Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 415 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 brings the conclusion to the Lords of Shadow saga as Gabriel Belmont returns to face off against the forces of darkness.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    It is this element of exploration and free moving that I sorely missed in the first part.
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    78
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is a solid entry for the series, delivering an intense, visually stunning adventure that is best experienced on PC.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    When Mercury Steam seemed to be about to produce a new successful title with very little effort, something went wrong and what we've got is not even the shadow of what we've been expecting in all these years. A conclusion that well-deserved another fate.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Underneath the unfocused, ramshackle design decisions and incomprehensible story there's a decent action game - but how much of it you're willing to endure for closure depends on how deeply entrenched you are into Lords of Shadow's lore.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    50
    The creators have looked everywhere and were inspired by everything, but unlike the competition there's no quality in their endeavours. Instead of a great hack and slash title they serve us a merely stereotypically dull piece without brains. On top of that, the game looks off colour.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    40
    A massive disappointment. It tells a confusing and uninteresting story in a bloated game that works against you at every angle. The combat can be fun at times, and reaches its high points during the various boss fights.
  7. 40
    A mediocre button masher at best, brought down by absurd design choices and low production values. [Issue #240]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 92
  2. Negative: 10 out of 92
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out of 10 normally but because there are morons who give games 0's only because it's not as good as the original, I had to rate it 10 to make up for this stupidity. 0 means the game is completely broken and unplayable and enjoyment was impossible. When you give 0's to games that are clearly not even close to being that bad, your just showing that your either under the age of 18 and still rather stupid or your just rather stupid altogether. Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    I have to give this game a 10. Its sad to see the low score this game is getting by people who just play this for 10 minutes and leave it in there steam library. Its different from the first one but in a good way. I am happy the combat system and weapons changed and there is even a new learning curve to how to use Gabriel. The story is really good and I am loving the music like in the first game. I am just 4 hours in the game and I am hooked as I was to the first game. I love the Lords of Shadow series as much as any other Castlevania game. I am looking forward to the third LOS. I am loving this game, a solid 10! Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is great game, Love the story and gameplay, good improvement overt first LoS. I enjoy the game and have 'Ok another checkpoint and i go to sleep' syndrome. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    I liked the first one and this one was a great successor. Game play has improved, so did graphics. Soundtrack suits the game very well. Many bosses. Setting in the present/future fits the story, and also its quite well done, it feels right. It's not as epic as the first LOS though, and much shorter. And bosses are much easier, way easier than in LOS. For a challenge I always like to play games on hardest difficulty (now a days games are directed to anyone who can hold a controller in their hands) and comparing it to first one where i uses to die many times and had a rage quit couple of times, this never happened in LOS2. One thing that really annoys me are the scenes to almost any interaction for example kleidos challenges it takes maybe 1-2 minutes to start a challenge if not skipped. besides that didn't find any thing that would annoy me. Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Castlevania Lord of Shadows 2 é um ótimo jogo. Comparando ao título anterior, Castlevania Lord of Shadows, a melhora é notável principalmente nos combates e gráficos (joguei a versão PC em ambos os jogos).

    A primeira diferença, e muito boa diga-se de passagem, é o controle da câmera. Agora o jogador pode controlar a câmera, o que ajuda muito na hora dos combates. Enquanto que no primeiro jogo, em determinados cenários, Gabriel ficava escondido da câmera, principalmente quando ele ia para os cantos do cenários, em Castlevania Lord of Shadows 2, isso não ocorre mais, o que é uma grande melhoria na minha opinião. O suporte so jogo ao combo teclado e mouse também foi melhorado, e agora não é tão complicado jogar sem um joystick (se bem que o próprio jogo recomenda que se joga num).

    O combate está mais dinâmico e mais rápido com um úmero maior de boss ao longo da história, sendo que Drácula tem que usar, em alguns deles, ataques específicos para eliminá-los. Isso torna os combates mais desafiantes e menos entediantes. Além disso há uma variedade de inimigos, com diferentes tipos de ataque, que deixa os combates mais emocionantes. Você encontra inimigos fracos que atacam diretamente, alguns atiram com metralhadoras e shotguns, outros são grandes e fortes, alguns atacam pelo alto, outros cospem uma gosma verde, alguns com armaduras que devem ser destruídas, tem outros com escudos, enfim, o jogo é rico nesse sentido.

    Agora Drácula tem um monte de coisas para usar, que ajuda muito nos combates, mas você pode zerar o jogo sem ter a necessidade de usá-las e ainda não vai ter dificuldade. Tem um item que recupera a magia dos caos e do vazio (muito útil contra boss), necessário para ativar a garra do caos e a espada do vazio. Tem o pássaro dodô, que encontra itens, tem o amuleto que transforma o Drácula na sua forma dragônica (é interessante e até bonitinho, mas nada que empolgue), tem outro que recupera toda a saúde do Drácula (muito útil); e outros itens que são dropados ao matar inimigos ou você pode comprar na loja do anão, no castelo do Dráculo (dependendo de onde estiver no mapa fica meio chato ir até lá).

    O mapa do jogo agora parece estar maior, e a liberdade em se mover para onde quiser é um grande ganho. No jogo anterior a história era contada de modo linear, e não tinha como voltar no mapa. Agora o jogador pode ir para onde quiser, à medida que vai avançando na história e abrindo novas áreas. Isso ajuda muito, pois o jogo possui muitos itens, e alguns só podem ser pegos com uma habilidade ou arma específica, e, nesse caso, o jogador pode voltar quando quiser. Mas nem tudo ´maravilhas, ainda mais que para chegar em determinadas partes, o jogador terá que percorrer um grande caminho (tem como dar um fast travel mas é para locais específicos), e terá que enfrentar os inimigos tudo novamente. O sistema de fast travel poderia ser melhor a meu ver.

    A história do jogo é muito boa também. Confesso que no início fiquei confuso, mas depois, com o andar do jogo e com os acontecimentos e revelações, a história vai ficando mais clara. Nesse sentido, o jogador vai terminar o jogo e ser capaz de entender toda a história sem ter que ficar especulando. Outro fator interessante são os pergaminhos que são encontrados ao longo do cenário. Os pergaminhos contém dicas do que existe no local, como um boss, ou item mágico, além de contar os últimos acontecimentos de quem escreveu, o que enriquece ainda mais o jogo. Não falarei mais nada para não dar spoiler e atrapalhar quem vai jogar este jogo.

    O que mais senti falta, se comparado ao jogo anterior, foi a diminuição dos puzzles. Em Castlevania Lord of Shadows o que mais havia era puzzles, e alguns difíceis. Isso, na minha opinião, enriquecia ainda mais o jogo, acrescentando uma dificuldade a mais. Em Castlevania Lord of Shadows 2 isso não ocorre com a mesma frequência, além de que os poucos que existem são fáceis.

    As partes chatas nesse jogo são os momentos em que o jogador tem que passar despercebido, sem ser notado. Na verdade chato é pouco, é um porre. Drácula não pode ser visto, se não ele morre, e nem vai tentar matar os inimigos nessas partes, porque é impossível (Se você conseguir ou é bug ou você é o maior badass em Castlevania Lord of Shadows 2). O jogo não é feito para ser jogado em modo stealth, e sem contar que ninguém vai jogar jogos desse estilo esperando encontrar momentos como esse. Drácula pode se transformar em uma rato (?????, porque não em um morcego?????), e verificar o cenário ou passar por túneis, buracos, dutos de ventilação, o que não é um atrativo para este jogo, a meu ver. A parte em que ele entra num corpo e o controla é interessante, mas isso só pode ser usado em momentos específicos.

    Finalizando a análise, posso dizer que esse jogo não é nada enjoativo. Os combates dinâmicos, aliado aos momentos de exploração do cenários e de alguns poucos puzzles, faz com que o jogo não seja entediante. Recomendo o jogo.
    Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    Really fun game, but, am I the only one who thinks the voice acting is ... not bad, but not good?

    I am also surprised by the critical
    score, critics really? You gave this game the same overall as Sim City? Jeezus.

    Anyways if you like Castlevania this is definitely worth the buy.
    Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    Awful - WISH I would have read a review before getting this game. It's 10 steps backward from the original. I was expecting so much more. The graphics aren't bad, but the gameplay just becomes a bore. Expand

See all 92 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.