Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. The type of game that you know you should find fault with, because the enemy is not real bright, but it is so much fun to go through the levels, solving the puzzles and completing your objectives while liquidating all opposition.
  2. A vast sci-fi universe to explore, bounties to collect, and an intriguing story that bears telling. [Jan 2004, p.72]
  3. Chrome's strong points make it a shooter worth playing. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a good, albeit rough around the edges shooter experience.
  4. A stunning sci-fi-themed shooter that makes "Halo" look hollow. [Feb 2004, p.80]
  5. 79
    This one's definitely worth checking out if you're looking for something a little different in the FPS realm, but I'll warn you not to base the game off of the demo level because it isn't really a great representation of the game.
  6. It also gets bogged down in it’s own self-induced complexity. The clumsy inventory and totally outrageous enemy AI will scare off all but the most diligent of gamers.
  7. 75
    It's exciting when a relatively unknown development house like Techland can spring forward with such an intriguing effort, and if nothing else, we applaud its ambition.
  8. It has a bad sci-fi fascination to it, assisted by some excellent graphics, and kept me involved like a Sunday afternoon serving of "Star Gate."
  9. Has enough going for it in terms of graphics and gameplay to make it a better than average shooter.
  10. A really solid first effort for Playland. This game has the strong possibility of evolving into a very good series. Level design is mostly solid. Production values are suitably high, if not up to the work that Valve and id are doing these days. Weapon choice is varied. And best of all, the game has some character.
  11. It won't pose much of a challenge due to deficiencies in the artificial intelligence, and there isn't too much replay value to be found in the game either.
  12. A wholly decent entertainment experience although it won’t change anyone’s opinion about the genre it unfortunately sits in.
  13. It features a generic, yet well-delivered plot that is dragged down by average gameplay, a lack of substantial difficulty, and sound that can only be described as sub-par. However, it is quite stunning graphically, and might find a niche in the modding community.
  14. Despite offering plenty of gameplay, it lacks depth and more importantly, soul. Chrome is a fun game, but doesn't do anything that some other game has done before it, and done it better at that.
  15. While all the pieces seem to be in place to deliver something special, they never quite gel. That's not to say that Chrome isn't a reasonably good game, but too many inadequacies prevent the action from seriously challenging the big guns. [Nov 2003, p.114]
  16. It has a great storyline, mesmerizing graphics, and unique game elements - all the same ingredients that the two "big" FPS'ers are supposed to have.
  17. A promising shooter which ultimately ends not with the final movie, but an impassioned cry of “What the hell were you thinking?!”
  18. While the idea of creating a more "realistic" sci-fi shooter is a good one, Chrome never rises above some bad design decisions and an overall lack of polish... The next mediocre shooter. [Jan 2004, p.115]
  19. It's often unclear whether or not your shots are hitting, which inclines you to blunder out from your cover and head for close quarters - which in turn destroys the developer's intention of forcing a tactical, cautious approach. [Nov 2003, p.105]
  20. Chrome isn't a dreadful game, really. It's just so deeply, incredibly average in every aspect of its gameplay that our enthusiasm for it went limp the very moment we bumped off our first enemy grunt.
  21. Most of the guns are uninspired and even boring - even the shotgun seems dull. [Feb 2004, p.60]
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Jan 2, 2011
    2
    To me, the game was just terrible. At least, graphics are okay, But game-play was no fun and was not exciting. I didn't like it. It was a waste of $5.
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    I never thought I'd see a game make shooting bad guys completely unfun. But then came Chrome. Here's a rundown of my first twenty or so attempts to beat the first mission on normal difficulty.

    (First time): got killed by the second group of enemies I ran into. Dying is very easy due to high enemy accuracy and a crappy, slow healing meachanic.

    (Second time): mission was cancelled by my prima donna commander, who won't progress unless I'm holding his hand.

    (Third time): killed commander as revenge for cancelling the mission. (Fourth time): commander died because a million guys rushed his position, and I could only kill all but two of them. Good to know he can handle himself in a fight.

    (Fifth - twentieth times): repeats of one of the first four. You're not allowed to do your own thing at any point in this sequence, even if it means completing the mission faster or more safely. You have to follow Commander Uptight's orders or he'll cancel the mission. And when that means staying in a tower with limited ammo and no way of switching to a different weapon or restocking when you're out, your options are die from disobedience or die from letting your commander eat it.

    The gameplay itself is decent enough. I dislike the way my bullets, even when very carefully aimed, seem to whiz right past my enemies. I also dislike the fact that my enemies are bullet sponges with Olympic marksmanship skills. The worst part is definitely the commander and his ridiculous "orders", though. When a game literally kills you and makes you start the whole level over (no saves or checkpoints) for not playing it the way it wants to be played, it's not really a game so much as an electronic to-do list, and that is most certainly not my idea of fun.

    I gave it one last chance, and I died from friendly fire. Yeah, this game's putrid. Don't bother with it.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Graphics are dated, but good enough, espcially for a $5 (or less) game. A decent storyline that gives you a long enough quest chain to make you feel like you got your worth. Variety of weaponry isn't somewhat basic, but the amount able to be carried allows for enough diversity to be carried. Also the stealth feature and vehicle driving are well done too.
    Overall a solid 7.
    Full Review »