Brothers in Arms: Road to Hill 30 PC

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 156
  2. Negative: 25 out of 156
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshP.S.
    Oct 18, 2009
    8
    A fairly solid tactical historical shooter. The only major faults are with the contextual commands- occasionally causing you to order your squad to attack when you want them to move, and to mount guns when you want to reload- and the friendly AI occasionally not firing when they have clear shots and not always using cover intelligently, but for the most part they make themselves useful. A fairly solid tactical historical shooter. The only major faults are with the contextual commands- occasionally causing you to order your squad to attack when you want them to move, and to mount guns when you want to reload- and the friendly AI occasionally not firing when they have clear shots and not always using cover intelligently, but for the most part they make themselves useful. It also isn't the best looking game given its age, looking obviously like an Xbox port. All that said, it's still an engrossing FPS that's a welcome diversion from arcade-style WWII shooters like the Call of Duty and Medal of Honor games. Worth a go if slower, more cerebral rather than twitchy FPS are your thing. Expand
  2. Ralph
    Apr 11, 2005
    8
    Quite realistic. Certainly not a game that you can use gung ho tactics in. Forces you t think through each encounter. Nice step up from Call of Duty. Load times are a little on the slow side. 1 minute to start, 30 seconds to restart.
  3. LuisR.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    This is a greatest WW2 game. The A.I. is so much better than other WW2 games. The grapics are okay they have a Band of Brothers kind of feel to them. The sound is outstanding. There is never a quite moment in the game and feels like you are in a thick fire fight. Soliders yell and bullets fly over your head with dirt land on your screen, when a near by explosion ocurrs. The game runs This is a greatest WW2 game. The A.I. is so much better than other WW2 games. The grapics are okay they have a Band of Brothers kind of feel to them. The sound is outstanding. There is never a quite moment in the game and feels like you are in a thick fire fight. Soliders yell and bullets fly over your head with dirt land on your screen, when a near by explosion ocurrs. The game runs great on my PC and i have a 1.3 GHz, with 512 Rdram, a ATI Radeon 9800 128 MB video crad and it runs great. Load times arn't even an issue they are not long at all. Some hard core Call of Duty players might be turned of by the game because they are a super solider. Give it a chance because if you compared the 2 games you feel a little scared of this one, the reason being that you die fast in Brothers in Arms. So you might get fustrated for a while. Play the game, it's fun and different. Expand
  4. JohnH.
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    Graphics are great and sounds are greater. Very Realistic indeed...
  5. NejcC.
    May 9, 2006
    9
    I thing this game is better than Call of Duty. Allies aren`t dying here on every corner. It`s more realistic. Sounds are great, graphic could be better.
  6. Slerbabroukenengilsh
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    The most realistic WW2 game indeed, I recommend playing it with hard difficulty setting to maximise the immersion. You will die alot, because only one enemy can kill you with a single shot, but once you learn to keep your head down and flank the enemy, it's one hell of a ride! Graphics are good enough- runs smoothly with olde r computers, sounds great- weapons and explosions have a The most realistic WW2 game indeed, I recommend playing it with hard difficulty setting to maximise the immersion. You will die alot, because only one enemy can kill you with a single shot, but once you learn to keep your head down and flank the enemy, it's one hell of a ride! Graphics are good enough- runs smoothly with olde r computers, sounds great- weapons and explosions have a realistic feel in them, Great animations and voice acting- soldiers act like living beings, hiding behind covers and yelling for each other in the heat of a battle. I highly recommend playing this game, you don't even have to like war games that much. Tactical elements and effort they put in realism separates Brothers In Arms from titles like Medal Of Honour and Call Of Duty. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Yes, this is the best game about World War II, all the highlight of the game is not in the game, and in the plot. Compared with the plot Hollywood masterpieces suck.
  8. VikramP.
    Mar 17, 2005
    10
    I rate this highly because i loved call of duty and medal of honor. i have been searching for the expansion pack of COD( united offensive) , but in vain..... i hope this game will be released in this part of the world(india) very soon, so that avid gamers like me can really enjoy FPS's like these.... by the way, when is it releasing in india????
  9. AaronB.
    May 2, 2005
    9
    I don't know why people's opinion of this game vary so much, especially about ai. I found the ai in this game to be very good. The only time when there is a problem with the ai is when the engagements are very close. I shoot, and I find that the gun sway isn't as bad as everyone is making it out to be. This isn't as good as CoD, but its pretty good.
  10. JImmehBoy
    Jul 18, 2009
    8
    Still love it. Havent played it in years and am still loving it. Play it on Authentic and turn all the assists off and you will have a good fun challenge. Reason its no 10 is because the graphics are fair dated and the voice acting isnt very good. But the gameplay is original and fun, all the people whinging that its repetetive are the clowns who cant play it properlly. Better get back to Still love it. Havent played it in years and am still loving it. Play it on Authentic and turn all the assists off and you will have a good fun challenge. Reason its no 10 is because the graphics are fair dated and the voice acting isnt very good. But the gameplay is original and fun, all the people whinging that its repetetive are the clowns who cant play it properlly. Better get back to your COD, little boys. The sounds are excellent, especially for the game of its age. And the story telling and the story in generall is just great, the three BIA games are by far my favourite series. Get it while its cheap. Expand
  11. GregB.
    Mar 18, 2005
    8
    Generally ok, too much sappyness and even though it's reality based, not having a crosshair while in a movement mode is really difficult. But the squad-based system is a treat. Also I don't like the idea that I can't go where I want (ie Far Cry ) and get the feeling I'm going down a beaten path.
  12. KBird
    Mar 18, 2005
    8
    I am disappointed with the voice overs. I think they missed a great oppurtunity to give the game a real gritty, dark feel. They tried but it seems to come out pretty flaky more often than not. The other small gripe I have is the linear method of attack. It's base of fire and flank...except when trying to flank I ran "out of bounds" with the invisible fence of the map edge. Great I am disappointed with the voice overs. I think they missed a great oppurtunity to give the game a real gritty, dark feel. They tried but it seems to come out pretty flaky more often than not. The other small gripe I have is the linear method of attack. It's base of fire and flank...except when trying to flank I ran "out of bounds" with the invisible fence of the map edge. Great graphics and great gameplay with the squad commands. Expand
  13. Kurak
    Apr 13, 2005
    9
    Nice game. better than call of duty. not so expensive.
  14. MatP.
    Apr 13, 2005
    9
    Terrific game. I don't know where all the guff about the graphics is coming from, this game looks sweet. Sure not up to HL2 or Doom3 standards, but it kicks CoD in the pants. The gameplay is deep and certainly can't go rambo all the time. While the situations are the same, the appoach you can take can always be different. Weapons are also historically accurate, in their Terrific game. I don't know where all the guff about the graphics is coming from, this game looks sweet. Sure not up to HL2 or Doom3 standards, but it kicks CoD in the pants. The gameplay is deep and certainly can't go rambo all the time. While the situations are the same, the appoach you can take can always be different. Weapons are also historically accurate, in their inaccurate hit area. A deep and engaging game that has frustrated me, but always brought me back. Worthy of all the credit it receives. Expand
  15. Guglielmo
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    Excellent squad work, Multiplayer is particular than the all matches in all the rest of first person shooters with squad operations, artificial intelligence better than cod and moh, very intersting missions with great action and adrenaline, very good historical recostruction. Very Good purchase!
  16. JarrydR.
    Jun 24, 2005
    9
    By far the best WW 2 GAME I have EVER played it brings MOA , COD and fullspectrum warrior all into one ... the MP is fun.and for that guy that said the AI is dumb play it on difficult or Authentic for a all out challange.... over and out.
  17. ScottS.
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    Wow!! I've been keeping a close watch on this game and I have been extremely impressed. I am an avid MOH and COD fan so this looks awesome. The squad-based syetem is a great addition to the ever growing World War II genre.
  18. [Anonymous]
    Mar 18, 2005
    9
    This is a strange game to review. Its graphics feel a bit outdated, it is based on the old unreal engine. But it gives a total new gaming experiance. It is a shooter, but not 'just' a shooter. They build 'a heart' in the game. It has a totally new approach to shooting and I like the gameplay very much. It feels a bit slow, a bit like the old 'operation This is a strange game to review. Its graphics feel a bit outdated, it is based on the old unreal engine. But it gives a total new gaming experiance. It is a shooter, but not 'just' a shooter. They build 'a heart' in the game. It has a totally new approach to shooting and I like the gameplay very much. It feels a bit slow, a bit like the old 'operation flashpoint'. Dont know if I would like to raise the score 1 point or lower the score 1 point in a week. Both are possible. Its an interesting game, as a W W 2 freak I am very happy with it. Not a game for a fast and furious FPS gamer. But its a very well done game. Expand
  19. Adam
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    Although the graphics weren't the best I have seen, this was one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences I have had since Half Life 1. The level of realism is outstanding and you really feel like you are there on the battlefield. If you are looking for an arcade style game, look elsewhere, but for a realistic WWII experience, it doesn't get any better than Brothers in Arms. Although the graphics weren't the best I have seen, this was one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences I have had since Half Life 1. The level of realism is outstanding and you really feel like you are there on the battlefield. If you are looking for an arcade style game, look elsewhere, but for a realistic WWII experience, it doesn't get any better than Brothers in Arms. Call of Duty and Medal of Honor don't even come close. Expand
  20. jensh
    Dec 28, 2008
    9
    this is by far 1 of the best games iv'e ever played the graphs are pretty good when u think about what year it's made in. i also think this is the only game i ever played that got emotion. the gameplay is great, they did alot into the tactics and it turned out pretty well even if your on the normal level then it's not just run and gun u have to use your sqaud/tank. the only this is by far 1 of the best games iv'e ever played the graphs are pretty good when u think about what year it's made in. i also think this is the only game i ever played that got emotion. the gameplay is great, they did alot into the tactics and it turned out pretty well even if your on the normal level then it's not just run and gun u have to use your sqaud/tank. the only thing about this game that could be better is the weapons they made the M1 garand and other types of rifles in the game a little too unaccurate Expand
  21. Aug 4, 2012
    8
    Someone said that this reminds of ,,Band of Brothers'' and it really does. It creates a bond between the characters and brings a nice, tactical gameplay and also amazing story. Its a special game with a unique viewing over WWII, where you can command a squad of soldiers and take consequences of your orders in every mission.
  22. Dec 19, 2015
    10
    its such a great game and one of the best from the brother in arms as it also have all real characters and real information about the war , while it game play goes to realistic more than gun and run
  23. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    I have only one word to describe the game in general: AMAZING ! Ubisoft successfully got rid of the shadows created by other WWII FPS games created by Activision or EA such as Call of Duty, Battlefield,... by offering players a chance to become both a soldier and a commander on the field. Flawless combination of authentic tactics and battle skills is one excellent point that makes thisI have only one word to describe the game in general: AMAZING ! Ubisoft successfully got rid of the shadows created by other WWII FPS games created by Activision or EA such as Call of Duty, Battlefield,... by offering players a chance to become both a soldier and a commander on the field. Flawless combination of authentic tactics and battle skills is one excellent point that makes this game stand out compared to the rest of WWII FPS ones. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 100
    It's not just its uncompromising realism or its emotive theme, it's the whole package -- great looks, fantastic sound, and a gameplay and plot structure that promotes bonding with the men under your command. Wrap that up with a slick control method and, for once, some tactical depth, and you're left with a very special recipe.
  2. 91
    Offering up engaging, squad-based battles and presenting it all in an authentic yet undeniably cinematic setting, Brothers in Arms is a game that, to borrow a phrase from General Patton, "grabs you by the nose and kicks you in the ass."
  3. Quite honestly the first realistic shooter I’ve found myself completely enthralled within. It’s cross between Medal of Honor/Call of Duty and Full Spectrum Warrior gameplay creates an experience that is fresh and compelling, while the multiplayer mode should make this one of the most popular titles around.