Borderlands PC

Borderlands Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1337 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the first title in an all-new sci-fi action franchise, Borderlands combines the best elements of Gearbox Software's first-person action titles with player customization and vehicular combat. Borderlands features a unique content generation system allowing for near-endless variety inAs the first title in an all-new sci-fi action franchise, Borderlands combines the best elements of Gearbox Software's first-person action titles with player customization and vehicular combat. Borderlands features a unique content generation system allowing for near-endless variety in missions, environments, enemies, weapons, item drops and character customization. Borderlands is a cooperative experience, allowing for multiple players to share the same game experience simultaneously online. Players can freely join or leave each other’s games at anytime, or choose to play in the full single-player mode. Borderlands features life-like character animations, impressive real-time physics, and customizable vehicles. More details to follow. [2K Games/Gearbox Software] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Fast, fun, and unapologetically crass, this is the best game I’ve played in a long time, and is truly deserving of the moniker “role-playing shooter.”
  2. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.
  3. PC Gamer UK
    86
    A good FPS and a good RPG come together to make an excellent game. Or FPSRPG if you're being fancy. [Dec 2009, p.86]
  4. Borderlands maybe a relatively simple mix of shooter action and RPG elements, however, it will mainly appeal to shooter fans rather than those looking for an immersive roleplaying experience.
  5. A good union between FPS and RPG, Borderlands is both deep and entertaining, with a perfect multiplayer option. The RPG elements are well implemented in a classic FPS action, and everything works in a very good way. The huge world could be boring after 30 hours, and the character design is not the most balanced in the world, anyway Borderlands will be the game of the year for a huge number of gamers.
  6. Borderlands gives the lonely gamer a kind of monotonous experience, but it is great when you invite some friends. The story is really thin and the world is kind of lifeless at some points. But tons of weapons, quests and the urge to level to the next stage makes the game entertaining. A solid game for those who like to play together, instead of against each other.
  7. Borderlands has a lot of growing to do. The concept is strong, but in execution, it just doesn’t work very well.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 317
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story lineThis game brought in a lot of old ideas, added some new ones, and threw in coop. If there is one thing that I love, its coop. The story line is original but does not play a big part in the actual game. The biggest aspect of this game is the coop and the mass amount of guns. Oh there are so many guns. Add the DLC on top of that with even more guns included, and by the end you have closer friends and an arsenal. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Played it through with a couple of friends. With one friend it was fun up till level 14, after that it's the same crap over and over. YouPlayed it through with a couple of friends. With one friend it was fun up till level 14, after that it's the same crap over and over. You notice the story element and interaction of your muse completely disappears after level 13 or so and it's just shoot, find weapons, rinse repeat. Many of the quests are broke when you try to play together so it's hard to sync up where you should play together unless you do literally every quest together.

    End boss is a joke, it shows how they put all their ideas and development into the first 14 levels and after that got under a production timeline and had to squeeze it out.

    Lots of profanity so not good for little ones and clearly a console port game if you are getting it for the PC be prepared for clunky menus and interactions.
    Expand
  3. MartyS
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    Excellent for what it is, which is an extremely competent shooter. Not innovative at all, but a fun experience. The grinding is fun, the Excellent for what it is, which is an extremely competent shooter. Not innovative at all, but a fun experience. The grinding is fun, the weapon randomisation, and enemy variety, however, are lacking, and playing online is a pain (and people use hacked weapons profusely. My recommendation: buy it if you're into looting and shooting. Cheers! Expand
  4. StevenH
    Oct 29, 2009
    8
    Completely absurd/awful story, barely functional multiplayer interface, poor enemy balance, but underneath it is a fairly addictive game and Completely absurd/awful story, barely functional multiplayer interface, poor enemy balance, but underneath it is a fairly addictive game and interesting concept. Leveling up is very satisfying. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    Borderlands is fun. I think it's the best game of it's year. It's addictive, the story is pretty good, the graphics are nice. Basically, IBorderlands is fun. I think it's the best game of it's year. It's addictive, the story is pretty good, the graphics are nice. Basically, I agree with everything Syrik said. Only, I think it deserves a higher rating than he gave it. There was a time when I was obsessed with this game. But then I beat the campaign and 2/3 DLC (this is excluding Moxxi because that's more of an arena thing to play with friends) I found it hard to get back into. It starts of pretty boring, then it gets great and fun, but the end is horrid. But that's all I have to add, Syrik said the rest.
    "This game is a very fun shooter, but with flaws. I'll go over the good first. The combat is entertaining and a touch different than other shooters. You get to tweak your character with different abilities to make unique builds which change how your character plays. The game randomly generates weapons so everything that drops is unique and a possible great find, it keeps you looking for loot. These things make it fun to play and the graphics are done in an art style like animation cells which I really like, it looks superb. The bad things bring it down however. The game scales terribly. As you do quests and gain exp. you will level too fast and quickly become too powerful, tearing through groups of enemies far too easily. A second play through with tougher enemies is possible, but not fun. You will start much higher level than foes and there is no challenge. The game is lacking several graphics controls on the options menu, which is stupid because the devs put the coding for the controls in the files, they just didn't make buttons. You will have to edit the .ini file yourself to turn on things like v-sync and get a widescreen point of view. Very lazy on the devs part there. Instructions for doing this are easy to find and it's not hard to do, but I shouldn't have to. So, overall Borderlands is a fun game that ends up being far too easy to play and has some basic setup options missing, but obtainable with manual editing on the users part." -syrik, Sep 8 2011 (rated 4/10)
    Expand
  6. themysteriousman
    Dec 29, 2009
    7
    The multiplayer is awsome, coop is very cool and if it would only be a multiplayer/coop game, i would rate it an 9 for sure, even if its in The multiplayer is awsome, coop is very cool and if it would only be a multiplayer/coop game, i would rate it an 9 for sure, even if its in cartoon, its in the game, its what made the game so i don't understand why people are complaining about that fact. But why not 9 ? i give the singleplayer a 5.... one word: boring its very very very repetitive, sometimes there is action and its making the game fun.... Overall an deserved 7, if you like coop games, buy it Expand
  7. NateS
    Oct 28, 2009
    0
    It's a great game, graphically, gameplay, but i shaved 8 marks off mainly because the game is advertised as a co-op game, yet connecting It's a great game, graphically, gameplay, but i shaved 8 marks off mainly because the game is advertised as a co-op game, yet connecting to online games turned out to be a pain in the butt. The one week delay to optimize the PC version turned out to be a big sack of lies. Nothing was optimized for PC. This game is a console port. 90% of the in game menus are NOT mouse supported. For example, if you get into an online game, you can't kick some from clicking their name, you have to use arrow keys and select them. The online backbone of the game is even more crappier. Of all online gaming infrastructures Gearbox decided to use Gamespy... I pretty sure a lot of FPS gamers moved away from Gamespy back in 1998. So in the end if you want a Online CO-OP game. Do Not Buy this game, it's not a co-op game if you have a hard time connecting to other players. Probably better off purchasing Left 4 Dead 2. Gearbox Software is only good at bring PC ports to consoles, NOT the other way around. Save your money, this game is not worth it. Gearbox only released this game on PC to make some quick cash. They haven't even acknowledge on there official forums that there are a lot of problems. Sure they're could be fixing it, but easing your customers minds goes a long way. Once again DO NOT BUY! Unless you are only going to play single player mostly. Expand

See all 317 User Reviews