Blade Kitten PC

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2017
    0
    Any normal person would vomit while playing this... but we ain't no normies boyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
  2. Apr 10, 2016
    7
    It's like Metroid but with anime characters.

    You can expect a solid level design, a lot of hidden areas and secrets to explore, theres always another way to go on the map, constantly. Decent combat with lots of moves, I just wish the animations were more smooth and had more "punch", that can be acomplished with more intense impact sounds and a little screen shake. Traditional
    It's like Metroid but with anime characters.

    You can expect a solid level design, a lot of hidden areas and secrets to explore, theres always another way to go on the map, constantly.

    Decent combat with lots of moves, I just wish the animations were more smooth and had more "punch", that can be acomplished with more intense impact sounds and a little screen shake.

    Traditional anime art (mostly western) with charismatic npcs, and a pretty lovable protagonist, who doesn't like a pretty humorous girl dressed as a cat?

    Voice acting is nice too, from a male standpoint, their voices trigger something, they are pretty charming. :)

    Definitely a unique game, theres so much garbage around, this game is actually something creative and worth of your time.
    Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Blade Kitten - шедевр стоимостью всего 5 долларов. Игра представляет собой отменную платформенную бродилку в аниме стиле. Отличная графика и музыка сочетаются с акробатическими трюками, которые делают игру увлекательнее и добавляют экшен.

    В арсенале героини не только ее коготки, но и огромного вида меч, которым она мастерски нашинковывает неприятелей. Играть лучше с геймпада, но и с
    Blade Kitten - шедевр стоимостью всего 5 долларов. Игра представляет собой отменную платформенную бродилку в аниме стиле. Отличная графика и музыка сочетаются с акробатическими трюками, которые делают игру увлекательнее и добавляют экшен.

    В арсенале героини не только ее коготки, но и огромного вида меч, которым она мастерски нашинковывает неприятелей. Играть лучше с геймпада, но и с помощью клавиатуры тоже все работает отлично. Уровни интересно исследовать, по ним разбросано множество секретов, чтобы добраться до большинства требуется проявить смекалку и умение хорошо управлять героиней.

    Русского в игре нет, но есть средненький русификатор. Также в игру добавили карточки и достижения Стим, которые на данный момент способны окупить своей стоимостью половину стоимости игры! Так что всем тем, кто любит умные платформеры, БРАТЬ ОДНОЗНАЧНО!
    Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    I for one am surprised by the bad reviews from the "professional" game reviewers. It looks like they're rating this game based on something it never set out to be. To me, a bad game is a game that fails at what it sets out to do, and Blade Kitten does exactly what it sets out to do.

    It's a fun casual hack and slash platformer with an adorable protagonist and cutesy characters in cell
    I for one am surprised by the bad reviews from the "professional" game reviewers. It looks like they're rating this game based on something it never set out to be. To me, a bad game is a game that fails at what it sets out to do, and Blade Kitten does exactly what it sets out to do.

    It's a fun casual hack and slash platformer with an adorable protagonist and cutesy characters in cell shaded levels.

    If this game looks fun to you just disregard the so called "professional" reviews. We all know most of them hand out good scores to anyone who pays them and can barely be bothered to even look at games made by anyone who doesn't, much less treat them fairly. The game is dirt cheap and there are a lot worse games you could spend $9 on.
    Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    A bad game? NOTE EVEN CLOSE. I for one absolutely loved this game, and for one major reason. No, it wasn't just because of Skiffy, It was because of the sheer weirdness that this game possessed, and it was this weird factor that kept me enjoying and laughing through the whole game, I don't even care if it was a little poorly made, I loved the story and everything else about this game,A bad game? NOTE EVEN CLOSE. I for one absolutely loved this game, and for one major reason. No, it wasn't just because of Skiffy, It was because of the sheer weirdness that this game possessed, and it was this weird factor that kept me enjoying and laughing through the whole game, I don't even care if it was a little poorly made, I loved the story and everything else about this game, there is no way that this is a waste of any body's time. I Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    5
    Mediocre in every possible way, not much else to say. If you are an underage female you may add +1 to the score, another +1 if you are a fan of catgirls, and another +1 if you never played a good platformer.
  7. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    I've played a lot worse, like Super Mario Brother Wii. The game style is cell shaded so it looks decent. Better than most modern games anyway, at least you can see where you're going and not get confused with all the brown.

    You buy your weapon upgrades and can earn money really fast if you just repeat a level over and over thus ridding the game of any challenge it might have originally
    I've played a lot worse, like Super Mario Brother Wii. The game style is cell shaded so it looks decent. Better than most modern games anyway, at least you can see where you're going and not get confused with all the brown.

    You buy your weapon upgrades and can earn money really fast if you just repeat a level over and over thus ridding the game of any challenge it might have originally had, The costumes are good and the main character is likable if you like **** and trust me when I say this, she is one of the most likable main characters I've seen... though I suppose that reflects badly on me.

    It's not perfect, the combat gets stale rather fast, I dislike having to start a level from the beginning to find everything but I suppose that is part of the challenge. The fact there are no lives also makes this game too easy, you die and go back to the last checkpoint and there are tonnes of them.

    If you're looking for a cheap-ish platformer with nice design, then buy this game. It's a lot cheaper than Mario 3 re-release for the Wii and looks about 20x better as well. For £7 you can't go wrong if you like platforming and as far as platforming goes, this is pretty much retro... ignoring the sword fights. If you remember The Lion King for SNES and liked the ostrich part... you're in luck my friends.
    Collapse
  8. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    Cute is definitely the term to use in describing this title. There are several good things, a few bad things.

    First and foremost, is it fun? I would think so. The combat system is pretty basic in that essentially you are spam slashing your blade with not much sense of combos (though you could manually chain a few attacks for sexy results). The real fun occurs when you sprint forward and
    Cute is definitely the term to use in describing this title. There are several good things, a few bad things.

    First and foremost, is it fun? I would think so. The combat system is pretty basic in that essentially you are spam slashing your blade with not much sense of combos (though you could manually chain a few attacks for sexy results). The real fun occurs when you sprint forward and spam your attack button. I personally found that to be fun.

    The voice acting is good. The banter is a bit cheesy but that adds to it's casual charm. This game is definitely not for gamers who take things too seriously. It's not a deep dark story of grand epic proportions but rather a jolt of light and vibrant color that is unique to this genre I feel.

    Maps are massive and you can't really get lost. As long as you go forward, while there are MANY ways to reach the end point, they all pretty much point towards it. It can arguably be called linear or on rails due to this however you have to consider the fact that if it weren't, you would very easily get lost in these monstrously large levels and spend HOURS backtracking.

    That's not fun.
    Expand
  9. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Very fun platformer, with a lot of charm. If you like old-school 2D games like Strider, you can't beat it for $10. Kit is very agile and fun to control. The combat is pretty simple, but no more so than most games in this genre. The mixed reviews I see it getting don't make any sense to me. It's a $10 indie game with 2D platformer gameplay, and they are criticizing it for not living up toVery fun platformer, with a lot of charm. If you like old-school 2D games like Strider, you can't beat it for $10. Kit is very agile and fun to control. The combat is pretty simple, but no more so than most games in this genre. The mixed reviews I see it getting don't make any sense to me. It's a $10 indie game with 2D platformer gameplay, and they are criticizing it for not living up to the expectations they would have for a $60 AAA title. Ridiculous. It's a great little 2D platformer, if you enjoy old-school gameplay you'll really enjoy this game. Don't let the negative reviews turn you off, at least try the demo on Steam. One side note- it has native 360 controller support, and I'd suggest using one. The controls are meant to be analog, using a D-pad or keyboard may feel floaty because of this. I love kb/mouse, but some games are meant to be played with a controller, and analog control is something a keyboard cannot give you. Expand
  10. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    action is OOOOOOO. Graphic is OOOOO. Gameplay is OOO. level design is XXXXXX. Character design is cute and casual. overall : this game is good. but not greatest. in my opinion.
  11. Oct 10, 2010
    1
    I thought this would be OK till I played it. Terrible design, predictable levels and boring game play.
    The graphics style is uninspired and the dead end level design is annoying.
    My advice is to avoid it and spend your money on something good.
  12. Oct 1, 2010
    9
    Blade Kitten is a great game for kids. My 9 year old daughter loves it. She says its cool. The protagonist has numerous outfits and weapons that are purchased with the currency accumulated during game play. She also has a small pet (like a dog) and gets to ride a small dinosaur (like a horse). Both of these creatures help her to complete the quest. This is an action platform game that isBlade Kitten is a great game for kids. My 9 year old daughter loves it. She says its cool. The protagonist has numerous outfits and weapons that are purchased with the currency accumulated during game play. She also has a small pet (like a dog) and gets to ride a small dinosaur (like a horse). Both of these creatures help her to complete the quest. This is an action platform game that is devoid of blood, gore, and intense violence. The story, voice acting, graphics, and animation remind me of a cartoon series that my children watch called "Storm Hawks". If you have children that like to watch that show, then I think they will like this game. Blade Kitten is well priced and provides my kids with many hours of fun. It is definitely better value than some toys that cost much more only to get quickly discarded. Expand
  13. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    This is a cute game, if you like anime and or side scrolling games. she has I believe 12 Outfits to change into and several different swords you can eventually buy with game progression. The voice acting is especially nice.

    I feel my 14.99 was NOT wasted.

    It is cute.
  14. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    I've played a lot worse, like Super Mario Brother Wii. The game style is cell shaded so it looks decent. Better than most modern games anyway, at least you can see where you're going and not get confused with all the brown.

    You buy your weapon upgrades and can earn money really fast if you just repeat a level over and over thus ridding the game of any challenge it might have originally
    I've played a lot worse, like Super Mario Brother Wii. The game style is cell shaded so it looks decent. Better than most modern games anyway, at least you can see where you're going and not get confused with all the brown.

    You buy your weapon upgrades and can earn money really fast if you just repeat a level over and over thus ridding the game of any challenge it might have originally had, The costumes are good and the main character is likable if you like **** and trust me when I say this, she is one of the most likable main characters I've seen... though I suppose that reflects badly on me.

    It's not perfect, the combat gets stale rather fast, I dislike having to start a level from the beginning to find everything but I suppose that is part of the challenge. The fact there are no lives also makes this game too easy, you die and go back to the last checkpoint and there are tonnes of them.

    If you're looking for a cheap-ish platformer with nice design, then buy this game. It's a lot cheaper than Mario 3 re-release for the Wii and looks about 20x better as well. For £7 you can't go wrong if you like platforming and as far as platforming goes, this is pretty much retro... ignoring the sword fights. If you remember The Lion King for SNES and liked the ostrich part... you're in luck my friends.
    Collapse
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 13, 2011
    50
    Promising title slips into boredom and repeatability very soon and game-design flaws kill almost all the fun. Sweet title heroine and nice cut-scenes can't hide bad battle modes and camera problems. [Issue#197]
  2. 40
    Kit tries hard to win your heart, but sadly the repetition, disappointing controls and level design stop her from being able to.
  3. The tale is muddled and poorly executed, the action is unremarkable, and yet, for all its issues, Blade Kitten is still a playable game with enough sugary-sweet style to appeal to a younger audience – or indeed those with an interest in all things cat-girl.