Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 455 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 brings the conclusion to the Lords of Shadow saga as Gabriel Belmont returns to face off against the forces of darkness.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    It is this element of exploration and free moving that I sorely missed in the first part.
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    78
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is a solid entry for the series, delivering an intense, visually stunning adventure that is best experienced on PC.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    When Mercury Steam seemed to be about to produce a new successful title with very little effort, something went wrong and what we've got is not even the shadow of what we've been expecting in all these years. A conclusion that well-deserved another fate.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Underneath the unfocused, ramshackle design decisions and incomprehensible story there's a decent action game - but how much of it you're willing to endure for closure depends on how deeply entrenched you are into Lords of Shadow's lore.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    50
    The creators have looked everywhere and were inspired by everything, but unlike the competition there's no quality in their endeavours. Instead of a great hack and slash title they serve us a merely stereotypically dull piece without brains. On top of that, the game looks off colour.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    40
    A massive disappointment. It tells a confusing and uninteresting story in a bloated game that works against you at every angle. The combat can be fun at times, and reaches its high points during the various boss fights.
  7. 40
    A mediocre button masher at best, brought down by absurd design choices and low production values. [Issue #240]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 105
  2. Negative: 13 out of 105
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out ofI liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out of 10 normally but because there are morons who give games 0's only because it's not as good as the original, I had to rate it 10 to make up for this stupidity. 0 means the game is completely broken and unplayable and enjoyment was impossible. When you give 0's to games that are clearly not even close to being that bad, your just showing that your either under the age of 18 and still rather stupid or your just rather stupid altogether. Collapse
  2. Dec 8, 2014
    10
    This was a really fun game, The first one was fun too. For some reason I've read over a few of the reviews on there and people seem to beThis was a really fun game, The first one was fun too. For some reason I've read over a few of the reviews on there and people seem to be really polarized on this one; you either loved it or you hated it. Me I though it was good but not great. I would give it a solid 85 strong effort with room to grow for LOS3. I'm voting a 10 because I think that a few of negative reviews were written in the heat of the moment and didn't take into account some of the really fun moments this game had to offer, so with that in mind I want to raise the overall score.

    One thing that really stood out for me was the story and the boss fights, both were really well done from start to finish. One thing that I didn't really like too much was by the end of the game it just felt like of hard to get around (meaning you have to do a lot of jumping and cliff climbing and steam morphing) the game word. So IMHO in LOS3 I would like to see a return to the open world but just make it a bit more....open.

    Also I though I would give a nod to the integration of stealth in to the Castelvania series. One of Konami's biggest franchises is metal gear (a stealth based game) and that's a lot fun to play. Now with that being said WHEN the stealth was used in the game needs work, I mean some times it felt like "I and kick theses guys asses at will...why is the game making me hide from them?" So instead of forced stealth and action sections of the game (and never the two shall meet) it would be great to see a more holistic approach to stealth where its always an option open to the player and you can decide when and where to use it.

    Graphics and sound (and music) are excellent the concept art is fun to look over, especially the orthographic drawings of the character models. One thing that does pop up on my radar is that the modern day Castlevania City does has a certain....sameness to it and that can get boring. By contrast the Dracula's castle has a nice variety of maps and level styles to it so that's just one thing to mention.

    Hop on steam pick it up on sale this Christmas and play it if your a Castlevania fan, or like hack and slash games this is a good one to grab!
    Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    Ignore the amateur journalist reviews as they often score games based on 2 hour playthroughs before they give up. This games is a fittingIgnore the amateur journalist reviews as they often score games based on 2 hour playthroughs before they give up. This games is a fitting culmination to the Lords of Shadow series. You can truly see the level of commitment Mercury Steam has put into this game. From beautiful art style, excellent voice acting and strong music score to delighting and hilarious fan service. The combat system has matured since the first game and it's now more complex and rewarding, exploration is also better, the metroidvania navigation style becomes substantial and fun later into the game as you acquire more skills and roam freely finding upgrades and collectibles. Boss encounters are the highlight of the show, they are intense and rewarding providing climatic moments in the story. Yes, the game certainly it’s flaws: sneaking sections and generic level design in some areas. Those flaws are just one hour or less of the 20 hour campaign. If you enjoyed the first game, you must get this one. You won’t regret it! Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Still i like Gabriel very much. I like every Cut Scene, in my Eyes, Castlevania has one of the best Storys ever written. Started playing it onStill i like Gabriel very much. I like every Cut Scene, in my Eyes, Castlevania has one of the best Storys ever written. Started playing it on PSX. I dont like the future part, because i loved the middle age in this game, but it is well implanted and like in Devil may cry, it makes Sense.

    Pro: Fighting System, Story, Atmosphere, Time Travels, Boss Fights
    Cons: Sneaking part, Future time
    Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    This game is a huge improvement upon the original lords of shadows in terms of art, story, graphics, and especially game play.

    Art: (10/10)
    This game is a huge improvement upon the original lords of shadows in terms of art, story, graphics, and especially game play.

    Art: (10/10)
    The art and design is amazing, even in the cities. They made this game as organic and as artistic as you can really achieve. The art easily provokes mood, which is a sign of quality. The characters are also well designed. I have no faults at all here.

    Plot: 9.5/10
    The plot is great, but they fail to explain some of the steps that fans of the original series would have picked up on (castle being in another dimension when not "active", etc). It will be confusing and you will have questions nagging in your mind throughout the entire game, even after they explain some of the plot elements later on.

    Graphics: 8/10
    Graphics are good on the PC. I have no complaints here, other than the fact that they could have done more effects on the PC.

    Gameplay: (8.5/10)
    Gameplay is fantastic and the best selling point. The fighting is extremely technical, and there is the skill-tree progression that really encourages you to explore all the moves you have in combat. The exploration is as good as you can get with this sort of scope of a game. It is open world, like zelda. You can explore it, but your exploration is limited to where the game permits you to go. So there is a lot of Nintendo walls, and this could be a negative aspect since Batman: Arkham Asylum and Infamous were able to make the world more free with less restrictions. Yes, the stealth missions are needlessly challenging and nonsensical. However, these stealth missions are really just as difficult as some of the platforming in LOS, an area that LOS2 really cleans up. In a way one could argue that the difficulties of platforming in the original game were shifted to the stealth missions in this game.

    Overall I'd give this game a 9/10 and I will cherish it in my collection of games.
    Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2014
    8
    Wow I was really excited for this game due to my love for the first one. Unfortunately it kind of fell in between the cracks of me upgradingWow I was really excited for this game due to my love for the first one. Unfortunately it kind of fell in between the cracks of me upgrading my ps3 to the ps4. However, with the recent steam sale on this game I had to pick it up and I have been playing all day. If you are a castevania fan then just hearing the belmont names brings a little warmth to your heart. This story albeit odd, is presented in a way that just gives you amazing moments in the game. Graphics are great in my opinion havent seen anything to complain about. The items in the game add some fun flavor to combat but you could probably complete game without using them. Button mashing yes and no. You will switch between weapons on the fly and it works so seamlessly yes you could just button mash but if you take a little extra effort you can get alot of enjoyment out of the combat. If you are on the fence but enjoy castlevania games or enjoyed the first one I highly recommend getting this game. Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2014
    0
    This game is really silly .The control sucks, game-play is like DMC but dmc is better,faster and More fun. I give the game 0 because This gameThis game is really silly .The control sucks, game-play is like DMC but dmc is better,faster and More fun. I give the game 0 because This game does not have any positive thing . Expand

See all 105 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.