Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two sons must set out on a perilous journey to bring back the Water of Life to their ailing father.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Brothers - A Tale of Two Sons Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    The brothers' commitment to their goal and to each other is so strong, the various parts of this game so superbly crafted and woven together, that it's hard not to feel deeply touched when you finally reach the end of the road and see how deftly this game marries its gameplay to its themes in a way few have before.
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    90
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is an exquisitely told story set in a world overflowing with personality. It’s an immersive, emotional gem that’s not to be missed.
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    It’s easy to overlook a lot of what makes Brothers unique from first glance, its unassuming style belies a title with a lot more on its mind. But stick with it and you’ll be rewarded with something really quite special.
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    This is a breakthrough in what interactivity can accomplish with little aid from more traditional storytelling mechanics – its resulting importance to this medium is no exaggeration.
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    90
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is a true marriage of gameplay and narrative, and it is frankly a complete triumph.
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    85
    A gorgeous world, bursting with personality. Great storytelling makes up for the short length and unchallenging puzzles.
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons shows that huge budgets aren’t needed to thrill players and say something about the human condition using an interactive medium.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 240
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Great storyline, it speaks to me like no other game I've played so far. Really connects the player to the game and makes you feel somethingGreat storyline, it speaks to me like no other game I've played so far. Really connects the player to the game and makes you feel something special all thru every second of it! Love Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This game is one of my favorite. I must say that it's a bit short, but it's not a bad things considering that it would probably get too muchThis game is one of my favorite. I must say that it's a bit short, but it's not a bad things considering that it would probably get too much to bear in one gaming session, and this is where it's gets you to not lose your focus off the game. With a beautifully designed environment and well mixed sounds/musics, this games is able to make the player feel every emotions felt by the characters. There is no actual language nor subtitles in the game, but the emotions can do all the job of words. I really recommend this game to people who wants a relaxing yet mature experience in the gaming world. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    I can happily call this game my game of the year. This is mainly down to the games ability to tell a story without using a single word ofI can happily call this game my game of the year. This is mainly down to the games ability to tell a story without using a single word of English. During game play you will feel a whole range of emotions from anger, sadness all the way to happiness and excitement. This game in my eyes is a 10 out of 10 no questions. Anyone who has a PC, Xbox 360 or PS3 should definitely play this game. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Great game. Gameplay-wise is a bit simplistic, but makes that up with the control-two-characters-at-a-time mechanic. Good setting andGreat game. Gameplay-wise is a bit simplistic, but makes that up with the control-two-characters-at-a-time mechanic. Good setting and storyline. I'm also glad that it doesn't last more than necessary, just about 3 hours, which for this game it feels like the way it has to be. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    An outstanding little game. It has fairly basic puzzle gameplay and somewhat questionable controls, but the graphics, setting and emotionallyAn outstanding little game. It has fairly basic puzzle gameplay and somewhat questionable controls, but the graphics, setting and emotionally impacting story more than makes up for it. A fantastic and meaningful adventure that is recommended to all. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2014
    8
    Visually stunning with a unique game mechanic that has you flowing through a norse fairytale while giving your coordinative skills a sweatyVisually stunning with a unique game mechanic that has you flowing through a norse fairytale while giving your coordinative skills a sweaty workout.

    To me, the story was quite meh. But I have friends who almost shed tears on their playthrough, so the quality of the story seems to be a case of who you are and what mood you're in. However, this games real trait is being a quick, coordinative, beautiful adventure, and I couldn't demand for it to have a much more fleshed out storytelling in the short time it takes to play it through. Just great!
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2016
    0
    The hype train took me.. and oooh god, that was awful.

    In fact, I really don't understand why this game have a good review. But.. some
    The hype train took me.. and oooh god, that was awful.

    In fact, I really don't understand why this game have a good review. But.. some games that I don't like I'm just like : "ok.. not my style but it can be cool for some people I guess!". Here .. hmm.. can be cool for somebody who has never play a good game with a good story. The deep story ? Please... there's just nothing. Nothing. Really. Please, there's game with real story, real depth... plenty of them. Do them, do them and never go back in brothers : A tale of nope.

    Scene graphism are cool... but you don't know why this is at this place or that thing at another place. With this huge problem, this world seem empty and you just don't feel it at all. This way, graphism are useless. There is no artistic direction, artistic idea. This world wasn't here before you, and will vanish without you. It has no meaning, no story, nothing. Like the game itself in fact.

    Our heroes are just horrible.. it's not the case if you don't talk to any PNJ. But if you interact with only one of them, you will hate your character fors the entire playthrough. Facial expression is absent... and for a game that wanted to be deep, with empathy ... it's really disturbing.

    Gameplaywise there's just nothing. Oh wait... yes there's something... one act, one idea. Over, and over, and over again.. and again... and another act.. and that's a loop. A loop of nothing.

    Please.. please don't play this game. Never, ever play this game. Never.
    Expand

See all 240 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.