Braid Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 694 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Braid is a puzzle-platformer, drawn in a painterly style, where the player manipulates the flow of time in strange and unusual ways. From a house in the city, journey to a series of worlds and solve puzzles to rescue an abducted princess. In each world, you have a different power to affectBraid is a puzzle-platformer, drawn in a painterly style, where the player manipulates the flow of time in strange and unusual ways. From a house in the city, journey to a series of worlds and solve puzzles to rescue an abducted princess. In each world, you have a different power to affect the way time behaves, and it is time's strangeness that creates the puzzles. The time behaviors include: the ability to rewind, objects that are immune to being rewound, time that is tied to space, parallel realities, time dilation, and perhaps more. Braid treats your time and attention as precious; there is no filler in this game. Every puzzle shows you something new and interesting about the game world. Braid is a 2-D platform game where you can never die and never lose. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. An unforgettable game experience that brings a set of various fantastic puzzles. Braid experiments with storytelling and playability itself succeeds on all fronts. [May 2009]
  2. Gentlemen, I think we’re looking at a masterpiece, in the same sense in which Portal is one too. A cerebral and pleasant experience, never frustrating without proper reward, never dull or monotonous.
  3. Manipulating time was never so challenging as in this masterpiece from Number None. Braid is a little gem carved in pure perfect gameplay, is so addictive that keeps you playing hour after hour. There aren't big flaws in this game, but Braid is a little bit short.
  4. Genuinely clever stuff. [July 2009, p.64]
  5. 360 gamers were frothing at the mouth for good reason: it’s an instant indie classic.
  6. 88
    In an age when many games feel like clones of one another or are designed to be easy to beat, Braid sticks to its guns and delivers a rewarding and memorable experience that's definitely worth checking out. It's like an invigorating breath of fresh air, and proof that a handful of independent developers can create games that raise the bar for others.
  7. It doesn’t just copy a certain plumber’s early adventures verbatim like so many before it – some of them excellent in their own right – did, but seeks to plant the seeds of growth that the genre has lacked for so many years in showing that, by imprinting its own identity on a well weathered template, incredible things can happen.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 137
  1. Rileym
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    This game is stunning, it creates challenges that out wit & out smart games such as portal. it creates challenges that are actually beautiful This game is stunning, it creates challenges that out wit & out smart games such as portal. it creates challenges that are actually beautiful (yep that's how i describe them, beautiful) and only few particular deranged people with no lives *cough* Fred X *cough* Seamus B *cough* don't understand or enjoy Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. There is not a single thing I can complain about. The story is amazing and creative. In the same manner as Inception andThis game is perfect. There is not a single thing I can complain about. The story is amazing and creative. In the same manner as Inception and Donnie Darko it really makes you think and leaves a lot of details to your mind. However; I'm positive that more than 50% of the people who play this game will miss the story totally which is sad seeing it is the best story, by far, delivered by a game to this date in gaming history. Some people compare this game to Portal, this is however a very bad comparison. This game is way more. Portal was a fresh game but it was not a masterpiece in the sense Braid is. Portal will be remembered as creative and witty. This game will be remebered as so much more with amazing music, graphics, gameplay mechanics AND story. The game can be too hard for a lot of people seeing it requires A LOT of abstract thinking, problem solving and independent mind. This is because the gameplay depends on your mind and the story depends so much on your imagination. Even more so in the later levels of the game. This game can also be very hard at first try because it gives very little information to the player to why the player should solve all these amazing puzzles. And for someone like me who really wants to be "paid" for doing work in a game it was really hard getting the motivation. However I was so wrong. This game rewards the player so much when he finishes the game by revealing story parts and things that have been so apparent all the way but so well hidden. Thanks Jonathan Blow for making the most amazing game ever made. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Amazing game, it's also the most beautiful poetry, Jonathan Blow definetively made it, one of the best games ever.

    The unique stuff that I
    Amazing game, it's also the most beautiful poetry, Jonathan Blow definetively made it, one of the best games ever.

    The unique stuff that I don't like about the game, is the lack of graphical options, I.E., changing resolution, changing and other stuff, I managed to turn off Vsync and increase FPS by command line settings.
    Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    What is Braid? Braid is well-crafted platformer, which uses a time-manipulating system on which puzzle-solving is based. It also has greatWhat is Braid? Braid is well-crafted platformer, which uses a time-manipulating system on which puzzle-solving is based. It also has great music and graphical content, as well as amazing storyline, both inspiring and a food for thought. For me, game was a little bit hard on some of it's parts, but I have to say, even if you are not a fan of this genre (I'm an RPG-player, mostly), you should try Braid at least for it's story, well-done 2D drawings and music. Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    If you don't love the amazing artwork, the brilliant soundtrack, the ingenious puzzles, the emotionally destroying story and how much careIf you don't love the amazing artwork, the brilliant soundtrack, the ingenious puzzles, the emotionally destroying story and how much care it's been crafted with, you have a heart made of cold granite. Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2013
    8
    In an age when many games feel like clones of one another or are designed to be easy to beat, Braid sticks to its guns and delivers aIn an age when many games feel like clones of one another or are designed to be easy to beat, Braid sticks to its guns and delivers a rewarding and memorable experience that's definitely worth checking out. It's like an invigorating breath of fresh air, and proof that a handful of independent developers can create games that raise the bar for others. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2015
    0
    I'm a big fan of indies,unfortunately i found this...... uninteresting.As far as rating goes i rate games either 10 or 0. I know "what anI'm a big fan of indies,unfortunately i found this...... uninteresting.As far as rating goes i rate games either 10 or 0. I know "what an **** but since people overrate you also gotta underrate ^_^ Expand

See all 137 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.