Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 30, 2013
    90
    Other western games may better capture the grandeur of the American West, but pure, outlandish spaghetti western gunfights have never been more thrilling than they are in Call of Juarez: Gunslinger.
  2. May 29, 2013
    90
    One of the best shooters to come out in recent years.
  3. May 28, 2013
    86
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is essentially a shooter, but it is a good shooter for any fan of the Wild West. The story is enjoyable and the little twists and turns along the way keep it interesting and even funny even though you are basically doing the same thing over and over again: shooting at minions until you get to the final encounter of each scene.
  4. May 29, 2013
    85
    Techland has truly made the best Call of Juarez game with Gunslinger. I cannot suggest it enough.
  5. May 27, 2013
    85
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is a funny game and a satisfying romp, with clearly influenced ideas that all have their own unique little spins. I'll fully admit that I went into it expecting another damp squib, but came away thoroughly impressed.
  6. May 22, 2013
    85
    Call of Juarez returns to the traditional Wild West territories, offering some well-balanced FPS mechanics, 14 linear yet nicely cel-shaded gunslinger levels, plus a really charismatic and chatty protagonist and narrator, for just a fistful of dollars.
  7. Jul 5, 2013
    84
    Don’t mistake price for quality – this is a top-notch shooter, limited in resources but not in heart.
  8. May 21, 2013
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    The Call of Juarez series has had its ups and downs over the years, but Gunslinger stands proud—not only against its own checkered past, but against the FPS genre as a whole. It may not be a subtle or particularly nuanced experience, but it's certainly a cracking good time delivered with a style and confidence that's rarely seen in a full-priced title, let alone a $15 download.
  10. 80
    Call of Juarez returns to western genre, and that is fine. A pity though, it imitates itself, even its competition. However, this story is worth it even without a happy-ending. [Issue#231]
  11. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Even with its flaws, the new chapter of Call of Juarez centers undoubtedly the target and throws a solid foundation for later sequels.
  12. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Call of Juarez Gunslinger is Techland at their best and the most fun I have had with a western experience since Red Dead Redemption.
  13. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    For a budget price, Gunslinger provides a hugely entertaining experience, distilling the dime-novel heroics of the pulp Western and an excellent, satisfying combat system into one immensely likeable package. Bravo.
  14. May 31, 2013
    80
    In its heart it's an easy, pleasantly non-revolutionary, intense and a hell of a lot of fun shooter video game with western spice that is plentiful.
  15. May 28, 2013
    80
    Gunslinger is a well made game that put the series where it belongs (after a moment of weakness in the form of The Cartel) We get great, comic book-like graphics, a well told story and exciting shootings. There are two serious flaws: the dueling system is too complicated and unintuitive, and the damage system can easily become infuriating. But the good takes over the bad (and the game is far from "the ugly") and Gunslinger simply keeps you glued to the screen.
  16. May 20, 2013
    80
    Missing this game for just 14.90 Euro's would be like not robbing a stagecoach pulled by a pair of ill horses.
  17. Jul 2, 2013
    72
    Don’t expect too much of Gunslinger – it stretches its 6 hours of running and gunning with a lot repetition. They don’t even let us ride a horse – in a western game, really?! On the other hand, this Call of Juarez is a huge improvement over the abysmal CoJ: The Cartel.
  18. May 30, 2013
    70
    Gameplay-wise Call of Juarez: Gunslinger doesn't do too much different from all the other shooters, but the way Silas' memories shape the campaign gives it a really fresh feel. It really elevates an okay and arcadey corridor shooter to a fascinatingly told western-adventure, that has Fans of John Ford and Sergio Leone fork over the 15 bucks without hesitation.
  19. May 24, 2013
    70
    Despite the frustration of the damage indicator, the worsened duel mode and a story that sort of loses its way near the end, Gunslinger is still an enjoyable experience. It's exciting and challenging, whether you're mowing down banditos in slow-mo with an engraved six-shooter or racking up 80 kill combos in arcade mode.
  20. May 24, 2013
    70
    Full of charm and great design, but the variation could have been better.
  21. May 23, 2013
    70
    While a fun enough shooter in its own right, Gunslinger is in almost every way inferior to the similar Bulletstorm. Yet its new and unique approach to telling a story is certainly something I would like to see in a lot of other games.
  22. Jun 2, 2013
    69
    Whether they go bigger, embracing convention, or smaller, embracing their more original ideas, they have to go somewhere, or be stuck making mediocrities, which is what Call of Juarez: Gunslinger ultimately is.
  23. May 20, 2013
    50
    The broad stylistic flourishes do a fair job of masking the underwhelming reality of much of the gameplay, but once Greaves’ tall tale is told you’re left with a pretty linear, whack-a-cowboy shooter in a no-horse town.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 574 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 118
  1. May 23, 2013
    10
    This is a good arcade shooter with not too much seriousness but enough blood to make it fun :D
    Controll is good, cell shaded graphics
    This is a good arcade shooter with not too much seriousness but enough blood to make it fun :D
    Controll is good, cell shaded graphics perfect. and light story.
    Arcade mode and duels more hours fun.

    Tarantino style actions :D
    Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2013
    8
    Fantastic shooting, decent voice acting (better than BiB), and great environmental and sound design. It's got a silly and fun story withFantastic shooting, decent voice acting (better than BiB), and great environmental and sound design. It's got a silly and fun story with Baston-style narration. I like the focus on getting high scores and combos. Texture quality and weapon variety were lacking, but for a straight shooter at this price, it's unexpectedly polished and thoroughly enjoyable. The best wild west shooter I've ever played, and out of all the Techland games I've experienced, I feel it's their best effort by far.

    Also, you know what? I'm GLAD they didn't shoehorn in a multiplayer mode which would've taken away development time that instead went into improving the core of the game. Besides, I felt that the arcade and dueling modes suited this game much better. It's a 4 to 6-hour long, $15 singleplayer-focused experience.

    It's not the greatest port, but I didn't get any issues whatsoever, and it ran at about 35 to 40 fps on my Core 2 Duo Radeon HD 6570 combo (not even an entry-level gaming machine). Didn't run into a single bug either. I was happy they added in the option to change the FOV via config files, but it should've been there since day one. At least the default was 82 horizontal which I thought was reasonable, though 90 would've been ideal. Also, while this does support resolutions for all aspect ratios, the game will always display in a 16:9 letterbox with horizontal black bars if you're running at a non-16:9 resolution. It's likely intentional for a more cinematic effect, but it wasn't my cup of tea. Just a head's up.
    Full Review »
  3. May 22, 2013
    10
    Im 3 Hours into the game and all i can say is that, for 15 bucks, you get good story telling and arcade shooting awesomeness! I think that itsIm 3 Hours into the game and all i can say is that, for 15 bucks, you get good story telling and arcade shooting awesomeness! I think that its more than worth the 15 dollars that it costs! There is nothing to complain here other than some little hickups with stuttering wich im sure get patched very soon... I wish there would be more bucket titles like that in the future!

    Good job techlander!
    Full Review »