Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.3

Overwhelming dislike- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Citadels, the player experiences the Arthurian legend in two campaigns; one fighting on the side of Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table, and the other on the side of Morgana and Mordred. Citadels tells a spellbinding story in a time of kings, noble knights, and mighty castles. ItIn Citadels, the player experiences the Arthurian legend in two campaigns; one fighting on the side of Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table, and the other on the side of Morgana and Mordred. Citadels tells a spellbinding story in a time of kings, noble knights, and mighty castles. It offers epic battles with extraordinary characters and numerous tactical options. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 6 out of 6
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    35
    It is clear that a lot of hard labor went into Citadels, but it is difficult to ascertain whether it was a labor of love. If it was, it never shines through. Citadels feels empty of spirit, empty of passion and the crashes destroy what little fun there is to be had playing it.
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    28
    Citadels makes Stronghold 3 look like a masterpiece.
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    21
    Put it back in the oven; this game is not ready. Citadels is simply tedious to play. I never once found myself having any semblance of fun. Not only is Citadels not worth the $40 price tag it is somehow selling for, I couldn’t recommend this game even if it were free-to-play.
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    20
    There might be an honest-to-goodness game somewhere in here, lurking underneath the slew of technical issues, uninspired gameplay, game-breaking mechanics and cryptic explanations for how everything fits together. Not that the game would have fit together in the first place, anyway. Whatever may be underneath the game, it’s really not worth the trouble of finding out.
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    20
    Citadels is a sorry mess that should be avoided. Perhaps the developers will fix at least the basic functions in a few months but there is nothing here that raises any hope that it will even match its competitors then.
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Not only is Citadels an incredibly awful mixture of Stronghold and Age of Empires with outdated graphics, it also features an abundance of bugs: Persistent crashes, physics errors, AI mishaps and non-existent path-finding are but the tip of the iceberg.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 25 out of 27
  1. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    Citadels seems to be inspired by the Settlers and Stronghold series mostly. You can build up your economy, refine materials, build defensiveCitadels seems to be inspired by the Settlers and Stronghold series mostly. You can build up your economy, refine materials, build defensive towers and walls, train troops and attack your opponent. Each element of the gameplay is unfortunately pretty basic and unfinished, though. The base for a promising game may be in place but it's like the developer didn't have the resources to finish it. It also contains some glaring bugs and glitches (i.e. peasants getting stuck idle while constructing because of poor pathfinding, glitchy selection boxes making unit selection difficult...) that suggest that this game should have remained in development much longer. It should definitely not have been released as a full-priced game. Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2013
    1
    I thought this game would be everything the pc game stronghold wasn't. I couldn't be more disappointed. Poor AI, peasants can't gather oreI thought this game would be everything the pc game stronghold wasn't. I couldn't be more disappointed. Poor AI, peasants can't gather ore without getting stuck at something and immobilizing'em. Poor graphics, everything is bad. Campaign is also awful. Sorry guys who made this game but you guys failed. Collapse
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    1
    Seriously, I want to give this game 0, but I decided to give it one, because of the developers' skill of making quick money and then hiding inSeriously, I want to give this game 0, but I decided to give it one, because of the developers' skill of making quick money and then hiding in the shadow. I bought this game because I was so stupid, and because I am a big fan of stronghold games, and was hoping for any castle building RTS to replace Stronghold since the big disappointment of SH 3, but again SH 3 looks so perfect comparing to this garbage that they call it Citadels, its buggy, ugly, doesn't work, unoriginal, even things they copied it from other game they made it worse. Bunch of retards can make a better game than this, please avoid it at all cost, and if you already have it, please uninstall it and don't play cause it may gives you AIDS. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    0
    I signed up to this site just to warn people away from this awful disappointment of a game. This could have been great but it's just abysmalI signed up to this site just to warn people away from this awful disappointment of a game. This could have been great but it's just abysmal at everything. I actually feel genuinely ripped off, can't believe I paid so much money for this, it should be illegal as the game is clearly not finished and is buggy as hell. DONT BUY THIS Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2013
    0
    complete waste of time...after patch the game ist still broken....no support to be found anywhere....huge outcry on steam....shame really,complete waste of time...after patch the game ist still broken....no support to be found anywhere....huge outcry on steam....shame really, could have been a good game...but Citadels is clearly a fraudulent scam...to ask €39,99 for this is criminal and should be punished. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    0
    This game is awful, this is 2013 WORST GAME indeed This is impossible to be played, because far too ugly in many ways, the gameplay is worst,This game is awful, this is 2013 WORST GAME indeed This is impossible to be played, because far too ugly in many ways, the gameplay is worst, the graphics is outdated, the musics is bad, oh my oh my.... 2013 WORST GAME awards! Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    0
    In my opinion, this game is simply and clearly unfinished, maybe not even in alpha stage. It is bug ridden, starting with basicallyIn my opinion, this game is simply and clearly unfinished, maybe not even in alpha stage. It is bug ridden, starting with basically non-existant AI, graphics and sound issues, and usually ends after around 10-15 minutes with crashing to desktop. The game looks ugly and plays horribly. I could not recommend this game even if the technical problems were not there, it is actually not worth the time playing it. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers