User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 452 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 452

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    Black Mesa has the polish synonymous with a Valve property, and has surpassed all expectations in light of the sheer difficulty of the project. The amount of dedication, passion, and love the developers put into this game is immediately apparent as you explore the depths of Black Mesa, and uncover the secrets of this research facility.

    Black Mesa transcends the level of 'modification' -
    Black Mesa has the polish synonymous with a Valve property, and has surpassed all expectations in light of the sheer difficulty of the project. The amount of dedication, passion, and love the developers put into this game is immediately apparent as you explore the depths of Black Mesa, and uncover the secrets of this research facility.

    Black Mesa transcends the level of 'modification' - they didn't modify anything. They created this game (save for a few sound bites, etc) from the ground up - in an impressive feat not many could accomplish. Having played Half-Life 1, this game left me without a single gripe or complaint regarding it's faithfulness to the original. The additions (of which there are a few) utilize the source engine's physics and graphics in ways that remind you of Half-Life 2. These are not modders, they're developers - and have made a shining masterpiece which raises the bar on third-party game development in the source engine. It's faithful to the original, and yet creates this bizarre sense of deja vu with Half-Life 2 - making them feel like one contiguous game, no longer separated by 6 years or different engines. They have truly done the impossible. This is a must-play.
    Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting for this mod since the very beginning. Half Life is just one of the greatest PC Games ever made and walking Black Mesa again with these all new graphics it feels like coming home...well...home is nicer though :-)
    I have found no bugs so far. Everything has been rebuilt very accurately. No wonder this mod took about 8 years and it was worth every second. Hope the mod team
    I've been waiting for this mod since the very beginning. Half Life is just one of the greatest PC Games ever made and walking Black Mesa again with these all new graphics it feels like coming home...well...home is nicer though :-)
    I have found no bugs so far. Everything has been rebuilt very accurately. No wonder this mod took about 8 years and it was worth every second. Hope the mod team will come up with the last part of the Half Life on Zen very soon!!
    Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Ok where to start. Black Mesa is a complete remake of Half-life. Now to sum it up would be "a masterpiece".The graphics have been totally revamped, characters (scientists, guards, etc.) have totally remade models and are now different from one another not the same guard over and over, the textures and other props have been replaced with higher quality ones. Some levels are slightlyOk where to start. Black Mesa is a complete remake of Half-life. Now to sum it up would be "a masterpiece".The graphics have been totally revamped, characters (scientists, guards, etc.) have totally remade models and are now different from one another not the same guard over and over, the textures and other props have been replaced with higher quality ones. Some levels are slightly different but I found them very fluid and I believe they were worked to make the story more cohesive. Enemies are more intelligent and look amazing. Guns totally remade. This game is certainly on par with the original quality of story wise. The quality of work is of the highest I have seen in a mod and it is a "Valve" level of quality product. I find little else to say as this mod is so amazing I am lost for words trying to explain how highly I respect this remake and the dev team behind it was done such an amazing job. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Black Mesa is one of the best and most polished mods i have ever played in my life. The mod is a perfect replica of half-life while still adding some new and interesting things such as the npc interaction and the improved ai. This game is DEFINITELY worth playing seeing as the original is still and always will be my favorite single player game of all time. If you haven't played this iBlack Mesa is one of the best and most polished mods i have ever played in my life. The mod is a perfect replica of half-life while still adding some new and interesting things such as the npc interaction and the improved ai. This game is DEFINITELY worth playing seeing as the original is still and always will be my favorite single player game of all time. If you haven't played this i would be hesitant to call you a gamer, especially if you're my age... Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    Just finished this game, very good, like the original game. I'm very happy that it's free for people that has Source games, because Source games are my life, i almost play nothing else. I am taking off 10% for minor things, it was a pain in the ass to get the mod, and the second, the clothes of the figures should be improved more. Very good game, especially that only 40 volunteers madeJust finished this game, very good, like the original game. I'm very happy that it's free for people that has Source games, because Source games are my life, i almost play nothing else. I am taking off 10% for minor things, it was a pain in the ass to get the mod, and the second, the clothes of the figures should be improved more. Very good game, especially that only 40 volunteers made it, that is the best thing. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    It is the same game that it was when it was released a hundred years ago, but this time with shiny new graphics and better audio. It was a fun game in the original and while my memories of the original were very fond, it is like watching a movie you originally watched on VHS, on BlueRay. Looks better but feels the same. Good work on the mod, but it is essentially the same as it always was.
  7. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Firstly it's free! Anyone caught whining needs to be shot in the face. It is a update to a classic from passionate and dedicated fans, who happily gave up their time to give a facelift to one of histories best FPS games. It feels as good as it did all those years ago, the improved graphics help it feel modern. If you haven't already played the original (or wanna get back into the boots ofFirstly it's free! Anyone caught whining needs to be shot in the face. It is a update to a classic from passionate and dedicated fans, who happily gave up their time to give a facelift to one of histories best FPS games. It feels as good as it did all those years ago, the improved graphics help it feel modern. If you haven't already played the original (or wanna get back into the boots of Gordon) do yourself a favour and download it now. It's not trying to be a totally original game so expect it to be, don't be an idiot complaining that it's the same story etc. Expand
  8. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    Truly amazing re-work. It turned out to be a lot better than I expected to. I'm also glad that Valve approved Greenlight for this mod, we need more worthy mods on Steam than crap like Revelations 2012 which is an Alpha stage non-free mod...
  9. sLm
    Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I can't tell fairly enough how awesome is this game, and I say game not mod, because this game surpass its original by lightyears. Perfect. .
  10. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    I own the complete Half-Life series and I am a huge fan and I must say that I am impressed with what the team did with this re-make. Awesome Mod !! I would recommend this Mod to anyone. This Mod has my 10 out of 10.
  11. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    It's quite good, especially for a fan made mod. Seeing the whole BM facility rebuilt really presses the right buttons. Now it looks a lot less like a game level and more like an actual place where people work. I only found 3 things I didn't like about this mod: they changed the ammo carrying capacity to HL2 standards (ie: too low), the enemy soldiers have godly accuracy and perfectIt's quite good, especially for a fan made mod. Seeing the whole BM facility rebuilt really presses the right buttons. Now it looks a lot less like a game level and more like an actual place where people work. I only found 3 things I didn't like about this mod: they changed the ammo carrying capacity to HL2 standards (ie: too low), the enemy soldiers have godly accuracy and perfect reflexes, and they changed the sound and firemode of the SMG. Other than that I loved every second of it. Expand
  12. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    There are some things in life that are not really recognised for how important they really are until perhaps years after they actually happen. Black Mesa fits in to that category. For a group of fans to create something so professional, so polished, and so good is truly an extraordinary thing in itself. But the sheer scale, scope and length of time devoted to Black Mesa demonstratesThere are some things in life that are not really recognised for how important they really are until perhaps years after they actually happen. Black Mesa fits in to that category. For a group of fans to create something so professional, so polished, and so good is truly an extraordinary thing in itself. But the sheer scale, scope and length of time devoted to Black Mesa demonstrates what fans can actually achieve when they work together. The developers managed to create a game that can easily stand shoulder to shoulder with the titles you go out and buy, but they did it for free, which i think is a beautiful and quite remarkable thing. Black mesa, like half life itself, is the new yard stick to compare fan created games, and will be for years to come. Expand
  13. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    When I first heard about Black Mesa, I was excited. When it came out, I was not disappointed at all. A few moments of the game have been changed from the original. And almost all the time, it has improved on the original. In Half Life, I found On A Rail really annoying. Black Mesa completely redid the chapter and it was a major improvement. That's basically how I would sum up Black Mesa, aWhen I first heard about Black Mesa, I was excited. When it came out, I was not disappointed at all. A few moments of the game have been changed from the original. And almost all the time, it has improved on the original. In Half Life, I found On A Rail really annoying. Black Mesa completely redid the chapter and it was a major improvement. That's basically how I would sum up Black Mesa, a major improvement on Half Life. It brings Half Life up to, and possibly beyond, the quality levels of Half Life 2. Definitely worth the long wait. Can't wait to see the Xen chapters Expand
  14. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    Good god what an incredible game. It was also VERY time consuming spanning about 10 hours long it felt endless yet still enjoyable. It was bland and boring at the start with an extremely creepy atmosphere and gradually switches genres completely becoming something else. Yes that may be describing Half Life, but this redo of the game was incredible. I was stunned at the graphics comparisonGood god what an incredible game. It was also VERY time consuming spanning about 10 hours long it felt endless yet still enjoyable. It was bland and boring at the start with an extremely creepy atmosphere and gradually switches genres completely becoming something else. Yes that may be describing Half Life, but this redo of the game was incredible. I was stunned at the graphics comparison to the previous and it blows it out of the water. I usually have trouble playing dated games, and this really helped out. Expand
  15. Sep 30, 2012
    5
    This game leaves me with mixed feelings. On the one hand its quite polished and is well defined and faithful to Half-life. It free and easy to install so that is nice. The voice acting is really great and gives NPCs far more to say and feels more human.

    However it has too many annoying quirks. Such as the annoying "jump-crouch" being the solution to everything and the assumption that
    This game leaves me with mixed feelings. On the one hand its quite polished and is well defined and faithful to Half-life. It free and easy to install so that is nice. The voice acting is really great and gives NPCs far more to say and feels more human.

    However it has too many annoying quirks. Such as the annoying "jump-crouch" being the solution to everything and the assumption that the player has played the original and remembers all the old solutions to events.

    If you haven't played the original game you will find this a frustrating affair. Movement is another issue as it feels blocky and old fashioned.
    Expand
  16. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    When I first played the Half Life games, I thought to myself, these games can't get any better than they already are. Shows you what I know. This game is perfect. No doubt about it. A ten all the way. In every aspect that Half Life was perfect in, Black Mesa perfected the perfection. The graphics are great for this game are much better than the first Half Life, (it did come out in 1998,When I first played the Half Life games, I thought to myself, these games can't get any better than they already are. Shows you what I know. This game is perfect. No doubt about it. A ten all the way. In every aspect that Half Life was perfect in, Black Mesa perfected the perfection. The graphics are great for this game are much better than the first Half Life, (it did come out in 1998, great graphics for then) the plot is almost the same so far, (some levels are different) and it is easy to tell how much these developers really love the game. They put all there passion into it. I am glad that now not every scientist is identical. I would say this game gets 98 out of 100 or above. Now, about Half Life 3... Expand
  17. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    I've been looking forward to this for the whole of this year. Half life introduced me to awesome first person shooters by Valve. Then once I heard of Black Mesa I expected the best thing ever. It did not fail my expectations. Flawless design. Everything has been rebuilt very accurately with extra additions of perfection to top it off. There's been no bugs at all and I just can't seem toI've been looking forward to this for the whole of this year. Half life introduced me to awesome first person shooters by Valve. Then once I heard of Black Mesa I expected the best thing ever. It did not fail my expectations. Flawless design. Everything has been rebuilt very accurately with extra additions of perfection to top it off. There's been no bugs at all and I just can't seem to point out anything wrong. This is a mod of Gods! Expand
  18. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Like most people, I too have been waiting a long time for this mod and its amazing, enjoyable to both people who have and haven't played Half Life, the level design is fantastic, all the areas are essentially the same with some minor differences and some areas changed almost completely, its playable so far up to Lambda Core and Xen hasn't been released yet, they are working on it. TheLike most people, I too have been waiting a long time for this mod and its amazing, enjoyable to both people who have and haven't played Half Life, the level design is fantastic, all the areas are essentially the same with some minor differences and some areas changed almost completely, its playable so far up to Lambda Core and Xen hasn't been released yet, they are working on it. The soundtrack is amazing and voice acting is brilliant, some nice subtle references to half life and their own mod in the game which I found amusing, the only flaw I found was jumping which felt a little clunky but it didn't affect much, its on Source engine not GoldSrc so your gonna expect a different feel to the motion, it was the same with CS 1.6 and CS:S. The game is still as hardcore as Half Life, the marines are hard which I find good, there is a bug however with the helicopter on Surface Tension but that seems to be the only one I've found. I would recommend this mod to anyone, it feels like a commercial Valve game and plays like one and I enjoyed every single moment of it. So much work has gone into this and you can tell 10/10 Expand
  19. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is remake is more amazing than the original Half-Life, with enhanced levels, better AI, more challenging gameplay, Half-Life 2 styled puzzles, but be warned, but it's not for people who want a 1-1 remake with only the textures and models changed like Halo Anniversary, EVERYTHING is changed and improved. Although some areas in the game were cut, such as a portion of On a Rail and a portion of Surface Tension, I still think it is amazing and takes on a "Valve quality" design. Black Mesa also has some new areas as well, such as more test labs and experiments in Questionable Ethics, and an amazing ambush from the HECU at the end of the chapter. Overall it was amazing and I give it a 10/10 Expand
  20. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    This game is fantastic. Perfect remake made by gamers for gamers with passion and devotion to the finest details. I could not have asked for more then this.

    THANK YOU!
  21. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    An amazing game that gives half-life fans more to get excited over it's funny how it's been over ten years since the original has been released yet the gameplay still remains nearly completely unchanged and it still manages to be fun and fluid, there are some aspects of the game that could have been improved, but as a fan project it's a solid ten, I doubt i'd ever be able to make anythingAn amazing game that gives half-life fans more to get excited over it's funny how it's been over ten years since the original has been released yet the gameplay still remains nearly completely unchanged and it still manages to be fun and fluid, there are some aspects of the game that could have been improved, but as a fan project it's a solid ten, I doubt i'd ever be able to make anything like this even with my passion in gaming Expand
  22. oso
    Oct 1, 2012
    10
    Incredible Remake! Can't believe this is for free, i'd even pay a Full Price for this Masterpiece. There is absolutely nothing they could have done better. By far the best fps i've played in a dam' long time.
  23. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    If a mod actually receives reviews from critics then you know its going to be good. This mod truly brings Half life 1 back in the best way possible.
    Best mod ever!
    Period.
  24. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    black mesa is probably the best halflife 1 remake possible. there's clearly been a lot of attention to details, and the atmosphere is very similar to the original - in my eyes an important trait for a remake of any game. i was expecting much from black mesa, after all these years of waiting, but it delivered, at least for me!
  25. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    Best mod ever made. It's not just a mod. It's a different game. I recommend playing HL1 first because this one does not tell the story as good as the first one did. Nostalgia is so big part of this game.
  26. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    So much waiting, and now after 8 long years im completly overwhelmed by Black Mesa. It's really stupid to call this masterpiece a "modification" for HL2. It's f***** more than that! Its deserves to be an absolutely great remake of legendary Half Life. Many thanks for creators of this new,fine version, whoever u are!
  27. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    the black mesa production team has done a wonderful job of revisiting Half-Life into the Half Life 2 engine in not only the source engine but also of the time and effort they took to remodeling all the NPCs, improving the dialogue quality while providing new voice actors, and providing much more attention to detail with the environment of the black mesa research facility. I was glad thatthe black mesa production team has done a wonderful job of revisiting Half-Life into the Half Life 2 engine in not only the source engine but also of the time and effort they took to remodeling all the NPCs, improving the dialogue quality while providing new voice actors, and providing much more attention to detail with the environment of the black mesa research facility. I was glad that they did get rid of parts of the game that seemed to go on for decades (going through ventilation shafts for an eternity, that is), and they also put more complexity and more realism to the facility area, like the crate smashing room (in Half Life it almost seemed like they deliberately made it for you to jump that way). Also, I was quite surprised at how they added a new feature to the game: gore on your weapons. It's a nice emphatic touch to the ventures that Freeman must go through to reach to the Lambda core. The AI also has been improved as well, especially with the soldiers (although, sometimes the enemies will just stand there if they can't reach you from range, and this is frequent with the Slaves, e.g. vortigaunts). Also, there are some subtly hilarious parts in the game that you will encounter (like when you acquire the hive-hand, and Freeman reluctantly sticks his hand into what appears to be it's ass, or when the scientists foolishly go inside a ventilation shaft filled with monsters and the scientist who tries to get him out brakes his neck from falling from under the ladder). Everything that made the first half-life great can still be found in the effortless commitment that the black mesa production team had put into revamping the game, and seriously, all of this for free? You can't get a better deal than that! If you've been painfully impatient about the release of half life 3 (or episode 3), this game will give you the same feeling of nostalgia from both Half Life releases for a very long time! Expand
  28. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Wow. The amount of memories that come flooding back to me was incredible. This project puts a lot of professional projects to shame. From a technical perspective the voice acting is a bit strange but the atmosphere that's obviously been a labor of love for the devs - smashes any negativity. Surprising, tense and thrilling are some of the feelings you will get if you play this for theWow. The amount of memories that come flooding back to me was incredible. This project puts a lot of professional projects to shame. From a technical perspective the voice acting is a bit strange but the atmosphere that's obviously been a labor of love for the devs - smashes any negativity. Surprising, tense and thrilling are some of the feelings you will get if you play this for the first time. A sincere feeling of nostalgia is what you will get if you played the original like me. For free this is 100% worth your time. Collapse
  29. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    This is a great addition to the HL community, HOWEVER, I did not read into how far the game had been converted and was thoroughly disappointed where it ended. For those who have played the original, be prepared for it to end "a bit short." For those who have never played the original HL have fun!
  30. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best re texturing and full modding of any pc game I have ever played. The sound is awesome and plays well with most modern gpus. The game has a few glitches here and there but the fact that it is free I can look past it. With the game set to hard you will have a great experience. This game is one of the holy trinity of first person shooters that set the game industryThis is one of the best re texturing and full modding of any pc game I have ever played. The sound is awesome and plays well with most modern gpus. The game has a few glitches here and there but the fact that it is free I can look past it. With the game set to hard you will have a great experience. This game is one of the holy trinity of first person shooters that set the game industry standards. Wolfenstien, Doom, Half Life. Expand
  31. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    Probably the best mod out there. Free to play and entirely worth your time. Half life fans new and old should thoroughly enjoy this game, as well as folks who haven't tried the series before.

    If you enjoy first person shooters and games with a gripping plot; you won't want to miss this game
  32. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Fantastic remake of one of the greatest games of all time. It's not perfect; graphics look like 2007/2008 vintage, the crouch jumping is annoying, and the framerate takes some hits here and there. But the polish and attention to detail, and the classic nostalgic gameplay, make this one of my favorite games of 2012. Must play.
  33. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I always wished for another Half-life installment. Half-life is one of the most legendary games I have ever played. I confess that was disappointed that this game didn't continue the story, but I was incredibly happy when I found out that this game hadn't altered any Half-life gameplay. Thank you, Valve. You have made yet another masterpiece.
  34. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    This is a masterpiece of work for 40 volunteers. They have not really created a mod, but a full game that does a very good job recreating the good moments of the long timed Half Life, released in 1998. And obviously, it rocks HL Source very easily, both on graphics and gameplay. Unlike some say: It is not required a top GPU to run the game. It runs well on a GT 240 128 bit DDR3, but exceptThis is a masterpiece of work for 40 volunteers. They have not really created a mod, but a full game that does a very good job recreating the good moments of the long timed Half Life, released in 1998. And obviously, it rocks HL Source very easily, both on graphics and gameplay. Unlike some say: It is not required a top GPU to run the game. It runs well on a GT 240 128 bit DDR3, but except some lag in graphically intensive moments. Summarizing: It does a fantastic job to recreate HL, and I think this is not really a mod, but a new game with a very similar story to the original HL, with some ambients completely recreated. It brings back to life the long forgotten HL, now replaced by some mods, being only a shadow of the original HL, namely: Counter Strike, Day of Defeat or Team Fortress(the former i liked it pretty much). But it also haves it some con aspects. While it does not require a top Graphics Card to run, do not except to run this game, even on medium details, with a 8400GS or a 8500GT. And also, there are some FPS issues on some parts, namely after the first chapter of the game, on the exploded power reactor. Other than that, i would give it 9.7/10 easily. Expand
  35. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    How to make a better game out of a game that was already great. Well, just play Black Mesa an see for yourself how that can be possible. It's an improvment in every way.
  36. May 15, 2013
    10
    Black Mesa is a total Source conversion of the original critical acclaimed game Half-Life.

    For a mod, it does everything very well. The level design looks both similar to the original game, with Hi-Res props, much improved physics new animations and improved scripted events. The gameplay however feels even more linear, by unfortunately cutting a lot from On a Rail chapter, which
    Black Mesa is a total Source conversion of the original critical acclaimed game Half-Life.

    For a mod, it does everything very well.

    The level design looks both similar to the original game, with Hi-Res props, much improved physics new animations and improved scripted events.

    The gameplay however feels even more linear, by unfortunately cutting a lot from On a Rail chapter, which in the original game it was far bigger, and more like a maze, now just activate this, enable this, and keep going. In original game the chapter took a lot to be completed, even after many times playing.

    However, the gameplay certainly feels a lot more intense, the new sounds, enemy design an AI makes everything feel both intense and realistic, but also more brutal sometimes. For instance, now when you kill a HECU soldier you get an exaggerated blood around him.

    In gameplay terms the mod brings some things not seen in any Half-Life game, the Gibing System. Basically it seems to have certain models, and works for certain kills, like when killing enemies with explosive barrels, grenades, RPGs, mines, and even headshots, which is a welcome and great addition.

    About the animations, both for weapons and NPCs is nice, with very good lip syncing and detail. Unfortunately, the dying animation in certain situations look ridiculous. For instance, the dying scientist in the beginning of Blast Pit has an exaggerated death animation, being too convulsive.

    Also the mods features another new system, which adds blood/acid and others on player's hand, which is a lot more realistic, but could've been better, on some guns, the blood doesn't go in a precise mode, like on the Glock, when a half of the hands have blood on certain parts, and on the other one on other parts, which isn't realistic and very good.

    The levels like said before, are very similar, but some are different, such as On a Rail which is a lot shorter, which is a bit disappointing, but it eventually fits better.

    The weapons, compared to original game are well made, sound realistic, look HD and behave realistic, but some of them, if carefully watched, behave weird, for instance the Magnum sounds very powerful, but if not shot in the head, it can even take to up to 3 hits to kill an enemy.

    The shotgun also feels very light but it really powerful in fact.

    The voice acting is great, but not for everyone. Eli's voice doesn't really fit, sound like a child with a sore throat, rather than an adult.

    The addition of the female scientist is also a good thing, and their voices fits perfectly.

    This is mod's quality in gameplay terms, now let's see the graphics and the performance.

    The graphics can't be described very detailed, there are dynamic lights, very sweet particle effects and realistic physics, with some demos right after the Test Chamber explosion at the beginning, and also in Apprehension, right after Gordon is caught by the HECUs and placed in a room to be squished.

    The performance however isn't really good. After playing aprox. 1-2hours you might get the ,,Failed to allocate the required Memory,, error.

    Also the mod has a severe lack of optimization in some areas which really don't look to be so hardware demanding, such as the Resonance Cascade scene, the beginning of apprehension, when a part of the Hydro Electric Dam in Surface Tension, some areas in Office Complex, Blast Pit, and the fighting scene before jumping into the portal at the end of Lambda Core, which is quite disappointing for a game that was in development for more than 8 years, but this is how's happening when a game if not fully ready, the mod is missing the Xen chapters, but even so, it provides a great experience until then, and you can't be very curious to see the revamped Xen, which has the biggest potential to be vast with great graphics, effects, physics, and other great stuff.

    The mod has as well several bugs, such as non-matching textures, like Scientists and Zombie Scientist, Barney and Barney Gibs, and Sniper Bullet, which wasn't replaced at all, being exactly the same from Half-Life 2. Another not super great thing is that the portal to Xen looks very similar to City 17's Citadel Core, but even so, again, it fits well.

    The soundtrack is a brand new addition, instead of re-used songs from the original one, but is very well made, gives suspense, fits with the action and environment, especially with the combat.

    The brand new achievements are well made, but could've been a bit better, like, well... ,,Drown in he Lambda Core Coolant,,?

    So, final verdict. Black Mesa is a masterpiece for a mod, which is also absolutely FREE which is a very great thing, as it's a mod. And it's stopped from being rated with a 10/10 ONLY because of the few bugs and glitches, some exaggerated death animations, and the lack of optimization in some chapters, and some unbalanced weapons.

    But overall, it certainly deserves the Mod of The Year award and can't wait to see what will bring Xen and BM:DM.
    Expand
  37. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Taking into account that the game is free, you can say that this is a masterpiece from the team of fan developers. there were some flaws in artificial intelligence, but again, the game is free. Done a lot of work on the subject, it became more interesting, without disturbing the original. The music in the game is good. Graphics to the limit game engine in 2006, very good.
  38. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    What do you get when you mix one of the greatest FPS ever made and a fresh new engine Black Mesa. This mod is truly excellent, as a fan of Half-Life, playing the story with the HL2 graphics was very pleasant, you feel like playing a new game... but with familiar sensations, very cool.
    Everyone who enjoyed the original should give this mod a try, you won't be disappointed
  39. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    This is one of the largest and best mods ever made! It was in development for 8 years and it was really worth the wait. Some of the "worst" parts of Half-Life are deleted and some parts are even more impressive now, which makes Black Mesa an even better game than the original one!
    It can't of course revolutionize the FPS and the graphics are not top notch for today's standards, but for a
    This is one of the largest and best mods ever made! It was in development for 8 years and it was really worth the wait. Some of the "worst" parts of Half-Life are deleted and some parts are even more impressive now, which makes Black Mesa an even better game than the original one!
    It can't of course revolutionize the FPS and the graphics are not top notch for today's standards, but for a mod it's a masterpiece for sure. Now we have to wait a bit for xen...
    Expand
  40. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    Black Mesa is an overwhelmingly successful remake of Half-Life. For anyone that has never played the original half life, this is a must-play. The graphics are great, the gameplay is faithful and it is just plain fun all around. It is not perfect though, I only have a few complaints:

    1. It's not complete yet. Honestly, I don't care much that Xen isn't included, it was the worst part
    Black Mesa is an overwhelmingly successful remake of Half-Life. For anyone that has never played the original half life, this is a must-play. The graphics are great, the gameplay is faithful and it is just plain fun all around. It is not perfect though, I only have a few complaints:

    1. It's not complete yet. Honestly, I don't care much that Xen isn't included, it was the worst part of the original. But still, it will be nice when it is added in.
    2. In my play through I had 5-6 crashes and a few extreme slowdowns.
    3. The ladders were even more annoying than they were in the original half life. It seemed to get worse later in the game, where several times I had big problems getting on or off ladders.
    4. My biggest complaint is that the crouch jump is less forgiving than in the original game. Especially during the teleportation section near the end with the rotating platforms, I missed crouch jump after crouch jump that definitely should have counted and I almost threw my mouse in frustration.

    Don't get me wrong, these are very minor complaints when you consider how hard this development team must have worked on this amazing mod. It is a huge success and I am so happy it finally exists. PLAY IT!
    Expand
  41. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Black Mesa basically, improved the original Half Life. Though it's not completely done, it still improved the graphics using the source engine. I would give a 10 to the developers.
  42. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent remake, it has new voice acting and a new soundtrack which fit perfectly with the original game. The plans to remake the latter stages of the game will be interesting to see but since there is no info on that I cannot comment about it, the same goes for the upcoming multiplayer.
  43. Apr 16, 2014
    3
    Oh dear. It looks so much better than the original, but the gameplay has gone horribly wrong. I always play FPS on hard, but on this, it's not fun. Enemies can't miss you. So you have to save before a gunfight. Have a look and get killed, but memorise the positions of the baddies, then load up your save, get the crosshairs into position, strafe, fire and hope. On medium, it's a cake walk.Oh dear. It looks so much better than the original, but the gameplay has gone horribly wrong. I always play FPS on hard, but on this, it's not fun. Enemies can't miss you. So you have to save before a gunfight. Have a look and get killed, but memorise the positions of the baddies, then load up your save, get the crosshairs into position, strafe, fire and hope. On medium, it's a cake walk. Such a shame because I love the original. Expand
  44. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    A perfect remake. Action packed survival, and I really enjoyed how the secrets of black mesa are brought to life with voice acting and in-game whiteboards. Playing this game after so many years, some of the levels seem small, especially if you know what's coming. Other than that, a fantastic remake, and it's free!
  45. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    The quality of the game is so great, it looks like it was actually made by Valve. However, it's actually a stand-alone mod of Half-Life 2 made by a group of fans. And boy they did wonderful. Anyway, this is a remake of the original Half-Life from 1998. I, however, haven't played it, but just by looking at levels from the original on YouTube and then comparing them to those of Black Mesa,The quality of the game is so great, it looks like it was actually made by Valve. However, it's actually a stand-alone mod of Half-Life 2 made by a group of fans. And boy they did wonderful. Anyway, this is a remake of the original Half-Life from 1998. I, however, haven't played it, but just by looking at levels from the original on YouTube and then comparing them to those of Black Mesa, you can see how much is changed. There is so much to be seen and done that there's no way I can find the words to express it let alone state it. So, why don't you download the game and see for yourself? I mean, there's nothing to lose, it's free! All you just need is Steam (which is, of course, free as well). Expand
  46. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    Waited a long time for this mod, and it exceeded all my expectations.

    I feel like many of the people who give this mod bad ratings don't know anything about the Half-Life series. And that is fine, same as the people throwing tens around (Guilty) are neck deep in nostalgia. The movement (saw some complaints) is true to the Original Half-Life. Fast paced and really good for the style
    Waited a long time for this mod, and it exceeded all my expectations.

    I feel like many of the people who give this mod bad ratings don't know anything about the Half-Life series. And that is fine, same as the people throwing tens around (Guilty) are neck deep in nostalgia.

    The movement (saw some complaints) is true to the Original Half-Life. Fast paced and really good for the style of play. Takes a second to get used to, if you never have played Half-Life or quake or anything before. Trust me, that movement is the reason the Multiplayer is going to be so good.

    As for FPS dips, it happens only on AMD based systems. My upgrade from an AMD 1090t to an Intel 3570k stopped all of those issues. Just something you'll have to wait for a patch to be fixed.

    Overall, this mod is FREE, looks amazing, and brings back that good old Half-Life nostalgia. What isn't to love?
    Expand
  47. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    The only problem for me, was the frame rate issues at moments.

    The game is wonderful and traveled me back in time when I was first playing half life 1 in an ancient celeron 300 and a diamond stealth 3... It also had a lot of changes here and there to make it more modern than the original, without destroying the felling.
  48. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    There really isn't much more you could have asked for when it came to bringing Half-Life into modern times. It's not a direct carbon copy, but what is different is definitely not detracting from anything at all. For a group of modders doing this in their spare time with no real funding, you have to sit back and appreciate just what has actually become of their hard work. I could so easilyThere really isn't much more you could have asked for when it came to bringing Half-Life into modern times. It's not a direct carbon copy, but what is different is definitely not detracting from anything at all. For a group of modders doing this in their spare time with no real funding, you have to sit back and appreciate just what has actually become of their hard work. I could so easily have dropped $30 on this game. Expand
  49. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    the one of the greatest remakes of one of the greatest games of all time. This is Half-Life, but better. If you have never played Half-Life and wonder what all the fuss was all about, this is a great opportunity to try it out.... for free!
  50. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    By far the best mapping/models I've ever seen in any source game ever.
    ..............................................................................
  51. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Simply one of the best tributes to anything ever... This is the Half Life: Source we should have gotten. Great graphics for a 10 year old engine, fantastic gameplay, great story. And just near perfect all round in my opinion, I hope Valve hires these people to make Half Life 3, that is how good they did in my opinion.
  52. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    An almost perfect remake of an almost perfect game. It was great to play the good old Half Life again with some sweet new HD graphics and some awesome new music. I'd recommend this game not only to the ones that played the old Half Life, but also to other gamers that enjoy a good story and some awesome first-person shooter action.
  53. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    I have to say right out that this is the best mod ever created. Really smooth gameplay with the Source engine, level design is really complex, enemies in the game are worth the challenge, great AI with humans, HECU soldiers and aliens. Again, there's lots of freedom you can have in the maps, even though some of them may be linear, it leaves a great space of open field, so we won't careI have to say right out that this is the best mod ever created. Really smooth gameplay with the Source engine, level design is really complex, enemies in the game are worth the challenge, great AI with humans, HECU soldiers and aliens. Again, there's lots of freedom you can have in the maps, even though some of them may be linear, it leaves a great space of open field, so we won't care about linearity at all. Amazing re-recorded monologues and dialogues and even the new ones. Everything else is also very awesome. The graphics at high and very high levels are stunningly beautiful in everything. At that preset when I turned around after fleeing from the Tentacles when I watched them, the framerate dropped down to 40 on my GTX660Ti. The soundtrack is also really good and it's a mix of atmospheric and action tracks. As i played it in almost 5-6 days and completed the game I feel satisfied and amazed about the game. It's free, it's a mod, you do need Source SDK Base 2007 to run it, but by all words, this is an immersion. Expand
  54. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    I have the same problem with Black Mesa that I did with the original Half-Life. The first few chapters are an amazing horror experience where you make your way through a destroyed facility, just trying to get out alive, and if you play it on Hard, it's a challenging and rewarding experience. However, once the soldiers enter the mix, all the atmosphere disappears (it does come back later)I have the same problem with Black Mesa that I did with the original Half-Life. The first few chapters are an amazing horror experience where you make your way through a destroyed facility, just trying to get out alive, and if you play it on Hard, it's a challenging and rewarding experience. However, once the soldiers enter the mix, all the atmosphere disappears (it does come back later) and the game becomes a fairly boring shooter with frustratingly precise enemies. I'm not a shooter fan so the whole "shoot some guys, take some damage, find some health, repeat" thing wasn't all that interesting. Still, it's free, it's a classic, and you really owe it to yourself to check it out. Expand
  55. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    Surprisingly this project did not turn into Vaporware. This is by far the best remake of a game I've ever played, down to the very last detail of that lonely vulnerable feel you got when you first fired up Half Life years ago. I loved every minute of this FREE game that puts this year's triple A titles to shame.
  56. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Really fun playing an old classic. It is nice to have something half-life related since HL3 or HL2 ep3 is no ware to be seen. Good job at an amazing remake.
  57. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    I have so many nice memories about the good old Half-Life time. Its so many yeats ago, that i have played Half Life and i love this mod with improved Graphics. Black Mesa makes fun and is for free! What else should i say?
  58. Dec 13, 2012
    5
    What to say, its simply a free verion of half life source with changed name. Outdated graphics, and the story is the same as hl1. The reason i gave it a 5 was that the game was actually fun.
  59. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    This is one of the only games that I have ever been truly excited for. This game is a truly fantastic revamp of a truly fantastic game. With just about everything redesigned from its original counterpart, it looks great and also feels great. This game also exhibits amazing things that can be done in the Source Engine. Gameplay is fun, but there really isn't much of a storyline. Oh well.This is one of the only games that I have ever been truly excited for. This game is a truly fantastic revamp of a truly fantastic game. With just about everything redesigned from its original counterpart, it looks great and also feels great. This game also exhibits amazing things that can be done in the Source Engine. Gameplay is fun, but there really isn't much of a storyline. Oh well. Good job, Black Mesa developers! Expand
  60. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    I am going to write my review in Spanish because I do not want to write anything wrong for the review of this game.

    Cuando jugué esta mod por primera vez, realmente me pregunté ¿Es esto una mod?, Porque resulta que lo es. Ademas lo bastante bien hecha como para superar al original Half Life o el Propio juego modificado, Half Life 2. Es sencillamente una obra maestra que no debería
    I am going to write my review in Spanish because I do not want to write anything wrong for the review of this game.

    Cuando jugué esta mod por primera vez, realmente me pregunté ¿Es esto una mod?, Porque resulta que lo es. Ademas lo bastante bien hecha como para superar al original Half Life o el Propio juego modificado, Half Life 2. Es sencillamente una obra maestra que no debería recibir criticas tan bajas por parte de las webs de criticos. Se nota cuando algo esta hecho por una empresa sin ánimo de lucro y de un juego gratuito.
    Expand
  61. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    i loved this game to the max just as good as the original the only problem is well it ends where BLACK MESA ends no XEN but still an incredible experience i would totally have paid for this
  62. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    just play it- you'll love it. And it is free, so yay! I played the original HL1 back in the days and revisiting it with Black Mesa was a great experience.
  63. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Anyone who just 'doesn't get it' is from the new generation of gamers and wasn't there in the beginning (1998) when Half Life changed the industry. This MOD is a gem a love letter to the Half Life series and it's free!! CrazyGoat's review is spot-on that the amount of dedication by the MOD's creators is unsurpassed.
  64. Dec 20, 2014
    10
    This is why I love PCs: normal people rewriting a classic game to a new engine, so that we players can have fun again with one of the best shooters of all time. Black Mesa is as great as Half Life was: very interesting story that has a lot to tell and changes while you re playing. A diversified gameplay, so that you dont just have to shoot. A great atmosphere and good immersion: It is aThis is why I love PCs: normal people rewriting a classic game to a new engine, so that we players can have fun again with one of the best shooters of all time. Black Mesa is as great as Half Life was: very interesting story that has a lot to tell and changes while you re playing. A diversified gameplay, so that you dont just have to shoot. A great atmosphere and good immersion: It is a lot of fun just to hear, what NPCs are talking about. There is only 1 problem in Big Mesa: even after 3 years there are still some missions from Half Life missing :( 10/10 Expand
  65. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Eleven years ago, when I had a personal computer, Half-Life was the first first-person shooter in which I fully played. Then I do not know how to play the game of this genre. The game seemed to me difficult, could not even aim properly, let down coordination. But the game was so interesting that it took probably twenty times. Now remember with a smile. For its time, Half-Life was anEleven years ago, when I had a personal computer, Half-Life was the first first-person shooter in which I fully played. Then I do not know how to play the game of this genre. The game seemed to me difficult, could not even aim properly, let down coordination. But the game was so interesting that it took probably twenty times. Now remember with a smile. For its time, Half-Life was an important milestone in the development FPS, innovative gameplay, interactive environment, an unusual story etc. Without Half-Life would not have games like F.E.A.R, Crysis etc. And now, after eleven years is a remake Black Mesa. How's great to play in the good old Half-Life in a new way with nice graphics, advanced physics... one word... nostalgia. Expand
  66. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simply amazing... One of the best mods out there. It is definitely mod of the year. It has some new puzzles that weren't in half life 1 and because of some limitations i think they removed some stuff but as a result they also added a lot of new puzzles. But its not perfect the platforming is not good at all but its not impossible, platforming in FPS games is a bad idea but they couldn't just remove that because of half life 1 had a lot of platforming sections. Its not perfect but for a free mod its good and i would even say its harder then the original half life 1 the AI is also good. The Black Mesa team did a great job and i cant wait to see the Xen levels. Like i said its not perfect but for a free mod its great. Expand
  67. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Black Mesa is a great, very polished and totally free remake of the classic Half Life. What ask for more? If you loved the original, you MUST play this game. VIRTUALINN.IT
  68. Mar 5, 2014
    1
    Sorry, but this game has bugs that makes this game unplayable. Somehow in the middle of the game all of my weapons disappeared except crowbar and my pistol. After dying everything was gone. If you figure to get a weapon however; while shooting the game will close itself.
  69. May 22, 2014
    10
    El nuevo sistema de manchas en las armas y el motor source hicieron un buen trabajo. Nos dieron un mejor punto de vista al accidente de black mesa. AQUÍ VIENEN LAS DESVENTAJAS, los BUGS... Pero aun así le daría un 9.8
  70. May 23, 2014
    10
    I can remember buying the original and my jaw hitting the floor at such a revolutionary game back in 1999. My jaw similarly hit the floor 14 years later with Black Mesa, the attention to detail in some of the areas is fantastic!

    I was an avid modder when the original Half-life 1 SDK was released and the same with Half-life 2, some of the corridors that take seconds to walk down would
    I can remember buying the original and my jaw hitting the floor at such a revolutionary game back in 1999. My jaw similarly hit the floor 14 years later with Black Mesa, the attention to detail in some of the areas is fantastic!

    I was an avid modder when the original Half-life 1 SDK was released and the same with Half-life 2, some of the corridors that take seconds to walk down would have taken months to create.

    Don't play this expecting anything groundbreaking, just sit back and enjoy the ride and appreciate it for what it is -;

    A faithful recreation of a masterpiece!
    Expand
  71. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    I very polished and refined experience. This remake of Half-life is superb in every way. Despite not having xen, Black Mesa has familiar maps and weapons from the original Half-life but if a few tweaks to balance out the gameplay.
  72. Dec 6, 2014
    9
    A free mod worth more than many triple-A games. Half Life is my favorite game of all times, and Black Mesa puts on a superb job recreating the atmosphere. The Source engine is really showing its age, but the level design, the pacing and the fast gunplay, trademarks of the Half Life series, are all here. A modern take on a classic that does not disappoint. Actually, if you never played theA free mod worth more than many triple-A games. Half Life is my favorite game of all times, and Black Mesa puts on a superb job recreating the atmosphere. The Source engine is really showing its age, but the level design, the pacing and the fast gunplay, trademarks of the Half Life series, are all here. A modern take on a classic that does not disappoint. Actually, if you never played the original, go ahead and play Black Mesa. It is THAT good. The bugs and the enemy AI can be frustrating, but it is a superb experience. And Valve is involved with the project now, and they are planning a retail release, with everything fixed, better visuals and an input from Valve. Can't wait for it to come out! Expand
  73. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Absolutely fantastic remake of an incredible game. I recommend downloading it from Desura instead of other websites. Controls are spot on, visuals are great, and the sound is better than ever. It's free, get it now!
  74. Oct 2, 2012
    0
    Wow. The amount of memories that come flooding back to me was incredible. This project puts a lot of professional projects to shame. From a technical perspective the voice acting is a bit strange but the atmosphere that's obviously been a labor of love for the devs - smashes any negativity. Surprising, tense and thrilling are some of the feelings you will get if you play this for theWow. The amount of memories that come flooding back to me was incredible. This project puts a lot of professional projects to shame. From a technical perspective the voice acting is a bit strange but the atmosphere that's obviously been a labor of love for the devs - smashes any negativity. Surprising, tense and thrilling are some of the feelings you will get if you play this for the first time. A sincere feeling of nostalgia is what you will get if you played the original like me. For free this is 100% worth your time. Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    90
    We should applaud an excellent work made for free by fans of the original game.
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    85
    A free game that lets you relive Half-Life without having to stomach outdated visuals. Essential to every gamer. [12/2012, p.69]
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    93
    A superlative remake of one of the most important games ever made. [Dec 2012, p.89]