Blackguards Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 245 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: What happens when the only hope of a threatened world lies not with heroes in shining armor but in the hands of a band of misfits and criminals? Blackguards - the new turn-based RPG by Daedalic Entertainment - explores this very question. The player takes on the role of a convicted murderer,What happens when the only hope of a threatened world lies not with heroes in shining armor but in the hands of a band of misfits and criminals? Blackguards - the new turn-based RPG by Daedalic Entertainment - explores this very question. The player takes on the role of a convicted murderer, who with the help of a team of more-than-questionable characters, must save the world from a dark menace. During the wild chase throughout the South of Aventuria, the world of The Dark Eye, there is more to fight than vicious creatures - chapter by chapter, a story full of intrigue and surprising twists unfolds. But when life and death are in the player's hands, how far will they go to reach their goals? Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Blackguards - This is your feedback Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    87
    If you are a seasoned turn-based strategy gamer, you can really sink your teeth into this one and get a run for your money. If you are not, you will still get both that run for your money and a crash course in applied survivor tactics.
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    If you can get past traveling the world map on rails, every location and quest chosen in order for you, the combat is rich enough to make Blackguards worthwhile, and I think comfortably places it near the upper end of that range.
  3. Jan 26, 2014
    77
    Blackguards isn't a bad game. Far from it: actually, it's pretty good. But there is plenty of unused potential here, both in story and in gameplay.
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    Blackguards is an entertaining game and traditional role players will love many of its mechanics. The game could have been used to restore part of the essence of the great RPGs that were released during the early years of the last decade, but would require a story influenced by the decisions of the player and a good artificial intelligence. It would have been an excellent tool for Game Masters who want to display combats for his roleplaying group. As a videogame some things are left on the shelf.
  5. CD-Action
    Mar 5, 2014
    65
    A game that could have been released 5 years ago and even then wouldn’t be anything special. [03/2014, p.66]
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    60
    With Blackguards, German Daedalic offers an adventure in the vein of a dice RPG. Unfortunately also some irritating moments follows from that kind of games, and when pure chance can decide a difficult battle it all feels quite frustrating. But Blackguards is an entertaining game with well-made elements, and definitely deserves a chance to prove itself.
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    40
    Under the auspices of creating a “hardcore RPG experience,” Daedalic has instead created a rage inducing time waster.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 77
  2. Negative: 20 out of 77
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    I've been playing the game from it's early access beginning, and I have logged more hours in it than I care to say. The graphics are wellI've been playing the game from it's early access beginning, and I have logged more hours in it than I care to say. The graphics are well done, the voice acting is excellent, and assuming you like turn based combat you will be in heaven. There is a demo for those who need to try it first. I haven't had this much fun playing a game in quite a while. Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    It is one of this games, where it might take a while to get into it, but then you get hooked up!
    Watched the hubby play it and liked the
    It is one of this games, where it might take a while to get into it, but then you get hooked up!
    Watched the hubby play it and liked the mood. Thought, okay, as him I love roleplaying games especially with the Dark Eye's rules and it does not look too difficult to beat the strategic tasks.
    Actually, it was kind of difficult. I have to admit that I am someone who is more frustrated by crashes and so on (and this game definitely runs smooth and stable) than by having to try tricky situations again and again. I like the chalanges coming from things like that. Okay, the to-hit-chance IS frustrating, but on the other side after a while you get used to it.
    I totally love the graphics style, the story and the good kind of humor.
    This game might not be the first choice for someone who wants to hurry through the tasks and such, but for someone living an adventure it's perfect!
    Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Truly amazing piece of TBS. Nothing like I ever seen before and therefore took me some time to get used to it but once I do... I pumped inTruly amazing piece of TBS. Nothing like I ever seen before and therefore took me some time to get used to it but once I do... I pumped in more than 100 hours. This game shines in the way it allows you to use the environment to defeat the enemies in ways you have never seen in other TBS games. It is very battle focused, essentially tons of battles strung together on a fairly weak story with no exploration (which was initially a bad thing but like all RPGs, exploration becomes a chore when you just wish to go from shop to shop quickly... this game just do that right from the start with no time wasting animation). The only real flaw is its lack of equipment for the magic using class or magic users in general leading to gross dissatisfaction being magic users. The game is also too melee oriented with magic using a clear cut second class. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2018
    7
    Blackguards is not that bad of a game as some reviews might suggest, but it is is clearly much worse than most of the modern RPGs withBlackguards is not that bad of a game as some reviews might suggest, but it is is clearly much worse than most of the modern RPGs with turn-based combat. I'd still recommend it for fans of the genre. Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    6
    I cannot in good faith reccomend (LOAD SCREEN) this game at this time. Quite honestly, there are WAY too much bugs and issues (LOADI cannot in good faith reccomend (LOAD SCREEN) this game at this time. Quite honestly, there are WAY too much bugs and issues (LOAD SCREEN)with the game that really prevent a full enjoyment of the title. The character (LOAD SCREEN)creation is very rich, but provides NO explanation (LOAD SCREEN)as to what certain abilities mean or even how (LOAD SCREEN)they affect your character in any way shape or form. It's honestly in desperate (LOAD SCREEN)need of a complete overhaul, and should not have been launched in it's (LOAD SCREEN)current state.

    In case you can't figure out the other serious problem with this game.. lemme clue you in.. you will see the Load Screen so often and so long any real enjoyment of the story or plot gets completely lost in the dreary times you sit and stare at the same 3 screens and 5 tooltips over.. and over.. and over.. and over .. and over again. In the first chapter I counted 17 LOADING PLEASE WAIT... about 15-25 seconds each. Do the math yourselves.
    Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2015
    5
    I enjoyed the hex-based tactical gameplay in the King's Bounty games and bought Blackguards in a Steam sale as I enjoy CRPGs and thought thisI enjoyed the hex-based tactical gameplay in the King's Bounty games and bought Blackguards in a Steam sale as I enjoy CRPGs and thought this would be more of the same. It uses the Dark Eye RPG rules in the game, the same as some previous CRPGs like Drakensang and the Arkania series. I've spent around 20 or 30 hours playing the game so far, and this review is based on my impressions while playing the first quarter or so of the game.

    Pros:
    - Storyline seems quite interesting. After a rather short, strange, surreal intro, you find yourself trying to escape from prison. At that point, you have no idea what is actually going on in the game, but later flashback sequences start to fill in the blanks for you, and this keeps you going (despite the game's other shortcomings) as you strive to find out more about the game's background story.
    - Some decent voice acting and funny moments in the game's dialogue. Love the dwarf Naurim!

    Cons:
    - The game mechanics. This game uses the ridiculously complicated Dark Eye RPG rules, which I'm not going to go into here. Suffice to say that most actions in the game involve a check against the relevant attributes of the character performing the action to determine whether it succeeds or not. Spells, for example, are not cast automatically, but are subject to this check. This system seems unfairly biased towards your enemies, who seem to land melee hits and cast spells in combat successfully way more often than what your characters do. Enemies also seem to land critical hits more often too. A lot of the fights are set up to be played a certain way and the game punishes you if you don't toe the line. It punishes you anyway as the random number rolls are almost never in your favour though.
    - Lack of clarity. For example, nowhere does it seem to show you what the chances are of some of your talents (like treating wounds or setting traps) succeeding or not. If you use poison on your equipped weapon before a battle, it doesn't show anywhere that your weapon has actually been poisoned. if you have a high strength score, it doesn't indicate what difference this makes to your weapon damage.
    - Clunky and tedious gameplay. You can't use a healing potion, mana potion, trap, or poison in battle unless these have been added to your belt, which, depending on the belt's quality, can only hold 1 to 4 of these items. You can't use anything that still happens to be in your backpack during a battle, so if you forgot to change the contents of your belt slots, tough luck. You have 3 different weapon sets you can change between during a battle, but it takes a whole action to change your weapon set, and if you want to switch to a weapon currently in your backpack instead, too bad.
    - The sheer stinginess of the game. It may improve later on, but most of the early part of the game, you find yourself using whatever you salvaged from the prison you escaped from as most other gear is way too expensive. Merchants only sell a handful of different (and expensive) items so it can be difficult to equip your characters with decent gear. Combats reward you usually with a small amount (25 or 50) adventure points which you use to improve your characters' skills and attributes. You get a piss-poor amount of treasure from a typical combat. For example, early in the game, you go off scavenging on some old battlefield for armour and weapons, and promptly get attacked by 4 or 5 bandits in leather armour, 2 of which are using bows. At the end of the fight, you get a bastard sword and a couple of other small items. Yippee. What happened to all the gear the bandits were carrying?
    - Exploration sucks. Your main map is an overland map which you use to travel to various towns and villages there. Each town has a single screen which shows the various people (blacksmith, healer, merchant, trainer, quest giver etc) which you can click on to access. That's it. Dungeons consist of a simple line map with a number of different locations which you can click on to go to instantly, and this takes you straight to a battle map where you slog through another (usually tedious) battle.

    In concluding, I'm giving this game 5/10 as it has its good moments, but is let down mainly by the utterly frustrating combat mechanics, overall difficulty level, lack of equipment, and general lack of any fun factor. Unless you're a hardcore Dark Eye RPG fan who doesn't mind constantly reloading saved games to get through some of the combats, I'd advise looking elsewhere for a decent CRPG in this price range.
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2014
    0
    .... im so sad... i realy wanted another great turn based game like xcom or something there are so less of ths kind of games and i dont play.... im so sad... i realy wanted another great turn based game like xcom or something there are so less of ths kind of games and i dont play other genres , but i get the demo of this and the game feels so poor the ui so bad the german voice acting sucks******* . this "professional" speakers are not worth to get paid. The game is okay on english and thats the only good thing about it.

    come make a good tactical turn based rpg with large ui on 1920 1080 and im happy but not this ****
    Expand

See all 77 User Reviews