Chris Sawyer's Locomotion PC

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 79
  2. Negative: 34 out of 79
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LarryF.
    Oct 6, 2004
    4
    This is a game of substance, it does not need fancy graphics. I can take that. But at least the substance should be there, otherwise I keep playing TTD with the patch! Ideas: improve train signalling, train timeouts when waiting at signals, vehicle breakdowns; make it quicker to replace vehicles; restore the stock market; add a way of customizing the gameplay, which is far too unflexible.
  2. LindaP.
    Oct 8, 2004
    0
    The worst game ever!
  3. JackK.
    Sep 12, 2004
    0
    Yet another rip-off from the creators of the Rollercoaster Tycoon series demonstrating that the very same thing can be sold over and over forever.
  4. SuzyR.
    Sep 20, 2004
    0
    Horrible.
  5. ThomesW.
    Oct 4, 2004
    0
    Easy money for the lazy Chris. :o(
  6. LarryF.
    Oct 6, 2004
    3
    This is a game of substance, it does not need fancy graphics. I can take that. But at least the substance should be there, otherwise I keep playing TTD with the patch! Ideas: improve train signalling, train timeouts when waiting at signals, vehicle breakdowns; make it quicker to replace vehicles; restore the stock market; add a way of customizing the gameplay, which is far too unflexible.
  7. Jeff
    Sep 14, 2004
    1
    Old game for new money.
  8. MarcusG.
    Sep 14, 2004
    1
    This game isn't fit to wipe TTD's a**. Seriously. Arguably TTD still looks better than this game, surely a pretty bad state of affairs anyway, but... but... the game is worse than TTD! Track building is a joke in this game and it seems that the only stations and junctions you can build are very simple. The beautiful and complex junctions and stations you could build before are This game isn't fit to wipe TTD's a**. Seriously. Arguably TTD still looks better than this game, surely a pretty bad state of affairs anyway, but... but... the game is worse than TTD! Track building is a joke in this game and it seems that the only stations and junctions you can build are very simple. The beautiful and complex junctions and stations you could build before are reduced to very simple junctions - I defy you to build anything like the complex roll-in, roll-out stations from TTD. Stick with TTD, or download OpenTTD instead to be honest. Put it this way - I bought it excitedly the first day it was available. 2 days later, I've uninstalled it and stuck TTD back on my laptop. Expand
  9. ElliotE.
    Sep 17, 2004
    1
    This game was a huge disapointment. The fact that you can't run multiple trains on a track efficiently sucks. That you can't build the roll-in roll-out stations sucks. The signaling is terrible. This game might be ok for someone who has never played the origonal, and I only mean ok, but otherwise do not waste your money. Just go buy transport tycoon deluxe online and download This game was a huge disapointment. The fact that you can't run multiple trains on a track efficiently sucks. That you can't build the roll-in roll-out stations sucks. The signaling is terrible. This game might be ok for someone who has never played the origonal, and I only mean ok, but otherwise do not waste your money. Just go buy transport tycoon deluxe online and download the patch from www.ttdpatch.net which allows it to run on windows xp. TTD with the patch will change your life. Expand
  10. RayM.
    Jan 2, 2005
    2
    I may be a poor gamer,this game gets very frustrating.I thought i had the principles down,then new scenarios seemed to be imposible to progress in. I am disapointed that no matter, i fail at the scenario,dispite trying all different plans of attack.Am i Just wasting my money?? Is everyone just as frustrated??
  11. CharlesA.
    Oct 22, 2004
    2
    I paid $29.00 for this? Hey Atari and Chris Sawyer Join us in the year 2004 and leave the dated graphics behind. This was a substandard title full of AI bugs. A agree with an earlier post, Chris Sawyer should be ashamed of this release...It has tarnished my opinion of what I thought was a superior game designer. Enjoy the $29.00 it will be the last you get from me.
  12. DVH
    Oct 31, 2004
    0
    Really this games deserves an F. CS added some cool features that were requested a very long time ago, but forgot to implement what made TT such a magic game...
  13. LukeC.
    Sep 11, 2004
    1
    Well, I loved TTD and I played it a lot, it was a great and totally brilliant game in 1995. But now it's 2004 and Locomotion is more like a data disc to TTD that was created a long time ago but released now. When I ran Locomotion for the first time I experienced a shock and great disappointment. "Am I 10 years younger, Am I again in 1995 ?". No! Chris Sawyer probably just hasn't Well, I loved TTD and I played it a lot, it was a great and totally brilliant game in 1995. But now it's 2004 and Locomotion is more like a data disc to TTD that was created a long time ago but released now. When I ran Locomotion for the first time I experienced a shock and great disappointment. "Am I 10 years younger, Am I again in 1995 ?". No! Chris Sawyer probably just hasn't noticed that technology advanced "a bit" over years. The game is very poor, don't get me wrong I like 2D graphics more than 3D in strategy games - actually I play only strategy games, but the graphics used in this game is absolutelly appalling, moreover I think there is only 256 colors used in the game. Would you believe it? One could think it's a joke. But it's not, it's the harsh reality. I wanted to switch to more colors --> not possible, you can change just resolution. The music is terrible as well (incomparable with TTD tunes) that reminds of some fould cheap music from freeware games. I heard there should be large maps. Where are they? Nowhere! Locomotion is not any better than TTD, it's just different and 10 younger. My advice is: don't buy it unless you want to get rid of money, you're a lover of repellent graphics of games from first half of 90's and meserable music or you don't care about graphics and music at all, just care about gameplay. Expand
  14. DahM.
    Sep 13, 2004
    3
    When first playing i thought the game was better than TTD. But after a while i realized it has serious defects. The track laying system is ideal to get RSI (i want to drag tracks just like railroad tycoon 3 or TTD), cargo trains that are capable of carrying multiple types of cargo (like coal or iron ore) only allow full load for the first type. If the cargo train is used for the second When first playing i thought the game was better than TTD. But after a while i realized it has serious defects. The track laying system is ideal to get RSI (i want to drag tracks just like railroad tycoon 3 or TTD), cargo trains that are capable of carrying multiple types of cargo (like coal or iron ore) only allow full load for the first type. If the cargo train is used for the second type it will never fully load. Basically, as soon as things get larger and more serious, locomotion lacks user-friendliness above all other things. Expand
  15. Mr.Bleurgh
    Sep 13, 2004
    4
    This is a very nice (the graphics are adequate) trainset simulator, but little else. The AI is very stupid - it never builds fast routes with lots of long straight sections connected by a few ninety degree curves, but builds awful (and slow) zig zag routes instead. It never builds very large trains. It never landscapes and monopolises small towns so that they become profitable cities This is a very nice (the graphics are adequate) trainset simulator, but little else. The AI is very stupid - it never builds fast routes with lots of long straight sections connected by a few ninety degree curves, but builds awful (and slow) zig zag routes instead. It never builds very large trains. It never landscapes and monopolises small towns so that they become profitable cities later on. It hasn't got a clue. The economics/management of the game are easy/non-existent, with some routes paying for the cost of a train in one trip. The only tough part is building from scratch when you can't borrow much, but the money rolls in after that and its like playing with a trainer... It's pretty enough; playing with a large virtual trainset can be quite hynoptic, but there is no game here... Expand
  16. Victor
    Sep 14, 2004
    0
    An ancient game pretending to be a new one. I dont see much effort of Chris Sawyer to make a good game but a lot of hunger for earning money.
  17. William
    Sep 17, 2004
    0
    What to say about such game... I can't find words. Mr. Sawyer obviously likes to earn money for no work. I agree completely with Marcus G. and Pepe N. I'm surprised there are some lovers (like Artur J.) of Sawyer that don't give the game points for being good but for being created by their adored and loved "Chris" . In conclusion, TTD was a great game, Locomotion is What to say about such game... I can't find words. Mr. Sawyer obviously likes to earn money for no work. I agree completely with Marcus G. and Pepe N. I'm surprised there are some lovers (like Artur J.) of Sawyer that don't give the game points for being good but for being created by their adored and loved "Chris" . In conclusion, TTD was a great game, Locomotion is something that cannot be called a game. Expand
  18. Frederick
    Sep 18, 2004
    1
    Yeah, the game is a nightmare - of course, I mean the graphics and music from early 90's. Mr. Sawyer probably thinks he can use the same strategies like in the fashion industry. In my opinion he's not right. ;)
  19. S.S.
    Sep 21, 2004
    0
    Chris Sawyer should be ashamed of himself. This game can?t compete with the original game Transport Tycoon. Building a large train network is impossible because trains don?t bother going to there destination and just keep driving around for ages. The building method maybe fine for Rollercoaster Tycoon, but for a game like this it?s very frustrating. What happened to new train types? Where Chris Sawyer should be ashamed of himself. This game can?t compete with the original game Transport Tycoon. Building a large train network is impossible because trains don?t bother going to there destination and just keep driving around for ages. The building method maybe fine for Rollercoaster Tycoon, but for a game like this it?s very frustrating. What happened to new train types? Where are my monorail and maglev trains? Sorry Mr. Sawyer, but you really have thrown all your credits by releasing this game!! Expand
  20. KenH.
    Sep 23, 2004
    1
    1 for effort I agree with most, I don't see any major reason to play this over TTD... I had my heart set on a new and improve game, but what a disappoinment. And what's up with the trains and waiting for full load? (eg Try waiting for coal) The multi use cars suck royally since they can't figure out what your waiting for.
  21. VincentG.
    Sep 27, 2004
    0
    A new coaster for my coffee table .. Both Chris Sawyer & Atari should be ashamed .. I can't believe they had the nerve to sell this for more than $10!
  22. TransPorter
    Oct 11, 2005
    3
    This game blows compared to TT and TTD. It has been made horribly to build and building is what you need to do a lot. And there are only scenarios, and the AI is a cheating competitor. They have so much money and build huge bridges straight away. You can delete things easily. This is like TT, slapped on some Rollercoaster Tycoon interface and nobody gave it some real testing if it works This game blows compared to TT and TTD. It has been made horribly to build and building is what you need to do a lot. And there are only scenarios, and the AI is a cheating competitor. They have so much money and build huge bridges straight away. You can delete things easily. This is like TT, slapped on some Rollercoaster Tycoon interface and nobody gave it some real testing if it works together. Because it doesn't. If you made the mistake in getting this game, just play some missions, see how bad it is yourself and sell it again, quickly. I highly doubt you will ever play the expert missions, and the easy ones won't give you much to play with at all. Besides, the mission objectives are frustrating. Expand
  23. MartinW.
    Sep 13, 2004
    4
    Old good TTD with not much updated "coat". Yes, gameplay is ok but graphic is absolutelly crappy that I would be ashamed of if I was the creator. I expected much more of the game. :( Several years ago I'd give a higher score.
  24. PepeN.
    Sep 15, 2004
    2
    Only watched the tutorials and just a friendly word of advice to Mr. Sawyer: the audience that worshipped you for the TT series is not the bunch of commercial hoes that knew you from the RCT series. To everyone considering buying it, a serious word: DON'T! ..Now I know why it didn't get the TT label, it's got nothing to do with the TT series. No more dual tracks, no more Only watched the tutorials and just a friendly word of advice to Mr. Sawyer: the audience that worshipped you for the TT series is not the bunch of commercial hoes that knew you from the RCT series. To everyone considering buying it, a serious word: DON'T! ..Now I know why it didn't get the TT label, it's got nothing to do with the TT series. No more dual tracks, no more ro-ro stations, no more clover crossings, no more complex signaling, no more continuous 100 years of playing(except for an expert scenario which has an objective just like every damn scenario in this stupid game or any one in the RCT series), no more fun. I want...no..I demand continuous non-objective oriented gameplay, I demand a complex construction engine, I demand more than purely graphical "sugar-coating"...I was going to rate it 3...but I'll just rate it 2 'coz I just figured out that this must only be a test for RCT3...either that or mocking the TT series' fans like myself...To put it clearly: EVERYONE STICK WITH TTD(Transport Tycoon Deluxe for the layman) AND LEAVE THIS ONE ON THE STORE SHELVES! Ditto. Cheers. Expand
  25. MikeS.
    Mar 28, 2005
    2
    I was thrilled to hear about Transport Tycoon's sucessor, Locomotion, was to be released for XP, but after purchasing and playing it the game leave you yearning for the old TT back. Laying the track and managing the game is much more difficult and much less intuitive then Loco's predecessor. The simplistic fun has been replaced with tedious complexity which makes playing the I was thrilled to hear about Transport Tycoon's sucessor, Locomotion, was to be released for XP, but after purchasing and playing it the game leave you yearning for the old TT back. Laying the track and managing the game is much more difficult and much less intuitive then Loco's predecessor. The simplistic fun has been replaced with tedious complexity which makes playing the game very frusterating. Anyone wanting to play a current Transport Tycoon should look elseware, this game just leaves you feeling frustrated. Expand
  26. AsaT.
    Jul 19, 2005
    1
    Not happy Chris! In 1994, I recieved a games mag with a CD full of demo games. Somewhere on this CD, hidden amoungst the Doom clones and flight simulators, was a wonderful, little unknown game called "Transport Tycoon". The demo only allowed you to build trains and finished after 3 years of play but was so addictive and fun that I spent countless nights up playing the DEMO! Finally I Not happy Chris! In 1994, I recieved a games mag with a CD full of demo games. Somewhere on this CD, hidden amoungst the Doom clones and flight simulators, was a wonderful, little unknown game called "Transport Tycoon". The demo only allowed you to build trains and finished after 3 years of play but was so addictive and fun that I spent countless nights up playing the DEMO! Finally I saved up enough pocket money to buy the full version and boy, I was not disappointed. I wasted my entire summer hoildays commandiing my fleets of trains, trucks, buses, planes and ships and building up my transporting empire. It was just so much fun. Finally, after many months of use, I put "Transport Tycoon" away and moved on to other things and then, somehow, managed to lose my CD. Then a few years later, I saw TTD for sale and I thought "Why not? It should be good for a laugh", so I bought it. I was surprised to find it just as addictive and resposable for lack of sleep as the first time round. Eventually I tired of it once again and put it aside for other games although I still returned to it occansially for a little muck around. Then one day early last year, I discovered the TTD patch and I was once again hooked. I explain all this to show that I have always been a BIG TT fan and was still happy to play the game, despite it's older graphcs and not-so-great sound. With locomotion however, I was extremely disappointed. It's 2004. Why couldn't the game have been made to allow you to zoom in closer to your units, to see the little drivers on the trains, or may be see passengers boarding your buses. Pointless I know, but fun and surely easy to do, given the level of detail that is avaiable in other games. I could proabley forgive chris for not updating the graphics in the last ten years if the game play was greatly improved but I personally think it has gotten worse. Sure, there are some cool new point about the game (the underground stations, the trams and the raised rails) but I still alot of sore points that could/should have been thought about (why can't large airports have two runways!?! There should be cars/traffic driving around in the cities). This lack of real imagition or significant improvement from Chris, coupled with clumsy interface, difficalt line/road laying and seeming disapperance of a useable railway junctions has left me bitterly disappointed. For anyone considering buying the game, I would recomded getting TTD and downloading the patch instead. A wasted oppertunity. :-( Expand
  27. Tosty_82
    Nov 22, 2004
    2
    IF they had upgraded TransportTycoon (Deluxe) with better graphics and some small other features a good game was born. Now we are building our own OpenSourceTransport Tyccon. Sorry Sawyer, bye bye to this CD-ROM for me.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. 58
    With a lack of presentation values, an engine that not only looks bad but also is the main cause of serious construction problems, and AI that could use a serious overhaul, Locomotion has too many problems for any serious recommendation.
  2. I love the depth of play, I feel challenged by the game's AI, and I feel a real sense of accomplishment when I complete a scenario. On the other hand, I think the game should represent the advances the gaming industry has made in the past five years.
  3. It's unfortunate to see that the graphics in game hasn't appeared to change too much either. Viewed from a isometric viewpoint, the game appears drab and just astonishingly unattractive.