Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1442 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise, rumored to be set during the Cold War.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    98
    There is so much content packed into this game that I couldn't even fit all of it into my review. However, even the multiplayer alone is enough to warrant this rating.
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    91
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is an awesome game with an incredible action-packed singleplayer and a great multiplayer. Although there have been no groundbreaking innovations compared to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, it is still recommendable.
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    I've considered myself a Call of Duty fan for many years, and I've held a deep-seated distrust of Treyarch since Call of Duty 3. No longer.
  4. Jan 29, 2011
    84
    Its duffer solo moments are masked by imaginative and visual whizz-band-fizz. [Jan 2011, p.100]
  5. Dec 10, 2010
    80
    Black Ops does well, mostly due to the sheer amount of exciting and fun multiplayer content, but I've got some serious concerns over where Call of Duty is headed.
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    74
    Skip the tedious single-player campaign, jump into the great, fast-paced multiplayer fray--and hope it works on your PC. [Feb 2011, p.66]
  7. Dec 10, 2010
    58
    Call of Duty: Black Ops does many things right on the PC such as dedicated servers and high resolutions, but it's just really buggy.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Treyarch can pat themselves on their backs for creating such an amazing game. With their pass game history of mediocre games (CoD 3 and CoD WAW). They have set the bar high with Black Ops. Black Ops comes out on top of MW2 with vast improvements and most importantly, dedicated servers for multi-player. As well, the online RPG leveling system allows players to purchase which perks they like instead of having to work through a pre-determined list of perks. Beautiful multi-player maps, balanced guns, and crisp controls make the multi-player experience unforgettable. The single player campaign is roughly 7-8 hours of story-compelling, non-stop action. A game that can deliver a good story while making the characters feel believable and alive is a rare occasion. If you are a CoD fan, this is a must purchase. If you like FPS, but dislike CoD games. This is still a MUST purchase. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Nuketown.

    probably just the BEST FPS MAP EVAR.

    After Treyarch fixed the connection issues, Black Ops turned out to be quite a good game.

    The IW 3.0 engine is in my opinion also still the best COD engine (same as MW1)
    Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers. This review is for the single game-play only as my multi-player skills leave much to be desired. The first thing you notice is those annoying numbers and their meaning. If I understood the premise of the numbers they are locations in the US for sleeper cells, however to Mason they have a more sinister meaning as it is implied that he was involved in the Kennedy shooting. All the missions are told in flashbacks and the game starts at the Bay of Pigs and goes on from there where you will do everything from black covert ops to recon. The mechanics of the game are the usual fare for COD game, however the controls, for some reason feel tighter in the XB360 edition as the PS3 felt kinda mushy to me. The gameplay is solid and the aim-assist can help you, or hinder you depending on the way you loo at it. For the most part the graphic are good except for one or two missions which look like the first gen XBOX, but other than that it is pretty good. As far as the story and game-play, I enjoyed it and it can take anywhere from 6-18 hours depending on how good or how much you play. Collapse
  4. Oct 2, 2011
    4
    Terribly bad PC performance, campers, graphics à la Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. A rehashed version of earlier Call of Duty games. The Call of Duty franchise died for me with this one. There's a ton of better games on the market such as the Battlefield series. You've been warned. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2011
    2
    I used to think that the game sucked because it ran like crap on my old PC. I have upgraded to a nice new up to date one and Call of Duty Black Ops is still a terrible game. The graphics are nothing special. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 trumps this game by far. (Yes I ran it on 1680x1050 16xAA etc etc...)

    The singleplayer is like every other console based shooter. Endless enemies and typical non-replayable scripted actions and events. The game is just a long movie where you do what you are told and kill lots and lots of enemies.
    Because of the scripted nature of the game enemies are invincible untill they have finished their cinematic entry into the battle. Friendly units will push and block you to get to their scripted locations for the next 'scene' of your game, and my favourite: Save points sometimes place your spawn in front of an enemy with a shotgun, while you have a gun with no ammo! =D.

    Personalisation of your guns and character in multiplayer are decent and I do like the global match recorder allowing you to film your games without needing 3rd party screencapture software. Though multiplayer as a whole is still pretty bad.

    Overall the game is bad. You can buy any indie shooter for like $10 and get the same thing out of it. No point buying a $90 game... and they had the audacity to release $20 of DLC... Talk about putting the Icing on the turd....
    Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2011
    1
    Don't buy this game, get MW2 instead. This game is bad in everything imaginable - Graphics, Plot, Optimization, Netcode. EVERYTHING. Singleplayer is WORST singleplayer in history of call of duty, game is written by incompetent coders, it will works slow on any configuration! While my machine is capable of running Crysis on good settings and MW2 maxed, i get 30 fps in Black Ops with almost everything turned off! Game is 100% cpu intensive, it does not uses your video card at all! AT ALL! I don't want to continue listing bad stuff, just save your money and nerves. Don't buy Black Ops! Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    Activision is yet again milking the call of duty franchise for as much money as possible. lets face it, they will never achieve a perfect balance that cod4 had. Expand

See all 520 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.