Breath of Death VII: The Beginning PC

Breath of Death VII: The Beginning Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resurrect the classic era of RPGs with the retro parody RPG, Breath of Death VII: The Beginning. Join Dem the Skeleton Knight and his allies as they explore an undead world in search of the secrets of the past. 4-6 hour quest with multiple game modes & difficulty levels! Fast battles!Resurrect the classic era of RPGs with the retro parody RPG, Breath of Death VII: The Beginning. Join Dem the Skeleton Knight and his allies as they explore an undead world in search of the secrets of the past. 4-6 hour quest with multiple game modes & difficulty levels! Fast battles! Frequent LV-Ups! Branching character customization! Multi-character unite techniques! Laugh! Cry! Laugh some more! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    Breath of Death VII: The Beginning is boiled with the same ammount of raw materials, according to the same recipe, by the same chef, and with the same love as the previous course Cthulhu Saves the World. This one is aiming at the same type of gamers, whom it will entertain with the same humour and gameplay. Nevertheless, you can clearly recognize these two titles from each other.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Breath of Death VII: The Beginning was the first Zeboyd game (Robert Boyd) that simply blew me away. A loving and dastardly humorous homage toBreath of Death VII: The Beginning was the first Zeboyd game (Robert Boyd) that simply blew me away. A loving and dastardly humorous homage to early 8-Bit RPGs, it's certainly clever, but it's also a finely tuned role-playing game that's worth far more than the asking price. Cthulhu Saves the World is equally worthy, but don't overlook this true classic. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    Do you enjoy those classic 8-bit RPG's? Well this is definitely a game for you. There's not much more to say about this game. But, the storyDo you enjoy those classic 8-bit RPG's? Well this is definitely a game for you. There's not much more to say about this game. But, the story is indeed interesting. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    It is very easy to summarize what this game is all about. Homage to the SNES era of RPG'S. Breath of Death VII is simply a homage to theIt is very easy to summarize what this game is all about. Homage to the SNES era of RPG'S. Breath of Death VII is simply a homage to the classics. It's very witty and very well written parody that at times left me laughing out loud. The combat is familiar yet just different enough to keep things fresh. Leveling up is fast and easy, and your skills can be picked through a simple branching mechanic. It's not going to change the way we see RPG's, but if you miss the old days of SNES RPG's, then it's simple no brainer to pick this up. I got Breath of Death VII and Cthulu Saves the World for a total of $3 on steam. Totally worth every penny. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    I've read some of the reviews. Yes - this is a Classic RPG. It is humorous, funny, original in some respects, yet certain design choicesI've read some of the reviews. Yes - this is a Classic RPG. It is humorous, funny, original in some respects, yet certain design choices deter me from diving into this game with my head. Example: i hated early Final Fantasies. Why? Because i could put a book (or any other paper weight) on the SPACE key and let the game finish itself. Well, Breath of Death suffers from the same ailment, with only two differences - you need to use a different Key (ENTER, in this case), and holding it doesn't work, so you need to be hitting it like a maniac in combat sequences. I don't want to say anything about the story: it is obvious that the language used in game is worthy of a writer, yet there is no story - and the reason is obvious: it is a parody and a homage (all in one) to Classical RPG, so a deep Story in this game would probably be spoiling it rather than giving something to it. Overall, a good effort and probably a learning experience for the developer. Respect. Awaiting more titles from you which are deeper =] Expand
  5. May 12, 2012
    5
    I was hoping that this would play similar to the early Ultima games. While the looks are there, the gameplay isn't. There's not a whole lot ofI was hoping that this would play similar to the early Ultima games. While the looks are there, the gameplay isn't. There's not a whole lot of depth. It does have some positives like game controller support and a very simplified user interface. Also the combat is nicely done. But if you are expecting an adventure along the lines of Ultima III, you won't find it here. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    2
    Really short and full of random RPG jokes, cliches, and game design choices. There's about 5 hours of gameplay here and the ending is anReally short and full of random RPG jokes, cliches, and game design choices. There's about 5 hours of gameplay here and the ending is an abrupt CONGRATS YOU SAVED THE WORLD PLAY AGAIN ON A HIGHER DIFFICULTY OR TRY TIME ATTACK. Sadly not much replay value and it feels like an actual numbered game, as if it's in the middle of a series or part of some "episodic" DLC series. I guess that was intended but it's still frustrating. I'd be more upset if the game wasn't so cheap. Collapse
  7. Jun 14, 2015
    0
    This prequel to 'Cthulhu Saves the World' features uninspired graphics - even by SNES standards!
    The ironical storyline does not save the
    This prequel to 'Cthulhu Saves the World' features uninspired graphics - even by SNES standards!
    The ironical storyline does not save the day.

    You are better off playing any SNES 'Final Fantasy' episode... these are masterpieces!
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews