User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1415 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2011
    3
    This is my first review for a game. I am so frustrated with Black Ops that I felt compelled to write something. I am not giving it a 0 because the game is playable, and that's about all you can do. Enjoying and having fun with this game is, for me, not possible. Where do I start?
    Single player is ugly. There's barely a storyline, and the flashback missions are NOT appealing. Graphics are
    horrendous. How can you justify releasing a new game in a series that has WORSE graphics than its predecessor? The scenery and player models are, for a lack of a better word, poop, even at the highest graphics settings. Sound? Ha! Multiplayer? Well. The guns do practically no damage. You are forced to play hardcore if you don't want to spend your entire gun clip on one or two enemies, and I'm not that bad at FPS games. I have played CS, CSS, COD MW1, MW2, COD 1, 2, 3, Farcry 1 and 2, and finally and sadly, this game. I can say with confidence that I'm not a noob :) In short, the bullet registry is nonexistent. I have a very good connection, so I can't complain too much about the connection lag, but honestly! Spike lags are almost to be expected. Technical issues? Where do I begin? Game crashes so often it's not even funny. I can run Crysis, Dragon Age Origins, and Civilizations V at max settings and I experience absolutely no lag or crashes. When I am bored enough to play this game, I crash about twice an hour. AT LEAST. Single player glitches are rampant. Completely over-rated and massively marketed PoS!
    I get upset every time I look on my list of Steam games and remember that I paid $60 for it.
    Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    4
    Same crap from 2007 except with a few new things same boring engine. blah blah blah blah blah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11!1111!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Final Thoughts: Do not buy.
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Haha ! All " 0 " notes most probably comming from angry EA emplyess. I never saw game review form 0 - 10 :) Someone lie here. juanezos int19h smith Trabis All of those are just one review users. EA FAIL !
  4. Dec 23, 2010
    0
    Biggest Dissapointment and Waste of money of the year. On PC this game is UNPLAYABLE. Locks up every 15 - 30 min even on a really good PC. Lags constantly and if you can get a party together to play Nazi Zombies then go buy a Lottery Ticket because you have some incredible luck. Campaign is pretty lacking as well as it was beaten on Veteran in about 10 - 12 Hrs. They really screwed us pc gamers over pretty big time with this because if it was a console version we could at least get half our money back by selling it. No such luck here. Just an expensive paperweight. I have had betas that ran and looked better than this game does in its Retail version. Thanks for being another company that dumps on the end user. I will not be buying any future games from Treyarch and I suggest that you take your money and buy games from other developers that continue to fix things after a games release and not just twiiter about meaningless crap. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Damn, this is a great game! Ok, let's get serious. MULTIPLAYER is the STAR here and raises the bar for all subsequent games. Not only are there loads of new features, but all the details are well thought out and the gameplay is SMOOTH and WELL-BALANCED. It is WAGER MATCH, however, that blows everything out of the water. INGENIOUSLY CRAFTED and BRILLIANTLY EXECUTED, the WAGER MATCH MODES are INCREDIBLE FUN and SERIOUSLY ADDICTIVE. The single player plot is intriguing and suspenseful and keeps you guessing until the last revelation. Altogether, Black Ops is an outstanding piece of work and NOT TO BE MISSED! In my opinion, this is the BEST CALL OF DUTY YET! Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    this game is great... video settings could use a few extra options, but i've had no trouble on a 2 year old machine. have also experienced a few server issues, however some online games go flawlessly. as with most CoD games, the single player could have been longer... the game could use a patch, tho i still intend to thrash black ops thoroughly.
  7. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Cod2 had been my favorite COD so far, but this tops that with ease. The storyline is good and a fair length. The multiplayer is very well balanced and lots of fun. They mastered the gameplay in this one.
  8. Nov 11, 2010
    4
    I did not have the lag other users have suffered. Game played great on my system. However, it seems all Activision is doing is beating an already dead cash cow for whatever milk's left. The story was a psychological thriller and that seemed fine but the graphics do look dated and I agree with the previous poster who mentioned weapon recoil. What were the devs thinking?? I can shoulder fire an MG and spray out 7.62 ammo with close to minimal recoil? anyone who's fired one in real life can tell you that is utter BS. It take a crap load of trigger discipline to even maintain your sights on your target.

    MOH lags on my high end system and has way more bugs, but I actually found it more refreshing and the weapons being more believable. I can't even believe I'm endorsing an EA game. But CoD:BO here just seemed a sad hackneyed rehash of the same old tried and true formula without any improvements whatsoever, and I have been playing CoD since its humble first release.
    Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2010
    0
    I bought this game more for the multiplayer than anything else. All of the previous and trailers showed some real promise for a great multiplayer experience. What a disappointment. All of those great ideas ruined by terrible implementation and what appears to be a complete lack of beta-testing on the PC. This game is completely unplayable on the PC. Given the chance to do it over, I wouldn't waste my money on it. Save your money. Play something else this season. Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2010
    0
    First: DO NOT READ THE METASCORE BY CRITICS IT IS BASED ON 360 AND PS3 RELEASE.

    Let me tell you a story about a company called Treyarch, they promised the PC-Gamer community all the support and even more for their PC version of Call Of Duty Black Ops. Now turn the clock back to today's date, they have not been keeping their promise at all.

    The game has major issues in preformance both in
    Single-player and Multi-player. Framerate drops and lag-spikes fly all over the place. Now I do know issues can arise as PC's are different, but stuff like this SHOULD be catched by the QA team if they even had any.

    While we are at it, the so-called Community Manager, does not inform the Community about anything, and uses his day to brag about placing this and that on Zombie-mod, whilst the lead designer even have the nerve to say that the issues PC-Gamers have at the moment are but of small grain of the community.

    Do yourself a favor and stay away from this product and any other Treyarch project in the future, the costumer support is horrendous and you will not even be informed when everything goes wrong
    Expand
  11. Nov 13, 2010
    0
    activision must be hiring a lot of whores for these professional game critics.
    just look at the discrepancy! and even metacritic is tooting their horn by prominently displaying only that score. man, another 60 down the drain. i shoulda waited for the torrent to finish.
  12. Nov 13, 2010
    2
    It is simple: do not buy this game until Treyarch fixes the gross technical errors that were overlooked in their testing process.

    As of now, you will only be spending your money on the single player component. The multiplayer server browser and friend support is completely broken, and the ranked servers frequently get glitched to the point of where your stats are not saved and
    wager/ranked matches can not be joined.

    It is simply an incomplete product, and false advertising on the part of Activision/Treyarch to say that this game has anything other than a mediocre single player component. It is a shame that game review websites have even considered giving this game good reviews.

    It is Modern Warfare: 2 with a different set of skins and more bugs.
    Expand
  13. Jan 9, 2011
    0
    The worst and most frustrating Call of Duty title to date. If you like running around aimlessly firing from the hip then you will enjoy this game. If you like tactics and strategy elements then go for BFBC2. The Black Ops maps are far to small. The re-spawn mechanics are shameful, re-spawning you in amongst groups of enemies or in a location where enemies spawn behind you a few seconds later and shoot you in the back. Quick scoping is not possible and the maps have very limited locations for snipers to be very effective. Added to that fact; once you do make it into position the enemy know where to find you. Still bugged and laggy even after the patch. Battle Field Bad Company 2 is a far better and far more enjoyable game. I un-installed Black Ops and won't be playing it again. A complete waste of money. If I could get a refund I would and to think this game sold $360 million in North America and the UK alone on its first day. Shameful, shameful, shameful. I will never by another Treyarch product as long as I live. Expand
  14. Apr 11, 2011
    1
    Where to begin. I'm writing this review a few months after BO has been released(in a very unready state), and patched too many times to count. SP was a pain to go through as I couldn't skip videos, until they were done. Some levels involved the character just wandering empty halls. Unimpressed. I had high hopes for MP to save the game, but no dice. Maps get boring fast, gun customization makes no sense as some have attachments, and others don't, and some only have one. Very poorly thought out. Combat training against the AI is neat, and a nice change if you actually want to get a killstreak, and don't want to get ballistic knifed by every single MP person out there. That is until the AI starts wall hacking you. I had high hopes for the latest map pack that was released, until I found out Treyarch was charging $15 for it. Hardly fair after I've already shelled out $60 for a game. Even less fair when you hear a new COD is in the works. Maybe if the makers of COD actually got together and started to create updates of weapons or other items at AFFORDABLE prices, their series won't turn into the Rockband series with lackluster sales.

    Overall this game was a huge disappointment from day one. I don't know what drugs the 'critics' are smoking, or what game they played, but it's certainly not the same one as me.

    I'd say save your money and go buy another game, but most choices out there are made to make a buck, not to have replayability, so just save your money and go and enjoy some fresh air.
    Collapse
  15. Apr 23, 2011
    3
    I am sorry, but, this is the worst game I have ever played. The developer needs to improve this game a lot! The developer also made a huge mistake by only having one server provider. GS.com is one of the worst game server providers out there. They overload their dedicated boxes and cause tons of lag. Not to mention that by only choosing one GSP violates federal antitrust laws. Do the world a favor treyarch and do NOT make any more games because you do not know how to make a good game. Expand
  16. Jul 14, 2011
    5
    This game is highly overrated by many. The game contains poor visuals, robotic-feeling artificial intelligence, a somewhat bland storyline, and several historical inaccuracies.
  17. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    I love this game! To honest, the single player does get boring, and its more practice than anything. And the multiplayer is full of high level opponents, so its hard to jump right in. But I noticed that not a single review under 5 even mention the nazi zombies section. This is the reason I bought the game, and the reason I play it. If cod black ops came out and it was only the zombies section, i would buy it, because it is extremely entertaining. If you want something fun, buy it, as the multiplayer is good once you're used to it, and the zombies mode is super fun. Expand
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Well, uh, I had the privilege from good old steam to play "Call of Duty: Black Ops" multiplayer until to Saturday of that week. So I gave it a try, and it wasn't so bad after all. The sound designs are impressive as well as the currency system, which makes you more immersive to the game. Sure, the graphics are kinda outdated but think about COD:WAW and compare this to it. Feels better, doesn't it? Overall very well made, enjoyable, and addictive. Just find some healthy servers and this game will be the masterpiece of your life. Expand
  19. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Not sure why the score for this is so low. I'm guessing because many of these reviews were done when the game was launched, which I heard was unplayable then. Luckily, I played this game after everything was sorted out, so I have no major issues with bugs/glitches. This version of CoD is much, MUCH better than MW3 on PC. Ranked dedicated servers? Check. Adjustable FOV? Check. Dev console? Check! Now I know the engine on this game is a bit dated, but it works well and the game plays very smoothly. Maybe it's just massive lag from P2P garbage, but MW3 is not nearly as smooth or polished-feeling as BO is. The maps are on BO are a good size, and have a good balance of CQB and more open areas. MW3's maps just feel so claustrophobic in comparison. The unlock system is, in my opinion, much better than MW3 (which is also very similar to BF3). Acquiring currency and buying the weapons/equip./killstreaks that you actually want is much better. Not only do you get the gear you want quicker, it's more satisfying to "buy" something you want than just to "unlock" it. The SP campaign is pretty good, and is up there with MW2's campaign, which I really enjoyed. Although there are PC specific options in the game (ded. servers, fov, etc.), it's still an obvious console port. Also, because it is a dx9 game, it has much worse performance in Vista/7 than in XP - you can find many threads on this. Overall though, I really enjoyed BO, and with MW3 being an epic fail, I will probably play BO for much longer. Expand
  20. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    Not a bad game. Don't care for the limited dedi servers, but hey at least they are there and ranked. The game play in MP is fun. Graphics are old. Let's get real here folks...The CoD as we know it is gone. Play MW3 and this game shines all the more...
  21. Dec 16, 2010
    2
    "Overpriced, overhyped, pieces of crap... just rehash and recrank that old engine out and release it as a new game, and you are going to get nominees, you are going to get game of the year, you are going to get best shooters and crap like that"

    I am seriously convinced that you critics are getting payed now, first GTA IV, then CoDWaW, then MW2, and now THIS! What the hell is this? Who the
    hell pays twice for the same game? This is EXACTLY the same game as CoD4. Just like CoD5 AND 6, there is literally more new additions in Battlefield Bad Company 2 Vietnam, which is a 5 dollar DLC for Bad Company 2. In defense of this extremely bad game, CoD4 was an amazing game, I had some amazing times with it, so if you have barely played CoD or never played it, by all means go ahead and buy this, but if you already own another CoD that is the fourth one or one that is past that, DO NOT buy this, you are just going to be buying CoD4 again with a new box art. Expand
  22. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    I waited about 5 days to post my review, because of the lag issues at launch. Now, Treyarch has fixed it (at least for most people) and the game runs beautifully. I have already put in 24 hours into this game, and find it a lot of fun to play all day (on multiplayer). The single player is what I've come to expect, except maybe a little less, from the other games. That's why my review is a 9. The multiplayer will no doubt keep me entertained for another year at least, the single player is lacking. Expand
  23. Nov 22, 2010
    6
    So I'll have to edit this later probably as I havn't played the SP of this game yet. The MP is the selling point of any COD game and 90% of FPS games so I'll make my comments on that.

    The gameplay is decent...I wouldn't say great. I think my clan is behind this game (i cant figure out why, other that the nostalgia of playing a cod title (we loved cod4)) so I will keep playing it.

    The
    graphics are VERY dated and the engine as a whole feels like a mixture of Doom64, CS:S and WaW, which were all good when they were launched but this took the worst parts of each with the bouncy avatar movement, TERRIBLE textures, and overall cartoon-ish and cheezy graphics. It is so distracting at times that I have trouble playing when i have to stop and ask "is this really the texture of a bush????a GIANT blob of green????no details whatsoever??? after games like BC2, MOH, Crysis, COD4, and Ue3? (yes, i just said COD4 and UE3 games have better graphics, which i thought was impossible from a "new" game).

    This game is a MOD that you have to pay $60 for. There's NOTHING new about it, and it isn't worth that. It looks like MW2 in videos, but it plays better than that thank god. It plays more like WaW, but with worse visuals. If they make MOD tools, maybe some modders can make better maps for this thing, but the ones I've played so far are very unimpressive. I gave it more than a 3 because the gameplay isn't terrible and there are HOPES of mod tools. Also, it's a backwards step from MW2 back towards allowing the PC aspects of a game to exist that we all love. It also, sadly, took steps back in technology and visuals. I don't know how they managed to make it look worse than their own game that launched 2 years ago, but they did. My only hope is that maybe with this step backwards, we can now head in a new "forward" direction and make better PC games learning from the mistakes of the past....hopefully anyway
    Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Finally a game from activision with effort. This game has been well thought out, with improved graphics(Unlike the crap Infinity Ward makes). The story is gripping and realistic and multi player is just plain awesome this is the best COD game ever!! A must Buy
  25. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    I gave a review of this game in haste previously and gave the game a score of 5. After playing the game through and changing a few of the graphics settings I realise that the game is actually great and deserves a decent score. I don't know why so many people are giving the game a score of 0 or below 5, people will not take user scores seriously from PC users soon. (They probably don't already) The game, while offering nothing incredibly new, is fun and well programmed other than two or three small points in this long game. To say this is a port from xbox or ps3 is wrong, the game engine designed by Infinity Ward, which was used with this game, has always been developed for pc technology. While the multiplayer features may not be fully up and running on the PC version, it is temporary and will be fixed soon. The story line was quite clever and the fighting was great fun. The zombies additional feature is good fun but people should realise that the Call of Duty series is as much about single player fun as it is about multiplayer, if not more so. To rate the game 0 because the multiplayer features need some patching is ridiculous, I would like to see the guys who rated it a 0 try to create a comprehensive multiplayer expansion such as Zombies before they start complaining that it doesnâ Expand
  26. Nov 15, 2010
    7
    Call of Duty I like, but this part of my heart. I imagined the game differently. Dead Ops Arcade is very funny. It does not change my view of the game. Black Ops is a cheap substitute for Modern Warfare 2, but good remake World at War
  27. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Black Ops gives us the best performance of single campaign in last three years. Treyarch is developing not excellent graphics and innovative game play, but we can enjoy a solid action, a story, which does not irritate and firm trash moments that called to entertain us. And it works! Six hours of Black Ops are much better than equivalent performance in theaters. Only bugs can stop your satisfaction for a moment. But anyway, COLD WAR GONE HOT. Enjoy... Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2010
    7
    Just know when you play this game on a PC you need the right PC a DEDICATED GAMING MACHINE large quad cpu (Phenom OR i5) or better, 4 gigs of ram or better a 64 bit (Windows 7 or XP - NOT vista!) and a multi core Graphics card is recommended. The gaming engine is so demanding that lesser computers have no playability in this game. DUAL CORE MACHINES NEED NOT APPLY.
    I'm' dead serious
    this game was stressing my phenom x 4 965 OC'ed to 3.9ghz and the 9800 geforce to the limits of performance on MODERATE graphics. I built this gamer machine a year ago with the best, at this rate I will need to build another just to play the next installment. By dedicated machine I mean dedicated: no Anti virus: no video ripping: NO ITUNES. so don't go downloading porn.
    when you have the RIGHT machine this game has ASTOUNDING GRAPHICS .. full stop-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I own all the call of duty games in the series for PC. Played them til my eyes crossed at times. The single player game was fantastic challenging without being too frustrating, astounding plot, phenomenal graphics, compelling characters. It felt like a six and a half hour interactive movie. Single player campaign was miles above MW2 in my opinion, and I thought MW2 could not be topped. The Multi-player has a very WAW fell with modern weapons even some that did not exist in the time frame of this game setting, but I'm glad they stretched reality there it makes for a better experience. Updated but not revolutionary is the best way to describe multi-player. The co-op portion was very disappointing, I like the zombies don't get me wrong but I wanted the co-op experience similar to MW2. Not to mention just endless waves of zombies gets old quick. The co-op in MW2 had hours of excitement for me and my friends. We had to function like a small Spec-ops team to complete the maps. You needed: communication, precision, and teamwork to do the missions. Not like Multi-player where no matter what organization an communication you try to establish everyone runs around and does there own thing. There is a "Combat Training" mode you can play privately with your friends, but event the AI runs around like decapitated chickens. If they offered non-zombie co-op maps in the future maybe ill buy them (maybe) or hold my breath waiting for it to return next year. Overall a great game. I'm glad to see the franchise grow and improve. It would be a perfect 10 but multi-player did not blow me away like COD4 & COD6, and no good co-op which makes the game playable again and again.â
    Expand
  29. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    I am amazed at the amount of trolls who are giving this game terrible reviews. Apparently halo fans got together to rate this game so it could look crappy. 4.5 average? that is obviously total crap because the real critics would of tore this game to pieces much more so then the users ever could have. Call Of Duty might be a yearly title. But this one goes so far beyond anything Infinity Ward has ever done. They took customization seriously, and took away the insane amounts of power people had in Modern Warfare. It is one of the best game you will ever play in the first person genre. As for these problems with lag, I have had little problems. And people need to realize that when servers are suddenly filled with millions of people, it is almost impossible to not have some problems. This game is worth the money, with the campaign, zombies, and the always solid muiltiplayer. They have made a near perfect game... Not to mention the ability to save your films and even edit clips together so you can show many angles of the same awesome event... Which for the record, Even Halo does not allow you to do. Do not believe all the haters, they are simply hating on a game because its so popular. Expand
  30. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Everyone who is giving this a zero is either a troll, or a moron that is trying to play the game on dial-up with a very outdated machine. The game runs perfectly, with no framerate issues on an ati 5850. I will admit I did experience lag for a few hours after release, but a simple console command to change the maximum packets sent at a time fixes that issue.(cl_maxpackets 100 or so) The balance and gameplay of the multiplayer is, in my opinion, the best they have done since Call of Duty 4. Kill streak rewards have been toned down, claymores are much less abundant, and so are grenades, making the game much more skill based. The multiplayer is definitely the best part of the game, I won't go into the single player a lot because I haven't finished it, but it is dissappointing to me, very generic run and gun gameplay, kill the same enemy a hundred times each level, I still enjoyed it but I felt it should have had better pacing, because the idea behind it was better than the execution. I would give it an 8.5 if you factor in the singleplayer, multiplayer alone deserves a 9/10 from me. Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Ignore the trolls here, COD BlOps is unashamedly Call Of Duty so if you don't like the series you won't like this and it's dumb spamming the reviews.... For the game itself it's at least as good as the Modern Warfares with extras such as the Wager Matches and COD Points system pipping the MP ahead IMO. Zombies and Dead Ops are much more enjoyable than MW2's Spec Ops as well
  32. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    Utter crap game. Writing a lengthy review of all the fails in this game would be a massive waste of time. Despite the unplayable MP part, who wrote the SP story of this game? Dolph Lundgren? Stephen Seagal? Uwe Boll?
  33. Nov 12, 2010
    3
    PROS:
    - lots of new content added for MP CONS:
    - story is for kids under 14 - one of the worst graphics of the history of video gaming ever created, period (and I got a good and fast PC) - textures, shadows+lights (in and outdoor) are failing very very badly, must be made by a complete beginner. - geometry of the surrounding reminds me of the playstation 2 times (in fact, I just
    checked and Black looks much greater tbh.) - worst scripting ever combined with the most stupid AI a programmer may come up with. (this includes things like teammate standing and waiting for you next to 3 NME solder while those solders do nothing about him, or teammates yelling about incoming tanks after all tanks are eliminated minutes ago, etc, etc got about a zillion examples) - sounds are from a average SNES shooter game (they must be!), some1 fires a shotgun next to your ears, and you hear a sneaky fart.
    - etc -etc -et................. the bottom line: its a cheap bad fps, and not a CALL OF DUTY game ------------------ To the devs: so many days of hard work, but why not spend your time and money on a worthy game? please give all the money back now!

    To everybody else: never trust game reviewing sites, and never buy a game without a trailer showing actual gameplay
    Expand
  34. Nov 13, 2010
    1
    I find it unbelievable that they didn't even start the final release candidate for the game. Which i think (but can't be sure about) would make the problems obvious in less than five minutes. Or they did that and decided that it would be more convenient for them to release on time and fix it later (ignoring how bad impression this would cause to the early adopters). The game is at the moment unplayable. Expand
  35. Nov 13, 2010
    0
    Zombie mod is not working, it says session no longer available. Multiplayer was ok, lagged a little but otherwise was ok. UNTIL IT WORKED. Now it just keeps saying connecting but nothing happens. I can't believe I payed for this crap. Should have learned my lesson from MW2.
  36. Nov 15, 2010
    2
    This game is probably one of the biggest let downs of all time. I mean, not only did the multiplayer made me want to rip my hair out. But the game its self is complete **** The lag is unbelievable.
    1/10 = Multiplayer
    6/10 Zombies
    7/10 Campain
  37. Nov 15, 2010
    0
    This game is just plain bad. The multiplayer is beyond laggy, to the point where the lowest ping wins. It appears the only graphics they've updated are smoke effects. The single player mode is not very fun, and the game is severely unbalanced. Modern Warfare 2 is better than this. This game is worth no more than $15. I strongly recommend you do not buy this game, it truly is a waste of money.
  38. Nov 18, 2010
    0
    potentially worse game than mw2... seriously it gives me a migraine everytime i finish playing the multiplayer.. the amount of lag and bull-sheet that goes on is increadible.. 18 man FFA are you kidding me? TDM i spawn beside my enemy and get shot in the back.. Commando knifing default for eveyone.. isnt this a gun game? why does it make knifing so easy? hit detection is fail... they say the guns need more skill to use but i always get sprayed down by noob enemies who blind fire their weapon with extended mags, hip firing and random spraying.. worse thing of all i get headshotted.. they say mw2 was broken? well it was but at least it was fun, the graphics were smooth. obviously black ops is better in certain ways because Treyarch just reversed any mistakes that IW made with MW2.. the bugs such as terrible spawns, lag issues, freezing in single player, NUKETOWN, commando lunge default knifing just kill this game.. seriously, i have watched youtube and people are raving about blackops on the XBOX. Has activision ditched the PC community yet again? so what about dedicated servers, IMO the online experience has taken 2 steps back with the bugs and lags. Expand
  39. Nov 18, 2010
    1
    Did the critics play this game? It is not very good, and the detail is awful. They have people using guns that did not exist until years after the historical events in the game. Come on, ACOG sites in 1962! Save your money and skip this game.
  40. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I simpily say : I wanted Military Game - Not a Action Game.
    And say : I don't wanted WASTED my money.
    and I also wanted one of the solder in the battlefield - Not a Action Hero.
    and I also also wanted good optimization.
    Expand
  41. Nov 17, 2010
    2
    I feel somewhat thrown to the curb as a PC gamer by Black Ops. The game doesn't have multi-core CPU support which leads to choppy frame rate in multiplayer. Activision's solution? "Make sure you have no extra programs running in the background." I liked that they finally got some dedicated servers (although Gameservers.com has a total monopoly on dedicated server purchases) but found the lag worse than the COD:MW2 system of picking a player host! Overall, Treyarch took 60 of my dollars and doesn't care about fixing any of the problems because they've already made all their money. I wonder if any of the professional reviewers have even played the game for more than an hour with their ridiculously high ratings. Expand
  42. Nov 20, 2010
    0
    Another poor excuse for a game. I don't enjoy being played by the computer. I've even seen a video on the internet that shows doing the whole Cuba campaign on hard without firing a shot. Why do developers make their games so easy? What's the point? They've all sold their souls to corporate.

    What is it with the cut scenes? I actually want to play the game? If I wanted a movie I would watch
    a movie.

    Another terrible console port. Unhappyface.
    Expand
  43. Nov 24, 2010
    2
    2010 price for a 2008 game. Average graphics & poor performance with a short, poorly scripted campaign. Give this one a miss or wait until it has had several patches and is on sale.
  44. Nov 24, 2010
    0
    This should be called Call of Duty: Serious Sam edition. Seriously, it's pathetic arcade shooter masked (not very good) as something else. Pro's - i liked the zombies mode, the weapons physics and the fact that the game handles very well on my average rig (at least after the hotfix..) on maxed gfx.
    Cons - everything else.
  45. Nov 24, 2010
    6
    It's pretty obvious why Activision flew most reviewers to a Hotel in Europe to play the game: because using a real world Internet connection, the game is unplayable. The lag is shocking, and the hit detection is garbage. Needs a major patch.

    The real disappointment for me was the single-player though - not only was it buggy, it was poorly-paced, and a blatant rip-off of the Manchurian
    candidate. One of the things Infinity Ward does well is keeping you in the action. Treyarch kept tearing away player control for no valid reason.

    And what was with Sam Worthington's accent? I'm Australian and I found it grating. Why didn't they do additional takes?

    Good sound track though.
    Expand
  46. Jan 8, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is unplayable if you're on a PC and there has been no response from the developers. lag, cheat and freeze of the game.... and graphic are poor that's a **** game !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  47. Dec 17, 2010
    2
    One point I missed in my initial review is the disappointment at playability. Not that it lags, which is going to happen, being a network tech, I understand that networks are not perfect and there will be net congestion. But, being an avid gamer and seeing the far superior graphics of things such as Crysis, and having played all the games, seeing the crude graphics of the first MOH and COD games, it is most disappointing to see such little marked improvement in physics (railing where even the spaces between the bars block fire), and weapons that will, with all the same settings will punch through 6 inches of concrete but fail to penetrate thin sheet metal, or grenades that rebound back to the thrower off of thin air. Really guys, you folks making these games have been at this long enough that the only explanation is carelessness in production, I suspect rooted in a rush to market. Expand
  48. Dec 31, 2010
    5
    Black ops is an alright game in my opinion.The new features like wager match were fun and so was
    multiplayer.The singeplayer was Ok there were some twists and turns but i could pretty much
    tell what it was going to be like.I just didnt really like it , it felt the same and im a COD fan.
    I got bored of it in about 2-3 weeks.
  49. Jan 6, 2011
    0
    Do yourself a favor, and don't buy this game. Its just another Call of Duty game that is created to suck our wallets dry, with little to no new upgrades to the series, Multiplayer is just stupid, if you want to play a good FPS just go buy Bad company 2, its better and you can save $40 in the process...
  50. Jan 20, 2011
    2
    A real poor game, since the graphics suck really and the engine is under developed. Really a lack of knowledge of the quake engine and/or lazy developers. I dont recommend this game to anyone, because competetively, this game has no potential! I level 1 lvl per game, too easy..

    The only score this game gets, is because there is really thought about the gameplay (weapons, options etc) the
    outcome just failed Expand
  51. Jan 23, 2011
    2
    It's fun while it lasts, but you'll play it for two weeks and then move on to the next game. Not worth the 60 bucks. This whole idea of the Call of Duty Series becoming a franchise is not looking good.
  52. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Speaking of single player only here. I really have been enjoying playing this game, the controls are easy to set up, it runs great on my PC, the sounds, visuals & effects are really cool. I guess if you are a die hard COD fan this game might be a let down (as i see in other reviews) but if you are like me and not a COD fanboy, then you will like this game. I have yet to try the multi player yet and not sure I will due to the hackers/cheaters, and yes there are MANY of them in Black Ops. Expand
  53. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. only a few bad multiplayer bugs zombie mode is back good dlc great killstreaks and easy trickshots make this game amazing for me its epic my 2nd fav cod game its almost as good as COD4 the only thing i dont like about it is because i can no longer bounce and trickshotting isn't as fun Expand
  54. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    Black ops had it's flaws at launch (pc performance and 5 second pauses).
    I decided to wait and went back to MW2 until these problems were sorted.
    I came back to Black ops finding a very smooth and enjoyable experience, the main issue with lag is users having low powered cpu's as this game taxes the cpu more than your graphics card.
    I ranked all the way up to 15th prestige and can now
    say that this game is definitly worthy of a blast through.
    It's multiplayer is it's best part for sure as i tend to go straight for multiplayer on these type of games soley.
    I am giving this game an 8 out of 10 due to it's bad start but now without bugs it is a great game for multiplayer gamers.
    Expand
  55. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    Best COD Version Yet, the only bugs i have encountered are from the single player, but this game is for multilayer if you expected to play this offline go get a gun and blow your brains out. the upside of this game is that it looks SEXY!
  56. Nov 12, 2010
    5
    as said before: this game has nothing realy innovating. the single player is very 'meh', IW does a far better job with single player campaigns. the maps are linear and the overal story is very confusing. a big 1 point to Treyarch for giving us dedicated servers, if the only worked well from day one... the overal graphics of the game are outdated, nothing special here. the gameplay itself is... treyarch style.
    just like World at War the gameplay is more 'slower' than MW2 and even CoD 4.
    this makes the gameplay less intresting but helps agains campers.
    the online gameplay is, for so far, balanced and fair.
    a very welcome feature is zombie mode,

    overal this game is OK, but is nothing special to the call of duty series.
    it does do a good job of making a playable, balanced game but withoud some innovating fun features it isn't realy that great.
    if treyarch took care of MW2 after it's release from IW (to fix big issues that ruin the game) it would be THE single best multiplayer game ever.
    sadly thit didn't happen and BO is like the oposite of MW2: balanced but boring.
    Expand
  57. Nov 18, 2010
    2
    I think this game supports only mouse and keyboard on PC. Till they give me something more that is my PC CAPABLE OF, I'm not going anywhere near Call of Duty series, or anything from their developers/publishers lets say.
  58. Nov 13, 2010
    3
    It's really sad that, of all the "professional" review sites, only a handful had the balls to mention the lag and matchmaking issues the game has at the moment. Perhaps they were too afraid to criticize the mighty Call of Duty/Activitision combo?

    Yes, the game is nearly unplayable online now -- there is a lot of lag (regardless of the ping you have to the server, and how powerful your
    computer is). It really says something about game companies, when they think they can get away with releasing a product in this state and then patch it later. Expand
  59. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Upon release, the game was nearly unplayable. After a couple patches, Treyarch has improved upon the game's flaws but there are still obvious bugs that need to be addressed. Aside from a buggy release, the game is fantastic and extremely enjoyable. Loaded with features, game modes, and customization options, Black Ops is the best game to be released in the series so far... when it works.
  60. Dec 19, 2010
    6
    If you are a fan of infinity wards COD games i recommend you avoid this game, it just missing so much and has more in common it seems with Modern warfare 1 then 2, The spawn system in multilayer is horrible, you will die a lot from being shot in the back by an enemy who spawns right behind you after you take a few steps. After playing the great games made by the creators of call of duty (infinity ward) this game is just a huge let down to me. This is an indication to me that this will be another game series that Activision will drive into the ground because they want to shoot one out every year to make the most money out of the series like they did with the tony hawk series and what there doing with guitar hero series. The single player is alright, its pretty much like a Michael Bay movie, lots of explosions. If you liked modern warfare 2 I would recommend not getting this game, you will be let down, like i was. Expand
  61. May 13, 2011
    8
    Let's get this right out of the way: I don't care about the multiplayer, and I've never cared about any CoD multiplayer. It's just another run and gun game, I resort to Battlefield for multiplayer goodness. That being said, the Call of Duty franchise has always been about intense, cinematic singleplayer games ever since Infinity Ward debuted with the first Call of Duty. When Treyarch took up CoD 3, it wasn't that great or bad, it was just meh. With World at War, they started to experiment more and I felt it was an honest improvement over the past CoD WW2 games. With Black Ops, a lot hype from Modern Warfare 2 bled over and people were already ready to either love it or hate it regardless of it's content. I am neither a Call of Duty fanboy, nor a hater, and I will say this. Modern Warfare 2 should have never came out. This is the true CoD 4 predecessor. In Black Ops, everything you know about Call of Duty is flipped over. You mainly assume the role of one character and the campaign is in the form of a frame story, where you are being held captive and every mission is a memory in the past. At first you very confused, but as you go on the pieces start to fall into place. You start to suspect something is terribly wrong and the game violently hurls you into the center of the conspiracy. In form, the campaign is actually a typical action movie conspiracy plot. However, this plot works beautiful in the game to help you experience a wide variety of levels and action. You will be in a group trying to assassinate Castro, having a talk with President Kennedy, mowing down the Viet Cong, flying in a SR-71 Blackbird marking objectives for the team below, playing as the team below, making your way through a pitch black rat tunnel with a flashlight and a revolver, and piloting (YES, PILOTING, NOT JUST GUNNING) a Hind through the jungles of Vietnam. Every mission is exciting and keeps your heart pacing and sometimes you can just look at the scenery completely dumbfounded, knowing that these are all within the realm of realism and yet the developer chose not the bash the fact down our throats. In the end, if someone were to ask me if I liked CoD 4 versus Black Ops, I would have a hard time answering. Yes, CoD 4 was revolutionary at the time, but Black Ops has definitely renovated it and is overall a much more enjoyable campaign. If this game were released last year when all the hype was built up for the pathetic failure that was Modern Warfare 2, the reviews would be far better and people wouldn't be so skeptical. But release yourself from the cynicism that plagues the population and you will be treated the one of the best single player campaigns you have played in your life. Expand
  62. Nov 15, 2010
    0
    Black Ops has a lot of potential to be a fun game. It's an improved MW2 from both single and multi-player standpoints. However, I have to give it a zero because the game was not ready for prime time. Three words define the gaming experience: lag, lag, and more lag (ok, it's 4 words). Even if they resolve the lag issue, I don't think the game will ever play smoothly on my PC as I have a core 2 duo E6850 (as per Activison my CPU satisfies the minimum requirements, but I doubt the game will ever play on less than quad-core PCs). Expand
  63. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    To make this clear, this is not an Infinityward game, they are the ones who made the modern warfare series, and in my opinion are way better at it. However, Treyarch did a really good job this time around.
    The gameplay is pretty solid and the weapons and killstreak rewards are almost better than MW2 (Except no nuke!)
    They rearranged the Perks in a way, which I think, is way better than
    before. I can choose some of the perks that I usually had to compromise over. Stopping Power is gone, thank God, they made it so I actually have options if I want to do well. The return of Hardcore FFA and Hardcore Team Deathmatch is well overdue. Yes MW2 had HCTDM, but everyone hid, due to the spawn timer, and it was absolutely homorotic. There still is a spawn timer, but it varies, and sometimes you will get spawned right after you die.
    The lunch money (Yes I know you ripped off myyearbook!) reward system is a definite plus, especially if you're a good player, I've gotten well over 5k in a single match. And the customization and means to waste all that money is there and well worth it.
    The Map design is decent, but still not on par with Infiniward. Some of the maps almost feel identical. There are usually 10 different approaches you can use to kill someone, which is very FFA unfriendly. However, they do have some self-defendable zones and the maps are actually big enough to spawn safely most of the time.
    Private servers are back, which is good to ward off hackers and **** so far everyone is much more polite than in the MW2 servers. The downside is that if you are legitimately playing really well, you will often get kicked by noob admins and terri-bad clans.
    The Single player is not even worth mentioning. So far it just feels like Rambo. Give me something more realistic for a change. This isn't Black Ops, you aren't covertly making your way through the enemy, you just make your way to your objective, and then start a big gun fight all the way to the end of the mission. Their single player campaign has never been on par with Infinityward, it's a shame Activision chose to shank the good developer.
    Expand
  64. Nov 16, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This title is copping some seriously jaded uses reviews. But I hope this honest opinion may help the decision, whether to purchase this title.

    Multiplayer: If you've played a COD title in the past. You'll find the same formula here. It hasn't change much at all. Yes there were issues at initial release. But Treyarch have as always been ready to listen to concerns. And do what they can to rectify them. The wager modes of gameplay are nice. Good to see the borrowing them from other titles ie: CS and Quake etc...
    Theatre mode looks to be a nice addition. Although still in BETA.
    Coop: Zombies are back
    Singleplayer: Probably the only thorn in this titles side, for me. Was the total lack of authenticity in equipment used in it. This game spans from 1961-68, with a memory sequence in 1945. Sadly most of the weapons in it are not 60's era related. Many of which didn't go into production til the late 1970's. But it's a personal thing. That I admired about the franchise. Other than that, it's a sci-fi feel game(especially with the mini-gun sequence like in PREDATOR. If your looking for more of the same COD multiplayer your used to. Or a member of a Gamerclan then I'd suggest it. But make sure you can return it if you change your mind
    Expand
  65. Nov 11, 2010
    0
    Another pathetic money grab from activision. There's nothing innovative or fun about this version don't bother. Why on earth wasn't infinity ward used on this version? Treyarch is terrible. Remember when they released World At War?
  66. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Only one complaint, sniper rifles are not powerful enough! Even the most powerful sniper rifle with suppressor attached does not 1 shot kill if I shoot someone in the head?! (Not HC mode).

    Other than that, I strongly disagree with all of the negative reviews, the online play is absaloutely perfect for me and the 4 buddies I play online with. There is occasionaly stutter however most games
    I have played have lagged every now and then, even on consoles. Class customisation is awesome and adds a new element to the game, there seems to actually be tonnes of customisation options. Also contracts and wager matches are bloody good fun! Ping wise, I am joining servers with about 20ms ping, my friends usually get between 20 and 70, most other people seem to be around 50-100. You get the odd people with +100 who complain a lot... join another server?! Get a better connection, stop downloading!?

    Single player, I am only on the third level so far, whilst it does not feel as polished as Modern Warfare 2's campaign. (My team seem to wonder into rooms full of enemies and they all ignore each other? I follow in and get ripped to shreds?) it is still really sucking me into it and I am loving every moment, feels like I am playing through a movie.

    Zombie mode, jesus it is a lot harder than it used to be, I am struggling to get past round 10!!! But it has definitely been massively improved, incredibly theatric/intense to play now.

    I have had no problems with graphics, running at 1920*1200, maxed out. Game looks awesome. (Q6600 @ 3.2GHz, GTX470, 4GB DDR2).

    It is another CoD game though, so if you buy it expecting the core not to feel like every other CoD then you should not be buying it! Yes, all of them have had the same gameplay style etc since CoD1, but thats why we love it? Right?!
    Expand
  67. Nov 11, 2010
    6
    Imagine yourself in a toilet. Now imagine wiping your butt before you actually poop. That is sort of what Back Ops is like. A rather pointless exercise. Stick with Modern Warfare for your fix, it is a shame that although this would have been amazing if Activision took their eye off the profit margins and truly turned to innovation.
  68. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    The recently released patches have made this game a great addition to the COD family. My initial rating and review were deservedly negative based on the performance issues that the PC version was plagued by. Now that the issues are (mostly) fixed the SP campaign is intriguing and MP has a lot to offer.
  69. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Listen, call of duty black ops is a wonderful game. I don't have a clue why people are hating it so much. The campaign is the best yet and the multiplayer is awesome. I've never had any connection problems or lag so far. Playing on ps3. If you were thinking of buying this game go right ahead, you will NOT be disappointed.
  70. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    Poor graphics, unplayable multiplayer; what is there to like? These CoD games are just rushed out, to try and gain as big a profit as possible; and they succeed, unfortunately, due to blind idiots/fangirls running out to buy it because its 'cool to have.'
  71. Nov 12, 2010
    4
    leider hat mich das game ein wenig enttäuscht. zu mw2 stellt das spiel keinerlei fortschritt dar. ich fühle mich von der grafik in zeiten von mw1 oder wow zurückversetzt. die waffensounds sind plastikartig, dünn und schrill geraten. die maps sind taktisch kaum durchdacht und das spawnsystem funktionniert nach dem zufallsprinzip. rückendeckung ausgeschlossen. Expand
  72. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    For 2 Days I have been battling the DirectX error, still can't get past the menu screen with little to no support. I exceed the minimum hardware requirements along with the most current drivers. By far, this has to be one of the most pathetic attempts ever witnessed at a PC title, and by far one of the POOREST blatant xbox ports being pushed on the PC users. Stay Clear of this one ....
  73. Nov 13, 2010
    4
    PC users have been left in the cold with a game that is entirely broken. Treyarch has failed on its promises to the community and should be ashamed that this game was released in its current state. An all around good game is crippled by technical issues that render the game unplayable. Even worse, the recently released "patch" does nothing to correct these issues. I believe that people wanted to give Treyarch the benefit of the doubt, hoping they could keep the Call of Duty franchise alive even after the downfall of Infinity Ward. For now, things aren't looking too good. Expand
  74. Nov 13, 2010
    2
    As a fan of the COD series, this latest installment is nothing short of pathetic. The game is barely playable due to a bug they have yet to resolve. I'll never understand how these kind of games get released with so many bugs and no testing. We all spent our hard-earned money on an overpriced, non-functional game, and Activision will just laugh their asses off as they line their pockets with our cash. If it wasn't for the fact that my friends will be engrossed in this game for the next several months, I would have returned it without a second thought. Expand
  75. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    I havent played too much of the SP so i can't really say to much about that. As for everybody complaining about "zombie mode" not working I could care less. I bought the game to shot people online not kill zombies, I beleive there is already a game for that (left 4 dead). I will admit that the release day of this game was absolutely dreadful wit the amount of lag server side. I must be one of the lucky ones because iv never had a problem with video lag running everything at max settings at 1920x1080. As for the multiplayer expiereince itself I really cant complain. After steam released the server fix the game became much more enjoyable (there planning on releasing future patches soon). Everybody saying that the graphics are crap; it looks exactly like MW2 which imho had pretty decent graphics plus i dont need bomb graphics to make it an enjoyable competitive exp. New killstreaks are fing sweet new maps are far superior to those of mw2 (again just my opinion). Also they balanced the MP a bit by removing crappy ass commando and some other gay things. My only real gripe about this game is that the guns have much more minimal differences between them then in mw2. To all those who are having issues with lag and stuff, i wish the best to you and hopefully they figure out whats wrong with your stuff so you can join the pwnage. Expand
  76. Nov 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very good in my point of view. Great campaign storyline, good zombie minigame and a VERY GOOD Multiplayer. It as some issues like bad zombie game matchmaking and a little bit of lag, but Treyarch has already made a small update to solve the lag so, that means that they are still working to do a better game. I think that everyone was so excited about the game and because of laggy servers in the first week, most of the "addicted to games" guys throw the game down the hill. Expand
  77. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Score (8.0)

    Listen carefully to this review, don't listen those who say that its a total waste of money.

    Call of Duty: Black ops has the best singleplayer campaing for a FPS. Its immersive and its completely different from Mw2. The campaing is also very long. ( 9.8/10) The reason why i do not put an 100 to this game is because of the multiplayer and the bugs. Basically, they should have wait 2 month before releasing the game. No one can't join ( or almost) a zombie server for a lot of reasons and they are patching the game and fixing the bugs right now... Well its a call of duty game afterall, there will always have bugs at first but lets be patient. I have been able to join a zombie server once and its not so bad. There are more weapons and more things to do. I say lets be patient and wait for them to fix the bugs. (8/10)

    The AI is almost the same, its the good old Ai from Mw2 and cod Waw. (7.5/10)

    Now the most disapointing part of the game is for sure the multiplayer. I remember those days when spawnkilling was an habitude on modern warfare 1 with 64 players... They set the maximum on 18 and i would rather play Day of Defeat:source than the multiplayer, no innovations at all except the customisation system wich is better than mw2, i give the mulktiplayer a (6.5/10).

    In overall the game awsome if you are a cod fan, but defenetievely not worth 60 bucks.
    Expand
  78. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I think this is a very solid game with a great campaign. Also I love the customization that I can now do on multiplayer. Yes, there are lags on multiplayer, but none that are game impairing. Overall I think it is a great game and does not deserve the low reviews that it seems to be getting.
  79. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    (360 Version) Black Ops is one great CoD game. I didn't like MW2 but this game is definitely a fun game. The Story is exciting and mind-boggling, the Zombie mode is lots of fun with friends but not alone, multiplayer is so far great with some bad things and of course the hidden Dead Ops Arcade which is hilarious. Totally recommending this one for consoles.
  80. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    I have to say that I was amazed by the campaign and how it built up to an explosive ending. As for multiplayer . Everyone who is complaining about lag please remove your review. It is apparent that none of you have ever played a pc game before. The game was lagging due to the game having top of the line system requirements and I mean it had to have been purchased in 2010. Also updating the drivers helped with lag tremendously. BC2 was far worse at the beginning anyway. As for infinity war. YOU SAY THIS IS A MONEY PLOY???? I think there are 360 people trolling here because MW2 was the biggest paycheck Bobby Kotick Aka. satin got in a long time. And all of this bs on how infinity ward made a better game? The MW2 campaign was like a Michael Bay film. Full of plot holes. And the multiplayer for it was terrible. No customization unless you ran a hacked server. There was also an unbearable amount of hackers that VAC could not ban. Now because black ops has servers people can be banned server side which actually works. Finally it took them a day to fix the game so I think this is Treyarch's biggest improvement since World at War. (Note that all bugs have been fixed) Expand
  81. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    there is plenty of fun to be had with this game and if you enjoy call of duty games you will know the formula. Black Ops does everything you have seen in mw1, waw and mw2 and adds to specific element. singleplayer campaign is slightly longer, more difficult and faster pased. there are some amazing moments and its up to the modern warfare standard. unfortunately some parts include enemies that infinitely spawn, this gets very frustrating especially when the objectives are not clear. overall another decent campaign. multiplayer started out very laggy for me like most other people but after a few games settled down and was playable, with dedicated servers i am getting much improved pings over modern warfare 2 which is extremely pleasing, wager matches, cod points, and more customisation is great and maps are decent. the game would be great if it wasn't the same game for the 4th time at the ludicrous price of $90au (which is now $90 us) 82/100 Expand
  82. Nov 29, 2010
    3
    I have heard good things about this game, from xbox users, and mostly bad from PC users, for me the single player is completely unplayable, the menu stutters, and skips, and gameplay is worse with freezing, etc. They have managed to make the multi player somewhat playable, which does not make sense to me, if they are the same game, same engine. If I start the MP, and then upon entering a match, bring us the console, and enter several commands, I can play it for the most part. Dealing with lag spikes, and game stutters. The graphics are not on par with previous COD titles, from Infinity Ward that is, it looks exactly like World At War, which did NOT look as good as MW2, or even MW. The audio is horrendous, the repeating sound loops for background noises stutter so badly that I want to leave the match just to not hear it. The MP gameplay is somewhat solid, a very neat idea with the COD points/money to buy upgrades with, and the custom emblems are neat. Then...traditional rank up to unlock doesn't really apply in this game, anyone can buy anything (mostly) rank is almost meaningless. I managed to make it to Captain in less than 8 hours of gaming, that seems way too quick to me. Then there are the numerous game bugs, not being able to shoot through railings, the ridiculous 10 yard knife lunges, the terrible spawn system, and one thing that I really liked in the game trailer, the remote control car, in the game, is a real pain in the ass. I can't really write a review of the single player experience because I truly can't play it at all, and the worst part is, none of the companies responsible for this train wreck will acknowledge the problems, or let us know what is being done about any of them, so I would for one would really like to have my money back on this one. Expand
  83. Dec 4, 2010
    1
    I am starting to lose faith in game critics. Do NOT buy this game, it's full of technical problems lag being the worst. It makes the game unplayable. The PS3 version has half the features of the Xbox 360 and the PC version has half the features the PS3 version. Not to mention the dummied-down graphics on the PS3. Mind you, they all paid the same price for the game. Sounds like Treyarch sold out to Microsoft. The sad thing is it could have been a decent game. Expand
  84. Dec 12, 2010
    0
    While the singleplayer provides some rather limited amount of fun, the multiplayer, which has always been the main selling point of the series, is broken beyond belief across a wide range of computer configurations, from minimum reqs to cutting edge hardware. The multiplayer component is plagued by bugs ranging from hideously bad performance, to impenetrable transparent surfaces, to broken killcam mechanics, to truly hilarious hit detection for sniper rifles.

    Considering the price of the game, the content offered, its quality and the complete lack of interest in the PC community on part of the developing studio, the bottomline is quite simple - do not buy this game.
    Expand
  85. Ed1
    Dec 12, 2010
    2
    This game suffers from severe stuttering both in single and multiplayer. Aiming is therefore very hard and very frustrating, especially since we're talking about a 60 euro well-hyped game (reducing graphical options does not help, and for the record, my computer runs many other current games just fine).

    On the other hand I like the single player story and the Zombie mode. It's clear that
    the developers did try to make a great game, but they failed.

    I have returned my copy and got a refund.
    Expand
  86. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great game they did really good with the Single player, but i think they could have done a little better with the multiplayer.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. Expand
  87. Dec 13, 2010
    8
    I've red some reviews, and found out that most of the time the writers are complaining about laggy gameplay. I haven't experienced any lag yet, so let me tell you how the game is without any lag. The single player is absolutely AWESOME. Especially the story has been improved. Good plot and stuff. Now about the multi player. The system of earning XP and unlocking weapons and stuff is the same, but some has been added to it. CP. With XP, you unlock weapons, attachments, emblems, layers (talk about that later) and lots of other things. With CP you buy it. This new system gives some variation in the Call of Duty series. Also there are wager matches. You wage your CP. If you become the first till the third player, your CP will increase. You lose, you'll lose all your CP. Also Combat Training has been added. It's a training with bots fighting against you, you can adjust the difficulty of the bots. And the emblem you have in the multi player, is custom. You choose layers, give them a colour, adjust size and make an emblem. cool isn't it? Zombie mode is also included with Black Ops. Long story short, a lot of new stuff. But now, the downside of this beautiful wonderland. Again, in this game (just as in MW2) there are some overpowered weapons + attachments. The flamethrower for example (yes you can use a flamethrower as attachment) is way too strong. Just one second on fire and you die. not fun. The killcam, as smooth as it was in MW2, now lags as **** Whatever you do, how amazing your computer is, the killcam will always lag. Just at the end, when the kill is being made, you only see three frames of a weapon firing and then the killcam's over. not satisfying if you made the final kill. It only works in combat training. There isn't really a graphic improvement, but that's not really a problem. It's about the game, right? Overall, this game is good if you have some sort of super computer (which i have). But with a regular computer, you're FPS will always stay under 15. Until Treyarch comes with a patch, this game is only fun for the people with a really good computer. My suggestion: buy this game when it has been patched, unless you think you're computer can take it. The score i give this game is based on the experience i had without having lag. With lag, my score would be around a 4.0, since the single player still makes up a lot. Expand
  88. Dec 16, 2010
    4
    After playing through the whole game, I got pretty tired of the tension in the voices between characters, the exceptionally long and unnecessary cut scenes and the inability to save games mid-way through playing them. Although flying helicopters was fun.
  89. Dec 18, 2010
    7
    I installed this game on my laptop. It stuttered to infinity. I installed this game on my gaming desktop (overclocked i7, 6GB RAM, 4890) and it stuttered less so. Several released patches indicate they're trying to get it to how it should've been at launch. The stuttering is slightly easing up with the patches, and under all of the problems, there is a fair game waiting to break free.
  90. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    Far superior to Modern Warfare 1 or 2 in almost everyway. Rich characters, interesting story, and varied mission structure make this one of the best single player experiences since Call of Duty 1 or 2. Multiplayer is better, with new customization options, faster progression, Wager Matches, and new hardcore/ normal filters that the last games lacked. I bought the game from launch, and never experienced the issues some of the users are complaining of. My opinion is that most of these negative views are probably from butthurt Modern Warfare 2 players, who can't admit a better game when they see one. Kudos to Treyarch for this release, this more than makes up for World at War. Expand
  91. Jan 6, 2011
    2
    Who designed this? A monkey? The game is ugly, and uses horribly outdated sounds and visuals. It sounds like perfect dark for the n64. The maps are stupidly designed and failtastic. I have no idea why they even put a sniper rifle in. There is no quick-scoping and nowhere to snipe. Utterly DISGUSTING how obviously bribed the reviewers are.
  92. Jan 7, 2011
    0
    The graphics haven't changed, the story is simply fight club done through the vietnam war and the campaign is absolutely god awful., There is absolutely no flow and no level of enjoyment. You go from frustrating, single path, uncontrollable levels that last only about 20 minutes to annoying cut scenes that are the same thing over and over again,. A huge disappointment.
  93. Jan 12, 2011
    1
    An honest review would be to say that the game is not worth the cash. Looking at critic reviews is essentially a waste of time because they are paid to say swell things about the game. However Black ops for pc is absolutely broken, it has been designed very fast and made very scruffy. The graphics are the same as World at war and the engine hasn't been updated properly so a lot of the graphics are very shaggy or dull. Game play wise this game is pretty decent because COD has always had great single players, as for online it is an abomination. Even having the best Internet cannot overthrow how slow and terrible the servers are for this game. There are also rarely any updates and that leads to many hardware/compatibility issues. Zombies is a pretty decent aspect but lacks anything new, it's almost a copy pasted version of the COD world at war one just on different maps. Overall I would avoid buying this game until it is fixed, it's been three months since the release and is still a pain to play on the pc due to lags and constant errors. Spend your money on something better instead. Expand
  94. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can't not agree with Smith and others. Game not so good as Mw2. It's not optimized for PS. graphic is worse than it was in mw2.
    I think only good thing is customization of guns and player.
    So if they would took mw2 + new story+ customization+ infinity ward team t would be so much better. Yea, zombies is cool but even there they screw up.
    And in SP it's look like they took old script's and just add it in new engine.
    So shame on you guys. U suxx
    Expand
  95. Jan 22, 2011
    0
    People buy CoD for multiplayer. New CoD game is released. Servers migrate to new CoD game. Old CoD game unplayable. Everyone buys new CoD game. Wow. Is that it? This is a pathetic money-grab scam fitted with a hashed-together single-player campaign. It's virtually a subscription fee. Paying £40 a year so you can still find a server to play on, if you can even play the server and ignore the ridiculous lag that renders the whole thing pointless anyway. Load of **** Expand
  96. Jan 22, 2011
    0
    Unforinutelly I can not return my money I spent for this poor designed and developed game. Never will bye any game from Activisition and Treyarch. Good advirtisment, bad game.
  97. Jan 27, 2011
    3
    This game has been in a Beta phase of development since it's release. The only problem with that is THAT YOU HAVE TO PAY $100 FOR IT.
    With incredibly frustrating spawns, maps which basically nulify the nessecty of sniper rifles and a very frustrating DRM system which they call "dedicated servers". Do not get this game, the critics must have been paid for their reviews by Activision, this
    game is a badly ported Xbox game that they didn't even bother testing before they released it on PC.

    So now they have fixed a couple of the spawning bugs, a couple of the lag issues (not all of either) and now they expect us to pay another $15 for a couple of extra maps which will probably bring about a whole other bunch of issues; such as splitting the community in two, and what will happen with the servers? Will THEY have to pay extra for the new maps? Time will tell, but basing my assumptions on the problems/solutions that have presented themselves thus far; it will not be getting much better.
    Expand
  98. Jan 31, 2011
    0
    unplayable even on the newer pc's, developer is of no help in trying to fix any of the problems...save your money!!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!! Waited for a long time for this and it's horrible. Pretty much a peice of crap.
  99. Mar 28, 2011
    0
    Reskin the models, rename protagonist and antagonist, rewrite location names, replace the wood barrels add draw roads here and there and voila new game to make moar $$$. COD: Ripoff of the century. It's linear, it's cliche and it has ancient graphics. It doesn't deserve a dime.
  100. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    Where to begin. I'm writing this review a few months after BO has been released(in a very unready state), and patched too many times to count. SP was a pain to go through as I couldn't skip videos, until they were done. Some levels involved the character just wandering empty halls. Unimpressed. I had high hopes for MP to save the game, but no dice. Maps get boring fast, gun customization makes no sense as some have attachments, and others don't, and some only have one. Very poorly thought out. Combat training against the AI is neat, and a nice change if you actually want to get a killstreak, and don't want to get ballistic knifed by every single MP person out there. That is until the AI starts wall hacking you. I had high hopes for the latest map pack that was released, until I found out Treyarch was charging $15 for it. Hardly fair after I've already shelled out $60 for a game. Even less fair when you hear a new COD is in the works. Maybe if the makers of COD actually got together and started to create updates of weapons or other items at AFFORDABLE prices, their series won't turn into the Rockband series with lackluster sales.

    Overall this game was a huge disappointment from day one. I don't know what drugs the 'critics' are smoking, or what game they played, but it's certainly not the same one as me.

    I'd say save your money and go buy another game, but most choices out there are made to make a buck, not to have replayability, so just save your money and go and enjoy some fresh air.
    Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    68
    This score will likely come as a shock to many, but this game suffers from pathetic frame rates at times, both on console and on PC.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    Black Ops is one of the best first person shooters this year, and is a obviously must have for any action fan. Intense, gory and quite brilliant, maybe it's not refreshing but at the same time its a stunning game.