Boiling Point: Road to Hell PC

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Jun 6, 2005
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 74
  2. Negative: 13 out of 74
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 9, 2014
    5
    Let it be said, this game had immense potential. It could have been a revolutionary sandbox game at the time. But it failed so badly. The game has more bugs and glitches that can be counted, and every feature of it is unpolished and clumsy. AI is frustrating and annoying, sometimes you can wildly shoot at them and they won't even notice you, other times they'll have peek reflexes and killLet it be said, this game had immense potential. It could have been a revolutionary sandbox game at the time. But it failed so badly. The game has more bugs and glitches that can be counted, and every feature of it is unpolished and clumsy. AI is frustrating and annoying, sometimes you can wildly shoot at them and they won't even notice you, other times they'll have peek reflexes and kill you through walls.
    Everything else about the game is broken. The first time I died, I spawned in the hospital, then it glitched out, and I popped inside a burning car in the middle of the jungle. Imagine you want to get through some enemy guards. You can bribe one of them, and the so mentioned guard will shout "This guy's cool, let him through", and when you go where you want to, the other guards will shoot at you. Imagine you want to kill five guards. If you get a headshot 1 shot 1 kill, the other guards won't hear, and you'll get a pop-up saying "Silent Takedown"
    If there were to be a remake, fixing bugs and glitches, the game would probably be an opponent to franchises like Far Cry.
    Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    3
    Dafuq i just played!!!
    - game is broken as hell
    -stupid story about an ass*ole looking fo his kidnapped daughter.
    -stupid and repetitive characters
    -game looks like it came out 2003 because the graphics is bad.
    -voice actors suck BALLS!!!
    the only good thing about this crap maybe the intro song.
  3. Aug 24, 2013
    3
    While the game is not bad, it surely is one of the clumsiest I've ever attempted to play. It is Hell not because it depicts hell, but because it is hell to play it. Unless you are really patient, you'll get bored quite quickly going from A to B on-foot, because stealing some car is not as easy as GTA easy, and cars are rare anyways. This, and the fact that in the beginning you are reallyWhile the game is not bad, it surely is one of the clumsiest I've ever attempted to play. It is Hell not because it depicts hell, but because it is hell to play it. Unless you are really patient, you'll get bored quite quickly going from A to B on-foot, because stealing some car is not as easy as GTA easy, and cars are rare anyways. This, and the fact that in the beginning you are really overpowered in terms of guns and weapons. The pistol is almost useless against enemies, and that's on easy mode. I kept shooting, and they just wouldn't die, but I died very quick when they used their assault weapons. Not exactly fair. Apart from combat and movement, the character interaction, skills and looting are badly implemented themselves, breaking a gameplay that's supposed to be fluid to work.
    I would say that this is a game to install and play with a save downloaded on the internet, just to cruise around and avoid the unnecessary frustration of completing it yourself.
    Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    Found this for £3 in the local CEX. In its day this could be called very ambitious, even genius in some levels. Alas, it lends too much from its inspirations, such as Far Cry and GTA, and lacked the coat of polish it deserved. But for £3, I'm very satisfied.
  5. Jul 28, 2011
    5
    A great idea poorly executed, Boiling Point turned me off almost immediately with its stodgy interface, nasty character animations, bad graphics, textures and awful voice-acting.
  6. MorkB.
    Feb 27, 2007
    8
    Simply put, if Atari hadn't rushed the game, its would have received review scores in the low 80's. The tech issues are what make it crappy.
  7. SlackS.
    Jun 5, 2006
    1
    One of the most spectacularly awful games I've ever played. Tries and fails to be too many different things. It just gets everything completely wrong. Let me give you a brief list. Clumsy shooter action, horrible vehicle control, half-baked RPG elements, laughable script/voice acting, extremely primitive character interaction/AI, awful graphics performance, rough sound effects, bad One of the most spectacularly awful games I've ever played. Tries and fails to be too many different things. It just gets everything completely wrong. Let me give you a brief list. Clumsy shooter action, horrible vehicle control, half-baked RPG elements, laughable script/voice acting, extremely primitive character interaction/AI, awful graphics performance, rough sound effects, bad interface design... I could go on. This only scratches the surface of what's wrong with just the gameplay, if you could call it that. I haven't even mentioned the bugs yet. Despite not one but two patches, the game is still completely broken. I'm dumbfounded at some of the high review scores for this game. It's absolutely terrible. Avoid it at all costs. Expand
  8. BradC.
    Nov 6, 2005
    7
    A great concept, although the game is still buggy for me even after patch 2.0. I can't help but feel if they were to have used a pre-existing engine, most probably Far Cry, it would have been a more polished experience. As it is currently, I find the worst enemy to fight is the laggy engine. Hopefully the deloper is given the ability to make a sequel!
  9. SirRasor
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    I've never seen a game like this before, very entertaining and fun to play :)
  10. John
    Aug 30, 2005
    9
    With the 2.0 patch all bugs are pretty much squashed. So get that patch, buy the game and have a great time for 100 hours or so!
  11. JohnP.
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    I waited until the 2.0 patch came our before buying this game, and upgraded the game before even playing it for the first time! Therefore I have seen no bugs. Driving the car is a little awkward, but then my skill is low (I remember my first couple of Morrowind fights with rats and mudcrabs!!!) Overall though, I am loving this game! I like the digitized speech vs the text you normally get I waited until the 2.0 patch came our before buying this game, and upgraded the game before even playing it for the first time! Therefore I have seen no bugs. Driving the car is a little awkward, but then my skill is low (I remember my first couple of Morrowind fights with rats and mudcrabs!!!) Overall though, I am loving this game! I like the digitized speech vs the text you normally get in games like this. The graphics are brilliant (I don't compare, I always just look at the graphics and say "are they good enough". I think they're up to Morrowind standard which to me is still great!. My most memorable moment so far is the first time driving through the jungle at night, picking up a radio message broadcast and then driving through the middle of a Government/Mafia battle on either side of the road with one guy "rolling" out of the way of my car - just! And with tracer fire all over the place! I had to swerve around a burning car that I presume had been caught up in the firefight! The jungle is very unforgiving if you're on foot at night, with snakes and pumas that will kill you real easy at the start of the game (no Morrowind build up here!) I have got around 15 hours under my belt and have already had a dozen missions with another dozen in my notepad. I am only 2 steps closer to getting my Daughter, and I think there's probably 100 to go! About the bad drivers: With 2.0 patch they seem okay to me. Sometimes there are accidents, but that seems to happen to make the gameworld more real rather than bad AI (as in GTA III series) The theme tune is very catchy, the intro is cheesy, but so is the game - in a good way! I'll give it 9.0 with the 2.0 patch. Expand
  12. BradG.
    Aug 2, 2005
    8
    I must point out that my "out-of-the-box" copy of Boiling Point runs quite smoothly on my modest system and I suffer none of the crashes and bugs people are complaining about (not that they don't exist). The game is everything I wanted Deus Ex Invisible War to be. An open ended adventure with a huge beautiful world, a wide variety of gadgets and firearms, a deep rpg element, and I must point out that my "out-of-the-box" copy of Boiling Point runs quite smoothly on my modest system and I suffer none of the crashes and bugs people are complaining about (not that they don't exist). The game is everything I wanted Deus Ex Invisible War to be. An open ended adventure with a huge beautiful world, a wide variety of gadgets and firearms, a deep rpg element, and hours of fun. Games like this aren't very common and while it isn't quite as refined as Morrowind or GTA it is far better than Destroy all Humans or Universal Combat. And I don't care what the critics say, the vehicle handling is pretty good. Expand
  13. NAM
    Jul 10, 2005
    9
    While a more traditional shooter would just throw together a series of levels of blasting until you catch up with your errant child, Deep Shadows has essentially just made a valley and then left you to it.So what do you do to find your daughter? Well, logically enough, you can start asking people about the town and then go and ask her employee. This uncovers clues and leads, which you can While a more traditional shooter would just throw together a series of levels of blasting until you catch up with your errant child, Deep Shadows has essentially just made a valley and then left you to it.So what do you do to find your daughter? Well, logically enough, you can start asking people about the town and then go and ask her employee. This uncovers clues and leads, which you can then pursue. Someone needs a favour before they'll tell you what's going on? Well, get in a car and head off to see if you can fulfil the need. Short on cash? Try taking on jobs for one of the representatives of the game's many factions.While the actual model for both combat and stealth is relatively simple, they're functional enough. And it's not really about the combat anyway, with the majority of the game spent exploring, conversing and working out what to do next. The most satisfying missions are the ones where, by examining at the situation, you manage to work out a clever solution rather than simply doing the expected. Just because the files you have to steal are in the middle of a heavily guarded Mafia base doesn't mean you have to kill every guard there.. thats why I love those games, thats why i buy those games, thats why i enjoy those games. of course half life2 and farcry are great games too, i own them too, but this is different, more like a morrowind-shooter. Expand
  14. KarlM.
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    Atari could well have a sleeper hit on thier hands with this title. i was suprised by the quality of this title and is a sign of the increasingprogramming talent coming out of the former soviet block. I just hope STALKER can continue this trend when it is finally released. And by the way the game I played suffered little from bugs and ran very smoothly.
  15. RobA.
    Jun 8, 2005
    8
    This is very addictive despite having so many faults currently. The world IS huge but most of it looks the same! It doesn't run very smoothly on my pc, admittedly not the most powerful around but it can run HL2 and Farcry pretty smoothly on high settings, both of which look MUCH better than this game. The AI is a joke at times, sometimes the characters will say a different This is very addictive despite having so many faults currently. The world IS huge but most of it looks the same! It doesn't run very smoothly on my pc, admittedly not the most powerful around but it can run HL2 and Farcry pretty smoothly on high settings, both of which look MUCH better than this game. The AI is a joke at times, sometimes the characters will say a different person's line and the vehicle handling is terrible and the game regularly crashes. Also i've had 2 missions which won't complete despite satisfying the objective. And yet, despite all these faults this game is very addictive. It has so many good ideas it's not a surprise that some of them don't work properly! There's so much choice and replay value that if the glitches get fixed the game will keep you busy for weeks. Or at least until GTA SA comes out....come to think of it maybe that's why this was rushed out before it was finished?! Expand
  16. LawrenceD.
    Jun 8, 2005
    5
    Bugs!! This game has so much potential, but far to many bugs and glitches.
  17. AnthonyF.
    Jun 7, 2005
    6
    Do not buy this game unless you have a high-end machine - GEFORCE 6600GT MIN. I had really high expectations of this game only to install it and find the game had really high expectations of my machine. I've only got 512MB RAM but have a decently overclockable Gainward Geforce FX 5900XT 128MB graphics card. And it took overclocking this to the max, running at 800x16 and closing every Do not buy this game unless you have a high-end machine - GEFORCE 6600GT MIN. I had really high expectations of this game only to install it and find the game had really high expectations of my machine. I've only got 512MB RAM but have a decently overclockable Gainward Geforce FX 5900XT 128MB graphics card. And it took overclocking this to the max, running at 800x16 and closing every non-essential system tray app to get the game to run at all without shuddering to a halt every few steps. The game promises a lot and I thrill at the massive scope of the game but I invariably get half an hour into playing it before getting fed up with the dull graphics and jerky vehicle handling and go play Half Life 2 instead. If my mediocre machine can fling that game around how badly coded must this game be? I've considered forking out for 1GB RAM and a new graphics card just to see this game at it's best but I think I'll stick it on a shelf until my next essential upgrade when I can't play ANY of the current games. Expand
  18. MarcS.
    Jun 4, 2005
    9
    Great game but you need a top end machine to run it.
  19. DennisR.
    May 30, 2005
    9
    Just bought it...great great game!!! I just took me 1 hour & 5 reboots to adjust the graphics...MY GOD we need that patch now!!! When patched properly, this is really one of the best game ever made, the posibilites are endless...so if you enjoyed Morrowind and Far Cry... buy buy buy... PS. maybe wait for a patch to come out PPS. DON'T install the first US patch!!! There a enormous Just bought it...great great game!!! I just took me 1 hour & 5 reboots to adjust the graphics...MY GOD we need that patch now!!! When patched properly, this is really one of the best game ever made, the posibilites are endless...so if you enjoyed Morrowind and Far Cry... buy buy buy... PS. maybe wait for a patch to come out PPS. DON'T install the first US patch!!! There a enormous glitch!! U cant leave the graphics options menu.. NICE ONE I MUST SAY!!! Expand
  20. KingH.
    May 29, 2005
    9
    Fantastic game!! I've been playing it for a whole week now and I'm still discovering new possibilities! The game looks very good although you need quite a pc to put all graphical options to highest detail. It's an amazing game with a realtime day/night cycle, an option for enabling long wavy grass, realtime weather effects, tons of weapons and vehicles, great gameplay, Fantastic game!! I've been playing it for a whole week now and I'm still discovering new possibilities! The game looks very good although you need quite a pc to put all graphical options to highest detail. It's an amazing game with a realtime day/night cycle, an option for enabling long wavy grass, realtime weather effects, tons of weapons and vehicles, great gameplay, great atmosphere, good music, etc. etc. I think this game rocks and is a must-have for everybody who's been waiting for a game with such a huge, seamless world. The only disappointment is the way the vehicles handle. Also, it's a shame the game requires at least an AMD 64 with 1GB of RAM and a highend graphics card to make it run flawless with max detail. Oh well, I just have to keep on upgrading I guess. At least this game is worth it! Expand
  21. JohnA.
    May 28, 2005
    10
    This is a REAL game, finally! Its hard to find games like theese nowadays. Big game-developers just wants to make a stunning game to sell, but those games cant be enjoyed as a game should, this game lasts forever, there are so much to do and see, i feel like a little kid on christmas! This is the best game ive ever played, if u cant stand some bugs, then u better stick to your half life This is a REAL game, finally! Its hard to find games like theese nowadays. Big game-developers just wants to make a stunning game to sell, but those games cant be enjoyed as a game should, this game lasts forever, there are so much to do and see, i feel like a little kid on christmas! This is the best game ive ever played, if u cant stand some bugs, then u better stick to your half life 2, but if you are a real gamer you WILL love this game! Expand
  22. GraYrAw
    May 27, 2005
    9
    Great game, but off course need a polish.
  23. Mh
    May 27, 2005
    9
    I liked the plot.. graphics are very nice on max settings [my pc can take it easily] sound is ok... turned off music after playing 2h though. driving and flying is cool. there are plenty of bugs but theyre not that serious if you compare them with the overall game quality.
  24. DJKKid
    May 27, 2005
    3
    One of the most frustrating games I've played in a while, because it has so much potential and I really want to like it. Unfortunately, poor AI, flat, dull graphics, awful performance, lack of atmosphere (when compared to e.g. Far Cry or GTA) and a host of bugs get in the way. I'm waiting for a patch to fix some of this, but you know what they say, "You can't polish a t*rd"...
  25. ZachL.
    May 26, 2005
    7
    I'm really enjoying this game. Decent graphics, good game play. The vehicals are a bit clunky, and so is the AI. Best way to get rid of a choper, have to follow you into a tree and it will blow up. Weapons and inventory work good and the charator ineracting is great. There are a lot of sound bugs in the game and the voice acting from the main charator is week. Hopefuly most of the I'm really enjoying this game. Decent graphics, good game play. The vehicals are a bit clunky, and so is the AI. Best way to get rid of a choper, have to follow you into a tree and it will blow up. Weapons and inventory work good and the charator ineracting is great. There are a lot of sound bugs in the game and the voice acting from the main charator is week. Hopefuly most of the bugs will be ironed out in a patch. Expand
  26. RagDoll
    May 26, 2005
    10
    This game includes loads of bugs, but otherwise - one of the greatest game iv'e ever played..! I recommend it to everyone. The gameplay is so free and addictive, i really love it!
  27. DeefD.
    May 25, 2005
    9
    GREAT game!!!! Some flaws, but none are major.
  28. Mr.S.
    May 24, 2005
    5
    The driving is chunky, and so are the graphics. I shoot a curtain and it makes a bullethole. The sound also seems sub-par. I guess it has potential, but I'm already finding a lot of flaws with it.
  29. God
    May 24, 2005
    9
    There are some bugs in the game,which hopefully will be fixed with a patch, but the gameplay is great and it makes a lot of fun if you accept the bugs.
  30. GoldenScan
    May 24, 2005
    4
    Well, its crap. The screenshots look nice enough, the features list sounds very promising, but the actual gameplay is awful.
  31. JindrichPirner
    May 23, 2005
    10
    I totally love this game!!!
  32. Matt
    May 23, 2005
    9
    The engine's solid but lacks graphical polish and flair, a bit of optimisation wouldn't hurt. However, when the game world's well realised, the plot interesting and the game dynamics fun and engaging, the graphical bells and whistles can take a comfortable back seat.
  33. JonF.
    May 22, 2005
    4
    The graphics in the game are poor. I runs very poorly even on the lowest settings. The AI is poor, the vehicle handling is poor. The Idea for the game is good and the voice acting is excellent. But it just runs poorly, I would wait for S.T.A.L.K.E.R to come out rather than buying this. Overall rating: poor
  34. AlexF.
    May 22, 2005
    8
    Amazing game, but a hell of a lot bugs. However developers seem to realise this and releasing patches etc soon. The game seems to have taken the best parts of games such as Mafia (brillant story line and gameplay), far cry (setting and FPS)and GTA(free to explore) and blended them into one whole game with a non-linear format! Think of 'Stalker' with less graphical sparkal. This Amazing game, but a hell of a lot bugs. However developers seem to realise this and releasing patches etc soon. The game seems to have taken the best parts of games such as Mafia (brillant story line and gameplay), far cry (setting and FPS)and GTA(free to explore) and blended them into one whole game with a non-linear format! Think of 'Stalker' with less graphical sparkal. This is a must buy! Expand
  35. Mar 14, 2012
    0
    Found this for £3 in the local CEX. In its day this could be called very ambitious, even genius in some levels. Alas, it lends too much from its inspirations, such as Far Cry and GTA, and lacked the coat of polish it deserved. But for £3, I'm very satisfied.
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Put it like this: This is probably one of the most enjoyable piece of early-Beta code that I've ever played. You want to damn Atari for releasing it like this. However, you also want to hail them for spending money on something of Boiling Point's ambition rather than the safe option.
  2. Raw and addictive, but lacks the polish to make it stand out in a niche market.
  3. 60
    The concept behind Boiling Point is a good one but it is perhaps a little too ambitious, leaving many parts of the game a little dry and particularly bug-ridden.