User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2451 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 20, 2017
    9
    Simply the best Call of Duty game ever created. Infinity Ward redefined multiplayer, story and first person shooters with this incredible title. No Call of Duty Since has been able to surpass Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.

    9.3/10
  2. Apr 19, 2017
    9
    The game that introduced me to the competitive FPS scene. Brilliant game, great gunplay, and utterly groundbreaking for its time. This and Call of Duty: World at War, are the pinnacle of CoD. This franchise needs to go back to MW and WaW if it hopes to survive. The modern CoD games can't hold a candle to this one.
  3. Mar 4, 2017
    9
    Gerek hikayesi, gerekse oynanış bakımından; Çok üst seviyede bir yapım. Bu oyunla birlikte rakiplerinin çok üstüne çıkan Call Of Duty serisi, büyük bir kitleye kendini sevdirebildi.
  4. Feb 19, 2017
    10
    The best single player campaign I have ever played, even to this day.

    Great MP in it's time. Literally spent countless hours playing.

    Redefined the genre. Fantastic game.
  5. Nov 17, 2016
    9
    Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is a very solid experience. The singleplayer is really great for its kind. With interesting characters, intense gameplay and it's just a good way to learn the game. Because after that you jump into the multiplayer. And the multiplayer is perfect. Period. The only negatives I had and made me give it a 9 and not a 10 is that in the most of the servers theCall Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is a very solid experience. The singleplayer is really great for its kind. With interesting characters, intense gameplay and it's just a good way to learn the game. Because after that you jump into the multiplayer. And the multiplayer is perfect. Period. The only negatives I had and made me give it a 9 and not a 10 is that in the most of the servers the crosshair is missing and the spawning system is sometimes random. And with all that said this is one of the most fun military shooters out there. Get it. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2016
    9
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare spices up the shooter genre with its extremely fun, detailed multiplayer along with an enjoyable campaign that brings about a new level of storyline.
  7. Nov 10, 2016
    9
    Культовая игра.
    Наикрутейший сингл, взрывавший мозг в своё время и мультиплеер подаривший кучу эмоций и килл-стриков. Радует то, что люди ещё играют (в оригинал, а не в ремастер).
    Шедевр, который устарел лишь в плане графики.
    Культовая игра.
    Наикрутейший сингл, взрывавший мозг в своё время и мультиплеер подаривший кучу эмоций и килл-стриков. Радует то, что люди ещё играют (в оригинал, а не в ремастер).
    Шедевр, который устарел лишь в плане графики.
  8. Nov 6, 2016
    10
    I LOVE THİS GAME AND I MİSS SO MUCH.Activison must be create new modern warfare series because lots of call of duty fans wants come back modern warfare.
  9. Oct 25, 2016
    10
    + Definitely the best game in the series and one of my favorite multiplayer modes of any FPS to date.
    - Sold under ten different names since release date. Yeah, they really milked this cash cow!
  10. Aug 9, 2016
    10
    Best Call of Duty game ever. it was a revolutionary game in 2007. The story is so beautiful with a lot of twists. I played it at least 10 times and i recommend this masterpiece
  11. Aug 7, 2016
    9
    Let's go back to when Call of duty was good and see how good it was.

    Presentation 8.5/10 It's great, it represents the story correctly. Story 9.1/10 Great parody of saddam al hussein and memorable characters Graphics-9.5/10 At the time, those were revolutionary graphics. Sound/Music-9/10 The music and sound is deep and atmospheric in this game. Online functionality-7/10
    Let's go back to when Call of duty was good and see how good it was.

    Presentation 8.5/10
    It's great, it represents the story correctly.

    Story 9.1/10
    Great parody of saddam al hussein and memorable characters

    Graphics-9.5/10
    At the time, those were revolutionary graphics.

    Sound/Music-9/10
    The music and sound is deep and atmospheric in this game.

    Online functionality-7/10
    I wish you could use steam or activision's servers instead of punkbuster but it's fun to play modded servers.

    Options-9/10
    There are a great amount of options in this game including turning off blood for young players but no monitor switching.

    Gameplay-9.4/10
    The gameplay is just so addictive in this game that I can only play this game in one sitting, I'm sorry but it's true.

    Lasting appeal-9.8/10
    This is a game that can appeal to casuals and core gamers.

    Verdict: With great presentation, amazing story, breathtaking graphics, atmoshperic sound, good online functionality, superb options, spectacular gameplay and stellar appeal.
    This game is obviously amazing.

    9.2/10(Amazing)
    Expand
  12. Jul 10, 2016
    10
    Questo gioco è il capostipite di tutta una serie di COD, che per un verso o per l'altro non sono mai riusciti a raggiungere lo stesso livello di perfezione. In COD 4, gli effetti cinematografici, gli scenari densi di azione, gli elicotteri abbattuti, colpiscono per la prima volta e determinano un'immersione senza pari. E questo solo osservando gli aspetti Single Player. Ovviamente, ilQuesto gioco è il capostipite di tutta una serie di COD, che per un verso o per l'altro non sono mai riusciti a raggiungere lo stesso livello di perfezione. In COD 4, gli effetti cinematografici, gli scenari densi di azione, gli elicotteri abbattuti, colpiscono per la prima volta e determinano un'immersione senza pari. E questo solo osservando gli aspetti Single Player. Ovviamente, il Multiplayer di COD4 è la Storia, con la S maiuscola, semplice ed efficace. Expand
  13. Jul 6, 2016
    9
    Cod MW is the best cod game there is. It was an enjoyable game and some people still play it using programs like Game ranger. The maps in the game are very memorable because of how unique each one was. And it has the fking deagle dude, very sexc gun. The newer cods are a pukefest and the games are just being milked out of rotting cow carcass.
  14. May 31, 2016
    10
    Quite dated, for sure. But, personally, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare stands as the best title from the Modern Warfare saga. Anyone would love a remaster of this masterpiece. Enough said.
  15. Apr 18, 2016
    8
    Un aire fresco para el mundo shooter en su epoca, pasar de la segunda guerra mundial a un escenario actual con gran variedad de mapas y misiones fue un paso necesaorio a mi entender. Problemas actuales y conflictos mas faciles de entender o captar ya que se desarrollan en este tiempo hacen que sea facil seguirle la mano a la trama, sin enbargo esta no es de otro mundo aunque para unUn aire fresco para el mundo shooter en su epoca, pasar de la segunda guerra mundial a un escenario actual con gran variedad de mapas y misiones fue un paso necesaorio a mi entender. Problemas actuales y conflictos mas faciles de entender o captar ya que se desarrollan en este tiempo hacen que sea facil seguirle la mano a la trama, sin enbargo esta no es de otro mundo aunque para un shooter esta mas que bien. Buen juego, a pesar de que no saoy fanatico del genero reconozco que le di mis viciadas al juego, pero sigue siendo un shooter, aun asi esta bastante bien. Expand
  16. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  17. Feb 3, 2016
    10
    The best call of duty ever.... amazing game and amazing game of war, my favourit game of war simply perfect game-------------------------------------- :D
  18. Jan 30, 2016
    9
    this game is a classic shooter from old days, always a blast mowing down enemies with different machine guns and exploding and grenading other people at the same time XD
  19. Dec 27, 2015
    8
    What a dense *scripted* atmosphere! The storyline is flat and too linear - but every single mission lets you forget that fact. Graphics and physics aren't really next gen. Multiplayer is very fast and enjoyable, but not as revulutionary as some reviews want to make us believe. Squad play is much better in BF2142 I think. There are no playable vehicles. And the weapon upgrade system isWhat a dense *scripted* atmosphere! The storyline is flat and too linear - but every single mission lets you forget that fact. Graphics and physics aren't really next gen. Multiplayer is very fast and enjoyable, but not as revulutionary as some reviews want to make us believe. Squad play is much better in BF2142 I think. There are no playable vehicles. And the weapon upgrade system is nothing to write home about. But still my new favorite online shooter. Expand
  20. Dec 12, 2015
    9
    Gameplay : 9
    Graphics : 9
    Story : 9
    Sound : 10
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 9
  21. Dec 1, 2015
    10
    If you have been living under a rock and have yet to play call of duty then this is definitely the place to start. The story is excellent and the gameplay makes you feel like you're part of the military. It makes a great nod to the older cfall of duty's while setting a standard for the fps genre. Definitely play this game and be sad that you missed the high points of its multiplayer.
  22. Dec 1, 2015
    10
    BEST Call of duty game EVER . .
  23. Nov 23, 2015
    10
    The game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rate this 10/10
  24. Nov 22, 2015
    8
    A great game, but probably the most overated FPS on the PS3. I only first played this game in 2015 just to try it out and although I had fun, there were a few small things that irked me a little.

    First off, the good: -A super fun, challenging FPS with amazing level design -Live multiplayer is still active as of late 2015 and is a blast to play The Bad: -The environment could have
    A great game, but probably the most overated FPS on the PS3. I only first played this game in 2015 just to try it out and although I had fun, there were a few small things that irked me a little.

    First off, the good:
    -A super fun, challenging FPS with amazing level design
    -Live multiplayer is still active as of late 2015 and is a blast to play

    The Bad:
    -The environment could have been tweaked better, ei. the sky and grass doesn't move and the graphics aren't as good as Resistance:Fall of Man which game out a year before
    -There isn't much to the single player campaign, it would have been nice to collect more items and unlock more features or skills based on your style of playing
    -The characters are pretty impersonable unlike other FPS games like Killzone 2, Bad Company 2 and Wolfenstein

    Overall the game is still a lot of fun, I guess I just thought that it would be a step up from Resistance: Fall of Man since ot came out a year later. Regardless, I can still understand why it's a classic.
    Expand
  25. Nov 21, 2015
    10
    Best Game Of The World Of All Time.
    Story, Musics & Sounds and Voices, Gameplay and Graphic of 2007.
    Remember Cpt. Price, Soap MacTavish and Zakhaev!
    Remember 15 years ago ...
  26. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    Awesome game! Campaign was amazing, not to mention "All Ghillied Up" as the coolest mission. The storyline made alot of sense, compared to MW2 where there were several obvious plot holes. Multiplayer was also super fun, with basic killstreaks, with just UAV, airstrike and heli. The perks were very balanced, as juggernaut could be stopped by stopping power. There were some useless ones likeAwesome game! Campaign was amazing, not to mention "All Ghillied Up" as the coolest mission. The storyline made alot of sense, compared to MW2 where there were several obvious plot holes. Multiplayer was also super fun, with basic killstreaks, with just UAV, airstrike and heli. The perks were very balanced, as juggernaut could be stopped by stopping power. There were some useless ones like eavesdrop. Who the HELL uses that? And that x3 frags was annoying as f*ck. Both aspects were good, with a couple but minor flaws. Like that mission Heat. Going down to the LZ was tough, plus on veteran the OpFor spawned INFINITELY! I don't know if MW2 or MW3 did that, since I didn't play them on veteran yet, but spamming all those grenades really made my break a couple keys on my keyboard. Expand
  27. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    Singly player is cliche now only because it is one of the first big modern military shooters, but holds up well enough and is diverse (missions have elements of gunship support, assault, stealth, defense, house-to-house search and destroy, tactical retreat). There's no ridiculous Hollywood setpieces like in MW2 and MW3 which is a plus for me. The shock and awe moment was pretty spectacularSingly player is cliche now only because it is one of the first big modern military shooters, but holds up well enough and is diverse (missions have elements of gunship support, assault, stealth, defense, house-to-house search and destroy, tactical retreat). There's no ridiculous Hollywood setpieces like in MW2 and MW3 which is a plus for me. The shock and awe moment was pretty spectacular when viewed for the first time, although I did not feel emotion for Jackson as he expired (come on if you want to tell a anti-war narrative a 5 min section of game will not deliver the message). The ending was as brutal as it needed to be I suppose, not everyone lives in wars fictional or not, but the important characters live.

    The multiplayer is, again, dull by today's standards, but it set the standard for all CoD's to follow. Killstreaks, perks, class creation, challenges, and ranks, are all present in the most recent CoDs. Gameplay wise the perks are somewhat unbalanced, but then again, this is the first time so it's understandable. The weapons had a oddball in the MP44 from IW's WWII days but were generally balanced enough for online play. AK's and MP5s rules yes, but M16's and M40A3's don't drool either. Frag *3 and martyrdoom are shyt annoying especially on small maps, but they're really situational and bandolier is far more utilitarian in its usefulness. The PC version is also noted as the last CoD with dedicated servers, some of which still runs today and are administrated by private parties/clans who keep the game clean for the players.

    This game came out 8 years ago, and the gaming industry have changed considerably. Call of Duty have been at least one of the leaders of the FPS genere to this day and owe its success and infamy to CoD4's innovations. Personally this game spans the longest time for me by far. I started playing this in 2009 on a GeForce 9800 GT and now in 2015, a GTX 960. CoD4 the game I would rate 7/10 now, and 10/10 in 2007. Although one day in the future, when I look back at the early years of the CoD franchaise, I would rate CoD4 20/10 for its contributions to the genre.

    PS: Eavesdrop is the worst perk of all time in Call of Duty history, never use it. Same goes for MP44
    Expand
  28. Nov 1, 2015
    10
    one of the best call of duty ever made.
    If you looking for a great call of duty you should get this one. back were games were made for players to have fun and playing online for more than just 1 year. back to the times were call of duty wasnt a money printing game for acitvision
  29. Oct 14, 2015
    9
    Review Call of Duty Black Ops 1
    This game is very good you can rid plans and shoot guns and you can frown bombs and that’s the good point about the game. You can blow up cars and smash glass windows if you think you are that good you can kill people with knifes and you can pick up their guns and other stuff. This game is not recommended for a five years old because it has too much visions
    Review Call of Duty Black Ops 1
    This game is very good you can rid plans and shoot guns and you can frown bombs and that’s the good point about the game. You can blow up cars and smash glass windows if you think you are that good you can kill people with knifes and you can pick up their guns and other stuff. This game is not recommended for a five years old because it has too much visions in this games. You can kill people bye frowning bombs the sound is normal and you can’t go on to every part of the filled, because they booked of parts of it so you only get a part of a fill to play.
    Expand
  30. Sep 10, 2015
    10
    This is the best Call of Duty ever made. The multiplayer is epic and the campaign is the best I've ever played in and FPS game. The only complaint I have is that you can't shoot through walls and objects like the newer cod's.
  31. Aug 31, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. best cod ever. this and halo 3 were fantasic. spolier alert... when the nuke went out in cod 4. if was shocked when 3,000 men died. that was a bone-ass moment. mulitplayer, i did a 360 noscope with a r700 sniper. if you love cod please pick this one up. Expand
  32. Jul 2, 2015
    10
    This game was amazing for its time, due to it being innovative, its good story telling, new setting, addicting multiplayer and simplistic design.

    Simply A Masterpiece.
  33. Jun 15, 2015
    9
    Previously pretty hardcore playing Counter Strike: Source as well as Counter Strike: Global Offensive, CoD 4 was pretty solid. I didn't expect much out of it originally, but it has turned out to be very good and somewhat less smurf and cheater filled than the Counter Strike community as a whole. I noticed as there is no voice chat, all the "Yo Momma" jokes go away magically, making you aPreviously pretty hardcore playing Counter Strike: Source as well as Counter Strike: Global Offensive, CoD 4 was pretty solid. I didn't expect much out of it originally, but it has turned out to be very good and somewhat less smurf and cheater filled than the Counter Strike community as a whole. I noticed as there is no voice chat, all the "Yo Momma" jokes go away magically, making you a god immune to annoying kids who aren't mature enough to play Call of Duty. Bravo, Infinity Ward. I feel like this will somewhat replace CS in my daily game playing agenda. Expand
  34. May 16, 2015
    10
    I love fps games it's my favorite. Multi player is best and the campaign......... wow!!! Nice graphic, nice guns, nice story, good levels. And the captain Price ,,Tango is down". Come on just play. (even ,today after eight years)
  35. Mar 29, 2015
    10
    A masterpiece of a shooter buy it at all costs!
    Great singleplayer and multiplayer would like to see co op but for that you have cod 5 world at war...
  36. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    Modern Warfare is a fantastic game and a true classic. Both the single and multi players are exceptional. My breakdown is as follows:

    1. Graphics: 8/10 - excellent for its time
    2. Gameplay: 8/10 - great controls, and satisfying gameplay
    3. Story: 7/10 - interesting story, but relatively simple.
    4. Multiplayer: 8/10 - competitive and fun

    Overall, an excellent game.
  37. Dec 3, 2014
    9
    It is one of the best games, especially COD series. I mean at least for me it is just a good game. I hope these 2 series game you will be as good as the first one.
  38. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    One of the best shooter out there!
    The campaign was excellent, the online mode was a milestone.
    For me this is definitely the best Call of Duty, the single player I play nowadays. The online mode exactly

    Perfect, I would hope, CoD makes something like this again.
  39. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    Beste game ever made in the Call of duty series, outstanding gameplay, hours of fun, great graphs, this game got everything you would expect from a modern first person shooter
  40. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    Best FPS I have ever played. Of all the COD games out there I could play I would chose this 7 year old game over a 1 year old piece of crap.
    10/10 would recommend.
  41. Oct 27, 2014
    8
    Great fun. A bit shallow compared to the Battlefield series of games in my opionion since there are no vehicles, but obviously, it doesn't have that ambition. Great maps, good fun and nice atmosphere. Pretty bad sounds though, especially the gun sounds sound very digitally constructed. All in all a great game.
  42. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    This is the best Call of Duty ever made. The multiplayer is epic and the campaign is the best I've ever played in and FPS game. The only complaint I have is that you can't shoot through walls and objects like the newer cod's.
  43. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    10/10 it was Alright - ihaterunescape1
    I have a tiny penis, now the game play was **** my score was **** my mum told me i was a noob camper and took the controller and played it herself, i haven't been able to use the tv or seen her since, she hasn't left the room since last year, is she ded?
  44. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. call of duty 4 modern warfare is the best game ever, the gameplay is fast and simple, so many weapons, very few cheats, maps of normal size and if you have a clan this game is for you Expand
  45. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    Many people consider this to be the best Call of Duty game to date and I can agree with them. The game has very interesting campaign with very likeable characters. Missions take place all over the world with a many different objectives. There's a huge variety of weapons both in singleplayer and multiplayer. Multiplayer was also very good, there's a lot of people still playing and it has aMany people consider this to be the best Call of Duty game to date and I can agree with them. The game has very interesting campaign with very likeable characters. Missions take place all over the world with a many different objectives. There's a huge variety of weapons both in singleplayer and multiplayer. Multiplayer was also very good, there's a lot of people still playing and it has a neat level up system. Graphics are also very good. All in all I have to say that this is one of the most fun FPS I've ever played and it might be one of the best FPS overall. Expand
  46. faf
    Aug 6, 2014
    9
    I recently decided to replay the entire Call of Duty series and started with CoD4. Even after almost 6 years the game remains epic. The single player campaign starts to feel slightly linear when you get near the end but it doesn't have much of an impact on the game-play and it all remains one big action packed ride from the first time you pull the trigger to the last. Did not get intoI recently decided to replay the entire Call of Duty series and started with CoD4. Even after almost 6 years the game remains epic. The single player campaign starts to feel slightly linear when you get near the end but it doesn't have much of an impact on the game-play and it all remains one big action packed ride from the first time you pull the trigger to the last. Did not get into multiplayer again but from what I remember from the many hours spent playing it was brilliant. Expand
  47. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. I know what you are thinking: haven't I given this game a terrible review before? Well, to tell you the truth, the real reasons why I didn't like this game at first are that for one thing, so many people hate this series' most recent installments. Along with that, I just couldn't get over how the Search and Destroy multiplayer mode was just a carbon copy ofCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. I know what you are thinking: haven't I given this game a terrible review before? Well, to tell you the truth, the real reasons why I didn't like this game at first are that for one thing, so many people hate this series' most recent installments. Along with that, I just couldn't get over how the Search and Destroy multiplayer mode was just a carbon copy of Counter-Strike. However, I then played the original Call of Duty (back when the game was WWII based rather than a fictional modern war), and I really enjoyed it. I then wondered: should I give this game another try? So, did I enjoy this game more the second time around, or do I still want to attack the people that created this game? Let's find out. This game plays a lot like any other first-person shooter. You have multiple weapons, there are plenty of enemies to fight, and pretty much everything else that makes a shooter what it is. The difference between this game and the others is that this game is much more cinematic. Because this game takes place in a modern war, you will often be fighting with squad members, explosions and firefights going on in the background, and many more enemies to fight than in a normal shooter. This game also succeeds where I have seen many other shooters fail: when I play this game, I actually feel like I'm in the middle of a war. While there have been shooters that prove that war is not necessary to make a good shooter, (Half-Life 1, BioShock, Doom, Borderlands), Call of Duty 4 really shines in how it makes you feel like you're in the middle of a war. I originally harshly criticized this game's AI. However, looking back at it, the AI really isn't that bad. At the very least, it does get the job done of making you feel like you're in a war. The game may also be very easy, but that doesn't mean it isn't fun. It is also redundant, but it is redundant in a way that is fresh and enjoyable. As for the lack of skill, as it turns out, I was also wrong here. It does actually require some skill to kill enemies. In the end, the single player campaign is actually pretty good, and I don't know why I didn't enjoy it at first. As for the multiplayer, I actually enjoyed it a lot more the second time around when I played it. Yes, its modes are taken from other shooters, however, it feels far more fresh and new here. In Unreal Tournament team deathmatch, your team is mostly spread out, and you fight through corridors. Here, you all start out in the same spot, and you fight in much more open areas. The same goes for normal deathmatch and domination. As for Search and Destroy, while it does rip-off Counter-Strike, it also makes more of a use of the open maps. It also has two unique modes called Headquarters and Sabotage that are really fun to play. Also, I criticized the kill streaks in my first review, but I now realize that the kill streaks actually make the game far more unique, and not just "Unreal Tournament in Modern Warfare". The gameplay of this game is actually pretty enjoyable, and I have no idea why I criticized it at first. As for the graphics, while they do look somewhat dated even by 2007, they certainly don't look muddy. They actually look really good. The environments are actually very well detailed, and pretty to look at. The soldiers look good too. It may not look as good as Crysis or BioShock, both of which were released on the same year, but it still looks quite good nonetheless. As for the story, I originally thought it was terrible because it was too easy to understand and explain. However, I now realize that I was wrong about this. It is actually good because it is easy to understand and explain. Basically the British and the U.S. Army have to go across the world to Russia and the Middle East in order to stop terrible men from taking over the world. The game may have a huge lack of character development, but I feel like it's not really needed here. In fact, the game is good enough with out that. The story may not be as good as the gameplay and graphics, but it is compelling enough to be interested in. Overall, this game is nowhere near is bad as I initially said it was. I was letting the haters of this franchise cloud my judgement. It really is a pretty solid game. I would recommend it to pretty much anyone who is a shooter fanboy. It is not the best shooter ever made or anything. However, it is safe to say I will not criticize this franchise anymore. To all of you Call of Duty players out there who want to play the game, go right ahead. I will not even try to stop you.
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Story: 8/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  48. Jul 22, 2014
    8
    In my opinion the best call of duty in the series. The story is good the multiplayer is good and people are still playing it. I highly recommend getting it at full price and definitely on a sale.
  49. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    next to halo 3, the best mp game ever. after that all cod´s were ****
  50. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Я считаю, что эта часть серии игр Call of Duty самая лучшая как по сюжету так и по multyplayer. Эта игра мне запомнилась миссией в, которой нужно спасти и нести генерала Милана когда его ноги сломала вертушка вражеского вертолета. Мультипеер очень интересный и прост в освоении.Я считаю, что эта часть серии игр Call of Duty самая лучшая как по сюжету так и по multyplayer. Эта игра мне запомнилась миссией в, которой нужно спасти и нести генерала Милана когда его ноги сломала вертушка вражеского вертолета. Мультипеер очень интересный и прост в освоении.
  51. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    Graphics,mechanics,maneuver,sound,etc,all of it are just marvelous.
    The work of FPS most imitated by most other FPS,too exaggerated?
    Modern Warfare 1&2 are both good. 图像,游戏机制,操控,音效以及等等,所有部分都令人惊叹。 第一人称射击游戏中被最多其他第一人称射击游戏模仿最多的,是不是太夸张了? 现代战争1和2两代都是好作品。
    Graphics,mechanics,maneuver,sound,etc,all of it are just marvelous.
    The work of FPS most imitated by most other FPS,too exaggerated?
    Modern Warfare 1&2 are both good.
    图像,游戏机制,操控,音效以及等等,所有部分都令人惊叹。
    第一人称射击游戏中被最多其他第一人称射击游戏模仿最多的,是不是太夸张了?
    现代战争1和2两代都是好作品。
  52. May 4, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It have been a while since I played this game but I remember every second of it. The campaign was really intense and 1 of the best of the COD series. Also it was the last COD that was really ahead of its time. Its a shame the developers of COD started to care more about their purse then about their fans. This is why I stopped loving this series, a shame. Expand
  53. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is a perfect example of an FPS with both amazing multiplayer and singleplayer. It also introduced the whole RPG-based level-up system, causing many gamers to spend any sort of social life they had left on this addictive level-up system.
  54. Apr 25, 2014
    8
    I love this game. The multiplayer is fun and the single player is actually good. But since there is too many hackers, I can't have as much fun as I used to.
  55. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    one of the biggest most exciting game i have ever played . Call of duty series is the fun games i have ever played . there so much better and a lot fun . Grade A+
  56. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!! The best call of duty ever!!! The best call of duty ever!!! The best call of duty ever!!! The best call of duty ever!!! The best call of duty ever!!! The best call of duty ever!!! The best call of duty ever!!! The best call of duty ever!!! The best call of duty ever!!! The best call of
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    The best call of duty ever!!!
    Expand
  57. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    best call of duty game that was ever made,6 games later and they still did not made a game that even can compete to this one. great great gameplay. hours of fun!
  58. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    That's one of my favorite games. An epic story that should impress every player. The events and the characters are well chosen. And the gameplay is unprecedented. The multiplayer is an amazing fun. A masterpiece. That's good entertainment.
  59. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Can't believe this game is almost 7 years old. I have playd this game for years and for me CoD4 is the last real Call of Duty. Singleplayer campaign is really short, but for its time it was breathtaking. Multiplayer is the best part of this game. Promod is making it one of the best progaming titles of all the time and even if this game is not one of the most played mutliplayer FPSs now,Can't believe this game is almost 7 years old. I have playd this game for years and for me CoD4 is the last real Call of Duty. Singleplayer campaign is really short, but for its time it was breathtaking. Multiplayer is the best part of this game. Promod is making it one of the best progaming titles of all the time and even if this game is not one of the most played mutliplayer FPSs now, there is a lot of good servers where you cal play. Expand
  60. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    By far the best Call of Duty. It set a spark in the gaming world and to this day the same engine and graphics are used in the newest Call of Duties. Unlike every other Call of Duty title (except for the sequels) you actually want to do the campaign and the campaign is amazing at that. The multiplayer for this set the standard for all coming multiplayer games to live up to. I don't thinkBy far the best Call of Duty. It set a spark in the gaming world and to this day the same engine and graphics are used in the newest Call of Duties. Unlike every other Call of Duty title (except for the sequels) you actually want to do the campaign and the campaign is amazing at that. The multiplayer for this set the standard for all coming multiplayer games to live up to. I don't think the world of gaming would be the same without it and it is without a doubt a masterpiece. Expand
  61. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    2007 nyeonttae really huge impact and left a lingering game. Now a lot of time in the past, then the impact is not eternal but feel though that great masterpiece!
  62. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    The only good Modern Warfare game. It has a great campaign mode and it's more original than the others. And it has the greatest Multiplayer without a doubt. There is nothing really original and useful innovation after this game. C'mon Activision!!
  63. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    In an ideal world, the masses would still be playing this game, as it is essentially identical to MW:Ghosts. Unfortunately people are stupid and they purchase re-hashed versions of COD4 over and over again so the player population is all over the place.

    Seriously, this game defined the shooter genre we know today. No need to buy "new" shooters.
  64. Jan 17, 2014
    8
    Bought it 6 years ago. 6 YEARS AGO. I'm still occasionally playing it to this day. Unlike recent cods, this game has an absolute amazing multiplayer gameplay, with maps in various different sizes and designs for all players except 64v64 madnesses.

    Weapon balancing is great, leveling progression is somewhat decent. I'm dissapointed they didn't add prestiges for the PC version which is
    Bought it 6 years ago. 6 YEARS AGO. I'm still occasionally playing it to this day. Unlike recent cods, this game has an absolute amazing multiplayer gameplay, with maps in various different sizes and designs for all players except 64v64 madnesses.

    Weapon balancing is great, leveling progression is somewhat decent. I'm dissapointed they didn't add prestiges for the PC version which is the reason I'm giving this an 8 instead of a 9 or 10.

    Modding coudn't be less great! You want to play zombies? Okay, heres a server. You want to play promod? Okay, heres a server. You want to play paintball? Okay, heres a server!

    IW did a great job on this game, but it really was the community which gave it such an excellent flavour.
    Expand
  65. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    it is an awesome game probably the last one or one of the last good call of duty game. now they are doing some crap stuff with the call of duty games but they were doing awesome game before how this happened but this game as beautifull graphics it's a very good game at my eyes can't blame this game yes it is a litlle short but it still deserve a 10/10
  66. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    I've played all Call of Duty games (yes, all!) and this is the crown jewel. It's simply one of the best games I've ever played. I've spent hours and hours playing it, and the fact that now in 2014 there are loads of people still out there playing multi-player says a lot. The only other COD game that comes close to the greatness of this game is MW2. The others are more or less forgettable.
  67. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    i am not a big fan of the call of duty franchise, but this game is completely different, the multi-player aspect is absolutely brilliant, especially the search and destroy game-mode, in my opinion even the best of the complete franchise. The single player mode is a bit short, but also brilliant. I've been playing this game for a couple of years now, and i still can't get enough of it.
  68. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    There is only one word to say about this game: AWESOME. Infinity Ward did succeeded in getting rid of the old-fashion WWII-based script to create a whole new imaginary yet quite realistic world of wars and chaos, which impressed me completely. This is, for sure, the best game of the year
  69. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    I've played the fantastic campaign for this game multiple times and have spent many hours on the even-more-fantastic multiplayer. I've played all of the Call of Duty titles since and none of them have a campaign near as good as on Call of Duty 4, and only World at War comes close to being as fun as the multiplayer on this one.
  70. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call Of Duty 4 Modern Warfare is the first COD game I ever owned. This is the only COD game i think is better then Battlefield. -Battlefield 4 But the reason it is so good is becuase you can connect to the characters in the campaign and also the modding community is amazing! It's so good they have such good mods eg. Star Wars mod and Prop hunt. The gameplay is spectacular and all the guns feel real. There were a few jumpy bits. Like in one of the missions dogs jump you. You can hear them but you can't see them. My favoraite mission is War Pig. I love seeing the AI being slaughtered in that mission.
    I recommend this game till the day I die. I will never forget this game!
    Expand
  71. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    The game that defined a whole generation of First-Person Shooters.

    The fourth major installment and arguably the best Call of Duty game ever, this is Modern Warfare. The series takes it's departure from their typical World War II games and strolls into modern-day war in the most epic and cinematic way. While playing the game, you actually feel like you're in the action and your NPC
    The game that defined a whole generation of First-Person Shooters.

    The fourth major installment and arguably the best Call of Duty game ever, this is Modern Warfare. The series takes it's departure from their typical World War II games and strolls into modern-day war in the most epic and cinematic way. While playing the game, you actually feel like you're in the action and your NPC brothers in arms have feeling and seems really humane, from the graphics to the sound. Multiplayer also takes a big step up, but the focus on the game seems more weighted toward the online modes than other aspects. Playing with your buds have never been so fun. This my friends is a winner, but I'm unsure if the series or military shooters in general is taking a turn for the best or worse because of this game....
    Expand
  72. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Best of the series. Great graphics, good map layouts, decent arsenal and fun fast paced action. Satisfiying Multiplayer experience. Even for today you can always come back to it and play. Golden times before IW turned into an money hoe.
  73. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Also were able to do before Infinity Ward Call of-Duty. All on 10 points, nowhere reproach. The best part in the series! All those who did not play, running for a gamepad or keyboard!
  74. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    COD4 multiplayer had a lot of unique features and PERKS that were balanced and gave fresh feel that had me keep coming back for many hours. Over the hours of play some people would find perks they found that other players had that were annoying but yet it played a roll in the balance of things and this IMHO was a key successor for most of my enjoyment. Being able to switch things up andCOD4 multiplayer had a lot of unique features and PERKS that were balanced and gave fresh feel that had me keep coming back for many hours. Over the hours of play some people would find perks they found that other players had that were annoying but yet it played a roll in the balance of things and this IMHO was a key successor for most of my enjoyment. Being able to switch things up and have fun and even doing lobbies with friends. Looking back I appreciate no care packages and the wide range of the maps some maps had choke points, some were round and open and there really was not a formula for maps like there is in their other installments. Overall the multiplayer had me hooked but the only downfall is the campaign can be slightly disappointing. Expand
  75. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    This game revolutionized the series. Great graphics, simple jump in and play gameplay and mainly loads and loads of fun. The singleplayer, although short, was loads of fun as well. I must have spent a couple hundred hours on this game's multiplayer. Definitely the best in the series, too bad they turned it into a corporate cash cow after this game and didn't just leave it at that
  76. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    The Call of Duty's fame started here. This is the best Call of Duty yet! Graphics were too much for 2007, gameplay is freaking great and the multiplayer is the best! This is really worth your money and it's better than Call of Duty: Ghosts.
  77. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Graphics 9.5/10
    Gameplay 10/10
    Controls 10/10
    Story 9/10
    Characters 7/10
    Level design 9/10
    Weapons 10/10
    AI 8/10
    Multiplayer 10/10
    Presentation 10/10
    User Interface 10/10
    Sounds 10/10
    Music 10/10
  78. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Am I the only one who enjoys cod4 multiplayer more than Team Fortress 2 after the Uber Update?
  79. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This game, at this time, is not the current best MP, in my opinion. But when this game came out... It set the bar for MP in FPS's. By far being the most polished at it's time, COD 4 was the highest point in the Call of Duty series. This game is THE game that people base generic FPS's off of, to this day. And to that... I can't praise it enough since FPS is my favorite genre. HIGHLYThis game, at this time, is not the current best MP, in my opinion. But when this game came out... It set the bar for MP in FPS's. By far being the most polished at it's time, COD 4 was the highest point in the Call of Duty series. This game is THE game that people base generic FPS's off of, to this day. And to that... I can't praise it enough since FPS is my favorite genre. HIGHLY recommend for anyone who likes a great shooter. Expand
  80. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    The Call of Duty series since inception has been a title about high energy dramatic set pieces against a backdrop of World War II. Under the careful guidance of WWII digital veterans Infinity Ward the series dips its toe into the messy politics of the 21st century. Pacing is intensified over any previous installment as small sandbox set pieces are delivered in rapid succession giving fewThe Call of Duty series since inception has been a title about high energy dramatic set pieces against a backdrop of World War II. Under the careful guidance of WWII digital veterans Infinity Ward the series dips its toe into the messy politics of the 21st century. Pacing is intensified over any previous installment as small sandbox set pieces are delivered in rapid succession giving few moments of breath or contemplation to the gravity of unfolding events. Moving satellite photos and news reports thrust the player in and out of conflicts all over the globe never giving the player a chance to ever fully explore or tire of any location.

    The world of Modern Warfare is vast, chaotic and chillingly relevant. The high octane set pieces are designed to rival anything Hollywood has tried to create at a high cost of not connecting with any individual characters you inhabit. Perhaps that is the point? Every character while in the moment is vitally trying to control an always out of control situation. The chain of circumstances begins with the execution of an unnamed middle eastern president who is gagged and partially blindfolded. His view becomes your own, as his restricted vision and mobility heighten our engagement with a war torn city as you
    are escorted to your death experienced first hand. The footage is shown to the world kick starting a world wide series of events that hosts post-September 11 fears tempered with the realities of US and Russian corruption.

    The game never tires leading up to a terrifying nuclear detonation, the lack of mental breaks can bring on fatigue but definitely provides the template for a new genre of action experiences that Hollywood may one day mimic. Not an evolution of the action genre, but a dramatic off shoot that leaves little room to out extreme in the future without delving into the farcical or pure fantasy.
    Expand
  81. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    con grandes realismos es juego es lo mejor en la epoca de la guerra para el 2007 este juego esta mejor hecho que todos los demas espero ver mas despues
  82. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    I had given up on finding a truly satisfying multi-player experience after Halo had dropped. This game got me back into gaming again. I tried the Battlefield series and still the game play feel of CoD is superior. I just wish COD4 was still as popular today as it was before.
  83. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    This is a brilliant game and it very enjoyable. Finally the setting has changed so no more WW2 but the beginning of WW3. The characters are also great and overall it is a thrilling experience.
  84. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    It is the exact same as the 360 game so you know it will be amazing but the graphics are better and you can run it at 333 FPS. the community is massive still you get the variety map pack for free and the mods are great and the controls are actually sleek for a PC game
  85. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    I got this game at release date, the campaign was good, but the multiplayer was amazing.
    Even to this date, Call of Duty 4 is by far the best Call of Duty game I've played, newer Call of Duty games aren't as fun to play as CoD 4, every match is full of campers on newer CoD games, also on CoD 4 we have dedicated servers and mods which gives the game more life.
    One thing that I didn't
    I got this game at release date, the campaign was good, but the multiplayer was amazing.
    Even to this date, Call of Duty 4 is by far the best Call of Duty game I've played, newer Call of Duty games aren't as fun to play as CoD 4, every match is full of campers on newer CoD games, also on CoD 4 we have dedicated servers and mods which gives the game more life.

    One thing that I didn't liked was the veteran difficulty, I just barely finished it once on veteran difficulty, it feels like you die by a cheap way every time.
    Expand
  86. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    It's not perfect, but close. I've played close to 400 hours in this game, for me it's the best CoD game created and a really good FPS.

    The single-player is meh, if it weren't multi-player in the game I would rate it a 4, but the multi-player carries the game to a 7. The first CoD game to have perks. With dedicated servers you could find sniper only servers and so on, you could ban, and
    It's not perfect, but close. I've played close to 400 hours in this game, for me it's the best CoD game created and a really good FPS.

    The single-player is meh, if it weren't multi-player in the game I would rate it a 4, but the multi-player carries the game to a 7. The first CoD game to have perks. With dedicated servers you could find sniper only servers and so on, you could ban, and have rules.. Amazing.
    Expand
  87. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    This is the pinnacle of the Call Of Duty franchise it has really gone to from here but this is a great game it really good good multiplayer plenty of servers that aren't hacks fun gameplay. Its not perfect but its actually really near it it has flaws but its a fun balanced game.
  88. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    This game has so much going for it, streamlined play and online experience made it one of the best games of the generation of consoles. The level customisation that is now a series staple was created in the fourth installment. Good maps and a streamlined experience made it certainly one of the most influential console online shooters ever. Single player was not perfect but well done and inThis game has so much going for it, streamlined play and online experience made it one of the best games of the generation of consoles. The level customisation that is now a series staple was created in the fourth installment. Good maps and a streamlined experience made it certainly one of the most influential console online shooters ever. Single player was not perfect but well done and in most cases polished. The said storyline was good aswell, far surpassing normal shoot em up standards.

    The only thing that can be said that is bad about Call Of Duty 4 is that it created the cycle of yearly (barely improved) Call Of Duty games that do nothing to further the series. Most of the games since COD 4 have just been re-skins of the same game and hardly improved at all but then again, why would you change a tried and tested formula that always guarantees profit every year)

    Despite it being the father of said re-skins, the game itself is a masterpiece since before the age of copypasta Call Of Duty. If you haven't bought it yet, buy it now. The charms of the game are still just as strong for me in 2013, and I still come back to play it.
    Expand
  89. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is revolutionary. It completely changed the Call of Duty series, completely overhauling the graphics design of Call of Duty and Call of Duty 2. This game offered an incredible campaign with challenging levels and awesome graphics. This game also offered an incredible multiplayer experience which debuted one of the most popular multiplayer modes in video gameCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is revolutionary. It completely changed the Call of Duty series, completely overhauling the graphics design of Call of Duty and Call of Duty 2. This game offered an incredible campaign with challenging levels and awesome graphics. This game also offered an incredible multiplayer experience which debuted one of the most popular multiplayer modes in video game history. Check this game out. It isn't the best in the Call of Duty series (Call of Duty 2 is), but it offers one heck of a game. Expand
  90. Feb 1, 2013
    9
    This, is my opinion, is the only Call of Duty worth paying 60 dollars for. All of the other Modern Warfares or Black Ops' are map packs for this game. It's sad to see how downhill the rest of the franchise has gone, but Call of Duty 4 will always be a respected, well made masterpiece.
  91. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played, i still find myself playing it on my Xbox and Pc, this game derserves a new update, so people will start finding this game amazing again, it is way to underplayed. And i find that shame-full, comparing this shooter to others would be like comparing, Diamond to dust.
  92. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    This game is the best Call of Duty ever. when we were bored of second world war, the modern warfare appeared and revived the genre. This game marked a before and after in the shooters games. PERFECT
    (sorry for the language)
  93. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    When i started playing FPS games around 2004 i was suffering from some too linear game campaigns etc.Back in 2007 when the game was released it was just EPIC, the Multiplayer was the best of the the decade possibly (at least for me!).The game itself wont let abandon it plus the Multiplayer servers are still almost full.I must say this and WaW are the CODs ever created.
  94. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Honstly, I think this is the most balanced and well designed Call of Duty game that has been made. I would rather have remakes of this stellar game than the sequels that it spawned :(
  95. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    Single player is good and the MP is pretty cool, except for the airstrikes which are just too over-powered and make the game a lot less fun. Maybe that is because I never manage to get a kill-streak.
  96. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty 4 is the best COD game. It haves a great multiplayer and a fantastic single player. Believe me, you will be playing this game for years. The story mode is short, but this game may have the best story mode for shooters. Is a must have for all gamers.And, almost forgot, the multi player is the best reason to buy this game. 96 out of 100
  97. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    I can only speak to the SP side of things, but in this respect the game shines. The campaign is not particularly long, but it does a good job of pacing itself--not like its sequels which blow their wad right away. The story is not particularly original, but it ties the missions together nicely and even makes you care about the characters. By the end--which I won't spoil--you feel veryI can only speak to the SP side of things, but in this respect the game shines. The campaign is not particularly long, but it does a good job of pacing itself--not like its sequels which blow their wad right away. The story is not particularly original, but it ties the missions together nicely and even makes you care about the characters. By the end--which I won't spoil--you feel very invested in what's going on, and the adrenaline is pumping. To increase replay value there's an "arcade mode" which lets you score points as you replay the missions, a neat little feature that I wish had been implemented in future installments. Expand
  98. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (also known as Call of Duty 4 or Call of Duty: Modern Warfare) (Rus "Call of Duty 4: Modern War") - multi-platform video game, first person shooter, developed by U.S. company Infinity Ward and published by Activision. The game is the fourth in a series of Call of Duty and the first sub-Modern Warfare, the project has officially been announced by May 26, 2007.
    Game Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare was released on November 5, 2007 in three target platforms: PC, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 are also for the other three platforms: Mac, Nintendo DS and Nintendo Wii. On November 12, 2007, the game became available for purchase through the online service Steam.
    The game's plot is associated with modern warfare, the single player campaign gives the player to play for some of the fighters and U.S. special services and regular parts of the UK. The game takes place in Russia, Ukraine, Azerbaijan and the Middle East.
    During the first 24 hours of sales has sold nearly 600,000 copies of the game. Total world was realized over 10 million copies of the game. The game has become one of the best in the series Call of Duty.
    Also, May 25, 2010 the game became available for purchase in the Xbox Live, allowing interested in purchasing this game do not buy it on disk, and by paying, download to your console.
    Expand
  99. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    I havent play it online yet but i got best FPS experience with single player. Great game didnt bored even for second. Too bad there's no good call of dutys after MW:1...
  100. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This game well deserved all the Hype about it, and was pretty much responsible for throwing one of the best FPS of all time from its Throne ( CounterStrike ). It wasnt the game that killed CS, but was a well worth replacement.

    Sadly its sequels very really bad in comparison, not only did they ban dedicated server for PC, it was also too futuristic for my likings. But this game itself is
    This game well deserved all the Hype about it, and was pretty much responsible for throwing one of the best FPS of all time from its Throne ( CounterStrike ). It wasnt the game that killed CS, but was a well worth replacement.

    Sadly its sequels very really bad in comparison, not only did they ban dedicated server for PC, it was also too futuristic for my likings. But this game itself is really one of the best MP shooters i ever played on Console and PC
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. PC Gamer UK
    85
    A beautifully crafted first-person shooter, but without a compelling context. How much does that matter? To me, a little. Not a lot, but it nags. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  2. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  3. It’s absolutely relentless in its assault on the senses and never lets up until the last trigger has been squeezed. The multiplayer is even better, with the perks and weapon upgrades acting as a balance to the lack of vehicles.