User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1382 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    0
    Sorry for the last 10/10 reveiw that was a baaaad misAKE i really meant 0/10 for utter crap in activisions sucsessful call of duty series allthough any MODERN warfare that will come out will sure to be a top buy!
  2. Apr 17, 2011
    0
    I used to be a great fan of the COD series, but however, even though the first few games where great titles, activision now just spits one out year after year as fast as they can to make profits, the overall gameplay hasnt changed much after an almost decade of the series, with insignificant things like zombies and currency thrown in every few titles to try to keep it fresh, Black ops itself has a short singleplayer with a more or less confusing story, and multiplayer gets boring extremely fast, I am now looking forward to the battlefield series where innovation and gameplay is key Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    0
    I just signed up and made an account on this website purely to leave this game a negative review. I got this game for my birthday a couple days ago hoping to play online as a replacement game for counter strike. The online experience has been god awful, i drop every game "connection Interrupted" error. The main menu looks like it was tailored a console game as you have to use your wasd keys to navigate threw it. Single player isn't horrible if your into that sort of thing. But for i'd say 80% of the online FPS community we want to be playing online. Overall this game is bad SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!! Sincerely
    Unsatisfied Customer
    Expand
  4. May 8, 2011
    9
    One of the most balanced Call of Duty games to date. The single player is great, the Zombie Co-Op is a masterpiece within the zombie games and the multiplayer is balanced. Although some weapons seem overpowered, Treyarch has done a great job increasing the player's health so we can counter-act the so-called "overpowered weapons" in time. Treyarch does our job by patching for performance issues to low-rigged computers, nerfing the weapons to become pretty balanced and preparing us mod tools to May. The dedicated servers has turned the tables from the failing Modern Warfare 2. Probably the second best CoD game, second only to the masterpiece CoD4, Call of Duty: Black Ops will blow you away once you get the hang of it. It probably won't be a classic, but it's a nice comeback to the CoD series from Treyarch. I probably won't going to get any other Call of Duty due to ActiVision's abuse on fans, but what I'm certain is that Treyarch gave me the closing chapter above my expectations to my CoD gaming history. 9.5 out of 10 Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2011
    0
    The Call of Duty Franchise, the most unchanged franchise in the world... what do I mean? what I mean is that they only change the game-play and the weapons, not realistic, people hack to get to get to the 70TH level, Guess what? this is the big word: Call Of Duty 4 is the game, while the other games in the series: "JUST ONE BIG DLC"
    So in order to finish this review, Battlefield vomits all
    over the Call of Duty series. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2011
    0
    This game sucks. Heavy Graphics and bad graphics. I want my money back. Overrated review everywhere and all I notice is that users are hating this game. They bribe reviewers or this reviewers are so frustrated dreaming being military man... because most recent FPS war games its awful.
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    2
    The game isn't fitted to be called "Call Of Duty." Almost every mission is all about Americans, which is unlikely in the COD franchise. The singleplayer campaign is short, and two of its mission is unplayable.

    Forget about the multiplayer and zombies, the game lacks too many anticipation. And I class it more as a sci-fi game because of the whole Nova-6 conspiracy, which completely
    unlikely in the franchise all based to be realistic warfare. Expand
  8. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is so great, I can't wait untill MW3 comes out, I'm just playing, and playing, and playing Black Ops on my XBOX 360. I'm lvl 28 or 29 (can't remember) in 4th Prestige i just can't wait for Modern Warfare 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  9. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Black Ops is easily the best CoD game to date - I really do not see why people are hating on it. Treyarch have outdone themselves with this one. They have proved to be better than Infinity Ward at making PC ports. It has all PC features you would expect such as a FoV slider, Lean, Dedicated servers, and the developer console. All the control options are how they should be too - no lack of key bindings or anything like that (unlike BF3) Black Ops has a great Single Player storyline too, and actually has decent graphics. They aren't Crysis 2 level, but for a CoD game they are really nice. It even has the dismemberment system back from World at War so you can watch in pleasure as you blow off peoples limbs. The gameplay is also more varied and overall better than previous CoD's. MP is what you would expect from a CoD game - fast and furious, except Treyarch have revamped it and added in a ton of customisation and new gamemodes. They also revamped the levelling system, and have added in some other things like "Contracts", which is a pretty neat addition. Did I mention the new main menu for Black Ops, is awesome! The multi player maps are also interesting because there are things to interact with now. Example, you can close a big blast door on someone and squash them. The sound and music is also very good - weapon sounds are loud and pack a punch, and the music is fitting. Animations are slick too. The best part of Black Ops (for me anyway) is the extra Zombie gametype they give you. Any WaW player will appreciate this, and this time they have actually expanded on the Zombiemodes gameplay and story - so it's essentially a game in a game now, which is pretty awesome. The only bad points of Black Ops are the performance bugs some people get, and the multi player spawn points can be a bit awkward. (It will sometimes spawn people behind you after you killed) Regarding performance, I'm one of the lucky people, and it seems to run fine on my system - but many of my friends are struggling to get the game to play properly. Also the gameplay is similar to other CoD's, so it can get a bit repetitive. Oh, and the DLC prices are also a bit stupid. Although, in my opinion though, if your a Nazi Zombie fan , the Zombie maps ALONE in the DLC make it worth it. They put so much work into the maps, and are always adding new things. Overall, great CoD game. Don't listen to the hate. This game is better than the MW series, and Treyarch have proven themselves to be better than Infinity Ward. Sure it has a couple of flaws, but no game is perfect! Expand
  10. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    I have been playing this game for a good year now ,While playing 1 player which was ok but very forgetable, i stuck with online multiplayer , I can safely say this is where my good money was spent , ffa on nuke town , Ive got my moneys worth here alone :) Excellent map !!
    The hit detection can sometimes be a bit ropey but you get your good and bad games where pings go up and down .
    I
    still play it now , but it seems if most are the players are deserting black ops , which is a shame .
    Anywaysa good game while it lasted .8/10
    The game loses a few points because theres not much new here from previous cod,s + hit detection sometimes lets the game down online.
    Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    why do so many people hate this game? the graphics are not excellent but the gameplay is funny. i've had no problems at all. i haven't tested the multiplayer because i never do, but treyarch usually provides a good multiplayer. for what i've seen, this game deserves an 8.7
  12. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    People love to hate whats popular. What it comes down to is that Black Ops is safe, but polished: What you should expect from a Call of Duty game these days. Multiplayer is a bit more balanced, but not perfectly, and its not likely to sway the people whose minds were made up before hand. Single player has a bit more innovative in the story, but not as well executed. MW2 was comparable to a Bond film, but Black Ops is just too easy to give up on, despite the entertainment of seeing some familiar, historical faces. Set pieces are wide, imaginative, and varied throughout, and though perhaps not quite as good as Modern Warfare, it has some top notch extra content to make up for it, however much Spec Ops is missed. Overall, if you still like being an army dude with real guns mowing down enemies while lots of **** blows up, Spec Ops is a great buy. If your looking for a game that shuns the safe blockbuster video game formula for something new and unexpected, you're going to be disappointed. Expand
  13. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    I can't play this game, the delay is just too much. Only when I'm the host can I get good scores. No servers for N-Europe, ridiculous and unjustified. With 60+ ping this game should have never been released where I live. Other than that the game is balanced sure but doesn't bring anything new, it's MW 2.5 with worse connections, player models, graphics, performance. The theater mode records barely half of my games, pointless, give me an option to disable it. The performance is still horrible on PC. The player models look like dwarfs to be honest. The maps are ugly, thanks to the console graphics. The console port is bad and the game shouldn't have been released for PC. The fonts are ugly, the UI is ugly, the menu is ugly. Killstreaks don't unlock you new killstreaks which means using nothing else than the top killstreaks is useless and boring: there's not enough interaction with killstreaks. The perks, killstreaks and guns are all copied from MW2, except they are now balanced. There are a few new gamemodes though which I didn't find interesting. Going prestige doesn't give you anything exciting or useful other than a few new classes to use and a 15x15 emblem, it's pointless. I have hundreds of thousands of money yet no use for it. The game lags unnecessarily much with decent pings, and the hit detection is faulty. The game isn't anywhere near worth the money. Instead of updating things that barely make a difference how about update the faults that make the unbearable? To be honest Treyarch isn't professional enough to launch a game of this scale and sincerely hope I never hear of this company ever again.Sadly there are even more things I forgot to mention here. Expand
  14. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    Disappointing, buggy arcade shooter, similar to Cod MW2. Don't buy it - it's simply not worth 59 euro. Activision is just trying to sting us for money.
  15. Jun 19, 2011
    1
    I Dont like this game at all. it is boring, it lags on my computer but i have good internet and my specs are, Radeon 5750 amd phenom ii x4 840 and 4gb ddr3 1066 it shouldnt lag on that .its boring, buggy and should be called "call of duy: Crap Ops.
  16. Nov 29, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Woha, lots of hate for this game. I have only tried the single player campaign, and I can honestly say its so far in the whole MoH & CoD line the one I enjoyed the most. Good playability, versatile, over the top action like a 80's action movie. Not a single bug encountered, good flow and nice graphics. (Playing on a i7 920 + GTX285) And finally some humour! (loved the Kennedy zombie part) Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2010
    8
    Call of Duty; Black Ops is phenomenal and easily fills the quality gap left by Modern Warfare 2. The Single Player experience is a work of art much like Call of Duty 4. You follow an American agent as he goes through torture and very surreal flashbacks. This game creates real tension and is even better than COD4s brilliant campaign which is a huge accomplishment. I can't praise the Campaign enough, it is six hours of pure brilliance. Plus you have the Zombie mode which is always good for a short break of mindless fun, even better if you can get a LAN game going. The campaigns only fault are a few poorly placed auto save zones and Teammates who only show rare acts of initiative and proficiency. 9

    Now the Multiplayer and honestly BloPs delivers a fantastic package. Making a few fantastically smart changes, like the implementation of a credit system, which makes it so you don't have to get so many kills or head shots to get camo and upgrades and instead buy it. This change makes the class design easier, allowing you to just get what you want. Also on the PC we get back leaning and servers so get excited. The only issues are the typical some guns being overpowered and a delay problem on all servers, this doesn't result in symo-kills but it feels like your weapons doesnt shoot where you aim every so often. 8

    Call of Duty Black Ops is a brilliant game and easily beats back the last two mediocre games in the franchise and earns a place as one of the better FPS's of this Era, check it out.
    Expand
  18. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    A hefty game which still has some lag issues, but if you focus more on it's campaign, it has a strong plot, all it's levels are pinned down to the plot. I know, it's laggy... laggy for those who want to feel the best experience in a videogame. Quite impressive how Treyarch is rolling out these updates in a fast pace. I'm looking forward for another Treyarch Call of Duty game, but what I really recommend as an improvement is to have a longer campaign, focus on the story, not too much on the action, one wrong step and the main point of the game is to shoot every bastard you see down the road. Try making a modern setting Call of Duty game. Expand
  19. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    10 for graphics. 10 for storyline. I don't play zombies but that was absolutely hilarious the way you did it so 9. 10 for game play. 5 for bugs THAT FORCED ENTIRE RESTART OF LEVELS! 8 for relatively decent checkpoint placement but not perfect. 10+10+8+10+5+7=8 overall.

    Look, I dk about the MP, but if it weren't for the bugs, the single player was absolutely nothing less than amazing,
    so I dk what's with the Haters here. What more could you want from SP?? Expand
  20. Jun 4, 2011
    0
    The devs did a horribe job with this game. The graphics are horrible so they can run on the consoles and it's an import from the console version. Very pathetic. I am not happy with Treyarch and Activsion and never do I intend to buy another COD game again. Not consider how boring the multiplayer is!
  21. Dec 26, 2010
    7
    1) Cinematic sequences have already been seen in Modern Warfare 1 and 2 and in my opinion were better realized (with more suspense and heroicism).
    2) The soundtrack is very good, but the problem is the sound itself. I have not even read somewhere a comment on the weapon's sound, which is too "dry" (without reverb in indoor sequences and echo in semi-open levels such as roads). Also, many
    samples are recycled from old CODs (PPSH 41 and MP40 have the same sound of COD2). Even support for surround 5.1 is not so good. Bad Company 2, enabling the appropriate option, is in another galaxy.
    3) Black Ops graphics are a scandal nowadays. The game almost looks like Modern Warfare 1, which was nothing special. Particle effects are not so good and textures are low res. Level backgrounds are still horrible. This is because the graphics engine is very old. Even UE3 can do better.
    4) 6 hours to complete singleplayer
    5) Scandalous AI. Teammates do not defend us and just move from cover A to cover B.
    6) Still too many scripts and infinite enemy troops respawn.
    7) Too accurate enemies at high difficulties (they can easily hit us from far distances)
    8) Awesome plot and lovely flashbacks
    Expand
  22. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This game was just as good as modern warfare 2 if not better.The graphics were macnificent and the storyline great, i only played the single player though but it was really another great C.O.D great experience and they still make M.O.H look like children!!!
  23. Dec 1, 2010
    7
    IMO 2. best FPS of 2010 after BC2. I haven't had a single problem with performance, even though I think gameservers.com is one of the worst providers of all time. Camping is absolutely no problem in this game, the only people who even remotely suceed at camping are people with ghost, and even then just getting blackbird will solve that problem. I really love seeing all those goddamn campers with >0.50 score. The game is overall fairly balanced, there are a couple of the weapons that suck hard, but the rest are more or less equally strong, with the exception of the knife of course. Noobtube is no problem, flak jackets does a great job of making noobtube entirely useless, which I think is pretty nice :) Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2010
    6
    Im writing this because of all the miss information in previous posts. Infinity ward were developing this game, but it was handed to Treyarch because Activision Fired all the Bosses (and original owners) at IW and most of the dev team quit to join a law suit against Activision for all the bonuses they were promised for MW2.

    IW is owned by Activision but none of the talent works there
    anymore!

    Look at Treyarchs back catalogue, this game was always going to be sh!t. FACT

    Game review:
    Single Player: Surprisingly i enjoyed this, Good storyline, nice moments but too short (5 hours to complete it is a joke).
    Good but dont buy it for the Single player alone.

    Multiplayer:
    LAG, They bring back dedicated, but only with a provider with a poor record, more money grabbing.
    Balance? Fantastic scope for griefing with the new Knife, but we shall have to see as more hours are clocked
    Fun? Yea damn it its still fun
    On the premise that they will fix the lag issues, this game gets 6/10
    Expand
  25. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    Being a huge MW2 fan, I wanted to love Black Ops. Sadly, for PC the game is a technical failure. The engine runs very poorly and even though claims to run at 90 FPS, is choppy and stutters. Aside from the fact that it took months for the developer to patch the game to a playability state, the gameplay is just not as polished as MW2. I enjoyed the SP campaign for what it was, although there were several totally obnoxious parts where the game didn't indicate what you should do (stupid barrel section!). Overall, the game just failed technically, so it gets a 5 since it was playable, but not very good. Expand
  26. Nov 20, 2010
    8
    I waited to buy this game for as long as I could, but eventually I caved, because I love the Call of Duty franchise and couldn't resist. Obviously as the 3.8 user score shows, this game is getting torn up on Metacritic right now. I don't think that's entirely merited.

    There are lag issues. There are balance issues -- the unstoppable explosive rc cars and instant-detonation claymores
    being a couple of the more obnoxious examples. However, I think that the overall foundation of the game is solid. DEDICATED SERVERS ARE BACK. This is excellent news for those players who missed the competitive Promod scene that was present in Call of Duty 4.

    One major problem with the game: sniping took a major hit, since zooming in no longer brings the crosshair to the center of what you were aiming at. This means that quickscoping, for better or for worse, has gone the way of the Stopping Power perk. I was a hardcore sniper in mw2 and cod4; I know a lot of other players like myself who are disappointed by this nerf.

    The currency system works well, as do the wager matches, which keep you punching your expensive Razer keyboard in frustration. If you're still reading this then you've probably already done some research on the game, so I'll try to summarize: the multiplayer is much different, but it's still extremely fun.

    And I haven't even mentioned the single-player mode, which is exciting without being ridiculous in terms of story. Still has lots of slow motion quicktime events but at least you don't have to fight your way through a Russian invasion of Washington DC this time.

    It's not a beautiful game, but people don't play Call of Duty for the graphics. Gameplay has been polished here, and I can see Black Ops being a game that people play competitively, something that couldn't be said for any other Call of Duty game since the original Modern Warfare. It's not inferior to MW2: it's merely different. I like it, and I've put enough hours into it to know that I'll continue to play for months. I think an 8 is an appropriate score for a successful production like this one.
    Expand
  27. Nov 11, 2010
    1
    I bought this game for the multiplayer, however there are so many glitches in joining games, especially as a party. I'm getting dropped constantly and there is so much lag, I can't play competitively. Very disappointing.
  28. Nov 11, 2010
    0
    MP is nothing but LAG LAG LAG, Hold them account for the crap they send out! I wish this game was more like Modern Warfare 1. You could pick a server and not have to worry about lag. You had the chose to down load Mods custom maps if want. Why change what was a great think. I hated MW2 because of the changes and Black Ops does not seem to be much better!
  29. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    HAHAHAHA what a pile of garbage this game is, ps3 port, terrible graphics, lags like a **** same old same old. I really wish people would stop buying these games and then they might actually have to make a cod game for pc, and make it good, instead of giving us the crap that console idiots lap up as they don't know any better
  30. Nov 13, 2010
    2
    PROS:
    - lots of new content added for MP CONS:
    - story is for kids under 14 - one of the worst graphics of the history of video gaming ever created, period (and I got a good and fast PC) - textures, shadows+lights (in and outdoor) are failing very very badly, must be made by a complete beginner. - geometry of the surrounding reminds me of the playstation 2 times (in fact, I just
    checked and Black looks much greater tbh.) - worst scripting ever combined with the most stupid AI a programmer may come up with. (this includes things like teammate standing and waiting for you next to 3 NME solder while those solders do nothing about him, or teammates yelling about incoming tanks after all tanks are eliminated minutes ago, etc, etc got about a zillion examples) - sounds are from a average SNES shooter game (they must be!), some1 fires a shotgun next to your ears, and you hear a sneaky fart.
    - etc -etc -et................. the bottom line: its a cheap bad fps, and not a CALL OF DUTY game ------------------ Conclusion: Never trust game reviewing sites, and never buy a game without a trailer showing actual gameplay
    Expand
  31. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    Another pathetic money grab from activision. There's nothing innovative or fun about this version don't bother. Why on earth wasn't infinity ward used on this version? Treyarch is terrible. Remember when they released World At War?
  32. Nov 12, 2010
    4
    ** -- >>> I wanted to clarify to people that take issue with others saying that the reviews are bribed / paid off, that the claims of bribed scores are CORRECT, and it isn't just ActiVision who do this.
    Review sites make revenue by having people visit their site, and if other sites are putting up the first reviews of the latest hot game, people will go to them instead. Game publishers buy
    off high review scores by telling sites that they will receive an advanced copy of their game for review ahead of the retail release date ONLY IF the game receives a score of >80, or >90. They won't make this condition to all review sites, but they will to the popular ones, whose reviews will affect opinions the most.

    The incentives given for high scores also go beyond that. If a review site gives a score the publisher doesn't like, they won't receive an advance copy for future titles, putting that review site at a disadvantage to other sites that can review the game ahead of them - and when a site is blacklisted by a large publisher like ActiVision, that can mean a LOT of titles that will be missed. Call of Duty is ActiVision's biggest title, you can be damn that sure they've put more score manipulating muscle into this release than any other release has seen before it. This score manipulation regularly taints big-name games, and you should know to not trust review sites all that much, because their noses are often firmly up the arses of the companies whose games they depend on being able to review early to generate their site traffic for revenue. User feedback has become far more valuable that site reviews. However, a lot of simple users out there who don't have much game experience will assume that the game they're playing that got fifteen 100/100 scores is truly the best, and those don't-know-better easily manipulable people are the ones the score-doctoring tactics aim to influence.

    Metacritic, itself, has been lobbied by publishers to remove various negative scores from its site, to make games look like they were received better than they were. As far as I know, Metacritic has rebuffed all such lobbying.

    Now my review:
    I've played only the sp so far, and it's typical CoD boredom, for me. I hardly feel like I'm playing, and what I'm watching isn't very exciting, either. The graphics are bad, but hey, it's designed for ancient console hardware, and not contemporary PC hardware, so it's not very surprising. Frankly, I loathe the cheesy cliche Vietnam characters and lines, which now (if not already ages ago) seem like a bad parody of a bad parody. I have some un-ignorable performance issues, the same ones which many others are also experiencing, detailed on various forums (Steam forums, ActiVision forums, & others), despite having a robust PC. This game will satisfy the kiddies, who are wowed more by the constant scripted business of this rail-shooter than by involved and in-depth gameplay.
    Expand
  33. Nov 13, 2010
    0
    it is a very poor release, it looks worse than WAW and plays woefully. the graphics are worse than bio shock and that was released 3 years ago and built on the UT2 engine!! The single player crashed constantly, just things going wrong with it like sound errors cut scenes that stop etc. The guns sound very lack luster and no difference between types. MP is a joke the hit register fails to work at the best of time its laggy and glitchy again. MW2 was a sellout for computer users but it is better than this. If you own an Xbox 360 or a ps3 hire the game for the week end and you will be over it by the end. Expand
  34. Jan 5, 2011
    7
    Besides not being anything new the multi player is unplayable due to disconnects. I mean it, UNPLAYABLE. Unplayable MP, stuttering like mad on C2D 3.0 with 4gb and 9800GTX card...even on lowest settings. Then there's lag issues, CTD problems....you get the picture. Stear clear from this junk until it's fixed.
  35. Nov 15, 2010
    0
    COD: BlackOPs is an absolute disaster of a game. Technically speaking the game does not work. It's broken, there are numerous bugs, many of which make the game completely and totally unplayable, the game will crash unexpectedly, it lags constantly, the number of hoops you have to jump through to make this game work are so many that it's simply not worth the effort in the end. For instance: Activision suggests (from their web site) that you reduce your screen resolution to 1024x768, reduce your audio card performance to basic, turn off antivirus and turn off any non windows services using msconfig. The fact that you need to use msconfig at all is a major red flag here. No normal game player should ever use msconfig as it's a system tool that can completely crash your OS if used incorrectly. In addition to all of the steps above you need also update every single driver for each piece of hardware on your system. DirectX, VideoCard, SoundCard all to play this game.

    The fact that you need to adjust any system preferences is an indicator of just how bad of a job Treyarch did in programming this game and there's no guarantee that doing so will make the game work, goes to show you just how god awful of a game this really is.

    Do not buy this game, you have been warned. This is not a review so much as it is a gigantic danger sign. If you buy this game you will be disappointed. Fact.
    Expand
  36. Nov 15, 2010
    0
    It;s probobly the worst cod game ever. I honestly think, that one studio can't made all worst games in series byt I was obvusly wrong. The singleplayer is short, the multi is worst that this in modern warfare 2.
    But the most important- THIS GAME DID NOT WORK AT ALL!
    It's just beta stage. And I have to pay for this.
  37. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    Excellent single player campaign and - in my experience so far - great multi-player which works fine and brings some new ideas to the COD table whilst scaling back on the death-for-above craziness and staggering arrogance of MW2. I have had a couple of crashes and at least one laggy multiplayer match, but I've enjoyed it enough to overlook the stability issues.

    There are some stunningly
    bad user reviews on here - in particular, one person has registered multiple times to spam the same stunningly stupid 0-score review (in which he actually states "Why on earth wasn't infinity ward used on this version?", demonstrating he knows sweet F A about how COD's being handled by Activision) so ignore the average and stick to the critic reviews on this one - the fanboy element's destroyed the user review section, which is a **** shame. Trust a community to absolutely destroy a community feature, eh? Buggers. Expand
  38. Nov 15, 2010
    8
    This is awesome fps game. I can say very cheerful that this is the best FPS on this year! The story i was awesome and not pit too short on my opinion. I was get along with it at the start. Because i have been waited this game so long. So i cold not dissapointed on that. And i wasn't. Story and game play are perfect. Except that the AI was little too push over on my opinion, but even that doesent bother me so much. Expand
  39. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    COD Black Ops is a good game. Apart from the mechanics/graphics looking and feeling almost the same as MW2, the single player being its usual irritating "get blood on screen, hide, wait, rinse and repeat" as well as the occasional game-seizing bug (which I have no doubt will be ultimately fixed at some point), and the multiplayer being a *little* chuggy, it is still a good game. Plus for the new multiplayer loadout system and the great customisation therein, and a huge plus for returning to dedicated servers - something that was missing in MW2 multiplayer and was therefore insanely terrible. Give it a patch or two and it could work out to be fantastic. Expand
  40. Nov 18, 2010
    7
    My review is based on Single play(SP) as I never play Multiplay(MP). The game is quite enjoyable and sucks you into a curious story of adventure, thrill and drama. If you enjoyed the story lines of other COD games this one [while not a continuation of MW due to a different developer] is quite interesting. My personal issues with the game are checkpoint saving which I detest [as previous COD games had], far too much random flashing images due to flashbacks, really not to my taste. Some minor issues with scenes in Vietnam, the caves the developers made for the Vietcong were too big (wide), and yes I have been there and have personally been in the caves, the game scenes made it feel like a cake walk, imagine crawling on your stomach in some parts, wider parts just barely enough room to crouch walk (with bats flying by lol).

    AI is all right but I get tired of enemies breaking rank and running straight for me around a large group of "friends" and being ganked while my friends watch, many parts of the game I was unsure what I was supposed to be doing, objectives weren't so clear. I spent a fair amount of time tossing out colorful metaphors at my monitor dying and not sure what to do. All in all a worthy sequel to the COD series and if you play it for the SP then don't be afraid to check it out. I will enjoy replaying through SP. As for MP, well, I will let other reviewers comment.
    Expand
  41. Nov 18, 2010
    3
    A game with potential to have alot of longevity in the competitive scene, was completely ruined by lazy development. Treyarch spent no time optimizing the game for the PC. High end machines run the game poorly, while some low end machines run the game well. There's no solid system requirements. Getting lucky with hardware configurations is the only way to have an enjoyable experience. The single player, while outstanding, also suffers from similar issues. However, we'll be real here. PC gaming is not about the SP experience. CoD is a multiplayer game. That is why people buy titles from this series. As of now, it's unplayable to many. Treyarch's Community Manager does a piss poor job of communicating with the PC community. The customer services is lackluster. Not to mention.. the game is directx 9. Get with the times, Treyarch. 3. That's being generous. Expand
  42. Nov 18, 2010
    0
    It if far from playable and has to many bugs to list, multiplayer is full of hacker and stuttering even with high range hardware. It is using the same engine as COD 4 and WAW but slitly modified but still looks like something from 2006. Treyarch keeps promising a patch but regardless of if they fix some issues game should not be released in conditions like this. Most PC gamers would agree we paid $60 for a beta key. Expand
  43. Nov 18, 2010
    4
    This is the first user review I've ever written for a game, but I feel compelled to do so due to the discrepancy between my gaming experience and the critic reviews. I'd like to preface this review with the fact that I found the multiplayer to be very enjoyable, accounting for the 4 scarce points the game gets from me. To be fair, they've added little in the way of new content for multiplayer, but they've balanced it well, added interesting and entertaining new game modes, and created well thought out maps. The knee-jerk reactions of other user reviewers to the latency issues are unfounded as they were smoothed out within a week of launch. The single player on the other hand has not only failed to impress, but has actually bored and frustrated me. The sections they add that attempt to add innovation to the genre fail horribly, such as the "rts" section they added which did absolutely nothing to better the fps experience. The gameplay throughout single player is lacking in any impressive moments, something that MW2 had in abundance, and simply doesn't have the high adrenaline action I've come to expect from a Call of Duty title. In their Vietnam level they bring back the unlimited enemy spawn in force, which actually had me laughing out loud as I played it. I wasted huge amounts of ammo on constantly respawning soldiers, and only completed each section of the level when I made a luck mad dash without even firing my weapon. The enemy AI only shoots at you, defeating the purpose of their reiterated "no one fights alone" motto, and the friendly AI happily ignores enemies behind them, leaving the player to think that a position is clear only to discover they have three enemies rifle-butting them in the back. Finally, the plot (which has never been something on which I focus heavily in any fps) actually manages to detract from the game, as they seem to be pretending that something is happening when every level you play feels like it has nothing to do with the plot the game is trying to force down your throat. In short, the game lacks innovation in both multiplayer and single player, and the campaign suffers from a lack of polish and fundamental mechanics necessary to make the most basic popcorn shooter enjoyable. If you want a good multiplayer experience and have exhausted all your other fps options, by all means buy Black Ops (I certainly did), but if you're looking for a fulfilling single player experience, I wouldn't recommend this game even if the price tag dropped by 75% tomorrow. Expand
  44. Nov 20, 2010
    1
    Practically unplayable. Every single mode and menu is glitchy and laggy. Either this game was never beta tested or it was and Treyarch released it as is. The only point garnered was for a very interesting single player story, even this tho was a test of patience as the game stutters non stop. Beyond stuttering and memory issues, Graphics wise this game is a disaster. As the release dates would lead you to believe Black Ops should be better than Modern Warfare 2 (MW2 was released a year and some months ago); it is not. Bad textures, terrible lighting and shadows coupled w/ a very crippled PC port will have you running this game with graphics mirroring a 800 x 600 resolution. Black Ops had its moment were everyone believed it to be the next great First Person Shooter, we passed that moment the day it was released Expand
  45. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game was awesome. There were 2 parts to my decision, first the multiplayer, then the campaign. Multiplayer on Call of Duty has always been great. I know many have said "oh the graphics suck" or "it lags" but quite honestly, these problems didn't come for me, and my computer is not the best. People usually blame the company when something goes wrong for them... which is fine.. to an extent. However, I don't think their frustration should go to writing a review about this game because of their own little problems. On the Campaign side, the story; the start of it, with Victor Reznov... I thought he was a good guy, he was going to be a hero, despite the Americans facing the Russians in the Cold War. I was suprised to see the events in Vorkuta and how Mason got brainwashed. However, the campaign at the end kinda was easy to guess once Mason murdered Steiner. Expand
  46. Nov 20, 2010
    4
    It's a poor rehash of mw2. The levels are complicated and poor, weapons are not balanced, aircraft are too powerful. mw2 is much better and kept me playing much longer, i'm already bored.
  47. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    please stop whining about the lag, do you really think they wont fix it? tbh this is the best call of duty game since cod 4 since waw wasnt that good and mw2 completely sucked, because of the overpowered, no recoil guns and no dedicated servers. But in black ops there are dedicated servers and all the guns are very balanced with low damage and high recoil wich is awesome, finally needs some skills to get kills. and there is very low explosive damage on noob tubes wich is awesome. and all of you people who are whining about zombies not working on the day of realease, OBVIOUSLY SOME THINGS ARE BROKEN 1 HOUR AFTER THE GAME IS RELEASED BUT THEY WILL FIX IT!!!! Expand
  48. Nov 21, 2010
    2
    Sound! Sound! Sound!
    How many people out there are still playing their games through their pc-speaker. I haven't heard such bad sound effects since running Wolfenstein 3d through the pc-speaker of my 386. I complement Activision on their fantastic marketing hype. I, like many others, were duped, and expected a new and improved MW2, but Treyarch just wasn't able to deliver.
  49. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    It has it's problems, but it's also the best CoD so far.

    There's been plenty of rage and venom spat towards Treyarch from the PC community due to some performance issues which I personally don't suffer from. So far they've patched the game twice trying to fix these issues, and for the most part they have, but there's still a very loud mob of angry customers who can't play due to a
    "stuttering" issue, while I believe the problem is real for some, I can't help but think low system specs and poor PC maintenance play a major part for some people.

    After MW2 I thought the series was dead for good, the awful IWnet coupled with a half working VAC made what could have been a decent game a disaster. Luckily, my fears were crushed when I first saw Black Ops, you could tell from the first reveal it was going to be a success, and it was. Black Ops adds so much to the table which sets it apart from other CoD games, for example, Wager Matches, Character customization, Theatre mode and much more, there always feels like something you can do that's fun and interesting.

    The game feels a lot more balanced this time around, with the removal of such perks as Commando, One Man Army, Infinite n00b tubing, killstreaks not counting towards killstreaks and most importantly the guns, there's no gun that really stands out in Black Ops, you can be successful with most of them. The only balance issue that sticks out right now is the knife, with it's auto aim and massive lunge radius it's far more deadly then a backup weapon should be.

    In closing, I'd just like to say the game is good, it's very good and you shouldn't worry too much about the performance issues if you have a good computer and know how to use it. I personally run the game with everything on high and average 118 FPS with maxFPS set to 125, that's not too bad, right?

    My rig:

    i5 750 @ 4GHz
    ATI 5850
    Win7 64 bit
    4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
    1920x1080
    Expand
  50. Feb 3, 2011
    2
    Activision, Give up already.
    I own this game, and i play it when im extremely bored, and no other time whatsoever.
    Zombies is really the only thing i play, because it is sort of innovative in a sense.
    And the only things that save this game from a 0 in my mind, is the beautiful scenery, Zombies, Wager Matches(Specifically Gun Game), and the storyline.
  51. Nov 27, 2010
    8
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is a step.up to the rest of the Call of Duty series. Very nice single-player campaign, a stunning Multi-Player and a exciting Zombie Mode, especially the good ol' school Dead Ops Arcade :)
    I just only don't give a 10 because the game has many weapons that weren't made in the moment, like the AK-74u; was made only in '74 and is seen on the campaign in '68. But after
    all, it was to give a bigger variety of weapons on MP
    Until now I hadn't problems with the MP like everyone says :P I'm just killing :)
    Expand
  52. Nov 28, 2010
    8
    Well, the singleplayer in blackops is sooooo cool... but the multi player is too laging, everyone got the problem. But I think that the multi player is quite fun to play (if not laging)... the only bad thing is (not so fasinated PVP)... but their single is pretty nice, the motions... anything.... the gameplay, very nice. I understand how are the feelings for a game maker's, its easily 'downed' if they release a game has a bad graphic and what..... But I think its not a call of duty series anymore, at least good graphic and gameplay. That based on your oppinions, if you love single player and you are going to love it, if multi player.. then I knew that all of you wanna kill treyarch about this. FOR PC, I think its....quite sad I could say, because the lags, If the PVP mod has a better connection, and I think it will get a high result then it was. ( a lot) I think Treyarch has been doing a great job, but the sad thing was the always do things only focused on the one thing, the singleplayer........ I think they will terrified by those rate.... and I hope they can focus on both things in the next series... My feeling, don't get mad Collapse
  53. Nov 29, 2010
    3
    When it's not crashing the game runs terribly on previous-generation hardware---40 FPS on an E8400 and ATI 4870---where all recent CoD games ran at the max of 90 FPS. "Well, is it a beast of a game?" No, it's arguably the worst looking of the last four CoD games, so what the hell? Plus the usual multiplayer balancing issues not addressed still after three weeks. CoD4 > MW2 > CoD2 > WaW > Blops.
  54. Dec 7, 2010
    0
    It states that critics gave this in the 80's but look, i dont see any of their reviews. all i see are users reviews bashing treyarch. i dont blame them, i paid for an expensive game and this game doesnt even work, its broken. multiplayer experience is terrible. lags and stutters all the time, even with a powerful gaming desktop. piss on you treyarch you should be sued for robbing pc gamers.
  55. Dec 8, 2010
    0
    More of the same ol crap from Actard. Horrible, horrible, horrible, thats all I have to say about this. 150 char
  56. Dec 13, 2010
    7
    Game was on sale so I ignored all these reviews and bought it anyways...

    Simply put the single player is the best single play FPS ever. It's like a great action movie.

    MultiPlayer was unplayable, my computer would just freeze for a second every time you see someone. Turning off Vsync resolved my multiplayer performance woes. The match finder is complete junk it will join you to
    servers with stupid rules like only crouching allowed... ugh.

    There is no real match maker it just dumps you into a dedicated server... Dedicated servers can be nice but they are a double edged sword... lots of servers only cycle 1 map, they have dumb admins etc etc.
    Expand
  57. Dec 12, 2010
    4
    Bops was hyped up WAY too much and thats why it sold, sure they have added some good new features that mw2 didnt have but the online game-play is no where near as fun. The graphics are childish, and hardly an improvement not to mention that it uses way too much computer to achieve them. Browsing for servers is not amazingly easy. The campaign was boring compared to mw2.
  58. Dec 12, 2010
    7
    Black Ops is a let down after the Modern Warfares of the last few years. Some interesting plot devices and nice set pieces but it leaves you feeling Treyarch did just enough and no more.
  59. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    game is amaizing with nice multiplayer,singleplayer,zombie mod and mpas.i dont understand people who think"This game is shit"game dont have much noobtubes beacause gl is not powerfull like in modern warfare 2.buy this now
  60. Dec 12, 2010
    8
    Best CoD game by far! Only issue i have is incomplete server browser upon refresh. Game runs great. No stutters, lag, crashes or freezes like some are complaing about. Some tweaking is required to maximize performance on PC. Intel Quad cores, especially i7's, will benefit from this game. If you have an Intel i7 with a decent ATI card, you should NOT be stuttering or freezing at all!!! If you are, you need to optimize your PC b4 saying the game is broken for you. Haters will always be haters Treyarch. I still enjoy your record breaking release. Good job Treyarch! Expand
  61. Dec 13, 2010
    1
    What an awful game. The maps are small and no vehicles. Its a run and shoot game. This game is truly disappointing in the PC version. This game is unplayable if you're on a PC and there has been no response from the developers. Completely crap game. This is a 60 dollar beta, and nothing more.
  62. Dec 13, 2010
    1
    Absolutely unplayable garbage, was hyped to death and completely failed to deliver. I used to complain about modern warfare 2, but it is an absolute masterpiece compared to this. Seriously don't bother buying it, especially if you are planning on buying it for pc.
  63. Dec 14, 2010
    8
    I've read some reviews, and found out that most of the time the writers are complaining about laggy gameplay. I haven't experienced any lag yet, so let me tell you how the game is without any lag. The single player is absolutely AWESOME. Especially the story has been improved. Good plot and stuff. Now about the multi player. The system of earning XP and unlocking weapons and stuff is the same, but some has been added to it. CP. With XP, you unlock weapons, attachments, emblems, layers (talk about that later) and lots of other things. With CP you buy it. This new system gives some variation in the Call of Duty series. Also there are wager matches. You wage your CP. If you become the first till the third player, your CP will increase. You lose, you'll lose all your CP. Also Combat Training has been added. It's a training with bots fighting against you, you can adjust the difficulty of the bots. And the emblem you have in the multi player, is custom. You choose layers, give them a colour, adjust size and make an emblem. cool isn't it? Zombie mode is also included with Black Ops. Long story short, a lot of new stuff. But now, the downside of this beautiful wonderland. Again, in this game (just as in MW2) there are some overpowered weapons + attachments. The flamethrower for example (yes you can use a flamethrower as attachment) is way too strong. Just one second on fire and you die. not fun. The killcam, as smooth as it was in MW2, now lags as **** Whatever you do, how amazing your computer is, the killcam will always lag. Just at the end, when the kill is being made, you only see three frames of a weapon firing and then the killcam's over. not satisfying if you made the final kill. It only works in combat training. There isn't really a graphic improvement, but that's not really a problem. It's about the game, right? Overall, this game is good if you have some sort of super computer (which i have). But with a regular computer, you're FPS will always stay under 15. Until Treyarch comes with a patch, this game is only fun for the people with a really good computer. My suggestion: buy this game when it has been patched, unless you think you're computer can take it. The score i give this game is based on the experience i had without having lag. With lag, my score would be around a 4.0, since the single player still makes up a lot. Expand
  64. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Leider hat mich das Game schwer enttäuscht. Serverabstürze, Verbindungsprobleme, Lags und Crashes sind an der Tagesordnung. Liebgewonnene Klassen aus den Vorgängern sind mitunter nicht mehr Spielbar: Der Sniper hat das aimen verlernt! Der Sound klingt dünn. Gegner sind nicht mehr lokalisierbar. Das Spawnsystem funktionniert nicht. Die Grafik läà Expand
  65. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    sigh after world at war the series went spiraling down the **** doesnt even work. **** this never buying a cod game again. im goin to go play battlefield now.
  66. May 2, 2011
    6
    I used to love Call of Duty. It used to be a landmark in the genre of FPS, but in 2010, it has become so massively popular, that it's not even funny, there is an overdose of these games.

    Activision has decided on the terrible marketing strategy that they would release a new CoD game every year, and while this works, this shows on the games.

    Black Ops is a very polished, excellently
    crafted game. But that's about it. It feels like it's a giant retail patch for the previous CoD games, rather than a title on it's own. It has what it takes to be a good game, but it doesn't offer anything new, different , spectacular, it does the exact same thing that many other FPS can do, and could do for a while now.

    And for that, I can't give it a green score, because that territory is reserved for games who beg to differ, or try the hardest to outshine their competition, with something daring that works. Yes, daring. Activision is known for pushing for financial safety with their rehashed flagship franchises. But the games achieving the most success have always been the ones who took some kind of risk, and did their best to make something new work.

    And by now, the CoD fanbase has been "trained" to behave the same way, and buy the new CoD, because that's guaranteed to be quality, and they have stopped to buy unique games, because it might be a bad game.

    I do not ask Treyarch, to reinvent the wheel. Just try to spice it up one way or another. Shoving in new multiplayer modes is a good idea, but that's not the entire game.It's worth a purchase if you really (REALLY) want to keep up, but there are currently more exciting choices.
    Expand
  67. Dec 23, 2010
    2
    I want to know how much Activision and Treyarch paid some of these critics to rate this game so high? I have logged roughly 75 hours on the multi-player and I am convinced that I was misled and deceived into buying a mediocre quality game. I have a very nice quad core PC set up with a great video card and excellent cable modem connection. In-game play lacks on many levels. The graphics are poor and most of the maps have the same GRAY color scheme to them. The in game movement is awful because you cannot aim down site quickly and the spikey game play means by the time you shoot, the opponent has moved 4-6 feet from one side to another. The sound is probably the worst feature of all. It is impossible to tell where a shot was fired from which makes it more difficult to tell where the enemy is. Forget about hearing footsteps which is an important part of MW2 or any FPS game for that matter.
    I like the added features for modifying your character, reticle colors along with the wager matches and one in the chamber matches. Sadly they are useless when movement, game performance, graphics and sound are bad. There is not one single weapon which provides a true appeal factor. Once you level up and make purchases they provide you with SECRET weapons and even these weapons are of less quality than other weapons offered. I have to unload a magazine just to kill someone and with the low ammo supply (unless you have scavenger) you run out often and have to use enemy weapons. The new Ballistic Knife is terrible. The new Crossbow is cool but will get you killed if you are not careful. The China-Lake replaces the Tube and will always get you killed due to the delays in aiming and firing. You have to pull the trigger before you turn the corner and will typically die before it lands. For some reason, a knife still kills with one blow so the reality of shooting someone in the heart compared to a knifing, the knife still wins.
    Scavenger does not replenish grenade launchers or tubes. It only provides minimum ammo and special grenades and not flash bangs or claymores. Only one claymore is allowed at any given time. I am not a fan of grenade launchers but considering how many times you have to shoot someone, they are often the best way to kill and not be killed. The explosive range is very poor and is not consistent at all. I see people die who are further from the explosion where two more opponents may be closer and not die.
    I do not foresee the ability to patch these types of issues as they are part of the way the game was developed. Basically Treyarch has created a disappointing addition to the Call of Duty series and used very good marketing to deceive us into making a purchase many of us would not have made had we known how poor the overall game was. Single Player Campaign: I will never play this again as the story is bad, they take away your controls way too often, do not allow you to skip the BS story line, based on Cold-War and Vietnam era and lacking in excitement.
    Zombies: I still do not understand the reason for this add-on. I played it for 1.5 hours and will never play this again. It is boring and stupid. I have played COD MW2 for 958 hours on Multi-Player, 345 hours on Single Player Campaign and Special Ops and I have really enjoyed the majority of it. Although I have mastered every single level and have become bored with it, I can see me playing more MW2 long before I play this single player again.

    I do not recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand
  68. Jan 24, 2011
    0
    This is another stereotypical US/UK vs terrorist threat game, Counter-Strike would beat this game due to better game-play and variety then this piece of crap.
  69. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    While I hate FPS games, there's really no other franchise to go to if you like playing the same maps over and over during your free time for whatever reason you choose to do that. I like how rpg elements have crept into every genre, since you get feats and have to buy "loot" in the way of upgrades if you want to get anywhere. It's also worth it just to take the "1 less kill for a streak" feat and run rc cars into everyone even if you're not good at the game. Only Activision would amke a game that'll have people scared of a toy for a hot minute. However, please get it on pc if you've played an fps game before, as I don't have to tell you how awful a joystick is for competitive fps games. Expand
  70. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is awesome. Stop saying that it's impossible to run this game you just have to look if your computer can run it and activision always lauch patches. The new server browser is very cool too. In my opinion it's the best cod. Expand
  71. Dec 28, 2010
    1
    (note, this is, in a way addressing Treyarc and JD) This game works fine.....as long as you play it on either a, a not so powerful but still gaming oriented computer on low-medium graphics or B, whatever $10,000 alienware computer that they tested it on, I mean come on, this game was NOT made for PC but they acted like it would be the best game you could possibly own. Sorry JD, I don't care if you don't play PC but you're killing us. You're patches don't help and this series lost people on MW2 and you're losing people too. Sure we don't have 200k people playing the game at any give time but you've made a LOT of money off us so we expect more bang for our buck and right now my "bang" is freezing and crashing and you don't care. You rolled out a patch that helps quick-scoping, but umm lets see it really doesn't matter if we zoom in somewhere else if by the time we zoom in the person is teleported by our lag to somewhere else Expand
  72. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    The story on which is based the game is wonderful, but the game is too buggy: I had to restart it several times each mission to complete them all. I think it's better to play it in a PlayStation or XBox, because the hardware prerequisites are too high, and people will not buy a new pc only to play this game. Eventually, the multiplayer is not as great as the MW2 or MW, but i think this is much more personal. Expand
  73. Jan 1, 2011
    0
    Well after spending a minimum of 12 hours trying to get this game to run smoothly and a further period of time reading Forum posts(including one where someone could not get it to run, without judder, on a 16 core machine !!!). I simply gave up and took it back to the shop. I got my money back by claiming it was a defective good. I have a high spec dual core machine and the patch to improve performance on dual core simply did not work Expand
  74. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    NOTE: To anyone browsing through reviews for this game before buying like I was, please READ THIS before paying attention to all the other 0's and BS scores on here. It's really sad how the PC community has devolved into a bunch of spoiled brats that can't accept the fact that some people like an honest review about a game they might actually LIKE.


    I'll say it first and straight up, YES,
    at the moment Black Ops is still very much a broken game right out of the box for many people. That said, if you are willing to put in the time to look around online (have any of these "0" reviewers ever heard of google?) like I was, the majority of your freezing problems can be solved using simple tweaks or adjusting settings. For me, the magic solution was turning off anti-aliasing and setting the game to run with desktop composition turned off. Until Treyarch releases another patch, many of us will be forced to browse forums online looking for a solution.

    Performance-wise, i'm not sure why so many people on here are saying you need a supercomputer to run this game. I'm running it on a 2009 macbook pro, 2.6ghz intel duo core/ nvidia geforce 9600m gt/ win 7 64-bit/ 4 gb ram. As you can tell, this is no supercomputer. I currently am running the game on high settings, (textures on High, full AF, full FOV, native 1440x900 res) with AA, shader warming, and shadows turned off. I get anywhere from 45-65 fps in the game and in my opinion it is completely playable (and looks damn good, too). As far as gameplay goes, I will focus only on multiplayer in this review, as that is what I bought the game for and i'm sure the same goes for many others on here trying to decide whether or not to pick it up. Many reviewers have cited the Black Ops' similarity to MW2 as a primary reason for their low scores. While I agree the the overall gameplay is the same (after all, what COD since MW1 has really been all that different?), there are many customization options which make Black Ops stand out for me. First off, the COD points idea is awesome and I hope it becomes a mainstay in the franchise. The ability to buy crucial attachments such as red dot sights for new guns right off the bat rather than tediously leveling up with each weapon is a god-send. Also, the emblem system adds a whole new level of personalization to multipayer. The layered system and ability to modify the shapes and position of different symbols truly allows the player to create anything their imagination can think up. I believe the perks in multiplayer are also superior to those of any in the MW/WAW games. Mortars, Napalm Strikes, remote controlled car-bombs, and the Huey support chopper are all excellent additions and really add a sense of immersion and realism to the game that just was not present in MW2 (LOL @ Tactical Nuke).
    So far I have logged about 45+ hours in Black Ops multiplayer, and I can definately say that the maps do feel a bit smaller than MW2. However, they also feel a lot more realistic thanks to real-world settings such as Saigon, Hanoi, the jungles of Vietnam, Havana, etc. Simply put, I believe that Black Ops succeeds where MW2 failed miserably: in creating a believable an atmospheric environment to wage video war in. The original COD 1,2, and 3 were all based around historical events, and the relevance to real life conflict created an atmosphere which to me (maybe because i'm a history buff) really elevated what was actually a simple and generic gameplay formula. Black Ops returns to the COD tradition of focusing on historical events, rather than crafting some ridiculous WWIII scenario (the White House and National Mall looking like the front line at the Somme..... come on, really Infinity Ward?).


    All in all, I would give the game an 8.5, but unfortunately Metacritic's scale doesn't allow decimal points. Without the bugs and technical issues currently present in the game however, I would undoubtedly give Black Ops a score of 9-9.5. My final advice: if you are a long-time fan of the COD series and were disappointed in MW2, then by all means I would recommend buying Black Ops to get back into the series. However, if you're one of those people who are on the fence and still very much enjoy MW2, I would say hold off until a price drop, or at least until Treyarch releases another patch or two. I hope that this review is able to help some of you in deciding, and possibly will stand out among the biased and ridiculous reviews i'm seeing for the PC version of Black Ops. One more thing: DEDICATED SERVERS RULE and blow the crappy IWnet matchmaking out of the water!


    Hope to see you guys in-game. Enjoy.
    Expand
  75. Jan 2, 2011
    7
    I must say this is the best Singleplayer of the Call of Duty series ever, i know this game had lots of bugs. The first time i played Black Ops was on the release date at a friend, it had some laggs in both SP and MP i decided to buy it a month later and i had no any problem with laggs and or bugs, i played Singleplayer and Multiplayer without any problems and with 100% fun. So stop complaining if you got laggs, learn to read the requirements before buying a game, otherwise get a console. Expand
  76. Jan 3, 2011
    2
    Great single player, but it is near 100% offset by the terrible mulitplayer. Just another stupid console game ported to PC. It has been over a month since the release of this game and although many of the bugs and glitches where patched, it still remains unplayable for some and will never compare to the previous Cod4 and its competition and PC friendliness. R.I.P. Cod4, I will never forget you
  77. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    The single player is about exactly as entertaining and challenging as Battlefield Bad Company's. The multiplayer is a lot better. In Battlefield Bad Company the highest achievement is to have a beard? Okay. I get it but seriously? Call of Duty: Black Ops controls, and achievement notifications are so satisfying it gets you wanting for more. If it weren't for WoW I'd play this game enough to force my wife to divorce me.
    The haters are just that. This game is better than these scores indicate. Better than Battlefield Bad Company and I'm as objective as they come considering the fact that I have a personal grudge towards Activision... You can't deny the entertainment value and replayability of this game. Period.
    Expand
  78. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    The campaign was average;too short,with good gameplay and action but the long ass time cutscenes made it boring
    The multiplayer was the worst,the game always crashes or freezes,massive lag,then comes the no sound glitch and finally the "Black ops servers not available",seriously in 2 months i only managed to play less than 55 hours while in mw2 i already had 150 hours.
    Just like WAW had
    mp40 and MW2 had ump45;black ops has ak74u which has the range on an assault rifle;the mobility of an smg and combined with grip and rapid fire becomes an ultra fast laser gun,camping noobs with motion sensors and flamethrowers etc etc. Expand
  79. ice
    Jan 14, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is it just your normal first person shooter or something special? Call of duty black ops released November 9th by developer Treyarch the developers behind Call of Duty: World at War and Call of Duty 3. Black ops has one of the best story's ever in a Call of Duty game, because after the blunder of the multiplayer based game Modern Warfare 2's almost insulting campaign, I think Call of Duty fans got what they deserved. You play as Alex Mason and you are interrogated so your interrogators can find out the numbers in your head to SAVE THE WORLD! Cliche? Maybe, but it sure is fun. The campaign should last you about 6 hours so it is not the longest game in the world. But the meat of the game comes from the multiplayer. Surprisingly it is a lot more balanced then modern warfare 2's multiplayer. The killstreaks are fun and nice and balanced. One big thing I noticed with the kill streaks is if you have a player on your team having a aircraft in the sky which means you cannot call in your killstreak till that aircraft is out of the sky. Leveling up is easy as well, maybe to easy. Not like battlefield bad company 2 where I just got the game and I am still a level 1 and I have had the game for a week! The new cod points system is a big change to unlocking to unlocking then buying. All killstreaks are unlocked at level 10 and either you love the new system or hate the new system. The only problem I have with the multiplayer is being kicked out of a match or the host left all that stuff that you thought was bad in Modern Warfare 2...is back and worse it is a minor problem but with some people it can be troublesome. The new wager mode is added to this multiplayer and wow it is extremely fun and may be addicting that is how fun this is. Because I played gun game for a straight 3 hours it is that fun, and sometimes and I did not even care how much cod points I had left. 1 in the chamber is one of those games that your having fun when you are winning but when you are losing and you lost all 3 of your lives its not fun after that but if you are a real skilled cod player this may be the mode for you because it is as fun and addicting as the gun game. That is just to name a few modes in the wager mode, moving on we have theater mode where you can grab all the matches that you played watch it on theater mode and then save it so your friends can watch your sexy no scope. Combat training is for new cod fans where you get all the regular modes from the regular multiplayer but against ai team mates and they could be just as deadly as their online counterparts. The guns are a lot more balanced then mw2 even though the ak7u could be over powered and then you have the emblem editor which shows off your personal creativity which I like. That is just to scrape the surface of such a fantastic multiplayer experience. Now onto the extra content you can press both triggers on your controller and you walk to the computer and put a pass code and you are treated to a top down arcade shoot "dead ops arcade" but if you type in "zorks" you can play a fun game with the computer. Now to NAZI ZOMBIES! It is your old favorite characters from waw are back and they do not disappoint. Easily one of the best mini games on a video game to date. You get 2 zombie maps in the game "Kino der Toten/Cinema of the dead" and "five." Five is unlocked after beating the campaign and before you play five after the campaign you see a pretty funny cut scene between some historical figures. That is just to scrape the surface of black ops and it does not disappoint easily one of the best shooters of the year and surpasses the 60$ asking price with all stuff that is included in the game. If you are strictly a modern warfare 2 fan I would not say go out and buy the game since there are many changes to the games multiplayer but if you are a big cod fan yes go out and buy this game if you don't have it already. Yes this game has it's problems but do not let that stop you from buying such a great game
    Gameplay-9.0
    Graphics-8.5
    Sound-9.5
    Presentation-9.5
    Lasting Appeal-9.0
    Expand
  80. Aug 19, 2011
    6
    makes me laugh the fact that Treyarch ALWAYS tries to copy directly what infinity ward does.

    But at least this time they actually put some kind of "recoil" (just a little bit) in this version, in mw2 recoil doesnt exist at all in any weapon!And besides there are those damn global servers designed for retarded ass console gamers that doesnt care of what they play.

    Besides the good things
    comes the bad ones: the maps... oh god they are designed from a 2 years old child that only wants to camp, and whats the deal with all these DLC's? 4 DLC's that costs 15 euros each???

    Treyarch WTF?
    Expand
  81. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Many people think this game is not as good as the last (MW2). I believe they are mistaken because Infinity Ward were using the game as a pure money making exercise, DLC's that copied previous games. Not every new game will be an improvement on a very good game but this one is.
  82. Feb 2, 2011
    3
    Not too sure that this should be a game. The single player is boring, confusing and disjointed. The multiplayer is a "roster update" from the Modern Warfare. Treyarch continues to put out the same game that Infinity Ward put out years ago. Glaring multiplayer issues have not been fixed: Boosting, Hacked Controllers, and cord pulling. Host advantage is still a severe issue. On the side of new content, nothing is really great about anything. Zombies has been done (L4D, CoD:WoW). Wager matches are annoying at best.

    Recommendation: If you're going to only play the Singleplayer, Rent it or go over a friend's house to play it. If you're going to play the Multiplayer, I recommend getting a used copy, because it's not worth spending $60 US.
    Expand
  83. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    I don't know why so many people complain about Black Ops, i was skeptical at first thinking its just another COD game, but no it was better. Black Ops is a great game because of only 5 things, number 1 is split screen multiplayer. i hated switching with friends every time me and him died and it sucked. but now we have two screens which is awesome. Number 2 is combat training. i am a hardcore teenage gamer, but i still have parents friends with 7-10 year old kids come over, so we play combat training/split screen because it is fun. Number 3 is Call Of The Dead. I right reviews at the pinnacle of the game (not always), but Escalation was amazing with call of the dead i loved it. Number 4 is wager matches because they are fun, period. and 5 is that everything is unlocked in split screen so i can go on picacid and have fun. but other than that this game sucks Expand
  84. Feb 4, 2011
    0
    this is kinda fraud.Activision does not care pc gamers.This game contains no fun but full of bugs

    YES it is tru they have been releasing patches oh useless patches nothing to improve the game.Please don't waste money.You better buy something more productive instead.
  85. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i think black ops for the pc first sucks very hard(lags and everything but now its a great game. no lag (by me) and every thing works fine, maps are great and much new futures!! zombies is great and dead op is very funny ! Expand
  86. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    All of you haters be less childish and consider the package as it is. Aside from the MP, the Single Player experience still exists (!!!) and is far superior to any online adventure you might have with an FPS. The story and characters are really well crafted and you won't get the sense of epic scale anywhere online. It's about feeling a really technically and artistically stunning piece of blockbuster virtual experience. It's about history, it's about a tale, and a handful of characters that carry you into their reality. It's not about FRAGS or SERVERS or PINGS ! So grade the game properly! Be objective!

    9.0
    Expand
  87. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    Score: 8.0

    Call of Duty: Black Ops is like an action movie. Not everyone will like it, and some may despise it for being 'crude', 'unintelligent', or 'simple.' But If you enjoy it for what it is, you will have a blast.

    What it is, is a game that does not focus on innovation, or an immersive world of believable characters. It's a game that focusses on fun and adrenaline packed action.
    Here are the points I liked about black ops:
    -The Multiplayer is well-balanced, there is no one thing dominates all others.
    -I have heard about alot of problems in multiplayer, but so far I've not had ANY lag whatsoever.
    -I love the cold war setting. This might be trivial to some, but I like the looks of it, and it's not seen much in video games.
    -There's more variety in making your own class, for me it's very addictive to keep reiterating my class and tweaking it.
    -There's a game mode for everyone. I myself play hardcore search and destroy, which does not allow you to respawn untill the next round. I find that this requires a little bit of patience, and that wards of any players who just want non-stop murder. This improves the experience so much.

    And here are the negative points:
    -The game still costs â
    Expand
  88. Jun 6, 2011
    3
    [Multiplayer]
    Black Ops is playable, if your computer's CPU has at least i5. The good thing is the new contents, but that's just about it. Hitbox (or hit detection) is okay and seriously, I HAVE NO TROUBLE AT ALL HITTING THOSE ENEMIES (with a 150+ ping and that's laggy for a pro-gamer). If you're talking about balance, it's so balanced that nothing is seemingly interesting to use.


    Graphic:
    Terribly below standard. Seems so, flat? It's like the new version of CoD4, nothing new about the graphics.

    Sound:
    This is what I dislike the most; the guns sound like water pistols, but that's in my opinion.

    Controls:
    I really hate the new maneuver called "sprint-diving". Seriously, it is the most irritating thing on the planet. Useless.

    Contents:
    The multiplayer has NO interesting content at all. The recoils are so small for every gun, which makes it look like a no-recoil game. I can easily shoot an ak47 across the map with pinpoint accuracy until the 20th round.
    Expand
  89. Jun 18, 2011
    0
    Horrible game for PC. It's like Activision isn't even focusing on their original community anymore. Sure the game has dedicated servers but there are so many bugs and faults in the game it's hardly enjoyable. One bug for example makes the game run like udder crap. I can run Crysis on full settings and get a solid 80 FPS whilst on this POS I get 30-50. The singleplayer was a laugh like any COD and the multiplayer balance was stupid. Not to mention the joy os using an L96A1 AWM was ruined because the nerfed it to the point where I would get a hit marker to the face almost every time. This game wasn't even worth $20 with so much problems occurring. the nutshell: An over all POS shooter that will only interest n00bs and 12 year olds on xbox. Expand
  90. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Game has fail in all things! Treyarch makes a game, that is realy terrible! Look at MW2, which has InfinityWard maken, so you see a very good Game, but this is very terrible! One thing is good: Dedicated Server!!! But anything else is nothing!!! Very bad Game-Play in Single-Player! The Multi-Player looks like a Shooter from 2000-2002! Many MODS are better like this Game! The Engine and Graphic is a little bit okay, but for this MONEY! Treyarch goes back in Future! Hope InfinityWard produce the Game: CoDMW3 in November!!! Expand
  91. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    The game overall was pretty good. The campaign is definately the best in the series. So the multiplayer had some glitches and problems the multiplayer is still good. The zombies and new multiplayer modes are good. But I would seriously recommend getting this on a xbox or ps3.
  92. Feb 28, 2011
    2
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is by far the worst addition to the series so far, it lacks the smooth multiplayer gameplay featured in Modern Warfare 2 and the interesting and unique story of the campaign mode.

    With the campaign there are far too many cut scenes. Although the cut scenes have some nice effects and are quite well done i think they are a bit over done with the effects as the
    white flashes across the screen every two seconds give me a headache and it becomes very difficult to concentrate on the story when your having an epileptic fit from all the flashes.

    On the multiplayer mode it is a lot less balanced then on Modern Warfare 2 (MW2), on MW2 the default classes gave decent weapons to give new players a chance to get into the game, this is not the case with Black Ops as you start of with the most basic of weaponry giving you no chance against players who have been playing for a while longer and have unlocked better weaponry.

    As for graphics, MW2 had some pretty sweet graphics while Black Ops made no attempt to best those graphics, the graphics in Black Ops are similar to those seen in World at War, which weren't bad at the time World at War was released but for a game with such a hefty price tag and that came out 2 years later it's not very impressive.
    Expand
  93. Mar 1, 2011
    3
    This game is absolutely awful. Neither the gameplay nor the graphics are any advance whatsoever over the state of the art from 3-5 years ago. The controls are incredibly wonky - for example, going prone often locks your aim so you can't rotate side to side. Finally, the levels are completely linear; there is no freedom to explore and no deviation from the extremely narrow path the developers have pre-scripted for you. I wish I could uninstall this from my hard drive and get my money back. I wonder how much the "professional" reviewers were paid to rate this at 81% on average. Expand
  94. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    its a pretty good game, but the only sad part is that the campaign is so short...... i prefer call of duty 4 and 6.
    they have good campaign and good multiplayer. black ops has a good multiplayer , i enjoy it. black ops shouldn't be the price it is right now, it should be lower, but i guess its already bought
  95. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This game is fricken amazing! Halo what? Metal Gear what? Call of Duty Black Ops is the greatest game ever made. The single player campaign is simply spectacular, so much so that many times I was playing I forgot that I was playing a game and thought that I was watching a Hollywood blockbuster! Every character is expressive and convincing. By the time the game is done, you will care for all of them. Reznov is the epiphany of the word badass! The multiplayer is incredibly simple, but rewardingly difficult to master. It'll suck you in and you'll get thousands of hours out of this game. Expand
  96. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Now that the appropriate patches have been made for the PC version, CoD:BlOps is one of the best online multiplayer shooters on the market. The single player has an engrossing story and exciting gameplay, even if it is short and linear and is basically a training mode for the multiplayer but with a plot. Zombie Mode is back from World at War and better than ever, with plenty of humor and witty dialogue to accompany the addictive zombie killing fun. Obviously the multiplayer is where it's at, and Black Ops is online fragging at its finest, with new weapons and modes and a new currency system to keep players coming back until the next installment. The graphics and sound are top notch, with environments and characters looking great, an excellent soundtrack, Hollywood-quality voice work and fantastic sound effects for weapons and explosions. Overall, this is another great CoD game, with every base covered to ensure a high quality, exciting and downright fun shooter experience. Expand
  97. Mar 19, 2011
    2
    This has to be one of the worst PC games i've played, The game has been patched many times but still barely works on Windows 7, the audio stutters so much that it's nearly unplatable at times. What's worse is that before launch Treyarch appeared to be committed to the PC version. after launch, they still did not communicate with users and took forever to patch issues, even so, most patches ruin past progress they had made, making the game worse again.

    the game's content Single Player I cannot tell you, as the game does not allow me to play SP. As for Multiplayer, it feels very stale compared to COD4/MW2, the maps are badly designed, spawn points are terrible, and weapons are unbalanced.

    At least the game has dedicated servers, but that really makes little difference if you can't really play MP without issues.

    Game runs at a decent enough framerate on XP, but looks terrible.

    If you haven't bought this already, skip over and wait for Respawn's game or even MW3 (after reviews)
    Expand
  98. Mar 20, 2011
    0
    Not. Fun. At. All. The campaign, while it has a half-decent story, is filled with stupidity like infinitely respawning enemies or broken control systems. If you like Modern Warfare 2's multiplayer, you'll hate Black Ops' multiplayer. The game seems to always put you in the path of a sniper or noobtuber, resulting in instant death. The only map relatively safe from spawncamping is Nuketown, and even then it's worse than other games. Local bot AI is horrendous: I can run up in front of them, knife them in the face, and they won't make any attempt to shoot me. Graphics quality took a step down from MW2, so that the game looks like it was made in 2006. It's a good thing my friend bought it before I did; this would be an instant return for me. Expand
  99. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hehehehe.. angry nerds are angry Expand
  100. Mar 28, 2011
    4
    Worth the money - not even close. The game simply has no real positive aspects what so ever. Or perhaps I lie, it does a fantastic job of showing the rather embarrassing state of gaming journalism with its 81 score
  101. Nov 28, 2010
    0
    Well, the singleplayer in blackops is sooooo cool... but the multi player is too laging, everyone got the problem. But I think that the multi player is quite fun to play (if not laging)... the only bad thing is (not so fasinated PVP)... but their single is pretty nice, the motions... anything.... the gameplay, very nice. I understand how are the feelings for a game maker's, its easily 'downed' if they release a game has a bad graphic and what..... But I think its not a call of duty series anymore, at least good graphic and gameplay. That based on your oppinions, if you love single player and you are going to love it, if multi player.. then I knew that all of you wanna kill treyarch about this. FOR PC, I think its....quite sad I could say, because the lags, If the PVP mod has a better connection, and I think it will get a high result then it was. ( a lot) I think Treyarch has been doing a great job, but the sad thing was the always do things only focused on the one thing, the singleplayer........ I think they will terrified by those rate.... and I hope they can focus on both things in the next series... My feeling, don't get mad Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    68
    This score will likely come as a shock to many, but this game suffers from pathetic frame rates at times, both on console and on PC.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    Black Ops is one of the best first person shooters this year, and is a obviously must have for any action fan. Intense, gory and quite brilliant, maybe it's not refreshing but at the same time its a stunning game.