Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first graphic adventure by Tim Schafer in 16 years, Broken Age began with the help of a record-breaking Kickstarter campaign. Broken Age is a timeless coming-of-age story of barfing trees and talking spoons. Vella Tartine and Shay Volta are two teenagers in strangely similar situations,The first graphic adventure by Tim Schafer in 16 years, Broken Age began with the help of a record-breaking Kickstarter campaign. Broken Age is a timeless coming-of-age story of barfing trees and talking spoons. Vella Tartine and Shay Volta are two teenagers in strangely similar situations, but radically different worlds. The player can freely switch between their stories, helping them take control of their own lives, and dealing with the unexpected adventures that follow. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Jan 24, 2014
    95
    I haven’t felt this surge of nostalgia and excitement about a game in a long time, and I truly think Broken Age will be looked back fondly as one of the greats. That being said, the first Act is only a few short hours and ended on a nail-biting cliffhanger with no word on how long we’ll be waiting for the rest of the game.
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    Broken Age may be unfinished, but it's also delightful, beautiful, utterly charming and you really should play it right this second.
  3. Feb 6, 2014
    86
    Broken Age looks, sounds and plays so great that you can recommend it to anyone.
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    80
    Act One of Broken Age starts off strong, with an incredibly well-written storyline that props up some occasionally weak puzzle work. Let's hope Double Fine can follow through with Act Two when it arrives later this year.
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    Act 1 of Broken Age is a point and click adventure game in heart and soul, but doesn’t reach the heights of the LucasArts games of old. The game is beautiful and tells a great story; a snack to drift off to during these dark and dank days.
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    I can't say if Broken Age is all that you hoped it would be. I for one found that this first act juggles its serious core story, humor and absurdities splendidly. My backer dollars seem very well invested, indeed.
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    70
    Broken Age's world may be fun to explore, but don't get too comfortable. Just as you fall into a steady groove with its story and puzzles, the game ends. Thankfully, the ending provides some resolution while also leaving you excited for the second act.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 77
  2. Negative: 15 out of 77
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    From the art style to the music to the voice acting, Broken Age proves to be a solid game with a lot of personality on its own. The fine humorFrom the art style to the music to the voice acting, Broken Age proves to be a solid game with a lot of personality on its own. The fine humor on the dialogues make for an unique experience, from start to finish.

    Puzzles are logical, so an experienced adventure gamer won't be stuck so easily. Some people will find it too easy, some people will get stuck on one or two of them, but will quickly find the answer, for sure.

    The interface is simple yet elegant. Based on a touch screen UX, it does not do any favor to PC gamers. Dragging and dropping items is not exactly the best solution for mouse support, but it is not a deal breaker at all.

    At some point later on the game you will realize that you are looking to a classic point and click, witch a beautiful landscape, some backtrack action and amazing character personalities. I played this game with a smile on my face from the beginning to the end (4 hours long), and one cannot ignore this.

    It is not Tim Schafer's masterpiece (yet), but its characters and the story makes this one of the best out there.
    Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    [BROKEN AGE SteamPC Score 10] Adventure Gamers come forth and kneel at the altar of Tim…. O’Tim…. Hallowed be thy name…. Enjoy the Goodness of[BROKEN AGE SteamPC Score 10] Adventure Gamers come forth and kneel at the altar of Tim…. O’Tim…. Hallowed be thy name…. Enjoy the Goodness of Point and Click…. and not just on Fridays but everyday until you complete Act 1…. Digital Rain hath soaked me to the bone and I smile wrapped in it’s benevolence. Add to cart { : o) >

    [I am a Backer] and this was everything I expected. O’Tim, We beseech thee to Repeat as many times as possible.

    [The Art] of Point and Click has been Elevated to Olympian status and We know that you will Advance this form to a whole new level…. What about a First Person Adventure in 3D? What about a First Person Adventure with Platforming mixed with Stealth? What about an Adventure Game with Ketchup in the Frogger Idiom? How about a Prequel visiting Black Mesa to build a Roadster with Titanium Pipes and 72 inch Back Tire? How about a University Course called Typing Hero where onscreen instructions are cued to music to teach how to type internet slang? or even a title called The Adventure Game Whisperer where wannabe programmers Intern at Double Fine and have to work their way up to the boss’ office through clues encoded in Dodecahedron Rubik’s cubes - with a new wireless controller for XBOX ONE, PS4, and PC shaped like…. (wait for it) …. a Rubik’s cube ! And then the Boss fight is a hi-res version of Grim Fandango but the puzzles are backwards…. and the first player to Finish with a Perfect Score receives an Honorary PhT (Philosophy O’Tim).

    [MyPC 2011] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8G RAM / Radeon 6870 / W7 PRO SP1 / Samsung 275T @1920x1200 / Logitech G15 / Kensington ExpertMouse / Sennheiser HD 600

    [NowPlaying] BrokenAge [MyFavorites] [Win7] TombRaider Dishonored TheKnifeOfDunwall TheBrigmoreWitches TheDreamMachine Ep1-4 30FlightsOfLoving Fez BioshockInfinite Antichamber Stacking Metro2033 Rochard Crysis&Warhead&2 JustCause2 Rage [XP] Papo&Yo DeuxExHR&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands1&2 BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] FullThrottle DeusExMachina ONI ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born 1964 I do not know anybody who works in the game industry ~ I just enjoy games : - ]
    Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    The music, the story and the ending scene are enough to make this game a "Must-Have" for people who love adventure games. And this is only theThe music, the story and the ending scene are enough to make this game a "Must-Have" for people who love adventure games. And this is only the part 1, part 2 is going to be amazing. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    Gorgeous artwork, fantastic story, great dialogue/voiceover talent, and awesome music. Are the puzzles too easy? Yes. Does it matter? No, notGorgeous artwork, fantastic story, great dialogue/voiceover talent, and awesome music. Are the puzzles too easy? Yes. Does it matter? No, not when a game has this much personality. Looking forward to act 2! Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    8
    I really thought I'd dislike Broken Age's visual style but it sucked me in and held on tight. The animation will surprise and entrance you atI really thought I'd dislike Broken Age's visual style but it sucked me in and held on tight. The animation will surprise and entrance you at every turn, and coupled with the dialogue and voice acting (which sway from decent to great) you get a very strong sense of the world you're operating in. The puzzles are easy and the first act is very short, but other than that I got a very pleasant and intriguing ride through a world I want to visit again. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    I backed this from the outset and tracked its development throughout, and while there were parts I thought made me question what would happenI backed this from the outset and tracked its development throughout, and while there were parts I thought made me question what would happen when it released, but it is infinitely charming in its execution. Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2014
    0
    This game was a real joke. Nice style and could have been a nice game, but this is just like 1/10th of what an adventure game should be, atThis game was a real joke. Nice style and could have been a nice game, but this is just like 1/10th of what an adventure game should be, at least. Takes you 2 hours to finish, puzzles are super easy. I don't understand where those good reviews come from, having in mind that this title is sold at full price. Don't recommend at all, maybe if it was 2 bucks, but not more. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.