Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 42
  2. Negative: 13 out of 42
  1. May 8, 2014
    80
    When you invest the time to master the challenging combat and explore the world, Bound by Flame is a solid romp with rewarding tactical action supported by rewarding boss battles and plenty of ways to see your choices reflected in the world around you.
  2. May 9, 2014
    75
    As it is, it’s a budget title that rises slightly above the rest.
  3. May 13, 2014
    74
    Bound by Flame is far from perfect, but underneath a few rough edges, a memorable journey awaits, defined by an unpredictable storyline, and decisions that have a meaningful impact on the story.
  4. May 9, 2014
    71
    It's one of those games that is just ok. It's fun, but not thrilling or clever.
  5. Jun 12, 2014
    70
    French indie developer tries to engage adult audience with this RPG. Too bad the world is generic and script is dull as a wooden blade. If you show a few tits and curse like a sailor, that don't translate to a game for adults. On top of that the game mechanics are dull and repetitive. You don't challenge Witcher with this kind of setup. [June 2014]
  6. May 26, 2014
    70
    Bound by Flame isn't the best RPG that the industry has to offer. But underneath the rough edges there's still a surprisingly enjoyable game.
  7. May 12, 2014
    70
    Bound By Flame’s combination of progression and action ultimately make it greater than the sum of its parts.
  8. May 9, 2014
    70
    It's an action RPG from Spiders: awkward, sloppy, and too small for its own good, but entertaining enough for what it is.
  9. May 9, 2014
    70
    Bound By Flame is the midnight snack that sates, but leaves you wanting something a bit more savory. But when the snack is this tasty, you may find yourself coming back for a second helping a lot quicker than you might think.
  10. May 9, 2014
    70
    After completing it, Bound by Flame is quite an underwhelming game. Spiders passes the first hours narrating a fascinating story in a complex environment, but in the end, the game is just too short to justify all the hype.
  11. May 9, 2014
    70
    Bound by Flame could be a really good RPG with some refinements, but for now, it suffers too much from its AI and difficulty settings.
  12. May 8, 2014
    70
    Bound by Flame doesn’t put too much weight on the important choices you think you’re making, but its rich customization options and smart combat system are sure to give you that power you're looking for.
  13. May 11, 2014
    68
    Spider is a team with soul and a good heart that should tune down their big ambitions in order to obtain a necessary focus for their games. Bound by a Flame offers fun combat and some good moments, but it fails to reach its full potential.
  14. Jul 25, 2014
    65
    There is potential in Bound by Flame but I can’t review this game without using some harsh words. It’s linear and clichéd, combat should be better and many elements could be more complex. Still I believe that with more money, people and time Spiders would be able to play in the major league. [07/2014, p.54]
  15. May 9, 2014
    65
    Bound by Flame provides engaging mechanics and choices that actually matter, if you can stomach the horrible voice work.
  16. 65
    Spiders wanted Bound By Flame to be their big breakout hit but penny-pinching on theirs or their publisher's side will hold them back.
  17. May 23, 2014
    60
    Bound by Flame is an exceedingly interesting game. It attempts to join the ranks of games like The Witcher and Mass Effect with its combat and social elements but ultimately falls short.
  18. May 12, 2014
    60
    Despite its good ideas and intentions, Bound by Flame is a mediocre, often tiresome experience that suffers from a lackluster story and an ill-conceived combat system.
  19. May 8, 2014
    60
    A solid RPG experience offering everything you'd expect - but not enough surprises. Many enjoyable features but feels like playing part one of a two parter.
  20. Bound By Flame is just another RPG. Skill tree and crafting are looking good. But with its weak storyline and voice overs, BBF isn't achieving much. As we suggested, it's just another RPG without anything new.
  21. May 9, 2014
    55
    Jack of all trades, master of none. When you try to accomplish the same things as three or four of the top-RPG games in the last years at once, you'll probably you’ll not be able to be on their level.
  22. May 9, 2014
    54
    The combat is fun in parts and the characters grew on me, but so much more of Bound by Flame is tedious, frustrating, and unpolished.
  23. Jun 5, 2014
    50
    Don’t waste your time on Bound by Flame, even if you’re craving for a new fantasy RPG.
  24. May 27, 2014
    50
    The game isn’t bad, it’s just not great, and I was expecting a little bit more than a generic western fantasy RPG with competent combat from the studio that brought us the tantalising Of Orcs and Men.
  25. May 19, 2014
    50
    Bound by Flame is a title with great potential, but it failed to put it on display as we hoped. The characters are lifeless, devoid of any charisma with the exception of Vulcan. Unfortunately, this game is extremely disappointing.
  26. May 16, 2014
    50
    Original discourse with the Demon won't cover up that Bound by Flame is just a second-rate RPG with a hint of interestingness, and a heap of ordinariness and flaws. Its story will make you laugh, its world setting design will force you to weep. The only thing giving appropriate emotions is the game's crafting system.
  27. With the storytelling of Mass Effect, the fighting system of the Witcher, and environments taken right from Dragon Age and the Elder Scrolls, Bound By Flame is perhaps the least original game ever made.
  28. 50
    Between the ever present shortcomings in the fighting system, the increasingly dull environments and story and the resulting frustration there is something just tolerable in here – that is, as long as you really don't have anything else to play.
  29. May 8, 2014
    50
    Bound By Flame would be an immensely likable game, were it not for just how slipshod it ultimately feels. Its individual components are well crafted, but when brought together, the result is something that just isn't quite right.
  30. May 17, 2014
    47
    There are great, better priced RPGs out there so I do not suggest investing in this title of Spiders. Any good ideas are destroyed due to mediocre implementation, appalling technical issues and countless mistakes, an outcome of haste and sloppiness.
  31. May 14, 2014
    45
    Admire Spiders for their ambition, but as with its prior efforts this is again a case of reaching too far and spreading too thin. The result is a game that feels incomplete despite its comparatively short length for the genre.
  32. May 9, 2014
    45
    Bound By Flame sounded promising every time we saw it... but so do most games. What we ended up with instead is an RPG trying to be as great as its inspiration but never coming close. Poor combat, poor story, and poor acting, all serve to make this "epic tale" one you'll want to skip. Do not buy.
  33. 40
    Another miss for the Spiders Studios. What must’ve looked good in theory didn’t translate into reality. Stay away. [Issue#242]
  34. May 12, 2014
    40
    With its awful characters, inconsistent voice acting and combat hampered by problematic enemies, what little there is to enjoy is whittled away. It’s something to be tasted when absolutely starved for RPGs and could provide enough sword and sorcery shenanigans to tide one over until something more appetizing comes along, but it’s unlikely to prove fulfilling.
  35. May 9, 2014
    40
    Bound By Flame is a number of good ideas poorly crafted into a final product. The story itself is rather generic, with poor dialog and voice acting preventing you from getting emotionally invested in the world. The core combat is good, but once it meets with the larger game, it begins to break down. Even an excellent crafting system can't save Bound By Flame from being a budget RPG.
  36. 40
    Bound by Flame is a charming RPG that’s fundamentally and mechanically flawed.
  37. May 9, 2014
    40
    In the beginning Bound by Flame seemed like a game with a hidden potential, but this potential disappeared completely by the end. The developers were too ambitious. Tons of ideas behind Bound by Flame could have become something interesting only if the game had been developed by an experienced studio. The concept is good. The execution is poor.
  38. May 8, 2014
    40
    Bound by Flame then proceeds to ruin its promising combat with a series of mind-boggling choices that suck out all the fun and turn battles into an aggravation.
  39. May 8, 2014
    40
    I tired of doing all the heavy lifting myself. Between a stale plot that goes nowhere, poorly handled characters and a clunky, boring combat system, there was nothing left for me to hang onto, no momentum left to help propel me. Bound by Flame is worse than just generic; it's a mess of a game pretending at greater ambitions.
  40. May 12, 2014
    35
    Bound by Flame could have been entertaining. It could have been a good action RPG with a promising combat system. Thanks to a bland plot, poor dialogue and a very frustrating combat system, Bound by Flame is just disappointing.
  41. Jun 7, 2014
    30
    Ugly, stupid and riddled with cliche, Bound by Flame has car crash fascination but little else to recommend it. [Issue#249, p.62]
  42. May 8, 2014
    20
    Bound By Flame is an embarrassment on all fronts.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 105
  2. Negative: 19 out of 105
  1. EMG
    May 9, 2014
    10
    I stopped caring when the same reviewers who are bashing this game give the likes of every Call of Duty every year a 10/10 and the likes of Diablo 3 a 10/10 praising it for being....fun. I have played 3 hours so far, and honestly it is a bit rough around the edges and is in no way GOTY but it is FUN for me at least, the game is simply enjoyable if you go into it with the right frame of mind..."professional" reviewers are just people except they either have biased towards a game or were not paid enough :) 10/10 for keeping me engaged. Full Review »
  2. May 9, 2014
    7
    A nice and fun game, it isn't skyrim or dark souls but it's a nice enjoyable game and good at what it does.
    Could use a patch or two.
    I
    don't get all the negativity really. Full Review »
  3. May 9, 2014
    9
    Bound by Flame could have easily been just another fantasy RPG clone that we see hit the market every few months, which is honestly what I expected it might be. But it wasn’t, instead it’s flames shined brighter than I could have ever imagined it could. Highlighted by a thrilling story and fun strategic combat, Bound by Flame should be a game everyone plays.

    For a little context, The world in Bound by Flame has been forced into chaos and ruin by the Deadwalkers, an army of rotting, deformed, and downright disgusting zombie-like creatures. The Deadwalkers were summoned over 150 years ago by the Lords of Ice, who are hell-bent on conquering the world. The Lords of Ice are a circle of mysterious immortal necromancers who have been successfully leading their legions of undead in the extermination of all other known races.

    By the time your quest begins, most of the sentient lifeforms have been wiped off the map and have unwillingly joined the Deadwalker army. You enter the story as Vulcan, an upstart human mercenary with a bad attitude and a whole lot of sass. Disaster strikes while protecting a group of mages and Vulcan accidentally ends up on the wrong side of a Demon summoning spell and becomes possessed.

    As the fight against the Lords of Ice and their Deadwalker army wages on, Vulcan is constantly tormented by the Demon, tempting him to give up his humanity in order to gain unheard-of levels of magical powers. You are given several chances either take up the demons offer, or preserve your humanity, which can significantly change the story outcome and Vulcan’s appearance.

    Spiders did a fantastic job at establishing both compelling lore and an awesome story. I found myself talking to every single character, while making sure to investigate all dialogue options so as not to miss any of this rich story. Most of the story is told through these dialogue investigations, so if you decide to skip them you will surely miss out.

    One aspect that sets Bound by Flame apart from other fantasy RPGs is that it doesn’t bother overloading you with thousands of meaningless sidequests. I will admit, I was once a gamer obsessed with finishing every single sidequest in every game just to say I did it, but that is not the case anymore. I simply do not have the time or the patience to spend hundreds of hours completing fetch quests and other throwaway chores for characters you will never speak to again.

    I was able to complete both the main questline and the majority of the sidequests available in just over 25 hours. Even if you take your time and dive even deeper into the story that I did, you will still only clock in about 30-35 hours. This is the perfect length for a great fantasy RPG and I commend Spiders for hitting nail on the head.

    Bound by Flame looks absolutely gorgeous. Spiders built a world of incredibly diverse environments. However, when comparing Bound by Flame’s unique art style to that of other games in the genre, it doesn’t quite compare the the photorealism that many games have achieved in recent years.

    The voice acting in Bound by Flame was far better than what I had expected. But sometimes you will be taken out of the experience because the lip syncing is basically nonexistent. This can be annoying if you are paying close attention to a character’s mouth, but honestly it is not that big of a deal when very few studios actually get this right.

    The most common question I have seen asked about Bound by Flame has been, “What is the combat system like?” Well good news, it is fun. However it can be a little difficult and will require strategy to get through most fights. This is not a game where you can run into a large group of enemies and just hack-and-slash your way to victory with no second thought. In fact, that is the easiest way to find yourself dying quicker than the amount of time it took you to run into them.

    The strategy required to defeat the many different beasts and Deadwalkers increases tenfold when you encounter a boss fight. Spiders did a great job when designing their terrifying set of bosses. Not only are each of them horrifyingly creepy looking, but they also all have completely new styles as well. If you are anything like me, you will find yourself dying several times on every boss encounter until you can finally develop a well-oiled strategy.

    Bound by Flame is a breath of fresh air in an otherwise crowded genre. Spiders has achieved what many developers fail to ever do by creating a beautiful world with an incredibly deep and interesting history while also including a rock solid combat system. I was very glad that I didn’t have to be bothered by all of the silly distractions that are in most triple a RPG’s on the market today. Hopefully this is a step forward in getting rid of fetch quests just for the sake of making a game longer. Bound by Flame was everything I wanted it to be and then some.
    Full Review »