Call of Duty: Ghosts Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have beenThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. The new Perks system has more perks than were previously available. Every perk has a value from 1 to 5, and you have 8 points to allocate. So for example, choose 4 perks each valued at 2 points a piece, or even 8 perks, each valued at 1. You could also choose to get rid of your secondary weapon and get up to 11 perks. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    Though at the risk of overcomplicating things at times, its robust multiplayer gameplay, surprisingly fun co-op modes, and lengthy, challenging, and varied campaign makes Ghosts one of the best Call of Duty games to date.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    85
    If Battlefield 4 has only a terrific campaign, Call of Duty Ghosts is far more uniform. It's not such a beautiful game but the campaign is really breathtaking, and you have a large panel of ways to play online. For those who want to play together, there is Extinction mode ; if you're addicted, you can have your daily dose on your mobile ; if you're a noob, you will have the possibility to play with and against bots. A great and complete experience.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 30, 2013
    80
    It's exactly what fans of the franchise have grown to expect. No surprises here, folks. [Jan 2014, p.90]
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    67
    I don’t doubt that every gun, perk, and killstreak reward in Ghosts was implemented and tweaked with a fine brush, but painting in every individual eyelash of the Mona Lisa wouldn’t make it a better painting. That’s what’s been happening to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare since 2007—little bits have been scraped off and painted over again and again. With a broader brush, Activision and its studios might stop noodling around in the corners of Modern Warfare’s greatness and paint something actually modern.
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    66
    Call of Duty Ghosts fires some rounds, hits the target, just not a bullseye.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    60
    Nothing to see here in terms of innovation: the campaign is dull, the multiplayer fun. But this time, the air of sameness is a little bit too much. [Issue#236]
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Most of the time it revels in being mediocre and cowardly by the numbers rather than outright terrible, though there are moments where it manages to be both. If this isn’t a wake up call, showing once and for all that churning out more or less the same stuff year after year only serves to dilute the quality of a franchise, then I don’t know what is. It’s completely shameless, and it’s undoubtedly going to sell phenomenally well.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Shame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fixShame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fix those problems. Ignoring those problems i've been really impressed with the game so far. The campaign has a good story-line as far as Call of Duty games are concerned. No mission is the same so it keeps it interesting.

    As far as multiplayer goes i'm enjoying it more than most of the previous games. The create a soldier and loadouts are really good and the maps are decent. I've not had any connection problems apart from some lag in the odd lobby.

    Overall the game is one of the best Call of Duty games so far, so I would say don't let the negative reviews put you off... I can understand why some people may be upset as there are some problems that may affect them but they should be patched soon. In the meantime there are 3rd party fixes like the fovely FOV changer which allows you to change the FOV in multiplayer. Fingers crossed the problems get patched soon because this is a great game that everyone should be playing.
    Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2013
    7
    Product quality is much, much better. The script is better than a stupid black ops, human models and levels a million times better, goodProduct quality is much, much better. The script is better than a stupid black ops, human models and levels a million times better, good shaders. Directing excellent. Action scenes are excellent. In general, one can see that this is not trash, and this time, people were trying to do better.
      BUT. The mission of the destroyer was made in vain, it looks like a bud competition with battlfield. A huge number of bugs. Nothing new and self copy.
    Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    3
    To be honest, I was not expecting anything exceptional when I bought the game. I knew that it wouldn't be a huge step forward, I just like(d)To be honest, I was not expecting anything exceptional when I bought the game. I knew that it wouldn't be a huge step forward, I just like(d) the COD gameplay where I can run in circles and kill lots of people very quickly without dying. It's unrealistic and fun. When I bought the game I was surprised to be disappointed. Here's a list of what irks me:
    The guns just didn't keep me interested like they did in BO2. None were really special or great, they're all kind of mid-level. To add on this, there isn't really a reason to stick with your favorite gun since you can just buy all of the attachments instead of actually leveling and prestiging your gun. And you can't get camo for your secondary. But hey, you can access your clan via iPad so that's just a revolutionary step forward.
    I didn't bother with the campaign because I don't care about the campaign. They made the maps bigger to try to compare with BF4. I didn't like this.
    Extinction is like Zombies, and it's fun until you beat it once. After that its just boring.

    Performance issues: While I run every other game I've ever played on the highest settings with no issues, I have to run Ghosts on low-very low on every setting. Anything above that and the game freezes/seizes/fps issues etc.
    I bought BO2 for full price as well, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I put in over 500 hours on the game. I have about 20 hours on Ghosts and I've actually uninstalled it. It's not worth the huge size, and it SURELY is not worth the $60. I have made the decision that I will be switching over to Battlefield next release, and I wish all COD gamers the best.
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    my review is only for the single player! i just want to mention that i played most of the cod campaigns. this game is pretty similar in a lotmy review is only for the single player! i just want to mention that i played most of the cod campaigns. this game is pretty similar in a lot of ways to the previous cods. most of the time, i dont have a problem with games bringing you more of the same, but in cod ghosts some of the levels feel like a copy from the previous titles. this missions are still fun, but it feels lazy. I do like the game though, and while it isnt any better then black ops 2, its still fun. the action sequences are still fun, and they are a bit larger then in previous titles. this brings me to my next point, the graphics. they really didnt improve in a lot and it lacks the graphics i expect from a 2013 triple A release. some aspects were improved, but overall the graphics are almost identical (which isnt a good thing) .the graphics are also inconcictent. a jungle mission looks great but most of the other levels dont look as well(the jungle mission is also pretty fun). textures are extremely low ress and explosions look 2D and crap. the games mechanics also feel untouched, and while theyre good, ive seen better and i expected better graphics than this. the enviroments are pretty detailed, which is a plus. overall the game is just fun crazy action. the friendly AI isnt the best, and the enemy AI is mediocore. i also had a sound bug which was really irritating. the ending is also extremely crap!!! though it may look like i dont like the game, i had a good time with it. its not as good as black ops 2, and i have a lot of complaints about it, but its still a fun crazy shooter and if you like the genre you should buy it. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    Seriously bad is an understatement. But let me explain a little because of this fabulous critique.
    First; MILLIONS OF BUGS Mires where you
    Seriously bad is an understatement. But let me explain a little because of this fabulous critique.
    First; MILLIONS OF BUGS Mires where you look Impossible to play for hundreds of failures it has. Forget playing in CrossFire. Do not bother to install the latest drivers for your graphics NOT WORK do not bother spending hours adjusting the settings of the game, NOT WORK do not bother spending hours on forums to find some way of playing NOT WORK do not bother to disable programs like FRAPS MSI Afterburner or any other exit Overlay program ITSELF AS THE STEAM.

    In the end, after hours and hours lost I could get to play around a little Campaign and Multi-Player. The truth is that with a few minutes and you have the feeling of playing the CoD MW 3.1. If version 3.1 of Modern Warfare 3 but poorly made More of the same with the same graphics and the same The campaign, Multi-Player, ****.

    Worst of all is that people ACTIVISION has the shamelessness to sell this! An unfinished ALFA smelling a game port of XBOX 360 made ​​reluctantly All whores promises that this would be a major change in the CoD series and more on the PC version has come to nothing. A DECEPTION OF 70, A JOKE HEAVY BAD TASTE .

    WORST IN MANY YEARS! Anybody OS NO HARD ON THIS NOT A SCAM OS OCCURRING OR IS ALPHA BUY THIS GAME LIKE FIVE YEARS AGO THAT YOU HAVE GIVEN A 7/10 BUT YOU TODAY'S DATE HAS TWO A 2/10 AND PROBLEMS WITHOUT MAKING IT WORK FOR.

    Sorry for my very bad English.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Horrible... What a load of rubbish. I've never seen a game so terrible. Actually, I have. It was called Modern Warfare 1, Modern Warfare 2,Horrible... What a load of rubbish. I've never seen a game so terrible. Actually, I have. It was called Modern Warfare 1, Modern Warfare 2, Modern Warfare 3... Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Ready for this?

    WASTE... OF... MONEY... Now unfortunately this review has to be over one hundred and fifty characters long but there isn't
    Ready for this?

    WASTE... OF... MONEY... Now unfortunately this review has to be over one hundred and fifty characters long but there isn't one thing in Ghosts that is worth talking about. Not one thing.
    Expand

See all 933 User Reviews