User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5524 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    A poor game that is extremely overrated by the press. It is unacceptable for a game to continue to be put out with such little change. Hopefully Respawn Studios shows activision what a mistake they made letting them go.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear,Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Rehashed, Tacticool, Linear, Money Whoring, Unoriginal Tarp Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2012
    1
    It's the worst CoD they made so far... It's visible that this sledgehammer or wtf developed it. Graphics are like a 5-years-old game's graphics. Our beloved IWnet hasn't changed anything, ofc, you can find the habitual dose of lag on every server, so I'm now not surprised if I shoot someone but can't hit him and eventually, even he kills me. They managed to make the create-a-class menu aIt's the worst CoD they made so far... It's visible that this sledgehammer or wtf developed it. Graphics are like a 5-years-old game's graphics. Our beloved IWnet hasn't changed anything, ofc, you can find the habitual dose of lag on every server, so I'm now not surprised if I shoot someone but can't hit him and eventually, even he kills me. They managed to make the create-a-class menu a bit complicated... It's simply terrible. Those many killstreak rewards are totally unmanageable and confusing. To be honest they chose the wrong tactics. I think they didn't have any idea how to develope the gameplay, so they made the menu worse. At least the singe player was fun, that's why I give it 1 point. To sum it up, it's clearly not worth its price. I'm already looking forward to Black Ops 2 and hope that it'll bring redemption, because I love Black Ops, even if it has some tiny bugs. Good advice: Be cautious! Don't believe the trailers! Wait for a thorough gameplay review, and as a result you won't waste 60â Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I'll start off with technical problems:
    *Activision claims you get dedicated servers back, only you don't.
    You can only get unlocks on p2p matchmaking servers (which is not upto pc -or any for that matter- standard). *It runs horribly on hd48xx cards (which are more than capable enough to run a game like this) despite the mp maps someone looking worse than those in mw2. Black ops had this
    I'll start off with technical problems:
    *Activision claims you get dedicated servers back, only you don't.
    You can only get unlocks on p2p matchmaking servers (which is not upto pc -or any for that matter- standard).
    *It runs horribly on hd48xx cards (which are more than capable enough to run a game like this) despite the mp maps someone looking worse than those in mw2.
    Black ops had this same problem and it was NEVER fixed, don't count on it.
    *p2p by its very nature makes for a worthless multiplayer 'experience', hit detection is off AND delayed because of it.
    *tiny field of view which is unforgiveable for a pc game and there is no way to change it.
    Even if you don't know what this is, you should care it's a big deal.


    Now for gameplay issues:
    -Maps are tiny and the spawn system (which is always bad in cod games) does not know how to deal with that.
    -field of view turns it into a horse blinders crapshoot
    -rock paper scissors perks/weapons and killstreaks really have no place in a pseudo competitive shooter.
    -weapons still have no recoil which especially on pc is ridiculous, laser guns are no fun, there is NO learning curve for the gunplay in this game, just point and click.
    Shooters are normally all about this learning curve, for shame!

    General :
    -Animations, sound, graphics are not up to standard for a 2011 game
    -AGAIN no mod tools! shameful since the early cod games upto mw1 and even world at war had those
    -pathetic unlock / point / filling bars carrot to make up for a lack of interesting gameplay and variation, remove the carrot and this game wouldn't be half as popular, this is a FACT.
    -bloom, blur, browngrey unicolor is so 2005
    -community is trash, as always in call of duty games
    -looks and feels like every cod game since the first one, only now the damage was doubled so that changed (for the worse, did not think that was even possible).

    Cod started off as a shameless medal of honor allied assault clone, but at least it was decent at it at first, after mw1 the series has regressed in both quality and effort on part of the developent teams (teams that change more often than a pregnant woman changes her mood)

    Even on fan sites you hear mw3 refered to as 'the latest SEASON in call of duty', if that doesn't give you a clue of how bad it is getting milked then I don't know what to tell you.

    My biggest gripe: Every single change in the game could have been a patch for mw2, and WOULD have been a patch if the game were made 10 years ago.

    People are finally starting to catch up to this and it shows in the user scores.
    Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2012
    2
    Finally played MW3 after it being out for a little over 3 months. This is the first game I have ever deleted from my computer. After playing multiplayer for around 6 hours I had to quit playing. The community is exactly what the comics make it out to be... Everyone I met was drunk, stoned, or prepubescent. The game has not evolved since MW 1. Its ok to use a cookie cutter recipe for a godFinally played MW3 after it being out for a little over 3 months. This is the first game I have ever deleted from my computer. After playing multiplayer for around 6 hours I had to quit playing. The community is exactly what the comics make it out to be... Everyone I met was drunk, stoned, or prepubescent. The game has not evolved since MW 1. Its ok to use a cookie cutter recipe for a god game but using the same engine for graphics 4 years in a row... I just find that lazy. If you own any of the other games don't bother with this one multiplayer is exactly the same. O I guess there was a campaign that came with the multiplayer... 1 more thing i forgot to mention. Bugs. Idk if it was just me but there were 2 cases in mp where I had a bugged spawn point and could not move. This happens 3 + months after the game has been released. Stick with MW 1 or 2 Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I was a cod fan, played every single game of cod and mw3 too, but never again, this is a constant deja-vu, and the overpriced dlcs......... is very sad to see how activition kills his franchyses, tony hawk, guitar hero and now COD (R.I.P)
    Don't waste your money in a 60 dollars DLC
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's a shame this is what we are left with. I remember when CoD and CoD2 came out, omg now that was CoD. Its just awful that we went from quality work like the original 2 and also CoD4 to this, Modern Warfare 3 is joke, to me it just shows that hey give up when they cant even update or enhance atleast character models. apparantly their business model is "rinse and repeat, charge 60It's a shame this is what we are left with. I remember when CoD and CoD2 came out, omg now that was CoD. Its just awful that we went from quality work like the original 2 and also CoD4 to this, Modern Warfare 3 is joke, to me it just shows that hey give up when they cant even update or enhance atleast character models. apparantly their business model is "rinse and repeat, charge 60 bucks" knowing the hardcore CoD fans will buy it, trusting in a company that brought them good games before. I remember a big thing with MW2 and PC players was the dedicated servers, and they got ppl pumped for MW3 we will have Dedicated servers this time around.....yea for those who dont want exp and to level up. Ill end this like i started it by saying: What A Shame! Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same game as Black Ops and MW2. Not worth paying for essentially a reskin with new maps. Terrible single player, same old multiplayer, only now we get the pleasure of paying for CoD Elite. Now the dev is begging for better user ratings. (http://www.gamefront.com/glen-schofield-wants-your-help-boosting-modern-warfare-3s-low-metacritic-user-score/) Ha. MAKE A GAME FIRST, NOT JUST ASame game as Black Ops and MW2. Not worth paying for essentially a reskin with new maps. Terrible single player, same old multiplayer, only now we get the pleasure of paying for CoD Elite. Now the dev is begging for better user ratings. (http://www.gamefront.com/glen-schofield-wants-your-help-boosting-modern-warfare-3s-low-metacritic-user-score/) Ha. MAKE A GAME FIRST, NOT JUST A RESKIN. DO NOT BUY THIS CRAP. Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Call of Duty... Such a great series of games which brought whole new level to FPS type of games. Thanks to CoD the shooters look like they look. So where is the problem??

    The problem is the technology. Activision didn't invest any money since CoD 2 to develop new engine (Yes Since CoD 2 its the same engine slightly modified), they managed to improve it up to CoD 4 but then they reached
    Call of Duty... Such a great series of games which brought whole new level to FPS type of games. Thanks to CoD the shooters look like they look. So where is the problem??

    The problem is the technology. Activision didn't invest any money since CoD 2 to develop new engine (Yes Since CoD 2 its the same engine slightly modified), they managed to improve it up to CoD 4 but then they reached limit of it. Did they bother to develop new one? No. Since that time nothing changed. Same animations of characters, weapons and look of maps. They are trying to blind us through doing stuff like replacing zombies with 2 player co-op, new game mode and few new weapons model, but that's all. If you are going to get that game prepare for disappointment. Activision managed to sink all the way to the bottom of the sea one of the best FPS series in history of video games - Well done! From the king to the street beggar. I think it's time for CoD to retire for couple of years and come up with something new. Single player - stopping WW3 sounds great, you have the same characters (that didn't die) from previous version of MW. Map design is simple - get from point A to point B. Don't worry you won't get lost on the way. Guess why... CoD1 offered several different paths to reach objective and that's what should be restored! I don't care about fancy explosions!

    Multiplayer - its just map pack for MW2.

    Conclusion? Get different game because this one is worth only half of it's current price...
    Expand
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3 has broken sales in nearly all categories upon release, but was it really worth it? Apparently not, considering it's a rehashed version of all of their older games. When designers fail to bring innovation into their game, it's quite difficult to wonder if you should spend your hard-earned cash on the product. Call of Duty has now become a sports game that is released everyModern Warfare 3 has broken sales in nearly all categories upon release, but was it really worth it? Apparently not, considering it's a rehashed version of all of their older games. When designers fail to bring innovation into their game, it's quite difficult to wonder if you should spend your hard-earned cash on the product. Call of Duty has now become a sports game that is released every year. At least EA invests money within their budget to increase the quality of their sounds and visuals. Modern Warfare 3 was created using an outdated engine, which they could have attempted to compete with DICE's new engine, but they chose to hoard as much funding as possible. There is nothing new about this game, other than the revamped Spec Ops mode which has now become Horde/Firefight. Anything original? No. I would suggest that if anyone is debating on buying this game, go ahead and buy a used copy of MW2. You'll get the same experience playing an older game. Now, if you'd like to try something new and exciting, play Battlefield 3. Especially if you game on a PC. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Rehashed garbage, Infinity Ward created this game, Activision destroyed it, they broke up Infinity Ward and put Sledgehammer games in charge

    Terrible game, avoid at all costs, see high scores from official reviews? Publishers pay them heaps of money to do PROMOS on their website, so they are inclined to get positive reviews, a reviewer on a website once lost his job for giving an honest,
    Rehashed garbage, Infinity Ward created this game, Activision destroyed it, they broke up Infinity Ward and put Sledgehammer games in charge

    Terrible game, avoid at all costs, see high scores from official reviews? Publishers pay them heaps of money to do PROMOS on their website, so they are inclined to get positive reviews, a reviewer on a website once lost his job for giving an honest, low score to Kane & Lynch when his website was being paid to give it a promo.

    Oh and its so rehashed, there's actually an article proving the same building model from the now 4 year old COD4 where used in this game, despite it being one of the best selling if not the best selling franchise of all time, they are still so cheap.
    Expand
  12. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    So lets talk about MW2...woops I mean MW3. To be honest, I saw this coming. I knew that this game would just be a MW2 DLC. Unfortunately, the brand "Call of Duty" still attracts the masses of idiots who go for the name not the game. The only reason Activision published this pile of rubbish is because they could have just slapped the name Modern Warfare 3 on a copy of Justin Beiber's DVDSo lets talk about MW2...woops I mean MW3. To be honest, I saw this coming. I knew that this game would just be a MW2 DLC. Unfortunately, the brand "Call of Duty" still attracts the masses of idiots who go for the name not the game. The only reason Activision published this pile of rubbish is because they could have just slapped the name Modern Warfare 3 on a copy of Justin Beiber's DVD and people would still buy it. What it all comes down to is that the console gaming population has an average IQ of around 30. Living in denial that there is no better game than Call of Duty. It is only the rest of the gaming population that tweaks their head to left of the games shelf to realise Battlefield 3 came out too, a MODERN, INNOVATIVE and BRILLIANTLY BEAUTIFUL FPS actually does exist! Don't get me wrong, I have enjoyed the previous Call of Duty games (Treyarch being my favourable developer of the series) but this is just a ridiculous game. In conclusion, the majority of the gaming population (mainly console) has turned stupid, maybe this is why unemployment is such a big issue. I don't buy for a name. I buy for a game. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Just rented it, to test it out, and it's just the same old crap. Nothing original. Just trying to ride out the money train. Campaign is the same monotonous, "kill generic bad guys to get to the next scripted event", garbage. You can just play any other modern warfare to get the same multiplayer
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Activision is recycling the same game since Modern Warfare 3, the campaign sucks like everything in the game, even the menu is the same as the Modern Warfare 2...
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    12 Hours of single payer game play. Holds true to the COD franchise's lack of content from the past 3 installments. Though those 12 hours of gameplay was more compelling than Black Ops, I still feel incredibly cheated out of $60. Online play is no better than Black Ops. Not just graphically, but the levels almost look like the same levels as BO... Laggy servers, gives laggy movements and12 Hours of single payer game play. Holds true to the COD franchise's lack of content from the past 3 installments. Though those 12 hours of gameplay was more compelling than Black Ops, I still feel incredibly cheated out of $60. Online play is no better than Black Ops. Not just graphically, but the levels almost look like the same levels as BO... Laggy servers, gives laggy movements and firing ingame. Then, they try to sweeten us up with their "Elite" service, but only to find out it will cost you ANOTHER $50. Come on Sledgehammer, can we get a reach around when you're giving us the hammer??? I would say avoid this one... But we all bought it sight unseen already.... Oh well. Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Just disappointing and nothing more. No improves on graphic, unclear story, control with a lot of rubbish setting.... It is worst in MW1 and MW2..... Even worse than COD 7
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Played ANY cod game before? then you will have seen everything on offer.
    Fan of MW1? rinse, repeat and save yourself a few quid.

    Same engine, a few new weapons and perks in MP and another chapter in the story.

    This would be a free content patch in a Valve game and DLC by other publishers.
    Recommend you check out BF3 tbh.
  18. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Why do I have such a low score? I wanted to give it as high of a score as Modern Warfare 2 (since I thought I was playing that exact game), but when I realized it was not MW2, I had to give it a low score. But in all seriousness, Modern Warfare 3, the third in the series, is direct downgrade from MW2. It's even worse than Black Ops. I cannot believe just how terrible it is compared toWhy do I have such a low score? I wanted to give it as high of a score as Modern Warfare 2 (since I thought I was playing that exact game), but when I realized it was not MW2, I had to give it a low score. But in all seriousness, Modern Warfare 3, the third in the series, is direct downgrade from MW2. It's even worse than Black Ops. I cannot believe just how terrible it is compared to Battlefield 3, or any other Call of Duty game out there. Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I won't give it a 0 because that is unreasonable. The BIGGEST reason why it doesn't deserve anything higher than 1 is quite simple. Recycled buildings, UI is almost exactly the same as previous games, 3 hours campaign (really?). The game could have been released as a single game. It pains me to see my friend buying it only because "it is the newest one". The game doesn't justifyI won't give it a 0 because that is unreasonable. The BIGGEST reason why it doesn't deserve anything higher than 1 is quite simple. Recycled buildings, UI is almost exactly the same as previous games, 3 hours campaign (really?). The game could have been released as a single game. It pains me to see my friend buying it only because "it is the newest one". The game doesn't justify itself for the cost at all. Expand
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Is this seriously what games have become? Just awful. I could see someone having a lot of fun, assuming they took this game out and put in a better one.
  21. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    This is just a maps pack for MW1! And the game takes no skill whatsoever, no need for aiming, no need for caring about health, no need for strategy. At least there are a lot of explosions and bullets, so it is kinda entertaining specially if you play with your friends at home a friday night.
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    A really repetitive campaign with hardly any memorable moments. Out-dated visuals which look like a game from 4 years ago. Mediocre music and sounds.

    The multi-player feels slower than MW2 and the maps are just downright terrible. Lots of models, buildings and textures just copy-pasted from MW2. Overall, I'm seriously disappointed in this and i expected more from IW. Don't waste your
    A really repetitive campaign with hardly any memorable moments. Out-dated visuals which look like a game from 4 years ago. Mediocre music and sounds.

    The multi-player feels slower than MW2 and the maps are just downright terrible. Lots of models, buildings and textures just copy-pasted from MW2.

    Overall, I'm seriously disappointed in this and i expected more from IW. Don't waste your money on this, you'd be better off buying MW1 or 2 as both are superior games.
    Expand
  23. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I'm a huge cod fan and I've played every single one so far. Last year BO was a huge let down for me but this... this is just **** . I've tested it for about 10 hours and I'm GLAD that I didn't waste my money on it.
  24. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Terrible game. Cut and paste of mw2. It is so bad, don't even try it out. Barely anything has changed and it sucks. It is just a $60 dollar expansion pack. Huge disappointment on the pc.
  25. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    This game is an insult to gamers everywhere. It's a repackage of MW2 (a great game) for another 60 dollars. Had Activision charged 30 dollars for MW3 and called it an expansion, I wouldn't be so mad... as it stands? **** Activision.
  26. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Why anyone would like to play this? Nothing has changed and I don't think it ever will. Sorry but every 9-10 score is a lie in honest customer face. For example game engine is so old, that i want to cry. When i bought MW3 all i saw was fact that budget for this game was like 5% to making product and 95% for commercial noise. Sorry guys, this was definately last time with this crap.
  27. Feb 18, 2012
    3
    Copy and paste.
    Copy and paste.
    See, I can do it too Infinity Ward/Activision! Call of Duty 4 was an innovative, very addictive and fun game, and so are all of the call of duties after it up to Modern Warfare 3, because essentially they are all the same game, especially in multiplayer where new maps and a few new guns are the only difference. Also, with this being a new game, I'm surprised
    Copy and paste.
    Copy and paste.
    See, I can do it too Infinity Ward/Activision! Call of Duty 4 was an innovative, very addictive and fun game, and so are all of the call of duties after it up to Modern Warfare 3, because essentially they are all the same game, especially in multiplayer where new maps and a few new guns are the only difference. Also, with this being a new game, I'm surprised by the muddy visuals and drab textures/colors, even compared to past games in the series.
    Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    More and more each year, the publisher start to care less about the hardcore gamer (who got them here in the first place) & more about $ signs. This is Modern Warfare 1.9, everything is the same as Modern Warfare 2 apart from weapons , which still kinda feel the same but just look different. The maps are new but worse in my opinion.
  29. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The reason we all hate this game is because it's 4 hour campaign and like 12 new maps. There is no way you can charge 60 dollars for that. It's annoying how well this game is going to sell when so little effort was put into it. We as gamers support developers that bring us NEW and INNOVATIVE products. Sure, it's fine when companies release sequels to games that refine the previous formula,The reason we all hate this game is because it's 4 hour campaign and like 12 new maps. There is no way you can charge 60 dollars for that. It's annoying how well this game is going to sell when so little effort was put into it. We as gamers support developers that bring us NEW and INNOVATIVE products. Sure, it's fine when companies release sequels to games that refine the previous formula, but not when they literally do it 3 times in a row. Modern Warfare, Modern Warfare 2, Black Ops, and Modern Warfare 3 literally look identical. It's like they want to be the new madden of first person shooters. We are tired of these pointless rehashed games. So basically deal with it Activision. Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Oh look, it's the Madden of shooters. Why do people keep giving Kotick $60 for exactly the same shooter every year? Can't you people just like, i dunno, play CoD4? Or do they shut down the servers for games on consoles ala: Chromehounds? Pirated it to see the campaign, same old "WOOOOOAAAAH ACTION MOVIE EXPLOSHUNS!", beat it in 3 hours, then promptly deleted its disgusting code off myOh look, it's the Madden of shooters. Why do people keep giving Kotick $60 for exactly the same shooter every year? Can't you people just like, i dunno, play CoD4? Or do they shut down the servers for games on consoles ala: Chromehounds? Pirated it to see the campaign, same old "WOOOOOAAAAH ACTION MOVIE EXPLOSHUNS!", beat it in 3 hours, then promptly deleted its disgusting code off my HD. The multiplayer is exactly the same as the others with the same call-in fueled infini kill streaks from the two guys camping in a corner of the map. The sound design is still absolutely disgusting, all the guns sound like airsoft guns in first person, there's no distant effects, and they're still recycling voice clips from CoD4. The graphics are still living back in 2005, running on the same engine since CoD2, nothing else to say there... Enjoy paying $60 for your map-pack and "new perk" DLC guys. Expand
  31. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    The campaign of this game is terrible. Its linear, has bad writing, generic gameplay, and the graphics are showing its age. The whole game is you going trough narrow paths and shooting bad guys. One good thing about it is that the campaign lasts only 3 hours. They try to distract you from how bad it is with big explosions every two seconds but the engine is so old that they look just lame.The campaign of this game is terrible. Its linear, has bad writing, generic gameplay, and the graphics are showing its age. The whole game is you going trough narrow paths and shooting bad guys. One good thing about it is that the campaign lasts only 3 hours. They try to distract you from how bad it is with big explosions every two seconds but the engine is so old that they look just lame. Scene where a child is killed tries to generate controversy like the airport mission in MW2 but it fails miserably. The multiplayer is the same thing you already played several times before. Almost nothing is changed from the previous games. The new maps are bland and not worth it. The new modes are nothing special. If you are buying the game for its multiplayer, buy MW instead, its cheaper and better balanced. Also the game suffers from numerous bugs on the PC version. My advice is to stick with the first MW or just play a better FPS like RO2 or BF3. BF33333333333333333333 IS VERY GOOOOOOOD Expand
  32. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    resumo do meu status

    RazielDe The campaign of this game is terrible. Its linear, has bad writing, generic gameplay, and the graphics are showing its age. The whole game is you going trough narrow paths and shooting bad guys. One good thing about it is that the campaign lasts only 3 hours. They try to distract you from how bad it is with big explosions every two seconds but the engine is
    resumo do meu status

    RazielDe

    The campaign of this game is terrible. Its linear, has bad writing, generic gameplay, and the graphics are showing its age. The whole game is you going trough narrow paths and shooting bad guys. One good thing about it is that the campaign lasts only 3 hours. They try to distract you from how bad it is with big explosions every two seconds but the engine is so old that they look just lame. Scene where a child is killed tries to generate controversy like the airport mission in MW2 but it fails miserably. The multiplayer is the same thing you already played several times before. Almost nothing is changed from the previous games. The new maps are bland and not worth it. The new modes are nothing special. If you are buying the game for its multiplayer, buy MW instead, its cheaper and better balanced. Also the game suffers from numerous bugs on the PC version. My advice is to stick with the first MW or just play a better FPS like RO2 or BF3
    Expand
  33. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Absolutely terrible. It's just a moneymaking attempt, churning out the same game every year. Not having ranked dedicated servers is absurd; you're forced into more laggy p2p play where the host is favoured
  34. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    If you like to play games that are just repacked versions of previous titles, then by all means by this crap.
    This game is so much like MW2 it should have been called MW2.5 or something, you are being charged full price for a game that is a damn map pack with a few new weapons from MW2.
    If you haven't already seen, there a numerous occasions during multi-player/single-player where
    If you like to play games that are just repacked versions of previous titles, then by all means by this crap.
    This game is so much like MW2 it should have been called MW2.5 or something, you are being charged full price for a game that is a damn map pack with a few new weapons from MW2.

    If you haven't already seen, there a numerous occasions during multi-player/single-player where buildings from MW2 have actually been copied over, without changing, its a joke!

    I am honestly surprised at Activision and Infinity Ward for destroying this franchise with such a cheap rip-off. I have been a fan of the series since CoD 1 (you know, the one that was based in WWII) but I would actually go back and play that, than this!

    My recommendation is to buy it when it's cheaper, if I had known prior, I wouldn't have bought it until it was at least half what it is now!
    Expand
  35. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    They just took Modern Warfare 2 and changed the maps. Modern Warfare 3 is essentially a map pack that costs $49.99. Now even the devs are begging people to rate it higher. Can you get more desperate than this, Infinity Ward? Modern Warfare was the last good Call of Duty game.
  36. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The PC edition of this game is completely worthless, and I regret ever purchasing it. Black Ops had way more options in the settings for actually setting the game up properly, so you don't get motion sick as fast, a better unlock system and proper dedicated servers, and that was considered one of the worst CoD's in a while.

    Instead I got a version I can't play because I get physically ill
    The PC edition of this game is completely worthless, and I regret ever purchasing it. Black Ops had way more options in the settings for actually setting the game up properly, so you don't get motion sick as fast, a better unlock system and proper dedicated servers, and that was considered one of the worst CoD's in a while.

    Instead I got a version I can't play because I get physically ill after playing it because of the PoV, where I can not play ranked on the dedicated servers they bragged about before release, and which in most ways is exactly the same game as MW2. Visuals haven't improved, textures and models are extremely unappealing, balance is still off-key and we're back to stacking kill-streaks again. How fun that was as a semi-casual player, right? To summarize, the campaign is still linear, the story is terrible, and the multiplayer experience hasn't been altered in any positive way since MW2. If you like that, get it on consoles. The PC version is broken, possibly beyond repair.

    All in all, I'm extremely disappointed with this game, and I most likely will not play it again. Basically wasted a bunch of money I could have spent on a better game, had the game reviewers done their jobs and actually been honest instead of thinking about continued profits from game publishers.

    They even have the sheer audacity and arrogance to beg for better user reviews, as seen here: http://xbox360.ign.com/articles/121/1212113p1.html

    If not for that quote, this would have gotten a 3 or maybe a weak 4 from me, so they shot themselves in the foot.
    Expand
  37. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Crappy rehash. They keep releasing this stuff year after year, and we just keep buying it. No more, this was the last time I ever purchased a Call of Duty game, at least until they decide to innovate instead of using the same game with a few new maps.
  38. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Horrible Game! I hate it! it's not innovative. Shame on the developers. Nothing new. Nothing using. Old graphics. Terrible single player plot. A complete FAIL.
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game is a rehash and its pretty much solidifying the fact that gaming is dying. Every year expect more and more of these things to come out, receive inflated scores by paid off reviewers, and for them to break all sorts of retail records. COD is the new Madden of our time, only difference is it changes even less between installments.
  40. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Its like buying a fake rolex! You know its going to break and will be left in a drawer a week later, but you buy it anyway! Thats what i did with this game. Its MW2.1, what a waste of money! Campaign was okay, but the oh so controversial part is just lame. It didnt help knowing that soap died the whole way through too, i felt like a right mug carrying his injured body when i knew he wasIts like buying a fake rolex! You know its going to break and will be left in a drawer a week later, but you buy it anyway! Thats what i did with this game. Its MW2.1, what a waste of money! Campaign was okay, but the oh so controversial part is just lame. It didnt help knowing that soap died the whole way through too, i felt like a right mug carrying his injured body when i knew he was only going to die. Christ! Its like a bad movie. Expand
  41. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    After playing (and loving) battlefield 3, this game desperately needs some drastic changes. As a fan of call of duty since the very first game (released on PC, which IW has seemingly forgotten...but that is another issue), It is not easy to speak ill of this franchise. But releasing essentially the same game since COD4 is inexcusable. I hope pc players around the world send a message toAfter playing (and loving) battlefield 3, this game desperately needs some drastic changes. As a fan of call of duty since the very first game (released on PC, which IW has seemingly forgotten...but that is another issue), It is not easy to speak ill of this franchise. But releasing essentially the same game since COD4 is inexcusable. I hope pc players around the world send a message to IW and activision. You can do this by keeping your wallets closed to the greedy and lazy folk who repeatedly ask you for more money and in return give you the same product. As for the pc side of things, no dedicated servers for ranked play? Give me a break. 9v9? Come on. The same old engine and graphics? How about answering us on mod/map tools? You repeatedly piss in the face of pc players, and then insist this is what we want. You continue to alienate fans, while making the game more accessible to the general masses. I understand you want to make money, but your integrity is all but gone. This is made perfectly clear by your pathetic plea for the fans to vote here on metacritic. Well, here ya go. Expand
  42. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    You **** up!
    WTH can't we have rank on dedis? That is the only reason I got the game.

    **** idiots it is just about the money. I am going to make my own game and have it the way people want to play it! Can't wait for them to crack the MP. Suck on that IW!
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Terrible game, a complete and utter copy of MW2, when setting the detail to max it looks like my gamecube. That's how terrible this game really is, just a recycled game as per usual. The game is rendered at 720p and upscaled or downscaled to whatever resolution you use (obvious console port). Call of Duty's twitter also asked me to write a review because their score was so low, I figuredTerrible game, a complete and utter copy of MW2, when setting the detail to max it looks like my gamecube. That's how terrible this game really is, just a recycled game as per usual. The game is rendered at 720p and upscaled or downscaled to whatever resolution you use (obvious console port). Call of Duty's twitter also asked me to write a review because their score was so low, I figured I'd just lower it even more because it's such a terrible game. Expand
  44. Nov 11, 2011
    2
    I've been a loyal fan of Call of Duty for more than 10 years. I've played every game in the series and must simply conclude the following about MW3: The biggest disappointment ever in terms of Call of Duty! I enjoyed the singleplayer somewhat (hence I score the game a 2, not a 1), but the multiplayer is simply devastatingly poor on PC. Graphics look at least 5 - 6 years old. Servers areI've been a loyal fan of Call of Duty for more than 10 years. I've played every game in the series and must simply conclude the following about MW3: The biggest disappointment ever in terms of Call of Duty! I enjoyed the singleplayer somewhat (hence I score the game a 2, not a 1), but the multiplayer is simply devastatingly poor on PC. Graphics look at least 5 - 6 years old. Servers are sluggish. Scaled down Elite feature on PC. The multiplayer plays practically identically to MW2 and BlackOps. Why fix something that is not broken you say? Well, somehow I expected more. Much more. Buy Battlefield 3. Collapse
  45. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Horrible game, do not buy it! Its much worse than mw2, IWFail lags like crazy and camping is so present. The maps are very camper friendly. Together with the long zoom in time and the lag, its impossible to beat campers that are waiting and already zoomed in.
  46. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Garbage game... dont be an idiot and waste 60 **** euros on this heap of **** graphics are worse than mw2 AND cod 4!!!. all maps are small and the colouring of the game is blurry and i play on a high end PC. yes the PC version is a joke just a console port with no options to change anything. i wouldnt even pay 10 euros for this ****
  47. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This game looks terrible (2x580s SLI + i7, so yes, it's maxed out). The previous 3 CoD games had better graphics by far. While I can live with the poor quality graphics for the sake of a fun game, the player 'head bob' nauseating. Then there's IWNet In short, it would have been better to sell another map pack for MW2 for both MP and Spec Ops. Then mod it for dedicated servers.

    I won't say
    This game looks terrible (2x580s SLI + i7, so yes, it's maxed out). The previous 3 CoD games had better graphics by far. While I can live with the poor quality graphics for the sake of a fun game, the player 'head bob' nauseating. Then there's IWNet In short, it would have been better to sell another map pack for MW2 for both MP and Spec Ops. Then mod it for dedicated servers.

    I won't say never again to buying a CoD title but it's unlikely I'll buy anything developed by Infinity Ward again. Bring it on Treyarch
    Expand
  48. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    I've been a fan of the COD series since the first one. I liked the original games and COD4 so much, but its trying my patience. I still bought BO and MW3, because I like the single player campaigns. I liked the story, up until MW3. Its just too linear, there isn't even the illusion of controlling your own player besides shooting the endless spawns of baddies. Bottom line, in myI've been a fan of the COD series since the first one. I liked the original games and COD4 so much, but its trying my patience. I still bought BO and MW3, because I like the single player campaigns. I liked the story, up until MW3. Its just too linear, there isn't even the illusion of controlling your own player besides shooting the endless spawns of baddies. Bottom line, in my opinion, not worth full price, not by a long shot. If you buy this at all, pick it up on sale sometime in the distant future. Expand
  49. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    This is like buying MW2 again. Crappy linear multiplayer that is played out how they wanna play. The campaign is drawn out in a crappy predictable line. The game play is basically a line shooter that you play at an arcade. The engine is freaking 13 years old...no dedicated pc servers, have to PAY for cod elite..activision is just here raping everyones wallets.
  50. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Forget the stuff about lack of scoring on dedicated servers, a lack of Punkbuster or similar, what REALLY pisses me off about this 'game' is the fact that some rounds last a minute or maybe less, then you get an 'enforced' break of a minute, followed by 'waiting', followed by - if you're lucky - game starts in and a countdown. Great, you think. But once the countdown has reached zero, doesForget the stuff about lack of scoring on dedicated servers, a lack of Punkbuster or similar, what REALLY pisses me off about this 'game' is the fact that some rounds last a minute or maybe less, then you get an 'enforced' break of a minute, followed by 'waiting', followed by - if you're lucky - game starts in and a countdown. Great, you think. But once the countdown has reached zero, does the game start? Nope, it doesn't. Instead you get the map to load followed by ANOTHER countdown.... WHAT THE F***? TWO countdowns??? Somebody is obviously taking the P*** at Activision. Do ONE countdown then start the damned game.

    Does it then start? Nope, then comes: waiting for player, server synchronisation or something else - sometimes- quite frequently - followed by a server timeout.... You land back in the Lobby. This is just frustration pure and this is what makes me give this game a 1, it's not really bad in itself, just the online game play SUXX big time, you will spend MORE TIME WAITING than actually playing. As for enforced breaks - since when can Activision tell me what I can and can't do with my PC? I don't come round and tell you what you can do in your spare time so stop ordering a minute long break between each round. 15 seconds was more than sufficient in Black Ops. PATHETIC.....
    Expand
  51. Feb 24, 2012
    0
    This is a $100 map pack. It really is. Value for money wise you are getting absolutely shafted. I also wonder why professional reviewers (wouldn't call em critics) are so out of touch with the public. The very first multiplayer game I joined had an aimbotter in it. The second multiplayer game I joined also had an aimbotter. They've fixed absolutely nothing!
  52. Jan 17, 2012
    0
    Okay this game sucks. Ive played about 50 hours of multiplayer now and I think I can give a fair review of this game. First there is no controller support lovely. Second there is no elite which everyone but pc gets. Third there are so many aimbot modders that it makes the game almost impossible to play thanks for caring about the consumer. Fourth steady aim is retarded no one aims down theOkay this game sucks. Ive played about 50 hours of multiplayer now and I think I can give a fair review of this game. First there is no controller support lovely. Second there is no elite which everyone but pc gets. Third there are so many aimbot modders that it makes the game almost impossible to play thanks for caring about the consumer. Fourth steady aim is retarded no one aims down the sights anymore and the fng I think there called are way overpowered. Fifth im not paying 15 dollars for more dlc. Sixth the game lags so bad its not even funny. Seventh there are no dedicated servers for ranked again thanks. Eighth The single player campaign took me 4 hours to finish. ninth the looks are exactly the same as the past call of duty's way to go for innovation. Tenth and finally support for three monitors is s*** not all of us are poor and only have one monitor thank you very much. I just want to say activision you got me again I buy each and every call of duty like an ignorant fool NEVER AGAIN next time I go around a corner and get killed by a player with an aimbot I will picture your face being blown off. Expand
  53. Jan 18, 2012
    3
    I loved all call of duty games, but enough is enough, if you are bored of the MW2, don't buy this one, it's roughly the same game, you'll be bored after few hours. Would have been a decent DLC for MW2. Maps sucks. I feel like the following features went less and less good from MW1 to MW2 to MV3 : Graphics, weapons sounds effect, Weapons, Maps.
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Mas de lo mismo simplemente. no puedo creer que no se esfuercen en hacer algo bueno.

    Un juego que no cumple con mis espectativas. Espero que para un futuro hagan un juego bueno y no solo hagan copy N paste que es lo que vienen haciendo todos estos años no innovan nada el juego sigue siendo el mismo.
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Seriously? Wouldn't this just be a map pack? That's all it is! Cut the crap activision. I can't believe I bought the hype and the 2 hour story! I will no longer support anything with 3 at the end of it. It all turns out to be crap. Fable 3, Spiderman 3, Halo 3,. ETC. IM DONE,.
  56. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    No dedicated servers ranking is a joke. Why did they have to ruin this game? Same game basically as the last two is total bull crap. With all the money they make there is no excuse for a game like this. Waste of $60!!!
  57. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    This only gets a 5 because of the fairly decent OTT SP experience straight from the Michael Bay camp. MP which is what i normally play is a mash up of claustrophobic, tight corridor type maps. Gone are the open types like Overgrown, Afghan etc what we get is uninspiring to say the least!

    Black Op's and even MW2 annihilates this in every way possible! You can sense that the main players of
    This only gets a 5 because of the fairly decent OTT SP experience straight from the Michael Bay camp. MP which is what i normally play is a mash up of claustrophobic, tight corridor type maps. Gone are the open types like Overgrown, Afghan etc what we get is uninspiring to say the least!

    Black Op's and even MW2 annihilates this in every way possible! You can sense that the main players of IW have long gone and what we are left is a slight whiff of turd in it's place!

    Oh and for PC: No dedi ranked servers, no adjustable FOV, straight console port.

    Oh and to IGN, have to say your allegiance to Activision is a downright disgrace! How much did they pay you?
    Expand
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    what a turd game if it does even diserve to be called that, is activision even trying? because, seriously, im 2h into the game and I cant take it anymore, its so bad Im going to ask for a refund
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same textures, same animations, releasing game too often, laggy. There is nothing positive about Call of Duty Modern Warfare franchise since Call of Duty 4 yet it's getting so high sales ? Why ... why why why, I really don't understand that. maybe it's becasue of multiplayer which doesn't require any sense of "skill" from player to score a frag, or maybe because it's paradise for campers,Same textures, same animations, releasing game too often, laggy. There is nothing positive about Call of Duty Modern Warfare franchise since Call of Duty 4 yet it's getting so high sales ? Why ... why why why, I really don't understand that. maybe it's becasue of multiplayer which doesn't require any sense of "skill" from player to score a frag, or maybe because it's paradise for campers, glitchers, cheaters and other weak gamers that think they are cool. Questions questions questions ... Luckily most of players are amercinas, that means there is still future for normal games for normal players, let the americans have their sh*tty game. Expand
  60. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same crap, different disc don't buy it, if you love to waste money then here is the best game to do it and have a not fun time same multiplayer and the same crappy storyline if you actually buy this game I would think you should consider a psychologist because you canâ
  61. Feb 13, 2012
    2
    Could not say much more then what have alrdy been said, Grafic feel old so as the game. All the positives seems to think that all Negatives are "Fanboys" I would say around 20% is fanboys maby. and lets say 5%of them have played the game.. if they liked it.. they would not give it a bad rewive right?and i would say that 20% of the posetives are "Fanboys" also so it evens up. The criticsCould not say much more then what have alrdy been said, Grafic feel old so as the game. All the positives seems to think that all Negatives are "Fanboys" I would say around 20% is fanboys maby. and lets say 5%of them have played the game.. if they liked it.. they would not give it a bad rewive right?and i would say that 20% of the posetives are "Fanboys" also so it evens up. The critics are the same rubbish also.. giving MW3 higher graphic then BF3. that dosnt make any seens? But if they want the same grafic and the same game over and over again.. yeah.,. give them 10s and let the keep dropping the same game for 5 years more.. or give then Negatives if u like them to make a new enegine or something. But i know im giving this a 2 cuz im tierd of this now. if they would have droped this right after mw2 , they could have goten a 7.. Call me fanboy or whatever u all want... but that gives this game a 10 and QQ about Fanboys here... thats a real fanboys. Sry my english tho. but hope my point got past here Expand
  62. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    What a cheap attempt to make money, this is EXACTLY the same as modern warfare 2, with a few maps and guns thrown in. It should be sold for £15, not 40. The sounds are the same as mw2, the voices are the same, gun handling is the same (no recoil), graphics are the same (graphics look like a good ps2 game).
    This game is a joke, you cannot even change the FOV on PC (its capped
    What a cheap attempt to make money, this is EXACTLY the same as modern warfare 2, with a few maps and guns thrown in. It should be sold for £15, not 40. The sounds are the same as mw2, the voices are the same, gun handling is the same (no recoil), graphics are the same (graphics look like a good ps2 game).
    This game is a joke, you cannot even change the FOV on PC (its capped at 65, whereas most PC players like it between 75-85). Just buy BF3 if you're looking for a great FPS, its totally different from other games, i dont even know why people compare it to CoD when its better in almost everyway.

    Bigger and better maps, guns actually have recoil, vehicles like tanks and jets, really good graphics, and you can see they put a big effort into BF3. CoD looks like it has no effort put into it, all they did was take MW2, change the name to MW£ (oops, i meant 3), change the title screen background, add a few maps which they think they can sell after for 4 maps for £15 (whereas on games like counter strike theres thousands of maps created by users FOR FREE, and DICE gives some map packs for free)...
    Expand
  63. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Single:
    It seems like you have saved game 2 yr. ago and now loaded this save. I forgot what happened in MW2 what the hell is happening here? Where is the story line?

    Multiplayer:
    Poor graphic, terrible sound. It seems like first part of Modern Warfare.
    This game even worst then MW2.
  64. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is terrible. Appears to be an expansion of MW2, still using the same engine as the previous games it provides exactly the same disappointing experience. Along with having to pay for Elite, Activision seems to be making all the wrong desisions to keep this franchise healthy... RiP Call of Duty
  65. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I don't understand why we keep paying for the same game... They should of stopped at cod4 and ended on a good note. I hope that people will learn their lesson this time around and not continue to buy they games anymore or at least till they decided to actually make a new game.
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I'm sorry but i played this at my friends house and it was horrible, i seriously cannot begin to describe how mad i am at the developers for simply mixing previous call of duties up, throwing a couple of different things in there and selling it at full price while claiming it is a completely new product.
  67. Dec 15, 2011
    1
    Worst game trilogy ever. Every game is exactly the same. Old graphic, old sounds, old mechanics of game. Why THIS have a price? For what? For replay? Small maps in multiplayer. Even free mmofps better.
  68. Mar 6, 2012
    4
    The COD series has been milked a lot and while sticking to an established formula offers familiarity, MW3 goes too far. Sure there are few minor changes, but it's still running through linear corridors in campaign and fighting some juvenile man-child in multiplayer. The visuals and setpieces aren't bad but starting to show their age. And why do they keep pulling off the same cliches likeThe COD series has been milked a lot and while sticking to an established formula offers familiarity, MW3 goes too far. Sure there are few minor changes, but it's still running through linear corridors in campaign and fighting some juvenile man-child in multiplayer. The visuals and setpieces aren't bad but starting to show their age. And why do they keep pulling off the same cliches like an extraction chopper being shot down or a slow-mo kill. Also what the point of the child's death? It doesn't prove any point that hasn't been reiterated (i.e. terrorism) and it doesn't further the story (the massacre in MW2 makes sense because it lead to WW3 in MW3). If you like COD, you'll like MW3, otherwise maybe pick this one up at a lower price. Also survival mode isn't a new innovation because it's just multiplayer with single-player enemies thrown. Expand
  69. Feb 19, 2012
    0
    **** THE CRITICS! HOW CAN YOU GIVE THIS GAME ANYTHING ABOVE 1? THERE ARE SO MANY ****IGN HACKERS, EVERY GAME THERE IS ATLEAST 1 HACKER, BUT USUALLY 2 or 3! ITS UNPLAYABLE. THE LOADING SYSTEM IS CRASHES CONSTANTLY, HACKERS DON'T GET BANNED, THEY TRY TO CHARGE PEOPLE FOR ELITE AND **** THE WORST GAME EVER MADE.
  70. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I'll give them two points for continuing their tried and true formula, but nothing more as that's all they've done here. They just put mw2 in a new box. $60 + $7/month for new maps and perks but nothing new in terms of gameplay or graphics? No thanks. Save your money folks. If you have cod4 than what's the point of this? Not a new game
  71. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Oh No! COD4 again! Same Multiplayer Again! This is like a DLC! Same multiplayer with new maps only!
    Nothing new and Black Ops is light years better!
    Please Activision.. Fix This! This is a shame!
  72. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    This is rdiculous. Plain and simple.This game is nothing more than a $60 mediocre map pack. The graphics are low key and dull and the audio is pathetic. I wasn't sure if i was shooting a sniper rifle or a pellet gun. The gameplay is exactly what it has been for the last three years, the campain is short and dry, and the online is nothig more than MW2 with new maps. Overall veryThis is rdiculous. Plain and simple.This game is nothing more than a $60 mediocre map pack. The graphics are low key and dull and the audio is pathetic. I wasn't sure if i was shooting a sniper rifle or a pellet gun. The gameplay is exactly what it has been for the last three years, the campain is short and dry, and the online is nothig more than MW2 with new maps. Overall very disappointing, a perfect example of taking hat used to be a good franchise and running it into the ground. How does this manage to appeal to the millions who buy it? Expand
  73. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    It looks and plays pretty much EXACTLY the same as 2009's Modern Warfare 2, even the menus, sound effects, and buildings have been recycled from MW2. I feel extremely disappointed, the campaign and single player were shorter and barely better than MW2. Do not fall for the hype for this game, this game should have been a 15 dollar expansion for MW2, charging 60 for this should be a crime.
  74. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    Singleplayer was a cinematic blast as it always was and the survival mode is a great addition. However, multiplayer is plagued by lag due to ranked games only being peer-to-peer as the standard for the console systems. I don't understand why the programmers for this game didn't learn the lesson from MW2. There isn't even a chat room during the lobby screen. I appreciate the additionSingleplayer was a cinematic blast as it always was and the survival mode is a great addition. However, multiplayer is plagued by lag due to ranked games only being peer-to-peer as the standard for the console systems. I don't understand why the programmers for this game didn't learn the lesson from MW2. There isn't even a chat room during the lobby screen. I appreciate the addition of the dedicated servers, but they are only available for unranked play. In addition the Server List option is hidden by default, only accessible after digging through the options menu. I can't give this game a 0, because I do enjoy parts of it. The gun play seems great so far, aside from the lag, and I enjoyed the single player, but I don't feel like this game was worth the money I dropped on it. I don't think I can see myself reaching max rank with how hindered I am with latency and turned off by it. They even left thing ping "bars" in instead of giving us actual numbers again. Why couldn't these guys give us ranked servers with similar "play now" functionality of everyone's favorite hat-themed-war-simulator? Click the button, ask for game-type, drop you into a server with that criteria. (That game is now free and still very fun)
    I wish that Call of Duty recycled maps, in addition to giving us these new ones. I mean, what harm can including old maps do? We'll probably have to pay for them. I likely won't buy them, then I'll likely get booted from every game I try playing because I "do not own this DLC" (It's happened with MW2. It once took about 20 minutes trying to find a game I could even join. Then when I finally did, I had one, "red" ping bar. It was terrible.)

    Well, if you stuck around this far, I might as well mention things I -do- like. I do like that my favorite guns are in this game. I like the throwing knife. I like the riot shield.
    Expand
  75. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    In 2011, 18 player MP with , no lean/peek, reduced playability of S&D. This game is 'consolized' beyond recognition.

    For this price, thanks, but no thanks.

    Moving over to Red Orchestra 2.

    Adios CoD/MW! Until CoD4MW it was nice knowing you.
  76. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    EXACTLY THE SAME AS PREVIOUS GAME. If you want to play this game's multiplayer, just play MW2 or even MW1. You are not missing much, except singleplayer and you know how to resolve that. How about put in so effort and develop a newer gaming experience? Some Devs are just shameless, churning out same stuffs every year. Wasted $60, and the last $ they will ever see if this game don't change.EXACTLY THE SAME AS PREVIOUS GAME. If you want to play this game's multiplayer, just play MW2 or even MW1. You are not missing much, except singleplayer and you know how to resolve that. How about put in so effort and develop a newer gaming experience? Some Devs are just shameless, churning out same stuffs every year. Wasted $60, and the last $ they will ever see if this game don't change. No preorder next time. Expand
  77. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    It's a DLC for MW2, what else can I say. It's fun, dont get me wrong, but come on...
    I am going to return it and get some other game. Not worth my money, it's really insulting.
  78. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    Let's be honest, no game deserves a 0. Nice single campaign, but the multiplayer experience is practically the same as MW2. So, in my opinion, not worthly of paying $59.99 for basically a cloned game.
  79. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Wow, this game is the same thing, over and over again. MP offers zero competition. 10 year old kids might enjoy this game, but other than that? Steer clear.
  80. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Terrible game, i couldn't believe it, i am shocked as a loyal fan to be given this effortless game. this was so boring and to add to it far too short. multilayer is aim, nothing has Benn revolutionized.
  81. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    Modern Warfare 3, i was waiting for it, and now i see, the same as Modern Warfare 2, without Nuke and **** " point streaks " come on point streaks ? Just a waste of time and money, i am a big fan of Call of Duty and because of this my score is 4.0. I really hope that activision update de game with killstreaks and some graphics
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Played cod 4 and was pleasantly surprised by the story and atmosphere. Had a go on this and hate it. its like a dodgy remake of a classic film which never works second time round.
    in brief: short and revamped story, badly dated console graphics, no vehicles or damage therefore sniper have a field day, and a console friendly cramped multiplayer. And last of all, NO DINOSAURS.
    All pc
    Played cod 4 and was pleasantly surprised by the story and atmosphere. Had a go on this and hate it. its like a dodgy remake of a classic film which never works second time round.
    in brief: short and revamped story, badly dated console graphics, no vehicles or damage therefore sniper have a field day, and a console friendly cramped multiplayer. And last of all, NO DINOSAURS.
    All pc gamers, let's get this turged pile of commercial pooh as low a score as possible.
    Am surprised console gamers are giving it low scores
    Expand
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Call of duty Modern Warfare never change. Same graphic, Same sound effect, Same writing.
    All the story of the series contain at least one death(teammate) with slow motion, And a real bad guy to kill in the end. Finally the USA and British win the war.
    The graphic never improve from cod4, they use the same engine (repair,upgrade..etc) as always. The graphic of this game(MW3) is quite bad
    Call of duty Modern Warfare never change. Same graphic, Same sound effect, Same writing.
    All the story of the series contain at least one death(teammate) with slow motion, And a real bad guy to kill in the end. Finally the USA and British win the war.
    The graphic never improve from cod4, they use the same engine (repair,upgrade..etc) as always. The graphic of this game(MW3) is quite bad and the graphic of PC or XBOX360 is the same. IW just copy the X360 version to the PC. Sometimes the rolling speed of your mouse just increase in a few seconds and you make several 360° turn. The bullet of a magazine is just texture. The "box magazine" problem in E3 is not solved. They just add a texture on it.
    And the guns, the model is as good as IW. Massive number of rails, holes, letters... something like that. It fools you the model is very good, but if you focus on the models, you will discover the model is terrible. Such as all the cooling holes are texture. It is funny that the russian is still using AK47 at 2016. (The AK47 with a M4-Style Stock and Rail and Laser...Etc..I used to call is IW47)
    The multiplayer also never change. Real compact maps, People shoot with recoil-less guns, Killstreaks. It is better if they call is Call Of Duty MW2.5 or Call Of Duty DLC: After the story.
    Expand
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's just the same recycled formula since the last few games. You could might as well get MW2.
    I highly advise you not to buy this game for it will just be the same unbalanced **** and boring story since the last.
  85. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same old engine. Dated graphics, incredibly washed textures, DX9. Just another poor console port for PCs.

    This is not MW3, just MW 2 1/2.

    Is obvious that the reviews in some PC sites are paid.
  86. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Fan of FPS, I tried the adventure Call of Duty for the first time. Which disappointment. A game(set,play) of another age, gameplay complétement to see again(to revise). The campaign(countryside) complétement invalid(useless). I am nevertheless a big person(main part) to gamer, but then there, it is direct in opportunity(occasion) ha thin, impossible with steam hasFan of FPS, I tried the adventure Call of Duty for the first time. Which disappointment. A game(set,play) of another age, gameplay complétement to see again(to revise). The campaign(countryside) complétement invalid(useless). I am nevertheless a big person(main part) to gamer, but then there, it is direct in opportunity(occasion) ha thin, impossible with steam has to avoid. Expand
  87. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    $60 for the same game for four years... The same style of Gameplay... The campaign is cliched and has now become boring... The multiplayer is too predictable... Once u have gotten familiar with the map its boring... For eg u can actually guess that some guy will come out of the pathway on the next turn.. or u can guess there is atleast 1 sniper on a particular spot.. what i am saying is$60 for the same game for four years... The same style of Gameplay... The campaign is cliched and has now become boring... The multiplayer is too predictable... Once u have gotten familiar with the map its boring... For eg u can actually guess that some guy will come out of the pathway on the next turn.. or u can guess there is atleast 1 sniper on a particular spot.. what i am saying is the maps are too small and few... Not like BF3 where everything is huge and destructible where no two matches are exactly the same and u can never predict where the enemy is.. even though BF3's campaign is bad, the multiplayer alone blows COD MW3 or any COD for that matter, out of the water..
    The appeal of COD has gone since COD MW2 and nowadays ppl buy coz their friend bought it... Dont waste ur hard earned money and join the bandwagon
    Expand
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I borrowed this from a friend for about a good 30 minutes before realizing that I may as well have been playing MW2. Nothing. Has. Changed.The fact that they can get away with this is appalling, but it pisses me off. I played the multiplayer and about 5 minutes of the survival and you know what? It sucks. Don't get it.
  89. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is literally no different that its predecessors; the campaign was a series of narrow corridors full of pop-up cannon fodder, with a dozen explosions a minute trying to keep you from noticing. The multiplayer was even worse, with blatantly imbalanced maps and overpowered weapons in the hands of everyone who played the game before you did. Graphically, it looks like MW2. I'veThis game is literally no different that its predecessors; the campaign was a series of narrow corridors full of pop-up cannon fodder, with a dozen explosions a minute trying to keep you from noticing. The multiplayer was even worse, with blatantly imbalanced maps and overpowered weapons in the hands of everyone who played the game before you did. Graphically, it looks like MW2. I've watched gameplay videos and not known which was which. Nothing new, just the same poor quality as the last 3 years. Do not buy this game. Expand
  90. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This is just another CoD. Nothing new, nothing exciting. Singleplayer is boring as hell (but decently executed, but there are a million shooters out there who do a decent job at singleplayer campaigns) and the multiplayer is just MW 2.5. The baffling thing is that everybody just keeps on buying these updated shooters. Nothing new, so nothing worth spending your hard earned cash on.
  91. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    All I have to say is that; this is a long time coming now. Karma is some **** huh Activision? When you recycle code from hard working people enough times, fire those hard working people, and still just copy their game: THIS happens. Let's hope MW4 never happens, and maybe, just maybe, Activision can scrape what little decency they have left together, and produce a new Infinity Ward IPAll I have to say is that; this is a long time coming now. Karma is some **** huh Activision? When you recycle code from hard working people enough times, fire those hard working people, and still just copy their game: THIS happens. Let's hope MW4 never happens, and maybe, just maybe, Activision can scrape what little decency they have left together, and produce a new Infinity Ward IP (probably will NOT happen, due to Infinity Ward not being Infinity Ward at all any more). Expand
  92. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I'm sorry, but we can't let the companies to charge us 60$ for a DLC, this could be very easy a 20$ expansion to MW2! , Sorry activision i really do but you have to respect your fans and not spit on them :S
  93. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Pas d'innovation pour le mode multijoueur, MW3 est un simple patch de MW2.
    Moteur graphique à la ramasse. Tout comme les messages d'erreur du jeu qui lorsqu'ils pop sur votre écran indique que Modern Warfare 2 à planter...
    Le solo est toujours aussi agréable, explosif!!! et intéressant!, mais toujours aussi court
    Pas d'innovation pour le mode multijoueur, MW3 est un simple patch de MW2.
    Moteur graphique à la ramasse. Tout comme les messages d'erreur du jeu qui lorsqu'ils pop sur votre écran indique que Modern Warfare 2 à planter...

    Le solo est toujours aussi agréable, explosif!!! et intéressant!, mais toujours aussi court malheureusement, j'ai surtout aimé me balader dans plusieurs grandes villes du globe! pour un dépaysement total!

    Je lui met 3/5 pour le solo et 0/5 pour le multijoueur qui est un simple copier coller de MW2.

    Messieurs d'EA arrêtez avec vos sorties annuels, vous allez finir par tuer votre poule aux oeufs d'or.
    Expand
  94. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Another crap CoD rehash, this garbage is killing the gaming industry. When will you retarded publishers stop funding this filth and start promoting innovation in games again?
  95. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    This game was built on rankings; Infinity re invented that process and made it better with each installment of MW. Taking away rankings from PC players on dedicated servers just so they can plug their pay service Elite, is turning there back on the people who made the game a success, the players. With no improvement on the engine the game looks dated and in my opinion, fails to achieveThis game was built on rankings; Infinity re invented that process and made it better with each installment of MW. Taking away rankings from PC players on dedicated servers just so they can plug their pay service Elite, is turning there back on the people who made the game a success, the players. With no improvement on the engine the game looks dated and in my opinion, fails to achieve the vision of the original Infinity founders. I don't know any of any clan members who played the single player campaign since the original MW, so I don't think that is important at this time. Expand
  96. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    just an expensive DLC, didnt change anything.... New concepts seems recycled and boring...

    just another money maker for Activision.
    as a hardcore gamer (and I know im probably a 0.001% of the gaming community)
    Im very disappointed.
    ggbb.
  97. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The job they did for the PC is pitiful. No console to change anything. No way to change the FOV, a 90fps cap and no dedicated servers for ranked games. It's just disgraceful.
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's November again and that means a few things. Cold weather is fast approaching and Thanksgiving is just around the corner. And it's time for our yearly dose of terrible video game from the guys at Activision.

    Where should i start? Oh yes, the fact they've been re-releasing the same game for 4 years now. Now I admit. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare was a great game. Had a good
    It's November again and that means a few things. Cold weather is fast approaching and Thanksgiving is just around the corner. And it's time for our yearly dose of terrible video game from the guys at Activision.

    Where should i start? Oh yes, the fact they've been re-releasing the same game for 4 years now. Now I admit. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare was a great game. Had a good Singleplayer and the multiplayer was fun but slightly off balanced. Then came Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 2. Oh ok the game looks slightly better. It continues the decent story line form the first game. But changed absolutely nothing from the multiplayer. If you look past the Singleplayer it's essentially a 60 dollar patch and map pack for MW1. Then comes this game. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 3. Oh man there are a LOT of problems with this one. The engine. It's starting to show it's age. The graphics are tired and boring and look like the same shades of yellow and brown we got with MW2. The singleplayer is dreadfully short 3-6 hours depending on how skilled you are. The story felt rushed and was poorly written. The price. $60? For a PC game? Are you kidding? 60 dollars for somthing that's pretty much a map pack for MW2? (By the way, this game runs off the same .exe as MW2)

    The multiplayer that was once refreshing and fun is now just boring and stale they haven't added any new features that actually make the game feel new or fresh again. Just the same old run and shoot. Small maps, changed stats on guns etc.

    And you wanna know the worst part about this game? It doesn't even have anything to do with the game. One of the devs on this game a guy by the name of Glen Schofield is virtually pleading for users to come on this site, lie and inflate the user score of his game. This game deserves the user scores it's getting. Don't be mislead by the lies of their fanbase

    This game is a horrible mess and you should never ever ever buy another Call of Duty game.
    Expand
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    we play that game a lot at 2009 now you make it only servers then you call it new game for just more $$.you can make all the new things as DLC for 10$ not new game .I will not lost my money for second time.I hate black ops servers not server in my **** I did't enjoy the online .now i feal the game just copy and paste.even the Grenades saunds like COD2 till now !!
  100. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is horrible, you cant even create ranked custom games so that you can farm xp with your friends then be 12 years old and camp in corners and just win all day. How dumb. Also guys have guns and shoot at you, I need a game where the other players can't shoot back because I'm pretty bad.
  101. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I've been a loyal fan of Call of Duty for more than 10 years. I've played every game in the series and must simply conclude the following about MW3: The biggest disappointment ever in terms of Call of Duty! I enjoyed the singleplayer somewhat (hence I score the game a 2, not a 1), but the multiplayer is simply devastatingly poor on PC. Graphics look at least 5 - 6 years old. Servers areI've been a loyal fan of Call of Duty for more than 10 years. I've played every game in the series and must simply conclude the following about MW3: The biggest disappointment ever in terms of Call of Duty! I enjoyed the singleplayer somewhat (hence I score the game a 2, not a 1), but the multiplayer is simply devastatingly poor on PC. Graphics look at least 5 - 6 years old. Servers are sluggish. Scaled down Elite feature on PC. The multiplayer plays practically identically to MW2 and BlackOps. Why fix something that is not broken you say? Well, somehow I expected more. Much more. Buy Battlefield 3. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. 80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]