Black & White PC

Black & White Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Peter Molyneux's highly anticipated "god game," a blend of the genres including strategy, sim, RPG, and puzzle, features the player as a new god in the lands of Eden who must reign with the help of uniquely evolving animals in either a benign or evil fashion.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. It's the sort of game that comes around once every few years and totally changes the gaming landscape.
  2. Daily Radar
    100
    One of the most compelling, beautiful and impressive pieces of code we have played in a long, long time. It is also insanely addictive.
  3. 97
    A truly miraculous "game." I call it a "game" because it's more of an experience.
  4. An incredible game that features great AI, music, graphics and story.
  5. I strangely feel a very strong maternal instinct towards my monkey (don't tell my children). I find myself telling him out loud what a good boy he is while rubbing his belly or explaining why I have to spank him.
  6. After about 15-25 hours (Depending on the gamer) the game just seems to lose it’s fun factor. Sadly, many games released nowadays don’t even have 15 hours gameplay in them, let alone 15 hours of damn fun gameplay; Black and White does indeed have this.
  7. Once I made it past that initial stage of astonishment, I made an unfortunate discovery: the single-player game, as designed, just isn't much fun in the long term.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. NicholasS.
    Feb 23, 2002
    10
    Totally awesome.
  2. JacobW.
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    This game rocks. The things this game lets you do is just unbelievable. I trust my little people about as far as I can throw them, and thats This game rocks. The things this game lets you do is just unbelievable. I trust my little people about as far as I can throw them, and thats pretty far. Autosave kicks in to many times. But thats ok. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2015
    9
    It's a highly innovative God-style management game where you help a small tribe to build and expand a village. The more villagers pray to you,It's a highly innovative God-style management game where you help a small tribe to build and expand a village. The more villagers pray to you, the greater your circle of influence on the map becomes. Your goal is to capture the whole map and defeat rival gods. You also control a creature which you teach with rewards and punishments. Astonishingly, the creature's AI is designed with so much plasticity that, with some patience, you can teach it to do very complex things like creating forests, fetching stuff and generally helping villagers a lot and taking most of micromanagement away from you. Villagers tend to become lazy if you just give them food and wood, so it's better to create forests and rains instead, letting the villagers produce food and wood themselves. With some training, your creature would even do all the forests/rain spells.

    You can also choose to be an evil god, torture villages and let your creature eat them. The creature can fight with creatures of rival gods. There are quests scattered over the world, with the most famous one being where you bring grain and a pig to sailors (I still remember their song: "We're not complaining but there is one more thing remaining: We're not going nowhere 'ntil we get some meat.. ").

    The graphics are great for the time and still look good, and you can fully zoom out to see the whole map on the screen. You have 2 advisers (one good and one evil) who are funny and have a lot of character, especially the evil one. The game has an innovative system of casting spells (by drawing signs on the screen) which unfortunately doesn't work well - but you can also just use hotkeys for spells as well.

    The only real downside (and that's why 9/10 and not 10/10) is that the game somehow lacks purpose. The campaign offers a handful of words to conquer and after that you don't know what to do else. Even being evil for a while gets boring fast. This game came years before Minecraft, which made this style of game ("do whatever you want") more common and accepted.
    Expand
  4. AlexE.
    Oct 14, 2001
    8
    Best game ever but extremely demanding requirements.
  5. Aug 6, 2014
    7
    I always loved those I am GOD games, and especially this one had so much potential and so many excellent ideas, that it was almost more funI always loved those I am GOD games, and especially this one had so much potential and so many excellent ideas, that it was almost more fun thinking about it and about all that potential than actually playing it. I loved the concept, but I also remember that it never kept me entertained for more than a few first levels, but it's definitely one of those titles that deserves to be remembered for what it is and for what it tried to do.7/10 Expand
  6. JonK.
    Oct 18, 2003
    6
    How did this score so highly? No, no, no!! I await Black & White 2 eagerly, but sadly the original was fatally flawed. It takes what is How did this score so highly? No, no, no!! I await Black & White 2 eagerly, but sadly the original was fatally flawed. It takes what is essentially a sandbox environment where you look after your creature and your worshippers, and restricts it with a rigid structure that's repetitive, dull, frustrating and badly paced. Plus, it's near impossible to play again because of the very lengthy tutorial you're forced to sit through... Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    Every so often a game comes along that makes you stare in disbelief. This is that game for me. Maybe I'm to old but I know **** when I seeEvery so often a game comes along that makes you stare in disbelief. This is that game for me. Maybe I'm to old but I know **** when I see it. This game reminds me of the Segway. It was supposed to revolutionize gameplay. It had the best minds behind it. Yeah, right. It's nothing but hype. The product simply fails to deliver in any category. The people who like this game are the same people who are proud to wear DKNY. How they ever got into the gaming world is beyond me. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games

    Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games Image
    Published: July 26, 2010
    How good must the new "StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty" be to crack our list of the best PC strategy games of all time? Here's how our top ten list currently stands.