BioShock Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3901 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea.Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea. Constructed as an idealistic society for a hand picked group of scientists, artists and industrialists, the idealism is no more. Now the city is littered with corpses, wildly powerful guardians roam the corridors as little girls loot the dead, and genetically mutated citizens ambush you at every turn. Take control of your world by hacking mechanical devices, commandeering security turrets and crafting unique items critical to your very survival. Upgrade your weapons with ionic gels, explosives and toxins to customize them to the enemy and environment. Genetically modify your body through dozens of Plasmid Stations scattered throughout the city, empowering you with fantastic and often grotesque abilities. Explore a living world powered by Ecological A.I., where the inhabitants have interesting and consequential relationships with one another that impact your gameplay experience. Experience truly next generation graphics that vividly illustrate the forlorn art deco city, highlighted by the most detailed and realistic water effects ever developed in a video game. Make meaningful choices and mature decisions, ultimately culminating in the grand question: do you exploit the innocent survivors of Rapture...or save them? [2K Games] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Irrational Games, 2K Marin
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
BioShock - iOS Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    The hours spent playing this masterpiece were the perfect encapsulation of why videogaming is such a favourite waste of time for so many of us. Thrilling, terrifying, moving, confusing, amusing, compelling, and very very dark. BioShock isn't simply the sign of gaming realising its true cinematic potential, but one where a game straddles so many entertainment art forms so expertly that it's the best demonstration yet how flexible this medium can be. It's no longer just another shooter wrapped up in a pretty game engine, but a story that exists and unfolds inside the most convincing and elaborate and artistic game world ever conceived.
  2. BioShock is on the same par as those great classic films that have won awards for years and this one will for the video game industry. The combination of a great story and fantastic gameplay with wonderful scenery has been so well created into an all around well crafted game that it would be a shame to miss out on playing it.
  3. Everyone will play it differently, and have a different experience. Some like myself will find it drenched in tension and atmosphere, having run into many a situation where the poop was scared out of me. Others, like a friend of mine, will claim that its intuitiveness, combative freedom, and creativity puts it above the spiritual predecessor "System Shock 2," and wonder at how convincing the whole affair can be.
  4. Play Magazine
    95
    The first-person shooter is, simply, one of the best games ever made. [Oct 2007, p.86]
  5. A dark and astonishing masterpiece...I spend my career, and my gaming life, waiting for a moment when a game just astonishes me, when I can't believe what I'm seeing, what I'm doing. BioShock has five. [Sept 2007, p.66]
  6. It meshes impressive graphics with an inventive gameplay system, and uses them to push an amazing story in a refreshingly unique setting. Unless you faint at the sight of blood or you absolutely despise FPS games, you should consider this game a must buy.
  7. So BioShock is not a revolutionary game, or even a particularly innovative one; by the time I reached the end, I felt as though I had played a rather standard and predictable first-person shooter.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 727
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    This game stands out as one of the BEST experiences I have ever had not only in a game but in a story-telling experience overall. As a classicThis game stands out as one of the BEST experiences I have ever had not only in a game but in a story-telling experience overall. As a classic masterpiece of game design, it does not feel dated playing it years after its release. I've never played a game where my mind was so thoroughly and consistently blown, not only once but many, many times. Innovated character customization in a shooter without being bogged down with stat-mechanics. Intelligent and hectic AI. Brilliant voice acting and incredibly atmospheric environmental effects (in both audio and visuals. Water effects, am I right??). Great weapons and action on the level with the most high-level shooters in the history of gaming. I could go on and on. A perfect game and a must-play. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2017
    10
    The game added a whole new sub-genre for the FPS genre, a Horror FPS game. This was a whole new idea to gaming. Everyone was like "This is aThe game added a whole new sub-genre for the FPS genre, a Horror FPS game. This was a whole new idea to gaming. Everyone was like "This is a shooter, but, it has something different, Something new to it.".
    BioShock has an amazing story line, The environment is amazing, the weapons are balanced and great, you can have super powers, too (Kinda) and the graphics are good.

    The game was made in 2007, but, it runs smoothly on Windows 10.

    Overall a great game, 10/10.
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    It is a beautiful but strange world. Fascinating environment that is eerie, elegant music that is mysterious, lovely children that is underIt is a beautiful but strange world. Fascinating environment that is eerie, elegant music that is mysterious, lovely children that is under external control, dramatic plot and touching ending depict a unprecedented world in the game of bioshock. Maybe, this is the most artistic violent game, almost all would be "shocked" after finishing this game. Maybe, this is the game with the deepest content. 9.7/10 from IGN really says it all.(My rating: 10/10 absolutely) Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    Most bad shooters are overrated while underrated are excellent retrieval in each hand of playing. BioShock is a fascinating, worth it --Most bad shooters are overrated while underrated are excellent retrieval in each hand of playing. BioShock is a fascinating, worth it -- unlike traditional; It occupies all other shooters hypes. Rapture....Plasmids...Hacking Machines...Big Daddies.....Little Sisters....combines BioShock's greatness. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything about BioShock is brilliant. The story, the atmosphere, the gameplay and the writing all shine here. The game was developed by Irrational Games' Ken Levine, who also made the System Shock 2. Mister Levine certainly knows how to make survival horror game in a twisted environment with a silent protagonist. Anyways, the game starts out in a plane with our main character, Jack Ryan. Then the plane crashes and we're thrown into one of the most sadistic and frightening worlds in video game history. And I love it. I feel like the best way to experience BioShock is by knowing next to nothing about it, like I did when I first played it last weekend. The gameplay is stellar, with a mix of standard first-person shooting and strange power ups called 'Plasmids'. They can let you shoot electricity out of your hand, and lift stuff up and throw things at people. Its pretty damn fun. The music is terrifyingly brilliant and gives me chills each time I hear it. It sets the environment incredibly well. The story, while very similar to System Shock 2's is still engaging and has a twist that actually surprised me. The writing is also brilliant and really holds the game up through the dull and mundane moments it has.

    One of my few problems with the game is that it's pretty easy. I played the game on normal and only died twice. Another problem I have with the game is that the Big Daddy fights (Big Daddies are robots you have to kill to get to Little Sisters' who give you Adam which you use to get power ups) are too easy and get very boring after a while, particularly if you beat the game in one sitting like I did. Also, some parts of the game did get kind of repetitive as it progressed.

    Those are probably my only flaws with the game. It truly is a magnificent experience that I enjoyed immensely. I definitely won't be forgetting about Rapture any time soon.

    Those are m
    Expand
  6. AdamD
    Jul 12, 2008
    7
    Maybe worth one play through, borrow it from a friend if you can cause you wont want to replay it. Lots of bright cartoony colors and awful Maybe worth one play through, borrow it from a friend if you can cause you wont want to replay it. Lots of bright cartoony colors and awful annoying sounds. Hacking is painfuly boring and slows game play. All the enemies drop like 1 bullet and Eve (mana or magic energy) gets used up faster than it should. You basically have to be super conservative and can never really just unload on some enemies. Expand
  7. RobertG
    Aug 28, 2007
    0
    I'm sure the game is great, if you get it to start. The 1000+ posts in the "outstanding pc problems" thread on 2k:s support forum bearsI'm sure the game is great, if you get it to start. The 1000+ posts in the "outstanding pc problems" thread on 2k:s support forum bears witness to major problems though. In said thread not a single reply from 2 k can be found. In short - no game performance can nullify the complete and utter disregard from 2k against the thousands of buyers that are reporting trouble even getting the game to start (on more than adequate machines, I might add). Nope, sry - 2k flunks in my book. Expand

See all 727 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.