Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Cities in Motion 2 is the sequel to the popular mass transit simulation game Cities in Motion. The Modern Days introduces new features, like multiplayer game modes, day and night cycle, timetables and dynamic cities. The player's actions in building the transportation network will affect howCities in Motion 2 is the sequel to the popular mass transit simulation game Cities in Motion. The Modern Days introduces new features, like multiplayer game modes, day and night cycle, timetables and dynamic cities. The player's actions in building the transportation network will affect how the city grows, with affordable transportation spawning middle class housing and work places, and more expensive and delicate choices bringing in demanding business people. Player has many different types of vehicles to choose from and now can also build roads with bus lanes. Tackling the rush hour by managing transportation timetables and meeting the needs of the citizens are one of the key elements of building a successful and efficient network! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. May 13, 2013
    86
    Cities in Motion 2 is great upgrade of the previous Cities. Bigger, better, but also much, much easier. [May 2013]
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Cities in Motion 2 brings some interesting new elements into the gameplay structure of its predecessor. The game had some bugs, but Colossal Order worked hard to get most of them fixed soon after the launch.
  3. May 13, 2013
    80
    The cities themselves may feel a bit more bland than in the first game but the actual motion of them is top notch. Cities in Motion 2 boasts a deep and satisfying simulation of the woes of managing public transit. Not without its problems but nevertheless one of the top players in its genre.
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    73
    The learning curve is steep and if you’re easily frustrated you might consider going back to the predecessor. But if you’re willing to invest time and a lot of trial&error in this mass transit simulator, behind all the glitches and the useless tutorial you’ll find a motivating diamond in the rough that shows a lot of potential and keeps you awake longer than you’d like to admit.
  5. May 21, 2013
    70
    Fiddly at times, and cursed with a lousy tutorial, the intricacy and scale of Cities in Motion 2 eventually shines through. [July 2013, p.74]
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    Cities in Motion 2 offers needed immersion along with a well worked out economic model, and city processes interconnection, which will captivate you so much you are going to ignore the game's visible flaws.
  7. May 13, 2013
    50
    The biggest problem with Cities in Motion 2 is that this game is extremely user-unfriendly. Gameplay is sluggish even with the highest time compression and the interface contradicts ergonomics and intuition. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.80]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 50
  2. Negative: 11 out of 50
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Oh good God! This game is... AMAZING!
    Let me tell you why this game, from an independent developer took SimCity's 2013 crown as the best city
    Oh good God! This game is... AMAZING!
    Let me tell you why this game, from an independent developer took SimCity's 2013 crown as the best city simulator:

    1. This game HAS AGENTS! Just like the new SimCity 2013, don't believe me? Find a citizen on the street (the slang for the term citizen in this game is, ironically.. Cim) and you can follow the Cims in the city. They will do everyday tasks based on a schedule, which i will cover in a later reason why this game is better, they have a STABLE work place, and a STABLE house, not like the Sims in SC2013, who will randomly pick the closest available house and job every day.

    2. The next reason why this game is better than SC2013, is related to the Cims. Since each Cim is interdependently simulated by the game, with its own daily routine, this will create traffic problems. Traffic in this game is way more realistic than the one in SC. The cars will actually park on the street (you have this type of road, which btw this game has more road options than all the SC games and Cities XL combined!). Once the car parks next to the job, house, etc, you can see the Cim GOING IN AND OUT of it! Most Cims have cars, close to SC, they will leave their cars and walk close to their work/home.

    3. The time is more realistic than SC2013. It does indeed have a day/nigh cycle, but it also has a semi-realistic ingame clock. Each minute in the game is a second in real life, so an hour in the game lasts 1 minute in real life, and a day in the game lasts 24 minutes in real life (there are speed options). This does not stop here, there are weekdays, from Monday to Sunday, and the Cims are actually programmed to act according to these days, meaning you will get a huge rush hour Monday morning and Friday evening, but it will be less traffic on weekends, well less traffic between work and homes. Same applies to night hours, you will not see people wondering the streets at 2 AM... The weekend means that Cims will go to leisure places more.

    4. Map size, the thing that in my opinion broke SC2013. I did not have time to compare the maps in this game, which by the way, it has a built in map editor, so people can go crazy and share maps, just like the old SC4 days, think of them as terraforming tools, they do just that, you can morph the terrain, add mountains, rivers, even build a city and use it to make a scenario like the good old Roller Coaster Tycoon days. Back to map size, the map is definitively bigger than the cities in SC2013, but there is a catch, it is a fixed map size, and there are only 6 available cities, different layouts, reliefs but same size, this is also the only available size in the map editor, but as i say, it is bigger than 2x2km, I say, it is somewhere close to 3x3km, I would dare to say that it is as big as the large map from SC4, but don't take my word for it.

    5. City building, personally, I like it more that the city grows around your roads, it takes away the burden of micromanagement, comparing it to SC, which is the point of this review, it is better, not like SC2013 gives you many tools, just plop some zones and based on the road density, buildings plop out, well this mechanism is similar in CIM2, the road density affects the size of the building. There are no government buildings, the game generates them, which I think is better since it balances the services, like schools, police stations, etc. The only drawback here is that the schools, police and the rest of the government buildings do not generate education, security, etc, but they do generate work places for Cims. All in all, this is a much more simple city planning, and since SC2013 became so simple, from the two games, CIM2 has a better one. SC4 is still king at city planning, but we are talking about SC2013 here.

    6. Mass transit. I will not say a lot here... SC2013 gives you bus stations, trains, which you cannot plop rails btw, and that is it... This game however give you buses, trams, trolleys, metros that can become elevated, and "boat buses". Not a lot of options compared to SC2013, but at least you can draw the lines wherever you want, create lines for each type, and not stay helplessly and watch your buses get stuck in a loop because the agent AI is broken...

    7. Most important feature that makes CIM2 better than SC2013... IT HAS MULTIPLAYER.
    But with no DRM. It actually has a fun multiplayer, you can play with your friends, you share a city with them, but the city gets saves on YOUR computer (and YOUR friends if you play it together).... Let me repeat YOU CAN SAVE YOUR CITY ON YOUR COMPUTER..

    So yea, a indie developer destroyed a franchise that ironically, inspired this type of games, but it destroyed itself as well because of corporate greed. Bravo Paradox, you sirs deserve all the internets in the world!
    Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Great game. If you're a fan of COMPLEX city simulators and the like, get it. The options for building public transit systems are endless.Great game. If you're a fan of COMPLEX city simulators and the like, get it. The options for building public transit systems are endless. Underground tram? Check. Under/overpasses? Check. Pedestrian paths? Check. If you can think of it, you can build it here.

    The game has its quirks, the UI is not great, building tram/metro lines is challenging at first, but once you get into it... it's great.
    Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    Greatly improved from last version though feels little unpolished. Metro lines can be annoying to build time to time and the UI is not evenGreatly improved from last version though feels little unpolished. Metro lines can be annoying to build time to time and the UI is not even close as good as it was in the Cim1. But hopefully devs will fix these things soon. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    In Cities In Motion 2 you take on the role of citywide PT coordinator, planner and builder. It is your job to service the needs of the publicIn Cities In Motion 2 you take on the role of citywide PT coordinator, planner and builder. It is your job to service the needs of the public by building a profitable public transport network. This is achieved by planning and building a network of bus, trolley, tram, metro and water bus lines, creating their timetables, buying and maintaining vehicles, and setting fares. It can be thought of a bit like a modern-day PT & city based version of Transport Tycoon Deluxe.

    The game can be played in campaign mode or sandbox mode. Campaign mode is good for those who want challenges in a more game-like mode, whilst sandbox mode plays more like a simulator and allows the would-be transport mogul to build the empire of their desires. In both modes agents will throw up quests, asking you to, say, build a line between two buildings, transport ‘x’ amount of workers along a new route, or service a particular area. These are great little money spinners; however in sandbox mode they feel bothersome rather than contributing to the overall game play. There is also a multi-player option, and although I haven’t explored this I assume it allows for multiple players to build and compete against each other.

    Graphically the game looks nice enough. There is a wide range of buildings, trees, and other structures with more available from DLC, but the real detail comes from the roads. Lanes and intersections are beautifully marked out, and there are detailed touches such as the “Walk/Don’t Walk” pedestrian signals. Despite these features the game can look a little bland. Perhaps this is due in part to the somewhat drab colors and the business-like user interface. Most modern video cards should be able to handle this game, but the highest detail levels will require a decent card.

    The in-game audio is nothing special. I wouldn’t be surprised to hear one or more of the game’s Muzak-inspired tracks the next time I take an elevator or go grocery shopping. To be honest it’s pretty insipid, so I recommend turning it off. However the effects are reasonable, with the sounds of the hustle and bustle of the city and your transport fleet adding to the ambiance.

    One thing that impressed me was the curvature of the roads and rails. Older transport-oriented games such as TTD and A-Train use a top-down isometric grid over which roads and rails are built, leading to very squarish layouts. But CIM2 allows these things to be built in with Bezier curves and in true 3D. The result is very realistic looking maps, and the setting of a new standard of which all future transport games should aspire to.

    The ability to set details on fares and timetables will please micro-managers. The fare table displays every fare across all modes of transport and transport zones. Each fare changes color depending on whether it’s set too high or too low. Customer satisfaction improves the desirable fare levels, and conversely drops when customers become annoyed. As each customer is an independent agent you can click on customers waiting at stops or traveling in vehicles and check on their mood. An emoticon will appear at stops where there are annoyed customers, allowing players to quickly observe when to improve service levels or drop fares. It is therefore in planners’ interests to keep moods buoyant so as to allow for higher fares, which of course means more income (unless you’re playing with unlimited funds). A nice realistic touch is the ability to alter the carrying capacity of vehicles beyond their official rated capacity, which means cash-strapped players can bleed the most out of their current infrastructure at the expense of customer satisfaction.

    My main criticism of CIM2 is of the user interface. It seems that the developers have put all the effort into the game mechanics and implemented the UI as an afterthought. It’s difficult enough to create a tram route, let alone a metro track, the latter of which almost requires an engineering degree to master. There is little assistance given to players when laying tracks and connecting them to depots, other than a few inadequate error messages. Placing stops is also fraught with hazards, as it is very easy to misplace a tram stop on a multi-lane road. That said there are no complexities such as signalling that are found in games like TTD. For this reason it’s best for new players to play the game in sandbox mode with unlimited funds, and to be prepared to spend at least five or six hours learning the basics. Fortunately the user community has created some good tutorials, so it’s worth searching for and watching these to cut your learning time down.

    Cities in Motion 2 is a great game trapped in a crap game’s interface. There are many hours of enjoyment to be had for those willing to take on the challenge of learning its tricky UI. However those wanting something a little easier and quicker to learn and play might be better passing this one up.
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2013
    6
    This is a fairly good game, the graphics are good. But to me, it doesn't seem to have ENOUGH. I got bored of it pretty quick, mostly becauseThis is a fairly good game, the graphics are good. But to me, it doesn't seem to have ENOUGH. I got bored of it pretty quick, mostly because of all the constant lag I had been experiencing. The game is also very complicated and the tutorial I find is very un helpful. I would tell you guys to try CiM1, and make sure you like that ALOT before getting CiM2. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2014
    5
    definately improvements from CIM 1 but same issues still exist
    new timetable functions well to prevent 3-4 buses from move together
    its
    definately improvements from CIM 1 but same issues still exist
    new timetable functions well to prevent 3-4 buses from move together
    its easier to manage routes and cargo capacity
    pros:
    - new timetable solves most glaring issue CIM 1 had.
    - watching 100+ people waiting for their bus/ train is very fun and awe inspiring
    cons:
    - again graphic in game keeps me from playing this game more than 20 min
    i had to turn off adv lighting, AA and ambient conclusion but still it tired my eyes out very fast
    - in next game, it needs better route tools and better interface that make managing huge transportation in half million city easier
    Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2014
    1
    The system is great. The time table is great. The vehicles are pretty good. But why a bad rating?
    When you closely observe what your
    The system is great. The time table is great. The vehicles are pretty good. But why a bad rating?
    When you closely observe what your passengers are doing, you get mad. They get out of Line A, (sometimes walk a pretty long distance to) struggle to get on Line B, take a few stops and get out, now guess what? They continue on Line A. Yeah, some direction! This make all the good ideas designing this game meaningless. And worst of all, make all my ideas designing my trans. system meaningless. I'm like, couping with a crowd of insane CO made passengers.
    You make a big network, you observe, and you know how terrible and broken the AI path-finding is.
    What's even worse, CO(producer of this game) denied this problem, several times. They said it's working good according to their design. Now I can give the negative rate. I won't vote low just because the game has a problem. In fact, I allow developers find and fix problems because I gave them feed-backs.
    Now that they said the path-finding is OK in their opinion. Well, then their game deserves a 1 out of 10 voting.
    Collapse

See all 50 User Reviews