Borderlands PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1400 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you haveThis game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closer friends and an arsenal. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    THE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care orTHE GOOD: a loot drop system like Diablo II--never thought picking up guns in FPS can be so addictive. Graphic design suits story well-- a crazily funny and insane world in cartoonish graphics. 4 characters with different strengths and upgrade directions. Co-op with friends is easy and fun. THE BAD: The story is just a complex sequence of missions, which means it's hard to really care or even know what is going on. Little to no interaction with NPCs. Wish it had more types of enemies (dogs, big dogs, even bigger dogs, fire spurting dogs just gets old fast). Expand
  3. BrandonL
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems A great fps with great classes/abilities, i found this game very fun and entertaining. Note that this is not a full RPG, meaning it shouldn't have to have the extent of abilities in a full RPG game such as Diablo 2. Although it would be nice to have more than 1 special ability in every class. Overall it was a great fps with a large variety of weapons and items. I found no problems and connecting with others was easy enough to be done in seconds. Expand
  4. DaveS
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface. I will probably try the next 2K game I see because of this landmark game. Good job guys. Kudos from a discerning gamer! DK. Expand
  5. Praxisq
    Jan 7, 2010
    8
    Using proven elements of the past this game addicts me.. but thats about it. I like the drop system, reminds me of diablo . Even ran into rakanishu..diablo fans know who that is. the hand drawn textures are nice and quality providing a more engrossing experience.. you feel at first as if you are playing a cartoon, ala zelda the windwaker..until somebody starts plugging you from a Using proven elements of the past this game addicts me.. but thats about it. I like the drop system, reminds me of diablo . Even ran into rakanishu..diablo fans know who that is. the hand drawn textures are nice and quality providing a more engrossing experience.. you feel at first as if you are playing a cartoon, ala zelda the windwaker..until somebody starts plugging you from a distance. This game is a good game, the mechanic works great, its solid, its the grind though not so hard of a grind to lvl up. looking at the base or core of the game i see there are many directions they could have taken. why they decided on this exact end model of the game suggest t me they seek to set them selves apart with origionality..yes these mechanics have always been in games..but when was the last time you have seen them. esapecially executed properly. i dig it..good game for multiple players 4 player co-op is fun. i would not however recomend this for a single player experience. i gave it a rating of 8.. but i want to give it out of a 100 score so..its an 88/100 and a nice game containing throwback drop system for the old school grinder gamers. Expand
  6. LiasM
    Apr 12, 2010
    8
    Loved the simplicity of it. Just trudging along here and there, shooting people, looting stuff without too much RPG attribute madness or FPS commando style realism. It's real fun and addictive even if there's almost no story at all behind what you do. Only real nag are the various interface glitches hampering usability. As an FPS it could be harder too, and AI needs some more Loved the simplicity of it. Just trudging along here and there, shooting people, looting stuff without too much RPG attribute madness or FPS commando style realism. It's real fun and addictive even if there's almost no story at all behind what you do. Only real nag are the various interface glitches hampering usability. As an FPS it could be harder too, and AI needs some more work, but it still is a fun ride. Expand
  7. JohnP
    Apr 16, 2010
    7
    Great game, for me it would be perfect if they change one thing or another, like: -Every character has only one skill, the other skills are ALL passive, but I can live with that. -The way the storyline is told, I mean you have to "click" on the npc and a window shows up with a mission and the "story", if you're in a multiplayer you're more likely play without reading anything Great game, for me it would be perfect if they change one thing or another, like: -Every character has only one skill, the other skills are ALL passive, but I can live with that. -The way the storyline is told, I mean you have to "click" on the npc and a window shows up with a mission and the "story", if you're in a multiplayer you're more likely play without reading anything that npcs says, would be better if all of them talks to you like the Guardian Angel. -Better Quests, would be nice too. -And dedicated servers maybe? Expand
  8. DougC
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash Very addictive game which will last you at least a solid 15 hours or even more if you decide to coop with friends or do every side quest. The random loot system will always surprise you in some way (Bandits/Mercs use the weapons they drop!). I found a revolver shotgun which made 80% of the game super easy but still super fun. The only thing which doesn't make this a ten is a crash bug and a fairly limited variety of enemies. Expand
  9. Fidel
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    This is a very very good game. I was sceptical about the aiming system and how accurate the shooting would be (me being an avid FPS fan), And i was very impressed. Borderlands has all the best elements from the FPS genre as well as the great ones from the RPG side. However there is only 1 major downpoint for me and that was the length, me and 2 other friends completed it in 3 nights, This is a very very good game. I was sceptical about the aiming system and how accurate the shooting would be (me being an avid FPS fan), And i was very impressed. Borderlands has all the best elements from the FPS genre as well as the great ones from the RPG side. However there is only 1 major downpoint for me and that was the length, me and 2 other friends completed it in 3 nights, roughly 25 hours worth, and that was litteraly every quest you could do. Kind of a shame, but other than that there is nothing wrong with the game. Great Job! Expand
  10. GraydonA
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    A good RPG/FPS hybrid that is fun to play and has an awesome art style. Playing co-op with friends online is fun, and collecting loot is a blast. It doesn't deserve a perfect score either as there are a few small bugs that keep it from a 10.
  11. SteveA
    Dec 9, 2009
    8
    Really good game. I did not experience any bugs with the single- or multi-player campaigns. If you didn't know who made it, you could be excused to think that Valve had, since it's got that sort of dark humour about it that's become synonymous with Valve games. It's got some funny moments but it wasn't made for this purpose. There is a very weak storyline but I Really good game. I did not experience any bugs with the single- or multi-player campaigns. If you didn't know who made it, you could be excused to think that Valve had, since it's got that sort of dark humour about it that's become synonymous with Valve games. It's got some funny moments but it wasn't made for this purpose. There is a very weak storyline but I think that it's overshadowed by the good concept and a utopian-like setting and interesting missions. Some would criticise the missions to be a bit too repetitive but each one has its own challenges and therefore proves to be different to the others. It's definitely worth buying for the PC, though if you're in Australia you might have to get some friends together for multiplayer action since the closest multiplayer peers are in China, which provides for very laggy gameplay Expand
  12. MartyS
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    Excellent for what it is, which is an extremely competent shooter. Not innovative at all, but a fun experience. The grinding is fun, the weapon randomisation, and enemy variety, however, are lacking, and playing online is a pain (and people use hacked weapons profusely. My recommendation: buy it if you're into looting and shooting. Cheers!
  13. BinaryClock
    Nov 2, 2009
    7
    I originally thought this game was going to be like Fallout 3 and I was quite geared up to play it. The intro was great and a pretty neat way of introducing you to the game. However it all fell apart as soon as I stepped off the bus (stepping off the bus gives you your first control of the player in the beginning of the game.) The field of view is way too close/narrow, and makes you feel I originally thought this game was going to be like Fallout 3 and I was quite geared up to play it. The intro was great and a pretty neat way of introducing you to the game. However it all fell apart as soon as I stepped off the bus (stepping off the bus gives you your first control of the player in the beginning of the game.) The field of view is way too close/narrow, and makes you feel very dizzy and disorientated. I looked in the settings where I may change the FOV setting, but there was none. The settings looked very limited and this is when the red flags started to go up for me. The game itself feels like every other shooter. Graphics are sub-par for a PC release for end of 2009, but still rather good and the art style is neat. The sound effects are pretty good, and I love how they introduce the characters. There has been quite a bit of thought into the characters and their personalities which makes the world a very interesting one to explore. The questing system is odd with it's big betters for your quest description and you need to use page up and page down to scroll through the quest description if it doesn't all fit on the screen, which is most quests. This is obviously due to a sloppy, non-thought-out port from a console version. Overall it is these type of things that are an insult to the PC gaming world. We don't need or want a 96pt font and pageup/pagedown quest interface. It may be a small thing, but adding mouse scroll function goes along way. The sound selection is original and done quite well, however I found it annoying because it would come on at odd times during a fight so I ended up turning it down to 30% of its normal volume. Overall, it seems like it has potential in the console, but when PC users has more in depth feeling games with better graphics and interfaces, it's going to be a hard sell. 7/10 because it's a great game, but for PC it didn't really impress me with the lack of settings/options, and overall feel of the interface and game. Expand
  14. Jan 17, 2013
    5
    Disappointment. I've played this game with great expectations, due to friends feedback and online reviews. In the beginning is funny to play, but then it become boring and repetitive. The plot is banal and bad narrated and seems generally only a mere trick to push you to play it. I've abandoned it after 15 hours, because I've read that it takes 25-30 hours.
  15. May 17, 2013
    5
    One of the game I really wanted to like but eventually gave up on halfway through. While it has some originality and appeal, the game-play is highly repetitive to the point of being a boring grind. Them 'RPG element' is half-baked at best and while it does boast a lot of guns, you soon realise that all are just minor variations of a theme and are randomly generated. Also the auto respawnOne of the game I really wanted to like but eventually gave up on halfway through. While it has some originality and appeal, the game-play is highly repetitive to the point of being a boring grind. Them 'RPG element' is half-baked at best and while it does boast a lot of guns, you soon realise that all are just minor variations of a theme and are randomly generated. Also the auto respawn of enemies in cleared areas soon becomes very tedious. Perhaps this would be of more interest in multiplayer. Expand
  16. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Borderlands is half single player/co-op FPS, half Diablo, with four different classes, character progression and thousands of random guns and other loot options. Incredibly playable, moody setting, fantastic art style. Awesome in co-op, if you can get your friends past the tutorial section and the difficulty spike that comes immediately afterwards. I've sunk more hours into this thanBorderlands is half single player/co-op FPS, half Diablo, with four different classes, character progression and thousands of random guns and other loot options. Incredibly playable, moody setting, fantastic art style. Awesome in co-op, if you can get your friends past the tutorial section and the difficulty spike that comes immediately afterwards. I've sunk more hours into this than I'd care to admit, although Steam rubs my nose in it every time! Expand
  17. Jul 4, 2011
    8
    Borderlands is a great game. It's a blast to play with friends but a bit lacking in single player, but I think this applies to just about every game. For a game which attempts to merge to completely different genres, it does an impressive job, though it's more of an Action FPS RPG than a traditional FPS RPG, if that makes any sense. Bosses are killed simply because they are there andBorderlands is a great game. It's a blast to play with friends but a bit lacking in single player, but I think this applies to just about every game. For a game which attempts to merge to completely different genres, it does an impressive job, though it's more of an Action FPS RPG than a traditional FPS RPG, if that makes any sense. Bosses are killed simply because they are there and characters have about as much importance as any of the NPCs in Diablo II. However, I was fine with this as the main draw of this game is simply getting out there and blasting enemies with a wide array of sweet weapons. I'm not fond of the quest grind system and would have liked a different approach, but that's more because of the nightmares of WoW it brought back to me. Either way, it's definitely worth a purchase, and I hope to see a sequel soon. Expand
  18. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Great game system, nice ability tree but unfortunately weak characterization so you just end up playing because th mechanics are good rather than as part of the experience.
  19. Jan 21, 2012
    7
    When I first started playing this, it seemed like Fallout 3 but more cartoony to me. But pretty much everything other than the environment was different. I found the main quest quite fun, but once I got to the side quests, it started to get boring because one after another, it was either kill this guy, or kill this guy and bring back this item to me. And it kept getting boringer angWhen I first started playing this, it seemed like Fallout 3 but more cartoony to me. But pretty much everything other than the environment was different. I found the main quest quite fun, but once I got to the side quests, it started to get boring because one after another, it was either kill this guy, or kill this guy and bring back this item to me. And it kept getting boringer ang boringer until I couldn't take it more and just totally stopped. I found the game enjoyable, but it just got old after the main quest. Overall, if you like just playing the game's main quest or just enjoy repetitive side quests, then you would probably enjoy this game. Expand
  20. Mar 3, 2012
    5
    While the music and cel-shading graphics are top notch, the gameplay itself is nothing new (it's a sci-fi version of Diablo from first person) and the ending is pathetic. Not to mention the game was hideously buggy on release.
  21. May 20, 2012
    8
    Diablo with guns and a sense of humor. The landscape and the enemies can be a bit repetitive though the DLCs go a long way towards adding much needed variety. Vehicle combat while interesting isn't the greatest. Characters and weapon variety are some of the best you can find. This game shines best on multiplayer. It is easy enough for casual players to pick up and the random itemDiablo with guns and a sense of humor. The landscape and the enemies can be a bit repetitive though the DLCs go a long way towards adding much needed variety. Vehicle combat while interesting isn't the greatest. Characters and weapon variety are some of the best you can find. This game shines best on multiplayer. It is easy enough for casual players to pick up and the random item generation is highly addictive. If this included alll the DLCs, the game is worth a 9/10. Expand
  22. May 18, 2013
    6
    If I had to say anything about this game, I would say meh. That's exactly what this game makes me feel around every corner. For the first few hours, you will be fighting nothing but bandits and skags (dogs) and the only difference is one dog would run at you while the other would jump at you, then breathe fire at you. The enemies take too much damage, even for an RPG, It would make moreIf I had to say anything about this game, I would say meh. That's exactly what this game makes me feel around every corner. For the first few hours, you will be fighting nothing but bandits and skags (dogs) and the only difference is one dog would run at you while the other would jump at you, then breathe fire at you. The enemies take too much damage, even for an RPG, It would make more sense for a pistol to kill in one clip if its equally leveled with the bandit than it taking like 7 clips. The elemental guns are okay idea, not properly implemented. Some normal bandits will carry them, and when you are fighting a group of them then suddenly one pulls you a fire gun, then you start taking super high damage...it can get a little cheap when you die. Which brings me to my next problem: When you die in borderlands you will go into this mode where you are on your knees and have to kill another enemy to get your "second wind" When down, you cannot aim down the sites. That sounds great on paper, but now when I'm taking too many hits I just almost kill an enemy so when I go down I can get right back up with half health. The 100,000+ guns are just re textures of the same 20-35 guns, with the occasional effect added on to it. Expand
  23. Feb 28, 2013
    6
    A boring, shallow experience that is only made tolerable if you play it with friends, online. If my group is not online, I don't even bother running it. The kind of pedestrian thing like Diablo, World of Warcraft and such.
  24. LeahR
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    Borderlands is a surprisingly good arcadey FPS with a mediocre RPG element, in contrast to a game like Mass Effect, which is a great RPG with a mediocre FPS element. As a single-player game, it's reasonably entertaining, if repetitive, during the first run-through, but the game truly shines in co-op mode. Points taken off for some major design flaws (revolvers are better for sniping Borderlands is a surprisingly good arcadey FPS with a mediocre RPG element, in contrast to a game like Mass Effect, which is a great RPG with a mediocre FPS element. As a single-player game, it's reasonably entertaining, if repetitive, during the first run-through, but the game truly shines in co-op mode. Points taken off for some major design flaws (revolvers are better for sniping than sniper rifles...huh?; the special abilities of two classes are extremely useful, while the other two are mostly useless; repetitive quests and enemies; etc.), but the slick art direction, tight FPS gameplay, ridiculous diversity of loot, and the murderous mayhem of playing co-op push this title up to a respectable score. More, please, Gearbox! Expand
  25. SlamU
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    I have clocked over 300 hours on this game so far. It is by far the best game i have played in a long long time. There truly is a bazillion guns and that is a bazillion different ways to frag things.
  26. Jonathan
    Jan 1, 2010
    7
    Here's the low down on the good, the bad and the ugly of borderlands for pc. The Good: -Lots of weapons many used in different scenerios -fairly easy to follow questline with side quests -the action is fast paced and set in sections -the rpg and fps are fairly well mixed with the fps taking priority and rpg added in -the graphics are great and with some bosses to fight lots of fun Here's the low down on the good, the bad and the ugly of borderlands for pc. The Good: -Lots of weapons many used in different scenerios -fairly easy to follow questline with side quests -the action is fast paced and set in sections -the rpg and fps are fairly well mixed with the fps taking priority and rpg added in -the graphics are great and with some bosses to fight lots of fun -co-op is challenging and well based the bad -getting into games for co-op is hard -the requirements to run the game let alone server make the online version very choppy unless you got the best of the best to host the game -poor item add in(if you have a new gun you don't know how it really compares to your last gun or bomb mod or class mod due to no stats change in the game) - multipule problems with the game in many spots such as connecting, some quest pointers, menus are hard to use) the Ugly This game is alot of fun if the cards fall right for you but horrible if they don't. first person isn't as fun as co-op so beware. Expand
  27. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    Borderlands is a tricky game to nail. When I was first playing it - I was loving it. The inventive look, feel, combination of diablo and halo, the style, the humor. Even while playing the game for extended lengths I felt so incredibly comfortable mindlessly ticking off quests and collecting loot. It's a very simple and primal game. Looking back on borderlands leaves less of an impressionBorderlands is a tricky game to nail. When I was first playing it - I was loving it. The inventive look, feel, combination of diablo and halo, the style, the humor. Even while playing the game for extended lengths I felt so incredibly comfortable mindlessly ticking off quests and collecting loot. It's a very simple and primal game. Looking back on borderlands leaves less of an impression than actually playing it however. The game has a kind of emptiness to it. A void that leaves no impression. For me emotions leave the strongest memories (I don't know if it's just me?) and the generic nature of borderlands story and quests makes the game feel a lot like high powered junk food. You enjoy it while you are munching on the fat and sugar - you feel kind of depressed and regretful after. My time in borderlands was fun - however fun itself is not exactly 'meaningful' in the same way discovering a talking dog in skyrim was, or experiencing a betrayal in the witcher 2, or choosing between destroying a colony or saving it in mass effect. If borderlands had more meaningful quests and a story - it might have left a mark. A fondness. However I can't give a game a 9/10 or a 8/10 if it simply fills my time, nomatter how mindlessly entertaining that filling was. I need something more. I hope borderlands 2 finds more of a compromise. Expand
  28. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Gearbox does it again! Surprisingly fun game with over 24 hours of pointless, meaningless (unless murdering things is like, something super enjoyable, you freak) fun! plus, the dlc's such as mad moxxi's underdome or jakobs cove increase the fun!
  29. GregB
    Jan 4, 2010
    6
    A great concept but poorly executed. The numerous guns they boasted are only there because of a randomized stat generator, every mission is a gather this, kill this, find this mission, and while the level up system looked promising, it ended up bland and unoriginal. It has some character in the comical way characters react and speak, but they are all cardboard cutouts; not reacting when A great concept but poorly executed. The numerous guns they boasted are only there because of a randomized stat generator, every mission is a gather this, kill this, find this mission, and while the level up system looked promising, it ended up bland and unoriginal. It has some character in the comical way characters react and speak, but they are all cardboard cutouts; not reacting when you shoot them, not responding to events around them, and only having 1-2 lines before repeating what they said. I played through about level 30 before becoming absolutely bored of the grind-ish feel to the game so I tried some multiplayer. While I expected greatness, it ended up feeling the exact same, except, with another human present. Maybe if you had four very good friends playing and you all made jokes and fooled around it would be fun, but that isn't really relevant to the game. You can do that with any game. While it looked promising, it failed to deliver the FPS/RPG I had been waiting for due to oversimplification of the RPG elements and a general grindfest feel to the FPS. Expand
  30. DarthVadar!
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end This game is hands down probably my favourite RPG i've ever played. I'd say it's a combination of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallut 3. But it perfects those games' ideas so you get one great game. It's got the open-world gameplay like Fallout 3, but expands it so there are enemies at literally every nook and cranny, unlike Fallout 3 where you wander around for miles on end with no sight of anybody(pretty creepy). This game also has the quest system of STALKER and Fallout 3, where you can take any mission any time, anywhere. What makes this game great for casual players is that you can pretty much just jump in because missions are straightforward with no complexity, which is of course good and bad. The good is that you won't get confused with what to do, and the bad is that the storyline is not very in depth. The only reason I give this a 9 and not a 10 is because of the somewhat frail srotyline. Other than that, i'd say the graphics are very unique, something you don't see often(or at all), gameplay is pretty addicting because the enemies pretty much get stronger as you level up meaning there will not be a moment where your enemies are no match for you.I''d say this game is glitchless as far as I see, but that might not be true for someone else. I have to say my FRS is really good on this game(around 40-50), and it does not crash on my computer. I run this game from steam with a nvidia GTX275 and a 2.4 duo CPU(it's overcloaked, the real CPU is 3.08 duo) and 6GB of memory. I said this so in case anybody is wondering what systems will support Borderlands well(these 3 parts are probably enough info I don't think I need to tell you my motherboard or power supply etc.) Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  2. With tons of weapons to find, a great co-op system, fantastic art, and a whole bunch of exploding bodies, Borderlands is worth your money. Even when I feel that the game is starting to get repetitive, there's something about it that keeps me playing.
  3. I think you'll agree that when you've got guns blazing from four players at once and loot is flying everywhere, Borderlands easily makes up for any perceived shortcomings.