Call of Juarez Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Juarez is a unique first-person shooter set in the classic Wild West. Call of Juarez features classic gunslinging action including duels, shootouts and barroom brawls. Players relive the days of the Wild West in numerous settings including local saloons and brothels. In the single-player campaign, players enter the world of two opposing characters equipped with contrasting weapons and styles. Ray is the retired gunslinger turned rough-and-tumble preacher. Billy, a sneaky and elusive man befriended and trained by Native Americans, is on the run. Authentic Western situations chronicle the cat-and-mouse game played by Ray and Billy. Players are forced to make split-second decisions to escape the grasp of Ray or get their hands on Billy, and outwit secondary characters throughout this Western setting. Call of Juarez leverages Techland's Chrome game engine which allows players to use objects found in the world as weapons or tools to solve problems. Graphics, artificial intelligence and multiplayer features will immerse players in the Wild West like never before. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. 89
    An excellent balance of gritty realism and game play. It's been a long time but Outlaws can finally hang up its guns and retire.
  2. When was the last time you played a game where you could make your horse slide down the face of a cliff, shooting with the six-gun in your left hand while reading from the Bible in your right? [Oct 2006, p.84]
  3. Looking at the big picture, however, the story and the atmosphere in CoJ will be good enough to keep you going, so I wouldn't go as far as to say that the Billy missions ruined it for me. There were some that I found exciting.
  4. A bit creaky in places, but this western shooter has plenty of character. [Nov 2006, p.78]
  5. Call of Juarez takes few risks with its setting or genre, but it does what it does well enough to be enjoyable.
  6. Overall Juarez is not a bad FPS, with its unusual setting and unique approach; it’s just not as good as it could have been, suffering as it does from some real wasted potential.
  7. 40
    There’s a multiplayer mode to be had, but it’s hard to recommend Juarez solely based on the fact that you can share the misery with friends.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 44
  2. Negative: 6 out of 44
  1. SmoodRankin
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliant. The problem is these kids that have no patience or appreciation for a true shooter... instead adhering to their kiddy Counter strike games going at 100 mph with pin point accuracy. Call of Juarez brings realism and excitement to the FPS scene and does so with a style and story so incredible you won't know where these developers came from. SeraphiM A is a complete MORON. Rob E. lesser so. Expand
  2. PhilipD.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    I didn't expect much from this game. It had mixed reviews, but it got a good review from the Users. Still, I had to make the most of my Geforce 8800, so I bought it for £9.99. If I had known how good it was, I would have bought it sooner. The graphics are very impressive- but not as much as the scale of some of the levels. The rabbit hunting level stands out in particular, and had the same affect on me as the Hong Kong level from Deus Ex. The entire game is like a good dream; You'll want to share it with others once it's over and you'll remember it for ever. The fantastic music and slow-mo gun fights add to the atmosphere, but at the end of the day it's the story which drives this game to within the top 5 games for me of all time- something I never thought was possible. Each chapter feels like a new game, just like Half Life 2. This is one of the few games where I have played out of sheer enjoyment, as opposed to playing simply to kill time and say that I've completed it. The voice acting is superb and the ending was enough to make me cry. This is a monster game for such a small Studio and I only wish that more people would take a gamble and buy this game, despite the reviews. It needs a beast of a computer to run, but after playing this game, it's certainly worth it. I only wish that I could tell the developers how much I've enjoyed this game. It's a dream come true. Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    That's what i call one of the best games of all time! I was waiting a western game like for ever and it finally came true. What can i say, i felt in love with that game... Each mission is like having sex with the most beautiful girls on this planet. The storyline is just perfect, the voice acting was so well performed that i thought i was in there in real-time! At the End it was so deep that i started to cry, yup its true.
    i so loved the duels like the old wild west, riding a horse,... The caracters really had an incredible story to tell. Every weapon on that game is unique. Every mission was diferent, like i was playing a new game of call of juarez.
    Chrome Engine really did a great touch on the graphics, i will definitely watch every game what will be released with that engine. The gameplay is awesome, AI is like they would be real enemies, lile they were defending and attacking by them selfs without any scripts, superb.
    This game should have more sales, Techland really deserved having more profits. Multiplayer of that game is unique, so awesome... I could spend the whole day to praise that game... I do want a sequel but wild west too...
    Let's see how Cal of Juarez:the Cartel will be, hope another awesome game like Bound in Blood.
    Thank you for that great Game Techland and for publishing it Ubisoft, i'm so thankfull
    Expand
  4. LeonR.
    Jul 6, 2008
    8
    Flawed but enjoyable. Beautiful landscapes, frantic gunslinging(in places) decent story.
  5. RebeccaS.
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    It should be noted that many of the reviews (and my rating) are based on the year-old European release, which was rather dodgy in parts. The US release has apparently been much improved. Expand
  6. EricE.
    Jun 24, 2008
    6
    The main thing I didn't like was the Billy levels. They were more 3d platform puzzle type or Thief sneak type. However I did enjoy the Reverend levels. But considering that the Billy levels were near 50% of the game I am going to have to rate it lower. If you want a western shooter with a storyline then this game is for you. It isn't a good storyline but it is better than most. Expand
  7. SimonN.
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    Annoying game...heavy graphic...lots of bugs...reicolous storyline... This game is a gob.

See all 44 User Reviews