Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two sons must set out on a perilous journey to bring back the Water of Life to their ailing father.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    The brothers' commitment to their goal and to each other is so strong, the various parts of this game so superbly crafted and woven together, that it's hard not to feel deeply touched when you finally reach the end of the road and see how deftly this game marries its gameplay to its themes in a way few have before.
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    90
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is an exquisitely told story set in a world overflowing with personality. It’s an immersive, emotional gem that’s not to be missed.
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    It’s easy to overlook a lot of what makes Brothers unique from first glance, its unassuming style belies a title with a lot more on its mind. But stick with it and you’ll be rewarded with something really quite special.
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    This is a breakthrough in what interactivity can accomplish with little aid from more traditional storytelling mechanics – its resulting importance to this medium is no exaggeration.
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    90
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is a true marriage of gameplay and narrative, and it is frankly a complete triumph.
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    85
    A gorgeous world, bursting with personality. Great storytelling makes up for the short length and unchallenging puzzles.
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons shows that huge budgets aren’t needed to thrill players and say something about the human condition using an interactive medium.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 232
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Great storyline, it speaks to me like no other game I've played so far. Really connects the player to the game and makes you feel somethingGreat storyline, it speaks to me like no other game I've played so far. Really connects the player to the game and makes you feel something special all thru every second of it! Love Expand
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    Wow! I can't say how much I love this game. Every gamer has to experience this wonderful journey. The story is fantastic and so is theWow! I can't say how much I love this game. Every gamer has to experience this wonderful journey. The story is fantastic and so is the game-play. There is something very unique about this game which really touched me. Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    1 2 братьев.
    Уверяю 300 игры.
    Более
    1 2 братьев.
    Уверяю 300 игры.

    Более сайте.

    Так
    Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    What a fantastic, heartbreaking and innovative little game with such a lovely story about two sons on their journey to find medicine for theirWhat a fantastic, heartbreaking and innovative little game with such a lovely story about two sons on their journey to find medicine for their dying father. Some scenes really let me sit in front of my tv with my eyes wide open. If you like games with new game mechanics and less action this is an absolutely must have. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    Absolutely Amazing! This right here, is how you do story telling games! Incredible art in this game, the visuals will blow you away. It isAbsolutely Amazing! This right here, is how you do story telling games! Incredible art in this game, the visuals will blow you away. It is like you are walking through a watercolor painting. The soundtrack is truly enchanting at times as well.

    This game can be beat in a few hours I highly recommend you play this and allow yourself to take it all in at once, much like a cinematic experience. The ending of this game left me gasping "Wow, Holy wow! Absolutely Incredible". This instantly goes down as one of my all time favorite visual media experiences.

    This is an unforgettable adventure you should undertake!

    copy and pasted from my steam profile
    Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2015
    8
    A lovely relaxing platformer, with great art direction and high production values. Even though some textures and animations are a bit basic,A lovely relaxing platformer, with great art direction and high production values. Even though some textures and animations are a bit basic, this game looks absolutely amazing - a real triumph of the Unreal Engine 3. I like how it felt innocent and uncluttered compared to mainstream titles. It does get a bit darker towards the end though, which I felt a bit mixed about. Still, this is a nice break after playing lots of FPS games. The puzzles are easy, but they are still nice and not too repetitive. If you want intense gameplay, you wont find it here.
    While a controller is ideal, I played on a keyboard without much trouble (minus a small problem with a lift mechanism at the start). Do not avoid this game because some people say keyboard controls are bad, you would be missing out on so much. Yes, it is a bit short, and you can see it was made on a budget, but it is a masterpiece all the same. Even if you usually only play mainstream shooter games, you should take a break and play this.
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2016
    0
    The hype train took me.. and oooh god, that was awful.

    In fact, I really don't understand why this game have a good review. But.. some
    The hype train took me.. and oooh god, that was awful.

    In fact, I really don't understand why this game have a good review. But.. some games that I don't like I'm just like : "ok.. not my style but it can be cool for some people I guess!". Here .. hmm.. can be cool for somebody who has never play a good game with a good story. The deep story ? Please... there's just nothing. Nothing. Really. Please, there's game with real story, real depth... plenty of them. Do them, do them and never go back in brothers : A tale of nope.

    Scene graphism are cool... but you don't know why this is at this place or that thing at another place. With this huge problem, this world seem empty and you just don't feel it at all. This way, graphism are useless. There is no artistic direction, artistic idea. This world wasn't here before you, and will vanish without you. It has no meaning, no story, nothing. Like the game itself in fact.

    Our heroes are just horrible.. it's not the case if you don't talk to any PNJ. But if you interact with only one of them, you will hate your character fors the entire playthrough. Facial expression is absent... and for a game that wanted to be deep, with empathy ... it's really disturbing.

    Gameplaywise there's just nothing. Oh wait... yes there's something... one act, one idea. Over, and over, and over again.. and again... and another act.. and that's a loop. A loop of nothing.

    Please.. please don't play this game. Never, ever play this game. Never.
    Expand

See all 232 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.