User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 34
  2. Negative: 21 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    0
    Bunch of Heroes...

    If you're wondering why you've never heard of this, it's because it's not worth telling anyone about. Here's a nice inclusive list of reasons why this game sucks harder than Hoover's entire product line. -a highly inaccurate 3d crosshair -auto-switching to melee when a solid object is in front of you (enemies, walls, teammates, etc) -the inability to aim the most
    Bunch of Heroes...

    If you're wondering why you've never heard of this, it's because it's not worth telling anyone about.

    Here's a nice inclusive list of reasons why this game sucks harder than Hoover's entire product line.

    -a highly inaccurate 3d crosshair
    -auto-switching to melee when a solid object is in front of you (enemies, walls, teammates, etc)
    -the inability to aim the most powerful attacks
    -overpowered enemies, even on the "Easy Mode"
    -very loose collision detection for power-ups
    -friendly fire which cannot be turned off
    -enemies with cheap attacks that come in swarms
    -no way to boost the strength of your character (no character growth, upgrades, unlockables, etc.)
    -enemies with invincible shields
    -very high software specs for very simple, graphically unimpressive gameplay
    -bugs which let enemies keep moving and attacking, even after taking a lethal hit
    -slow, clumsy matchmaking
    and last but not least
    -no ability to kick griefers (note again the always on friendly fire)

    Steam recently made a very poor decision to not only host this game, but also to promote it in their latest holiday gimmick. I recommend you don't fall for the ploy. Not only is this game not worth the bytes it occupies, let alone the money you'll pay for it, but given the vast amount of bugs and obnoxious difficulty, you'll be hard pressed to even accomplish the necessary achievement.

    Tl;dr?

    This game is buggier than a summer dumpster and just as enjoyable to play around with.
    Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    3
    I liked the gameplay. But when it came to using the controls *shudders*. I found the controls unresponsive, laggy and just all over the place (especially if you are using a gamepad/controller). I got it in a bundle. Thought it looked alright. Disappointed.
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    4
    To be honest, i just bought it for the Holiday Sale Achivement on Steam. This game is not worth it's full price. I've got it for nearly 3 euro and even then it seems like a waste of money. Unoriginal and repetetive gameplay. I had no fun at all, which is weird because i love games that involve shooting zombies in co-op. Iff you need something to play with your friends - buy Left4Dead,To be honest, i just bought it for the Holiday Sale Achivement on Steam. This game is not worth it's full price. I've got it for nearly 3 euro and even then it seems like a waste of money. Unoriginal and repetetive gameplay. I had no fun at all, which is weird because i love games that involve shooting zombies in co-op. Iff you need something to play with your friends - buy Left4Dead, Killing Floor or even mediocre Hauned: Hell's Reach. Just dont buy this boring game. Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2012
    3
    Could have been a good game if the developers had just opened their "do's and don't" manual for game programming. There are sooooo many little problems with this game that they add up to make it unplayable. You can't bind more than mouse left/middle/right even though there are 4 specialty actions in the game. The sound effects volume is ridiculously low (if you turn up your speakers, don'tCould have been a good game if the developers had just opened their "do's and don't" manual for game programming. There are sooooo many little problems with this game that they add up to make it unplayable. You can't bind more than mouse left/middle/right even though there are 4 specialty actions in the game. The sound effects volume is ridiculously low (if you turn up your speakers, don't forget to turn them down or you will BLOW THEM OUT). The game required me to roll back C++ to a previous version, which then effected several other games. The list goes on, but you get the point. This game could have easily been good with a little polish and some common sense. If you want a good top-down shooter try "Nation Red" or "Crimsonland" Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    3
    Just a horrible game. It's not fun at all. Why? Because the controls, shooting, spawning, moving, and objective elements are all terrible. This game tries to draw you in with the nostalgia factor, reminding you of the totally amazing Zombies Ate My Neighbors for SNES, however, the actual gameplay is so painful. Don't ever play this. The only thing good to come of this game is possiblyJust a horrible game. It's not fun at all. Why? Because the controls, shooting, spawning, moving, and objective elements are all terrible. This game tries to draw you in with the nostalgia factor, reminding you of the totally amazing Zombies Ate My Neighbors for SNES, however, the actual gameplay is so painful. Don't ever play this. The only thing good to come of this game is possibly reminding people how awesome games like Zombies Ate My Neighbors were. Sorry NGD Studios, but your game fails on every level. I'll give it a 3 because at least some of the art and graphics are decent. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2011
    2
    I'm not going to say that there is nothing redeeming about this game. It is fun to just kill zombies and aliens willy nilly. However this is completely lost in a horrible re-spawning system where every time you die the time you have to wait to come back doubles, friendly fire that is completely unavoidable that you can't turn off [And half of the weapons cause exploding damage that prettyI'm not going to say that there is nothing redeeming about this game. It is fun to just kill zombies and aliens willy nilly. However this is completely lost in a horrible re-spawning system where every time you die the time you have to wait to come back doubles, friendly fire that is completely unavoidable that you can't turn off [And half of the weapons cause exploding damage that pretty much means you will hit one of your friends] and a complete lack of healing. I played the game on EASY and spent more time dead then alive because apparently difficulty doesn't matter in this game, you will die. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    1
    I bought 4 copies of this game at full price on Steam. I wanted a co-op multiplayer game to play with my kids. I wasted my money. We played for an hour and have never touched the game since. I wasted my money, don't waste yours.

    (1) Its a hassle to setup a multiplayer game and you can't setup a private game or kick out unwelcome guests. (2) Its boring and repetative and there
    I bought 4 copies of this game at full price on Steam. I wanted a co-op multiplayer game to play with my kids. I wasted my money. We played for an hour and have never touched the game since. I wasted my money, don't waste yours.

    (1) Its a hassle to setup a multiplayer game and you can't setup a private game or kick out unwelcome guests.

    (2) Its boring and repetative and there is little skill. The game just involves running around in circles waiting for you guns to reload.

    (3) The monsters spawn as fast as you shoot them so there is rarely a feeling of progress or achievement.

    (4) In multi-player there is no pause and the monsters are perma spawning so there are no opportunities for rest or breaks.

    (5) The game made me sick. Literally. I got a headache after one hour like in the old days when I tried to play Doom II on my 486 at too high a resolution. The graphics are flickering.
    Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Dec 27, 2011
    45
    Generic missions, bland locations and poor humour make Bunch of Heroes an uneven battle not only against alien invaders but mostly against boredom. [January 2012, p.66]