Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 PC

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5229 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2017
    4
    Toujours la même recette depuis le premier Call Of Duty il y a une dizaine d'années (!) et la série est au bout du rouleau. De la surenchère permanente, de la caricature, du grotesque... cette campagne est certes "spectaculaire" mais sans le côté technique éblouissant d'un Uncharted 3 par exemple. On s'y surprend à y jouer tout de même sans faire trop attention, à l'insu de son ignoranceToujours la même recette depuis le premier Call Of Duty il y a une dizaine d'années (!) et la série est au bout du rouleau. De la surenchère permanente, de la caricature, du grotesque... cette campagne est certes "spectaculaire" mais sans le côté technique éblouissant d'un Uncharted 3 par exemple. On s'y surprend à y jouer tout de même sans faire trop attention, à l'insu de son ignorance sans doute. On ne peut pas dire non plus qu'on s'y ennuie totalement. Mais on ne s'y amuse pas non plus. Surtout sur ce pathétique final en QTE...

    Il reste le multi qui lui est varié dans ses modes de jeu et toujours aussi solide, il est clair qu'il a définitivement mis les Counter-Strike au placard. Parfois drôle, injuste, énervant, bourré de kévins et de tricheurs mais c'est le lot de ce genre de jeu multi-joueurs, on n'y peut rien ! Les cartes sont bien conçues, y a eu du travail là dedans quand même.

    Juste un mot pour finir sur la partie audio plutôt décevante (hors VF toujours excellente) et le manque de sensation des armes, très en deçà d'un Crysis 2 ou Rainbow Six Vegas : ils auraient pu faire un effort entre deux explosions et trois ponts qui s'effondrent !
    Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2016
    8
    I don't understand the hate on this game. I loved it. Modern Warfare 2 and 3 both had incredible story. The multiplayer was indeed meh, but that was mostly, because of the community. Singleplayer however was very enjoyable.
  3. Sep 11, 2016
    8
    Solid FPS-game with a outstanding multiplayer experience and a well-designed progression-system. It has good graphics and makes fun.

    To be aware of: Online-Multiplayer is full of hackers, the Singleplayer-story is quite boring, many game components are unfair and there might be inequality in terms of equipment. There might be NAT-problems or other connection- and ping-issues. This game
    Solid FPS-game with a outstanding multiplayer experience and a well-designed progression-system. It has good graphics and makes fun.

    To be aware of: Online-Multiplayer is full of hackers, the Singleplayer-story is quite boring, many game components are unfair and there might be inequality in terms of equipment. There might be NAT-problems or other connection- and ping-issues. This game does not do anything noticeable new, so be careful about the price you are willing to pay for it.
    Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2016
    6
    Overrated also MW3!!!!!! Stille the same: funny, good gfx, good movements, but very very very simple... no tactics, just some run run run, cover, aim, shoot, move, run run run... 6 maximum... no more!!! And, also, very short in SP... 6!!!
  5. Jul 6, 2016
    9
    Gameplay : 9
    Graphics : 9
    Story : 8
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 9
  6. May 29, 2016
    9
    A completely intense, hooking and action-packed concluding season for the Modern Warfare Saga. I don't play Call of Duty games for the multiplayer but for the single player -- and I can say CoD: MW3 killed it. Plus, the story is more solid than that of the MW2.
  7. May 25, 2016
    7
    Не 0 из 10.
    -Графика:
    После сочной MW2 картинка выглядит уныленько,невзрачно.+немного багов. Вообщем что-то около 6/10 за графоуни -Компания: Сюжет-остановить злодея чтобы она не разрушил весь мир (как оригинально),играется уныло (если проходить не в первый раз,как я).Решил я сегодня пройти ещё раз эту игру,так я не могу! Стрельба не чувствуется,стрелять в глупых болванчиков не
    Не 0 из 10.
    -Графика:
    После сочной MW2 картинка выглядит уныленько,невзрачно.+немного багов. Вообщем что-то около 6/10 за графоуни
    -Компания:
    Сюжет-остановить злодея чтобы она не разрушил весь мир (как оригинально),играется уныло (если проходить не в первый раз,как я).Решил я сегодня пройти ещё раз эту игру,так я не могу! Стрельба не чувствуется,стрелять в глупых болванчиков не интересно.НО! Это прохождение собиралось быть 5-6 (ну люблю я проходить игры,которые мне ПОНРАВИЛИСЬ,MW3 одна из них) А первые 2,реально неплохо (если вы не любитель хардкора ,да вы можете выставить сложность "ветеран",но... господи,как это уныло,отсиживаться в укрытии и регенерироваться,а потом высунуться,убить 1 и снова за урытие,а там ещё 4 стоят.Очень заманчиво) Представим,что я прохожу её впервые:Скоротечные и ураганные уровни,эпичные скрипты,концовка трилогии,даже пара сюжетных поворотов имеется! Вообщем,если вы сейчас будете играть в компанию MW3,она вас либо разочарует и вы её возненавидите,или она неплохо зайдёт. 7/10 за компанию.
    -Спец-операции,выживание:
    Главный минус-карты взяты из сюжетной компании,и из мультиплеера,сразу видно,что кто-то поленился.НО! Можно пройти всё с другом,а с ним ведь что угодно будет веселее и интереснее.
    В спец-операциях есть разнообразие,типа "собрать нужные предметы" "прикрывать друга" "пройти по-стелсу" "защищать определённую точку",но очень мало тех самых миссий,которые по-настоящему ко-опные,хотелось бы больше миссий в духе "ваш партнёр попал в засаду,вы отправляетесь на вертолёте за ним,прикройте его с пулемёта",миссии в которых у каждого есть своя задача,а не где вы оба просто идёте,убиваете,выигрываете.Что круто,с другом ОЧЕНЬ даже интересно играть на "ветеране",когда вы планируете свои шаги,есть реальный челендж. Выживание-набор карт из мультиплеера. Вам респают на карте ботов,вы их убиваете,получаете деньги,тратите их на оружие,турели,поддержку и т.п. Ничего необычного. 7,5/10 за Спец-операции и выживание.
    -Мультиплеер:
    Наиграл более 600ч,покупал игру 2 раза,1 аккаунт был слит,из-за моей наивности и неопытности.Всё-таки MW3 моя первая игра в steam и мои первые друзья именно из этой игры... Не смотря на ностальгию,стараюсь здраво всё оценить.
    --Карты: серые и какие-то депрессивные(в отличии от MW2).Если мультиплеер вас увлечёт,то вы наверняка наиграете в него минимум 100ч,поначалу вам не будет,возможно,видно этой серости,но потом увидите точно,очень жаль.Можно же было позаимствовать из MW2 яркость красок,а из black ops могли взять события на карте,влияющие на геймплей,активируемые кнопки,которые что-то делают. Батла смотрит как на говно,как говорится.
    --Баланс:Его просто нет.Будучи 13 уровня вы можете спокойно попасть в сессию к человеку,у которого наиграно более 1000ч,а ещё и 80лвл (максимальный,после него можно сменить престиж и качаться заного).И что получается,вы без снаряжения,без оружия,которое убивает с 2 выстрелов,в отличии от чувака 80 лвл. И читеры ...вх,аим,воллхак,что там ещё есть не знаю,встречал я их не так уж и часто,видать повезло.Но сам факт,что они есть и они могут спокойно избежать наказания... В стиме,прямо в обсуждениях чувак писал "2 дня с читами побегал,скучно стало",зашёл я к нему в профиль,а VAC бан не стоит...
    --Режимы:Вам главное знать,что в 80% режимов не играют,в 5% играют всегда,в 15% обычно вечером.
    Может я назвал больше минусов,но мульт этой части не плох,в него ещё можно немного поиграть,а самое главное получить хоть немного удовольствия! 6,5/10 За мультиплеер
    Вообщем 7/10. Советую ли я игру сейчас? Нет! Только если вы фанат COD,либо скидка дойдёт до 300-350рублей,но покупать за ту цену,которая стоит сейчас-безумие! 1799 pуб. нет уж!
    Играйте только в хорошие игры,удачи!
    Expand
  8. May 9, 2016
    7
    Nice singleplayer,the story continues from mw2 and is basicly a basically a conclusion for the series.
    The story isn't as good as the one on mw1 or mw2 but its pretty standard stuff although it may get a bit repetetive.
    The multiplayer is basically copy past from mw2 but its still fine i guess. The big problem is the PC port is a bit crap,definitly get this one on ps3 or xbox if you're
    Nice singleplayer,the story continues from mw2 and is basicly a basically a conclusion for the series.
    The story isn't as good as the one on mw1 or mw2 but its pretty standard stuff although it may get a bit repetetive.
    The multiplayer is basically copy past from mw2 but its still fine i guess.
    The big problem is the PC port is a bit crap,definitly get this one on ps3 or xbox if you're interested
    Expand
  9. Feb 29, 2016
    6
    Proper ending of the franchise. I hope the amount of negative feedback the game received won't put enough pressure on developers to rearrange from FIRST PERSON SHOOTER WITH WAR BACKGROUND to rpg. Don't wanna play THE kind of game, don't buy it then.
  10. Jan 17, 2016
    6
    This games not bad. I bought it cheap and it was definitely worth the ticket price. The whole thing is solid and if you like shooting at stuff then this contender in the series will see you through. The single player is what you'd expect. Quite good. The multiplayer (offline split) feels a little empty and very arcady in that you get reset to stage one after each defeat. Ok if you want aThis games not bad. I bought it cheap and it was definitely worth the ticket price. The whole thing is solid and if you like shooting at stuff then this contender in the series will see you through. The single player is what you'd expect. Quite good. The multiplayer (offline split) feels a little empty and very arcady in that you get reset to stage one after each defeat. Ok if you want a game to play for an hour at a time. No real meat on the bones. Animations are ok. Guns are ok and you'll get some fun out of them. No vehicles. We just teamed up and did survival and a few missions. Too bad many of the side missions were time based, because nice locations and graphics. Good game to add to the collection but not my favorite in the series. Needs more of everything and its longevity on the shelf before it gathers dust is around a few days. 6/10 Expand
  11. Dec 4, 2015
    2
    Multiplayer is far worse than MW2; the best gun at short, medium and long range is the MP7, which you get at level 74 out of 80. This means that the vets all have a much better gun than the new players, which decreases the quality of the multiplayer experience. Also, no gun should be best at all ranges; each gun should be a tool that works best in particular situations- MW2 did a greatMultiplayer is far worse than MW2; the best gun at short, medium and long range is the MP7, which you get at level 74 out of 80. This means that the vets all have a much better gun than the new players, which decreases the quality of the multiplayer experience. Also, no gun should be best at all ranges; each gun should be a tool that works best in particular situations- MW2 did a great job of this. All the maps are a chore to play; the only fun one is Terminal from MW2. Essentially, they made it so that there is almost no space on the map where you can't be outflanked; ie there is no such thing as a sniper's nest in MW3. While I can understand that the purpose of this was probably to prevent multiplayer gameplay from becoming too repetitive, what happened is that they accidentally stripped all the fun out of the maps. Also, multiplayer is insanely repetitive anyways because of the aforementioned issue with the MP7. And, surprise surprise, not even a token effort has been made to prevent cheating. Thanks, Activision.

    I tried the single player campaign but it was too much of a slog so I just put it down.

    Overall a cash grab, not worth your time.
    Expand
  12. Dec 1, 2015
    8
    Single player is OK but nothing more.
    Multiplayer is awesome i really like it.
    .......................................................................
  13. Nov 23, 2015
    0
    very ****.no sushet gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaavvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvnnnnnnnooooooooooott
  14. Nov 12, 2015
    0
    it´s very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very veryit´s very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very bad Expand
  15. Oct 6, 2015
    8
    The game actually nice, the story is very good and multiplayer support, however, the producer forgot to add the LAN system they promised.

    I judge the game as they are, proportional, not like "haters" who hate the game
    anyway, score is 8 except there is LAN support.
    And please, disable Lag Conpensation then 9,6 it is
  16. Sep 10, 2015
    8
    Great game. I can say that because I actually played it. I like the new point/killstreak system. It really benefits the objective based game type player.
  17. Aug 21, 2015
    1
    Campaign is okay. If I was basing my review on the campaign alone, maybe I'd give a 5/10. it was okay, but not as good as the previous two Modern Warfares. Now for the thing that everyone gets this game for - the multiplayer:

    1. Matchmaking: It's garbage. Rookie players gets matched versus veteran players. Game MVPs are all on one team, while all of those who went negative are on the
    Campaign is okay. If I was basing my review on the campaign alone, maybe I'd give a 5/10. it was okay, but not as good as the previous two Modern Warfares. Now for the thing that everyone gets this game for - the multiplayer:

    1. Matchmaking: It's garbage. Rookie players gets matched versus veteran players. Game MVPs are all on one team, while all of those who went negative are on the other. You quit or get kicked from a game, and the matchmaking puts you right back in the same freaking game. It's embarrassing. Oh yeah, also this game puts you into losing games where they LITERALLY JUST ENDED. Not even an exaggeration. You enter a game and the other team had already scored the last kill or are about to. No option to disable this either. And yes, it adds to your losses. Fair, right? You played for ZERO and it counts as a loss for you.

    2. Balance: What balance? Go akimbo SMGs or auto-shotguns and you're set. Very little incentive to use more obscure weapons like 3-burst assault rifles or pistols. Just choose the fastest firing gun, spray and pray, profit.

    3. Hit detection: It's a freaking joke. The game signals (via audio cues) that you shoot a guy 5 times. Or he's completely covered your reticle, you unload an entire magazine into him, yet the killcam shows that zero of those hits made contact. Or the killcam DOES show like 3 bullets hit, yet he's still alive. What the hell is that crap? I swear if even half of the shots registered, my K/D would not be negative right now. Yeah, also, apparently my enemies can shoot through solid texture to get the last bullet in. Not only can they shoot around corners, but apparently only one bullet needs to graze you in order to kill you. Sure,it shows on the killcam it shows he landed like 4 shots, but on YOUR cam, the one that actually matters, you get hit once and die. It's like you just drop dead just because.

    I can understand firing from the hip will be inaccurate. But who in hell programs it so that pointing a sniper rifle right at an enemy and firing at him at POINT BLANK RANGE will miss? What, does the bullet make a 45 degree left turn or something?

    4. Spawn kills: They happen. Not always, but often enough. It's a very frequent occurrence that you spawn RIGHT NEXT to an enemy. Not only that, you can spawn right into the sights of an enemy weapon. I'm not talking about using tactical insertions where you choose where to spawn. I mean "random" spawns where I guess the computer determines where you spawn before you even die. At least in Halo Reach, you spawn guaranteed in a location farthest away from enemies. Nope. Infinity Ward doesn't even do that right. Just spawn randomly and to hell with strategic location. Right in the enemies' sights? Don't care.

    5. Map design: I do not have the DLC maps, so this is only for the default maps. Half are okay, but the other half are just garbage urban maps. The most annoying thing is that there is so much s*** around to impede your movement. There's a can on the ground? You either have to jump over it or walk around it. Can't walk OVER it. Nope. That's just too obvious. Or the developers just randomly tossed crates, debris, and other garbage just to make movement a chore. It's also a common occurrence that you get stuck on a protrusion on a wall. You'd expect that you can just hug the wall nice and easily. But, nope, there's a door frame hanging out from it? You're getting stuck unless you walk away from it. Like really? 5% of your width gets blocked by a small protrusion so your entire body gets hampered? Is it a damn joke?

    6.. Functionality: This is the one thing that you absolutely need to get right when making any game - making sure the game works as intended. That, and being able to play the game (the only thing saving my review from being a zero). There is a "perk" that supposedly makes you invisible to enemy air strikes, drones, etc. Why is it that when I use it, I still see myself as a highlighted target on the enemy POV? Your game must work, IW! YOUR GAME. MUST. WORK!

    Personal gripe: My favourite gun is the Type 95 (in real life known in the West as the QBZ-95). It is reduced to a 3-burst rifle. Using a 3-burst rifle is suicide in this game. Why did they do this? Because it's a Chinese rifle, so they must make it as s*****y as possible?
    This is, what, like the 8th game in the series? How do you make a barely functional game after so many years of experience? How dare you continue to exist as a company and how dare the community continue to support this crummy developer even to today. My only consolation is people are getting tired of the FPS scene and their newest games are only getting average reviews, at least critic-wise
    Expand
  18. Jul 25, 2015
    0
    Bad bad bad. no one want to play a game full of KIDs (7-15 years old). It was fun at first then hack come along but the worst is KIDS they are everywhere ruined the whole gaming community :(
  19. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    incredible story, good addictive multiplayer for players elite excellent especias operations so the problem seems very mw2, even graphic, same weapons some ways changed
  20. Jan 9, 2015
    2
    Modern Warfare 3 is like a Michael Bay movie, but worse. Just as Mr. Bay, Infinity Ward rehashes the same material every year.
    Judging by the budget, and the hype around the game it's remarkable how this game not only can't live up to the potentials, but fails as an avarage shooter.
    The story is completely garbage (clichés after clichés), the characters aren't interesting (not that i
    Modern Warfare 3 is like a Michael Bay movie, but worse. Just as Mr. Bay, Infinity Ward rehashes the same material every year.
    Judging by the budget, and the hype around the game it's remarkable how this game not only can't live up to the potentials, but fails as an avarage shooter.

    The story is completely garbage (clichés after clichés), the characters aren't interesting (not that i was looking for good dialogue and story in a Call of Duty game).

    The graphics are acceptable for 2011 standards, and there were times, when i was really immersed by the use of lightning and effects. Other than that, the textures are blurry (yes, even with the native settings, it can be ugly sometimes) and the engine is unoptimised.

    Now everybody says that the main aspect is multiplayer. It's safe to say, they didn't do anything with it, which is both awkward and good (?).

    I'm really curious what did the reviewers smoke when they came up with those review scores, but i find this game a complete waste of time. It offers no content, the single player campaign is a dull shoot-fest, with the stupidest team AI. Even the multiplayer is weak (lack of maps, etc)..

    My favorite aspect of the game that it didn't take long to finish.
    Expand
  21. Dec 24, 2014
    10
    This game gives us laptop owners 60 frames per second on a full screen resolution. You can't get any more entertainment and multiplayer value than this game if you have a laptop and are being left out by poor frame rates because of excessive details that are pumped into games that have little to no effect on core gameplay, which is what this game is all about not just in terms of lowThis game gives us laptop owners 60 frames per second on a full screen resolution. You can't get any more entertainment and multiplayer value than this game if you have a laptop and are being left out by poor frame rates because of excessive details that are pumped into games that have little to no effect on core gameplay, which is what this game is all about not just in terms of low demanding graphics but of features and mechanics that are based on gun on gun experience with little regards to anything else. MW3 doesn't have a lack of mobility (long pauses in sprinting and movement that jeopardize your health) in Black Op games and lack of play-style customization and fast paced action in MW2. If I want to play multiplayer right now and don't want anything that to come in my way, MW3 is the way to go. Expand
  22. Dec 17, 2014
    2
    Even worse than MW2, with more hand holding gameplay, QTEs, bloody screen

    It's like repackaging the same game every year.

    Activision likes to make casual games.
  23. Dec 10, 2014
    9
    Modern Warfare 3 is the last part of the trilogy made by Infinity Ward Modern Warfare, in collaboration with Sledgehammer Games and published by Activision. Modern Warfare 3 stand a tad better story to Modern Warfare 2, you discover more and more once you progress in the story. The only problem ... the game is very short, I one I finished in 5:30hours. The graphics is good, pretty good.Modern Warfare 3 is the last part of the trilogy made by Infinity Ward Modern Warfare, in collaboration with Sledgehammer Games and published by Activision. Modern Warfare 3 stand a tad better story to Modern Warfare 2, you discover more and more once you progress in the story. The only problem ... the game is very short, I one I finished in 5:30hours. The graphics is good, pretty good. For me, as I struggle in some of the major cities throughout the world ami makes the game much better. The sound is also good, quite good. Gameplay is ok, I have not encountered problems during the game, and still do a good job, is COD. Too bad that the game uses the same engine of Modern Warfare 1, but anyway, improved. Expand
  24. Dec 6, 2014
    6
    MW3 is more of the same. Continuation of the story from MW2. My breakdown is as follows:

    1. Graphics: 6/10 - great, but the improvement from MW2 is minimal
    2. Gameplay: 6/10 - more of the same
    3. Story: 7/10 - the finale of the MW series, satisfying ending
    4. Multiplayer: 4/10 - unchanged

    Nothing innovative here. Overall, average game.
  25. Nov 17, 2014
    5
    Decent game and not too bad at all. That's all I can really say and it seems I have to write more than 149 words so I'll finish off this sentence now.
  26. Nov 1, 2014
    8
    PROS & CONS
    -
    PROS
    ---
    - Super Easy Quickscoping
    - Ability To Level Up On Survival + Custom Games
    - Fun To Play Overall
    CONS
    -----
    - Campaign Sucks
    - Hackers
    -----
    THE VERDICT
    This is one of my favorite call of duty's. Definitely get it!
    -
    TIP: Best guns for quickscoping are the L115R and the MSR.
  27. Sep 19, 2014
    8
    It's a solid an fun CoD title with some downsides every CoD has. The movement and the gameplay feels incredibly smooth and fast. The map design isn't too bad, some maps are bad but other maps are great. In general the maps from MW3 are better than the maps from black ops 2 and ghosts. The downsides are familiar to CoD players: the lag compensation which causes a bad connection, the fps isIt's a solid an fun CoD title with some downsides every CoD has. The movement and the gameplay feels incredibly smooth and fast. The map design isn't too bad, some maps are bad but other maps are great. In general the maps from MW3 are better than the maps from black ops 2 and ghosts. The downsides are familiar to CoD players: the lag compensation which causes a bad connection, the fps is limited on pc, some annoying weapons (like fmg9 akimbo, rpg, striker and the snipers).The graphics are pretty bad, even MW2 had better graphics. In total it's a fun game with some downsides which can get annoying. Expand
  28. Sep 10, 2014
    6
    Call of Duty really a wonder game ever. i played it many times ... regularly played its latest level and all. All over nice game. nothing to say.
    Call of Duty totally action game.
  29. Jul 22, 2014
    3
    A disappointing entry into the call of duty series. It marks the beginning of the end for the call of duty franchise. Maybe advanced warfare can turn things around. Don't buy this.
  30. Jul 20, 2014
    0
    OMG soo f*cking bad only ghosts can be worse than this sh*t really it has console FOV 65 which is unplayable on PC the maps suck there are cheaters everywhere, op guns and so on...
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 82
    Thus, I can't recommend buying this unless you (still) like the fast pace, the customizable weaponry and the short matches, of about 10 minutes each. With the very important mention that, essentially, nothing has changed.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 20, 2012
    80
    Stunning campaign with epic moments makes this third installment of Modern Warfare a great show with the best approach to players. No need to mention an excellent multiplayer. [Dec 2011]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]