User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 158

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    MOST UNDERRATED GAME EVER!!!!!!

    I just dont get how can people dislike this game.. It AMAZING! The story is really, the characters are really likeable, and the game is FUN,, i recommend this game to EVERYONE!
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    MOST UNDERRATED GAME EVER!!!!!!

    One of the BEST games ever.. Simply AMAZING! The story is really, the characters are really likeable, and the game is FUN,, i recommend this game to EVERYONE!
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    A great game, I enjoyed the story and the gameplay, the characters are fun, free roam are full of animation. A beautiful game.
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    This was easily one of my favorite games on my Ps2, and i really enjoyed playing it on the PC as well.
    The Scholarship Edition adds a few new missions (Nothing major), some new school classes and improved graphics (As compared to the Ps2 version). I found the story enjoyable, and i loved the atmosphere surrounding the game. The game is best played with an Xbox 360 controller, but the
    Keyboard controls are fine as well. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    Bully is not GTA in a school campus just like RDR is not GTA in the old wild west. Bully is it's own game, and it's story plays out remarkably well. There is only one bad thing about this port: the control scheme. It is one of the first, if not the first game where Rockstar implements the XBox360 controller alongside keyboard controls, and it shows when trying to play with the keyboard. But apart from that, is a gaming experience not to be missed. The world doesn't feel as big and complex as it's contemporary GTA games (San Andreas), but there's a lot to do in it, even with the lackluster number of vehicles (a few types of pedal-bikes, a kart and wheelboard). The weapons in other games here became improvised "tools" like marbles, rotten eggs, fire-crackers and spud-guns, and the campus is just part of the game, with a (small) city waiting for Jimmy to evade into. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    It's rare that a developer goes from make a adult game about crime with very adult themes. To making a game about a high school kid who moves to a school for child delinquents and socially challenged kids, but in a lot of ways Bully is like a GTA. For example Bully is a giant open world with stuff to collect, bike races to do, arcade games to play, and much more to just kind of find.The mission structure is very similar to GTA, you do a bunch of work for one of the factions;like the jocks or the nerds, and the more the more you do work for one faction it can effect your standing with others. Which in turn can effect the way some of the people treat you at school. The combat is very similar but instead of machine guns and rocket launches. Your playing with slingshots and stink bombs. There are also a lot of things that are different about Bully that really makes it feel like your in high school it feel very structured, but that's not a bad thing at all. Like you have classes two times a day everyday until you pass the highest level of that class, and of you don't go the prefects or any adult of authority. All the classes have there own perks like one of the classes shows you where all the collectibles, and unlike the protagonists in GTA jimmy is 15 and needs his sleep so if your out past 2 you just pass out on the spot which can make some night missions feel a little too time restrictive.
    The story starts you out in a car ride with you and your mom and what seems to be your new stepdad. They then drop you off in the front of Bullyworth academy where you meet the principle and some of the teacher, but the fun starts to come in when you go to your dorm room and meet your new friend Gary, who is a sociopath, i don't know how else to put it.You soon start to become manipulated by him, and you two soon go your separate ways and you start to see less and less of him. You then start to do work for the other factions of the school. Playing Bully it kind of puts you back and makes you think about your time in high school, I know the archetypes aren't as plain and simple as they are in Bully but it does a great job of boiling a lot of the high school experience down to a 20 hour game.
    Then there are a few technical issues with bully I didn't really have too many other then the game crash on me a couple of times, and that just sucks after that happened for the first time a started saving much more frequently. I can't really say definitely how the game will turn out for you, but it didn't seem to bad. From my experience with it. Over all the game is well made but parts of it just seem kind of repetitive and broken;overall though I think it's a great game.
    Expand
  7. May 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played, fulfilling to play it for hours on end and has a great story arc. Characters are fantastic and hilarious! Really underrated game!
  8. May 21, 2012
    9
    Porting issues. A well known term of our age. But with this game we had no real performance or stability issues. The key is: Reviewers who played the game on another platform remember the controls, how natural it feels to control the game. But when you see a PC port, everything is different. You have to aim, you have new controls and more. It isn't bad. Except for some mouse gesture like controls (lockpicking) the controls can feel natural for a PC Gamer. The story, the mood is nice, but sadly something is missing. While you have classes, you don't have radio. And while it is easy to play music in backgrund, you won't have talk shows, commercials, etc. and in a GTA like game we just love commercials. We recognize how American companies advertise, we hear a similar add and laugh. This is how we feel the world of GTA as our World. Bully isn't only smaller, but it isn't as detailed as most GTA titles, and this feels. It is a more than decent game. The issues aren't serious. But from Rockstar you would expect a bit more. Collapse
  9. RSL
    Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can i say about this game that has not already been said? Not to much, this game is a hands down classic in every sense of the word, and still will be.
    Story:7/10
    The reason I'm giving the story a seven, is because there is not to much detail about Jimmy, and why he is going to bullworth, all we have is that he has a mean step dad and he is a trouble maker, we don't know WHAT he did

    Characters:10/10
    Why am i giving this a high rating you ask? Because all the characters are unique in their own way. Lets take Russel for example, he is a thug [Spoilers ahead] who in the end, turns out to be a loving person.

    Missions:9/10
    The reason i am giving this a nine is only because of the seasons. I never did like the idea of seasons in video games, but i absolutely HATED the winter season. From the tagging mission to the drunk Santa, the missions are also qwerky and replayabe

    Graphics:10/10
    [Nothing to say here]

    Ending:8/10
    In the end, you confront the bully Garry, who insults you as you chase him,
    Garry has a plan to take over bullworth, while Jimmy thinks other,
    Russel helps you, and a expelled student comes back.
    Garry gets expelled, and the principle is no longer on jimmy tail about anything.
    Expand
  10. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. It has good characters, cool missions, a nice story and funny dialogues. Also, they did a very good job with the soundtrack. A must-buy for GTA fans.
  11. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Esta version del Bully es magnifica, tiene mas variedad y sus graficos son inexplicables, me gusto mucho este juego y la verdad lo recomiendo;para mi la mejor es la de ps2.
  12. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games, I remember this as a child :D Way better than GTA IV in my opinion. Too bad they didn't make Bully 2, really was looking forward to it
  13. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I approve of this game, it is a good game and I like it because I learnt how to bully people and now I have become the school bully, even the teachers are afraid of me. However there is one person who is not, Harry Lamond
  14. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    The game itself is wonderful, no doubt. And when I started to play this PC edition(back in 2012), the much-complained crash issues were already totally solved by patches. It's perfect.
  15. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    Man, I cannot believe some of the people who gave this game a bad review. This was one of the best GTA style games I have played. The Graphics and gameplay are just ok but it the game is extremly fun to play. The charecters are really likeable and has one of the funniest story lines I have ever seen. I would defenatly recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a good game.

    Graphics: 7
    Sound: 9
    Gamplay: 6
    Fun: 10
    Expand
  16. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    Even to this day, Bully is a great game. The story was a bit lacking, but it did not sway me from the fun and satisfaction of its core game-play. Sure, popular series like GTA, has much more freedom in terms of exploration, weapons and vehicles, but is nothing compared to shooting slingshots and using every-day tools as weapons. Bully is a much more relateable game that sets the players inside the shoes of a new kid in a school filled stereotypical groups of friends, and most significantly, the big bad bullies themselves. This fact by itself enhances the gaming experience tremendously, it was the first game I didn't compel myself to stop taking break, and to get back into the game. I had completely lost myself into the game. Playing through the game from beginning to end felt more of a pleasure and privilege rather than a checked spot off my Completed Games" list. Expand
  17. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    One of the most underrated games It's got an great story awesome gameplay and a big world
    Only problem is PC optimization on newer systems which was chaotic until the patch
  18. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    Any rating under 8 is crap if you say it glitches then you sir or mistress have a crappy computer. Bully is amazing and i have to admit it is goes up there with JC2 and not too far below GTA IV or V
  19. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love Bully its fun and a gta game for kids. Its the the first rockstar game i played and still my fav game to date. The twist in the 1st chapter where garry betrays you AMAZING. But its opinion and i accept that. The soundtrack is stupendous with perfect music by Shaun Lee Expand
  20. May 21, 2012
    0
    Porting issues. A well known term of our age. But with this game we had no real performance or stability issues. The key is: Reviewers who played the game on another platform remember the controls, how natural it feels to control the game. But when you see a PC port, everything is different. You have to aim, you have new controls and more. It isn't bad. Except for some mouse gesture like controls (lockpicking) the controls can feel natural for a PC Gamer. The story, the mood is nice, but sadly something is missing. While you have classes, you don't have radio. And while it is easy to play music in backgrund, you won't have talk shows, commercials, etc. and in a GTA like game we just love commercials. We recognize how American companies advertise, we hear a similar add and laugh. This is how we feel the world of GTA as our World. Bully isn't only smaller, but it isn't as detailed as most GTA titles, and this feels. It is a more than decent game. The issues aren't serious. But from Rockstar you would expect a bit more. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 42
    Bully's biggest problem is that it's a shoddy port job, rife with technical missteps that wouldn't warrant comment if they weren't so profoundly damaging to the game.
  2. 78
    Uninspired classroom minigames and PC-specific porting and performance problems continue to frustrate our experience with the game, but never so much that we weren't willing to load it back up again to uncover the next chapter of the story.
  3. Welcome to Bullworth Academy, a melting pot of high school stereotypes. Outsiders are making plans to rule the world, teachers terrorize their pupils, sports aces and rock 'n rollers try to impress the girls while the posh students wrinkle their nose. While the GTA-style game itself is well done, the technical conversion to the PC is a bit sloppy. Should you ever be asked why video games are a cultural asset, show them Bully.