Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Jan 24, 2014
    95
    I haven’t felt this surge of nostalgia and excitement about a game in a long time, and I truly think Broken Age will be looked back fondly as one of the greats. That being said, the first Act is only a few short hours and ended on a nail-biting cliffhanger with no word on how long we’ll be waiting for the rest of the game.
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    95
    An absolute joy of an adventure. It’s filled with unforgettable characters, incredible puzzles, and one of the most gorgeous worlds you’ll find in games. It culminates with an effective cliffhanger that has me counting the days until I can finish Vella and Shay’s adventure in Act 2.
  3. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    A game that will resonate with you and make you nostalgic for something that you might not even remember forgetting.
  4. Jan 29, 2014
    90
    It's a shame, Broken Age seems to have been aimed at a more casual gamer whereas most of its backers are hardcore adventure game fans.
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    90
    An adventure you must play. And read. And listen to. And have a good time with it.
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    90
    This game could have come out ten years ago, and it would have been great then, but it's great now too. That's the very definition of timeless.
  7. Jan 20, 2014
    90
    Regardless, the experience of Act 1 is enough to recommend outright — don’t hesitate to add this title to your library.
  8. Jan 18, 2014
    90
    Broken Age tells a concise, clever story and, more importantly, knows exactly where to leave off. There’s a sense of accomplishment and closure in the final moments of Act 1, but it still leaves you itching to know what’s coming next.
  9. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    Broken Age may be unfinished, but it's also delightful, beautiful, utterly charming and you really should play it right this second.
  10. Jan 20, 2014
    89
    Broken Age is the graphical adventure that we all have been waiting for the last 15 years. A great story with a great cast, pictured with stunning visual style, makes us wait eagerly for the Act 2.
  11. Feb 25, 2014
    88
    I enjoyed my time with Broken Age. I found the story to be compelling, and I kept coming back to play the game in much the same way I keep making time to read another chapter in a book that's hard to put down.
  12. Jan 22, 2014
    88
    The Broken Age will win you over in minutes, and what it lacks in length or difficulty it makes up for in pure personality.
  13. Jan 17, 2014
    88
    There may not be much actual “game” in Broken Age Act 1, but as a window into two interesting and charming adventures it easily fulfills the Kickstarter promise.
  14. Feb 19, 2014
    87
    I cannot wait for the [free!] update that will bring on Act 2. I also cannot wait to see if Broken Age ushers in a new era of the point-and-click genre.
  15. Feb 16, 2014
    87
    A shorter first act than is ideal, but Broken Age's world is not to be missed. [March 2014, p.78]
  16. Jan 15, 2014
    87
    A great graphical adventure, modern and old school at the same time, beautifully written and with such incredible style and personality. But if you're looking for high difficulty puzzles, look elsewhere.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 76
  2. Negative: 14 out of 76
  1. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    God, I need to vent this. Broken Age is a REALLY bad game; bland as hell. Basically they **** up everything. Not only is it a bad, boring andGod, I need to vent this. Broken Age is a REALLY bad game; bland as hell. Basically they **** up everything. Not only is it a bad, boring and shallow game, but it becomes glaringly obvious that it is a big step back from LucasArts games.

    There's no look/take/use/etc. Only left click and everything will be conveniently solved for you. The problem with this is that the game lacks the descriptions you would get by looking at stuff in the backgrounds; plus there hardly is anything to interact with. This sadly means that a big part of the charm - listening to humorous or moody phrases or one liners is absolutely gone.

    But the worst part is not the controls, or the easy as **** puzzles.

    As Ron Gilbert recently said in an interview with Tim Schafer, adventure games are really an excuse to look at pretty sceneries and listen/read good writing. Well, the game **** fails to deliver any of these.

    It's so goddamn bland and uninspired that you can almost taste the unmotivated design team.

    The sceneries are devoid of any real detail. Yes, they look pretty, in a gay-as-hell-21st-century-progressive-fairytale sort of way. There just isn't anything of interest to look at. Forget the interiors and computer huds from Full Throttle.
    Also, the characters don't show any **** emotion. The voice acting is the typical sedated crap you get nowadays. It's almost like the developers tell the actors to not put themselves into the characters, but instead make them all sound the same. Plus, as the expressions from the characters' faces change pretty much NOTHING, the game doesn't really put a definite emotion through.

    The game world is simply not interesting. Other thing that bugged me was when they zoomed the characters' faces in the dialogues; you can see the poor quality of the backgrounds up close: blurry, not very defined; you can pretty much tell they were made with photoshop in a hurry. I'm certain that if they had pixelated everything in the game it would all look sharper, and well, better.

    Music was pretty off too. At times it felt pointless and irrelevant. At others, strangely out of mood.

    And the writing is as bland as everything else. Not funny, not moody. This guy **** lost it. Forget the "nerd" 1990's-Simpsons humor you would find in DotT, you'll find none of that.

    What else can I say, I did not expect too much when I saw the first screens they released way back, expecting a sort of snuggle-feel-good game, but hell this was really mediocre. What the **** did they do all this time? Were did all the money go, to voice actors?
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    From the art style to the music to the voice acting, Broken Age proves to be a solid game with a lot of personality on its own. The fine humorFrom the art style to the music to the voice acting, Broken Age proves to be a solid game with a lot of personality on its own. The fine humor on the dialogues make for an unique experience, from start to finish.

    Puzzles are logical, so an experienced adventure gamer won't be stuck so easily. Some people will find it too easy, some people will get stuck on one or two of them, but will quickly find the answer, for sure.

    The interface is simple yet elegant. Based on a touch screen UX, it does not do any favor to PC gamers. Dragging and dropping items is not exactly the best solution for mouse support, but it is not a deal breaker at all.

    At some point later on the game you will realize that you are looking to a classic point and click, witch a beautiful landscape, some backtrack action and amazing character personalities. I played this game with a smile on my face from the beginning to the end (4 hours long), and one cannot ignore this.

    It is not Tim Schafer's masterpiece (yet), but its characters and the story makes this one of the best out there.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2014
    4
    This is the most disappointing game in like 20 years, no kidding. I backed this game with $100, believing it was going to be old-school ..This is the most disappointing game in like 20 years, no kidding. I backed this game with $100, believing it was going to be old-school .. well .. it's not. It's very modern and it's for modern gamers who don't like to get stuck or having to use their brains. Just clickety-click and it's over, no challenge, no thinking - super easy. Uninspired and uninteresting story, horrible art-style (I know, it's a matter of taste), short. I know it's only act 1, but it's still A LOT shorter than just about any adventure game I've played. There are like two commands and you just use one mouse button.. seriously? I'm not going to give this a 0 though, since it's not THAT bad, it's just very mediocre and nothing special at all. I really regret backing this and I would never pay money for this game, had I known this is what it's like. I feel so ripped of, they used $3.4 million dollars for THIS? Bland, bland bland. The music is very forgettable, and there's just so little to do and interact with! Full Review »