User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Great game period.. if you want easy seemless coop play this is probably the best coop game out there.
    The graphics are original and awesome and the environments and weapons excellent. you can run different chartacter builds and enjoy the hell out of yourself. If you did not like this game your logic is flawed or this is entirely not your genre.
  2. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This game has all that you want in a FPS, it has an unlimited amount of guns. Since the game has a built in plug-in that makes up weapons for you to find anywhere in the mass universe. You have a bit of RPG elements built into the game as well. This game would probably take about 14 - 24 hours in the original game. But, with the added DLC, the whole game would pry take about 50 - 65 hoursThis game has all that you want in a FPS, it has an unlimited amount of guns. Since the game has a built in plug-in that makes up weapons for you to find anywhere in the mass universe. You have a bit of RPG elements built into the game as well. This game would probably take about 14 - 24 hours in the original game. But, with the added DLC, the whole game would pry take about 50 - 65 hours worth game play. You can also choose to keep going with your first play through to go play some DLC, or go through the original game all over again. With the same level you are, and all the perks you got on your first play through. This game really does deserve a 10/10. You will have loads of fun and hours on end of fun game play. Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Game: Borderlands Game of the Year Edition
    Genre: FPS/RPG
    Developer: 2k Games/GearBox Software System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 86/100 Value Score: 8.6/10 • Story: 8/10 • Characters: 7/10 • GamePlay: 8/10 • Graphics: 9/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 6/10 • Length: 10/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player Value: 8/10 Pros +A great combination of RPG and First Person
    Game: Borderlands Game of the Year Edition
    Genre: FPS/RPG
    Developer: 2k Games/GearBox Software
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 86/100
    Value Score: 8.6/10

    • Story: 8/10
    • Characters: 7/10
    • GamePlay: 8/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 6/10
    • Length: 10/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 8/10

    Pros
    +A great combination of RPG and First Person Shooting elements
    +Great customization and variety of weapon types and items
    +Huge world with a lot of exploration
    +DLCs have a lot of content and include interesting story elements
    +Characters are humorous and well designed
    +Sound effects are nicely done and adds more atmosphere to a game that already has a huge atmosphere
    +Main Campaign is really long
    +Co-Op is a great experience
    +A lot of missions and quests

    Cons
    -Too many Fetch quests and too much walking back and forth
    -Storyline is a bit generic mainly the main campaign
    -Environment does not change often and is usually bland at times
    -Amount of characters in a large world makes the world all too barren and somewhat boring
    -Music is very forgettable
    -Difficulty can be at times unforgiving if you go to a certain area before you really have to.
    -The game can force you to grind a lot like in a MMORPG.
    Expand
  4. sft
    May 22, 2013
    9
    I ain’t gonna bite, pro’ly

    I was concerned that I might not like BORDERLANDS, as I’ve played games with stylised graphics before and have found this type of design can reduce the immersive qualities that I love about gaming. I need not have worried. Borderlands is one of the best games I’ve played. The visuals are very impressive and suck you right in. This is open-world gaming at it’s
    I ain’t gonna bite, pro’ly

    I was concerned that I might not like BORDERLANDS, as I’ve played games with stylised graphics before and have found this type of design can reduce the immersive qualities that I love about gaming. I need not have worried. Borderlands is one of the best games I’ve played. The visuals are very impressive and suck you right in. This is open-world gaming at it’s best, with many large maps to explore as you complete the numerous missions. There are hundreds of weapons to collect and use, or sell along the way (gathering loot quickly becomes addictive). A wide variety of enemies will take you on as you progress up the levels. The combat is varied and the AI is good if not exceptional. Although there’s little story to speak of there’s enough humour to just about make up for this. It’s possible that some might find the missions a tad repetitive but I was so engrossed in the game that I didn’t tire of them and completed every one, including the 3 DLCs available. As for multi-player, well co-op is great fun but best played with people who you can rely on to share the loot.
    Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    This game. It's everything. Heck, it's the closest to a true 10 I have ever played.

    The game combines RPG elements with the fast-paced action of an FPS, perfectly. The gameplay is just about flawless. It does have a slight lack of balance, I was easily able to shotgun through everything, but not so much with a sniper rifle, but I guess that's because shotguns usually deal ridiculous
    This game. It's everything. Heck, it's the closest to a true 10 I have ever played.

    The game combines RPG elements with the fast-paced action of an FPS, perfectly. The gameplay is just about flawless. It does have a slight lack of balance, I was easily able to shotgun through everything, but not so much with a sniper rifle, but I guess that's because shotguns usually deal ridiculous damage most often.

    The story was good, the characters were fantasticly insane. Only one big problem, the story doesn't change playthrough 2. That made me angry.
    Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2016
    8
    A legend of its days.

    A truely interactive, funny and epic game, with some of the best gameplay from a RPFPS, awesome gameplay right from start of the game to the end. The visuals are very nice, and this game will have you hooked. My favourite character is Roland as i prefer the assault rifles/shotgun combo. There are 4 amazing characters to choose from, the Berserker, the Siren, the
    A legend of its days.

    A truely interactive, funny and epic game, with some of the best gameplay from a RPFPS, awesome gameplay right from start of the game to the end. The visuals are very nice, and this game will have you hooked. My favourite character is Roland as i prefer the assault rifles/shotgun combo. There are 4 amazing characters to choose from, the Berserker, the Siren, the Hunter and the Soldier. The story is enthralling and will keep you excited. The controls are very suitable for the game, which is one of the main things you are looking for in a video game. I have been playing this game over and over for years it is that good, SO much replay value, so you will never get bored of it! If you want to have a blast from the past, play this!

    Kudos Gearbox Software, kudos!
    Expand

There are no critic reviews yet.