the end feels lame and falls into the towering heap of video games with mediocre stories.The 5 points I give to the technical improvements of the game play but not for the forgettable story and design. I do not recommend bioshock 2, with all the other great games out there I almost wished I had not played it at all. Expand
  45. PatrickS.
    Feb 10, 2010
    9
    Bioshock 2 didn't live up to its predecessor, but it came damn close. There's less sense of wonder, but they ramped up the pace, so it's not as noticeable as I had feared. The gun play, plasmids, and voice acting are all solid, and make for a very immersive game. There is no noticeable graphical improvement over the first game, which is somewhat disappointing. Bioshock 1 Bioshock 2 didn't live up to its predecessor, but it came damn close. There's less sense of wonder, but they ramped up the pace, so it's not as noticeable as I had feared. The gun play, plasmids, and voice acting are all solid, and make for a very immersive game. There is no noticeable graphical improvement over the first game, which is somewhat disappointing. Bioshock 1 was such a beautiful game 2 years ago that this isn't really a problem. Now onto the problems. The default controls were horrid, and don't make much sense. It feels like they just shout out random keys at times. Normally this wouldn't be something you can complain about on the PC, but there are some big problems with remapping them in Bioshock 2. Certain actions will only work when mapped to their original keys, and the onscreen notifications show the originals. The horribly limited mouse settings are unusable with high DPI mice. This required about 30 minutes of .ini file hacking to get to a level where I could actually play the game. Once again the DRM in this game is just mind boggling. They apparently didn't learn their lesson the first time, and are back in full force. All users (who want to save their game anyway...) have to install Games for Windows Live, which is quite simply a joke. All in all Bioshock 2 is an amazing game, that suffers from the same problems as many other PC games right now. Poor keyboard and mouse support, - which honestly makes me sad - and horrible DRM. It's still worth buying, but only if you can put up with the DRM. Expand
  46. JoshuaB
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    I'm loving this game, Yes its not the same as the first but it's still got one great story I'm on the 6th level, I'm truely enjoying the story.. it's agian not like the last one but in its own right I think this game was worth every cent, The bad side is it has issue's with crashing and lock up's but That is not gonna ruin the feeling of the game play.. I'm loving this game, Yes its not the same as the first but it's still got one great story I'm on the 6th level, I'm truely enjoying the story.. it's agian not like the last one but in its own right I think this game was worth every cent, The bad side is it has issue's with crashing and lock up's but That is not gonna ruin the feeling of the game play.. They just better get to work on a patch now! Expand
  47. Philip
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Simply put, BioShock 2 is a masterpiece! Gameplay, story, atmosphere, art-style and sound design all merge to form the best game I've played since the 1st BioShock! Granted, the story doesn't have the "F*ck me!" moment the 1st did, but it's intriguing, fresh and very well told and paced! This game is pure quality! And as for re-visiting Rapture again, it's sheer Simply put, BioShock 2 is a masterpiece! Gameplay, story, atmosphere, art-style and sound design all merge to form the best game I've played since the 1st BioShock! Granted, the story doesn't have the "F*ck me!" moment the 1st did, but it's intriguing, fresh and very well told and paced! This game is pure quality! And as for re-visiting Rapture again, it's sheer ecstasy! MORE PLEASE! Expand
  48. Jan 21, 2012
    7
    To me, the original Bioshock was better than this one. It seemed by trying to make a multiplayer, they just forgot about the singleplayer. The game was good, but it seemed that they should've focused on the singleplayer a bit more because I found the multiplayer terrible and that the multiplayer downgraded the singleplayer expierence. I also didn't like the idea of the game and should'veTo me, the original Bioshock was better than this one. It seemed by trying to make a multiplayer, they just forgot about the singleplayer. The game was good, but it seemed that they should've focused on the singleplayer a bit more because I found the multiplayer terrible and that the multiplayer downgraded the singleplayer expierence. I also didn't like the idea of the game and should've gone with another idea. Overall, I would suggest if you're a Bioshock fan, to not buy the game unless you want to play a sequel that is disappointing compared to the original. Expand
  49. Oct 15, 2012
    1
    i am so mad, ima go buck nasty, who creates game like this. i am angry about it. i get NO ladies playing this game whatsoever no girls wanna play this with me
  50. SebatigerW
    Feb 11, 2010
    8
    Bioshock 2 is a great game, great story is probably its biggest improvment. You get to find out how Rapture was made *in a way*. But after a while you start getting the feeling that its always the same fighting moves and everything, just a different map and mabye a new weapon or two. The game could also become more shocking with twists and scares. Bioshock was great because when you walk Bioshock 2 is a great game, great story is probably its biggest improvment. You get to find out how Rapture was made *in a way*. But after a while you start getting the feeling that its always the same fighting moves and everything, just a different map and mabye a new weapon or two. The game could also become more shocking with twists and scares. Bioshock was great because when you walk into a room you get the feeling that someone is going to jump out at you from another room, but in bioshock 2 all the splicers are in view most of the time and there are no surprises. If we could have more twists the game would be perfect. Hopefully 2k makes major improvements on Bioshock 3. Expand
  51. ZackF.
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    The story is mediocre to the first Bioshock, but if you were just to look at Bioshock 2 just for its game play, it's just as perfect as the first. On the graphic level, it is on the same level as the first, but I am one that loves detail with a mix of great game play, never just one or the other. I did not like multiplayer too much because it was too plain and unfair. If someone got The story is mediocre to the first Bioshock, but if you were just to look at Bioshock 2 just for its game play, it's just as perfect as the first. On the graphic level, it is on the same level as the first, but I am one that loves detail with a mix of great game play, never just one or the other. I did not like multiplayer too much because it was too plain and unfair. If someone got into the big daddy suit, all I can say is expect them to be in it for a while. Also, the fact that there are no dedicated servers usually means that there will be lag infested online games just like Modern Warfare 2 on the PC. Expand
  52. Gabriel
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    I thought that Bioshock 2 Had all of the elements of a good game, including all of the ones from the first one. The improvements were good and the only thing that felt a little weak was the slightly boring and repetitive storyline. Here, look at this poor defenseless person: should I kill them? I think that compared to many other games that were good Bioshock 2 definatly comes out on top. I thought that Bioshock 2 Had all of the elements of a good game, including all of the ones from the first one. The improvements were good and the only thing that felt a little weak was the slightly boring and repetitive storyline. Here, look at this poor defenseless person: should I kill them? I think that compared to many other games that were good Bioshock 2 definatly comes out on top. It was an imersive and enjoyable game, and I haven't quite finished it yet or even played multiplayer! The one thing I really didn't like was the integration of Games For Windows on the PC. I bought the game on steam and I thought it was a little unnecessary that I HAD to sign up for GFW. I wish they had taken that out. Other then that, I loved the game, and saw none of the storytelling issues that everyone is complaining about. Expand
  53. chris
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    The weapons and plasmids are better than the original, gameplay is more refined. And story was better (IMO). There are more difficult choices that the player needs to make, and will shape the outcome of the game. Adoption of the little sisters was an excellent adidtion, and no more repetitive pipe hacking game. I feel the sequal is better than the first game and can't for the life of The weapons and plasmids are better than the original, gameplay is more refined. And story was better (IMO). There are more difficult choices that the player needs to make, and will shape the outcome of the game. Adoption of the little sisters was an excellent adidtion, and no more repetitive pipe hacking game. I feel the sequal is better than the first game and can't for the life of me figure out how the ratings are not right up there with Bioshock 1. This is a must have for any gamer. Buy it, you won't regret it. Expand
  54. Yossarian
    Feb 15, 2010
    9
    While the gameplay and shooting is significantly improved, the sheer amount of buttons to deal with without the handy shift button menu in the first game makes it difficult at times. Still, the story is quite good, the ending definitely improved over the last game, and much of the same creepiness and moral questions pervade this sequel. I was only left wishing for the little ghost stories While the gameplay and shooting is significantly improved, the sheer amount of buttons to deal with without the handy shift button menu in the first game makes it difficult at times. Still, the story is quite good, the ending definitely improved over the last game, and much of the same creepiness and moral questions pervade this sequel. I was only left wishing for the little ghost stories that popped up occasionally in the first game, and for some slightly more memorable characters, such as the creepy actor guy from the first. Expand
  55. JohnW
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I Think this game is Just as Perfect as the first. sure theres not so many twists in the story but its along similar sort of lines and by the end of it i have to say i was almost chocked up! story was very exciting and emotional. The Game itself is a little more fast pased than the first what with the ability of plasmids and wepons being used together. hacking no longer takes 30 seconds I Think this game is Just as Perfect as the first. sure theres not so many twists in the story but its along similar sort of lines and by the end of it i have to say i was almost chocked up! story was very exciting and emotional. The Game itself is a little more fast pased than the first what with the ability of plasmids and wepons being used together. hacking no longer takes 30 seconds to 1 minute with no cut sceens. altogether its a bit more fun to play than the first even if the story is'nt quite as exciting as the first i believe its still brilliantfor different reasons. for a sequal it is remarkable. :) Expand
  56. MatthewQ
    Feb 15, 2010
    8
    It doesn't quite live up to the first game, though it adds a few interesting new gameplay elements. The controls are a little awkward, especially in multiplayer where the controls are totally different from the singleplayer game. The multiplayer is unnecessary and unpolished. LIke similar online systems, the p2p multiplayer can be ridiculously laggy at times and isn't as It doesn't quite live up to the first game, though it adds a few interesting new gameplay elements. The controls are a little awkward, especially in multiplayer where the controls are totally different from the singleplayer game. The multiplayer is unnecessary and unpolished. LIke similar online systems, the p2p multiplayer can be ridiculously laggy at times and isn't as responsive as it could be. The single player experience is more of the same from the original however rapture doesn't have the same feel to it the second time around. Expand
  57. AmosD
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    If you enjoyed the first bioshock then this game is a must have, with its beautiful graphics and stunningly simple gameplay, as well as the great story we've come to expect from the first one, Bioshock 2 is without a doubt the sequel we've been waiting for. The only problem is that it no longer supports a gamepad like the first one did.
  58. platybuS
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    I don't find that many games end stronger than they started, but BioShock 2 certainly does. In some ways (dare I say it?) it's almost better than the original (but the original gets a 10). I love the ambush sections, which actually made trap-setting a part of the game. I find the tonics system improved, as well as upgrading both plasmids and weapons. And Rapture is still one of I don't find that many games end stronger than they started, but BioShock 2 certainly does. In some ways (dare I say it?) it's almost better than the original (but the original gets a 10). I love the ambush sections, which actually made trap-setting a part of the game. I find the tonics system improved, as well as upgrading both plasmids and weapons. And Rapture is still one of the very few FPS settings I feel like just hanging out in. A must-play! (Now I'm off to try the multiplayer!) Expand
  59. JulioD
    Feb 23, 2010
    9
    When I played Bioshock I soon found myself inmersed in the game and losing track of time. The same happened with Bioshock 2. Unfortunately when it comes to the PC release I have noticed they released the game with a handfull of bugs and issues and have had to handle a few. To sum it up it is a worthy sequel that competes with what the original game achieved but can't give it a 10 When I played Bioshock I soon found myself inmersed in the game and losing track of time. The same happened with Bioshock 2. Unfortunately when it comes to the PC release I have noticed they released the game with a handfull of bugs and issues and have had to handle a few. To sum it up it is a worthy sequel that competes with what the original game achieved but can't give it a 10 because the game experience is affected by these certain issues. Expand
  60. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This is the best sequel I have ever played, because it's everything a great sequel should be. It stays true to the original game, yet enhances every part of it, while doing it in an original way, that makes it feel like it is its own game, not just a quick way to cash in on the first game.

    This is a game that has a message, that makes you think on the way you live your life, and does it
    This is the best sequel I have ever played, because it's everything a great sequel should be. It stays true to the original game, yet enhances every part of it, while doing it in an original way, that makes it feel like it is its own game, not just a quick way to cash in on the first game.

    This is a game that has a message, that makes you think on the way you live your life, and does it in a way that supplement and builds on the first game

    It tells an incredible story an every part of the game help telling it, even the great level design. The ending gave me goose bumps, and the best part of it is that it all depends on the choices you make through the game, without sticking the actual choices in your face. It does it in a subtle way, and the result of your choices result in consequences you wont have anticipated.

    It's true that you are a lot more powerful than in the first game, but it just makes the actual gameplay that much more entertaining,because the balance an pace is great. As you get more powerful, the game gives you more challenges that makes using your powers that much more enjoyable and fun. And you do get very powerful.

    One of the greatest moments in the game is when you actually get to experience what a scary and horrible place Rapture really is. It made me drop my jaw on the floor, and this is something you don't want to miss out on.
    Expand
  61. May 18, 2011
    9
    I am going to compare this to BioShock 1 instead of other games, because both of these games stand leagues above almost every other game released in recent times in terms of storytelling and character. Gameplay-wise, BioShock 2 is great, surpassing BioShock 1. The gameplay is much more refined, and being able to wield a weapon and plasmid at the same time makes the game feel less clunkyI am going to compare this to BioShock 1 instead of other games, because both of these games stand leagues above almost every other game released in recent times in terms of storytelling and character. Gameplay-wise, BioShock 2 is great, surpassing BioShock 1. The gameplay is much more refined, and being able to wield a weapon and plasmid at the same time makes the game feel less clunky compared to its predecessor. However, some parts get repetitive, such as protecting the little sisters as they harvest the ADAM from "angels" (you can skip this almost entirely, but will not be able to get as many plasmids or gene tonics). Besides that, expect similar gameplay to BioShock 1. Story-wise, both games are about equal. BioShock 2's story is more emotional and personal, and has better pacing and stronger endings (almost every single person I've talked to, including ones who prefer BS1's story, agree), while BioShock 1's story is more intriguing and mysterious, and has the character of Andrew Ryan, which by itself is a huge plus. Both games have side-stories (and one in particular in BioShock 2 which I found very depressing) that you can uncover through listening to audio diaries. BioShock 1's story collapsed on itself in the last act, whereas BioShock 2's story has a build up of tension to the very end, and the resulting end levels and sequences are some of the most memorable moments I've experienced in a video game. I've spent much more time thinking about BioShock 2 after finishing it than I did with BioShock 1, and very few games remain in the back of my head after finishing them (BS2 is one of them), so I must say it impacted me much more than the first. I made a thread on the official forums discussing the story of the two games that has gotten many well-thought and detailed responses (includes spoilers, however): http://forums.2kgames.com/showthread.php?106933-Story-wise-which-game-do-you-prefer. The atmosphere of the second game will not be as memorable as that of the first game if you've played both, since you'll likely have seen everything before. There are bugs. The mouse control, like all Unreal Engine games, is not perfect, and needs to be tweaked in the configuration files to feel right. I also had a persistent bug where graphics options (or just the vsync option - I'm not certain) would not save. Also, widescreen FoV is improper in the multiplayer... but hopefully you aren't buying a BioShock game for the multiplayer. I personally enjoyed BioShock 2 much more than the first, and would give it a perfect score if the bugs were ironed out. Expand
  62. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    So good, never a dull moment in this one. Sadly, one bummer was that I blew up the "F" on my keyboard from collecting SO many items but w/e I needed a new one anywise. Blew out every 2011 game that I have played this year. Thanks 2K for giving us a very enjoyable sequel.
  63. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Super game, even though it took me two weeks to get it to run. Finally, I got it to work when running as an Administrator. Bioshock 2 has great graphic as does Bioshock 1, and the story line is equally compelling. I would recommend this game to anyone.
  64. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Great game. I dont why people are bashng it for being like Bioshock 1. I mean hellooo...thats why its called Bioshock 2. you want a different game, buy a different game. i got what i wanted. and i had a blast. the only quirk was the too much time spent collecting stuff...and the PC version was tougher since you didnt get that pause&select weapon/plasmid menu that you get on the consoleGreat game. I dont why people are bashng it for being like Bioshock 1. I mean hellooo...thats why its called Bioshock 2. you want a different game, buy a different game. i got what i wanted. and i had a blast. the only quirk was the too much time spent collecting stuff...and the PC version was tougher since you didnt get that pause&select weapon/plasmid menu that you get on the console version. it was all real time switching during fights and man that was Fun. Great game. great fun. period. Waiting for Bioshock Infinity. Expand
  65. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    While the game IS lacking something that Bioshock 1 had (probably that feeling when you discover an excellent new fictional world) it's still visually stunning, thematically wonderful, tremendously presented and has extremely high production values. The ideals it presents and journey you take are unmatched in any game this generation, except the original Bioshock.

    DO NOT play this without
    While the game IS lacking something that Bioshock 1 had (probably that feeling when you discover an excellent new fictional world) it's still visually stunning, thematically wonderful, tremendously presented and has extremely high production values. The ideals it presents and journey you take are unmatched in any game this generation, except the original Bioshock.

    DO NOT play this without playing Bioshock 1 first, but please do pick it up.
    Expand
  66. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Although the story didn't quite live up to Bioshock 1, it was made up for be the amazing graphics. I also loved how you could wield both a weapon and a plasmid at once. It made the whole combat system a bit more interesting as you could fire away with your rivet gun at the same time you scorched and shocked your enemies.
  67. Sep 8, 2015
    7
    Even though I disliked Bioshock, I thought I'd at least try this game though it's sort of more of the same, I liked playing as a Big Daddy at the end of the first game so I thought it may make me enjoy this game more.

    I enjoy this game more, overall the game is much more fun. I don't feel bored playing it like I did with the first Bioshock. I like the story of being a Big Daddy, the
    Even though I disliked Bioshock, I thought I'd at least try this game though it's sort of more of the same, I liked playing as a Big Daddy at the end of the first game so I thought it may make me enjoy this game more.

    I enjoy this game more, overall the game is much more fun. I don't feel bored playing it like I did with the first Bioshock. I like the story of being a Big Daddy, the story is very interesting and gameplay has improved you can now use both a plasmid and weapon at once, it makes things quicker instead of feeling so sluggish like the first Bioshock was so slow having to switch between a plasmid and a weapon.

    And I like that hacking seems better and you can now hack cameras as well instead of just destroy them.

    I reccomend having several saves as saving can be glitchy. I saved my game and it crashed in the process deleting the save that I was saving over, I previously had 4 saves and now had 3, so it must of deleted the save which caused it to crash or the crashing caused it to delete?? Iam not sure.
    It's a joy to be able to alt tab out of game without getting a black screen of death.

    When you open a map, you can't close it again by pressing the map key, but by clicking on a button at the bottom of the screen that says close or by pressing B on a XBox controller with no way to remap the key for PC controls. Controller exclusive controls on a PC game is annoying.

    I like this game much more than the first Bioshock.
    Expand
  68. Nov 19, 2014
    7
    After the joy of the original I was ready to like this game. A lot. Back to Rapture! And, to its credit, game-play is smooth, the enemies are more varied and, in many cases, tougher and the weapons are inventive. However, it seems like the game lost its soul somewhere. The haunting, beautiful visuals of the first were lacking. The story was simply less compelling, absent the wonderfullyAfter the joy of the original I was ready to like this game. A lot. Back to Rapture! And, to its credit, game-play is smooth, the enemies are more varied and, in many cases, tougher and the weapons are inventive. However, it seems like the game lost its soul somewhere. The haunting, beautiful visuals of the first were lacking. The story was simply less compelling, absent the wonderfully crafted Ryan. I cared about the characters less. I felt like I was playing a competent, first person shooter. The first time around, I felt like I was taking part in a masterpiece. This...was just a video game. A good one, but just a game. Expand
  69. Jan 6, 2017
    9
    Awesome game. Every bit as good as the second with improvements. Story of Rapture continues from the first, and it interesting all the way to the end. The last actual Bioshock game with 3, a decent game in its own right, being something entirely different with the Bioshock label on it.
  70. Feb 5, 2011
    6
    This game was a big disappointment. Even though Irrational Games will never best the first Bioshock game, this game did not even come close to it. The gameplay was basically the same as the first, besides the adding of a few new weapons, and a few new enemies. The graphics were the same as the first game, if not worse. Also, i wondered why if you were in a big daddy suit, wouldn't thatThis game was a big disappointment. Even though Irrational Games will never best the first Bioshock game, this game did not even come close to it. The gameplay was basically the same as the first, besides the adding of a few new weapons, and a few new enemies. The graphics were the same as the first game, if not worse. Also, i wondered why if you were in a big daddy suit, wouldn't that make you stronger? Apparently not because you had the same amount of health as you did in the first game when you were in regular human form. Hopefully Bioshock Infinite can bring back the great, original feeling that the first gave us as we played it. Expand
  71. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    To all the people that can't understand the masterpiece behind this game just can not call your self's true gamers, and would be lie-ing if you did. Now i understand its similar to the original bioshock, but the story line brings you too an entirely different side of the game. The sounds bring you back make you feel like you know the area but at the same time you feel like it has somethingTo all the people that can't understand the masterpiece behind this game just can not call your self's true gamers, and would be lie-ing if you did. Now i understand its similar to the original bioshock, but the story line brings you too an entirely different side of the game. The sounds bring you back make you feel like you know the area but at the same time you feel like it has something more to it. I applaud the designer behind the remarkable game and you deserve every dollar you received. keep up the amazing work. Expand
  72. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest games ever made. For me better than Starcraft I, II, better than Warcraft I, II, III, for me this is the game of the decade. Bioshock 1, 2 have got such a plot, such a great story. And the endings are also fantastic. I couldn't believe my eyes when I first started to play it's predecessor. Bioshock is so thrilling so intense so "deep", with faith, moral, everything. TheOne of the greatest games ever made. For me better than Starcraft I, II, better than Warcraft I, II, III, for me this is the game of the decade. Bioshock 1, 2 have got such a plot, such a great story. And the endings are also fantastic. I couldn't believe my eyes when I first started to play it's predecessor. Bioshock is so thrilling so intense so "deep", with faith, moral, everything. The only bad thing with today's games it's their longevity. You can finish the game at Hard in about 7 hours. I hate when a game is short especially when it's about this game. I hoped that such a great game would last longer. But what can you do?? The conclusion is this: Short lasting Perfect Masterpiece of a game. Expand
  73. GordonF
    Feb 19, 2010
    7
    There are way too many flaws in this release to qualify it to be universally acclaimed. Firstly, the graphics are actually a downgrade from the first Bioshock, textures are markedly lower in resolution, absolutely no support for Anti-Aliasing and Anisotropic Filtering, those cannot even be effected upon the game from outside the game with ATI Catalyst. This is 2010, Win7 is on DX11 and There are way too many flaws in this release to qualify it to be universally acclaimed. Firstly, the graphics are actually a downgrade from the first Bioshock, textures are markedly lower in resolution, absolutely no support for Anti-Aliasing and Anisotropic Filtering, those cannot even be effected upon the game from outside the game with ATI Catalyst. This is 2010, Win7 is on DX11 and this game runs natively on DX 9 - What the hell is this nonsense? why the hell graphics menu offers "run DX10 textures" option is beyond me, because as far as the progress of technology is involved, shouldn't option be a " Enable DX 11 Tessellation" instead? I was, and am deeply let down by this release, part of the reason why I upped by rig was because of the anticipation of experiencing the great Bioshock on awesome DX11 rendering, and I cannot possibly feel more cheated at this point in my life. Tech aside, nothing in this game breaks new ground, everything else is pretty similar as before with the exception of one new splicer, the big sister, and new big daddies. The playthrough is noticeably shorter, and the storyline wasn't as creative this time round, but it was still all good and decent fun. I didn't bother with the multiplayer because my main appeal was to the bioshock universe. This should've been an expansion release instead. I am disappointed, I really am. Expand
  74. Apr 23, 2011
    6
    Well, not much good I can say about BioShock 2, other than it's just "BS". Just a 'half-ass' Re-made game where the cheap-designers did not incorporate enough 'new-ness' nor enough time and quality into it. However, the story was a bit different and it was a bit more emotional in a daddy-to-daughter relation (since I have a daughter of my own). The weapons/plasmids weren't all that better.Well, not much good I can say about BioShock 2, other than it's just "BS". Just a 'half-ass' Re-made game where the cheap-designers did not incorporate enough 'new-ness' nor enough time and quality into it. However, the story was a bit different and it was a bit more emotional in a daddy-to-daughter relation (since I have a daughter of my own). The weapons/plasmids weren't all that better. Most of the levels(environments) didn't get any more interesting, though some actually did. The 'flat' graphics didn't improve, which they should have, since it is the 2nd game in it's series. The biggest issue I had (and many other users, from what I heard) was the screwed up mouse control/sensitivity! (I mean come on 2K, there are serious PC gamers out there still!! Why create/sell a game if you're not going to make it work right for every user ?!) ...and the 'jittery' light reflection usually seen on floors (with slight mouse movement) has not been fixed (also seen in the first game.. anyone know what I'm talking about?.. it's not a big issue but it's still just 'ugly'). ...And to top it all off: The Windows Live integration is Total bull-$hit!.. Seriously, it should only be an Option NOT a requirement, since most people probably don't have any use for it... not all users have an Xbox or internet access to do those sorts of things, especially in order to SAVE their own game progress! WTF!?.. The Windows Live crap is just another pain in the a$$!... (Newer games are suppose to simply get better with NO hassles!).. BS2 was a let-down :( .....IMO the original BioShock is still better. Expand
  75. spydercanopus
    Feb 18, 2010
    6
    Don't waste your time with it. It's annoying as hell. I want to run around and shoot some shit, but this makes your click F to pick up dollar bills and 6 rounds of ammo laying around in order to prepare for each fight. Is there something wrong with just walking over petty items to pick them up? I had to edit the User.ini off the bat to even play the game using Windows 7. But Don't waste your time with it. It's annoying as hell. I want to run around and shoot some shit, but this makes your click F to pick up dollar bills and 6 rounds of ammo laying around in order to prepare for each fight. Is there something wrong with just walking over petty items to pick them up? I had to edit the User.ini off the bat to even play the game using Windows 7. But it's not all bad, I quite enjoyed the FMV parts, as the controls weren't an issue. Expand
  76. SamuelD
    Feb 16, 2010
    6
    Woo Finally get to be a big daddy! Well the Big Daddy that got his lunch money stolen by all the other big daddy's that is. Game is to much of the same. Story is a big eh... This is why when the creator of a game says the story is over you should listen to him.
  77. Mar 25, 2011
    8
    Gameplay - 8.5 , Graphics - 8.0 , Story - 8.5 , Playing time - 10 hours (not include MP). While Bioshock 2 is better than it's predecessor in every way, it's still outdated consider it's release date 2010. Especially the graphics, it has no improvement to Bioshock 1 at all.
  78. Jan 1, 2012
    6
    Bioshock 1 instantly impressed with its unique design and kept the player hooked with its uncommon gameplay and story through the game. Now with bioshock 2 it is somehow like hearing the same joke twice in a row. It fails to deliver enough new elements to be interesting. While i would really love to tell positive things about this game since i generally really like the combination of 3dBioshock 1 instantly impressed with its unique design and kept the player hooked with its uncommon gameplay and story through the game. Now with bioshock 2 it is somehow like hearing the same joke twice in a row. It fails to deliver enough new elements to be interesting. While i would really love to tell positive things about this game since i generally really like the combination of 3d shooter with slight rpg elements i just honestly can not do so. I did not even manage to finish the game, just got bored after a while and stopped playing it. Sure will give it a second chance some time and maybe even enjoy finishing it than, but at its release it just disappointed me. 6/10 Expand
  79. Jul 7, 2012
    5
    Doesn't match the hype. I hate not finishing games, but this one really just feels like a waste of time. I played the first one and found it not to be ground-breaking, but it had an original storyline and world, with some interesting gameplay. ----Now, this one, while it doesn't ruin anything from the first one, it doesn't do a single thing to improve it, and it seems just that muchDoesn't match the hype. I hate not finishing games, but this one really just feels like a waste of time. I played the first one and found it not to be ground-breaking, but it had an original storyline and world, with some interesting gameplay. ----Now, this one, while it doesn't ruin anything from the first one, it doesn't do a single thing to improve it, and it seems just that much less original since it comes after the Bioshock 1 and does so little to improve the world, the gameplay, or the story. I daresay the story is a little more simple and less inspired, hence the reviewers who trash this title. Still, it's a little inaccurate to give this an atrocious score. It still has its assortment of interesting little baddies and nostalgic tapes. You can still catch yourself laughing while cringing at the snatches of conversation you hear between the other inmates of your little slice of hell. You still scan the walls for bits of nostalgic flavor - you just find yourself less surprised and less effected because it all feels like you've been here before. And you have...both your character and you... in Bioshock 1. And there the story was just a little more gripping. Expand
  80. Mar 15, 2012
    1
    its forced sequel to bioshock 1, one of its big innovations is having the ability to use a plasmid and a gun at the same time :0. sadly the game is lacking in any kind of story give a **** and that's why i give it 1
  81. May 17, 2011
    6
    Its Bioshock only without the atmosphere, nostalga and quirky dialogue that made Bioshock such a compelling game. Should be called bioshock light. Or bioshock megablast. (bigger guns). Personally I was extremely disappointed with this version. If your thinking of buying this I would recommend you get Bioshock 1 instead.
  82. Dec 10, 2011
    6
    I don't believe in Bioshock's dystopian hype anymore. "Bioshock 2" has the same gameplay as "Bioshock", only that you get to control a big humping Big Daddy as your character. However, that wasn't my problem; the story was. WTF happened to all the philosophical **** The story's too messy, disorganized, and has NO morale. Moreoverall, the game doesn't really know where to spread out to.I don't believe in Bioshock's dystopian hype anymore. "Bioshock 2" has the same gameplay as "Bioshock", only that you get to control a big humping Big Daddy as your character. However, that wasn't my problem; the story was. WTF happened to all the philosophical **** The story's too messy, disorganized, and has NO morale. Moreoverall, the game doesn't really know where to spread out to. *Sigh* What can you expect from a sequel.... Expand
  83. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    Boring, glitchy and pretty irritating.
    Also managed to screw up my saved games and after a while stopped running.
    I regret buying this game.
    One of the few titles I am sorry I spent money on.
  84. HenryK
    Feb 20, 2010
    4
    PC version was tremendous let down. Widescreen issues, mouse issues, button assignment problems. This game could have been soooo much better but 2K dropped the ball big time by giving PC users essentially a crappy console port. The story line is not engaging, the maps seemed tired and reused, the enemies were excactly the same as the the 2007 release. Most importantly, the weapons,aside PC version was tremendous let down. Widescreen issues, mouse issues, button assignment problems. This game could have been soooo much better but 2K dropped the ball big time by giving PC users essentially a crappy console port. The story line is not engaging, the maps seemed tired and reused, the enemies were excactly the same as the the 2007 release. Most importantly, the weapons,aside from the speargun, sucked! The upgrades were useless and plasmids were identical as the 2007 release. No innovation killed this game. Expand
  85. FreddyP
    Feb 22, 2010
    4
    Whole game is like the worst bits of Bioshock 1. Unimaginative, and just downright dark, dull and dreary. The reviewers who are calling this a masterpiece and "stronger" ... are on drugs. Don't waste your money. The original was fun. This isn't.
  86. Dalek
    Feb 19, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, I loved the first one but this one is really good too. But one thing, there is something about it thats missing or not making it perfect.. I think it's the atmosphere, it wasnt as strong as the first one. It took me 8 hours to complete it in a day, but still you should get this game.
  87. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    Bioshock 2 is a game that improves on the gameplay and the mechanics of its successor, yet fails to deliver on any of the important aspects of what made the first installment great. Namely, the story, of which there is almost none. Perspective takes a turn as you now play, 10 years after the initial Bioshock, as a Big Daddy. Early on, the Little Sister that you are bonded to is taken away,Bioshock 2 is a game that improves on the gameplay and the mechanics of its successor, yet fails to deliver on any of the important aspects of what made the first installment great. Namely, the story, of which there is almost none. Perspective takes a turn as you now play, 10 years after the initial Bioshock, as a Big Daddy. Early on, the Little Sister that you are bonded to is taken away, and the entire game involves your efforts of trying to rescue her. Whereas in the original, 2K provoked thought and the formation of opinions on matters of ethical issues, they failed to deliver anything akin to that in the sequel. I know that a game as good as Bioshock is incredibly hard to live up to, but I can't help but feel that the effort put into the second one was minimal at best. Graphics have improved, thankfully, as has the combat system, but that doesn't make up for the fact that I had to sit through an uninteresting story with characters (specifically Eleanor) whose voices weren't emotional enough to get me to care about them. This game was a letdown from the first, but it wasn't a complete waste. It's still worth getting, so long as you don't pay too much for it. On the plus side, the multiplayer is strangely addicting, and very underrated. Expand
  88. TheWeasel
    Feb 18, 2010
    7
    Nothing that hasnt already been done before in numerous Dungeon and Dragons styled FPS'ers not to mention a slight improvement upon the original Bioshock game. Plasmids are more interesting to 'level up' but really donot present the level of character development that is hyped up to. Graphics while nice donot have the same feel as nor direct iconography that Bioshock Nothing that hasnt already been done before in numerous Dungeon and Dragons styled FPS'ers not to mention a slight improvement upon the original Bioshock game. Plasmids are more interesting to 'level up' but really donot present the level of character development that is hyped up to. Graphics while nice donot have the same feel as nor direct iconography that Bioshock represented. More of an underware Tomb Raider with Art Deco, instead of the vibrant and stylised Bioshock original. The sound is superb but what else is to be expected in this era of gaming and digital audio files. 7/10 Fluff but tasty fluff. Expand
  89. Adam
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Bioshock 1 was just AMAZING! And this game is fucking AMAZING!! I LOVE IT!!! Much of the things in the game are taken from the first, but it doesnt make it less good! If u have the money, then go buy it!!!!
  90. Aug 27, 2010
    7
    Being an avid fan of the original, I have to admit that I entered this game with fairly high expectations. Off the bat there seems to be no real changes to the major game mechanics or graphics which came as a small disappointment as the game could had used at least a few improvements on the overall physics system I however can assume this was an attempt to keep game play level for the PCBeing an avid fan of the original, I have to admit that I entered this game with fairly high expectations. Off the bat there seems to be no real changes to the major game mechanics or graphics which came as a small disappointment as the game could had used at least a few improvements on the overall physics system I however can assume this was an attempt to keep game play level for the PC and Console versions of the title. The game environment offers a lot of fresh areas while still keeping the same overall feeling as the original and even makes a few open improvements by offering some more open, less claustrophobic areas. the story is where I felt I was a little let down on here. The ending of the original presented a very real challenge for a sequel so I understood this but the real shortfall was the lack of painting detailed portraits of the new characters. Moments in the original gave you a true feeling of how unhinged the characters were and gave you unsettling thought process to digest while trying to unravel your own and that was slightly lacking in this title. Expand
  91. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    Fantastically good game. I can tell you right now: Go buy it.
    Although it haven't completely succeeded in pushing the game forward from its predecessor, for instance the graphical engine is still the same. However I didn't feel that it was much of a problem, but it will be a let down for some people.
    The same can be said about the environments, it's pretty much the same as it used to be,
    Fantastically good game. I can tell you right now: Go buy it.
    Although it haven't completely succeeded in pushing the game forward from its predecessor, for instance the graphical engine is still the same. However I didn't feel that it was much of a problem, but it will be a let down for some people.
    The same can be said about the environments, it's pretty much the same as it used to be, except for a few things. More work could have been put into it.

    But I find the objections that some people launch at this game to be greatly exaggerated. In my opinion the graphics or even the environment isn't what makes a good game good, it's the storyline.
    And the storyline in this game is very good, and pulled off in an excellent manner. It might even be better than the first BioShock. The interface has gotten a lot of improvement from the first game, making it very smooth to play, there's never a moment where you panic because you can't find the right power or weapon. However, just like the first game, there are weapons that are much better than others, removing the incentive of upgrading other weapons.

    And last but not least, the ending, it's perfect, very emotional and absolutely worthy.
    Expand
  92. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Bioshock 2 is similar to the original in many respects, but perhaps not as good, admittedly. That said, I don't agree with a lot of the relatively negative reviews of this game, and would argue it is a decent addition to the series. Honestly, I think people just had unrealistically high expectations for this game due to their experiences with the essentially perfect original Bioshock. IBioshock 2 is similar to the original in many respects, but perhaps not as good, admittedly. That said, I don't agree with a lot of the relatively negative reviews of this game, and would argue it is a decent addition to the series. Honestly, I think people just had unrealistically high expectations for this game due to their experiences with the essentially perfect original Bioshock. I would suggest that if you liked the original Bioshock, you should definitely give Bioshock 2 a try - just don't expect it to be as unique and interesting (obviously) as the original was. Just think of it as a very well made FPS/RPG, and don't expect it to be so amazing like the original was, and I don't think you'll be disappointed. Expand
  93. May 4, 2013
    8
    Bioshock 1 had a good story line and great atmosphere, but the polish in game mechanics/play was lacking. Bioshock infinite had very smooth gameplay, a great story and dreadful gameplay/mechanics so much was missing and it was uncontrollably linear (run and gun don't think) I thought as to why they even called it Bioshock as it would have been better under a different name.

    Bioshock 2
    Bioshock 1 had a good story line and great atmosphere, but the polish in game mechanics/play was lacking. Bioshock infinite had very smooth gameplay, a great story and dreadful gameplay/mechanics so much was missing and it was uncontrollably linear (run and gun don't think) I thought as to why they even called it Bioshock as it would have been better under a different name.

    Bioshock 2 on the other hand had a weaker story compared to the other two, but it really wasn't so bad. The atmosphere was just as good if not better than the first and was way better than infinite. Now what sets apart Bioshock 2 from the rest of the pack is that the game play mechanics were superb, the atmosphere amazing and not too linear while there were the best guns, plasmids and upgrades. Bioshock 2, in my opinion, was by far the best game out of the trilogy. I loved it.
    Expand
  94. Jan 19, 2012
    5
    Won't run. Huge crazy mess in forums to fix it. In 2012 it shouldn't take over 30 minutes max to setup a game and have it function. 5 hours later I'm at square one. If it worked it would probably be around 8 if it's close to the first game.
  95. Jul 31, 2014
    4
    Positive thing about Bioshock 2 could have been that after a huge disappointment that was the first Bioshock for me, I didn't expect anything at all and part 2 could only surprise me in a positive way, right? No. The problem is that this was exactly, and I mean EXACTLY the same thing all over again. It felt like playing the same game again, the differences were so slight that it remindedPositive thing about Bioshock 2 could have been that after a huge disappointment that was the first Bioshock for me, I didn't expect anything at all and part 2 could only surprise me in a positive way, right? No. The problem is that this was exactly, and I mean EXACTLY the same thing all over again. It felt like playing the same game again, the differences were so slight that it reminded me the cosmetic differences between Doom 1 & 2. Once again extremely overrated title that many people consider to be something more than what it really is and the game that almost destroyed all my faith in the series, but the Infinite fortunately saved the reputation 3 years later. 4/10 Expand
  96. LucaA
    Feb 9, 2010
    4
    This game is retro-minded: its graphics remains still the same of its predecessor of 2007, the textures being low-res and looking flat; there is no support for DX 11. AA is still working bad as in 2007 episode. The sounds are very similar to that of its predecessor. Gameplay still remains acceptable. Longevity is poor: about 8-9 h to finish the game. It seems that the Rapture could have This game is retro-minded: its graphics remains still the same of its predecessor of 2007, the textures being low-res and looking flat; there is no support for DX 11. AA is still working bad as in 2007 episode. The sounds are very similar to that of its predecessor. Gameplay still remains acceptable. Longevity is poor: about 8-9 h to finish the game. It seems that the Rapture could have done something better this time, but nothing sounds like a masterpiece. Too dated to be a universal acclaim...this game still remains in 2007 for both concept and technical aspects. There is the doubt to be only a commercial weapon to derive more profits from its predecessor success. Expand
  97. D.S.
    Feb 10, 2010
    0
    This is not a PC game, what we have here is a hulking piece of console port trash. First off, It took me about ten hours to get this game to even launch, and trust me, Im not alone with these problems, just look at the forums. Then, the game is an unoptimized, buggy piece of unplayable shit. Textures take forever to load even on heavy duty PCs and controls are horrid and feel very This is not a PC game, what we have here is a hulking piece of console port trash. First off, It took me about ten hours to get this game to even launch, and trust me, Im not alone with these problems, just look at the forums. Then, the game is an unoptimized, buggy piece of unplayable shit. Textures take forever to load even on heavy duty PCs and controls are horrid and feel very console-oriented. Even if you do manage to fix this broken game, its all really more of the same, but worse. Imagine Bioshock 1 without the engaging story or atmosphere. Expand
  98. mrJerp
    Feb 21, 2010
    6
    I am sad that I had to rate this game a 6. I loved the first game; it was the game that made me finally like the fps genre. I was very excited to play the second one and I knew that I wouldn't feel the same about it because Rapture is no longer a mystery. However, this is not why I rated the game so low. The rating comes from 2K's complete lack of product testing. After I beat I am sad that I had to rate this game a 6. I loved the first game; it was the game that made me finally like the fps genre. I was very excited to play the second one and I knew that I wouldn't feel the same about it because Rapture is no longer a mystery. However, this is not why I rated the game so low. The rating comes from 2K's complete lack of product testing. After I beat the game, I tried out the multiplayer, and I thought it was enjoyable. Then, the next day 2K came out with a patch to "fix" problems they forgot about in the 3 MONTHS they delayed the game. And, what does it do? Bugs the multiplayer to hell and now after nine days they still have done nothing to fix these problems. How do you do that? Did no one at 2K have a copy of the game to test this patch on? Did they just ignore some aspects of the game when testing just to save time? I don't know but I am very disappointed. Expand
  99. May 20, 2012
    4
    Pretend your eating bland and mediocre food and your still hungry no matter how much you eat so you just keep on eating, that's a sum up of this game, for a price of 20$ on steam it is NOT WORTH IT, maybe MAYBE 5 bucks as this is what i payed for it, I was not pissed considering price and game play that i got but this is a really boring story with levels involving you doing the same stuffPretend your eating bland and mediocre food and your still hungry no matter how much you eat so you just keep on eating, that's a sum up of this game, for a price of 20$ on steam it is NOT WORTH IT, maybe MAYBE 5 bucks as this is what i payed for it, I was not pissed considering price and game play that i got but this is a really boring story with levels involving you doing the same stuff over and over again, your fighting the same enemies and you get a somewhat interesting story line but the tedious game play just crushes it completely.

    If you you really liked the game play of bioshock one and I mean you really just want to play anything that has all of that game play style, you might want to buy this one on sale.
    Expand
  100. Nov 19, 2011
    2
    In a word "Bland". For clarification this game was not developed by the team that made the original. When the team declined to make a sequel because "Why?" The publisher 2k went forward with subsidiary studio used for making maps. They handed them the original and said "Make more" and that's really all they did. The engine and environment is mostly the same although PC players will noticeIn a word "Bland". For clarification this game was not developed by the team that made the original. When the team declined to make a sequel because "Why?" The publisher 2k went forward with subsidiary studio used for making maps. They handed them the original and said "Make more" and that's really all they did. The engine and environment is mostly the same although PC players will notice a downgrade and texture quality. the campaign is something like 8 hours long and very very redundant. You spend the entire struggling with boredom and a feeling of "been there done that." The original game story focused on the flaws inherent in Libertarianism. The idea that you need no social structure other than the basic values found in the ten commandments. Logically the next game would play the devils advocate and focus on the flaws of Libertarianisms polar opposite Socialism. This would require some serious thought so instead the studio just shucked in a generic villain with no motive other than control. Nothing the characters in the say have any meaning or baring on the story even the main villain has very little to say. The game is pretty free with weapons and ammo making the game exceedingly easy.I rarely needed to reload other than from crashes which btw are constant and really the one true antagonist. The game has no SLi support and is rampant with bugs. For this reason alone you should stay away. With everything else available avoid this game. Do not bother. Not even for free. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. PC Gamer
    90
    Similar and slightly improved mechanics make this a worthy sequel, despite a sadly less-memorable story. [Mar 2010, p.70]
  2. 86
    A conservative return to Rapture, but full of quality.
  3. If 2K had managed to tell a story that equalled or bettered that found in the original, we'd have been left with an unquestionably better experience, rather than just a more exciting, smarter shooter.