BioShock PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3758 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StianS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    I think the game was like a god when i tried the demo, like it came a start of a new generation of FPS games. I liked it like i wont play any other game. Then i bought the full version, and played untill i was stuck alot of times and it got really boring because of same enemies over and over again. Its alot of new things and stuff, that i like, but its to much guns and plasmids.. So i I think the game was like a god when i tried the demo, like it came a start of a new generation of FPS games. I liked it like i wont play any other game. Then i bought the full version, and played untill i was stuck alot of times and it got really boring because of same enemies over and over again. Its alot of new things and stuff, that i like, but its to much guns and plasmids.. So i gave it a "5" because of many bad entertained moments. Expand
  2. NickN.
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    A powerful, innovative game with an excellent story and unique, entertaining gameplay. A creative story and memorable characters make for an immersive gaming experience. However, this game's rating suffers due to the massive number of crashes I had to sort through before I could play and the complete LACK of customer service to help fix my problem brings the game down a lot. Also, A powerful, innovative game with an excellent story and unique, entertaining gameplay. A creative story and memorable characters make for an immersive gaming experience. However, this game's rating suffers due to the massive number of crashes I had to sort through before I could play and the complete LACK of customer service to help fix my problem brings the game down a lot. Also, for those of us who like to modify our games for new, creative gaming will be gravely dissapointed in the non-existance of modding, mapping, and developer tools to accompany this game. Don't get me wrong, though. I still recommend this game to anyone seeking a unique first-person-shooter game. If you can get it to work on your computer without needing tech support, you won't be dissapointed. Expand
  3. Sacrosanct
    Dec 10, 2007
    7
    I like to compare Bioshock to reading a really good, old novel. It presents an era that few games have traversed; and with it, it brings an anachronistic element that must be seen to be appreciated. I laud this game, not because of its graphical standing, or what reviews it may garner - be they good, or bad. I have found an appreciation for this game, because it aspires to bring an aspect I like to compare Bioshock to reading a really good, old novel. It presents an era that few games have traversed; and with it, it brings an anachronistic element that must be seen to be appreciated. I laud this game, not because of its graphical standing, or what reviews it may garner - be they good, or bad. I have found an appreciation for this game, because it aspires to bring an aspect that is far and few in modern gaming: immersion. It does not strive to have the best physics, the best AI, or to attain the prestige of being a difficult game - in fact, the game is relatively easy; but I believe this is by design, so that the player can continually progress without experincing frustration, or repetition that comes from trial and error of adhering to the "right" combination of buttons in order to progress to the next portion. The game simply wishes to tell a story, and do so as fluidly as possible. I find its ease to be more of a blessing; because anyone whom is not a gamer, can still pick it up and enjoy it - and prove that art, and eloquent portrayal can exist amidst the cabals of games that repeat themselves through recycle and reiteration. In finality, the game is a good jaunt in storytelling from the first person perspective, and is recommended for anyone that enjoys the concept of immersion, so long as they allow themselves to see beyond the game's technical shortcomings. Expand
  4. SimonM.
    Dec 14, 2007
    7
    A beautiful game that manages to divert your attention from the fact you are playing an utterly average FPS. The story is borderline irrelevant, the action is nothing fancy, the puzzles are low key. The interaction with the environment is unimaginative compared to something like Half Life. It just goes to prove that pretty much every game reviewer in the Metascore list cannot see past A beautiful game that manages to divert your attention from the fact you are playing an utterly average FPS. The story is borderline irrelevant, the action is nothing fancy, the puzzles are low key. The interaction with the environment is unimaginative compared to something like Half Life. It just goes to prove that pretty much every game reviewer in the Metascore list cannot see past 'pretty pictures' Yeah it's ok, its pretty, but it's average. Expand
  5. Edi
    Dec 23, 2007
    6
    Great atmosphere, decent story, somewhat predictable, no character choice (ie: not really an RPG) as by the end, every character will have nearly every upgrade, thus being nearly identical. "Crafting ammo" is not a real selling point, as you simply pick up crap and it makes ammo based on a few forced ammo choices. Also, ending choice is more black and white than... black and white?
  6. GigidiGigidiGoo
    Oct 29, 2007
    5
    Well it was sorta like a new idea. . . ?? I don't know the story line, it's very, inconsistent. Enemies aren't exactly bright, and well the whole game was just, . OK. Not worth the money, .. sorry.
  7. ChrisD.
    Aug 21, 2007
    6
    Not worth the money. buy half-life 2. Graphics are very bad. fine, if that's a given. Most reviews are claiming the combat is good. Combat? You mean zombies running at you? that's this amazin AI? What, becuase they are talking about mixing martiinis, they are intellgient? The days of greusome stupid designs are over. Unreal engine is over.
  8. KoshG.
    Aug 27, 2007
    6
    Nice art direction and high production values, but not very difficult. Double endings and "moral choices" definitely overrated unless you're an ethical simpleton. 7/10. Then -1 for $ value: ridiculous SM3.0 requirement forcing me to upgrade my otherwise perfectly viable X850XT graphics card.
  9. KEvinS.
    Aug 29, 2007
    7
    A beautiful game held back by its game play and weak moral choices. The weak game play elements include all of the guns sucking. At certain times, such as the menu screen and exasperatingly simple combat and crappy UI , it was easy to tell the game was basically a port from the 360 with no significant game play changes. The game kinda gets old after a few hours considering everyone looks A beautiful game held back by its game play and weak moral choices. The weak game play elements include all of the guns sucking. At certain times, such as the menu screen and exasperatingly simple combat and crappy UI , it was easy to tell the game was basically a port from the 360 with no significant game play changes. The game kinda gets old after a few hours considering everyone looks the same. I mean they are exactly the same too, just with different weapons and slightly different tactics. It is like a Final Fantasy game if you only fought goblins but they got more health as you played further through the game. The moral choice you are presented with in the game is stupid too. You can either kill Little sisters and get twice as much adam, or save them and get half the adam initially and then the other half as a gift, along with some useless ammo or something. There are two endings, but I don't really think its worth playing again to see the other one that I didn't see. I'm actually playing STALKER again instead. Stalker is a much better game, in its more optimized patched state. A very good shooter with many good aspects, unlike bioshock that was just pretty. Bioshock just goes to show you that a pretty game doesn't mean a good game. Expand
  10. Avs
    Aug 31, 2007
    7
    Overall: 7, because its a decent FPS by today's standards. I also agree with those who gave it a 8 or lower as they actually point out the worst of the worst. The hype is what gives these reviews their scores, this game is over hyped, its graphics requirement was disappointing for its style of art. Worst off is the fact that wrench > all weapons, and respawn of monsters while Overall: 7, because its a decent FPS by today's standards. I also agree with those who gave it a 8 or lower as they actually point out the worst of the worst. The hype is what gives these reviews their scores, this game is over hyped, its graphics requirement was disappointing for its style of art. Worst off is the fact that wrench > all weapons, and respawn of monsters while interesting, is a bit unnecessary. However, the critics hype it up, and give it ratings it does not deserve, most likely due to the lack of major FPS games out recently. The biggest disappointing factor that shows the truth behind why us gamers rate it much lower than critics for this game is simply because this game was not the flexible, challenging, unique FPS that others like Halflife displayed long ago. The story is weak, especially as it is obvious what is going on before you even crash into Rapture. This kills any redemption value Bioshock has due to its easy and therefore non-thrilling gameplay even on hardest difficulty levels. Story was more audio driven than anything, unlike narrative or script based. Sound is great however, except for some areas with more sound than necessary such as movement when there is none. Art and graphics are great, except they are nothing new than games when the Xbox360 came out, and that their engine could have done much more than a pseudo cartoony rendition with fake blood sprites being the kicker. Choices, while more (in quantity not quality) than other FPS, doesn't create any impact at all. Flexibility in skills and upgrades are non-existent. Expand
  11. CurtisT.
    Aug 31, 2007
    5
    Linear, Repetitive, Underwater Fallout-esqe themed shooter. Pretty graphics. Short length, ten hours solve time. Player choices have little impact on game outcome.
  12. KurtS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    This game is pretty much just a dumb down version of System Shock 2. Game play gets repetitive with only few types of enemies. Most of the plasmids are pretty useless or redundant as are the weapons and despite what the previews said, ammunitions is abundant in the world of Rapture. The actions in only one aspect of the game determine the final ending. Game felt short and the ending was This game is pretty much just a dumb down version of System Shock 2. Game play gets repetitive with only few types of enemies. Most of the plasmids are pretty useless or redundant as are the weapons and despite what the previews said, ammunitions is abundant in the world of Rapture. The actions in only one aspect of the game determine the final ending. Game felt short and the ending was anticlimactic. If you are a fan of the originals you will be disappointed. While the graphics are great, there is no backwards compatibility and are stuck with DX9c or better and then I couldn't get it to run in DX10 mode even after shelling out for a new fancy card. Besides graphics, neat AI behaviours and adept story telling are this game's other saving graces. Expand
  13. RussG.
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    The game really wasn't that great. I played it through to the end, but found it to be relatively boring. The theme of the game was new, but there really wasn't anything groundbreaking or "awesome". The plot was somewhat predictable, but original. The game just wasn't fun enough to deserve a 96 on metacritic. It isn't up to par with HL2 or half of the top 20 games. I The game really wasn't that great. I played it through to the end, but found it to be relatively boring. The theme of the game was new, but there really wasn't anything groundbreaking or "awesome". The plot was somewhat predictable, but original. The game just wasn't fun enough to deserve a 96 on metacritic. It isn't up to par with HL2 or half of the top 20 games. I never said the game was bad, it just is no where close to great. Expand
  14. ThomasH.
    Apr 12, 2008
    6
    I'm tired of people comparing how overrated this is to Half-Life 2, yes Half-Life 2 was overrated, but it was a great game and only overrated by 1/10, but this... thing is far more overrated by far. The graphics are good, but old fashion at the same time (the background is like a painting, literally, like the original Half-life but with half the quality) the innovation of this game I'm tired of people comparing how overrated this is to Half-Life 2, yes Half-Life 2 was overrated, but it was a great game and only overrated by 1/10, but this... thing is far more overrated by far. The graphics are good, but old fashion at the same time (the background is like a painting, literally, like the original Half-life but with half the quality) the innovation of this game wears off after 20 min, and the excitement wears off 20 min after that, then comes the middle of the game [MAJOR SPOILER ALERT] (the part with the insane "artist" who traps you in his large studio) and then comes the part where I just stopped playing (Ryan Industries) [/MAJOR SPOILER ALERT] and the game was fun during some parts (I didn't want to leave the wharf, I just wanted to stay in that level and role play) while others were boring (Ryan Industries) and it just got tiring after a while. Now some people might say that its revolutionary combining rpg with fps and how you can change how you kill enemies and all these upgrades and such, but what people don't know is that this revolution already happened, in 1999, with this games spiritual prequel System Shock 2. In fact Bioshock is basically just System Shock 2 in 1960 instead of in the 2100s, at the bottom of the ocean instead of in a space ship 60 billion miles from earth, and there is more than one person who's still remotely human (besides yourself). This game is tedious after a while, its innovation already come from the people who created it (Back in 1999) and the overly shiny graphics get annoying after a while. Expand
  15. MarkH.
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    This is a well made game will little or no replayability. You play though it once or maybe twice and then leave in on the shelf. Multiplayer could have made this a real classic.
  16. RobC.
    Dec 27, 2007
    5
    I would like to see how many of these reviewers still play this game ? and what their opinion of it is now, and that is the biggest issue with this game and in cases many others whats it like a few months down the track, well if i am anything to go by its gathering dust, and untouched since i finished it, the game may be a 7 to 9 first time round but lets think here, after spending the I would like to see how many of these reviewers still play this game ? and what their opinion of it is now, and that is the biggest issue with this game and in cases many others whats it like a few months down the track, well if i am anything to go by its gathering dust, and untouched since i finished it, the game may be a 7 to 9 first time round but lets think here, after spending the better part of AU$90 was it worth it long term ? well no, its not, in fact i was very dissapointed that i went out and grabbed this "must have title" as soon as i did, i should have waited for it to hit the bargain shelf, and that is my advise to anyone reading this, due to the limited (read none) replayability of this game i would recommend that people wait until its price drops to a level comparable with the length of play you will get. In regards to the gameplay, i found it atmospheric but forced situations (cut scenes etc) and a respawn system destroy this easily. There is no attachment to your character as there is no consequence to combat actions, you die respawn kill another monster, rinse and repeat if your stuck, which is unlikely as encounters were dull and boring, with a sub standard AI. It had some nice features, which if given more attention could have been great, as in plasmids and tonics. The game was short, i finished it in around 13 hours, which is resonable for a FPS, but since there is no user content creation available makes this a very limited game (see above) and i doubt it would benefit from MP, however being vaunted as a hybrid RPG style game i would expect at least another 10 or so hours of game play, with deeper story and side plots. The reason it would never have recieved a high score from me would be the poor story, which to be honest was totally predictable and very uninspired, there was so much that could have been done here and was not, i expected something amazing and was not shown it, for me it was just play through the game to see how the parts of the story connect together. Expand
  17. Apr 9, 2015
    6
    A mediocre rail shooter with excellect graphics. Any comparisons to Deus Ex 1 or Deus Ex Human Revolution are way out of place. In Bioshock the levels are linear, and enemies appear at scripted events, sometimes from behind (hello, Doom 3). In Deus Ex (or Hitman before Absolution) you could plan different approaches to a level, use different tactics. Here you just follow the next waypoint.A mediocre rail shooter with excellect graphics. Any comparisons to Deus Ex 1 or Deus Ex Human Revolution are way out of place. In Bioshock the levels are linear, and enemies appear at scripted events, sometimes from behind (hello, Doom 3). In Deus Ex (or Hitman before Absolution) you could plan different approaches to a level, use different tactics. Here you just follow the next waypoint. And even if at some point you go back thru the places you've already cleared these places will again be full of enemies, or new ones will break thru a wall. You pick a shotgun - and hello Serious Sam: the screen goes black, and enemies run to you from the darkness from all directions. Hacking electronic devices is all about solving increasingly difficult "water pipes" puzzles which get annoying pretty fast. Also, levels are littered with trash and objects with which you can't interact. This makes spotting enemies, moving and finding loot difficult and doesn't make a more interesting game. Expand
  18. Feb 22, 2015
    6
    While Rapture is a marvelous backdrop that creates a great critique of Ayn Rand's Objectivism, the storyline is a bit shallow towards the end. The narrative builds up to a memorable plot twist, though the ending feels underwhelming. No meaningful plot points or themes are introduced after the twist, limiting the game to a series of empty shootouts leading to an uninspired final boss fight.While Rapture is a marvelous backdrop that creates a great critique of Ayn Rand's Objectivism, the storyline is a bit shallow towards the end. The narrative builds up to a memorable plot twist, though the ending feels underwhelming. No meaningful plot points or themes are introduced after the twist, limiting the game to a series of empty shootouts leading to an uninspired final boss fight. The story ends with a cliched double ending that’s determined by the moral decisions you have made in the game, though they are very black and white. Both endings are very expected and feel a bit too resolved.
    And though the gameplay mechanics were undoubtadly a blast (especially the plasmids!), the game was way too generous with revivals. You can never die/recieve a gameover in this game regardless of the difficulty. Whenever your character loses health, they are revived at a nearby Vita-Chamber. Because enemies retained the damage you inflicted on them, you can lose health as many times as you desire and still kill the enemies. With this in mind, I was able to kill the games strongest enemies by repeatedly whacking them with a wrench. Without any penalty for death, I lost my initial fears of the ominous environments and never felt pushed to play the game skillfuly. It broke the experience for me.
    Expand
  19. Nov 22, 2015
    7
    The beginning ist really great: atmosfere, the background, philosophy. But after 2-3 hours the game becomes average and you begin to see the weak sides of this game: you are immortal, bad controlling, few enemies, childish dialogues. there are much better shooter out there. But the end is a masterpiece of videogames: DO THE GOOD side and rescue the sisters, the end sequence is brilliant.
  20. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    'BioShock' is a game that you have to play to find out what everyone is talking about—and it is definitely worth the time—even though I tend to ignore horror games. I loved that the gamemakers allowed Objectivist philosophy to heavily influence the game. The thought of living in a world inspired by Ayn Rand should terrify any sane person, but the player of 'BioShock' must navigate the'BioShock' is a game that you have to play to find out what everyone is talking about—and it is definitely worth the time—even though I tend to ignore horror games. I loved that the gamemakers allowed Objectivist philosophy to heavily influence the game. The thought of living in a world inspired by Ayn Rand should terrify any sane person, but the player of 'BioShock' must navigate the ruined aftermath of that retro-futurist nightmare, while fighting tortured madmen, managing resources, and solving puzzles along the way. Sadly, I did not finish this game. I became enamored with the 'Fallout' series at the time, and 'BioShock' fell off my radar through no fault of its own. I would like to finish the game, so that I can fully appreciate the dystopian intersection of intellectual and adrenaline-pumping gameplay as wrought by Irrational Games. Expand
  21. Dec 26, 2015
    7
    This is a game I was never able to truly get into, perhaps it's because I started off with BioShock Infinite. However it's a very good game, from what I've seen and the little I did play. Very cinematic for an FPS game. Sorry can't really give much more of a review - I just wanted to clean out my old review since it was pretty stupid.
  22. Oct 25, 2016
    6
    The story is very interesting, but the environment is too dark to me, landscapes feel too repetitive. Personally I don't like shooters too much, although I have to admit the devs made a good effort to keep the gameplay fresh with all of those magical powers.
  23. Sep 26, 2016
    6
    When I got to Ryan, I thought, this game is actually really good ; The mechanics, the design, all great. After a while I couldn't stand the hacking anymore, which forced me to ignore it, which forced me die more than I should have. The FOV in this game is criminal, and the challenge essentially comes from the communion of a retarded field of view and a constant stream of aggression fromWhen I got to Ryan, I thought, this game is actually really good ; The mechanics, the design, all great. After a while I couldn't stand the hacking anymore, which forced me to ignore it, which forced me die more than I should have. The FOV in this game is criminal, and the challenge essentially comes from the communion of a retarded field of view and a constant stream of aggression from the game. The pacing of the story is also all over the place. There is actually almost no plot development until you reach Ryan, which is 80% into the game. Perhaps more generally, the game just became more and more repetitive as the developer failed to create new, refreshing, dare I say, fun situation for the player to deal with. The game went from thoughtful and satisfying in its first half to chaotic and frustrating in its second half. The story and lore is interesting, but how can it be considered a masterpiece, is one of the great mysteries of the gaming world ; Then again, Infinite is considered great, even though it doesn't even have any of the redeeming qualities of Bioshock, as if the developer had no idea what were Bioshock's strength in the first place ; Talking about a lack of talent there. It's a frustrating state of affair, because these mechanics deserved to be served and delivered through better level design and pacing. Expand
  24. Jul 18, 2015
    6
    This game is hard to judge. It starts of pretty good with an interesting premise, world and game mechanics, but ultimately, it does not deliver, as it jumps to the levels of tediousness and mediocrity in all of these areas.

    Premise: The story is told in a series of diaries that you have to find while exploring Rapture. It's pretty basic and most of the things you're gonna hear are not
    This game is hard to judge. It starts of pretty good with an interesting premise, world and game mechanics, but ultimately, it does not deliver, as it jumps to the levels of tediousness and mediocrity in all of these areas.

    Premise:
    The story is told in a series of diaries that you have to find while exploring Rapture. It's pretty basic and most of the things you're gonna hear are not important. Also, it's annoying that there's a diary around every corner, so you have to stop everywhere and listen to those tracks, it breaks the flow of the game play. In Deus Ex, I did not mind stopping at each and every computer and hacking everything because it was fun and you were rewarded with codes etc., here it's just redundant and boring.

    World:
    To be honest, I am no sucker for underwater towns, so while I can appreciate the art direction and such, it is hard not to see that all areas are fairly similar and all of the enemies are just light variations, so you'll be going through the levels killing the same enemies over and over again.

    The levels tend to be quite large and give you some room to explore which is something I like about this game, but ultimately ... there is not much to find. Yeah, you can find another Plasmid or Tonic here and there, but you'll find so many of these that they do not feel like unique upgrades. You'll have full equips and tons of spare ones that you're never going to use. Wouldn't it be better to have 5 actually usable ones that can be used all the time rather than having 15 or such out of which more than half is useless?

    Game mechanics:
    The Little Sisters mechanic can get pretty annoying, as sometimes you have to wait a long time for them to appear and if they see you, they can climb back into the holes and you have to repeat the process over and over again which is not fun. Also, the choice is meaningless as saving the girls gives you much better stuff overall so there is not point in killing them.

    Another problem is that in spite of having a large choice of ways to deal with enemies, using your weapons is a much more better choice rather than awkwardly trying to zap enemies (or using plasmids in general). Weapons are sure to kill. Especially your wrench. I practically use the wrench all the time and leave the guns for rare causes when wrench is not enough. The game even supports this style of game play by giving you wrench upgrades and limiting the ammo you can get. So, you'll be using a few weapons throughout the whole game and even though you have tons of other options to choose from, you will not use them, there is no reason to do so.

    The hacking is quite nice, but gets tedious later on and sometimes the generated puzzle cannot be solved. Some more testing would have been nice.

    What I actually like, though, is the fact that you can take photos of enemies to analyze them and get bonuses for doing so. It's fun trying to take photos, even though the enemies all look so similar that you can never be sure which you've already photographed.

    Final verdict:
    Let's sum this up, this game tries to come up with a lot of ideas, such as unique plasmids, photography etc., but never goes anywhere with them. That means that the initial feeling of enthusiasm towards this game disappears and you're left with a game that's full of: walking through similar areas, fighting the same enemies over and over again and using like 3 weapons through the whole course of the game.
    Unfortunately, I got bored in like 1/3 through the game already, but I kept playing and that meant that all the faults and boredom became even more tedious. Right now, I've finished 50% of the game and I haven't had much fun with this.

    I'll probably finish this game, but I highly doubt that my rating is gonna change, I'll update this review in case it does, though. 6/10

    Edit: Okay, I beat the game.
    There was another part that I liked, Fort Frolic. The penultimate level was also quite interesting, because you had to work with Little Sisters, but it dragged on for way too long, because they walk too slow.
    The ending video is nice.

    However, I have become so strong with my wrench that not even Big Daddies could damage me at this point with the Freeze upgrade + Health recovery, so the rest of the game was super easy. No interesting bosses, no interesting enemies, no interesting upgrades (only improved versions of the ones you have making the older one quite useless) ...

    I didn't like the "plot twist" with Atlas and the areas revolving him, as it was obvious from the beginning that he was a bad guy. Would've been more interesting if they did something different.

    The final boss was simply lame, I wrenched him in like 20 seconds.

    So, in the end, it's still a decent game, but I am not changing my score of 6/10.
    Hopefully, Bioshock 2 will be better.
    Expand
  25. Jun 18, 2015
    5
    Loses the atmosphere and "spookiness" of System Shock 2 and over-symplifies the mechanics. Not even an RPG, mostly a corridor shooter. Don't bother with this.
  26. Jan 31, 2017
    6
    All the good goes to the environment, from world design to visuals to sound to atmosphere… This is truly a beautiful piece, possibly the best 3D world of its time. I enjoyed a lot of places, the museum, the little sisters room, the theater, the variety of posters…

    The gameplay, on the other hand, is average, slightly boring even. I found the energy to progress only by playing 1 level
    All the good goes to the environment, from world design to visuals to sound to atmosphere… This is truly a beautiful piece, possibly the best 3D world of its time. I enjoyed a lot of places, the museum, the little sisters room, the theater, the variety of posters…

    The gameplay, on the other hand, is average, slightly boring even. I found the energy to progress only by playing 1 level per session. Nothing bad, really, but rather repetitive and tactically limited. Pretty much all you need is the fake target power and a wrench. Your inventory will then be full all along and almost useless. It's also pretty easy, and I would have played on the hardest mode for the challenge, except that the constant respawns in standard mode are annoying enough already and I don't want more of this kind of aggro. There are a couple of amusing fights, though.
    Expand
  27. Jun 21, 2016
    7
    A very atmospheric first person shooter with an interesting story ,

    In game you are put in the shoes of a airplane crash survivor who finds himself in the middle of the ocean. Only to discover an entrence to an underwater city called Rapture. The city once glorious is now falling apart. It also is overrun by twisted for a lack of a better word mutants. You are led by a voice on the
    A very atmospheric first person shooter with an interesting story ,

    In game you are put in the shoes of a airplane crash survivor who finds himself in the middle of the ocean. Only to discover an entrence to an underwater city called Rapture. The city once glorious is now falling apart. It also is overrun by twisted for a lack of a better word mutants. You are led by a voice on the radio following his advice in a hope to escape the city without dying. In order to do that you use a wide array of weapons with aid from Adam - a genetic rewriting fluid that essentially gives you magic powers.

    What I liked about the game. Definitely the setting - Rapture is extremely well designed with a very unique and constant atmospehre which holds out through the whole game. The enemy design is interesting and fits the setting. All locations, missions and progress make sense and push the story ever forward. Ammo is scarce - you value each shot and try to save every bullet as much as you can - which adds to the atmosphere. The big daddy's are pretty scary and first encounter with them is really unforgeable.

    What I didn't like was definitely the combat design. Enemies run around what feels like frantically around and are extremely hard to hit. What others might consider a plus it felt more annoying than anything else. Also all of them seem pretty tanky so you need to put a lot of bullets to put them down. Another thing I disliked was the camera mechanic - having to take pictures of enemies to learn their weaknesses might be a good idea but in a game where stealth is next to not existent having to take pictures of enemies in the middle of gunfight is a bit silly.

    Overall I really did enjoy the game and can recommend it mostly for the ambience and atmosphere it comes with.
    Expand
  28. Mar 1, 2016
    6
    Antes de começar eu gostaria de dizer que dar uma nota não tão boa para um jogo aclamado não é algo que eu goste ou sinta vontade de fazer mas é apenas uma questão de opinião, cada um tem a sua. BioShock é um game de tiro em primeira pessoa (FPS) de ação mas possui certos elementos de Horror dentro dele, além de elementos de RPG também... Aqui no Metacritic o game conta com uma pontuaçãoAntes de começar eu gostaria de dizer que dar uma nota não tão boa para um jogo aclamado não é algo que eu goste ou sinta vontade de fazer mas é apenas uma questão de opinião, cada um tem a sua. BioShock é um game de tiro em primeira pessoa (FPS) de ação mas possui certos elementos de Horror dentro dele, além de elementos de RPG também... Aqui no Metacritic o game conta com uma pontuação de "96/100" pela parte dos críticos, uma pontuação extremamente alta, mas que apesar de eu não ter gostado do jogo no geral (No quesito diversão), eu compreendo e respeito a opinião dos críticos. Antes de dizer minhas opiniões a respeito do game, vou falar um pouco sobre o que as pessoas geralmente listam como pontos positivos em BioShock. Os críticos e os fãs do jogo destacam basicamente tudo como ponto positivo, a História, as Ambientações/Gráficos, Música/Som e Jogabilidade, tudo foi aclamado. Eu concordo parcialmente com isso, então vou citar aqui minha opinião a respeito de cada um desses 4 fatores, Vamos lá.

    ►História: Em relação a história do jogo vou ser bem claro para não dar nenhum Spoiler, o game tem um enredo muito interessante e bem detalhado, diria que é uma trama original e acho que daria um excelente filme também (Se houvesse uma boa adaptação, é claro), então nesse quesito eu concordo com a opinião da maioria, apenas acho um pouco chato o fato de boa parte dela ser contada através de arquivos de áudio, que não são tão interessantes de serem escutados.

    ►Ambientação: Nesse quesito eu fico meio a meio, eu achei interessante a ideia do game se passar numa cidade no fundo do mar (Conhecida como Rapture) e existir toda uma comunidade populando ela, isso foi realmente muito interessante, mas é como nos Resident Evil's Clássicos, todos sabemos que Raccon City é uma cidade marcante e quando ouvimos o nome dessa cidade já nos lembramos de Resident Evil, contudo, ela não é tão aproveitada e na maior parte do tempo ficamos em locais fechados e ninguém se importa no fato de estarmos em Raccon City. Com BioShock é a mesma coisa, estamos em uma cidade que se formos ver do lado de fora é "Fantástica" mas quando entramos nela vemos que não tem nada demais e o maior problema, para mim, é que os ambientes são extremamente claustrofóbicos e não são tão variados assim. Dá uma constante impressão que estamos andando em um longo corredor em uma boa parte do jogo. Apesar da ambientação contar com um estilo "Steampunk" e ter um visual sombrio (algo que eu gosto bastante) torna o visual de certa forma interessante, mas eu realmente não me acostumei com a ambientação do jogo e não achei agradável no geral, não me satisfez.

    ►Som: Nesse quesito eu não posso falar muita coisa, as músicas tocadas durante o game, os sons do cenário, e a atuação na dublagem dos personagens é boa, n tenho do que reclamar.

    ►Jogabilidade: Esse é o real motivo de eu não recomendar o game. Na teoria, o jogo deveria ser diversificado em questão de jogabilidade, isso porque podemos usar e mesclar poderes/magias com as tradicionais Armas de Fogo, porém na prática não é algo tão divertido assim... Na verdade, nem um pouco divertido.
    Os poderes são bem interessantes e úteis em diversos casos mas a precisão com as armas não é boa, pelo menos eu não considero, e por incrível que pareça eu não sei explicar o motivo, eu simplesmente não consigo gostar de atirar nesse jogo, independente da arma. O Récuo das armas é extremamente estranho e muitas vezes da a impressão que as armas não possuem potência, isso acontece porque quando damos tiro nos inimigos (Chamados por Splicers), eles tem uma reação quase que inexistente e após tomarem tiro eles apenas levantam a cabeça e continuam a atirar em você, isso é algo que me incomodou e MUITO. Dá sempre a impressão que estamos jogando ping-pong, tiro pra lá, tiro pra cá, parece que os inimigos não tomam dano, é muito bizarro.

    Falando em inimigos, eu os achei bem sem graça e são muito pouco variados, basicamente matamos o mesmo tipo de inimigo o jogo todo e o design deles é muito estranho por sinal, eu não sinto nem prazer de mata-los de tão sem graça que eles são, sem falar nas turretas que temos que destruir durante o jogo, elas são extremamente irritantes e esses inimigos fazem com que o jogo se torne extremamente enjoativo e repetitivo e esse é o maior motivo da minha nota negativa para o jogo... mas mesmo odiando quase tudo no quesito inimigos, existe uma excessão: O Big Daddy. Esse cara acompanhado das garotinhas (As Little Sisters) são realmente muito interessantes e são sem dúvidas um ícone quando falamos em BioShock, na real eles são a única motivação que tive para comprar o game, pois na época que joguei pela primeira vez eu não era muito fã de jogos de FPS... Mas, mesmo querendo gostar do game eu realmente não consegui. Então para finalizar minha crítica, saiba que o game não é de todo ruim, tem seus pontos positivos assim como qualquer jogo, entretanto, para mim, os negativos os sobrepõe.

    Nota Final: 6/10 (Ok)
    Expand
  29. Mar 14, 2017
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily one of the most overrated games of all time.
    Before I begin this review, let me just say that I had such high hopes for this game. It looked so interesting, received numerous positive reviews, and I loved the game when I first started playing it. However, by the time I finished the game, I was exhausted of the game in its entirety, allow me to explain myself.

    Pros:
    - Great art, beautiful water and fire effects, especially in the beginning.
    - At first, its combat system is interesting, unique, fun, and satisfying.
    - One of the greatest plot twists I've seen in a video game and it was done so well. There were hints leading up to it, but done so that it was not entirely obvious what was happening.
    - The beginning sequences have fantastic cinematography and create an interesting story-line. I really thought I was going into one of the greatest single-player games.

    Cons:
    - Combat becomes tedious very soon after the introduction. Big Daddies are bullet sponges, other enemies are so difficult to fight that it becomes a chore, eventually, and I believe this is due to the clunkiness of the combat. The final boss fight is anything but fun.
    - I hate when games bar me from proceeding by making me backtrack or force me to fight waves of enemies in the same place. It's an indication of laziness to develop more of the game environment. This game does this so often and it is so frustrating to go to the same room five times to realize you missed a small detail that will help you proceed. I can think of at least three times this game did this, and they were not small pieces of the game, they dragged these segments out to high hell.
    - The main story-line is incredibly uninteresting after the plot twist. I don't care about the sisters that much after awhile. It's harder for me to say,
    - The side story was completely indigestible for me. The audio recordings were so distorted that I couldn't quite hear what was being said. The subtitles did me no favors because they were so long, but didn't stay on the screen long enough and weren't synced with the audio.
    - The rag-dolls have this weird clunkiness to them. I think their bodies didn't move at the same framerate as the game, making them look they falling in big, singular movements. This may not be a problem in other games, but in a game so heavily driven by art, this sticks out like a sore thumb to me.
    - Towards the end of the game, at least on the Xbox 306 version, there is a graphical glitch that removes significant amount of details from objects in the game. It is so bad that I couldn't see it being excusable in any video game, art-driven or not.
    - The map is horrendous and useless. In game where you have to do so much backtracking, this matters a lot, but the map never helped me navigate through the game.
    - The idea of the Little Sisters is interesting, but not implemented well. The only reason it isn't implemented well is because there is almost no consequence for killing them in-game. The only thing it affects is the ending of the game, big whoop. Two of the endings are barely different. You get more in-game benefits for killing them, so eventually you'll learn not to care that they look so adorable. You can't just tell me to care because I should treat the game as if it is real life, it isn't. If you want me to make more real-life decisions, then give me a better reason to care. Only one of the endings is dramatically different, making this whole feature feel pointless. They help you in the end, regardless of how many you killed along the way. The fact that the ending changes based on decisions to save the sisters or not makes the game seem as if it is centered around just this one element, in the end, and not around the city of Rapture itself. I thought the sisters were a core element, but not the whole story.

    Overall, it really is just an okay game with some good elements, but some also being quite poor. I would have rather seen this as a movie than a video game.
    Expand
  30. Dec 16, 2016
    5
    Not bad, but when i played, i expect not what i saw. I expect game, what has name "Bioshock Infinife", That's all. But is say serious, if not mind stupid creepy moments and dummy dolls charachters, which here three (two), this game is pretty good.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. A dark and astonishing masterpiece...I spend my career, and my gaming life, waiting for a moment when a game just astonishes me, when I can't believe what I'm seeing, what I'm doing. BioShock has five. [Sept 2007, p.66]
  2. 100
    The hours spent playing this masterpiece were the perfect encapsulation of why videogaming is such a favourite waste of time for so many of us. Thrilling, terrifying, moving, confusing, amusing, compelling, and very very dark. BioShock isn't simply the sign of gaming realising its true cinematic potential, but one where a game straddles so many entertainment art forms so expertly that it's the best demonstration yet how flexible this medium can be. It's no longer just another shooter wrapped up in a pretty game engine, but a story that exists and unfolds inside the most convincing and elaborate and artistic game world ever conceived.
  3. 97
    There is art here, despite what many would say isn't possible with games, from Roger Ebert to game designers like Hideo Kojima... BioShock stands as a monolithic example of the convergence of entertaining gameplay and an irresistibly sinister, engrossing storyline that encompasses a host of multifaceted characters. This is an essential gaming experience.