Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. As we weaved through wave after wave of enemies, downing them wholesale, we couldn't help but wish there had been a replay feature included with the game. Still, for the raw, explosive fury of aerial battle, you can accept no substitute for Blazing Angels.
  2. BA is best played online, but the single player mode can be fun for awhile; it may not capture everyones attention span for the entire 20 missions.
  3. It’s like the strafe along the fuselage that still allows the pilot to limp home. I think the finger must point at the content rather than the execution.
  4. Photogenic arcade action lacking in any real long-term appeal. Wafer thin. [May 2006, p.94]
  5. The WW2 arcade flying is unimaginative and thoroughly average. [Aug 2007]
  6. Blazing Angels has a decent campaign and a fair amount of online options, but its standard gameplay and a lack of online competition prevent it from being very exciting.
  7. 68
    Flying through the historical battles are fun the first time, but after you complete the game you'll feel more of a sense of relief than elation because, without any real story, the game lacks emotional appeal.
  8. Try though it might, Blazing Angels is no Crimson Skies. [July 2006, p.97]
  9. The repetitive nature of the majority of missions soon takes its toll, and the primary motivation for progressing soon becomes the desire to see how nice the next level looks, not the love of playing the game. [Apr 2006, p.110]
  10. Without any truly brilliant missions to balance things out, the single-player campaign never really gets off the ground. Multiplayer games are a lot more fun, but if you have no interest in taking to the skies with other people, this isn't a squadron that you want to be part of.
  11. Fun to play in the short term, especially over the course of a mission or two, there's a repetitiveness to the gameplay that fails to entice players to experience the campaign for hours on end.
  12. This game has many serious design flaws that prevent this reviewer, in good conscious, from recommending its purchase by others.
  13. The joystick obviously offers the best option for control but the preset controls for the game are quite odd and, for me at least, changing the layout was not possible.
  14. The challenges Blazing Angels throws at you are soggy squibs - all of them seen before in ten thousand, million, million previously 3D shooters. [May 2006, p.94]
  15. The only thing blazing will be the tail section of your plane and your fragile patience.
  16. Toss in s shoddy padlock system that provides dramatic views of your plane but tends to throw off your aim completely, and you end up with an arcade game that's more difficult to play than a full-blown simulation. [July 2006, p.63]
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    7
    I was looking for a good jet fighter game that: 1) would run on my slow video card. 2) didn't require an actual pilot's license to play. 3) didn't force an auto-aim or auto-fly-path. This game met those basic needs. The flying/firing system was difficult to get used to, but after some time it became more natural. You'll find yourself whipping/looping around and targeting the enemy precisely with some practice. Then, its very satisfying when you succeed, especially when its a close call or with a daring maneuver. This is an older game now, so I wasn't expecting much, yet I still had a lot of fun playing it. Full Review »
  2. maeearn
    Mar 16, 2009
    9
    A great fighter plane expeirence.Only downside are the graphics of the water and ships.To the comments left by Arno n.,I recently purchased the logitech exreme 3d pro for this game and think it works great (learn to set up your joystick correctly before commenting or maybe your just shit at using it). Full Review »
  3. ArnoN.
    Jan 9, 2008
    3
    A flying game that can't properly recognize a common joystick (Logitech Extreme 3D Pro) even after two patches? But why would I want to fly with an analog axis if I can have a digital one! A nice example for failure in controls and support, even if the rest looked ok so far. Full Review »