Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3321 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have beenThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. The new Perks system has more perks than were previously available. Every perk has a value from 1 to 5, and you have 8 points to allocate. So for example, choose 4 perks each valued at 2 points a piece, or even 8 perks, each valued at 1. You could also choose to get rid of your secondary weapon and get up to 11 perks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    Though at the risk of overcomplicating things at times, its robust multiplayer gameplay, surprisingly fun co-op modes, and lengthy, challenging, and varied campaign makes Ghosts one of the best Call of Duty games to date.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    85
    If Battlefield 4 has only a terrific campaign, Call of Duty Ghosts is far more uniform. It's not such a beautiful game but the campaign is really breathtaking, and you have a large panel of ways to play online. For those who want to play together, there is Extinction mode ; if you're addicted, you can have your daily dose on your mobile ; if you're a noob, you will have the possibility to play with and against bots. A great and complete experience.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    It's exactly what fans of the franchise have grown to expect. No surprises here, folks. [Jan 2014, p.90]
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    67
    I don’t doubt that every gun, perk, and killstreak reward in Ghosts was implemented and tweaked with a fine brush, but painting in every individual eyelash of the Mona Lisa wouldn’t make it a better painting. That’s what’s been happening to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare since 2007—little bits have been scraped off and painted over again and again. With a broader brush, Activision and its studios might stop noodling around in the corners of Modern Warfare’s greatness and paint something actually modern.
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    66
    Call of Duty Ghosts fires some rounds, hits the target, just not a bullseye.
  6. 60
    Nothing to see here in terms of innovation: the campaign is dull, the multiplayer fun. But this time, the air of sameness is a little bit too much. [Issue#236]
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Most of the time it revels in being mediocre and cowardly by the numbers rather than outright terrible, though there are moments where it manages to be both. If this isn’t a wake up call, showing once and for all that churning out more or less the same stuff year after year only serves to dilute the quality of a franchise, then I don’t know what is. It’s completely shameless, and it’s undoubtedly going to sell phenomenally well.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Shame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fixShame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fix those problems. Ignoring those problems i've been really impressed with the game so far. The campaign has a good story-line as far as Call of Duty games are concerned. No mission is the same so it keeps it interesting.

    As far as multiplayer goes i'm enjoying it more than most of the previous games. The create a soldier and loadouts are really good and the maps are decent. I've not had any connection problems apart from some lag in the odd lobby.

    Overall the game is one of the best Call of Duty games so far, so I would say don't let the negative reviews put you off... I can understand why some people may be upset as there are some problems that may affect them but they should be patched soon. In the meantime there are 3rd party fixes like the fovely FOV changer which allows you to change the FOV in multiplayer. Fingers crossed the problems get patched soon because this is a great game that everyone should be playing.
    Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2014
    7
    Ghosts is a good game that has to live in the shadow of all other CoD games. They took bold steps to freshen up the gameplay with a "new"Ghosts is a good game that has to live in the shadow of all other CoD games. They took bold steps to freshen up the gameplay with a "new" engine that traded optimization for better graphics. The story is kind of mediocre and the multiplayer is actually quite enjoyable with the larger maps and new movement features. I am upset that there is no theater. I do not think that two years was enough to make the game that would innovate like Ghosts tried, I can only hope that BLOPS 3 will try to implement new movement since AW and Ghosts have implemented their own ideas! "New" (before CoD 1,2,4 and 6 devs left) IW should pull up their socks before they build up a truly bad reputation! Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2014
    3
    This game is the least innoavtive one in the francsise no fov slider and lots of bugs game.
    They game is glitchy as heck and it is not worth
    This game is the least innoavtive one in the francsise no fov slider and lots of bugs game.
    They game is glitchy as heck and it is not worth a big 30-60 dollar.
    The game was dead before it was even launched that why they called it call of duty ghosts.
    Call of duty spooks is really crap 10/10
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    my review is only for the single player! i just want to mention that i played most of the cod campaigns. this game is pretty similar in a lotmy review is only for the single player! i just want to mention that i played most of the cod campaigns. this game is pretty similar in a lot of ways to the previous cods. most of the time, i dont have a problem with games bringing you more of the same, but in cod ghosts some of the levels feel like a copy from the previous titles. this missions are still fun, but it feels lazy. I do like the game though, and while it isnt any better then black ops 2, its still fun. the action sequences are still fun, and they are a bit larger then in previous titles. this brings me to my next point, the graphics. they really didnt improve in a lot and it lacks the graphics i expect from a 2013 triple A release. some aspects were improved, but overall the graphics are almost identical (which isnt a good thing) .the graphics are also inconcictent. a jungle mission looks great but most of the other levels dont look as well(the jungle mission is also pretty fun). textures are extremely low ress and explosions look 2D and crap. the games mechanics also feel untouched, and while theyre good, ive seen better and i expected better graphics than this. the enviroments are pretty detailed, which is a plus. overall the game is just fun crazy action. the friendly AI isnt the best, and the enemy AI is mediocore. i also had a sound bug which was really irritating. the ending is also extremely crap!!! though it may look like i dont like the game, i had a good time with it. its not as good as black ops 2, and i have a lot of complaints about it, but its still a fun crazy shooter and if you like the genre you should buy it. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    Seriously bad is an understatement. But let me explain a little because of this fabulous critique.
    First; MILLIONS OF BUGS Mires where you
    Seriously bad is an understatement. But let me explain a little because of this fabulous critique.
    First; MILLIONS OF BUGS Mires where you look Impossible to play for hundreds of failures it has. Forget playing in CrossFire. Do not bother to install the latest drivers for your graphics NOT WORK do not bother spending hours adjusting the settings of the game, NOT WORK do not bother spending hours on forums to find some way of playing NOT WORK do not bother to disable programs like FRAPS MSI Afterburner or any other exit Overlay program ITSELF AS THE STEAM.

    In the end, after hours and hours lost I could get to play around a little Campaign and Multi-Player. The truth is that with a few minutes and you have the feeling of playing the CoD MW 3.1. If version 3.1 of Modern Warfare 3 but poorly made More of the same with the same graphics and the same The campaign, Multi-Player, ****.

    Worst of all is that people ACTIVISION has the shamelessness to sell this! An unfinished ALFA smelling a game port of XBOX 360 made ​​reluctantly All whores promises that this would be a major change in the CoD series and more on the PC version has come to nothing. A DECEPTION OF 70, A JOKE HEAVY BAD TASTE .

    WORST IN MANY YEARS! Anybody OS NO HARD ON THIS NOT A SCAM OS OCCURRING OR IS ALPHA BUY THIS GAME LIKE FIVE YEARS AGO THAT YOU HAVE GIVEN A 7/10 BUT YOU TODAY'S DATE HAS TWO A 2/10 AND PROBLEMS WITHOUT MAKING IT WORK FOR.

    Sorry for my very bad English.
    Expand
  6. uah
    Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Worse graphics than the previous games but less performance and constant crash issues. The single player campaign is really bad scripted withWorse graphics than the previous games but less performance and constant crash issues. The single player campaign is really bad scripted with horrible voice actors and has a 6Gb RAM requirement that is not really needed.

    The rest is the same as always.
    Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    The Best COD was Black Ops... It was amazing! But Ghosts is the opposite of Black Ops, it sux really.

    My Computer contains a i7
    The Best COD was Black Ops... It was amazing! But Ghosts is the opposite of Black Ops, it sux really.

    My Computer contains a i7 2600@4.5GHz, GTX780@1150MHz and 8GB Ram and a 512GB SSD Samsung 840 and this horrible game has strong performance problems with frames and crashes!
    I want my money back!
    Even BF4 runs like hell on Ultra without any problem, not single problem.
    Im really said and feel betrayed from IW and Activision, they promised us a great game with dedicated servers. What got we? P2P Lobbies (no servers) and MP with 6 versus 6 players. GZ noobs!
    Expand

See all 923 User Reviews