Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 PC

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5229 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Nice graphic, very good sound (better than mw2), singleplayer owns everything, and perfect multiplayer. Guys this game is amazing!!!! I think this game is really good, the best of all modern warfare.
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    First off, those of you giving the game a zero are pathetic. This is my first experience with a COD game and I've enjoyed my expeirience so far. The action is quick and fun and the graphics are really great. I'm not going to say this is the best game that I've ever played but I definitely think it's amoung the best FPS that I've ever played. I don't take a lot of stake in User Reviews onFirst off, those of you giving the game a zero are pathetic. This is my first experience with a COD game and I've enjoyed my expeirience so far. The action is quick and fun and the graphics are really great. I'm not going to say this is the best game that I've ever played but I definitely think it's amoung the best FPS that I've ever played. I don't take a lot of stake in User Reviews on here but I feel like if someone is going to review this game... be fair... be honest. Even if you think this game doesn't add much new... does that warrant a "zero" because obviously you liked MW2 enough to buy this sequel, right? I suspect that mots of these people are Battlefield fan boys who are trying to destroy the positive energy this game is providing. Shame on you. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I've only put in about 2.5 hours into the campaign, and multiplayer each, and maybe 30-45 minutes in spec ops, and I must say that I'm beyond impressed with each one. The campaign by itself is beautiful. Even if the engine is the same (which I feel like I remember hearing Robert Bowling saying it isn't the same engine, but I digress) it feels like it pushes the limitations of the engine toI've only put in about 2.5 hours into the campaign, and multiplayer each, and maybe 30-45 minutes in spec ops, and I must say that I'm beyond impressed with each one. The campaign by itself is beautiful. Even if the engine is the same (which I feel like I remember hearing Robert Bowling saying it isn't the same engine, but I digress) it feels like it pushes the limitations of the engine to the max. This game runs at the same 91 FPS I got when playing MW2, but it looks so much better, so beautiful and different from MW2, and the sounds and animations, and story by itself feels immersive to me. There have been moments during the campaign where I've said "this feels familiar" but, every single time something new and awesome shows up to throw me a surprise. The sounds of jet flying by, buildings crumbling, missiles soaring and exploding, soldiers shouting, guns firing, just sounds in the first level show the true scale of what is now labeled as World War III in-game. New factions (such as Delta Force), and all the voice acting increase the depth of the game, and the objectives of the mission. The storyline itself gives off the feeling of linearity, but the environment helps reinforce that by offering up barricades, or cross-fire, or something in the distance that makes you not want to go that way, which gives off the illusion of a lack of linearity. Why would you go through this street filled with crossfire, barbed-wire barricades, and the ever-present danger of jets, when you can duck into this building to get away from all of that, and cut across a later street?
    Spec ops offers missions like the kind that were available in MW2 with capability to play with a coop partner, but there's a new section within spec-ops that I love after playing it only once, and that's modern warfares version of a horde mode. During the series of waves you gain access to new panels which are spread out across one of the multiplayer-friendly maps, and they give you goodies. New weapons, new explosives, new "killstreaks" and perks. But, you've got to level up in Spec-ops to unlock the higher level stuff, and even then you need the money to buy it in-game. I haven't tried the actual missions yet, because I'm waiting to finish the campaign before I tackle those, but from what I've seen they sound new, fun, and still reasonable challenging early on.
    Multiplayer however, is a whole new beast. I have to admit I jumped right in without even starting up the singleplayer campaign, and I don't regret it! It starts off just like MW2, you have access to three classes meant to give you a bit of a jump, and show you what you can get later. You unlock two more classes at I believe level 2, and you can create your own custom classes at level 4, just as in MW2. With 10 prestiges and 80 levels each, it sounds daunting, until you actually play a game. I think I had a match at level 21 where I received 23k experience from doing a whole slew of challenges in one game. Perks are seemingly easier to unlock pro version now, and once you do you get challenges for the pro version of each perk. Weapon attachments are no longer unlocked by challenges, and neither are camo, or the new "addition" to weapons called weapon proficiency. Everything is unlocked by just using your gun. The more you use it, the more levels it gets and the more stuff you unlock for it. Killstreaks have also been revamped to help support the different play styles of different people. Assault is for the straight-forward high k/d focused player, operating as killstreaks always have, then there's support which don't lose killstreak progress upon death and get things that aid them and their teammates in a usual fairly non-lethal way, and lastly there is the specialist killstreak which allows you to pick a total of 6 perks to have on your character, but the 4th, 5th, and 6th perk are earned at 2, 4, and 6 kills respectively, and once you have 8 kills you unlock every perk to use, even if you aren't high enough to custom class it.
    While there are frustrating moments in each of the game modes, there's nothing that causes it that wouldn't be in another online multiplayer game, or a game with a difficulty selector. All in all, I'd say this game definitely deserves a chance, and offers something for everyone. Immersive campaign, quick-paced multiplayer, horde mode, challenge missions, I'm very happy with this game, and can't imagine those $60 a waste of money ever.
    Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    I love how half the people reviewing this compare it to BF3, which is not a good game at all. MW3 is good, it's not a sniper war and I can't believe people compare this game to BF3 based on graphics. Graphics mean little really. Gameplay and CONTROLS are number one, always. This game is fine, the best of all of the CoD game, so definitely don't listen to the people here. They are justI love how half the people reviewing this compare it to BF3, which is not a good game at all. MW3 is good, it's not a sniper war and I can't believe people compare this game to BF3 based on graphics. Graphics mean little really. Gameplay and CONTROLS are number one, always. This game is fine, the best of all of the CoD game, so definitely don't listen to the people here. They are just making juvenile comments. The whole forced war between BF3 and CoD MW3 was stupid and juvenile and people who subscribe to that kind of thinking of foolish. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Stop rating the innovation. Now stop comparing bf3 to MW3 (cause are different styles of cames [arcade, realistic]). Ok, now the game deserves 9. Its funny. The game is the most played game in PSN, LIVE and steam (losing only to elder scrolls 5), and got THIS amout of negative reviews. too many haters?
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    MW3 feels slicker than MW2 and nearly all 16 maps are great, the new games modes add some freshness to the series and they're enjoyable to play with friends. MW3 feels like a fixed version of MW2 and that's not a bad thing, but the price should have reflected that, £40 for a glorified expansion is a little much. The main negative right now are once again the matchmaking on PC,MW3 feels slicker than MW2 and nearly all 16 maps are great, the new games modes add some freshness to the series and they're enjoyable to play with friends. MW3 feels like a fixed version of MW2 and that's not a bad thing, but the price should have reflected that, £40 for a glorified expansion is a little much. The main negative right now are once again the matchmaking on PC, it still picks bad hosts and it still puts me with foreigners instead of other Brits. Matchmaking with dedicated servers would be perfect, like what is used in Left 4 Dead. Another problem is hackers, I've only seen a few but there's no way to report them like their is on console. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    gostei mais de mw3 do q bf3 tenho os dois originais,gostei mais do mw3 pq acho q o bf3 exagerou nos grafica,ficou bonito os graficos mas para joga no ultra tem de ter um pc de 4 mil reais e gosto de jogar os jogos no ultra
  8. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    People will always find reasons to complain. Forget the fact that they listened to the community on most of the things we were whining about with MW2, like dedicated servers and overpowered killstreaks, etc; but now that MW3 is out, the PC community will take every little issue that could maybe take the game from a perfect 10 to 9/10, or maybe even a 7-8/10 if you really are honestly thatPeople will always find reasons to complain. Forget the fact that they listened to the community on most of the things we were whining about with MW2, like dedicated servers and overpowered killstreaks, etc; but now that MW3 is out, the PC community will take every little issue that could maybe take the game from a perfect 10 to 9/10, or maybe even a 7-8/10 if you really are honestly that passionate about the issue at hand, and blow it up to ridiculous proportions.
    Of course, as a PC gamer, Im not saying they couldn't pander to us much more than they have cared to recently, but the reality is that Ive had a perfectly decent experience playing it for the past week, with such few hiccups, that Id probably say its as good of a port for PC as cod4 was. Did anyone mention in their 0/10 reviews how nice it is to have a game run smoothly and the way its supposed to on PC? Or did anyone mention how they gave us cod4 style dedicated servers? Because all I heard was people complaining about how the dedicated servers arent ranked.
    As for the gameplay, its call of duty. Its still the same style of gameplay its been for the past few years. Just because you think they should make drastic changes every year, doesn't mean everyone else does too. Call of duty has, for the most part, always been a simple gun play based shooter, and if thats not what youre looking for, then you should look elsewhere. As far as my opinion is concerned, there's nothing wrong enough with the game to be anything less than a 9/10.
    Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is one of those games that has to be taken under compulsion, is the closing of a trilogy and Activision does so in a masterful way with this latest installment. There are many pests that cast him, but then at the moment of truth when everyone enjoys is holding a keyboard and mouse or pad. The graphics engine is at its highest point, Activision has had plentyCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is one of those games that has to be taken under compulsion, is the closing of a trilogy and Activision does so in a masterful way with this latest installment. There are many pests that cast him, but then at the moment of truth when everyone enjoys is holding a keyboard and mouse or pad. The graphics engine is at its highest point, Activision has had plenty of time to perfect it and the result could not be more perfect. It is true that as you weigh the years, but on the other hand, provides a constant 60fps at all times, which is much appreciated at the time to enjoy the game. The game itself is the longest of the 3, so to finish it in "normal" will take approximately 8 hours. The online mode is the most comprehensive of all the MW, offering many new options and weapons. In short, we have a man great game, abused by users who can not see beyond graphics and do not appreciate that the most important aspect of a game also, control. Expand
  10. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun, and so well designed. The extra features are amazing. Overall I think that this is an amazing game and well worth the price.
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    It's a shame that MW3 does not offer an option to change the Field of View. Apart from that, this game is another rock solid FPS in the Call of Duty franchise. Most of the maps are very well laid out and offer a good 'flow' when going around the map. The graphics aren't stunningly good, but definitely good enough. But graphics doesn't define a game, gameplay does. Thanks to IW andIt's a shame that MW3 does not offer an option to change the Field of View. Apart from that, this game is another rock solid FPS in the Call of Duty franchise. Most of the maps are very well laid out and offer a good 'flow' when going around the map. The graphics aren't stunningly good, but definitely good enough. But graphics doesn't define a game, gameplay does. Thanks to IW and Sledgehammer for bringing us the best first person shooter to date!! Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Everyone who gives this game less then 5 is a compleet retard that doesn't know anything about revieuwing a game.

    Storyline: 9/10
    Multiplayer: 8/10
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Engine: 5/10

    I gave 10 because i have to counter al you retards and fanboys
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    fully optimized compared to mw2 and do not feel lost in the map and is visually pleasing to the eyes.MW3 gives you much fun the reason is your ADDICTIVE MULTIPLAYER, dynamic and competitive... btw you need good reflexes in this game...
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 3 is a game which doesn't impress with best graphics or realistic destruction like in Battlefield 3, but if you know whats Mw3 really means, then you don't need good graphics. Mw3 is a fantastic game with a lot of new ideas and of course a lot of action :)
  15. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    mw3 is really similar to previous call of duty games, but the multiplayer is really addictive. if the developers changed it too much it wouldn't feel right, cod is easy to play for the very reason that each time a new version comes out, there is very little new to learn. There's a new call of duty each year and all you really need is a little variety with new maps, guns and perks. If itmw3 is really similar to previous call of duty games, but the multiplayer is really addictive. if the developers changed it too much it wouldn't feel right, cod is easy to play for the very reason that each time a new version comes out, there is very little new to learn. There's a new call of duty each year and all you really need is a little variety with new maps, guns and perks. If it isn't broken, why change it? These game developers work really hard to make these games fun, exciting and accessible for new and experienced gamers, I think they deserve a little praise for their efforts. Bashing a game on the internet is quite a popular pastime for some internet users, the same criticism happened with the pc version of modern warfare 2, and the pc version of black ops was also berated. The people who actually gave mw3 bad reviews are probably playing it hours every day anyway, they just won't admit it. matchmaking on pc mw3 is a welcome relief from all the rules and regulations of dedicated servers, crouch only, no claymores, no aug, no grenade launchers, only the one map that keeps repeating, etc. why not get a life and let me play the game as the developer intended. looking forward to mw4. Expand
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    People don't know what they're talking about. I played black ops a little and stopped, but this game drives me to play more.

    Compared to previous COD's this game has fine tuned a lot of experiences that you don't visually see, and they can't see that and that's why most people rate this game low. Also the co-op mission are great and have a variety of experiences! I didn't play the
    People don't know what they're talking about. I played black ops a little and stopped, but this game drives me to play more.

    Compared to previous COD's this game has fine tuned a lot of experiences that you don't visually see, and they can't see that and that's why most people rate this game low. Also the co-op mission are great and have a variety of experiences!

    I didn't play the Campaign yet, and im not planning too.

    p.s. every call of duty is a clone to its former release. That's why they are both called COD...
    Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    I played about 4 hours of MP last night after work and so far I am enjoying it, most of the maps are well done, weapons feel very tight. My biggest disappointments are the P2P, got several bad hosts last night and not being able to adjust the FOV. After awhile of playing ranked P2P a few clan mates and I decided to jump in a dedicated gun game server and had a blast. I think I might justI played about 4 hours of MP last night after work and so far I am enjoying it, most of the maps are well done, weapons feel very tight. My biggest disappointments are the P2P, got several bad hosts last night and not being able to adjust the FOV. After awhile of playing ranked P2P a few clan mates and I decided to jump in a dedicated gun game server and had a blast. I think I might just forget the whole "ranked' thing and just play dedis from now on...I could care less about leveling and unlocking stuffz anyway. I just like hanging with my clan mates and having FUN. I am happy with my purchase and will be spending lots of time in MW3. Expand
  18. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    What can I say about this game. Wonderful, spectacular, cinematic and many more things, can still remember the first time I played Call of Duty was an experience our glorious why I say that Call of Duty is not a simple fps he is the king of all graphs is both recycled or not so I know the game is so wonderful but leaves you with so much that I like to ask more.and biz
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    MW3 gives you the rush and excitement that CoD fans have become accustomed to. The game has definitely stepped up from last years installment and is leaving the series fresh in my eyes. Buy the game. I am sure you will agree as well.
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    mi piace troppo questo gioco. campagna fantastica, multiplayer da paura e tutto rinnovato e le nuove modalità spec ops e survival sono divertentissime. Non capisco perchè abbiano dato un voto così basso ad un gioco così stupendo.
  21. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    There were a couple things I was actually excited about for the PC version: 1) Dedicated servers, 2) Specialist play style, and 3) Support play style. However, I tried it on my friends Steam account and all three were a let down. Dedicated server lag was definitely better, however there's no incentive to play on those servers because of no ranking...therefore barely anyone to play with. IThere were a couple things I was actually excited about for the PC version: 1) Dedicated servers, 2) Specialist play style, and 3) Support play style. However, I tried it on my friends Steam account and all three were a let down. Dedicated server lag was definitely better, however there's no incentive to play on those servers because of no ranking...therefore barely anyone to play with. I did join a fun gun game server (reminds me of Black Ops), kept me entertained for about an hour.

    Specialist package was fun for a bit in FFA...trying to stay alive then getting all the perks you can't decide on...but in the end I still didn't feel wowed or anything.

    Support package didn't seemed as overpowered as it was lol. Killstreaks have slightly higher requirements but still, play style didn't feel innovative.

    Same Sh!t, Different Title. Keep your money and ignore the super biased "critic" reviews; they're probably paid to give 100% scores. CoD 4 was the only true "Game of the Year."
    Expand
  22. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I came into MW3 with a clean slate. I decided to see if Sledgehammer, Infinity Ward 2.0, and Raven Software could make this game, feel new and refreshing... Graphic's are recycled, game play is the same as it's been, nothing feels new. The Campaign is boring from the start, I couldn't even stomach it. Multilayer is a recycled joke. Sorry but I can't even give this game a 1 based on myI came into MW3 with a clean slate. I decided to see if Sledgehammer, Infinity Ward 2.0, and Raven Software could make this game, feel new and refreshing... Graphic's are recycled, game play is the same as it's been, nothing feels new. The Campaign is boring from the start, I couldn't even stomach it. Multilayer is a recycled joke. Sorry but I can't even give this game a 1 based on my experience with the game. Expand
  23. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    another year another cod.

    No dedicated server support as usual. Everything is the same as mw2 besides campaign and new maps.

    It's not even a rent just play mw2 if you still have it.
  24. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    It's a great game, or better, DLC. They are only selling a DLC with a price game. Campaign very exciting, but there's nothing revolionario, same graphics, the sound can not help but compare with BF3, BF3 is that the more real. Is it worth buying when the price down, or have a good promotion on Steam.
  25. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Campain was little bit boring and predictable,as always very short and lots of popcorn acton. I didn't try the spec ops yet. Multiplayer is the beast,as always simple and incredibly entertaining. "Specialist" owns.
  26. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    More maps, full 55" screen resolution. Weapon recycle sounds more relalistic. More weapons. Alternate Kill Streak rewards / Support. Need to decrease weapon sight illumination, I set my Eotech 577 lower. I have 3 x Mag, not sure what power game uses. I like Red Dot and Aimpoint on the same weapon as well as Remington sniper rifle. Have not gotten far enough into MP to see if its available.
  27. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Hatter gonna Hate, the game is much better then BF3 so far, I'm sure half the vote here do not buy the game, 6.5 millions don't lie, haha feel sorry for those who bought just for trolling.
  28. KRU
    Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I don't know it has so many bad reviews, it's awesome for me, i love the campaign main story, and the new things they added to the MP, so for me, it's better than MW2
  29. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    I wasn't originally going to pick this game up. However, regardless of all the hate it's gotten, I'm fairly glad I did. The multi-player isn't much different, but it runs very nice. The graphics aren't amazing, sure. But once again, it runs smoothly. The only problem I really have with it is lack of controller support, and lack of changing FOV.
  30. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Great game love the new guns/kill streaks 75 plus clan members getting there copy this weekend happy times for [AAG]. And for all the bad reviews the game is great sure some bugs here and there but future patch will clear it up.
  31. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I have played all the Call of Duty games that came before this except console spin-offs etc. PC Gamer here! I think Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 was pretty good, solid single player. Maybe a bit short.. took me about 5.5 hours. Same formula as all the other >CODMW games, works fine for me. The multiplayer: I think it's the same as COD MW MW2 WaW and BO. Doesn't really bother me since it'sI have played all the Call of Duty games that came before this except console spin-offs etc. PC Gamer here! I think Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 was pretty good, solid single player. Maybe a bit short.. took me about 5.5 hours. Same formula as all the other >CODMW games, works fine for me. The multiplayer: I think it's the same as COD MW MW2 WaW and BO. Doesn't really bother me since it's solid game play. Don't change what isn't broken. However I would like ranked dedicated servers for the next Call of Duty. I honestly don't get why people here will rate anything below 5, Big Rigs Over the Road Racing anyone? I would like to thank the developers and everyone that has worked on this game! Great Job... Expand
  32. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Simply the best FPS ever! The most cinematic experience ever in videogames history.
    The rival BF3 could be a perfect destruction engine but the storyline is weak and boring if compared with Modern Warfare 3.
  33. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Mw3 is a great game for a typical player of call of dutty saga.if you like a action films and like action games, this is your game.the new situatons are very interesting and fun,and the old friens in the modern warfare,soap and st. price are other again with you, with they big caracter and support.i not playing online game, but the offline as good as ever
  34. Nov 16, 2011
    2
    Haven't I played this game already? Why yes, yes I have. This is poor, it is the same ol same ol. I'm half expecting a zombie DLC to be released soon, thus completing Cliché Warfare 3.
  35. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This game is just great. The beginning was a little suffer, and i was bored thinking it was such a big mistake to have bought it, but no. After some missions the game just shows himself and it was amazing. The graphics are fully optimized and are delightful for the eyes, the scenarios are very creatives and everything its well done, but don't expect for an BF3. The story its not the bestThis game is just great. The beginning was a little suffer, and i was bored thinking it was such a big mistake to have bought it, but no. After some missions the game just shows himself and it was amazing. The graphics are fully optimized and are delightful for the eyes, the scenarios are very creatives and everything its well done, but don't expect for an BF3. The story its not the best one you will find, or maybe it is for a shooter, but it accomplishes its mission. The multi its very funny and fast. Its a must have, you should buy it if you like MW2, the Cod series, or just a good shooter. I agree that Activision should change the engine and stuff, but i don't agree with all these underrated reviews. I would give him a 8,5 but i rate him a 10 because all those underrated reviews. Sorry for my english. Expand
  36. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Decent game, lots of fun with friends. Graphics need work though. But still a fun game in its own right. To each his own. Nothing wrong with a linear campaign as long as it gets the story out
  37. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Great game, just being hated on at the moment because of self-proclaimed elitist Battlefield 3 fans. People say that this Call of Duty is the same as the others, but because of the massive success of the others, the developers would be foolish to change anything significantly!

    Activision set the bar high with previous titles, and I think it's fair to sat that in terms of game-play they
    Great game, just being hated on at the moment because of self-proclaimed elitist Battlefield 3 fans. People say that this Call of Duty is the same as the others, but because of the massive success of the others, the developers would be foolish to change anything significantly!

    Activision set the bar high with previous titles, and I think it's fair to sat that in terms of game-play they are way ahead of other games in the market.
    Expand
  38. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    good game bad multiplayer system the peer-to-peer is good for the consoles not for the PC version like Modern Warfare 2 good game bad multiplayer system for the campaign the story is good for the graphics its the same for all CoD since Modern Warfare
  39. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Basing this entirely on the Single Player options, because a lack of dedicated servers is a BIG BAD thing for online gaming.

    As advertised, MW3 picks up where MW2 left off. The characters were established, apart from a handful of new characters.

    The campaign could have been longer, but that is a common complaint with the Modern Warfare series anyway. Spec Ops mode contains more than in MW2, and gives you not just the missions, but also survival mode, with some handy perks as you level up.

    All in all, as part of the series, it lives up to what it advertised, and without pulling punches. Is there room for improvement? Yes.
    Expand
  40. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    There are far to many haters on this site who are reviewing with out even trying the game. Most are just listing the same problems blindly and rating a 0.

    Allow me to point out flaws in there reviews. "No Dedicated Servers" - This is a problem, The P2P IWnet is fail for a person from New Zealand like myself but for other places i don't think its a big deal. The game is still very
    There are far to many haters on this site who are reviewing with out even trying the game. Most are just listing the same problems blindly and rating a 0.

    Allow me to point out flaws in there reviews.

    "No Dedicated Servers" - This is a problem, The P2P IWnet is fail for a person from New Zealand like myself but for other places i don't think its a big deal. The game is still very playable with 100 MS Ping, if you can't handle that then you are just a bad player. I would like to be able to choose what i play but the random nature of P2P is a good thing. It keeps you playing different maps, it won't let you get good at one map and make you look like a god.

    "Old Game Engine" - This is not a big deal, the game still looks great and that's the important thing. Is it really that out of date compared to other games? If you are talking about BF3 that i think most are, Yes. But lets look at Skyrim the highest rated game running at the moment, That engine is OLD ! its been improved but its still the same platform that Oblivion and fallout ran on. Why are people not running over there and pointing that out? I will tell you why, There is no haters club for Skyrim. Skyrim is still a great game !

    "Hackers" - This isn't just related to COD, There are fools doing it in all the other games. I don't even think this is a valid point to make. It shows the weakness of the P2P hosting even more but hackers are cheats, they are in every game BF3 has a large problem with them at the moment. ISP Hosted servers are as slow to react as P2P Servers, Remember that.

    "Copy of MW2" - You know when people haven't tried the game when they make this point. the game is very Different, This game has more in common with Black ops than MW2.

    This isn't a full review, It would take me hours to write my thoughts on the game as i have alot.
    Expand
  41. Dec 1, 2011
    4
    Single player was ok. The first level was excellent and thats about it. I got about 60% of the game finished and had to force myself to play the rest. I couldn't feel the excitement from sneaking past guards when u attacked Makarovs hideout. The game was holding my hand to much. The hardest difficulty is to easy. With mouse and keyboard I couldn't find a challenge. I got bored of justSingle player was ok. The first level was excellent and thats about it. I got about 60% of the game finished and had to force myself to play the rest. I couldn't feel the excitement from sneaking past guards when u attacked Makarovs hideout. The game was holding my hand to much. The hardest difficulty is to easy. With mouse and keyboard I couldn't find a challenge. I got bored of just running through the levels at super speed. Multiplayer: I got to about level 40 in multiplayer and I don't want to ever play again. In MW2 i got to prestige 3 and BLOPS I got prestige 6. Its just run and gun and at lightning speed. All maps feel like nuketown of BLOPS. The levels are to small. Not really any new MP mechanics. Only a few new attachments and a few new kill streaks. Tired of guns with no recoil. Graphics are terrible for this game. With the amout of money they spent to make it they could invest in some upgrades. Its really looking outdated now. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME WASTE OF $60 ! Also the map packs? 3 of them for 15 each? So you need to spend $105 + tax to buy this? Expand
  42. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    MW3 is good game. Even more, it's great ending for great game. Single-player is much more difficult and brings more fun then ever. Co-op is even better. While playing solo you can have some fun. With friend you'll spend many, many hours. I didn't played to many multi-player games, but it's was good just this few games.
  43. May 10, 2013
    0
    Lets start the story, first i love fps games, but since CS i stoped play. Last year I buy BF3 and CSGO, but I was willing some COD, becouse that franchise are so famous.

    This weak i play this game for free, and cant belive why people buy so much this game. The gameplay are horrible, the character moviment is a joke. The animations is like games from 10 years ago. The weapon is so
    Lets start the story, first i love fps games, but since CS i stoped play. Last year I buy BF3 and CSGO, but I was willing some COD, becouse that franchise are so famous.

    This weak i play this game for free, and cant belive why people buy so much this game. The gameplay are horrible, the character moviment is a joke. The animations is like games from 10 years ago.

    The weapon is so artificial, Battlefield is so much professional than COD. COD has the worst fake gameplay ever. Dont buy this game just becouse that is famous.
    Expand
  44. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    fully optimized compared to mw2 and do not feel lost in the map and is visually pleasing to the eyes.MW3 gives you much fun the reason is your ADDICTIVE MULTIPLAYER, dynamic and competitive... btw you need good reflexes in this game.
  45. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The campaign is one of the greatest in game history.
    The graphics are overdated little bit but still glorious.
    The sounds and the atmosphere is wonderful as expected.
    The multiplayer is real fun.
    Of course it has some negative sides too.
    But all 0(zero) reviewers on here are bf fanboys.
    My real note is 9 but I give 10 coz of bf fanboys keeping to give it 0
  46. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    I don't generally write reviews for games, but when I saw the obscenely low user scores across all platforms, I felt I had to stick my nose in here. Modern Warfare sports a brief, yet cinematic and climactic campaign that's difficult not to enjoy. Spec Ops provides a lot of variety and challenge and I was glad to see it return for this sequel, with even more goodness as it spreads theI don't generally write reviews for games, but when I saw the obscenely low user scores across all platforms, I felt I had to stick my nose in here. Modern Warfare sports a brief, yet cinematic and climactic campaign that's difficult not to enjoy. Spec Ops provides a lot of variety and challenge and I was glad to see it return for this sequel, with even more goodness as it spreads the satisfaction of leveling up in the multiplayer, which is as exciting, entertaining, and addictive as ever. Yes, it sticks closely to what previous titles did, but more of a good thing isn't always bad. Personally I can't wait to finish this sentence and get back into the action (at least until Skyrim comes out tomorrow.) Expand
  47. T26
    Nov 11, 2011
    10
    For someone who is familiar with the Modern Warfare storyline, this game is a complete masterpiece. The singleplayer campaign is filled with drama as well as innovation and really reminds players why Call of Duty became famous in the first place - because of the story. A story that no movie or other form of fiction can represent in such an epic way. Spec ops can be described as pure fun,For someone who is familiar with the Modern Warfare storyline, this game is a complete masterpiece. The singleplayer campaign is filled with drama as well as innovation and really reminds players why Call of Duty became famous in the first place - because of the story. A story that no movie or other form of fiction can represent in such an epic way. Spec ops can be described as pure fun, especially when playing with a friend, and the multiplayer side of things isn't much different. All features of this video gaming masterpiece can be described as innovative, fun, filled with emotion, and just plain beautiful. MW3 reminds us why COD is on top of the world right now, and it would be a true shame if we don't see Price and the familiar cast anymore. IW, GIVE US MORE MODERN WARFARES (with Price)! Expand
  48. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    @GlenSchofield asked his followers to come here and give a proper review to this game so here goes.

    Modern Warfare 3 is what I consider to be the Fifa of shooters, however, despite this being a disgusting cut and paste of Modern Warfare 2 they have neglected to fix the problems that everyone brought up during the previous games. This game is a blatant cash grab, the single player lasted
    @GlenSchofield asked his followers to come here and give a proper review to this game so here goes.

    Modern Warfare 3 is what I consider to be the Fifa of shooters, however, despite this being a disgusting cut and paste of Modern Warfare 2 they have neglected to fix the problems that everyone brought up during the previous games.

    This game is a blatant cash grab, the single player lasted around three hours, of that about half were cut scenes trying to get the person to really feel some kind of emotion but just seemed to create nothing but cheesy scenes that make the consumer laugh. They pulled off a 'shock campaign' in MW2 and they attempted to do it again, I'm sorry activision, controversy only gets you so far when you're putting out a reused game.

    The most depressing part about this game however is the fact it sold well, it sold ridiculously well which when it comes down to it, is all that matters.

    Activision will learn nothing from this, will neglect to read the reviews, and next year put out the exact same product with a different name next year to rake in the money.
    Expand
  49. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    It is stunning to see how much kids are being used as a marketing tool by game developers nowadays while having the idea that they are actually voicing their own opinion. When you have been gaming for a few decenia like I have this is a very troubling development to observe and I hope it is one that will end soon, however I am fearful the opposite might actually be true and this is justIt is stunning to see how much kids are being used as a marketing tool by game developers nowadays while having the idea that they are actually voicing their own opinion. When you have been gaming for a few decenia like I have this is a very troubling development to observe and I hope it is one that will end soon, however I am fearful the opposite might actually be true and this is just the beginning of an actual movement of marketeers influencing kids into thinking they have but one choice when it comes to a certain type of game. Every big release seems to be positioned opposite a different game of the same genre and even before they have been released a battle of words ensues on the internet as to whose game is better, more advanced or prettier and of course the ever present used-so-often-it-lost-all-its-meaning "fanboy" crops up in every other sentence. What you guys need to realize is that you are not fighting your own battle, you are actively involved in the marketing of a product and are willfully doing the job someone normally gets paid to do. You are not living in world where you need to chose between drinks, books, games, etc. You do not live in an either/or world. You can drink Coke AND Pepsi, you can wear Levis AND Dockers, you can eat Big Macs AND Whoppers, you can read Harry Potter AND War and Peace, watch The Shield AND The Wire, you can play Dark Souls AND Skyrim, CoD AND BF, etc. It is baffling to read 'reviews' on this site and at the same time be 100% certain the persons who wrote them did not play the game they're reviewing for 1 second but are actively repeating the same lines that have been said over and over again for hundreds of such 'reviews' in a row. The actual lines put into their mouths by the "other company" trying to outshine their competitors. I want metacritic to reflect the opinion of people playing a game and providing me with insight into their experience again, just as it used to be. What I do not want is to read hundreds of nerd-rage fuelled marketing stooges supporting one developer or another not being aware that their fueling of the fire is actualy equivelant to putting money in their pockets. Stop it, now! Expand
  50. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game, best of the 'modern' series, yes, similar to the others but with extra sexy 'more of the same' ie detailed belieavable and known locations (NY, London, Paris etc) rather than 'some jungle/desert somewhere'. Campaign takes about 5 hours to complete on normal difficulty but don't feel cheated as its like playing a blockbuster movie which are usually only one and a half hours.Fantastic game, best of the 'modern' series, yes, similar to the others but with extra sexy 'more of the same' ie detailed belieavable and known locations (NY, London, Paris etc) rather than 'some jungle/desert somewhere'. Campaign takes about 5 hours to complete on normal difficulty but don't feel cheated as its like playing a blockbuster movie which are usually only one and a half hours. Far fetched? - yes. A rollercoaster? - yes. fans of the series will love it. If you played any of the others and didn't like them then simple, avoid this or you will only write a poor review - as I opened, its a sexier more of the same - which suits me fine. Expand
  51. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I am totally enjoying the Multiplayer. Fast paced and quick to get in game and load/join maps, The game types add a lot of variety and I like the maps WAY better than in BF3. I prefer the new weapon upgrade system to previous versions of CoD.
    After playing both BF3 and CoD:MW3 I choose CoD.
  52. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I don't understand why people put 0 this is so stupid. Call MW 3 is a call of duty thats what I wanted. For those who put 0, they are haters or BF3 fanboys. This a great game, great solo and great multiplayer
  53. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    Not so bad as people are saying... With the financial security they have could be a lot better though. I think the engine should be different from the mw2 but it´s almost the same with only minor changes. The story is great!
  54. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    All of the Call of Duty titles play very similarly, in fact there is very little difference in the way it plays going way back to the original Call of Duty. Why are people only just figuring this out? Is that a bad thing? Hell no! The game has been tweaked and tuned to perfection along the way. There is a reason why it's the #1 Franchise. Love it or hate it. MW3 runs brilliantly on allAll of the Call of Duty titles play very similarly, in fact there is very little difference in the way it plays going way back to the original Call of Duty. Why are people only just figuring this out? Is that a bad thing? Hell no! The game has been tweaked and tuned to perfection along the way. There is a reason why it's the #1 Franchise. Love it or hate it. MW3 runs brilliantly on all ports and add's some neat features to keep the fans happy. Not to mention the gritty campaign we have all come to appreciate from all of the Call of Duty titles. It's not perfect, dedicated servers and added pc features such as FoV etc would have been nice. However I'm going to give this a 10 to compensate for all the thoughtless 0's I'm seeing. Good job Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer! I look forward to your next installment. Expand
  55. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Same boring game as MW2 was. It doesn't look like anything has happened since then - No extra features, or thought has gone into it. Black Ops had more features, dedicated servers, lean, a console, diving, flyable killstreaks, max fps alterations, fov.

    The game has gone backwards - and with P2P game play in multi player, this makes it one of the worst games to date.
  56. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Infinity Ward has once again proven/ that they know better than anyone, how to create great action. The magnificent singleplayer, interesting co-op, revised multiplayer. Only one negative - the old engine
  57. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    BF3 fanboys are so LAME. The campaign was epic, best one til date 10/10. Multiplayer was awesome they did a great job 10/10 and survival mode is kinda fun 10/10.
  58. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    I don't know what the hell is goin on, but I have been playing MW3 and it is a kick ass game. I own BF3 on the pc and find it to be a good game also, but MW3 exceeded my expectations where I am having a hell lot more fun than BF3, in how MW3 is still using the same winning formula that is a lot more refined, polished and balanced. I give a "Hooah" to Sledgehammer games in really makingI don't know what the hell is goin on, but I have been playing MW3 and it is a kick ass game. I own BF3 on the pc and find it to be a good game also, but MW3 exceeded my expectations where I am having a hell lot more fun than BF3, in how MW3 is still using the same winning formula that is a lot more refined, polished and balanced. I give a "Hooah" to Sledgehammer games in really making this game happen with Infinity Ward, I can tell they really worked hard on this game, say what you will but they did a great job with this game. I was very very very skeptical about this game, especially after the whole controversy surrounding Activision and Infinity Ward but I have totally changed my preconceived notions about this game after really playing it and am still a COD fan. Expand
  59. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 3 has been released pretty close to Battlefield 3's entry into the gaming market. For this reason alone it would be the obvious thing to compare the two. However I won't be doing that as they are totally different games. Call of Duty has a more arcade style with a faster pace. Battlefield 3 focuses on the real life aspect of war, which is obviously a slower tempo but inModern Warfare 3 has been released pretty close to Battlefield 3's entry into the gaming market. For this reason alone it would be the obvious thing to compare the two. However I won't be doing that as they are totally different games. Call of Duty has a more arcade style with a faster pace. Battlefield 3 focuses on the real life aspect of war, which is obviously a slower tempo but in large scale battles.

    Single Player Campaign

    MW3's single player campaign involves an all out war taking you to new locations in different countries such as London and Paris while switching between different characters perspectives. Some missions are a lot of fun, others you may find irritating. Controlling a gunship remotely, shooting from a speed boat, calling in bombing runs and so on are fun moments. Call of Duty games have and still remain to be linear with having to follow a set path and pretty much standing in the exact position required before the game moves forward. This is annoying to say the least. Team mates get in the way during action moments. Line up the perfect shot and you have squad mates either pushing into you, resulting in moving out of position or simply wandering in your line of fire. For the most part though they do blend in and support very well. Sometimes too well. There are moments whereby you have to follow your squad through buildings only to have them kill all the enemies on there own deeming you simply a passenger in the script set down by the creators. Some features in the single player campaign I really wish were never included in the first place. Cut scenes which give the instruction to press a specific button to win the ensuing battle or event. Miss the button/press the wrong one and you'll get mission fail and have to re-do it again. Battle through intense missions without dying and the one that gets you is press "x" now. It's unnecessary and really annoying. I have my finger on the trigger button of mouse ready to shoot and it doesn't occur to me that I need to quickly press "e" or something on the keyboard. Does it draw me into the scene and feel part of it. Absolutely not, those moments just slow the game down and ruin an otherwise impressive campaign. I had a blast with this game. Definitely one of the best single player moments I've had in a long time.

    Multiplayer

    There's an immediate difference compared to Black Ops and that is dedicated servers have been removed, and in it's place is the Modern Warfare 2 console like system. Join matches with random people in player hosted matches. As soon as the hosting player quits a match everyone's game is paused while the system allocates a new player as host. It's slow, annoying and takes away a lot of the fun. Dedicated servers also allowed players to customize the matches they're looking for. Like a specific map then you could find a server that continuously plays that map uninterrupted. With player hosted matches this is not possible.

    "It's very challenging and a lot of fun"

    Matches are pretty much the same as previous Call of Duty games. Weapons have changed slightly. Maps are varied, some good others not so fun. Plenty of different match-play modes from capture flags to just all out deathmatch.

    An interesting addition this year is the Spec Ops Survival game mode. This is similar to Zombie mode from previous games with the twist of having waves of soldiers, dogs, attack helicopters and the like. It's very challenging and a lot of fun. Between waves of attacks your rewarded with credits which can be used to purchase new weapons, ammo or special abilities such as air support.

    Graphics

    Graphics are really poor on the PC version with the wrong settings. Use the settings at the bottom of this page to achieve the best graphics possible. Lighting effects are really good. Sounds

    There's not a lot of realism in the sounds. Shooting from any gun doesn't give the believable sound that it could be an actual real life weapon. There's obvious room for improvement in terms of weapon sounds.

    SUMMARY

    The single player campaign is a really good reason to own this game. I found it so much fun, though it wasn't difficult. Completed the campaign on hardened difficulty in 5hrs 30mins. Not particularly long or challenging but a lot of fun nonetheless.
    Multiplayer follows the same formula as before. The added survival mode will have you coming back for more. Black Ops has better multiplayer maps. Modern Warfare 3 isn't the classic everyone was hoping it would be, however it is a fun game that will keep you entertained for hours.

    InsidePCgaming Rating

    9/10

    www.insidepcgaming.com
    Expand
  60. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    It's worth noting that this game has a single-player campaign, which many of the reviews bombing it don't seem to take into consideration. If you're interested in only the multi-player modes, then yeah, you'll probably be a bit disappointed. Still, MW3 may not reinvent the wheel, but it's far from a bad game.
  61. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I am sorry!!! I speak a little English. In my opinion Call of Duty MW3 is the best first person shooter on the world. I love MW2. MW3 is a new MW2, new map, new challenges, new kill strikes, new sound effects only old graphics!!!! I love that game so much.
  62. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I love this game it is one of the best i ever played. Mw3 has one of the beast multiplayer experiences and the new spec ops mode is cool. All in need to say is this game is An amazing game.
  63. Nov 16, 2011
    2
    awful game, poor campaign, same multiplayer as it was 2 years ago. The game is boring nothing new if you compare it to MW2. fail of the franchise.
  64. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    Hmmm, i always wondered why mw3 sold over 6.5 million just with pre-orders and i believe its over 9 million now in sales, just to have people hate it. I mean, 2.0 at the time I did this review... LoL. Well, what do u expect? If you like MW1 and MW2 you will like MW3. Just like if u loved BF2, and BFBC2, you will love BF3. Graphics are better than most games but not as good as crysis orHmmm, i always wondered why mw3 sold over 6.5 million just with pre-orders and i believe its over 9 million now in sales, just to have people hate it. I mean, 2.0 at the time I did this review... LoL. Well, what do u expect? If you like MW1 and MW2 you will like MW3. Just like if u loved BF2, and BFBC2, you will love BF3. Graphics are better than most games but not as good as crysis or bf2, gameplay is twitch happy with not much camping for once. Story is...well... exciting at the very least and overall its a GOOD game. Now all the people that are ranting about oh, bf3 is sooo much more innovative and crap, they should compare bf3 to bfbc2 and not bf2 because bfbc2 came out when mw2 came out so i dont get why people are comparing mw3 to mw2 and not bf3 to bfbc2....

    Anyways, I am going to give it a 9 cause its not so camp happy as bf3. Oh and 5 points for not launching via web browser. How lazy can EA/DICE be? lol
    Expand
  65. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is not so bad that the user score descrive it.
    it's good game but not match change then Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2...
  66. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    When I first played it, i was exiceted to know what happened after MW2. While playing it, i had a lot of fun with the new weapons and gunnery. The graphics were OK to me, but i though that they could be better. After finishing it, I wanted to keep playing it, and I went to Spec Ops. The Survivval Mode is fun with two players and the Special missions were as fun as the campiagn. i felt theWhen I first played it, i was exiceted to know what happened after MW2. While playing it, i had a lot of fun with the new weapons and gunnery. The graphics were OK to me, but i though that they could be better. After finishing it, I wanted to keep playing it, and I went to Spec Ops. The Survivval Mode is fun with two players and the Special missions were as fun as the campiagn. i felt the multiplayer was a renewal of MW and MW2, with the new playing system and kill steaks chains. I recommend this game for the lovers of shooters, as you are gonna have fun, especially with friends. Expand
  67. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    The game satisfied me completely. It is, as always, cool and full of action. I've replayed it twice already, and will do this many times in future. Thanks devs for giving ability to see the end of the trilogy on my PC, which I upgraded specially for the first MW. You ROCK guys!
  68. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    Multi-player has potential to be good but isnt - unbalanced guns, bad 'Lag compensations' and the developers pretended to care about what the good players wanted by issuing a gun re-balancing patch but the changes are unnoticeable . The former community manager Robert "Trolling" Bowling stated at E3 "There is no last stand.... f*ck you last stand" but proceeded to have deathstreaksMulti-player has potential to be good but isnt - unbalanced guns, bad 'Lag compensations' and the developers pretended to care about what the good players wanted by issuing a gun re-balancing patch but the changes are unnoticeable . The former community manager Robert "Trolling" Bowling stated at E3 "There is no last stand.... f*ck you last stand" but proceeded to have deathstreaks -including Final Stand... They also have just bad Theater Mode but you have to be online to record previous matches and it removes the first 3-5 seconds of clips (or just makes them look bad in some way or another) Spec ops is good and survival is good, single player missions are good but all not great. Overall a not great game about 2/10 Expand
  69. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Doesn't have the graphics of BF3, but it has everything else: polished gameplay, enjoyable weapon balance, gun on gun emphasis, the adrenaline rush, and STEAM INTEGRATION. bf3 multiplayer runs in a BROWSER WINDOW, you think we like that? NO! MW3 wins this round, sorry fan-boy army.
  70. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha..............i can't stop laughing......user rating is 1.4....ha ha ha.........ALL the ****ing bf3 fans(506) are trying to make the game nonsense.......ha ha ha ha ha ha ha........These guys are really bf3 fans(original???or i doubt that EA has gave them bucks to fight against MW3....).I am sure at least 1 guy of these horrible 506 has already purchased MW3 andHa ha ha ha ha ha..............i can't stop laughing......user rating is 1.4....ha ha ha.........ALL the ****ing bf3 fans(506) are trying to make the game nonsense.......ha ha ha ha ha ha ha........These guys are really bf3 fans(original???or i doubt that EA has gave them bucks to fight against MW3....).I am sure at least 1 guy of these horrible 506 has already purchased MW3 and playing....but they gave the game a rating of 1.4 just because of jealous('cause mw3 is going to break all the record).Remember bf3(BIG ****ED 3) fans....mw series is the best shooter of all time......... Expand
  71. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    First off, I generally only play RPG or simulation games. However, I tried my hand at MW1 a couple years ago and fell in love with it (and the same can be said of WM2). I've never dabbed with the multiplayer, because that generally doesn't interest me - in any game. The single player part of MW3 though is superlative. As was the case with MW1 & 2, I was completely blown away by theFirst off, I generally only play RPG or simulation games. However, I tried my hand at MW1 a couple years ago and fell in love with it (and the same can be said of WM2). I've never dabbed with the multiplayer, because that generally doesn't interest me - in any game. The single player part of MW3 though is superlative. As was the case with MW1 & 2, I was completely blown away by the production values of the game, the story, the insight into a world rarely talked about, the graphics, sound effects...well, as I said; the production on this series is phenomenal. There are those who speak of there being very little in the way of innovation, but this is sorely mistaken. From MW1 to MW3, it simply gets better with each new title and the fact that the standard of quality is so high is remarkable.

    The reviews that are offering a '0' are clearly a bi-product of this trend on the internet that convinces people to be abhorrent, in the hope that they too might feel special and important. Go ahead and check out their other ratings. You'll see them rating Battlefield with a 10 and COD (on all 3 platforms) with a 0. It is inane. Irrational, and it is a pathetic attempt to feel entitled.

    Modern Warfare 3 is a fantastic game. I know it. They know it. And when you play it, you'll know it too.
    Expand
  72. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Shield. Enough said. Plus more options this time around to be a team player. A very high risk, high reward multiplayer game which can be frustrating at times, but I love it.
  73. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    It's Call of Duty! If you like Call of Duty, then you'll like Call of Duty! Sure it looks and feels the same but, Hello???? IT"S CALL OF DUTY!!!!!!! If you want something different, buy something different. If you want the best Online Mulitplayer Experience then look no further!!!! Call of Duty has the largest fan base of any other video game!!! Buy this game, you won't regret it!!!!
  74. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Just countering the BF3 review-bombers... This game is NOT worthy of this low score. How would you BF3 fanboys like it if the MW3 fanboys started review bombing your 'precious' BF3!
  75. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    It's a great game if you like this type of shooter. Multiplayer feels slightly faster than Black Ops, and overall a good experience. I would recommend this game if you like MW2 or Black Ops, but it is not a game for everyone.
  76. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game doesn't deserve all the hate BF trolls give it lol
    Too bad they are just jealous and they do not play their own game because...it sucks?
    CoD may have **** graphics,but the multiplayer and the single player is so far the best in the series...
    Just tell s...What change dou you want,apart from graphics?I bet you cannot say any normal stuff.
  77. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    yes graphics is old, but game is SUPERB! TOTAL FULL ACTION LIKE NO OTHER! BF3 is sooo boring and slow, MW3 ROX and does have great campaign! I love it like any Modern Warfare Activision game!
  78. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I was originally waiting until Christmas to play this and but was given it as an early present and I must say it is easily the best of the series... unlike its predecessor, the multiplayer is now finely balanced and the stupid fun of the solo campaign has been taken to new heights and in a game fun should always be taken into consideration unlike certain other po-faced FPS 'battles'. ToI was originally waiting until Christmas to play this and but was given it as an early present and I must say it is easily the best of the series... unlike its predecessor, the multiplayer is now finely balanced and the stupid fun of the solo campaign has been taken to new heights and in a game fun should always be taken into consideration unlike certain other po-faced FPS 'battles'. To top it off is the vastly improved Spec Ops co-op that is now fine-tuned to be an equally enjoyable solo experience to the campaign with Survival discovering how to balance solo and co-op where Zombies et al could not.
    People may argue that the game runs on an old engine but briefly ignoring the fact that this is a very nice-looking game with a silky smooth 60FPS: since when have engines been the be-all and end-all of a game's success... Ocarina of Time 3D is still one of the best games of the year despite running on an engine from a decade ago so that cant be a detrimental factor to MW3.....
    The highlight of the series and the most fun I've had with an FPS since Portal 2 (and there have been many in between you'll all note) :)
    Expand
  79. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    awesome game i ever played .no battlefield 3,4,5,even 6 will comapred with game .single player story is awesome i love call of duty series.love u activision thanksssssssssssssssssssssssss. i give it 100 % no
  80. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    A nice round-up for the Modern Warfare trilogy in an incredible, cinematic and engrossing single player campaign mode. Multiplayer is the best it has ever been and the new Spec Ops levels and modes are awesome. Ignore the negative reviews from people who have most likely not played the game (they're mostly Battlefield 3 players that are upset that once again their favourite game has soldA nice round-up for the Modern Warfare trilogy in an incredible, cinematic and engrossing single player campaign mode. Multiplayer is the best it has ever been and the new Spec Ops levels and modes are awesome. Ignore the negative reviews from people who have most likely not played the game (they're mostly Battlefield 3 players that are upset that once again their favourite game has sold less than a Call of Duty game). Expand
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The current scores on here are pathetic. You may not like the game but very few games deserve these kind of scores. Just because its popular and similar to the last installment doesn't warrant these scores. A good series is a good series and many very well reviewed games on here are equally as similar as cod is. It's childish, besides in its own right its a great game, deserves 9/10 butThe current scores on here are pathetic. You may not like the game but very few games deserve these kind of scores. Just because its popular and similar to the last installment doesn't warrant these scores. A good series is a good series and many very well reviewed games on here are equally as similar as cod is. It's childish, besides in its own right its a great game, deserves 9/10 but for obvious reasons to make up for the score I'm giving 10/10. Expand
  82. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    The Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with a half good product. CoD is value for money but is lacking in original creativity. The special Ops is well done, the story pretty much sucks (no excuses - it sucks and you have brain damage if you think it's a good story), and the multiplayer isThe Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with a half good product. CoD is value for money but is lacking in original creativity. The special Ops is well done, the story pretty much sucks (no excuses - it sucks and you have brain damage if you think it's a good story), and the multiplayer is the same as ever with little innovation. I do recommend MW3 due its surface fun and value for money but it lacks to what should have been something much much more. Expand
  83. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    hello i buyed the game for 39â
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    i do not understand why this wonderful game has such a low rating! i have played it, and it is remarkable. the story-line (as usual) is compelling as ever although the graphics may not be as good as Battlefield's, but still Modern Warfare 3's story and characters makes you have an immersible experience with the return of the old and legendary Captain Price. this game actually hasi do not understand why this wonderful game has such a low rating! i have played it, and it is remarkable. the story-line (as usual) is compelling as ever although the graphics may not be as good as Battlefield's, but still Modern Warfare 3's story and characters makes you have an immersible experience with the return of the old and legendary Captain Price. this game actually has emotions,not just some cold hearted killing. Expand
  85. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    No game can get a 0, however bad it is. I am aware that BF3 is a superior game when it comes to MP, but MW3 certainly does not deserve a 0, or a 3 for that matter, because of such a silly reason.

    I haven't played MW3 yet, but according to what sense I've read, the campaign is decent, and the multiplayer is basically the same as it used to be. Still, whoever bought MW3 should have seen
    No game can get a 0, however bad it is. I am aware that BF3 is a superior game when it comes to MP, but MW3 certainly does not deserve a 0, or a 3 for that matter, because of such a silly reason.

    I haven't played MW3 yet, but according to what sense I've read, the campaign is decent, and the multiplayer is basically the same as it used to be. Still, whoever bought MW3 should have seen this coming. Since the beginning of the "CoD revolution", little has changed. The core gameplay has remained the same, and most importantly, the MP has seen only minor changes. So, instead of wasting your time ruining MW3's Metacritic score for no justifiable reason, play some BF3 and enjoy yourself, because extreme prejudice isn't going to get you anywhere.
    Expand
  86. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I've played Battlefield 2, the new Goldeneye, Crysis, COD 4, MW2, Black Ops, MW3. I get where most of you are coming from as it being basically the same graphics engine as MW2. I myself even noticed the feeling of COD 4 within it, but to tell you the truth, that's exactly why I love it so much. I bought COD 4 not when it was full retail, or even $30, but fricken $10 on Steam during aI've played Battlefield 2, the new Goldeneye, Crysis, COD 4, MW2, Black Ops, MW3. I get where most of you are coming from as it being basically the same graphics engine as MW2. I myself even noticed the feeling of COD 4 within it, but to tell you the truth, that's exactly why I love it so much. I bought COD 4 not when it was full retail, or even $30, but fricken $10 on Steam during a holiday sale. I was like, eh... I guess everyone keeps talking about it lets try it out. It was Awesome. There's no denying that, MW2 was even good. Black Ops was alright but still a little too Treyarchy for me which is what kept me from getting involved earlier. Then comes that whole legal debate with this game and having Sledgehammer jump in. I'm just happy they actually made it in time.

    My best guess is because of that, and losing a huge portion of their staff to Respawn they really didn't have the time, in 2 years to make an entirely new COD. I'm glad. In the end it feels right to me. Call me crazy. The whole Modern Warfare story was gonna be a trilogy anyway so why not have it all be on the same graphics engine? Aren't we, the PC gamers always standing up for gameplay over graphics anyway? Minecraft? Super Meat Boy? Portal? I completely support their choice to reuse COD4 and MW2, why not? When the next Call of Duty comes from Infinity Ward in 2 years or so, it'll have a new story, new characters and that will be the time when it makes sense to have newer graphics, not now.

    Point is, the campaign felt like the equivalent of a movie, its cinematic. Lord of the Rings uses the same actors and same locals and plot in the grand scheme of it all. Games have always been split, there are the innovative ones, the ones like Madden that just renew what was there, not dissimilar to this, and then there are the out of the blue games like DragonAge and Elder Scrolls that are rehashes and retakes on a genre but are nothing new in concept. In general however games are getting to the point where they should be judged not on their graphics and familiarity, but on the gameplay and the grandness of it. The thoughts they leave when you're done playing and the feelings you get while playing them. MW3 is more arcade than realistic, but that's exactly how its supposed to be. That 3 at the end should mean, you are getting the same story, same mechanics, same graphics or damn close to. Expect change when a NEW game comes out not just a continuation of a story.

    Multiplayer is simply updated but that's to be expected, if its not broke don't fix it. Has Madden changed drastically lately? Its still football, and this is still you trying to kill everyone else. Black Ops was the same as MW2, which was the same as COD4, if you expected a HUGE change come 3, you've obviously been living under a rock for the last 6 years. People buy this game to continue playing multi with their friends, and to continue the story and be blown away by the sights, sounds and grand feel it has. It's like back in the day playing with that Buzz Lightyear toy and then they come out with the Chrome one. Well no **** its the same thing but it does slightly more and looks better, so doesn't that make it technically better than the original and worth trying?
    Expand
  87. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Simply put.
    There was an unfinished storyline from MW2.
    At first, everyone was excited for the future events of that storyline. "what happened to soap and price?!" "where the hell is Makarov" and now everyone complains because its more of the same?! i don't see people going mad when a writer tells a single story in 3 or even 9 seperate books. what? maybe they should consider changing the
    Simply put.
    There was an unfinished storyline from MW2.
    At first, everyone was excited for the future events of that storyline.
    "what happened to soap and price?!" "where the hell is Makarov"
    and now everyone complains because its more of the same?!
    i don't see people going mad when a writer tells a single story in 3 or even 9 seperate books. what? maybe they should consider changing the typography! from 'times new roman' to 'comic sams'.
    This is like the weather debate syndrome, people are never happy about it.
    Graphically the game is impeccable not to mention the sound and gameplay.
    Of course there's always room for some improvements.
    Sometimes i wonder if any developers should ever listen to all the noisy begging around the game.
    Congratulations Activision for another great product.
    Expand
  88. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Just as i wanted it to be. A buffed up version of mw2. Sure they could use ranked dedis aswell. But i do prefer lobby system over dedis since im a casual gamer. Graphics are ok imo. I didnt want to buy a brand new computer for this game. My old rig runs it flawlessly. The gameplay is awesome. Run and gun is just in my taste. Perks are more balanced and no overpowered grenade launchers thisJust as i wanted it to be. A buffed up version of mw2. Sure they could use ranked dedis aswell. But i do prefer lobby system over dedis since im a casual gamer. Graphics are ok imo. I didnt want to buy a brand new computer for this game. My old rig runs it flawlessly. The gameplay is awesome. Run and gun is just in my taste. Perks are more balanced and no overpowered grenade launchers this time around. Co op is suprisingly fun with friends. I will enjoy this game for hundreds of hours. And hopefully the coming dlcs will include some larger maps Expand
  89. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    This is not a bad game, a little better than MW2, i enjoyed it thoroughly, and it is probably the best COD i have ever played, there are lots of changes to be observed from previous titles. I like games that i enjoy and MW3 delivers it. Although the campaign could have been longer. The ending part didn't do much justice. And for comparision, why is everybody comparing this to Battlefield,This is not a bad game, a little better than MW2, i enjoyed it thoroughly, and it is probably the best COD i have ever played, there are lots of changes to be observed from previous titles. I like games that i enjoy and MW3 delivers it. Although the campaign could have been longer. The ending part didn't do much justice. And for comparision, why is everybody comparing this to Battlefield, both are different types of games. Where other games try to be like COD, COD does what it wants to do, it doesn't try to be something else, it knows its roots, what if its graphics are not cutting edge, graphics alone do not make a game, the gameplay is far superior. Although everybody has their own choices, and they have their reasons to dislike it, but that doesn't mean MW3 is totally a bad game. Expand
  90. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Great game, decent graphics, excellent gameplay. People that say it's a lagfest and a mw2 expansion pack probably haven't played it enough, or have crappy internet. After about 20 hours of multiplayer and a completed campaign, I feel that my opinion is worth more than one of some brat that just wants to hate.

    Enough offtopic bullcrap. The multiplayer is great, mostly good connections and
    Great game, decent graphics, excellent gameplay. People that say it's a lagfest and a mw2 expansion pack probably haven't played it enough, or have crappy internet. After about 20 hours of multiplayer and a completed campaign, I feel that my opinion is worth more than one of some brat that just wants to hate.

    Enough offtopic bullcrap.

    The multiplayer is great, mostly good connections and a large variety of weapons and perks. Customization might not be as big as in Black Ops, but that was an excessive amount anyway.
    The only grief I had, was that the most overpowered weapons were unlocked almost instantly. I would've thought that IW learned from the mw2 UMP45, but they didn't. Oh well, anyone with a decent set of tactics can easily take the abusers out.

    Just to remind everyone, MW3 is a great game. It's the best from CoD4 and MW2 combined, and the matchmaking service is working a lot smoother, to my experience. Don't hate if you just don't like the game. Always be objective, and don't be biased.
    Expand
  91. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Amazing-action game. Multiplayer is awesome , worth buying ! Hope BF3 fanboys will not ruin this review page as they are doing it now. They cant realize that MW3 is better game
  92. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    mdw3 es el mejor juego belico por su accion frenetica sun gran historia en cada capitulo y lo mas interesante piensa en todos sus seguidores no como btlf3 que con su gran motor grafico solo pensaba en unos cuantos de los que tuvieran un presupuesto alto para renovar la pc. o es que era un gran negocio con la compañia nvidia? bueno al fin y alcabo no me importa por que elmdw3 es el mejor juego belico por su accion frenetica sun gran historia en cada capitulo y lo mas interesante piensa en todos sus seguidores no como btlf3 que con su gran motor grafico solo pensaba en unos cuantos de los que tuvieran un presupuesto alto para renovar la pc. o es que era un gran negocio con la compañia nvidia? bueno al fin y alcabo no me importa por que el juego era pobre en historia y en sus misiones y el que critique al gran juego mwf3 no lo juegue asi de facil pero a esos crticones les digo que mwf estar siempre por encima de btlf. larga vida para cod mwf Expand
  93. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Well I see the BF trolls reviews are in, now listen to a rational review. If you enjoy the other Modern Warfare games, you'll like this one. Sure, not a whole lot different going on, but the campaign is amazing and the game is still fun. Screw the haters, if you like COD this game is for you.
  94. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    An amazing game. Dont listen to these idiots who clearly havn't even played the game. The single player ties both call of duty mw and mw2 together and brings it to a climatic end. It is very strong on its own and has a great background to it. The multiplayer is very different to mw & 2, however the guns are similar. The main differences the the flow of it with the maps being much betterAn amazing game. Dont listen to these idiots who clearly havn't even played the game. The single player ties both call of duty mw and mw2 together and brings it to a climatic end. It is very strong on its own and has a great background to it. The multiplayer is very different to mw & 2, however the guns are similar. The main differences the the flow of it with the maps being much better and a faster game. While the guns are similar they have made a lot of edits and put a few knew ones in. They are much fairer as now a smg can stand up to a assult rifle etc. The deicated servers not being ranked did at first piss me off, but when you think about it they have two options with it. One - WaW standard servers where the admin has full control = Rank hackers = bans. Black Ops - Little server control = people whine. The match making is much better than in MW2 as it is very fast, hosts are normally good and there is very little lag. I have both MW3 and BF3 on PC i have had all the COD's since the first and all the Battlefield's since BF2. I would say that MW3 has a lot longer playablity than BF3 does and it is much more enjoyable. Expand
  95. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    A great game with great gameplay and graphics! The story is phenomenal and the Multiplayer is more balanced and fun than ever! Definitely worth a buy!
  96. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    After playing both (BF3 and MW3) the same Situation as allways if BF and MW pulls out new Releases of their Blockbuster.

    Ok - the Graphics are not as spectacular as in BF3 - but anyway - MW3 has the better Graphic for Shooting and get a clear overview about the Maps and straight Gameplay with a medium Skill. BF3: ++ Graphics -- Gameplay MW3: ++Gameplay +Graphics Only thing missing is
    After playing both (BF3 and MW3) the same Situation as allways if BF and MW pulls out new Releases of their Blockbuster.

    Ok - the Graphics are not as spectacular as in BF3 - but anyway - MW3 has the better Graphic for Shooting and get a clear overview about the Maps and straight Gameplay with a medium Skill. BF3: ++ Graphics -- Gameplay
    MW3: ++Gameplay +Graphics

    Only thing missing is the Serverbrowser from BlackOps - but we all know they will never learn it. Because of this only a 7/10.
    Expand
  97. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Don't be fooled by the name of the game. After the last game in the series i realized that i had grown very tired of call of duty. After only spending a couple of weeks playing black ops i was ready to completely disregard the next title in the series. From the preview footage it looked old, and very rehashed and all the mw2.5 jokes belonged and were actually funny. Then i was pesteredDon't be fooled by the name of the game. After the last game in the series i realized that i had grown very tired of call of duty. After only spending a couple of weeks playing black ops i was ready to completely disregard the next title in the series. From the preview footage it looked old, and very rehashed and all the mw2.5 jokes belonged and were actually funny. Then i was pestered into buying it by my friends like all the other call of duty games. After playing it with a very open mind i can easily say that this game is worth every penny. If you are the kind of person who just likes to shoot people in the face then you will feel right at home. It has the most chaotic gameplay Ive seen in a modern shooter and reminds me of a time when it was all about having fun. When im playing this, I picture myself playing a modern incarnation of quake 3. Bullets are flying all over the place, and EVERYONE is getting kills. The multiplayer is the one portion i thought i would be spending the least amount of time with but the addictive nature of call of duty sucked me in and I played it for days on end. The addition of strike packages also allows those non-twitch players to get some streaks that benefit their team. Theres a bigger emphasis on teamwork in this title than previous ones and creates a much more friendly atmosphere which is full of more people saying "good game" then people saying "noob-tuber". I also enjoyed the single player alot more than i did in black ops. Infinity ward nailed the pacing and provided some of the best set pieces Ive seen in a game as well as some pretty good story. I cant touch on CO-OP too much as i haven't had a chance to finish it all, but from what ive seen, the spec ops missions are much more intense and cinematic and the survival is epic to say the least. All in all there is alot of fun to be had in this game. The game is receiving good scores for a reason. If you go in expecting the same game like i did, then you will be delightfully surprised with this game. Call of duty Modern Warfare 3 was the one game i thought i would dislike, but it ended up slapping me in the face with a fist full of fun. Pretend the game is called something else if you cant get over the whole call of duty thing. Expand
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    A very complete game. So much fun and action, and the Spec Ops mode is so amazing. I hope Modern Warfare never dies, and I cannot wait for another title of this saga.
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    From a Battlefield 3 Fan Perspective this game is very good, it's not a DLC of MW2 the MP has improved over with the spec ops giving the shine it is just as good as zombies and the unlocks will keep you going on for a while and Prestige and 80 levels will definitely be alot of time too., COD Elite is just as good as Battlelog everything is good (MP is a dead heat) and Campaign is a bitFrom a Battlefield 3 Fan Perspective this game is very good, it's not a DLC of MW2 the MP has improved over with the spec ops giving the shine it is just as good as zombies and the unlocks will keep you going on for a while and Prestige and 80 levels will definitely be alot of time too., COD Elite is just as good as Battlelog everything is good (MP is a dead heat) and Campaign is a bit cliche but slightly better than BF3s I will see you guys on the BATTLEFIELD and the MODERN WARFARE, THIS GAME IS **** AMAZING! Peace out Fans and trolls :P Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 20, 2012
    80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]