Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 3097 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. The new Perks system has more perks than were previously available. Every perk has a value from 1 to 5, and you have 8 points to allocate. So for example, choose 4 perks each valued at 2 points a piece, or even 8 perks, each valued at 1. You could also choose to get rid of your secondary weapon and get up to 11 perks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    Though at the risk of overcomplicating things at times, its robust multiplayer gameplay, surprisingly fun co-op modes, and lengthy, challenging, and varied campaign makes Ghosts one of the best Call of Duty games to date.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    85
    If Battlefield 4 has only a terrific campaign, Call of Duty Ghosts is far more uniform. It's not such a beautiful game but the campaign is really breathtaking, and you have a large panel of ways to play online. For those who want to play together, there is Extinction mode ; if you're addicted, you can have your daily dose on your mobile ; if you're a noob, you will have the possibility to play with and against bots. A great and complete experience.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    It's exactly what fans of the franchise have grown to expect. No surprises here, folks. [Jan 2014, p.90]
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    67
    I don’t doubt that every gun, perk, and killstreak reward in Ghosts was implemented and tweaked with a fine brush, but painting in every individual eyelash of the Mona Lisa wouldn’t make it a better painting. That’s what’s been happening to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare since 2007—little bits have been scraped off and painted over again and again. With a broader brush, Activision and its studios might stop noodling around in the corners of Modern Warfare’s greatness and paint something actually modern.
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    66
    Call of Duty Ghosts fires some rounds, hits the target, just not a bullseye.
  6. 60
    Nothing to see here in terms of innovation: the campaign is dull, the multiplayer fun. But this time, the air of sameness is a little bit too much. [Issue#236]
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    40
    Most of the time it revels in being mediocre and cowardly by the numbers rather than outright terrible, though there are moments where it manages to be both. If this isn’t a wake up call, showing once and for all that churning out more or less the same stuff year after year only serves to dilute the quality of a franchise, then I don’t know what is. It’s completely shameless, and it’s undoubtedly going to sell phenomenally well.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Shame this game is getting slated for problems like needing to have 6GB of RAM and no FOV slider. Hopefully they bring out a patch to fix those problems. Ignoring those problems i've been really impressed with the game so far. The campaign has a good story-line as far as Call of Duty games are concerned. No mission is the same so it keeps it interesting.

    As far as multiplayer goes i'm enjoying it more than most of the previous games. The create a soldier and loadouts are really good and the maps are decent. I've not had any connection problems apart from some lag in the odd lobby.

    Overall the game is one of the best Call of Duty games so far, so I would say don't let the negative reviews put you off... I can understand why some people may be upset as there are some problems that may affect them but they should be patched soon. In the meantime there are 3rd party fixes like the fovely FOV changer which allows you to change the FOV in multiplayer. Fingers crossed the problems get patched soon because this is a great game that everyone should be playing.
    Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2014
    7
    I was kinda skeptic about the game, but ive played it for a few hours now, and its quite a fun game to be honst. Good time killer anyways. Its COD nothing much changes.. Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2014
    3
    The guns sound good and most of them feel pretty awesome to use. That's basically the only thing this game has going for it. The maps are the worst I've ever seen in ANY FPS game, ever. It seems like Activision felt a need to rip off of Battlefield and introduce gigantic maps, while only supporting 6 on 6. Most of the time you'll be running around aimlessly, as the maps also have no direction whatsoever. There are countless angles for someone to come up behind you, and that will probably be 75% of your deaths. Most of the maps are a camper's paradise because they are filled with clutter. It's very difficult to anticipate where the enemies are coming from most of the time, which for a run-and-gun game like CoD, this is a horrible thing. The maps really are my major gripe with the game. Yes, they are that bad, and I strongly recommend avoiding this game for that reason. The maps are essentially all they had to do right, and, well, they didn't. At all. Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2014
    0
    This is one of the worst games ever created in the history of man-kind. I would suggest Battlefield 4 or counterstrike as an alternative. This game doesn't even deserve a 0. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    The gun-play is nice. However, the performance is absolutely terrible. I'm giving it 0/10. Complete waste of money. The system requirements are misrepresented. There is a difference from being able to install the game vs being able to play multiplayer with a reasonable framerate.

    No PC support. Forced Steam usage. No FoV slider. Just a direct and buggy port. gg IW.

    Do not buy
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Horrible... What a load of rubbish. I've never seen a game so terrible. Actually, I have. It was called Modern Warfare 1, Modern Warfare 2, Modern Warfare 3... Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Well, I paid 110 R$ for a game that I can not play, because I do not have 6GB of RAM, cool Activi$ion you outdid yourself. I'll keep playing COD 4 which is much better than this crap. Expand

See all 873 User Reviews