Call of Duty: Black Ops PC

Call of Duty: Black Ops Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1624 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise, rumored to be set during the Cold War.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    98
    There is so much content packed into this game that I couldn't even fit all of it into my review. However, even the multiplayer alone is enough to warrant this rating.
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    91
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is an awesome game with an incredible action-packed singleplayer and a great multiplayer. Although there have been no groundbreaking innovations compared to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, it is still recommendable.
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    Call of Duty: Black Ops bears the series' standard superbly, delivering an engrossing campaign and exciting competitive multiplayer.
  4. PC Format
    Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  5. Dec 10, 2010
    80
    Ultimately, there is little doubt that Black Ops will sate the hunger of those simply wanting more Call of Duty, but beyond that it seem unlikely that it will broaden the palettes of gamers or indeed the genre; and for such a big budget, high profile release, we can't help but feel a little disappointed with that.
  6. PC Gamer
    Jan 7, 2011
    74
    Skip the tedious single-player campaign, jump into the great, fast-paced multiplayer fray--and hope it works on your PC. [Feb 2011, p.66]
  7. Dec 10, 2010
    58
    Call of Duty: Black Ops does many things right on the PC such as dedicated servers and high resolutions, but it's just really buggy.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Treyarch can pat themselves on their backs for creating such an amazing game. With their pass game history of mediocre games (CoD 3 and CoDTreyarch can pat themselves on their backs for creating such an amazing game. With their pass game history of mediocre games (CoD 3 and CoD WAW). They have set the bar high with Black Ops. Black Ops comes out on top of MW2 with vast improvements and most importantly, dedicated servers for multi-player. As well, the online RPG leveling system allows players to purchase which perks they like instead of having to work through a pre-determined list of perks. Beautiful multi-player maps, balanced guns, and crisp controls make the multi-player experience unforgettable. The single player campaign is roughly 7-8 hours of story-compelling, non-stop action. A game that can deliver a good story while making the characters feel believable and alive is a rare occasion. If you are a CoD fan, this is a must purchase. If you like FPS, but dislike CoD games. This is still a MUST purchase. Expand
  2. May 4, 2011
    9
    geat multiplayer since most hackers were recently banned. after numerous patches the game is finally enjoyable and addicting to play. searchgeat multiplayer since most hackers were recently banned. after numerous patches the game is finally enjoyable and addicting to play. search and destroy is super fun and prestige in this game is actually worth it because u get gold guns at level 14. the single player is like a rambo linear mission but it worth playing about half way. the real fun is multiplayer but i urge you to set everything in your config to low even if u have a powerful system to remain competitive you need 100 fps. black ops is the best multiplayer community since far cry. its like the best of CSS and modern warfare mixed into one. maps are however very dull so i give it a 9. looking forward to mw3 which i believe will be epic. Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    Call of Duty became recently such product which let out every year and it brings in to founders the stable income. Unfortunately, almost allCall of Duty became recently such product which let out every year and it brings in to founders the stable income. Unfortunately, almost all parts left after the first Modern Warfare didn't possess anything, except a usual redoing of old ideas and their delivery for new, even a cursor never changed, and this CoD too works at an old cursor. I everything say it to that no hope that this project becomes something being remembered or interesting existed, besides Modern Warfare 3 which have left before it was deification of nonsense of founders of game and as perfectly I showed crisis of ideas which began even earlier, but is most of all noticeable in that ill-fated part. After I passed couple of missions I understood that it something new and founders actually became reasonable and do excellent game, I only hoped that further game won't go on nakatanny down, and will be at the level of the first missions. I was mistaken as further BO 2 me I disappointed. Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    This game has so much potential but the main campaign is a joke you can beat it in a day go to bed that night wake up in the morning and youThis game has so much potential but the main campaign is a joke you can beat it in a day go to bed that night wake up in the morning and you will not know a single character's name none. All this is is Cod4 reskinned with some new guns and a new layout mind you Cod 4 is considered a masterpiece by a lot of people so that is where some potential shines through this fest. The multiplayer is broken because of the hackers and lag is ridicules i would sooner have a lama on my chest then go back to that bull most of the time you just spawn in napalm the only way its possible at all to enjoy multiplayer is to play with just your friends but even then why would you when Cod4 did it better and cheaper this game quickly becomes a bore to play. The single player is such a joke the A.I. in this game is abysmal they just let a retarded squirel orgasam on a keyboard for there pathfinding there can be a few good moments in it BUT I WOULD EXCEPT A LITTLE MORE THAN A FEW DECENT SET PIECES FROM ONE OF THE BEST SELLING FRANCHISES EVER. In Cod4 they upped the drama with having a nuke drop on your head and forcing you to try and survive but it doesn't matter what you do you will die thats original BUT THIS GAME IS THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF THAT JUST MILKING THIS SERIES UNTIL ITS STAR WARS i get that it would be hard to up the ante after have a nuke dropped on the players head but to not even try is pathetic you activision for whoring out this series to the point its the laughing stock of all most gamers this is the hooker you see whos giving a blow job for 5 dollars in a back alley to anybody she can find maybe you even took one once and it was pretty good but now shes 70 and just look pathetic and is pathetic and should just be put out of her misery. Expand
  5. Ed1
    Dec 12, 2010
    2
    This game suffers from severe stuttering both in single and multiplayer. Aiming is therefore very hard and very frustrating, especially sinceThis game suffers from severe stuttering both in single and multiplayer. Aiming is therefore very hard and very frustrating, especially since we're talking about a 60 euro well-hyped game (reducing graphical options does not help, and for the record, my computer runs many other current games just fine).

    On the other hand I like the single player story and the Zombie mode. It's clear that the developers did try to make a great game, but they failed.

    I have returned my copy and got a refund.
    Collapse
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    1
    Terrible game, no matter what platform you play it on. Multiplayer is identical to MW2's. For some reason, and im not very sure why, i REALYTerrible game, no matter what platform you play it on. Multiplayer is identical to MW2's. For some reason, and im not very sure why, i REALY hate the singleplayer. perhaps the lack of originality or how linear it is really breaks it. This game is just a money whore for treyarch and activision. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    Activision is yet again milking the call of duty franchise for as much money as possible. lets face it, they will never achieve a perfectActivision is yet again milking the call of duty franchise for as much money as possible. lets face it, they will never achieve a perfect balance that cod4 had. Expand

See all 535 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.