User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5484 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Normally Map packs for MW2 cost $15, this one costs 4x that amount and has a bug where your profile will be reset when you buy it. My advice, wait till its in the $5 bargain bin.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Only single player?Nope, sorry.I only giving 1 for MW 2.5.I knew that.They need to change this game, or reviews will be same.We are not BF fanboy, but seriously, they need to change this game.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Feels more like a Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 1.7 Beta Version. Dated graphic and animation, dated gameplay, heavily (and to make it worse) very obviously scripted events, too many cheap death e.g. by falling. On the technical side inconsistent framerate although meeting optimal hardware requirements. Almost feels as playing a low budget shooter e.g. from City Interactive, which only costs a third. So it may be ok to buy it for 20 $, but not the ridiculous high price they want. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Man what a disappointment. Shooting feels weak, maps don't feel right, animations are cluncky. I don't understand how we are suppose to pay more for this when it is clearly not what we promised when pre-ordering. Single-player game is so boring after just a little bit. Multiplayer is horrible with maps feeling cheap and firing your weapon is no fun. It's the same badness on PC and console, just utter crap. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    What a joke. Seriously, this is a map pack for Modern Warfare 2, if that. The multiplayer remains uninspired. COD4 was a classic. Ever since then we've been paying for remakes that contain no innovation. This is a wake-up call to those who continue to buy these games; you're paying $60 a year for an update that should be free.
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I paid an extra $50 for the Hardened edition and all I got was this fake matchbook. Also I lined up for it for four hours and when I got home to play it I thought I had left MW2 in by accident. They're the same thing :(
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    It's COD...it's the Madden of FPS games. Meh, the SP was nice, but didn't like the change in voice actors for Captain price, at least he sounded different, I believe Bill Murray (no not the guy from ghost busters) did the original voice. But honestly what do you expect with he Head of the ORIGINAL Infinity ward is no longer working on the product. (Thanks activision....)
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's the same crap, different day.

    They even recycled content from CoD4 and put it into MW3, they know they don't have to put much work into this, as soon as they put "Call of Duty" on it they know the mindless fanboy sheep will buy it.

    This game is -GARBAGE- and fails by the sheer fact of it's unoriginality, reused content and the same dribble over and over again.
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This is not a new game, this is an expansion. Infinity Ward has cheated on me, making me believe I was buying something different from what I already bought two years ago.

    60â
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    I've seen DLC that has more content than this installment. Professional game reviewers giving this game 80-90 reviews really makes me question the state of the industry. I wouldn't even bother wasting bandwith on the 'download' of this game.
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    could they have at least update their engine? the same quake 3 engine/id tech 3 engine makes this game look rather outdated. cool cut scenes, and explosions. thats about it.
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bought the game. Played it for 2 hours, extreme disappoint. Sent game back to store...The game is just another copy of it's predecessing games, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and Modern Warfare 2. Infact, it's just the two of them fused together to make one bastard child of a game. The story is linear and the writing is terrible, along with the game being so goddamn generic, it's quite unbelievable. The multiplayer is a joke, just good old Modern Warfare (2) jacked up with more useless **** that isn't needed and some absolutely excellent maps to go along with it! /sarcasm. Spec-Ops is back, amazing, who really gives two **** if the game is still **** retarded in terms of game mechanics? As mentioned by many other reviewers, there is no way to change the origins of your guns like you used to be able to so, you're pretty much forced to use the **** origins they give you. And as well, the graphics look quite outdated and boring, switch to another goddamn engine you lazy ****. Terrible bugs from the past games still not fixed and / or made worse with the new additions, great job at coding! So in the end totally predictable ending, shameful game mechanics, previous bugs in the predecessors not fixed or maybe made even worse, and a terrible PC port to boot. Thanks, guys, you really outdid yourselves this time.

    P.S. Battlefield 3 is not much better, so pull your heads out of your asses and play a game that is actually worthwhile.
    Expand
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Im not a fanboy of Battlefield , and also not of call of duty , but the fact is i got all Battlefields and Call of Duty's and i get more and more sick of it, same engine as Call of Duty 2(with some small textures and light updates), dont you really think its not outdated??! i get pissed since MW2 i was a little disappointed there because it wasnt that good anymore like it was in 4 but it was okay but this, pls dont buy any activision titles anymore and for me call of duty is about to die if Respawn interactiv is not picking it up, dice do so much better job then iw and treyarch :/ and the nowaday titels are the best proof for it Expand
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The game has not changed in a major way since CoD4!!!!!

    I was expecting a brand new game, but I was in for a big shock. I wish I could get my money back.
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    What the **** did you all expect? a new and original game? you idiots will keep buying this **** and these guys will keep bringing em out because people are dumb and will pay Ã
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    If any of you folks were considering buying Modern Warfare 3, don't. It's a horrible, embarrassing pile of trash. The game is so bad that it has retroactively eliminated all of the fun I had in the COD franchise since the first game. It's graphically dated, the animations are beyond horrible and the combat sound feels lifted straight out of a free to play browser FPS.

    It's a complete
    embarrassment for a series that despite its naysayers would consistently put out a quality product. It's a marked step down from Modern Warfare 2 and somehow looks worse than it's predecessor. It plays like a Chinese free-to-play knockoff of a Quake game running a second-rate mongoloid-coded Modern Warfare mod. Nothing about this game feels even remotely like a Triple A Call of Duty title. I am physically and emotionally stunned by how bad this game is and feel as though I cannot fully articulate it's badness without resorting to bloodshed. Expand
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I started the campaign on this game today. I beat the first couple of missions and then I realized I had played this game two years ago, and I quit.
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Wow! Horrible game, that's putting it lightly. Trust me, I am no BF fan/troll whatever. I have always been loyal to the CoD series, but after this release of garbage, I won't buy another one. It's like they just copied everything from MW2 and added new maps. Might as well call it a DLC for MW2! The sounds are horrible, sound like something out of Sega Genesis time frame. I actually like Black Ops better than this release. At least in BO you had RANKED dedicated servers, free stats, graphics were not too bad. In MW3 there are so many flat surfaces....a lot of linear....and gray. Washed out and horrible port. InfinityWard and anyone associated with the release of this on PC should be ashamed. This is not why I have a nice gaming rig! Save your money, or at least rent before buying. IWNet plain out stinks. Expand
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Dead franchise won't die I said black ops would be my last cod game I purchase cuz it was rip off but I anyway gave mw3 try and I regretted fully same game copy and past overall game look like **** 60 $ for dlc comon guys kids getting milked hard if u new to cod games u might like it but if you real fps gamer I would reccomend you to stay away from mw3.
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Wow, this game is the same thing, over and over again. MP offers zero competition. 10 year old kids might enjoy this game, but other than that? Steer clear.
  21. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    For a Call of Duty 1, United Offensive, Finest Hour, 2, 3, 4 and WaW fan, Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3, you got to call it some slack, even though it's the same, it's kind of fun with the diverse perks. There were MAJOR problems with the game when I saw it thought. Same as before, Modern Warfare 3 failed to provide a deep impact into my gaming career, and such, I decided to throw is aside like Black Ops (Should be called Deniable Operations), and Modern Warfare 2.

    Singleplayer: They pulled a McDeath, literally. The storyline did not have much connection with MW2, and the style were REALLY repetitive. I defiantly HATE the direction call of duty's storyline is headed. They need to start putting characters that feel like part of a brotherhood, like Call of Duty 1 (All expansions, ESPECIALLY Finest Hour), 2 and 3. The storyline was way too easy, it had to be like Finest Hour difficulty to provide a emotional relief and happiness to realize you accomplished something. The thing that punched me was the flow of carelessness that went into the story, it was like something hastily made, chewed up, and regurgitated. They need to bring back WORLD WAR 2, not WORLD WAR 3. Bring back reality, the emotional stories of Stalinglad, or make a story in WORLD WAR 1, heck, forget World War 3, it did not happen, it breaks the traditional sense, and it DESTROYS the purpose of storyline in combat, for honor and glory, not for revenge. The second part is that it was mostly run and gun, no stealth, no support, no battle in front lines as a normal soldier, just a super soldier who runs and guns everything.

    Multiplayer: Downright copy from Modern Warfare 2 with guns that seemed to be just skinned with different sound clips. Don't get me wrong fanboys, I like they actually did something. They added New perks, gameplay styles, and guns. Still, they have same graphics(Really don't care), same achievement easy-go-lucky style I hate, and mostly, unbalanced gameplay. One person gets lucky, everyone else in enemy team is screwed. The achievement system, it felt like too easy, like they were spoonfeeding you, unlike Call of Duty 1, where you work as a team, and once you destroy that freaking Panzer Tank, your teammates felt almost like warriors of god, destroying everything in your wake.

    Improvements: Next time, go to World War I and II, go to the past PLEASE.
    Make a new system that is improvement to Call of Duty 1 or 2.
    And finally, make balanced kill streaks that strategize yet keep with the fast-paced action.
    Singleplayer? MAKE IT REALISTIC, like a soldier in the front lines fighting with comrades... like STALINGRAD COMRADES!

    CHARRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGEEEEEEEE!
    Expand
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I don't know what I was thinking. Oh, yeah I do I thought huh, I'll buy this game and it will be a refreshing, fun multiplayer experience. Uh-uh, it's a steaming pile of Activision excrement from a few years ago repackaged. It looks like it did years ago, plays like it did years ago, and I wish I could go back in time and convince myself not to buy it. Spend your $60 on something else people.
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I had the luck to play on every console and pc they all blow.but on pc it was so cheaply ported that its disgusting. does anyone care about pc gamers anymore? well infinity ward does not. call of duty doesn't deserve the crown of fps shooters. look at all the amazing fps shooters out their they might not me amazing
    but they put effort in their games. this games needs to grow up and face
    reality that they will not be the highest grossing fps title if they keep this up. Collapse
  24. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    It's a DLC for MW2, what else can I say. It's fun, dont get me wrong, but come on...
    I am going to return it and get some other game. Not worth my money, it's really insulting.
  25. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Terrible game, i couldn't believe it, i am shocked as a loyal fan to be given this effortless game. this was so boring and to add to it far too short. multilayer is aim, nothing has Benn revolutionized.
  26. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    Modern Warfare 3, i was waiting for it, and now i see, the same as Modern Warfare 2, without Nuke and **** " point streaks " come on point streaks ? Just a waste of time and money, i am a big fan of Call of Duty and because of this my score is 4.0. I really hope that activision update de game with killstreaks and some graphics
  27. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    I'am completly disappointed. Why ? Because MW3 is very similar to MW2. And both these games are much worse than MW1 (2007). Now is .... 2011 so I expected something better. It is my last CoD. Sorry .... Waste of money.
  28. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    same cod experience as the last two modern warfares, same storyline same action same buildings....
    http://www.finallevel.co.uk/2011/11/08/infinity-ward-recycle-buildings-on-mw3-straight-from-cod-4/

    also extreamily short single player, finished in one sitting.

    made fatal mistake of getting this on pc so i cant even trade it in.fail.
  29. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Same old story.
    Why is this not a dlc ? And why is this the only game on PC that cost 60 euro. I have all the other COD´s.
    i give it 1, because i think they are cheating people for money. a good thing is new maps.
  30. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This is by far the biggest pile of trash I have installed on my PC. The graphics actually look worse than MW2 because Activision decided that console ports will make them richer. I believe they pay critics big $$ to give good reviews. The joke of a campaign can be completed with hardly any effort since it is a roller-coaster on rails, and mulitplayer deserves no mention at all. Unfortunately once you have seen this game, you cannot unsee it and will have to live with the bitter taste that cost $60. Expand
  31. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    Having already got Modern Warfare 2, tried MW 3 at a friends house and found no difference between Modern Warfare 3 and previous releases. It's practically took elements from COD 4 and MW2, and just edited the killstreaks and has new levels. It's not a new game at all, and does not warrant it's price tag. Same gameplay, graphics look the same, nothing unique. A total con in my opinion.
  32. Nov 9, 2011
    3
    This franchise is a total disgrace from it's roots. After COD 4 it has gone straight down hill. This use to be the best modable game for FPS shooters.. it's now no skills needed run and gun and die on the smallest maps you ever seen.. terrible DLC looking games being released as FULL over priced games on a yearly basis. They need to fire the whole lot and get back to what made the series popular.. community mods and servers with actual content and cutting edge additions. You can sell ferilizer all day at the flower shop markets..looks like fertilizer is now sold daily in the video game market as well. Wait a few years and see if they return to their senses. Expand
  33. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    this game is really good and i am good at this game and the campaign is really good and i love the guns but the AK 47 it is really not that good.i would love to have them to make a mw4 and all my friends play this game and idk y everybody is calling this game so bad like are u bad?
  34. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Well, at least I'm not the only IDIOT that got duped into buying a $60 game that should have been released in 2001. Same sh!t different toilet if you ask me. MW3 makes Black Ops look like a great game. The story in SP is average. MP is just horrible and the graphics are just so poor that i feel i can run this game on my tablet. BORING BORING BORING. I played every COD/MW game that has been release and I dont think I have ever been disappointed over any of their games WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THIS GAME. Back to playing BF3!! Expand
  35. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I was a big cod fan... I was desperate about but gave them another chance. and activision ruined it...If it was released in ... ok, nice game with very good graphics and new gameplay etc. but now almost 7 years later.. it's crap, if you compare it to other games and you should, cause that's concuration. But the biggest fail of them is to say it's a new game, instead of just a **** DLC. 60 euroms and 5 for every month to use elite-.-.. It's the same game as mw2 with new maps. Even the new maps have recycled buildings comming straight from cod4. They are so lazy. I will never fall in this again. All my friends told me but i would them another chance and they ruined it. My friends are right. These people don't deserve the money. F*CK activision. Look for example to DICE and Valve. They care for their comunity and LISTEN to the feedback. Not like this cheepy ass developers which earn milions and do nothing with it. Expand
  36. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This is not what a PC FPS should be like. Activision still fails to deliver to the PC players. IWNET matchmaking failed miserably in MW2, and in 2 years Activision did not manage to understand and answer to the PC community, not one little bit. Unranked dedis are like a slap in the face, since the actual multiplayer mechanics have not changed at all. The graphics engine is ancient, and i mean really ancient. It looks exactly the same as its predecessors, because the engine is the exact same one. Fancier skins and textures don't help with that. I believe Activision will actually continue to release games based on that outdated engine as long as x360 and ps3 exist together with the idiots who buy them and this product... so, congratulations, there will be no innovation and technological progress in the coming years, guaranteed for by every individual who spent money on this. The one thing that really astonishes me though, is that they still release such PC gamer insulting software on the PC... PC gamers really hate Activisions guts for every COD after Modern Warfare 1. If they bother to release on the PC, why is it so hard to understand that players want the multiplayer experience of Modern Warfare 1, with DEDIs AND RANKs together... are they really that retarded? Expand
  37. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    First off, I am absolutely OUTRAGED that EA have decided to sell this MW2 Map Pack for $59.99! This release clearly demonstrates that NO progress has been made since the release of COD4: Modern Warfare. The same recycled gameplay for both Single & Multiplayer, the usual cliche story line and the same exhausted game engine. This game is bland to say the least, it lacks any flavor at all and this just proves that FPS gameplay has collectively hit a great and impenetrable wall. Expand
  38. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    You cant give the game a 0.....but you cant give the game anything more than a 5 either. I question the "professional" reviewers and their integrity by awarding this game so highly. At its best its a map pack for MW2. Only buy this game if you after the exact experience you have had for entire MW series. I actually look back and think that MW1 was superior to this entry. It was exciting and fresh. The maps on this are poorly designed and small. It encourages sub machine gun run and shoot play only. The spawn points are just awful. The only people giving this game high reviews are fan boys who dont understand gaming. I will say its a prefessional package and put together with quality.....but the developers should be good at this by now.....they have done it three times in a row. Expand
  39. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    No lean. Second citizen pc gamer. As you can see you have lost the pc gamer. First cod I have not bought going back to the beginning. Reminds me of the automakers before they failed. Hubris and arogance.
  40. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Single Player is short and mediocre. Multiplayer just fells different in a very bad way. In every other CoD when I would die in Multiplayer I would feel like I made my own mistake, but in this game, it just feels like the game rips you off at least 75% of the time. Spawning blows too.
  41. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    What a piece of ****
    It's just a copy Of MW2!
    Same graphics,same extremely outdated engine,almost the same multiplayer,short and lame singleplayer.
    The console peasants might be pleased with this but i am not!
  42. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Copy pasta console portage. No thanks. I think it's time this franchise moves on and evolves into something more than a vehicle for map packs. it's sad to see such a storied franchise be run into the ground by greed.
  43. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible. Need I say more? This is a 59.99 map pack for MW2 with some bonus campaign content, an over hyped online add on, and garbage multiplayer maps.
  44. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    @GlenSchofield asked his followers to come here and give a proper review to this game so here goes.

    Modern Warfare 3 is what I consider to be the Fifa of shooters, however, despite this being a disgusting cut and paste of Modern Warfare 2 they have neglected to fix the problems that everyone brought up during the previous games.

    This game is a blatant cash grab, the single player lasted
    around three hours, of that about half were cut scenes trying to get the person to really feel some kind of emotion but just seemed to create nothing but cheesy scenes that make the consumer laugh. They pulled off a 'shock campaign' in MW2 and they attempted to do it again, I'm sorry activision, controversy only gets you so far when you're putting out a reused game.

    The most depressing part about this game however is the fact it sold well, it sold ridiculously well which when it comes down to it, is all that matters.

    Activision will learn nothing from this, will neglect to read the reviews, and next year put out the exact same product with a different name next year to rake in the money.
    Expand
  45. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    The only positive thing I have to say about this game is that it runs smoothly. Beyond that I feel as if I just paid 60 dollars for an expansion pack of rehashed content on new maps. The campaign is exactly what you'd expect from a cod game, completely linear with something crazy happening every 5 minutes to keep this ADD generations attention. Multiplayer removes wager matches and brings nothing new to the table. I think people need to avoid the next COD entry as a way of telling them it's time to innovate. I was a huge fan of the original COD and COD2 but am finally losing interest as they're going downhill due to their belief that they can sell the same rehashed game ever year and no one will ever get bored. Expand
  46. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    Technically sub par with severely overrated gameplay and missing platform features.

    That sums up Call of Duty experience on the PC. The franchise is a technology dinosaur when it comes to the FPS genre, especially on the PC which hasn't stayed the same since 2007's release of the console centric Modern Warfare. It doesn't set the bar, in fact it's behind the curve significantly, and if
    you're a PC gamer it's going to be instantly noticeable and painful. Painful because of how much of a bad console port it truly is. Elite service is missing outright. Ranked dedicated servers don't exist. It's back to console technology of peer-to-peer multiplayer networking. No advanced graphical technology or redesigned anything for increased player counters either.

    PC gamers should really not have to accept such things especially in a genre that was born on the PC. Continuing to purchase Call of Duty on the PC when every year the games lose more features for the PC platform specifically isn't going to change anything. Quit buying awful console ports with missing features PC gamers or else that's all you're going to have in the end. Support developers who incorporate the PC's strengths and are willing to go the extra couple of feet with multiplatform releases. 5: It functions and decent production values. It does nothing new, missing features, and significantly behind other competitors out there.
    Expand
  47. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Poopy. sp is short, it's a mix of shooting gallery scenes and uncontrollable in-game cinematics that took me the short side of an afternoon to play ALL the way through 1st time. Graphics are on par with cod4. And that's maxed out on a PC. MP is ruined by IWNET again. I hope activision doesn't pay you again. Your fault for developing that crappy game. LOVING all the zeros on this board. a 1.5/10 is too high though. They've made their money though sadly. I'm all about mw and usually a bf hater. But everyone go get bf3 instead. and if you want mw, get the 1st one cause it's the best. pretty soon i'm gonna immerse myself in a REAL game for months and not have to think about this crap anymore. Bring on skyrim! Expand
  48. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Terrible Terrible rehash of the same game they've released over and over again. Bad graphics, bad gameplay (well, bad now because there's nothing new or exciting, if I wanted this I would have played MW1), bad sound (in comparison to current new releases). Just bad all around. Plus the fact that it costs more than other A list titles... I'm sorry but stay well away from this one.
  49. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    change the campaign, add some perks, and add some maps to MW 2 and you get MW 3. Stop selling the same crap back to us and start investing in ideas that are fresh, innovative and redefining.
  50. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Same, same, same..... i think it would be better that you did the mw2 expansion set... too short campaign and same graphics, same maps for multiplayer... you could do this 2 years ago... infinity ward, you did fire the wrong persons 2 years ago... do something new pls...
  51. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    So, tis the season for another Call of Duty game. Last years Black Ops was a hit, i enjoyed it thoroughly, the multiplayer levels had space, and were entertaining. Although Black Ops was good in its own ways, Modern Warfare 2 was the company's best hit. I rushed out at 11:45pm on November 7th, spilling my change on the counter, drooling over the package itself. After i pop it in, that drool puddle seemed to turn into sweat, being so nervous that this was a flop. Don't get me wrong, the campaign had its high-points after the jumbled ala-carte 30% mark, it just did not leave a lasting impression. I beat the campaign in four hours give or take. The multiplayer i was hoping would rescue this title from the growing shadow of its older brother MW2. The level design on is cramped. I find no creativity in the levels, or even depth the levels should add to the basic gameplay. No, i was fully let down by this game. Decent Campaign, Not enough creativity, or new additions to please me. Sorry Infinity ward, but you guys let me down. Expand
  52. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    awesome game i ever played .no battlefield 3,4,5,even 6 will comapred with game .single player story is awesome i love call of duty series.love u activision thanksssssssssssssssssssssssss. i give it 100 % no
  53. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    It's just an over-hyped update for an old game, not a new game you would expect. It looks and feels more or less the same as CoD: Black Ops, and is more an arcade point-and-shoot game rather than a tactical shooter. It is a very entertaining game, though... for the first half an hour.
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Only thing good I can say about MW3 is it is was on Steam with free CoD4! Other than that this game is a spoof. Low res textures everywhere, worst AI and same game without a feeling!

    I liked MW. It was a great game. Played MW2, it still was somewhat good but lost the feel a bit. For MW3, all that is totally gone and game is nothing but a recycled trash.

    Finished it in 3 hours! Basically
    a DLC with a big big price tag on it.

    And surprise! There is another one coming in 2012! Wow!

    Do not spend your hard earned money on a garbage like that.
    Expand
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    My NON PAID REVIEW NOW.The Same Game You've Been Playing For Years, Lack of Innovation, horrible graphics for 2011 and the fact that it ruins the gaming industry(cause everyone is trying to copy it cause it sells like hotcakes ruining some of the best franchises in the process ) makes me want to punch the developers of the last 5 cod games in the face.
  56. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    First off, I generally only play RPG or simulation games. However, I tried my hand at MW1 a couple years ago and fell in love with it (and the same can be said of WM2). I've never dabbed with the multiplayer, because that generally doesn't interest me - in any game. The single player part of MW3 though is superlative. As was the case with MW1 & 2, I was completely blown away by the production values of the game, the story, the insight into a world rarely talked about, the graphics, sound effects...well, as I said; the production on this series is phenomenal. There are those who speak of there being very little in the way of innovation, but this is sorely mistaken. From MW1 to MW3, it simply gets better with each new title and the fact that the standard of quality is so high is remarkable.

    The reviews that are offering a '0' are clearly a bi-product of this trend on the internet that convinces people to be abhorrent, in the hope that they too might feel special and important. Go ahead and check out their other ratings. You'll see them rating Battlefield with a 10 and COD (on all 3 platforms) with a 0. It is inane. Irrational, and it is a pathetic attempt to feel entitled.

    Modern Warfare 3 is a fantastic game. I know it. They know it. And when you play it, you'll know it too.
    Expand
  57. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    If you play any Call of Duty titles you've played this game as well. Ill start with the single player which seems to be the only "new" part added to the game. Unfortunately its the same as other fps games. It took me less than three hours to finish the campaign which is nothing more than a run of the mill story that was somewhat hard for me to follow at times. You have the same infinitely spawning enemies that try to kill you before you and your team reaches the objective which just leads to a somewhat dull story telling experience. But in the end 98% of people don't buy the game for the story they buy it for the countless hours of multilayer enjoyment that we all come to love with modern games. Sadly I just don't feel they delivered what we all were expecting when this game was being hyped up. Its the same graphics same sound and unfortunately the same feel as the past two games just with a new name and a brand new game price tag slapped on a box. But it is a structurally solid game and I haven't encountered may bugs that cant be attributed to release day bugs but I just cant get past it having the EXACT same feel as the past two games had. For me this feels like nothing more than a glorified map pack that has been polished a bit and I for one refuse to give a developer credit for what I consider lazy and unoriginal work. Expand
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    This is basically a map pack for MW2. I really regret paying £39 for this pile of junk.. With the previous debacle on lack of dedicated servers I was in two minds whether to buy this or not. Having read the reviews I decided to give it a go and it was a mistake. For starters the graphics and the engine are really starting to show their age. Having also purchased BF3 (no I am not a fan boy) there is a stark difference in the quality of the graphics that is almost emabarrising. The same applies to the sound.

    Secondly the game just feels like an add on for MW2... the weapons feel the same, the whole package feels very similar. Overall this feels to me like they are milking gamers. With such a high selling franchise why haven't they moved this to a more up to date engine? Having made so much money off of this cash cow surely they are in the best position to do this.

    On the plus side the new awards system is a good idea in that it doesn't just focus on kill streaks... that's about it.

    I really don't understand the mag reviews giving this 90%'s etc...
    Expand
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can't believe I wasted $50 on another copy of Modern Warfare 2. SPOILER: It is exactly the same formula as has been seen in the last two games, and if anything isn't as good as them, as i thoroughly enjoyed those games, and this one is just pathetic. Expand
  60. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    It is stunning to see how much kids are being used as a marketing tool by game developers nowadays while having the idea that they are actually voicing their own opinion. When you have been gaming for a few decenia like I have this is a very troubling development to observe and I hope it is one that will end soon, however I am fearful the opposite might actually be true and this is just the beginning of an actual movement of marketeers influencing kids into thinking they have but one choice when it comes to a certain type of game. Every big release seems to be positioned opposite a different game of the same genre and even before they have been released a battle of words ensues on the internet as to whose game is better, more advanced or prettier and of course the ever present used-so-often-it-lost-all-its-meaning "fanboy" crops up in every other sentence. What you guys need to realize is that you are not fighting your own battle, you are actively involved in the marketing of a product and are willfully doing the job someone normally gets paid to do. You are not living in world where you need to chose between drinks, books, games, etc. You do not live in an either/or world. You can drink Coke AND Pepsi, you can wear Levis AND Dockers, you can eat Big Macs AND Whoppers, you can read Harry Potter AND War and Peace, watch The Shield AND The Wire, you can play Dark Souls AND Skyrim, CoD AND BF, etc. It is baffling to read 'reviews' on this site and at the same time be 100% certain the persons who wrote them did not play the game they're reviewing for 1 second but are actively repeating the same lines that have been said over and over again for hundreds of such 'reviews' in a row. The actual lines put into their mouths by the "other company" trying to outshine their competitors. I want metacritic to reflect the opinion of people playing a game and providing me with insight into their experience again, just as it used to be. What I do not want is to read hundreds of nerd-rage fuelled marketing stooges supporting one developer or another not being aware that their fueling of the fire is actualy equivelant to putting money in their pockets. Stop it, now! Expand
  61. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Nothing new here but still a hell of a lot of fun as with all the other CoD's. Ignore the user reviews and make up your own mind. It was never supposed to be a new game but rather a game that's obviously based on a formula that works.
  62. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Well, talk about a disappointment. Will not make the mistake of buying another COD game...They repackage the same BS in every iteration. What is the damn point to buying this? Why do we need a new COD game EVERY year??? Repetitive, derivative, and stale. PASS.
  63. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I really wish I could give this game a good review, but I cant. Im really sick of having to buy the same game over and over. Sure this game is slightly fresh but i feel like im playing the same game. If you've been playing COD for a long time it's really the same game with a different name. If you've never played COD before and you like FPS games then you will probably enjoy this game. Otherwise this game is really just another way for the franchise to squeeze more and more money out of consumers. Not sure why I bought this game. It was probably because I have always been a fan of COD, but this is really too much. I think there might be ulterior motives for the distributors due to the amount of re-masking and re-releasing the same game. I feel bad for the developers who have probably been impeded from improving the engine because the distributors realized that making a new name with the same engine without improvements is a major cash cow. Anyways, I hate to sound like another one of these BF3 guys but I have been extremely surprised and amazed with BF3. I've never been a fan of BF series but even release day of MW3 i stopped to play BF3 and didnt even realize how much fun I was having without COD. I would recommend to anyone to check both games out and make your own decision, but it should be pretty clear which game you should really get if you do the research and test both out properly. Thank you DICE for such a great game, you have turned one more COD player into a BF player! Activison... shame on you for ruining COD. You greedy jerks prevent developers like Infinity Ward from making substantial changes worth my $59.99. Expand
  64. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Shield. Enough said. Plus more options this time around to be a team player. A very high risk, high reward multiplayer game which can be frustrating at times, but I love it.
  65. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    It's Call of Duty! If you like Call of Duty, then you'll like Call of Duty! Sure it looks and feels the same but, Hello???? IT"S CALL OF DUTY!!!!!!! If you want something different, buy something different. If you want the best Online Mulitplayer Experience then look no further!!!! Call of Duty has the largest fan base of any other video game!!! Buy this game, you won't regret it!!!!
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Played cod 4 and was pleasantly surprised by the story and atmosphere. Had a go on this and hate it. its like a dodgy remake of a classic film which never works second time round.
    in brief: short and revamped story, badly dated console graphics, no vehicles or damage therefore sniper have a field day, and a console friendly cramped multiplayer. And last of all, NO DINOSAURS.
    All pc
    gamers, let's get this turged pile of commercial pooh as low a score as possible.
    Am surprised console gamers are giving it low scores
    Expand
  67. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I was originally waiting until Christmas to play this and but was given it as an early present and I must say it is easily the best of the series... unlike its predecessor, the multiplayer is now finely balanced and the stupid fun of the solo campaign has been taken to new heights and in a game fun should always be taken into consideration unlike certain other po-faced FPS 'battles'. To top it off is the vastly improved Spec Ops co-op that is now fine-tuned to be an equally enjoyable solo experience to the campaign with Survival discovering how to balance solo and co-op where Zombies et al could not.
    People may argue that the game runs on an old engine but briefly ignoring the fact that this is a very nice-looking game with a silky smooth 60FPS: since when have engines been the be-all and end-all of a game's success... Ocarina of Time 3D is still one of the best games of the year despite running on an engine from a decade ago so that cant be a detrimental factor to MW3.....
    The highlight of the series and the most fun I've had with an FPS since Portal 2 (and there have been many in between you'll all note) :)
    Expand
  68. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Linear campaign? Duh! CoD campaign was linear everytime since the first CoD. Screenplay? Can you tell me just one CoD where script was elaborate and logical? What else... graphics? Honestly, I don´t give a crap about it, MW3 has good graphics, it´s not stunning as BF3, yes, I admire, but it´s sufficent and ok. I like the campaign, I wasn´t bored a minute of those 6-7 hours ( yes, 6-7 hours, not 3 hours.. guys, if you are playing on nOOb difficulty, you can expect that, I played on "hardened"). Summary? I don´t regret every single CZK ( I am from Czech republic, mission in Prague was quite funny) I payed for this game. Now, I am gonna spend next 120 hours in MP. 126 hours of fun and entertainment for 60 dollars?? I can spend 60 dollars at one night (6 hours) in the club for christ sake!! Expand
  69. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Call of duty Modern Warfare never change. Same graphic, Same sound effect, Same writing.
    All the story of the series contain at least one death(teammate) with slow motion, And a real bad guy to kill in the end. Finally the USA and British win the war.
    The graphic never improve from cod4, they use the same engine (repair,upgrade..etc) as always. The graphic of this game(MW3) is quite bad
    and the graphic of PC or XBOX360 is the same. IW just copy the X360 version to the PC. Sometimes the rolling speed of your mouse just increase in a few seconds and you make several 360° turn. The bullet of a magazine is just texture. The "box magazine" problem in E3 is not solved. They just add a texture on it.
    And the guns, the model is as good as IW. Massive number of rails, holes, letters... something like that. It fools you the model is very good, but if you focus on the models, you will discover the model is terrible. Such as all the cooling holes are texture. It is funny that the russian is still using AK47 at 2016. (The AK47 with a M4-Style Stock and Rail and Laser...Etc..I used to call is IW47)
    The multiplayer also never change. Real compact maps, People shoot with recoil-less guns, Killstreaks. It is better if they call is Call Of Duty MW2.5 or Call Of Duty DLC: After the story.
    Expand
  70. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's just the same recycled formula since the last few games. You could might as well get MW2.
    I highly advise you not to buy this game for it will just be the same unbalanced **** and boring story since the last.
  71. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    It looks and plays pretty much EXACTLY the same as 2009's Modern Warfare 2, even the menus, sound effects, and buildings have been recycled from MW2. I feel extremely disappointed, the campaign and single player were shorter and barely better than MW2. Do not fall for the hype for this game, this game should have been a 15 dollar expansion for MW2, charging 60 for this should be a crime.
  72. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Just countering the BF3 review-bombers... This game is NOT worthy of this low score. How would you BF3 fanboys like it if the MW3 fanboys started review bombing your 'precious' BF3!
  73. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 3 is a game which doesn't impress with best graphics or realistic destruction like in Battlefield 3, but if you know whats Mw3 really means, then you don't need good graphics. Mw3 is a fantastic game with a lot of new ideas and of course a lot of action :)
  74. Nov 15, 2011
    1
    Wtf with the guys that gives mw3 a good score??!! Are u guys being payed by activision? The game sucks! Period! 1. Short SP 2. Graphics (dont get me started about that) 3. No new features (just the same **** on a different day) 4. Its a Mappack for MW2 5. MP maps are horrible set 6. They got billions of dollars and came with the same engine as mw1! Was a huge huge fan of COD but now........ Nuff said! Expand
  75. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Same old engine. Dated graphics, incredibly washed textures, DX9. Just another poor console port for PCs.

    This is not MW3, just MW 2 1/2.

    Is obvious that the reviews in some PC sites are paid.
  76. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    This game is always the same no change, Activion mocks us. For this price the game is completely useless. in 2011 he could get out a better game, but not he prefers to release a game every month!
  77. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Fan of FPS, I tried the adventure Call of Duty for the first time. Which disappointment. A game(set,play) of another age, gameplay complétement to see again(to revise). The campaign(countryside) complétement invalid(useless). I am nevertheless a big person(main part) to gamer, but then there, it is direct in opportunity(occasion) ha thin, impossible with steam has to avoid. Expand
  78. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    $60 for the same game for four years... The same style of Gameplay... The campaign is cliched and has now become boring... The multiplayer is too predictable... Once u have gotten familiar with the map its boring... For eg u can actually guess that some guy will come out of the pathway on the next turn.. or u can guess there is atleast 1 sniper on a particular spot.. what i am saying is the maps are too small and few... Not like BF3 where everything is huge and destructible where no two matches are exactly the same and u can never predict where the enemy is.. even though BF3's campaign is bad, the multiplayer alone blows COD MW3 or any COD for that matter, out of the water..
    The appeal of COD has gone since COD MW2 and nowadays ppl buy coz their friend bought it... Dont waste ur hard earned money and join the bandwagon
    Expand
  79. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I borrowed this from a friend for about a good 30 minutes before realizing that I may as well have been playing MW2. Nothing. Has. Changed.The fact that they can get away with this is appalling, but it pisses me off. I played the multiplayer and about 5 minutes of the survival and you know what? It sucks. Don't get it.
  80. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This is just another CoD. Nothing new, nothing exciting. Singleplayer is boring as hell (but decently executed, but there are a million shooters out there who do a decent job at singleplayer campaigns) and the multiplayer is just MW 2.5. The baffling thing is that everybody just keeps on buying these updated shooters. Nothing new, so nothing worth spending your hard earned cash on.
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is literally no different that its predecessors; the campaign was a series of narrow corridors full of pop-up cannon fodder, with a dozen explosions a minute trying to keep you from noticing. The multiplayer was even worse, with blatantly imbalanced maps and overpowered weapons in the hands of everyone who played the game before you did. Graphically, it looks like MW2. I've watched gameplay videos and not known which was which. Nothing new, just the same poor quality as the last 3 years. Do not buy this game. Expand
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    All I have to say is that; this is a long time coming now. Karma is some **** huh Activision? When you recycle code from hard working people enough times, fire those hard working people, and still just copy their game: THIS happens. Let's hope MW4 never happens, and maybe, just maybe, Activision can scrape what little decency they have left together, and produce a new Infinity Ward IP (probably will NOT happen, due to Infinity Ward not being Infinity Ward at all any more). Expand
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I'm sorry, but we can't let the companies to charge us 60$ for a DLC, this could be very easy a 20$ expansion to MW2! , Sorry activision i really do but you have to respect your fans and not spit on them :S
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Pas d'innovation pour le mode multijoueur, MW3 est un simple patch de MW2.
    Moteur graphique à la ramasse. Tout comme les messages d'erreur du jeu qui lorsqu'ils pop sur votre écran indique que Modern Warfare 2 à planter...

    Le solo est toujours aussi agréable, explosif!!! et intéressant!, mais toujours aussi court
    malheureusement, j'ai surtout aimé me balader dans plusieurs grandes villes du globe! pour un dépaysement total!

    Je lui met 3/5 pour le solo et 0/5 pour le multijoueur qui est un simple copier coller de MW2.

    Messieurs d'EA arrêtez avec vos sorties annuels, vous allez finir par tuer votre poule aux oeufs d'or.
    Expand
  85. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Another crap CoD rehash, this garbage is killing the gaming industry. When will you retarded publishers stop funding this filth and start promoting innovation in games again?
  86. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Generic cash cow for Activision coming out yearly now. I remember when Call of Duty took more than 9 months for a "new" game. Really the game mechanics haven't changed since CoD4. Every year it is like a DLC pack that becomes the next game except this DLC costs $50 every time.
  87. Xem
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Big fan of COD4, this new one disapoint me, the lack of dedicated server from MW2 is still here, Activision don't listend what we say and what we need !
    It's just the same **** as before with a new name and they attempt us to be happy? Well, i think it's better to burn your money than buy this, at least you can enjoy the beautifull smoke comming out from the bill !

    a big 0 for me, if negative rating were allowed it would be -10 !
    Expand
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    My MW3 experience: Installed, started multiplayer, played for 30 minutes, quit, went back to playing Minecraft. that should sum up everything you need to know about MW3. The best way to describe it is a map pack for MW2 with some bugs thrown in.
    Campaign: continuation of MW2, same style, script twists, endings. gets pretty boring
    Multiplayer: maps are small, spawn right next to an
    enemy, die, respawn next to another one, etc, the lack of ranked dedicated servers is a huge let down.
    every review I read or heard, all the videos leading up to the release, the dev interviews, made this game sound like it was going to blow away MW2 and BF3, well...
    I'm gonna go ahead and just say it, after all the hype, I'm voting this to be the most disappointing game of all time.
    Sticking with BF3.
    Expand
  89. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    This game was built on rankings; Infinity re invented that process and made it better with each installment of MW. Taking away rankings from PC players on dedicated servers just so they can plug their pay service Elite, is turning there back on the people who made the game a success, the players. With no improvement on the engine the game looks dated and in my opinion, fails to achieve the vision of the original Infinity founders. I don't know any of any clan members who played the single player campaign since the original MW, so I don't think that is important at this time. Expand
  90. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    EXACTLY THE SAME AS PREVIOUS GAME. If you want to play this game's multiplayer, just play MW2 or even MW1. You are not missing much, except singleplayer and you know how to resolve that. How about put in so effort and develop a newer gaming experience? Some Devs are just shameless, churning out same stuffs every year. Wasted $60, and the last $ they will ever see if this game don't change. No preorder next time. Expand
  91. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The campaign is one of the greatest in game history.
    The graphics are overdated little bit but still glorious.
    The sounds and the atmosphere is wonderful as expected.
    The multiplayer is real fun.
    Of course it has some negative sides too.
    But all 0(zero) reviewers on here are bf fanboys.
    My real note is 9 but I give 10 coz of bf fanboys keeping to give it 0
  92. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I'll give them two points for continuing their tried and true formula, but nothing more as that's all they've done here. They just put mw2 in a new box. $60 + $7/month for new maps and perks but nothing new in terms of gameplay or graphics? No thanks. Save your money folks. If you have cod4 than what's the point of this? Not a new game
  93. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    just an expensive DLC, didnt change anything.... New concepts seems recycled and boring...

    just another money maker for Activision.
    as a hardcore gamer (and I know im probably a 0.001% of the gaming community)
    Im very disappointed.
    ggbb.
  94. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The job they did for the PC is pitiful. No console to change anything. No way to change the FOV, a 90fps cap and no dedicated servers for ranked games. It's just disgraceful.
  95. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Oh No! COD4 again! Same Multiplayer Again! This is like a DLC! Same multiplayer with new maps only!
    Nothing new and Black Ops is light years better!
    Please Activision.. Fix This! This is a shame!
  96. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's November again and that means a few things. Cold weather is fast approaching and Thanksgiving is just around the corner. And it's time for our yearly dose of terrible video game from the guys at Activision.

    Where should i start? Oh yes, the fact they've been re-releasing the same game for 4 years now. Now I admit. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare was a great game. Had a good
    Singleplayer and the multiplayer was fun but slightly off balanced. Then came Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 2. Oh ok the game looks slightly better. It continues the decent story line form the first game. But changed absolutely nothing from the multiplayer. If you look past the Singleplayer it's essentially a 60 dollar patch and map pack for MW1. Then comes this game. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 3. Oh man there are a LOT of problems with this one. The engine. It's starting to show it's age. The graphics are tired and boring and look like the same shades of yellow and brown we got with MW2. The singleplayer is dreadfully short 3-6 hours depending on how skilled you are. The story felt rushed and was poorly written. The price. $60? For a PC game? Are you kidding? 60 dollars for somthing that's pretty much a map pack for MW2? (By the way, this game runs off the same .exe as MW2)

    The multiplayer that was once refreshing and fun is now just boring and stale they haven't added any new features that actually make the game feel new or fresh again. Just the same old run and shoot. Small maps, changed stats on guns etc.

    And you wanna know the worst part about this game? It doesn't even have anything to do with the game. One of the devs on this game a guy by the name of Glen Schofield is virtually pleading for users to come on this site, lie and inflate the user score of his game. This game deserves the user scores it's getting. Don't be mislead by the lies of their fanbase

    This game is a horrible mess and you should never ever ever buy another Call of Duty game.
    Expand
  97. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    we play that game a lot at 2009 now you make it only servers then you call it new game for just more $$.you can make all the new things as DLC for 10$ not new game .I will not lost my money for second time.I hate black ops servers not server in my **** I did't enjoy the online .now i feal the game just copy and paste.even the Grenades saunds like COD2 till now !!
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is horrible, you cant even create ranked custom games so that you can farm xp with your friends then be 12 years old and camp in corners and just win all day. How dumb. Also guys have guns and shoot at you, I need a game where the other players can't shoot back because I'm pretty bad.
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Complete rehash of the previous squeals, defiantly feeling buyers remorse, waste of money and time, this game needs a entire new team of developers if this is going to change, complete failure on their behalf, also. One more thing, Glen Schofield asking your twitter followers to up the ratings is low, you should be ashamed as a developer.
  100. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I was excited to see this game, I played COD 4 and MW2 for the story, never bothered with multiplayer until Black Ops. The story is what I wanted, and what I got was a childrens book. Graphics? What graphics? I've seen this game before, oh yeah, MW2, christ, even COD 4. You expect some sort of quality when you send £45 on a product, if I went to the butchers and bought a leg of lamb for £30, got home just to find its a hollowed out carcus with maggots inside, I would be entitled to a full refund, why not with this? The campaign was far too short, remember the days when the story of a game would be a decent play through of about 12-16 hours? This one barely hits 4, and that's with toilet breaks, snack breaks, and a small nap due to boredom. To be frank, I think I have had orgasms longer than the length of this game. Now, the multiplayer. Oh my good hypothetical higher being and sole creator. I played 1 hour of this so called" multiplayer, and I felt like crying after the first 6. The maps are smaller than shanty houses in brazil. The maps are poorly designed. I would love to be able to defend it, and the Christians would love to prove God is real, so its not happening. The guns are the same as the ones from MW2, did they really not bother at all? The character models are also the same, I really cant think of anything original about this game, damn, even the cover of the case which this diabolical mess comes in is as generic as you could imagine. If you have gotten this far into the review, then you are probably aware that I hold no place for this "game" in my heart. Don't go anywhere yet, there is more. Hardened Edition? Special Edition? Soldier Wannabe Edition? I Bought This Game To Reassure My Mum I'm Still A Virgin Edition? How many bloody editions do you need? Its the same "game", just comes with some crappy little toys or a metal case, OH MY GOD!!! METAL CASE!!!!! I keep my tobacco in one of those and it doesn't make it any better. Seriously, stop bringing out all of these stupid editions, its a game, people want the disc, well most people, there are a select few losers who will happily hand over there bar mitzvah money to pay for a little toy to go with their "game". Also, Activision, I have no doubt you have one of your mindless slaves going though all of these reviews, so the following goes to said mindless slave- Report back to your masters at Activision HQ, presumably on the side of a volcano, and tell them that they shall never get a penny of my hard earned cash ever again. It's mine, I worked for it, I will only give it to somebody else if they have worked for it, you haven't. Stop making these DLC's, they are a rip off, you are practically stealing. The profits you make, damn, if I made that much I would get done for racketeering. You make enough money, you don't need anymore, you have more than enough to guarantee that you will live a better life than me and most other gamers. Give some to charity, do something good with the money. Last but not least, next year when Call of Duty: Whatever You Call It comes out, I shall not be buying it, and I hope that there are enough people out there who are smart enough to see that there are better games out there that have actually had a bit of work put in to them, and they wont be buying your game. Toodles. Expand
  101. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I had the luck to play on every console and pc they all blow.but on pc it was so cheaply ported that its disgusting. does anyone care about pc gamers anymore? well infinity ward does not. call of duty doesn't deserve the crown of fps shooters. look at all the amazing fps shooters out their they might not me amazing
    but they put effort in their games. this games needs to grow up and face
    reality that they will not be the highest grossing fps title if they keep this up. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. 80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]