Call of Duty: Black Ops PC

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1622 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2011
    0
    I used to be a great fan of the COD series, but however, even though the first few games where great titles, activision now just spits one out year after year as fast as they can to make profits, the overall gameplay hasnt changed much after an almost decade of the series, with insignificant things like zombies and currency thrown in every few titles to try to keep it fresh, Black opsI used to be a great fan of the COD series, but however, even though the first few games where great titles, activision now just spits one out year after year as fast as they can to make profits, the overall gameplay hasnt changed much after an almost decade of the series, with insignificant things like zombies and currency thrown in every few titles to try to keep it fresh, Black ops itself has a short singleplayer with a more or less confusing story, and multiplayer gets boring extremely fast, I am now looking forward to the battlefield series where innovation and gameplay is key Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    0
    I just signed up and made an account on this website purely to leave this game a negative review. I got this game for my birthday a couple days ago hoping to play online as a replacement game for counter strike. The online experience has been god awful, i drop every game "connection Interrupted" error. The main menu looks like it was tailored a console game as you have to use your wasdI just signed up and made an account on this website purely to leave this game a negative review. I got this game for my birthday a couple days ago hoping to play online as a replacement game for counter strike. The online experience has been god awful, i drop every game "connection Interrupted" error. The main menu looks like it was tailored a console game as you have to use your wasd keys to navigate threw it. Single player isn't horrible if your into that sort of thing. But for i'd say 80% of the online FPS community we want to be playing online. Overall this game is bad SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!! Sincerely
    Unsatisfied Customer
    Expand
  3. May 26, 2011
    0
    The game was broken release with lag, crashes and all sorts of other issues. The PC version was a clear port done very badly. Tried it the other day after reinstalling for the first time since Novemeber, it still crashes. I will never buy a Treyarch or Activision PC Game again. Especially COD as from MW2 it was also obvious the PC version had been crapped on.
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    As you can read before me, this game a total money stealing. I bought when it came out on steam..... well which problems should I mention first..., first of all on windows 7 if you dont have a jerk 10.000 dollar game rig then you will be forced to change back to windows xp,as I did, by the way my computer is: gtx460 1gb, 12 gb ram, amd phenomII T 1090, so pretty much this should wayAs you can read before me, this game a total money stealing. I bought when it came out on steam..... well which problems should I mention first..., first of all on windows 7 if you dont have a jerk 10.000 dollar game rig then you will be forced to change back to windows xp,as I did, by the way my computer is: gtx460 1gb, 12 gb ram, amd phenomII T 1090, so pretty much this should way outperform the needs on the highest settings, but in this game not, its on windows xp I still have 91 fps, in actions I usually get a 1 sec suddenly fps drop/freeze and cant shot the guy what I would like to (and of course I get killed :D) and this is just the graphics, the game play is really annoying too, the most annoying is that the game spawns the enemy in your back, you cant go on the map like, in a good teamwork , you clean an area on the map and heading toward, there will be always somebody in the cleaned are who gonna shoot you in the back and you will go nuts, another thing is the knife kill, its just soo unbelievable ridiculous, that is already hurt, first of all the knife kill have too big range, I mean you can knife or can be knifed from too far, on the killcam is seems like the guy just suddenly teleports there and knife you, really annoying, also when you already hit the guy really badly shooting his face, his monitor looks like all blood and than he just knife you, really annoying in close combat, I mean its good that you have a chance to take down the enemy fast with 1 slash, but when you shoot the guy's face and than he just beats you with a knife kill.... you gonna push the ESC button and click on the "exit game" option :D, second with marathon pro (unlimited run) and a ballistic knife (2 knife in hand, and you can shoot 1 out for further kill) you can actually run trough the hole team and kill everybody with it, which is funny , but for only 1 person, thats actually on "small" maps. Maps: all the maps are small, the hole game everytime is just all about that you run in circle and circle again on the map and kill people, you just chase the people in circles on the map nothing alse just shoot, which after a while will be boring, yeah you can earn killstreaks, like RCXD (which is actually really fun), chopper gunner, or be a pilot in a chopper and than shoot the **** out of the gamers for like 30 seconds or until they not shoot you down, but there is nothing any different thing what you can do, just run and shoot..., the game made for maniacs, its ridiculous, they made the prestige system (unlock things, weapon create slots, and face paints, logos, etc....) for jerks, to unlock all the 5 remaining weapon slot, you should restart the hole stuff what you can earn in the game 13 times , perks,money, everything what you can unlock, weapons, awards, its just the most ridiculous thing what I have ever seen, the last homeless wants to start the game 13 times, they think about gamers like brainless idiots who just play all the time, dont have life.... for 60 bucks the game should be more entertaining then annoying! For 60 bucks you cant put for example a silencer on a gun and a shotgun attachment, is that in real cant happen or what...? Treyarch is the worst game developer what I have ever seen, the prestige system pointless, the graphics disappointing, the single player have more guns, than the multiplayer, sweat guns what you can have in multi, you have a fairly big variation,but it feels like they dont give you all of them, lot of gun which is popular and famous its just not included in the game, which is again a big bull****ting against the gamers, for 60 bucks!!! (and another 15 for the DLC :/). There is a ping thing here too, if the guy have 10-20 less ping then you, you can count on it, that he gonna see you faster when both of you look over the cover. There is "no" headshot, in hardcore mode people get the headshot, but actually in hardcore mode all person is 1hit, in standard mode if you shoot 2-3 times in head the guy still didnt die, just after that, and really really hard to shoot headshot, most of the times is just lucky shot or push the botton skill..., which is you know what it is..., not worth the 60 bucks at all. I whish i could get my money back, but steam dont give money back..., anyway a big disappoiting. The only thing why I bought it, because the Modern warfare 2 was awesome and I thought the next generation of call of duty could be more awesome, a HUGE mistake, I usually read, watch gameplayes after the games what I planning to buy, I believed in call of duty that they gonna overawe every of their game, enormous mistake, dont buy it, my last words! Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    0
    I was one of the first (couple thousand) people to play Black Ops, being in Australia we had a good 8 hour headstart on the Americans, I had the game installed and "running" by 12:18 am. To start off, even the menu was buggy as hell on my gaming PC which is way over the requirements for this game. a few of my friends were asking if my main menu was working properly, as many of theirs onlyI was one of the first (couple thousand) people to play Black Ops, being in Australia we had a good 8 hour headstart on the Americans, I had the game installed and "running" by 12:18 am. To start off, even the menu was buggy as hell on my gaming PC which is way over the requirements for this game. a few of my friends were asking if my main menu was working properly, as many of theirs only had black screens. The multpilayer wasn't playable at best, as every single server in the world was american run, we're talking 400+ ping minimum. it took another 2 days for the serveres to become local. The Campaign was forgettable and utterly disappointing. It wasn't a twist, it was a WTF?! my first thought was "REFUND!" even after the local servers came online, game play was still extremely buggy. guess thats what you get for not beta testing hey? only the promise 0f patches and updates kept me from returning to the store, alas, they only proved to be further disappointments. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME ON PC!!!
    Vanilla rating: -5
    Patched: 2
    Xbox: 7
    Expand
  6. May 1, 2011
    0
    Highly unoriginal. A LARGE waste of money considering all the games in the past that are just like it. If you have lived under a rock for 5 years and missed the games that this clones, Id give it a 6. The solo missions are neat climatically if you ignore all the blood on the screen and superhuman feats that jon Mclain would laugh at, but the gameplay is just terrible. People have beenHighly unoriginal. A LARGE waste of money considering all the games in the past that are just like it. If you have lived under a rock for 5 years and missed the games that this clones, Id give it a 6. The solo missions are neat climatically if you ignore all the blood on the screen and superhuman feats that jon Mclain would laugh at, but the gameplay is just terrible. People have been saying it for years. Then they forgive it for its decent multi player (far to fast paced and ramboish for my tastes. Do the history of gaming a favor and SKIP THIS!! Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2012
    0
    There is no way for me, to play the bought DLCs. The maps are no longer played at the servers. An the german version ist only german with bad sync.
  8. May 14, 2011
    0
    BTW i forgot to mention. GRAPHICS was stlll way better in COD WAW and have you heard the gun sounds of COD BO? sucks as hell. counterstrike gun sounds sounded better that COD BO. and also, compare the sounds of BO to the 3 year old BF BC2. BO graphics was degraded. the sounds were still unrealistic as hell. and when I've never heard of US ARMY, US NAVY or any military association use bombBTW i forgot to mention. GRAPHICS was stlll way better in COD WAW and have you heard the gun sounds of COD BO? sucks as hell. counterstrike gun sounds sounded better that COD BO. and also, compare the sounds of BO to the 3 year old BF BC2. BO graphics was degraded. the sounds were still unrealistic as hell. and when I've never heard of US ARMY, US NAVY or any military association use bomb rigged RC and explosive arrows in operation or in war. WTF IS THIS? HALO? i wont be surprised if next COD will have aliens in it and LASER GUNS and PORTAL GUNS Expand
  9. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    For me this is the worst Call of Duty ever. I have played it on PC so and game was so laggy and so porly made so that made me thinking that Treyarch was rushed to finish it for relase date and because of that gave us bad game. Graphics are same as Modern Warfare 2 and I would say ugly and bad, but Black Ops lacks good story and amazing cut scenes. Characters in the game are simple andFor me this is the worst Call of Duty ever. I have played it on PC so and game was so laggy and so porly made so that made me thinking that Treyarch was rushed to finish it for relase date and because of that gave us bad game. Graphics are same as Modern Warfare 2 and I would say ugly and bad, but Black Ops lacks good story and amazing cut scenes. Characters in the game are simple and forgivable so when some John Doe dies in action you will not care, friendly AI is retarded and sometimes you will think you are in Section 8. Story is about Black Ops member john Rambo, I mean Alex Mason who is talking to his torturers about missions he has done to protect USA against evil Russians. Singleplayer is all about "Get on that MG Mason" or "You first Mason" but it suffers from low FPS and lag so it is unplayable. Multiplayer is full of lag and for God sake why, but why you need to be online for combat training. If you want this game be sure to get it on Xbox 360 because on PC you will do exactly what I have: trade it for something else. Expand
  10. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    No mods, no public server files, boring single player. Weapons arent balanced, **** optimalization. Only thing that is good in this game is zombie mode, but with paid DLCs it becomes frustrating too.
  11. Jul 14, 2011
    0
    The Call of Duty Franchise, the most unchanged franchise in the world... what do I mean? what I mean is that they only change the game-play and the weapons, not realistic, people hack to get to get to the 70TH level, Guess what? this is the big word: Call Of Duty 4 is the game, while the other games in the series: "JUST ONE BIG DLC"
    So in order to finish this review, Battlefield vomits all
    The Call of Duty Franchise, the most unchanged franchise in the world... what do I mean? what I mean is that they only change the game-play and the weapons, not realistic, people hack to get to get to the 70TH level, Guess what? this is the big word: Call Of Duty 4 is the game, while the other games in the series: "JUST ONE BIG DLC"
    So in order to finish this review, Battlefield vomits all over the Call of Duty series.
    Expand
  12. Jul 16, 2011
    0
    This game sucks. Heavy Graphics and bad graphics. I want my money back. Overrated review everywhere and all I notice is that users are hating this game. They bribe reviewers or this reviewers are so frustrated dreaming being military man... because most recent FPS war games its awful.
  13. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    This is the first COD title I bought...well, original ones anyways. I was really looking forward to the multiplay. However, Treyarch ruined it all. The multiplayer is seemingly crashing for no reason. I've tried contacting the support and they close my case indicating there is nothing they can do about it. Developers are not taking any measures and they even confirmed by publiclyThis is the first COD title I bought...well, original ones anyways. I was really looking forward to the multiplay. However, Treyarch ruined it all. The multiplayer is seemingly crashing for no reason. I've tried contacting the support and they close my case indicating there is nothing they can do about it. Developers are not taking any measures and they even confirmed by publicly announcing they are not looking to fix the issue. Unless you don't mind the performance issues and random multiplayer crashes, the single play still offers "some" fun but nothing compared to COD:MW series. Expand
  14. Aug 7, 2011
    0
    out for 9 months, still hasnt been fixed.
    many of the day 1 problems are still in the game. im surprised its not illegal what activision's done, selling a broken piece of soft ware that will never be fixed.
    i plan on pirating mw3 for hacks and lulz, but i doubt that will be playable as well.
  15. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    By far the worst gameplay of any FPS I know of. Nobody uses mics and a FFA match lasts about 1:30 due to campers. Dont even consider thinking about wasting your money on this enormous pile of dog feces.
  16. Aug 15, 2011
    0
    Some spike lag, to small maps, useless snipers and rcxd over usage makes this game a frustrating and disappointing multiplayer experience.

    I didn't bought this for the singleplayer (because it's so scripted and linear that you might as well could go watch a movie.)
    waste of money and time.
  17. Aug 20, 2011
    0
    Same gameplay since cod 4 with only minor alterations, not worth the money. The campaign is very generic following the basic cut-scene corridor cut-scene schematic with the multiplayer being completely unbalanced. If it had a lower price point such as £9.99 instead of an insulting £39.99 it would probably get a more favourable 3/10 stars.
  18. Aug 31, 2011
    0
    call of duty: world at war ctrl + c
    ctrl + p =
    Call of redundancy: world at war 2
    Im not joking its the same game just polished and different weapons.
  19. Sep 3, 2011
    0
    COD Black Ops, where to begin...
    Worst type of FPS even released. This is the game that Treyarch payed the reviewers to give it a 70+. Not worth it. A total copy of WAW. Just buy Battlefield 2 or preorder Battlefield 3, I wouldn't go near another Call of Duty, even if it gets GOTY. Cod was bad ever since WAW. Not worth any type of money, even when it's at the 99 cent display so Activision
    COD Black Ops, where to begin...
    Worst type of FPS even released. This is the game that Treyarch payed the reviewers to give it a 70+. Not worth it. A total copy of WAW. Just buy Battlefield 2 or preorder Battlefield 3, I wouldn't go near another Call of Duty, even if it gets GOTY. Cod was bad ever since WAW. Not worth any type of money, even when it's at the 99 cent display so Activision can get money
    Expand
  20. Oct 8, 2011
    0
    This games gets an 81? I don't want to live on this planet anymore. No seriously, this game is horrid, why this was made i have no idea. It is boring, kids scream crap over the microphone making your ears hurt and it is overall just a generic "LOL LETS SHOOT PEOPLE" game.
  21. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Console players play games that are barely fit for babbies. I can't believe this game sells at all, a useless waste of money. Not to mention the seriously flawed coding and patheticly hitboxy gameplay. Aim is not an issue in this game, just spray and launch explosions. Herp Derp.
  22. Jan 7, 2012
    0
    For a game so long awaited, It just **** sucks. I cant play it Its clunky mean and horrid. Maps, long, boring, and confusing. Campaign is just a insult to the game itself. Zombies mode, **** hell does it suck. All im trying to say is do not but this game! It boring real fast and just sucks. Lets get real hardcore fans, it sucks.
  23. Feb 11, 2012
    0
    Just terrible. Wish I would have read these reviews before I purchased it. IGN gave it a 8.5! WTF. Ok I know I bought this very late. The only reason I bought this was because of the Training Combat mode. I just played Battlefield 3 (which is great in terms of graphics and online play) I also like the "feel" of BF3, they way the weapons respond, the recoil, feels real. Cod:BO on the otherJust terrible. Wish I would have read these reviews before I purchased it. IGN gave it a 8.5! WTF. Ok I know I bought this very late. The only reason I bought this was because of the Training Combat mode. I just played Battlefield 3 (which is great in terms of graphics and online play) I also like the "feel" of BF3, they way the weapons respond, the recoil, feels real. Cod:BO on the other hand feels cheap. Really cheap. My graphics card is not even breaking a sweat. Looks like a game from 2003. The thing is I was really disappointed that BF3 didn't have a single player mode with bots like 1942 and BF2. The truth is I'm no good online. I get my ass kicked and cant really enjoy the game. I've been playing BF2/Allied Intent for years and I love that I can play the game with bots. Much more fun for me since I can take my time, explore the maps, set the difficulty. I'm so disappointed that DICE decide to forgo the bot mode in BF3 for a campaign I finished in 6 hours. Anyway, I totally wasted $39.99 on this game. The Combat Training mode is horrible as well. Very small maps compared to the BF series and not as many weapons. This game should be $19.99 (or less). You can buy Bad Company 2 for $19.99 and the game is far superior. Don't waste your money on this. I'll never play a CoD game again. Expand
  24. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    que juego de mierda! si, así como lees, lo pague en oferta y caro es una mierda de juego como el MW3..
    modo multiplayer las balas tienen aimbot, aimassist! :s tiene problemas de FPS...
    modo historia...alguien juega realmente a esta mierda? activision en mi lista negra!
  25. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    **** trolls man, giving the mighty CoD a 0 the best game of the year each year, this version of CoD called black ops is another example of why Activision is the last bastion of honest publisher out there, thank you Activision for such great hardcore multiplayer cinematic experience, can't wait to play the 2 and the 3 and maybe the 4. oh and don't mind the 0 is Ironic, like this review.
  26. Jul 4, 2013
    0
    I havent played the game, I hate call of duty games, I know I missed nothing. cod games are atrocious and artistically insulting. cod to games is as drum and bass to music.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. PC Format
    Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    68
    This score will likely come as a shock to many, but this game suffers from pathetic frame rates at times, both on console and on PC.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    Black Ops is one of the best first person shooters this year, and is a obviously must have for any action fan. Intense, gory and quite brilliant, maybe it's not refreshing but at the same time its a stunning game.