User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6523 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Kylek
    Mar 29, 2010
    3
    Infinity Ward you blow. I have always been a call of duty fan, and a gamer at heart. I loved the fact mw2 came out but then when i got it, it was shit. Every game you go into theirs a hacker aimboting with a rpd and shootin threw the whole map. Single player is to short. No DEDICATED SERVERS!? A perk that can teleport you halfway across the map with a knife? Over powered AA 12. Model 1887 Infinity Ward you blow. I have always been a call of duty fan, and a gamer at heart. I loved the fact mw2 came out but then when i got it, it was shit. Every game you go into theirs a hacker aimboting with a rpd and shootin threw the whole map. Single player is to short. No DEDICATED SERVERS!? A perk that can teleport you halfway across the map with a knife? Over powered AA 12. Model 1887 Range. NOOB TUBES WITH DANGER CLOSE? What was your idea of making this game a fun game or just a game to waste peoples money and have them buy it just to get pissed off and quit. If the single player mode is going to be so short then maybe the price should be cheaper. Expand
  2. PeterH
    Nov 11, 2009
    3
    Mediacore at best, don't bother to waste $ on this, since MP is a joke on pc and SP campaign takes 3,5h to finish. I'd rather suggest buying something that's actually worth your money.
  3. BenS
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    What amazing settings are on the PC version that the console might not have? From IW: The PC version has stuff like mouse support, text chat, and the ability to change graphical settings. I know my mind is blown as well. Its sad to know that IW use to boast stuff like http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qMfTR8PBrsE when the first one came out but removed almost all of this in the second one. What amazing settings are on the PC version that the console might not have? From IW: The PC version has stuff like mouse support, text chat, and the ability to change graphical settings. I know my mind is blown as well. Its sad to know that IW use to boast stuff like http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qMfTR8PBrsE when the first one came out but removed almost all of this in the second one. Single player: I enjoyed the first games single player mainly because of the stealth sniper mission and have to say MW2 has some decent single player events again but with a lot shorter gameplay. I know this game is more about the multiplayer but the main reason i enjoyed this game in the first place was the somewhat interesting single player missions. Also its quite sad that they put autoaim in the game and make it so you NEED it in order to beat some missions because it was designed for you to need it. Honestly.. wtf IW. Multiplayer: It basically added some new guns, removed leaning, a lot of new perks, and even worse more annoying kill streak rewards. In the first game i enjoyed the gameplay, perks, and killstreak rewards but after awhile it got on my nerves(can you say martyr) and now with this updated game we have no mods, 9 v 9 only, no dedicated servers. This is basically a direct from console version even with matchmaking included. Overall: i gave this game a 3/10 because the single player was semi decent and they tried to build up on multiplayer but in the process removed a lot of parks of the game people enjoyed making it another bad sequel of a use to be decent game. Expand
  4. eoL
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    Take a look at the at the user reviews, notice the very few positive Reviews compared to the flood of negative ones. Look at the Critics too. Of course, Critics can be bought but it's not as easy for the personal ones. This game is mostly an disappointment compared to its predecessor. The single-player narrative is overall both rationally stupid and very short. The removal of Take a look at the at the user reviews, notice the very few positive Reviews compared to the flood of negative ones. Look at the Critics too. Of course, Critics can be bought but it's not as easy for the personal ones. This game is mostly an disappointment compared to its predecessor. The single-player narrative is overall both rationally stupid and very short. The removal of dedicated server pretty much scraps the competitive gaming with the high latency p2p connections that the game uses. I'd give it a 5 for being a solid shooter, but I'm rating it even lower than that since there's no enjoyment in playing the single-player with its C-Movie plot nor rather lacking multiplayer. Expand
  5. klemensad
    Nov 12, 2009
    3
    Em.. game is not worth 60$ its a rental single player game play is boring and a grind i only played it because the story is great and the movie like scenes are awesome the ending is awesome 2 but other than that its a boring gring shooting enemies all the time and dieing a lot so rent it or but it for 20$ just to see the story but mw1 was way better in story and in gameplay so reather buy that.
  6. PhilH
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    One night's worth of entertaining single player shooter and that's basically your lot. Probably quite good by console standards but on the PC the crippled multiplayer kills any long term entertainment value.
  7. KeithA
    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    I can barely tolerate the single player part of the game. Endless waves of respawning enemies that shoot you the instant you walk around a corner is not hard. It's annoying. All I can see half the time I'm playing the game is blood on the inside of my eyeballs apparently. I also don't think that the story could be more generic. It's your standard COD campaign. Mindless I can barely tolerate the single player part of the game. Endless waves of respawning enemies that shoot you the instant you walk around a corner is not hard. It's annoying. All I can see half the time I'm playing the game is blood on the inside of my eyeballs apparently. I also don't think that the story could be more generic. It's your standard COD campaign. Mindless plodding through checkpoints to get to some fancy mocap work. It's really unsatisfying to say the least in the latest iteration of the game. The matchmaking is horrendous. The 5 second host migration takes place after 30 seconds of searching for the new host. The other thing I've noticed is that in order to make you feel like you can hit someone with the high pings involved in a p2p situation they have made the hitboxes enormous. I was playing earlier and a kill cam showed me registering hits on a stationary player in a corner when I was shooting 5 feet to his side. They have replaced skill based gaming with spray and pray because anything close counts. It' sa clever way to disguise the terrible latencies you experience. Expand
  8. BeauS
    Dec 11, 2009
    3
    While the offline game is awesome, but shot, the online version is crap and should be trashed. The lag filled connections are a nightmare and the intermissions between matches make you want to slit your wrists. No dedicated servers is the worst possible decision they could have come up with. I hope they fix it or they be deemed Hitlers best friend.
  9. noelc
    Dec 2, 2009
    3
    Played this game a ton. Single player is awesome but way too short for $60. Online play is pretty bad. Servers lag a bunch. Can't kick people easily that I can tell. I wish I hadn't paid $60...its a bad precedent to set that developers think they can get that much for a game that takes about 6 hours to finish.
  10. AidanB
    Nov 11, 2009
    3
    Infinity I have played Call of Duty competitively since COD1 was released, and only stopped playing COD4 to complete my secondary school studies and gain entry into a good college. I was waiting for this game to re enter the competitive scene. I will surely not be buying this game until you support dedicated servers. There are many better options for my class of gamers and generally PC Infinity I have played Call of Duty competitively since COD1 was released, and only stopped playing COD4 to complete my secondary school studies and gain entry into a good college. I was waiting for this game to re enter the competitive scene. I will surely not be buying this game until you support dedicated servers. There are many better options for my class of gamers and generally PC gamers alike, and competitors will only profit from your lazy business ethics. You could have made records in the gaming Industry that rival the likes of Starcraft and World of Warcraft, which if you may actually recall from the slumbers of your minds where the pc lies... THEY ARE PC TITLES DOOCHEBAGS. Blizzard is going to laugh at you when they release Starcraft 2, laugh and then roll in there bigger piles of money, while their investors perform sexual favors in gratitude. (perhaps an exaggeration, but one needs a sense of humor when corporate entities (things that don't actually exist) wins over what 'people' actually want) Expand
  11. MelkorL
    Nov 12, 2009
    3
    I must say I am quite disappointed at the moment! The game have a few bugs that can crash in the mist of intense fights (MP). The single player is intense and fun, but way too short. The story is original, but somewhat awkward (and totally unrealistic, unlike COD4 which was kind of believable). The lack of DS support is also irritating. That being said MP is as cool as ever when I must say I am quite disappointed at the moment! The game have a few bugs that can crash in the mist of intense fights (MP). The single player is intense and fun, but way too short. The story is original, but somewhat awkward (and totally unrealistic, unlike COD4 which was kind of believable). The lack of DS support is also irritating. That being said MP is as cool as ever when everything works. Generally this feel more like an expansion package for COD4 than a whole new stand alone game. Expand
  12. JakeLord
    Nov 23, 2009
    3
    The game was fun for a while but then i realized well since theres no modding the single player was realeased on pc with many errors some still not fixed the game was exciting in single player and then about 12 matches of multi now i find myself playing l4d2, garrys mod , and even older games before i play modern warfare 2 the lack of moding and dedicated servers ruins the pc experience The game was fun for a while but then i realized well since theres no modding the single player was realeased on pc with many errors some still not fixed the game was exciting in single player and then about 12 matches of multi now i find myself playing l4d2, garrys mod , and even older games before i play modern warfare 2 the lack of moding and dedicated servers ruins the pc experience so maybe IW needs to take some hints from Valve Expand
  13. MartinT
    Nov 24, 2009
    3
    I give it a 3, because i loved the SP, and if i wana play a MP match alone i guess IWnet is OK. But a terrible lobby-shit-party-funcion pretty much destrøys everything that was fun with CoD4. If IW don't get their fingers out of their asses, dont bother buying the game, download SP, ditch MP.
  14. sebastiaan
    Dec 22, 2009
    3
    Singleplayer good bit short but realy nice ..on otherhand multiplayer should be nice but TOOOOOO many hackers camper, nubtubers etc etc it ruins multiplayer completly...oyeah did i say hackers there are like 9 of 10 in mp....comon....
  15. SpectreMan
    Dec 25, 2009
    3
    Single Player was very short, but extremely action packed. The multiplayer "was" pretty good until you find a hacker in every other game you play. No dedicated server's is a big downer though. Spec Ops is fun because it offers an extra challenge. Me and a friend worked on it for at least 5 hours and we still haven't beaten all of it on veteran yet. MW2 overall however, really Single Player was very short, but extremely action packed. The multiplayer "was" pretty good until you find a hacker in every other game you play. No dedicated server's is a big downer though. Spec Ops is fun because it offers an extra challenge. Me and a friend worked on it for at least 5 hours and we still haven't beaten all of it on veteran yet. MW2 overall however, really isn't too much different than the original except for the single player storyline. Expand
  16. Sep 1, 2010
    3
    Whinny children, OP weaponry and loads more **** MW2 has it all. The story line was great but I hardley at all got enough single player experience out of it. It felt like running through a multiplayer game with bots and the online enemies. Now the multiplayer, here is what ruined this game. Every time you buy a cod you think of multiplayer. You know what? Forget it. It has instant killingWhinny children, OP weaponry and loads more **** MW2 has it all. The story line was great but I hardley at all got enough single player experience out of it. It felt like running through a multiplayer game with bots and the online enemies. Now the multiplayer, here is what ruined this game. Every time you buy a cod you think of multiplayer. You know what? Forget it. It has instant killing weapons to those who have played more then others, which is unfair to the new players. Say you have a weak weapon that takes 5 seconds of shots to kill, try attacking some one with dual abikos. To bad, he already killed you in one shot. All the disadvantages are are so easily countered by a perk or another weapon, did they even think? Things such as nukes just attact all the kids into this game. If you want a good, fun balanced multiplayer experience, then go for a game such as Team Fortress 2. Dont waste your money on such rushed crap like MW2. Ignore the damn critics, they dont know what a good game is. They think "Hey, its a gun. 10/10!" Dont buy this game unless you are a 13 year old looking for a game we have seen for years Expand
  17. Oct 12, 2010
    3
    The single-player was boring and felt like a Time Crisis arcade game. There was no freedom at all, just stand here, shoot those guys, move up 4 steps, shoot these guys, move up 4 steps, shoot these guys, do a scinematic jump to the helicopter...great...took about 2 hours to complete (could have watched a bad action film in the same time for the same effect).

    The multiplayer is
    The single-player was boring and felt like a Time Crisis arcade game. There was no freedom at all, just stand here, shoot those guys, move up 4 steps, shoot these guys, move up 4 steps, shoot these guys, do a scinematic jump to the helicopter...great...took about 2 hours to complete (could have watched a bad action film in the same time for the same effect).

    The multiplayer is horrendous. with no dedicated servers, there are no administrators to kick hackers, and VAC is a joke because every single match there are hackers. With hundreds of thousands of people playing at all times, you'd think you could find the occasional match without hackers in it, but you can't. Beyond the hackers, the kill-streaks completely interfere with the gameplay to the point where you can't play the game...how is it "gameplay" if you can't play the game lol. The engine is liek 6 years old and it shows. yes, they have beautiful textures, but they're pasted onto big, flat objects...i love looking at a picture of a door on a flat wall hahaha. The dual-weilding of shotguns is hilarious, as nobody would EVER do that. knife lunging 20 feet in front of you while a guy shoots you in the face and you survive with the kill?-also terrible. The maps are pretty terribly designed, I think there's only one that I mildly like, and you can't chose which map you play because there's no server browser or uhh...SERVERS lol. this game is the biggest waste of time and money in the gaming industry i've ever seen. I wish they put the money for this into the black hole that was Duke Nukem Forever so that it never saw the light of day.
    Expand
  18. Dec 24, 2010
    3
    As has been said before, one of the key problems for this game was that it was little more than a console port. The single player was enjoyable, if a little short. The multiplayer however was terrible, no dedicated servers was a huge mistake from Activision/Infinity Ward, from a European point of view I always seemed to get sent to servers where my ping was huge and then get buggered byAs has been said before, one of the key problems for this game was that it was little more than a console port. The single player was enjoyable, if a little short. The multiplayer however was terrible, no dedicated servers was a huge mistake from Activision/Infinity Ward, from a European point of view I always seemed to get sent to servers where my ping was huge and then get buggered by all the low ping players. the lack of leaning round corners was also a bit annoying - that's a feature I've always enjoyed in previous Call of Duty games over competitors - I expect it's due to it's console roots. As a long time Call of Duty fan (Call of Duty 1 is still one of my favourites) this was a massive disappointment - the jury is still out on whether I can bring myself to buy Black Ops after this, maybe Treyarch can get it right? After all, I enjoyed World at War, but Modern Warfare 2 had made me lose faith in the brand. Expand
  19. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    I like the CoD4 more than this crap....
  20. Jul 30, 2011
    3
    The single player is ok, it took me around 7 hours to complete although that was largely due to me messing around a lot. The multiplayer.... well, I did have a massive long rant written out, but instead I'm just going to summarise the good points and the bad points, and maybe have a little rant (but it still won't do justice to how bad this game is). Pros: some of the new weapons, perksThe single player is ok, it took me around 7 hours to complete although that was largely due to me messing around a lot. The multiplayer.... well, I did have a massive long rant written out, but instead I'm just going to summarise the good points and the bad points, and maybe have a little rant (but it still won't do justice to how bad this game is). Pros: some of the new weapons, perks and killstreaks are fun; The game is actually really great if you find a game with team players, no noobs, no lag, and no hackers. Cons: Some of the weapons are really, REALLY overpowered (Akimbo G18s, Noobtubes with Danger Close and One Man Army); Maximum of 18 players, and that's only in a game mode where you randomly play TDM and Domination games(and you will see someone using a hack at least once per day in this game mode); No dedicated servers (peer hosted games with matchmaking by IWNet instead); If you're in a party with a friend, don't be surprised if one of you is put into a game while the other is not, or that you both end up in different games entirely; The "lean" function is no longer in the game; There is no console, you cannot change the FoV; There is no mod support; No map voting; No kick voting; No spectating to see if someone's using a hack; It looks like a console port (no control over any feature, you can't even view your ping); VAC takes ages to do anything(I mean weeks, not minutes) IF it ever actually does anything at all(I've seen no evidence of anybody I've seen using a hack ever receiving a ban); You'll sometimes find yourself dead because either: your hits did not register; You will have multiple hits register but somehow the person will not die; or You will shoot them and the hits will register, but the killcam will show you not firing at all; All 3 of the above can also occur when using the knife; You will probably never find a game with team players, no noobs, no lag, and no hackers. From my own experience of IWNet I compiled the following statistics over a 7 week period: Attempts to join a game: 1145
    Successful joins: 793 (69.26%)
    Games that are so laggy they are unplayable: 66 (8.32%)
    Games that have been hacked/are bugged so nobody can move: 11 (1.39%)
    Games that end within a few seconds of joining: 28 (3.53%)
    Games with 1 or more definite hackers (wallhacks, aimbots, etc. Only counting games where the killcam proved they were using a hack, so the real figure WILL be more than this): 120 (15.13%)
    Games that appear to be none of the above: 568 (49.61% of attempts to join a game)

    IWNet promised to be lag and hacker free gaming, yet only actually seems to provide this at most less than 50% of the time. If you're thinking about a mutiplayer fps, consider CoD4 or World At War, but definitely not MW2.
    Expand
  21. Dec 11, 2011
    3
    MW2 was OK. But it has it's flaws. still- there are hackers on the Multiplayer servers, making that pointless to play. Second of all, the perks in Multiplayer are pretty rigged, like jump 50 stories without losing any health.. etc. Third of all, the campaign was shorter than Call of Duty 4's, which was pretty sad. The only sort-of good part was Spec Ops, but other than that, it reallyMW2 was OK. But it has it's flaws. still- there are hackers on the Multiplayer servers, making that pointless to play. Second of all, the perks in Multiplayer are pretty rigged, like jump 50 stories without losing any health.. etc. Third of all, the campaign was shorter than Call of Duty 4's, which was pretty sad. The only sort-of good part was Spec Ops, but other than that, it really wasn't that good. Expand
  22. Nov 18, 2011
    3
    Essentially a map pack for MW2. It is fun, and a run-n-gun at it's core elements. I hope that they will support the PC version and the Call of Duty franchise will respect their roots. MW2 I think got only 1 or 2 patches before they abandoned it (on PC), leaving the community with imbalanced weapons and unstable online support & match making. So far im seeing a handful of issues withEssentially a map pack for MW2. It is fun, and a run-n-gun at it's core elements. I hope that they will support the PC version and the Call of Duty franchise will respect their roots. MW2 I think got only 1 or 2 patches before they abandoned it (on PC), leaving the community with imbalanced weapons and unstable online support & match making. So far im seeing a handful of issues with online play and connectivity. Survival is glitchy, often kicking your partner out of the game all together. Skyrim had a patch on Day 1, just saying. With the millions and millions of money that they made I hope they put some of it back into the community with patches and support. I would be willing to bump up my review if PC gets some patches from IW & Activision/Blizzard Expand
  23. Feb 3, 2012
    3
    Single player (too short) is ok, but multi (WTF?!) is terrible. No Dedicated servers, mods, can't change maps, too expensive, casual **** I'm very disappointed on this game. COD4 is better.
  24. Feb 22, 2012
    3
    Single player: 7
    Fun and exciting but too short, ~6 hours Multiplayer: 1
    The servers are filled with noob tubers and people who just run and knife everyone, which I admit is actually pretty fun. Unfortunately, you can't select what map you want to play so you end up playing the same maps all the time. Connecting to a lobby takes quite a while and when you finally find one you are just as
    Single player: 7
    Fun and exciting but too short, ~6 hours Multiplayer: 1
    The servers are filled with noob tubers and people who just run and knife everyone, which I admit is actually pretty fun. Unfortunately, you can't select what map you want to play so you end up playing the same maps all the time. Connecting to a lobby takes quite a while and when you finally find one you are just as likely to get disconnected as you are to actually load the map and play. Most of the time you are quite lucky to play three maps in the same lobby before it disconnects you again. And if you like playing with friends one of you will get disconnected 95% of the time. Most of the "servers" have a fair amount of lag and you WILL run across at least one hacker every hour. Also $15 map packs, seriously? Activision and IW are fail and are just milking the COD cow because consumers buy into hype and "pretty" graphics, I know I did.
    Expand
  25. Apr 22, 2013
    3
    Horrible game. Maybe once good, but has too many issues and most of them were there when it came out.
    First we have the short campaign, where in normal you can take 5 soldiers firing at you with smgs for 45 seconds. Why use cover, you regen before you even get behind it anyway. Dumb AI, just blocks doors and hardly does anything not scripted. (under cover 90% of every fight).
    Then we
    Horrible game. Maybe once good, but has too many issues and most of them were there when it came out.
    First we have the short campaign, where in normal you can take 5 soldiers firing at you with smgs for 45 seconds. Why use cover, you regen before you even get behind it anyway. Dumb AI, just blocks doors and hardly does anything not scripted. (under cover 90% of every fight).

    Then we have the multiplayer. First day-1 issue, SMALL FRICKEN MAPS. Okay, I get it, its not a battlefield map, who friggen cares. The smallest map is literally 30 feet long, with hardly any cover. The biggest, the size of a baseball field, and a kids smalltown baseball field, 30m down, 30m across. 2nd issue, hackers. I literally played for 7 hours, got past level 20, (i forgot) than killed a hacker, instantly prestiged, lost all my stuff and the thrill of earning items by myself. Stupid game, horrible multiplayer. The game gets patched once every 3-6 months. It takes hackers 2 hours to torrent a new Mw2 game, than there back in action.
    Expand
  26. Sep 4, 2012
    3
    Single player is extremely short and feels like an interactive Michael Bay movie instead of a game. Multiplayer is a total mess, there are no dedicated servers, you spend more time in lobbies trying to find a game than actually playing it, the respawn system is terrible, the killstreak rewards are way too powerful and the list could go on... I only give it a 3 because I had some fun hereSingle player is extremely short and feels like an interactive Michael Bay movie instead of a game. Multiplayer is a total mess, there are no dedicated servers, you spend more time in lobbies trying to find a game than actually playing it, the respawn system is terrible, the killstreak rewards are way too powerful and the list could go on... I only give it a 3 because I had some fun here and there, but my overall recommendation is: don't even consider buying this game! I was a great fan of the previous CoD titles but with MW2 and MW3 Activision managed to ruin this once great franchise. Expand
  27. Sep 5, 2013
    3
    The single-player matters!
    You cannot release a game with a full single-player mode and then say: "It's all about the multi-player". Some people actually don't care about MP so you cannot be a unbiased reviewer and only talk about one part of the game.
    So let's begin with the single-player. It is a complete mess. The AI is beyond stupid, they will just run at you until gunned down. They
    The single-player matters!
    You cannot release a game with a full single-player mode and then say: "It's all about the multi-player". Some people actually don't care about MP so you cannot be a unbiased reviewer and only talk about one part of the game.
    So let's begin with the single-player. It is a complete mess. The AI is beyond stupid, they will just run at you until gunned down. They won't use strategy, they won't use cover, they won't flank or even do much to kill you at all. The sound design makes the guns un-satisfying to use as they lack any real impact.
    The story is your usual "America good. Middle-East terrorist.". It's getting tiresome running around desert-filled streets shooting anything that isn't white. The story is presented in such a bad way that you have to piece together the whole thing by yourself. It took me more than one playthrough to even understand what was going on. Characters don't act realistically so you will never understand their motivations. It seems they came up with a half a dozen set-pieces and just built the story around them.
    In the first Modern Warfare it was shocking when your character died in a nuclear explosion so naturally, they thought that they would try to recreate that in this game. You are killed (as part of the story) about 4 times. I really hope that I misunderstood this because it's not surprising when you do it every 10 minutes.
    And speaking of minutes, there aren't that many in the story. The main campaign might take you 4 or 5 hours. This is unacceptable and absolutely pathetic.
    Alright, multi-player. It's broken. The weapons are so imbalanced that less than a dozen guns are actually used by players and if you try to use anything else you will be mauled to the ground like a baby by a dozen rabid pit-bulls. Rewarding kills with even more ridiculous ways to kill people is just plain stupid. If you are not extremely skilled at this game you will be killed repeatedly by the same guy and when you think you can kill him, he comes back in a chopper. And then he drops a nuke on you. The maps are awfully designed and don't encourage anything other than the run and gun technique. They are way too small and cramped and the amount of players on each server is laughable.
    You also don't have any dedicated servers, you can't kick/ban, you cannot choose maps and so on. The FOV is freaking ridiculous as well and it gives me eye-strain just looking at it for half an hour.
    This game is a mess and Activision must have been sucking off a lot of critics out there to recieve an 86 on Metacritic.
    Expand
  28. JB
    Feb 6, 2010
    2
    The singleplayer mode is fun, i admit. However, multiplayer is somethign of a fail. IWNET takes all the fun out of mp, fun that we had on cod4 (and dare i say it cod5) with modding, custom maps, and custom rules. Im lucky if i can play two consecutive matches in a row without being disconnected and faced with some message saying 'Cannot migrate host' or 'Game lobby The singleplayer mode is fun, i admit. However, multiplayer is somethign of a fail. IWNET takes all the fun out of mp, fun that we had on cod4 (and dare i say it cod5) with modding, custom maps, and custom rules. Im lucky if i can play two consecutive matches in a row without being disconnected and faced with some message saying 'Cannot migrate host' or 'Game lobby closed'. Give us back good old PC gaming Please? Expand
  29. JA
    Jan 1, 2010
    2
    The gameplay in this game solid, but the way its delivered is horrendous. The laziness of the devlopers can easily be spotted in this game. This came alone has completely changed Infinity Ward's status in the PC gamer community.
  30. alcyone7
    Jan 16, 2010
    2
    Lousy multiplayer -- IWNET is an appalling piece of programming. Single player missions are too brief. STEAM constantly disconnects. Maps full of glitches (as usual for IW) and the hackers ruin whatever is left - the anticheat system is a joke!
  31. MarkA
    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    If you are buying this for multiplayer puroses, don't. They have recently cut out many of the community by relying on users to set up routers with special settings, that even when done, you cannot play online. I am above average in my ability to configure my system (with the help of online forums), and for two weeks and a lot of tinkering, cannot connect online anymore. Until the If you are buying this for multiplayer puroses, don't. They have recently cut out many of the community by relying on users to set up routers with special settings, that even when done, you cannot play online. I am above average in my ability to configure my system (with the help of online forums), and for two weeks and a lot of tinkering, cannot connect online anymore. Until the manufacturer decides to make dedicated servers for this game, hold off. Expand
  32. sunnyr1yz
    Jan 24, 2010
    2
    multiplayer sucks 98% of time with lags, server kicking you out, server closing down on it's own because noone's able to host it.... the list goes on.. The sad part is it's actually fun the rest 2% time!
  33. AlL.
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    Now I came into this totally unbiased, not expecting something amazing and not expecting something totally awful. Even then, I was disappointed how Infinity Ward could brush aside their PC gamers like this. No dedicated servers, no lean, no PC specific anything. The lean and the rest of the stuff PC users lost I can deal with, but for the love of god bring us a patch with DEDICATED Now I came into this totally unbiased, not expecting something amazing and not expecting something totally awful. Even then, I was disappointed how Infinity Ward could brush aside their PC gamers like this. No dedicated servers, no lean, no PC specific anything. The lean and the rest of the stuff PC users lost I can deal with, but for the love of god bring us a patch with DEDICATED SERVERS! If this does not happen, I will no longer support Infinity Ward, and I know many others won't either. It's foolish to take the Xbox game, and slap a PC badge over it. Shame on you Infinity Ward. We may not be the biggest purchasers of your game, but we are the ones that started it all and made you what you are today. You've stabbed us in the back. Expand
  34. Sabbath
    Jan 20, 2010
    2
    nothing new ... same old story. non dedicated servers bad work.
  35. TooroneM.
    Jan 31, 2010
    2
    Like a lot of the other reviewers i thought the single player campaign was way to short, i finished it in 5 hours. The multiplayer mode,which is where MW1 excelled, is terrible. Lag is a problem but not enough to kill the game. What make s the game on PC redundant is the limited number of players that can be on any one map and the size of the maps. The maps are tiny and so any strategic Like a lot of the other reviewers i thought the single player campaign was way to short, i finished it in 5 hours. The multiplayer mode,which is where MW1 excelled, is terrible. Lag is a problem but not enough to kill the game. What make s the game on PC redundant is the limited number of players that can be on any one map and the size of the maps. The maps are tiny and so any strategic element is lacking, forget flanking, going up the middle in force, the maps are almost circles so you just keep chasing your own tail, its pathetic from a game that had such an outstanding start to fall so short in this iteration. Expand
  36. NathanR
    Jan 3, 2010
    2
    What a let down. Nothing more to say really, only the campaign is extremely short and boring, simply running from one objective to the other and the AI friendlies and enemies are very boring and predictable. Spec Ops is basically replaying the campaign with a friend, most of the achievements/trophies are from earning stars. The Multiplayer is very bad - The killstreaks are just plain What a let down. Nothing more to say really, only the campaign is extremely short and boring, simply running from one objective to the other and the AI friendlies and enemies are very boring and predictable. Spec Ops is basically replaying the campaign with a friend, most of the achievements/trophies are from earning stars. The Multiplayer is very bad - The killstreaks are just plain annoying, most of the maps are stll linear, the spawn system is terrible and the host migration takes far too long. I also hear their aren't any dedicated servers for PC which really sucks (although I play 360) as my friends play PC. Overall, they took MW1, ripped out the good stuff, filled it with rubbish and ripped 5 million people off. Expand
  37. LouisN
    Jan 4, 2010
    2
    The Games campaign is extremely short, its literally about maybe 2 hours long if you cut out all the time you spend recovering your health and dying. but about 6 hours with all that (no kidding). The campaign doesnt make a whole bunch of sense, i usually dont know who my character is and how he's involved in all of this. The game starts and ends exactly the same as MW1 and some of The Games campaign is extremely short, its literally about maybe 2 hours long if you cut out all the time you spend recovering your health and dying. but about 6 hours with all that (no kidding). The campaign doesnt make a whole bunch of sense, i usually dont know who my character is and how he's involved in all of this. The game starts and ends exactly the same as MW1 and some of the middle feels about the same too. The shooting in the game is extremely frustrating and the only good parts are the parts when you arent shooting and advancing on the enemy.... that isnt a good thing to say about a SHOOTING GAME. Online is terrible, VAC is terrible and will ban a hacker maybe 3-5 weeks after he starts hacking and theres no way to kick or ban them from the game. Host migration happens about 1-3 times in a game, usually when your not lagging to much. Then when your in an extremely laggy game where litterally everyone but the host is lagging, the game will not try to find a better host at all. Not to mention people are sending trojans and viruses through the game. This game can be a 10/10... but you'd have to find a server with no lag, no hackers, no cheap players (dual wielding shotguns, constant RPG spam, etc), and map that isnt terrible (almost all of them are terrible). The only reason this game would get a decent score is on a console, which standards are much lower. even then, your going to have to deal with most the problems. Dont buy this game, your going to end up searching the internet why you cant lean or how you can stop lagging and everyones going to laugh at you because you bought this game. Expand
  38. LucasP
    Feb 14, 2010
    2
    Great SP campaign, but even then its worse than COD4. Multiplayer is a disaster, with laggy servers, low player counts, mostly bad maps and altered gameplay compared to the original. Still it is a fun experience but not at the 59.99 rip off for a non console game.
  39. phillr
    Feb 10, 2010
    2
    Absolutely diabolical not having dedicated servers, insane lag coupled with dire hit detection make for some very poor gameplay. Then we come to cheaters and hacked hosts, they seem unstopable, very little support in Infinity Ward, this is a VERY poor console port.
  40. TueyK.
    Feb 1, 2010
    2
    If it wasn't for all the cheats, the immense lag, the constant disconnections, the complete idiots screaming over voice chat, the amount of racism in text chat, and the complete lack of response from infinity ward on their forums this game could be not bad. Unfortunately it is good for a few weeks then all of the above really starts to get to you. A real shame.
  41. AdamS
    Feb 6, 2010
    2
    I have had it with your IWnet system! You get 7 people in one lobby and takes multiple attempts for it to actually connect all the people. Also my biggest complaint, no dedicated servers. I tried your system for a few months before I let it bother me but give me a break! Without the ability to kick people the games just get ran by cheaters and hackers constantly. Here's an excerpt I have had it with your IWnet system! You get 7 people in one lobby and takes multiple attempts for it to actually connect all the people. Also my biggest complaint, no dedicated servers. I tried your system for a few months before I let it bother me but give me a break! Without the ability to kick people the games just get ran by cheaters and hackers constantly. Here's an excerpt from IW's website exactly: "Cheat / Hack Free Games: The biggest benefit of using IWnet by far is the fact that you don Expand
  42. RoyZ
    Feb 6, 2010
    2
    As a fan of COD Series it pains me to rate this game this way but the simple fact is that the lack of Dedicated Servers for PC version is not only the biggest dissapointment but also the most logged complaint in Infinity Ward Forums PC section for MW2. Several different petitions with almost 250,000 Dissatisfied PC Gamers begging for them says that IW is not in touch with the PC Community As a fan of COD Series it pains me to rate this game this way but the simple fact is that the lack of Dedicated Servers for PC version is not only the biggest dissapointment but also the most logged complaint in Infinity Ward Forums PC section for MW2. Several different petitions with almost 250,000 Dissatisfied PC Gamers begging for them says that IW is not in touch with the PC Community with the current teams in place. Expand
  43. LukeS
    May 4, 2010
    2
    Singleplayer is ok, with plenty of variety and incredible graphics. The campaign is WAY too short though to hold anyone's interest for more than a week, which is when multiplayer should kick in... I honestly have absolutely no idea whatsoever what Infinity Ward were thinking when they decided that no dedicated servers would be a good idea. Thousands of people voiced their concerns Singleplayer is ok, with plenty of variety and incredible graphics. The campaign is WAY too short though to hold anyone's interest for more than a week, which is when multiplayer should kick in... I honestly have absolutely no idea whatsoever what Infinity Ward were thinking when they decided that no dedicated servers would be a good idea. Thousands of people voiced their concerns before the game was released but IW kept saying that it would, in fact, make the game more secure against hackers, etc. They mentioned that their working with Valve and the anti-cheat system would work miracles. The fact is, as so many predicted, this is UTTER rubbish. Valve's anti-cheat system is 100% designed to be run on dedi servers and is VERY effective when this happens. With the lack of dedi servers and more holes in IWNet than a fishing net, hackers are literally everywhere, lag is outrageous, with the "host" often having such a massive advantage in terms of latency that it's impossible for anyone else. Total waste of money and having to pay for the expansion map pack is the final kick in the teeth. With any luck, IW won't exist much longer! Expand
  44. Keith
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    It's a generic shooting game, with poor controls. Sadly enough it's a step back when compared to Modern Warfare. They striped out on a lot of the features to make it easier and cheaper to make, then sell it for higher. No lean, no dedicated servers. if your host is laggy, it ruins the game for everyone. Plus the host will have a ping advantage, so if he lags he can easily obtain It's a generic shooting game, with poor controls. Sadly enough it's a step back when compared to Modern Warfare. They striped out on a lot of the features to make it easier and cheaper to make, then sell it for higher. No lean, no dedicated servers. if your host is laggy, it ruins the game for everyone. Plus the host will have a ping advantage, so if he lags he can easily obtain victory with no damage done to him. Expand
  45. SimonC
    Nov 12, 2009
    2
    The 2 is for the Character Models wich look pretty cool. and the 8 points that are missing... well as you've probably read in other reviews. What the hell is happening with PC gameing? Im back to playing Counter Strike soon. lets all hope that DICE's new game Bad Company 2 lives up to their hype. atleast theyr guna have Beta tests and Demo for us to try before they sell the shit The 2 is for the Character Models wich look pretty cool. and the 8 points that are missing... well as you've probably read in other reviews. What the hell is happening with PC gameing? Im back to playing Counter Strike soon. lets all hope that DICE's new game Bad Company 2 lives up to their hype. atleast theyr guna have Beta tests and Demo for us to try before they sell the shit to us. Infinity Ward and Codemasters (if u missed the utter crap game Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising) SHAME ON YOU! Expand
  46. TimF.
    Dec 23, 2009
    2
    This game is a direct port from the console version, and I hate it a great deal. I enjoyed the game for about five minutes until the fps dropped to about 5 fps. It does this throughout the game SP or MP with no apparent cause. Apparently IW can't be troubled to fix this problem. I payed $60 for this game expecting a good sequel to Modern Warfare, and I received a horrible attempt to This game is a direct port from the console version, and I hate it a great deal. I enjoyed the game for about five minutes until the fps dropped to about 5 fps. It does this throughout the game SP or MP with no apparent cause. Apparently IW can't be troubled to fix this problem. I payed $60 for this game expecting a good sequel to Modern Warfare, and I received a horrible attempt to cash in on the previous game's success. Do not buy. Expand
  47. CharlesF
    Dec 26, 2009
    2
    Don't waste your money. Its almost as if they MP was an after thought. IWNet is FAILNet. The amount of cheaters and hackers out there is unreal. Its almost if VAC isnt doing anything at all. The SP is entertaining but a bit short. Coop is fun for one run through. MP is just disappointing. You have no control over anything. You can pick what game type you want to play, but then your Don't waste your money. Its almost as if they MP was an after thought. IWNet is FAILNet. The amount of cheaters and hackers out there is unreal. Its almost if VAC isnt doing anything at all. The SP is entertaining but a bit short. Coop is fun for one run through. MP is just disappointing. You have no control over anything. You can pick what game type you want to play, but then your at the mercy of IWNet. Sometimes you get thrown into a game in progress and put on a losing team seconds before the round ends. So you get a loss on your stats. Sometimes it puts you with people half way around the world so your ping is garbage and you can either try and deal with it or leave and get a loss counted on your stats. Most of the time though, you will be put in a game with a blatant hacker who doesn't even try to hide it. Like a guy with sniper gun standing out in the open aimbotting. So you can leave and get a loss counted against your stats. Why do I keep talking about a loss? Some would say "Its no big deal, its just a loss" and my answer is, if its not big deal why was IW so adamant with punishing people for leaving and having a popup every time you try and leave. Its rather sad. IW has turned thier back on the very people that made thier games so popular. Save your money and use it on a game from a company that appreciates your business. (DICE and Battlefield Bad Company 2 for instance). Would have been a zero but the SP/Coop was entertaining and worth a point each. Expand
  48. joed
    Jan 11, 2010
    2
    single player lasts for like 5 minutes. Multiplayer: fun at first....then the novelty wears off and your left with a host of terrible problems that IW won't own up to and will not support. Save your money for battlefield bad company or medal of honor.
  49. vittoriom
    Jan 13, 2010
    2
    The game itself is wonderful, but need of DEDICATED SERVERS, IWNET is sucks, cheats implemented are sucks, so there are cheaters everywhere, and clean players cant kick from game, need more maps.
  50. NicolasM
    Jan 16, 2010
    2
    I gave it only a 2. Why? Because it continued the story and have slightly better graphics than the first. Apart from that, the game has identical gameplay, very short campaign (although intense), poor multiplayer experience (host changing, very poor average ping, cheaters and no way to kick....). This game is way too commercial to receive all the positive feedback it's getting, IW I gave it only a 2. Why? Because it continued the story and have slightly better graphics than the first. Apart from that, the game has identical gameplay, very short campaign (although intense), poor multiplayer experience (host changing, very poor average ping, cheaters and no way to kick....). This game is way too commercial to receive all the positive feedback it's getting, IW pulled a dirty trick and it worked... Expand
  51. WayneE
    Jan 19, 2010
    2
    The best part is the single player and it's not long enough. This game will fall off the market when the new Battlefield comes out in March.
  52. Tommy
    Jan 22, 2010
    2
    I think it`s a game that needs much fixing. There is a few things that irritates me about Modern warfare2 multiplayer. One thing is the conection problems. At times it seems almost imposible to join in on a multiplayer online game. (witch kinda sux since that was the reson for me to buy the game). And other times it`s not possible to find your frinds ( that is already online) in game. I think it`s a game that needs much fixing. There is a few things that irritates me about Modern warfare2 multiplayer. One thing is the conection problems. At times it seems almost imposible to join in on a multiplayer online game. (witch kinda sux since that was the reson for me to buy the game). And other times it`s not possible to find your frinds ( that is already online) in game. This are things that should NOT be problems with on a online based game when it goes for sale. Hope they can fix it soon or i imagine they wil loose many buyers. For me it`s not hard to decide what to delete if i ever need any free space on my harddrive as long as the online problems don`t get fixed. Two Thumbs down for Modern warfare2 multiplayer. Expand
  53. GDTaylor
    Jan 24, 2010
    2
    1)Single player os great. 2) Graphics Great. Omg what a waist of money. lagg isues and hacks. i feel cheated and empty as a i was chaffed by a friend.
  54. LucasM
    Jan 25, 2010
    2
    the game call of duty 4 mw2 is an amazing game! What intrigues me is the fact that more steam IW not take a position on the server cyclical trends, but I believe that the vast majority of players want MW2 dedicated server, but as I do not know if you have the will to keep active players, I recommend to consider this option because I'm in MW 2 to 2 months and if the steam over the IW the game call of duty 4 mw2 is an amazing game! What intrigues me is the fact that more steam IW not take a position on the server cyclical trends, but I believe that the vast majority of players want MW2 dedicated server, but as I do not know if you have the will to keep active players, I recommend to consider this option because I'm in MW 2 to 2 months and if the steam over the IW do not reply to the players, and in March will go to the bad company (2) where there are dedicated server ... no more words Maia Lucas Brazilian player Expand
  55. MikeB.
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    Looks great but it's just an arcade game with too many ways to cheat. Dying in the game should not be rewarded with just another spawn getting full ammo. Especcially in multiplayer this screws up fair play, you can just run into an ambush, guns blazing, grenades and tubes flying around. It all doesn't matter. Don't save your ammo or be carefull not to get killed, for a Looks great but it's just an arcade game with too many ways to cheat. Dying in the game should not be rewarded with just another spawn getting full ammo. Especcially in multiplayer this screws up fair play, you can just run into an ambush, guns blazing, grenades and tubes flying around. It all doesn't matter. Don't save your ammo or be carefull not to get killed, for a quick respawn restores your misserable life. Expand
  56. Ovski
    Jan 27, 2010
    2
    Worst multiplayermode ever and now i stop as this will not pass the review if I continue in my own words. The game itself is great but for what they did to the PC multiplayermode they deserve a rating of 0!
  57. RomansItaly
    Jan 29, 2010
    2
    Pro: Graphics and Audio are Amazing. Con: Game Play is horrible due to how many people have Aim Bots, and Hacks it ruined game play. Am I happy? Not at all, I spent money on this game just in time to see everyone hack this game and use cheats to win. Made me go back to playing COD5. Not sure if I'll consider another COD Version.
  58. RonB
    Feb 4, 2010
    2
    After playing everything from Counterstrike to CoD4 MW, which i really enjoyed, this game proves a massive letdown. I am running a 20Meg fibre optic line yet i still struggle with lag. There is no option to play different maps, you are just stuck in with whatever group is starting. The preks though quite fun are mega overpowered. It is imbalanced and glitchy. Really not worth the After playing everything from Counterstrike to CoD4 MW, which i really enjoyed, this game proves a massive letdown. I am running a 20Meg fibre optic line yet i still struggle with lag. There is no option to play different maps, you are just stuck in with whatever group is starting. The preks though quite fun are mega overpowered. It is imbalanced and glitchy. Really not worth the +-£30 my girlfriend paid for it. I give it 2 points only because the story,though short, is entertaining and good to look at. If it wasnt for that I would have had to go with a 0-1. Please fix these issues because you are going to loose a large portion of your, to date, faithful customers. Expand
  59. TobiasR.
    Mar 13, 2010
    2
    The long wait for Modern Warfare 2 wasn´t worth it. In my opinion IW & Valve had some nice conversations about working together short before the game was released. They were talking about "50:50 of the money"! The Singleplayer is a special one, but theres no really need to play it twice. It makes fun, but can soon be forgotten. The Spec-Ops-Coop Missions are nice but only just an The long wait for Modern Warfare 2 wasn´t worth it. In my opinion IW & Valve had some nice conversations about working together short before the game was released. They were talking about "50:50 of the money"! The Singleplayer is a special one, but theres no really need to play it twice. It makes fun, but can soon be forgotten. The Spec-Ops-Coop Missions are nice but only just an alternative to the Multiplayer, when there are too many hackers on each server! The Multiplayer: It is a very nice feeling, playing on a "hacker-clean"-server. Nice additions to Modern Warfare (1) and a realistic Tactic gaming -> IF you get a connection with 6 Players in one group. The perks and supportunits are quite realistic. Dont forget it´s still just a game. But whats the problem? -> As mentioned it´s the "no-dedicated server mode". People are free to use every weapon and do what they want, even if it destroys other player´s fun. This is what I firstly mentioned above. IW & Valve. Steam is ABSOLUTELY UNNECESSARY for playing online. If you play Counter Strike... well.. Hello Steam! But Modern Warfare could have been a real global clangaming-adventure but there is no Punkbuster. And even the"mighty" VAC (Valve Anti Cheat) program is useless to most of the hackers. My vote is so low not because of the game itself. It is a good one! But Modern Warfare 1 was the one and only game! And I think after so many years IW has to change their behaviour to the customer´s needs! I think more than 90% of all MW 2 players want and cry for a dedicated server mode. One Patch could be the answer to millions of sad and angry gamers. IW - DO SOMETHING! Valve - What is valve? GO! Expand
  60. RickyB
    Apr 21, 2010
    2
    Not much good to say about this game, the singelplayer is short and on the end it don't give any spoilers of the next MW3. about the multiplayer, its was fun at the release of the game, but after the first day the first hacks where coming out for the game, after that its not fun anymore for the legit players or the true fans from MW1. I hate they did making the match system instead Not much good to say about this game, the singelplayer is short and on the end it don't give any spoilers of the next MW3. about the multiplayer, its was fun at the release of the game, but after the first day the first hacks where coming out for the game, after that its not fun anymore for the legit players or the true fans from MW1. I hate they did making the match system instead of dedicated servers, and like we all knew about know, is that this game was all about JUST money, they diddnt care about the CoD fans. im happy that 8 contractors from IW resigned from there job (+ 2 who's got fired), i want to see how IW are going to act after this Failure. I know for sure im not ganna buy the next CoD's ever anymore. Expand
  61. Shan-TaH
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    Remove of dedicated server and mods is making this game completely worthless. IWNet lag pretty bad, and hitbox are completely off. There is no competitve gameplay to begin with. Matchmaking doesn't even find host to play. There are plenty of problem for this game, not recommend for any of the casual gamers. This game is basically 60 dollars for 4 hours of campaign.
  62. AUSC
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    Singleplayer is intense but too short and just spam your weapons to get hundreds of kills, multiplayer is BROKEN, out of 30 online games i have had 7 non-lag the rest i can bearly move and then when the host gets kicked the game freaks outs and i get migration errors. PATHETIC.
  63. BobJ
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    COD4 MW all over again but even more ADHD this time. And no dedicated servers for the sequel to one of the most successful online shooters of all time? This game is a joke.
  64. MikeO
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    Lets see, where to begin: Lag - Unbelievably horrendous at times. Last night, there were 12 players playing, and 6 of those twelve had yellow bars. It was like something out of Star Trek - people warping around the map, skipping, emptying clips into someone and not getting hit blips, etc. At one point a player actually JUMPED over 2 bullets from my .50 Cal. Yessiree bob. IW.NET sure Lets see, where to begin: Lag - Unbelievably horrendous at times. Last night, there were 12 players playing, and 6 of those twelve had yellow bars. It was like something out of Star Trek - people warping around the map, skipping, emptying clips into someone and not getting hit blips, etc. At one point a player actually JUMPED over 2 bullets from my .50 Cal. Yessiree bob. IW.NET sure leveled the playing field. Matchmaking: OH yeah! I love this matchmaking! Not being able to kick jackasses who like using words like "spic", "nigger" and/or "kike" because the person isn't playing the way they want to play. Not being able to go spectate in the middle of a match if something needs your attention around the house. The only option is to leave, which affects your score - you get docked if you leave a match early. The only recourse you have is to file a "report" (which, I have yet to find out how) which after you do, it'll probably take Valve/IW/Activision 2+ weeks to take action, if they decide to take action at all. Don't bother buying it. There are a ton of good alternatives coming out within the next 6-7 months: BF:BC2 & APB are two that immediately come to mind. Expand
  65. ChrisS
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    I'm sure it is a great single player game. However, all the planning and preparation that my clan has done was for naught. Infinity Ward cares more about soft core gamers than the hard core. Lets see how long the soft core's interest holds. Me and Mine will be keeping our money, waiting for the next developer that listens.
  66. BarryK
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    Almost identical to the last game, I'm not too happy with paying $100+ AU for a game that is the same as one that I already own. If anything, this version has less features on the PC. My ping is through the roof due to no dedicated servers and controls like lean no longer work. The single player campaign lasted around 5 hours, and since the multiplayer is useless to me because of the Almost identical to the last game, I'm not too happy with paying $100+ AU for a game that is the same as one that I already own. If anything, this version has less features on the PC. My ping is through the roof due to no dedicated servers and controls like lean no longer work. The single player campaign lasted around 5 hours, and since the multiplayer is useless to me because of the horrible lag (I cannot connect to any games close enough not to be 200+ MS behind everyone else) I think I need to take this back to the store for a refund. If someone can patch in dedicated servers then this game may be a 6 or a 7 (its still just a rehash of an old game) but until then, its just 5 hours of play before its useless. Expand
  67. Karacan
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    With the multiplayer being a horrible experience for anyone outside the US (because you WILL get paired with US players all the time thanks to their automatic matchmaking), I honestly can't condone the game (the Single Player's length is a joke I hoped to never see again since that Unreal game where the main char kills himself at the end... failing to remember the name!) . With the multiplayer being a horrible experience for anyone outside the US (because you WILL get paired with US players all the time thanks to their automatic matchmaking), I honestly can't condone the game (the Single Player's length is a joke I hoped to never see again since that Unreal game where the main char kills himself at the end... failing to remember the name!) . It's quite clear that ActiVision paid their way into the high ranks. Disappointing for the integrity of the gaming industry. Expand
  68. ChrisP
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    I don't know why this game is getting good reviews. but here are the main points you need to consider before buying this game - single player is fun i guess BUT IT ONLY LASTS 5 HOURS. if single player means that much to you then by all means spend $90 usd - MP is s*** 6v6 is not good (seriously 6v6 at least give us the choice to player in big servers). maps feel empty. terrible lag. I don't know why this game is getting good reviews. but here are the main points you need to consider before buying this game - single player is fun i guess BUT IT ONLY LASTS 5 HOURS. if single player means that much to you then by all means spend $90 usd - MP is s*** 6v6 is not good (seriously 6v6 at least give us the choice to player in big servers). maps feel empty. terrible lag. HUGE hitboxes. this is such a downgrade from modern warfare in every respect. - iw.net is a fail. no choice for host or game options. no future mods this game will be dead in a couple of weeks. THIS IS A BLATANT CONSOLE PORT and a terrible game to boot. I'm seriously happy i didn't buy this game (birthday gift) don't buy into all the reviewers hype the game just isn't worth 90 bucks. If this is what pc games are turning into then god help us. Expand
  69. LukeP
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    The ridiculously short length of the otherwise well executed singleplayer game does it no justice. The complete inability to adjust the game to run well and display properly on my modern system is laughable, but worse yet, the atrocious balance of the multiplayer game, coupled with it's complete instability warrants it an entirely missable experience.
  70. JonT
    Nov 19, 2009
    2
    SP is too short, MP is fun but full of childish swearing idiots. When you can even get a game that isnt rubber banding all over the place or not seem to connect and other random excuses. Annoying because this game couldve been one of the best MP games ever.
  71. MichaelP
    Nov 25, 2009
    2
    dumbed down for consoles and it shows, add certain perks and you can shoot through most anything, now this may be necessary for controller users on console but for PC gamers it's simply NOT required. Watch in surprise as you take cover only to find the player with an assault rifle shoot you through the wall from the other end of the map. Infinity Ward it's pitiful.
  72. Slawo
    Nov 26, 2009
    2
    I announced I would buy the game this week to my colleagues... I was frowned upon for that... They let me try the game and guess what... it's a decent shooter... But it's not really what you would expect of a real COD. It's more like a mod, with no dedicated servers and no proper controls (no leaning etc...). I feel sorry for the devs who had to work on that.
  73. DigitzO
    Dec 2, 2009
    2
    Without dedicated servers, I've lost all control of what I wanna play. I have to painfully sit and wait through bad maps that I'm not interested in. I've seen many hackers online and there isn't anything you can do about it. There are a couple maps that I would love to play around the clock...but, I can't. So I've went back to CSS 2 weeks ago and haven't Without dedicated servers, I've lost all control of what I wanna play. I have to painfully sit and wait through bad maps that I'm not interested in. I've seen many hackers online and there isn't anything you can do about it. There are a couple maps that I would love to play around the clock...but, I can't. So I've went back to CSS 2 weeks ago and haven't looked back. But hey, they got my money so what do they care ? Expand
  74. MephistoDelta
    Dec 4, 2009
    2
    I am so dissapointed with this title,the singleplayer is way too short, nice graphics tho....but we all know graphics don't make a game. The muliplayer is terrible, as every one has said no dedicated servers, laggy, no map selection, no leaning, no kicking etc etc. If I had know that the multiplayer had been so badly screwed up I would never have bought the game. Give me dedicated I am so dissapointed with this title,the singleplayer is way too short, nice graphics tho....but we all know graphics don't make a game. The muliplayer is terrible, as every one has said no dedicated servers, laggy, no map selection, no leaning, no kicking etc etc. If I had know that the multiplayer had been so badly screwed up I would never have bought the game. Give me dedicated servers and get rid of the stupid emblem crap...who actually cares that you are a "speed demon" or "Crate companion" In all, if you want to get cod mw2 for multiplayer, save your money, you'll be dissapointed! Expand
  75. MichaelH
    Dec 6, 2009
    2
    Rated for lack of dedicated servers. Why, Infinity Ward, why?
  76. PeterJ
    Jan 12, 2010
    2
    Just another Hollywood game, good graphics, terrible history and gameplay and remembers me of a game like this in 2007. The first one is certainly better, but dont buy it for the multiplayer wou will get really disappointed.
  77. RobJ
    Jan 12, 2010
    2
    There are way too many hackers in the multiplayer! This game could be great if IW just went back to dedicated servers and punk buster.
  78. dw
    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    without experienced HUMAN admins this game is very close to unplayable. too bad, it could have been the best ever but it is just too hard to overcome the mic spamming, aimbotting little kids that seem to fill out most of the servers.
  79. BillW
    Jan 19, 2010
    2
    Aside from the usual gripes (no lean, no dedicated servers, IWNet is a joke, etc.) this is an ok game. The single player is great but the crippled multiplayer significantly takes away from what PC gamers expect from a Call of Duty title. It's disappointing, if you want this game buy it for the xbox, because that's where it belongs. Stick to Call of Duty 4 if you enjoy a Aside from the usual gripes (no lean, no dedicated servers, IWNet is a joke, etc.) this is an ok game. The single player is great but the crippled multiplayer significantly takes away from what PC gamers expect from a Call of Duty title. It's disappointing, if you want this game buy it for the xbox, because that's where it belongs. Stick to Call of Duty 4 if you enjoy a customized server with admins who have the ability to kick hackers and disruptive users. The single player is awesome. Expand
  80. MarekLL
    Jan 25, 2010
    2
    Totaly screwed up multiplayer, no dedics, no map choose, no players count choose, no mods, no customs, no ping choose, no voting, bunch of cheaters playing, vac full of holes and many many more. Just an arcade "nintendo" game. Pity.
  81. HariH
    Feb 12, 2010
    2
    The single player mode is a mixed bag for me. I love the cineimatics but the storyline is vague and disjointed. Fun anyway. As someone who has been with the COD series from the start I cant tell you how frustrating I have found MW2 MP. Someone else in this section wrote " A great game ruined by hacks, IW complacency, failure to listen to valid criticisms about a lack of dedicated servers, The single player mode is a mixed bag for me. I love the cineimatics but the storyline is vague and disjointed. Fun anyway. As someone who has been with the COD series from the start I cant tell you how frustrating I have found MW2 MP. Someone else in this section wrote " A great game ruined by hacks, IW complacency, failure to listen to valid criticisms about a lack of dedicated servers, horrible server performance, horrible match making, unbalanced mp maps, horribly placed capture points in some game types" I couldn't agree more with these points. I have invested a large sum of money on my end to get the best gaming equipment andhighest speed internet connection only to get poor perfomance from Steam/IWNET. I doubt that I again will spend money for any COD series game. Expand
  82. TPower
    Apr 25, 2010
    2
    So, I get it; IW wanted this game to be a money maker, but for them to turn their back on all their PC fans that have built and supported their community from CoD1 is a low blow to all of us. Cons: - No dedicated server; personally, it almost always takes longer to find and enter a decent game with IWnet than it ever did with dedicated servers in their previous games - Hosting issues and So, I get it; IW wanted this game to be a money maker, but for them to turn their back on all their PC fans that have built and supported their community from CoD1 is a low blow to all of us. Cons: - No dedicated server; personally, it almost always takes longer to find and enter a decent game with IWnet than it ever did with dedicated servers in their previous games - Hosting issues and abundant lag - I really have no idea how it chooses a "best host", because it seems like we quite often end up with the worst host - No memorable maps - Terrible community - Perks are ridiculously unbalanced - No competitive play ... ever - Bad re-spawn system - Unbalanced team assign system - Run through steam externally ... Why? Pros: - Despite all its problems, multi-player is fun to pick up and play - Relatively few hackers; people will say otherwise, but I've seen maybe 10 tops, in a few months of playing - A few memorable moments and unique ideas in the campaign - Prestige is kind of fun, but loses its novelty quickly In the end though, it's a poor effort towards a game that should have been truly stunning, and not worth the 60$. In fact I find it's barely worth the packaging it came in. It's a console game, sold as a PC game and I sincerely hope that this doesn't turn into a trend amongst gaming companies. Unless there are some big changes underway for CoD series, I for one will not be supporting it any longer. RIP CoD... Expand
  83. JoshS.
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    Giving it a two just becuase of a decent single player.. They got rid of dedicated servers, got rid of the console, got rid of mods, got rid of high player size, got rid of lean.. aka they made it an xbox port. This game does not deserve highr then a 2 rating!!!
  84. SteveJ.
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    You can obviously tell Activison and Infinity Ward paid for the reviews there getting. This is no where near a solid game as they all claim. Campain is a meger 3hrs and is completely ridiculous, linear, and you have no options to do anything but what they tell you. Graphics are sub par. Multiplayer is unbalanced, small, and a lack of total players allowed when other games are at least at You can obviously tell Activison and Infinity Ward paid for the reviews there getting. This is no where near a solid game as they all claim. Campain is a meger 3hrs and is completely ridiculous, linear, and you have no options to do anything but what they tell you. Graphics are sub par. Multiplayer is unbalanced, small, and a lack of total players allowed when other games are at least at 32 players, if not more. Total disappointment, im forcing gamestop to give me my money back. Seeing as there all buddy buddy in this whole 'marketing scheme'. This wasn't a game release, they was just a money release, and they probably got alot of peoples $. Expand
  85. Gregs
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    From a multiplayer view this game is years behind all current PC titles, it's a huge let down that such a well respected franchise could sink to this level and produce this peice of unplayable multiplayer garbage.
  86. TobyG
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    SP is good fun.... for 3 hours. WTF for $120 NZD and I can finish the game in 3 hours... wtf is with that?!?! and don't even start me on the P2P mp, its rediculous. i send more time trying to find a server thats playable on than actually playing.... I might go back to playing Dragon Age: Origins, more value for money there.
  87. ramanallamilli
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    Lack of dedi server has destroyed this game for me, the ability to play the game at a high level competevily or in leagues/competitions is impossible. I can understand why for a console but PC gamers have much higher expectations when it comes to multiplayer, I suppose the publishers don't care as most sales come from consoles.
  88. IWsucksHarD
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    Come on, wtf is this game? Its just more expensive and castrated version of MW1. Single is quite good (i mean gameplay, coz story sucks ass) but its the same as it was in MW1, only shorter. And what about multi- the reason why 90% of ppl are buying this game? What multi? Lags, no dedi, high pings. U cant even play hardcore. WTF? Jesus, this is an insult to all pc gamers. It was supposed Come on, wtf is this game? Its just more expensive and castrated version of MW1. Single is quite good (i mean gameplay, coz story sucks ass) but its the same as it was in MW1, only shorter. And what about multi- the reason why 90% of ppl are buying this game? What multi? Lags, no dedi, high pings. U cant even play hardcore. WTF? Jesus, this is an insult to all pc gamers. It was supposed to be the greatest game of this year, but in fact its epic fail and greatest dissapointment. I hope ppl will vote with their wallets and wont buy this shitty console port. Expand
  89. SamW
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    Voted low to compensate for all the bought high reviews by professional reviewers that didn't play the PC version, just copied the review from the console version. Call of Duty was built on PC gamers. It has a very strong competative following. They have been completely devastated by this version, which is a glorified console port. I can't stress how sad I am about this.
  90. KenS
    Nov 12, 2009
    2
    Guys, im sorry tho say that but Infinity Ward NEVER cared about the community, since Call of Duty 1 they didnt. But now about the game. Who liked the first MW (its not Call of Duty, its just not -.-) will probably like this one too. The grapics look nice and the game plays fluently, but dont expect a Story that makes any sense or has any human logic to it. Infinity Ward fucked this up Guys, im sorry tho say that but Infinity Ward NEVER cared about the community, since Call of Duty 1 they didnt. But now about the game. Who liked the first MW (its not Call of Duty, its just not -.-) will probably like this one too. The grapics look nice and the game plays fluently, but dont expect a Story that makes any sense or has any human logic to it. Infinity Ward fucked this up really bad, now trying to make publicity with controversial content. Seriously WTF. And everyone talking about the multiplayer : you all suck xD -> I said it before , IW doesnt give a s**t about the community, thats why they're splitting it again releasing a new MW. They did it with Call of Duty 1 and Call of Duty 2 Thats what you get buying such a retarded game only because of the hype (MW2) Wow, you probably all hate me now. Expand
  91. BradN
    Nov 15, 2009
    2
    I was very disappointed with Modern Warfare 2. There wasn't very much change in the game play besides weapons, perk setup, and killstreak/ and the new deathstreak. The server system they use ( similar to xbox live) is *NOT* meant for PC gamers, PC gamers like to have the choice of being able to browse through a server list of dedicated servers in order to choose a good server to play I was very disappointed with Modern Warfare 2. There wasn't very much change in the game play besides weapons, perk setup, and killstreak/ and the new deathstreak. The server system they use ( similar to xbox live) is *NOT* meant for PC gamers, PC gamers like to have the choice of being able to browse through a server list of dedicated servers in order to choose a good server to play on. Instead, we get these player hosted servers which in return gives host advantage and lag spikes at times depending on the hosts internet. There is also the fact of the player limit being cut in half, with such big maps 18 players is not enough for these maps, Rust and Scrapyard maybe the only maps that are probably understandable for a lower number of players but with maps like: Afgan, Terminal, and Sub Base, the most players will be doing is running around trying to find each other! Overall in my opinion I think the PC version of the game will be underpopulated and eventually because of Infinity Wards mistakes will lead to it's demise while Modern Warfare #1 still stays at the top. This is a PC game, not a 360 game. Expand
  92. GregoryU
    Nov 15, 2009
    2
    Single player was polished but abridged version of the first game. How can you not include a C-130 mission in single player? How can you not have a follow up sniper ghillie suit mission? The addition of vehicles mission didn't make up for the missing items. This game is a step backwards. We want more technical gadgets, not less. We want to control bigger modern warfare armorment. I Single player was polished but abridged version of the first game. How can you not include a C-130 mission in single player? How can you not have a follow up sniper ghillie suit mission? The addition of vehicles mission didn't make up for the missing items. This game is a step backwards. We want more technical gadgets, not less. We want to control bigger modern warfare armorment. I am really let down. Enough has been said about the multiplayer. Expand
  93. DavidK
    Nov 19, 2009
    2
    Modern Warfare 2 has a very unique and daring, though short, single-player campaign. It manages to refine its multiplayer experience with numerous tweaks and additions, including the much-appreciated reducion of the infamous Martyrdom perk. That said, a lack of dedicated servers makes the game extraordinarily unplayable due to lag, easily hacked, and doesn't even protect them against Modern Warfare 2 has a very unique and daring, though short, single-player campaign. It manages to refine its multiplayer experience with numerous tweaks and additions, including the much-appreciated reducion of the infamous Martyrdom perk. That said, a lack of dedicated servers makes the game extraordinarily unplayable due to lag, easily hacked, and doesn't even protect them against piracy. GG Bye bye. Expand
  94. skrull
    Nov 21, 2009
    2
    It is one sad, melodramatic excuse of a story. If you love to play through levels and either auto-fail your objectives or get yourself killed by an npc in a cutscene, the single player is just for you. Everything that worked so well in MW1 is so ridiculously overdone here that you become emotionally disconnected in about 10 minutes. The airport massacre is a pointless excercise in bad It is one sad, melodramatic excuse of a story. If you love to play through levels and either auto-fail your objectives or get yourself killed by an npc in a cutscene, the single player is just for you. Everything that worked so well in MW1 is so ridiculously overdone here that you become emotionally disconnected in about 10 minutes. The airport massacre is a pointless excercise in bad taste and poor level design. They spent 50 mill. on the game and 150 on marketing... and it shows. If you're into SP, stay clear. If you're into MP... well, you probably know already. Expand
  95. WilliamS
    Nov 21, 2009
    2
    While the singleplayer has its merits, I purchased this game for the multiplayer. I have never been more disappointed by the mulitplayer in a game. The fact that dedicated servers have been removed, has meant that almost all the games I have played in multiplayer have either been inhabited by cheaters or have been lagged to an unplayable level. Not only this but even the reporting system While the singleplayer has its merits, I purchased this game for the multiplayer. I have never been more disappointed by the mulitplayer in a game. The fact that dedicated servers have been removed, has meant that almost all the games I have played in multiplayer have either been inhabited by cheaters or have been lagged to an unplayable level. Not only this but even the reporting system for your ping lies to you, where with a full green bar the response time of the game has been chugging along, and in killcams I am shown not shooting, despite getting multiple rounds off. This was a ridiculous decision on IW's behalf, as I am returning the game and recommending against it to all those who will listen. They are throwing away money with this and it makes little sense. Expand
  96. XaviarC
    Nov 22, 2009
    2
    I think I speak for many when I say that the multiplayer is what MADE the Call of Duty series. Mods and dedicated/private servers made it possible for the series to succeed. Without those features this type of game will be short lived and lackluster at best. The original content is nice but gets old and boring quick. Since this game IS part of a franchise, it has to be compared to I think I speak for many when I say that the multiplayer is what MADE the Call of Duty series. Mods and dedicated/private servers made it possible for the series to succeed. Without those features this type of game will be short lived and lackluster at best. The original content is nice but gets old and boring quick. Since this game IS part of a franchise, it has to be compared to it's predecessor. In that regard it simply fails to deliver an experience remotely comparable to its predecessors. If this game was NOT in the call of duty series, It would be worthy of a 6/10. But it IS in the Call of Duty series and simply fails to match any of its predecessors on any level. With the that said; 2/10 - Very poor. Expand
  97. DaveP
    Nov 30, 2009
    2
    Common SP is great and the story get real guys. What the hell even happened in that game someone plz explain?! The MP is good but mpa recycling and the glitches suck. One time is was in the middle of shooting somebody and it transported me across the map! Not to mention the whole head shot with a sub-machine gun a couple times almost always losses to melee. Even when you watch the Common SP is great and the story get real guys. What the hell even happened in that game someone plz explain?! The MP is good but mpa recycling and the glitches suck. One time is was in the middle of shooting somebody and it transported me across the map! Not to mention the whole head shot with a sub-machine gun a couple times almost always losses to melee. Even when you watch the killscreen it shows them injured then they stab you WTF? Expand
  98. Josh
    Dec 22, 2009
    2
    Not much to say that hasnt been said already...campaign sucks no dedicated servers....an really no big difference from MW to MW2 just more killstreaks an a knife that can kill you from a mile away.
  99. VanjaL
    Dec 28, 2009
    2
    The story is just terrible. I guess they saw the reaction to the unexpected death of a protagonist and the absolutely fantastic ending of Modern Warfare 1 and tried to repeat it. It was just awkward and the amount of main character deaths just aggravated me. Altho the story is flawed, you could still have fun with the singleplayer if it wasn't so damn short. The multiplayer is The story is just terrible. I guess they saw the reaction to the unexpected death of a protagonist and the absolutely fantastic ending of Modern Warfare 1 and tried to repeat it. It was just awkward and the amount of main character deaths just aggravated me. Altho the story is flawed, you could still have fun with the singleplayer if it wasn't so damn short. The multiplayer is retarded. Just retarded. Skip this one and buy Dragon Age instead. Expand
  100. NikolaM
    Nov 11, 2009
    2
    The singleplayer is probably good (even if short), but for me, the lack of dedicated servers, no console and only 18 player multipalyer is absolutely unacceptable for me. Because these things, MW 2 could not be taken as multiplayer successor of CoD4 and i think it will not be so succesfull on PC platform as CoD4. And the price 59 Euro for European citizens (Steam version)? It is ridicule The singleplayer is probably good (even if short), but for me, the lack of dedicated servers, no console and only 18 player multipalyer is absolutely unacceptable for me. Because these things, MW 2 could not be taken as multiplayer successor of CoD4 and i think it will not be so succesfull on PC platform as CoD4. And the price 59 Euro for European citizens (Steam version)? It is ridicule from IW to all PC gamers. No i will not buy this game as i will not support IW in the way, what the are doing to PC gaming. I will stay with playing CoD 4 which is the one of the best mutiplayer FPS on PC platform. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 91
    The PC version of Modern Warfare 2 is identical to the console versions in almost every way, and that's actually the problem. PC gamers have a certain expectation for online shooters. Removing dedicated server and user mod support from a game that's already $10 more than its predecessor seriously hinders the long term appeal for me.
  2. Modern Warfare 2 will leave you breathless.
  3. It looks better, it plays better, the story is more intense and the multiplayer is more inviting. And with the inclusion of SpecOps, the longevity of this game is sure to have increased as well.