Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Capsized is a fast paced 2d platformer focused on intense action and exploration.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. May 18, 2011
    91
    Capsized recalls memories of Turrican, Commander Keen, and Cybernator, but this is not a nostalgic retro-rehash. You won't find chunky pixels, chiptune soundtracks, or tongue-in-cheek nods to the past. Capsized is a modern original; a nearly pitch-perfect blend of combat and exploration that manages to be as beautiful as it is exhilarating.
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    86
    An intense and beautifully designed action-physics platformer, which also happens to be dirt cheap.
  3. May 4, 2011
    85
    Capsized is a love letter to the 8-bit era: the perfect mix between Cybernoid and The Sacred Armour of Antiriad.
  4. May 6, 2011
    80
    A mere 12-level campaign rather curtails your wistful pleasure, but the presence of four 'Arcade' modes doesn't hurt, especially co-op.
  5. May 25, 2011
    80
    The Metroid-esque adventure game Capsized is cleverly put together. The multifunctional weapons and the refreshing puzzles give the player enough space to develop their own playstyle. On design and technical terms it might also be one of the most impressive indie-games of the year.
  6. May 5, 2011
    78
    Classic gameplay and good visuals, Capsized is a solid and nostalgic game.
  7. May 3, 2011
    60
    For its small price, Capsized is an honest bargain. Well executed visually, with very nice music, very few bugs, and a complete gameplay. But Alien Trap delivers the paper of a good student who lacks a little imagination.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    What a wonderful little game. Appropriately challenging, and moderately addicting. Great art direction. Great atmosphere. Hostile world thatWhat a wonderful little game. Appropriately challenging, and moderately addicting. Great art direction. Great atmosphere. Hostile world that feels scary despite the somewhat pleasing ambiance of it. Unique and beautiful. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    Capsized in an exceptional platformer with well integrated exploration and plenty of alien blasting. The game is also extremely well done onCapsized in an exceptional platformer with well integrated exploration and plenty of alien blasting. The game is also extremely well done on iOS and mirrors the play of the PC version very well. I highly recommend the game it hours and hours worth of great gameplay. Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    Beautiful game. The hand-drawn environments show a sense of care to 2D games that only a few other devs have matched (Braid). It is very rareBeautiful game. The hand-drawn environments show a sense of care to 2D games that only a few other devs have matched (Braid). It is very rare to feel like you have been drawn in rather than just watching your character do things on the screen, but the Alientrap devs have gone above and beyond this. The short little tutorial at the beginning is straightforward and controls are easy to grasp after a little practice. Sometimes the controls can be a little tough if you aren't quite used to them yet, though they become second nature in time. The game introduces new elements very straightforwardly, allowing you to figure out what they do on their own rather than telling you, which keeps the element of discovery fresh in every level. They use this same concept for the enemies.

    The level design is great, providing secrets like in retro 2Ders to discover which will give you a buff or extra life. There is no map or compass, adding to the genuine "Lost and stranded" theme of the game.

    If this wasn't enough to convince you to grab it, go check the demo out on Steam!
    Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    A fun little game, I just wish it were longer (took me about 2.5hr to complete). It has well balanced difficulty and (partly granted becauseA fun little game, I just wish it were longer (took me about 2.5hr to complete). It has well balanced difficulty and (partly granted because of its short length) new things to introduce pretty consistently throughout the game. It has a cool concept and is a good game to get if it's on sale, and you don't want to commit too much to playing through a long and tough game. I got it on sale so it was a good buy, if it's full price I may say to skip it, since it's just not enough play time for $9.99. Interesting story though, and definitely was enjoyable while it lasted. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would give an easy 7.5 for this game, but (SPOILERS AHEAD SAILOR!!!!) the final boss made it go down to a 6.

    Only made an metacritic account because of the final stage of this game. It's final boss it's absolutelly ridiculous. It feels like they didn't play it themselves. First of all, the "no gravity" factor it's cool, but the whole game you been trying to master the maneuverability of your character and that counts for NOTHING on the final level/boss. The scenary you are at is also not suitable for a boss fight of this proportion. The dude is huge and the place doesn't give you space enough to try and dodge his attacks been forced to either throw em back or wasting your flamethrower's secondary fire. Also, he "hides" behind the maps structure, where you cannot hit him. He just stops there and start spaming minions and, btw, that is the only time you can actually do damage to him (on the second creature that is). The last form/creature exploding projectile is a bad taste joke. You can't barelly pick it up, he is already tossing another one at you.

    Okay, overall, I had fun. The 3 first stages are bloody easy, and then it suddenly got realy hard. It's ok, I like hard games, i'm a battletoads fan, but, Capsized makes me feel like, doesn't matter what I do, I will need luck to beat the final boss, not skill. It's hard to say good things abuout this game been so mad at it as I am right now, but it deserves some credict on a phew aspects. The enviroment is AMAZING, Until you get used to the surroundings, you start shotting everything that moves, 'cause everthing feels hostile in this planet. Which is good in my opinion, because, well, it's an unkown alien planet, it SHOULD feel that unpredictable. The music is also cool, although after a while I got tired of it, I think it might please most of the people who play the game.
    Weapons, well, they are cool and I can't say that they don't serve different purposes, but I used the first weapon through most of the game (it's secondary fire is amazing).

    Well, it's an nice game on the visuals, but kinda "ok" on the gameplay on my vision. One thing I am sure of: I am NEVER EVER buying a game from Alien Trap again because of that enerving boss fight.
    Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2013
    6
    Reminds me a lot of the old flash game heli-attack only with a great soundtrack and beautiful backdrop, however using green enemies on a greenReminds me a lot of the old flash game heli-attack only with a great soundtrack and beautiful backdrop, however using green enemies on a green background with clunky controls make this game feel like doing chores at an art school gallery 6.5/10 Collapse
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    0
    Unplayable. I've been trying to get it to work for hours, but it does nothing but crash to the desktop. A quick look at the Steam forumsUnplayable. I've been trying to get it to work for hours, but it does nothing but crash to the desktop. A quick look at the Steam forums shows it's an all too common event with no fix in sight from the developers. Unacceptable, but at least I didn't spend too much to find out the developer is inept. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers